Shaheen Shah Afridi replaces Mohammad Rizwan as Pakistan's new ODI captain

Is Shaheen Shah Afridi the right choice to lead Pakistan in ODIs?

Lmao, the same clowns who were begging for Shaheen to be dropped are now ready to make him their new boss. The moment he replaced Rizwan, their entire hate campaign magically turned into unconditional love. The hypocrisy is doing laps at this point.

So the BCCI are doing things properly?

How th is Gill the T20 vice captain??
They are because atleast there is an overarching process/vision in place. Whether these were right choices or not history will tell, but atleast the individuals who got these roles will get a fair run to decide their fate.

People can debate about whether Gill/Jaiswal/Iyer is the better choice and each have their own case but eventually the chaiman of selectors and coach have made a choice together looking at the potential ceiling of Gill as player and leader.

Whether popular or not, Gill, Agarkar and Gambhir all have their roles defined till 2027 so depending on India's performance in next 3 ICC events - WT20, WTC, ODI world cup - these decisions will be assessed.

Lmao, the same clowns who were begging for Shaheen to be dropped are now ready to make him their new boss. The moment he replaced Rizwan, their entire hate campaign magically turned into unconditional love. The hypocrisy is doing laps at this point.
I know you are having a tough few days but can you please share the statement of Gary Kirsten openly telling everyone about Aqib Javed? You made this claim, now provide proof. Or you are lying as usual?

LOL... Shaheen as ODI captain?? what a kneew jerk reaction it is from PCB..

He would have been the most suited person for T20s... Salman should have been ODI captain if they really had to change...\\

What a joke this PCB is... Aaqib Javed congrats

Circus board for a reason who is run by incompetent people's

Nov 2023 – Babar Azam resigned as captain.
Nov 2023 – Shaheen Afridi appointed T20I captain.
Nov 2023 – Shan Masood appointed Test captain.
Mar 2024 – Shaheen removed from captaincy.
Mar 2024 – Babar reappointed T20I captain.
Oct 2024 – Babar Azam resigned again.
Oct 2024 – Rizwan appointed white-ball captain.
Mar 2025 – Salman Ali Agha appointed T20I captain.
Oct 2025 - Rizwan removed from ODI.
Oct 2025 – Shaheen Afridi appointed ODI captain.

:klopp :kp

Circus board for a reason who is run by incompetent people's

Nov 2023 – Babar Azam resigned as captain.
Nov 2023 – Shaheen Afridi appointed T20I captain.
Nov 2023 – Shan Masood appointed Test captain.
Mar 2024 – Shaheen removed from captaincy.
Mar 2024 – Babar reappointed T20I captain.
Oct 2024 – Babar Azam resigned again.
Oct 2024 – Rizwan appointed white-ball captain.
Mar 2025 – Salman Ali Agha appointed T20I captain.
Oct 2025 - Rizwan removed from ODI.
Oct 2025 – Shaheen Afridi appointed ODI captain.

Naqvi is such a coward. He makes these decisions via press releases and doesn't have the guts to explain the decisions via press conferences or TV interviews where he will open himself for cross examination. He has not given a single cricket interview on TV, such is the badshahat in the PCB.

People are doing bhangra over Naqvi's decision...

Shaheen is under no obligation to be the better person.

Who stood for him when he was made captain over Babar?

Rizwan didn’t oblige to his call properly when Shaheen wanted Saim to open the innings and ideally Farhan to open with Saim in NZ 2024….

Rizwan flat out refused to vacate the opening spot and also made comments about how the nations favourite opening pair was being disturbed! Rizwan’s behaviour on that tour was for everyone to see, how he was clearly grouping up with Babar.

I want Shaheen to boot Rizwan out of the side for good. Babar is a bit difficult but I’m sure he will dig his own grave with his crappy performances.
My only issue with rizwan is that he never plays for the team.

Don't get me wrong, many Australian fans believed Mitch Marsh was being selfish after he announced that he will open full time and will no longer bat at no 3 regardless of any so called young blood opener drama.

But selfish or not, Marsh has been a beast at opening since he made that announcement. So you can't really attack him. Dude is giving off gilly Vibes lol.

Rizzu on the other hand isn't a beast at batting, he is clueless against any proper bowler and the days of targeting weak bowlers and ignoring strong ones in odi and t20 is a foregone conclusion.

It happened in the 1990's. Not in 2025

LOL... Shaheen as ODI captain?? what a kneew jerk reaction it is from PCB..

He would have been the most suited person for T20s... Salman should have been ODI captain if they really had to change...\\

What a joke this PCB is... Aaqib Javed congrats
I think they are waiting for Shadab to Regain Full fitness than he will eventually becomes T20 captain.

Shahid Afridi ka Damad ban gya captain,now saqi Bhai ka damad bhi captain banne se Zyada dur nahi hai

I think they are waiting for Shadab to Regain Full fitness than he will eventually becomes T20 captain.

Shahid Afridi ka Damad ban gya captain,now saqi Bhai ka damad bhi captain banne se Zyada dur nahi hai

Well... Congrats to Aqqib first of all... His LQ quota is thriving everywhere..LOL

Atleast appoint a captain for minimum three years. There is no continuity in Pakistan cricket . :kp

Right choice considering the fact that next world cup is 2 years away.Further only changing captain won't work but Pakistan team needs consistency till next world cup and selecting right players and not tullabazs.My team till 2027 world cup will focus on experience with spark of fresh legs just like 1992 worldcup and remember the next worldcup is in SA where conditions will be tough.
My team/ squad shall be in batting order
1) Imam ul haq
2) Shaan Masood
3)Fakhar Zaman
4)Babar Azam
5)M.Rizwan
6)Agha salman
7)Saim Ayub
8)Shaheen Afridi
9)Naseem shah
10)Sufiyaan Muqeem
11)khurram shehzad
Rest in squad
12)Haris Rauf
13)M.Nawaz
14)Irfan
15)Abbas Afridi
16)Rohail Nazir

Right choice considering the fact that next world cup is 2 years away.Further only changing captain won't work but Pakistan team needs consistency till next world cup and selecting right players and not tullabazs.My team till 2027 world cup will focus on experience with spark of fresh legs just like 1992 worldcup and remember the next worldcup is in SA where conditions will be tough.
Why does consistency narrative not there for Rizwan??

SHould he be given another serieS?

So Agha gets a free pass till 2026 T20 World Cup despite consecutive failures, but Rizwan is shown the door after ONE bad Champions Trophy? 😂

Remind us again - who won Pakistan's first ODI series in Australia in 24 years? Who led a historic 3-0 whitewash in South Africa? Oh right, that was Rizwan! But sure, let's judge him on 4-5 bad games while giving Agha a 2-year immunity card. Peak selectors logic!

So Agha gets a free pass till 2026 T20 World Cup despite consecutive failures, but Rizwan is shown the door after ONE bad Champions Trophy? 😂"

Remind us again - who won Pakistan's first ODI series in Australia in 24 years? Who led a historic 3-0 whitewash in South Africa? Oh right, that was Rizwan! But sure, let's judge him on 4-5 bad games while giving Agha a 2-year immunity card. Peak selectors logic!
You are very biased you know that.

It seems I'm one of the few unbiased posters left.

It wasn’t too long ago that Shaheen wasn’t even a regular member of the team, but his recent performances in the Asia Cup and the current Test match show that he has worked out his issues. He’s been bowling with intelligence and accuracy, while the senior bowler Rauf seems to have completely regressed. I think that played a major part in handing him the captaincy.

It makes perfect sense now to make him the T20 captain, considering he won titles in PSL, and please, let’s not wait for the washed out, mediocre cricketer Shadab to regain fitness just to hand him the role. He’ll only end up being another passenger cricketer.

Sad day for Pakistan cricket

The guy who defeated Australia and South Africa in their home has been removed

What a joke this country is

Rip Pakistan cricket
And the guy who captained Pakistan to their first ever odi series loss to west indies which included a 200+ runs defeat. And he also oversaw shameful performances in the tri series at home and in the Champions Trophy. Tell the whole story

I know you are having a tough few days but can you please share the statement of Gary Kirsten openly telling everyone about Aqib Javed? You made this claim, now provide proof. Or you are lying as usual?
Aqibs role in that saga is quite obvious from subsequent statements made by Gillespie.

Kirsten hasn't spoken about Pakistan at all however his silence doesn't stop us from realizing the obvious.

Aqib has taken Pakistan cricket to the lowest depths of unprofessionalism.

Aqibs role in that saga is quite obvious from subsequent statements made by Gillespie.

Kirsten hasn't spoken about Pakistan at all however his silence doesn't stop us from realizing the obvious.

Aqib has taken Pakistan cricket to the lowest depths of unprofessionalism.
Right, so we are allowed to take Kirsten’s silence as possibly a protest of Rizwan being appointed white ball captain? Are we allowed to make this assumption as well?

You can take it that way if you want it, but there is nothing else to support it.

In the ousting of Kirsten, we have Kirsten's silence and then Gillespie's confirmation.

You can take it that way if you want it, but there is nothing else to support it.

In the ousting of Kirsten, we have Kirsten's silence and then Gillespie's confirmation.
None of the explanation will work and accepted because it is rizwan at the other end... IYKYK

Shaheen finally looks to be getting his rhythm back and bang they burden him with captaincy. Now watch as the added distraction of captaincy makes him lose focus and return to being a mediocre bowler dreaming of being a batting all-rounder. Clueless yet again from the PCB.

That depends on me really

I will decide if Shaheen is being sincere to the cause of Pakistan or towards his agency.
If you had to decide who to pick, you would probably make Asif Ali the captain of all formats. 😂😂

Your all formats team

Sharjeel khan ( Opener)
Haris ( WK)
Asif Ali ( Captain)

This rumor would make sense if Shaheen was a yes man, which he is not. And I'm pretty sure that PCB and Hesson are well-aware that he is not a yes man.
Everyone is Yes man to get captaincy but some like Rizwan, Babar and soon Shaheen will want to have their consultation for the team they would captain, once established themselves a bit.

Shaheen finally looks to be getting his rhythm back and bang they burden him with captaincy. Now watch as the added distraction of captaincy makes him lose focus and return to being a mediocre bowler dreaming of being a batting all-rounder. Clueless yet again from the PCB.
Afridi was doing very well as a captain. He lost form because of the stress of being removed from captaincy after one series with no explanation and the backstabbing from those he supported.

so now the question is why was he removed as t20 captain by Naqvi?
Why don’t you ask this question to Misbah Ul Haq who was running a campaign on the Pavilion alongside his deputies Azhar Ali to reinstate him as captain?

I think it is high time that these players themselves realize that this dysfunctional board will ruin their careers.

If these players were professionals and truly cared about the team, they would stop chasing after captaincy and get behind one leader. Tell this idiotic and corrupt board to eff off and unite. Because, due to the boards muck ups, the players get thrown under the bus when the results don't come... while cronies like Naqvi continue to sit pretty in high chairs.

If I were Shaheen, I would not accept captaincy and tell the board that the team is backing Rizwan. Even though I personally loath Rizwan!

His ODI captaincy was decided on the basis of PSL performances.
Let's hope he delivers what's expected from him and is able to manage workload.

Rizwan might feel hard done by but I think Shaheen is a good choice in the current circumstances.

Judge Shaheen’s captaincy after 12 months or so. Of course it is about performance and some of the results will need to go his way. This policy of changing captains after every series needs to be shunned for good.

Look at Australia. They persisted with Mitch Marsh even though he was not performing with the bat for a long while. Now he is delivering results both as a batsman and captain

Rizwan should continue as wicket-keeper in ODIs. Don’t need a keeper (Haris) who leaves his brain at home while batting! cannot last more than 4 or 5 balls.

The pressure is now on Agha. He knows that he needs to perform as a batsman and captain in T20Is. Otherwise Shaheen could replace him as captain in that format as well

Rashid Latif speaking during a show on social media:

“There’s a ticker running that Rizwan is no longer captain—if it’s because he raised the Palestine flag, then are you really removing him for that? Maybe this mindset has crept in that a non-Islamic captain will now lead in an Islamic country.”

“This seems to be Mike Hesson’s doing; perhaps he doesn’t like this kind of culture in the dressing room. But why can’t these people understand what’s happening? He has a five-six-man team, and of course, they’d want this kind of culture removed from the dressing room.”

Has pcb publicly apologised to shaheen for his removal earlier? If not, shaheen should not take it considering their fickle nature.

Rizwan was doing a good job, won couple of away series, guess the humiliation of drubbing in a home Champions Trophy has finally taken his wicket.

I am pretty sure next year, Babar will replace Shaheen as the new skipper.

When telling the team "Don't worry nothing will change only the coach changes" comes back to bite you in the butt.

Good decision. We have to stop rewarding failure.

Those doing Bhangra about the victory vs Australia - does that exempt Rizwan from any accountability for the shambles after? Humiliating CT, NZ and WI Series.

Also, consider this. Waqar won an ODI series in Australia 2002, but had a disastrous World Cup in 2003. Was there any objection for Waqar being fired less than 12 months after the victory in Australia? Why does Rizwan deserve special treatment? Is it his smile? His back slapping of opposition? His closeness to babar?

I mean honestly - what did anyone expect after the recent failures?

As per a PCB source according to timesofindia following was the reason of removal of Mohammad Rizwan from captaincy:

"Rizwan had informed the PCB that he wouldn't endorse betting companies, which is the main reason behind his sacking. He was against the PCB's collaboration with surrogate betting firms."

As per a PCB source according to timesofindia following was the reason of removal of Mohammad Rizwan from captaincy:

"Rizwan had informed the PCB that he wouldn't endorse betting companies, which is the main reason behind his sacking. He was against the PCB's collaboration with surrogate betting firms."
@BouncerGuy you were telling me that sudden RL tweet wasn’t wasn’t relevant to Rizwan being sacked?

Salute to Rizwan if it was that reason and he stood his ground. A true warrior 💪

Rashid Latif speaking during a show on social media:

“There’s a ticker running that Rizwan is no longer captain—if it’s because he raised the Palestine flag, then are you really removing him for that? Maybe this mindset has crept in that a non-Islamic captain will now lead in an Islamic country.”

“This seems to be Mike Hesson’s doing; perhaps he doesn’t like this kind of culture in the dressing room. But why can’t these people understand what’s happening? He has a five-six-man team, and of course, they’d want this kind of culture removed from the dressing room.”
As usual Rashid Latif starting his own rumours without any basis in truth.

No one is being removed in Pakistan because of Palestine flag.

𝐒𝐡𝐚𝐡𝐞𝐞𝐧 𝐒𝐡𝐚𝐡 𝐀𝐟𝐫𝐢𝐝𝐢, 𝐁𝐚𝐛𝐚𝐫 𝐀𝐳𝐚𝐦, 𝐚𝐧𝐝 𝐌𝐨𝐡𝐚𝐦𝐦𝐚𝐝 𝐑𝐢𝐳𝐰𝐚𝐧 𝐰𝐢𝐥𝐥 𝐧𝐨𝐭 𝐛𝐞 𝐩𝐚𝐫𝐭 𝐨𝐟 𝐭𝐡𝐞 𝐓𝟐𝟎 𝐬𝐞𝐫𝐢𝐞𝐬 𝐚𝐠𝐚𝐢𝐧𝐬𝐭 𝐒𝐨𝐮𝐭𝐡 𝐀𝐟𝐫𝐢𝐜𝐚.
𝐓𝐡𝐞 𝐭𝐞𝐚𝐦 𝐬𝐪𝐮𝐚𝐝 𝐚𝐧𝐧𝐨𝐮𝐧𝐜𝐞𝐦𝐞𝐧𝐭 𝐢𝐬 𝐞𝐱𝐩𝐞𝐜𝐭𝐞𝐝 𝐥𝐚𝐭𝐞𝐫 𝐭𝐨𝐝𝐚𝐲

“According to information, the selection committee and head coach Mike Hesson’s next target is to completely remove Mohammad Rizwan from the Pakistan cricket team in all three formats”

One of Rizwan’s PR journos tweeted this….

WTH has he done to Mike Hesson? :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

“According to information, the selection committee and head coach Mike Hesson’s next target is to completely remove Mohammad Rizwan from the Pakistan cricket team in all three formats”

One of Rizwan’s PR journos tweeted this….

WTH has he done to Mike Hesson? :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
Who knows what goes on behind the scenes bro, he could hafe got wind of all the politicking from SayaCorps

Forget everything, after our diabolical home tournament with the CT which was a once in a generation opportunity, how can anybody who genuinely wishes well for Pakistan Cricket be upset with Rizwan’s sacking?

If you’re advocating for someone, then be objective with what they’ve actually achieved as a leader and what sort of long term vision / talent growth initiatives have they employed?

There are players such as Jimmy Anderson who have been asked to step aside for the long term benefit of English cricket, that’s Jimmy Anderson who earned the right to do as he pleased really, what have these blokes you worship actually done for Pakistan, it’s nothing except serious damage.

Unless pakistan has a law passed, no cricketer can decide who can sponsor Pakistan team. Its not in their domain. Any player making such decisions by himself damages the revenue for the board.

Players should know their boundaries

SSA should not be captain as he is a bit thick( technical term) . However, now that he is, he needs to be given all the Support needed. The terrible decision to make him captain before the T20 WC and then the even worse decision to sack him played a part in the disastrous T20 campaign.

Shaheen Shah Afridi named ODI captain

Lahore, 20 October 2025:

Shaheen Shah Afridi has been named captain of the Pakistan men’s ODI team, the Pakistan Cricket Board announced today. The left-arm fast bowler will lead Pakistan in the three-match ODI series against South Africa, scheduled to take place at the Iqbal Stadium in Faisalabad from 4 to 8 November.

Shaheen’s appointment for the upcoming series was finalised today following a meeting held in Islamabad, which was attended by white-ball head coach Mike Hesson, Director High Performance Aqib Javed and members of the selection committee.

The 25-year-old fast bowler has represented Pakistan in 66 ODIs and 92 T20Is, taking a combined 249 wickets. In 32 Tests, excluding the ongoing second Test against South Africa at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Shaheen has claimed 120 wickets.

Shaheen has previously led Pakistan in five T20Is against New Zealand in their own backyard in 2024.
Shaheen is the wrong choice, Mohsin Naqvi should be the non-playing Captain if Pakistan Cricket wants to touch the glorious and dizzying heights of winning

Make Pakistan Cricket, Great Again!

images.jpg

Wannabe Desi Shakespeare. I cringed so hard reading that because it just sounded gay.

Did him and Ramiz Raja go to the same college by any chance?
They did bro. Both are from Aitchison.

Imran Khan went there too.

Reporters and people related to the sports anchors working at Samaa TV are propogating the following

- Rizwan's excess religiousity was a problem for his team mates and the PCB
- Mike Hesson was not happy with Rizwan and had lost confidence in him
- Rizwan himself requested the PCB to appoint a new captain as he wanted to focus on his own performance

If the above is true, would Rizwan have not resigned himself rather than let the PCB sack him?

Shahid Afridi is the President of Samaa Sports hence not surprised. These ex players have proven to be extremely toxic with their likes and dislikes.