Shahid Afridi "Cricket makes you smile less, but it makes you cry much more"

Saj

In a frank and candid interview with me for Wisden Cricket Magazine, the former Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi spoke about the highlights of his career, why he rates Brian Lara as his toughest opponent, sharing the dressing room with likes of Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis and Inzamam-ul-Haq, his relationship with the Late Bob Woolmer and why he would like to stay away from politics - for now.

afridi1.jpg

Dreams of playing cricket professionally

When all you are doing in life at a young age is thinking about cricket and dreaming about cricket then that is most likely going to be your profession. I was constantly dreaming of playing cricket professionally and my dream and ambition was to play for Pakistan. When I achieved that dream of playing for my country, it was a wonderful experience, an experience that only those who have played cricket for their country can really understand. But hand on heart, I never thought I would play for Pakistan for so many years and be loved and appreciated by so many people around the world.

A lucky break

I never believed in short-cuts, it was always about hard work and being committed to cricket. The desire was to play cricket for my country and nobody or nothing was going to stop me from achieving that. You need a bit of luck in life to succeed and sometimes you need a lucky break and I got mine when in 1996 I was called-up to the Pakistan squad in Kenya when Mushtaq Ahmed was injured. I was on a tour of the Caribbean with the Pakistan Under-19 side and I was in good form and doing well and as a result of that I was called-up to join the senior side in Nairobi as a replacement for Mushtaq. And, as they say, the rest is history.

afridi2.jpg

The career-changing knock

People forget that I was a bowler when I started to play cricket. I had entered cricket as a leg-spinner who would bat at number 8 or number 9 and I was quite happy with that role when expectations from me as a batsman were pretty low. Then when that miracle of an innings happened against Sri Lanka in Kenya, I had to re-vamp myself as a cricketer and prove myself as a batsman and to show everyone that the 37-ball century was not a fluke. That innings completely changed my outlook as a cricketer, expectations from me with the bat became so high and people expected me to play such innings every time I went out to bat. Pressure is always there in international cricket, but that innings increased the pressure greatly on me as I suddenly had to change my profile as a cricketer from a bowler to an all-rounder, which was not an easy challenge for me.

Toughest Opponent

That would have to be Brian Lara. I got him out a few times, but whenever I was bowling to him, I always had that feeling in the back of my mind that he is going to hit me for four the next ball. He had an effect on me, where I never bowled with any confidence to him. He was a world-class batsman who dominated the best spinners he came up against, even the likes of Muttiah Muralitharan in Sri Lanka. His footwork against spinners was brilliant and the way he batted against such bowlers was a wonderful sight. He was sheer class.

afirid 3.jpg

Sharing a dressing-room with heroes and legends

I was really lucky in that when I came into the Pakistan team it was blessed with so many big names and legends and heroes of mine like Waqar Younis, Wasim Akram and Inzamam-ul-Haq. These were cricketers who I used to watch and admire on television and at first it was a strange feeling to be sharing the dressing-room with these greats of the game. But over the course of time I started earning their respect which was a big deal for me. Back then, competition for places was really intense and for each place in the starting XI you had several other options waiting for a chance. It wasn’t just about performing though, you had to be liked by the senior players too which was something that I had to learn and at times overcome.

Most influential team-mate

Sometimes senior players don’t really want to mix or help young and upcoming cricketers, as they see them as a threat, but I was really lucky that Wasim Akram was around. He always supported me, and I learnt so much from Wasim about the game. To have played under his captaincy was something that really helped me throughout my career. I believe that Wasim Akram was a very big influence on me as a cricketer and his guidance and support will always be appreciated.

afridi4.jpg

Most influential Coach

Bob Woolmer was a student of the game of cricket. He wasn’t one of those coaches who had played a lot of cricket at the highest level, but he was a cricket academic. Anybody can get coaching badges and qualifications, but for me it’s all about how you manage and handle cricketers. Any coach is great when you are winning and playing well, but Bob was someone who knew how to treat cricketers when they were down, when things weren’t going well and that to me, is the sign of a great coach. There were occasions when I would hit a boundary and then get out. What Bob Woolmer did was to talk about the boundary in glowing terms and not focus on the dismissal, he had the gift of being able to motivate any of his players. He was a fantastic man-manager and it’s no surprise that the performances of the Pakistan team and of individuals playing under him for Pakistan were very good when he was the Head Coach. It felt like we were a family, not a cricket team, when Bob was the Coach.

The Highs

Just playing for Pakistan was a high for me. So many people dream of playing for their country and never get that opportunity, but for me to have that honour for so long was a great achievement and something that I am so proud of. The 1999 World Cup was a great experience and being a part of that very strong Pakistan team was very enjoyable. It was a great tournament despite us losing the final at Lord’s. The 2009 Twenty20 World Cup win at Lord’s was also a wonderful time in my career and winning that tournament especially with the final being at Lord’s was a major milestone for me.

Tears and low points

There have been too many lows. Cricket makes you smile less, but it makes you cry much more. Cricketing politics at times within the dressing room, poor performances and when you are in a bad patch that also made me feel very down. Then there were the captains who tried their hardest to get rid of me from the team. There were some very tough times during my career, but I remained strong and I always had that self-belief. The support from my family was crucial and that really motivated me and helped me face adversity and challenges. My approach has always been to never fear failure and to always back yourself which is something that I did throughout my career.

t1larg.jpg

Spot-fixing saga

Those days were horrendous for everyone involved in Pakistan cricket. It was an incredibly difficult time for the players who had to pick up the pieces on that tour of England. Wherever we went in England we were labelled as cheats, people were badmouthing us, and fingers were being pointed at all of the squad. They were horrible days, a time that brought shame to Pakistan and a time, which to this day, I have very bad feelings and memories of.

A film about your life?

Well the much-awaited autobiography came out and that was a success. At the moment I’ve no plans of making a film about my career, but if someone wants to make a film based on my autobiography then they can certainly give it a try, but it won't be easy.

Home comforts

Whether it’s your first international match or your hundredth, there is no feeling like playing in front of your own fans. I think people tend to overlook just what a huge advantage it is to play in front of your own fans and on your home surfaces. The return of international cricket to Pakistan has been a huge challenge for the PCB and its brilliant news that more and more teams are willing to tour Pakistan. Pakistan’s Armed Forces deserve a lot of praise for their work in providing touring teams with Presidential level security and I’m delighted that the return of international cricket to Pakistan is now almost complete. We Pakistanis are cricket-mad, and we have all really missed international cricket not being played on our homeland.

All Change at the PCB

The players I have spoken with who have taken part in domestic cricket this season have been satisfied with the changes undertaken by the Pakistan Cricket Board. It’s all about quality over quantity in the new set-up which is understandable. To move forward, sometimes you have to lose some things on the way and it’s unfortunate that some players have not had an opportunity to play in the new structure, but we have to look at the bigger picture and I believe that the new system will provide Pakistan with quality cricketers in future. We have to be patient regarding the new structure and give it time, give it 2 years or maybe 3 years before forming an opinion. One thing we should do is to not keep changing the structure every year as that will only have a negative impact.

sa_cv.JPG

Charity work

The Shahid Afridi Foundation is doing very well, and I am grateful to the Almighty that he has given me the strength to embark on this venture. I started this journey with the Foundation as my country and my people have given me a lot and I wanted to give something back to them. It is now time to pay back my country and my aim is to provide education, health facilities and amenities such as running water to remote areas of Pakistan. Those of us who live in comfort forget about the daily struggles of others and I wanted to do my bit for my country and for those people in Pakistan who are struggling. It gives me a lot of satisfaction to see my Foundation help and support those struggling in remote areas. We now have 14 schools and 2 hospitals, and we have a number of other projects on the way. My charity work is very dear to me and very close to my heart.

Retirement date in mind?

I’m nearly done with cricket and we are nearly at the end of what has been an incredible and long journey. I’ve played a lot of cricket, travelled all around the world, played with and against many great players, played in some fantastic venues and have achieved a lot in my career, but I need to start giving more time to upcoming projects which are away from the cricket field. All good things come to an end and that end is not too far away.

I want to be remembered as……….

My father always said to me that what is more important than being a good cricketer is to be a good human being. We humans are weak, we make mistakes in life, but I believe that once you leave this planet and people remember you as a good person and they offer prayers for you, then you have been successful and achieved a lot during your life. I just want to be remembered as a good human being.

Shahid-Afridi--Imran-Khan_16bf940c3fe_medium.jpg

Shahid Afridi future Prime-Minister of Pakistan?

That chair that the Prime-Minister of Pakistan sits on looks very nice from a distance and I would like to keep it that way. Politics isn’t something that interests me. If I did get involved at some point in the future coaching cricket, it would be at the Under 16-level. I’d like to share my cricketing experiences and thoughts with the youngsters, talk to young cricketers about the pressures of cricket, speak to them about the outside pressures away from cricket which may affect them during their career. Otherwise, every day is a new day, every day is a beautiful day and I am not someone who plans too far into the future, as you never know what plans the Almighty has for you. So let’s wait and see what plans he has for me for the future.

What a career for Afridi and so much still to look forward to - Mashallah!

Also reports that Karachi Kings want him in some sort of coaching role:

“We miss Shahid Afridi a lot in Karachi Kings. He is playing right now, but after he retires, we will offer him a role in the coaching staff at Karachi Kings,” said Salman Iqbal.

Lala...

The one and only Afridi.

What an ambassador he has been for Pakistan cricket.

Legendary player.

In my opinion he underachieved though.

Should’ve batted as an opener his whole career long.

One of the very best. Shame that his bowling doesnt get mentioned as his main asset in a team.

He was a very polarizing figure during his career, but the humanitarian work he is doing now is widely admired. Great to see the foundation helping the needy.

Wasn't always his bigget fan at times, but I have to admit he was a pillar of Pakistan cricket over so many years, even if he did underachieve, and a great human being. His foundation's work is fantastic.

Was lucky enough to spend a few hours with him last year. I faced an over against him and also gave throw downs to him! What an experience!

Financially and stardom wise the most succesful Pakistani Cricketer

Love him or hate him he does stand out from the crowd

Fact is that he was a superstar when he was playing - and has kept up that persona after retirement too.

Probably the only Pakistani retired player to be getting commercials after Wasim

Frustrating at times, brilliant on other occasions. He made fans smile, cry, laugh, tear their hair out.

Filled stadiums wherever he played, an entertainer, a rare species as a cricketer.

One of the most popular cricketers ever.

Lovely speaking with him.

Love him or hate him, he will be remembered for many years to come.

The charity work he is doing at the moment is amazing and that alone is enough for him to be regarded as a great.

Title quote is a great reminder of the dark draining mental side of professional sport. The top performers are just as strong mentally as they are technically.

He probably made the most amount of money in Pakistan Cricket during his lifetime and he is giving back which is heart warming to see.

Blast from the past...

<iframe width="975" height="731" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/9iw4Pk3g8AA" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

==

New Zealand v Pakistan (10 overs each).

Toss: New Zealand.
Result: Pakistan won by six runs.
Man of the Match: Shahid Afridi (Pakistan)

New Zealand 94 (114-20).
(Astle 46-20=26, Harris 63)
Extras 5

Bowling: Azhar Mahmood 5-0-52-2, Shahid Afridi 5-0-62-0

Scores after each over of NZ innings:
1: +2. 2: +9. 3: +23. 4: +38. 5: +50.
6: +64. 7: +75. 8: +88. 9: +82. 10: +94.

Pakistan 100 (130-30).
(Afridi 87-10=77, Azhar 43-20=23)
Extras 0

Bowling: Harris 5-0-64-2, Astle 5-0-66-1.

Scores after each over of Pakistan innings:
1: +8. 2: +23. 3: +37. 4: +61. 5: +76.
6: +76. 7: +78. 8: +89. 9: +94. 10: +100.

http://static.espncricinfo.com/db/A...DBL-WKT/PAK_DBL-WKT_D4-RESULTS_29APR1998.html

Under achieved in batting ... did not take responsibility and demoted himself to lower order...had all the ingredients to end up with 32-34 odi average with 95 SR

How will Lala be remembered when he retires?

Jazakallah Saj bhai.

Good to see that Afridi wants to get involved in age group cricket at some point, need more of our past cricketers to take an interest in U-16 and U-19.

Shahid Afridi "Cricket makes you smile less, but it makes you cry much more.

If this is the state of Pak national cricketers then I got a news for you Shahid.

This is exactly same scenario with Pakistan fans too.

Afridi is by far the most famous cricketer in Pakistan's history (excluding IK). Many people who couldn't care less about cricket are fans of Afridi.

Afridi and Shoaib Akhtar had legendary status when i was growing up. They weren't looked at as mere cricketers but as superheroes by kids.

Shahid Afridi might enter cricket administration 'someday'

t's not an immediate goal for him but former Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi says he wouldn't mind trying his hand at cricket administration some time in future to give back to the game in his country.

Speaking to PTI, the flamboyant all-rounder said he would like to take Pakistan cricket to the top and is ready to don the administrator's hat for that to happen, but not immediately.

"I haven't thought too much about it (joining PCB) right now, but yes, why not?" the 40-year-old said in an interview facilitated by the Lankan Premier League, where he is competing for Galle Gladiators, mentored by Wasim Akram.

"Someday, I would like to play a more prominent role in Pakistan cricket and give something back to the game. I would do anything to see Pakistan cricket at the top of world cricket in all formats," he added.

READ | Cricket Australia optimistic of hosting Adelaide Test amid lockdown

Talking about Pakistan cricket, the former skipper, while being sympathetic towards sacked Test captain Azhar Ali, felt that it was on the cards once they lost to Australia and England.

"I don't want to be too harsh on Azhar because he tried to build a legacy under his captaincy," Afridi said.

"But despite his hundred against Sri Lanka and win against both Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, the series loss to Australia and finally the loss to England perhaps didn't go down too well with the management," he added on the PCB's decision to elevate Babar Azam to Test captaincy.

"Babar has a good T20 captaincy record too, so let us give him a chance and see if he is capable of handling the pressure of captaining Pakistan," he finds no harm in checking the youngster's leadership capabilities in the longer format.

When asked if Pakistan team of the present has lost the formidable look it had in '80s and '90s and even early 2000s, the veteran of 398 ODIs, 99 T20Is and 27 Tests said that eras can't be simply compared.

"It will be very unfair to compare the current cricketers with the legends of the past.

"Give them some more time to mature, they are good and with some maturity, they will also develop the frightening qualities in them."

T20 cricket, since its advent, has also undergone a change, Afridi feels.

"One big change is that I have noticed is that players have become very innovative as the game has become more technical. It is not just a plain boundary hitting game like many would like to believe," said the former all-rounder, who has played more than 300 T20 games in his competitive career.

The teams have also gone a notch higher in terms of homework.

"A lot of calculations go in deciding the line-up, field placements, bowling changes and a lot of work happens at the back-end where the coaching staff, the analysts, trainers are all equally involved like the 11 players on the field all through the game.

"The game has become very fast compared to what it was a few years back."

Afridi has represented 25 teams in a career spanning close to two and half decades and he believes it's the love of his fans that keeps him going.

"It feels good to be loved. Inshallah! I am really fortunate that people have never stopped showing their love to me, no matter whether I have performed or not," said Afridi.

"My game hasn't changed and the love of people towards me too hasn't changed. I thankful to the Almighty for that. I am looking forward to play in the Lanka Premier League for the Galle franchise."

Speaking about the highly-awaited India-Australia series later this month, Afridi said the visitor will feel its regular captain Virat Kohli's absence once he flies home after the opening Test in Adelaide next month but asserted that there are enough players who can step up.

"No doubt Kohli's absence will be felt but then, India has some really good players in the line-up who should take this opportunity and make it count," Afridi said.

https://sportstar.thehindu.com/cric...premier-league-babar-azam/article33139747.ece

A below average player but a superstar in Pakistan cricket.

Below average is little unfair tbh and definitely not in Lois

cricket faternity may look down on him but he'll always have a special place in our hearts

Oh I remember that match!

Mahela and Sanga were batting at 160 or 170, thier partnership was going well and Sri Lanka at 160-170 for 2 chasing 200 and they were well on thier way towards victory

But than Lala turned up the nos and Sri Lanka collapsed

Btw when he scored those 75 runs Pak batting also collapsed if I remember correctly they were 5-6 down at some really low score

And than Afridi turned up

Cricket legend Shahid Afridi believes that it is mostly because of men that women feel they’re obliged to have a son in the family.

“Although I’m mostly travelling, I try my best to spend time with my daughters on Eid,” Afridi said on SAMAA TV’s show Sawal hosted by Ehtesham Amiruddin. “I feel blessed to have seen my life change with every one of my daughters.”

The cricketer said he is strongly against men who wish for a son and don’t celebrate their daughters. “It’s prevalent among us Pathans too, tavees (amulets) and all. But I think there’s a special bond between fathers and daughters.”

Afridi’s wife used to feel the couple ought to have a son at first, but when she saw him treating his daughters with the same amount of love and affection, she didn’t think so anymore. It’s mostly because of men that women feel they should have a son, he added. “My wife knows I’m happy with my daughters and love them a lot, so she is content.”

He confirmed that cricketer Shaheen Afridi’s family has indeed been seeking his daughter’s hand in marriage for two years.

Early days in cricket

Afridi opened up on his early days in cricket and revealed that he was scolded and beaten a lot by his parents for not studying and playing cricket instead all the time.

“When I played under 14 and 18, there was only cricket in my all life,” he said. “I used to sleep in my kit if I had a match the next day because I didn’t want to be late.”

Afridi’s father wanted him to focus on studies, but his brother and cricketers in their neighbourhood, including Haroon Rasheed, encouraged and supported him. “There was no social media at that time, so people showed my pictures in Dawn and Jang to my father and said his son was indeed up to something good.”

Afridi was inspired by former cricketer Imran Khan, who had made it big with his passion and hard work and was known all over the world. “I always used to say to myself that if he could be blessed with such respect then why couldn’t I?”

Ups and downs

In 1996, Afridi’s family was Rs10 million in debt after his father invested in the stock market. “The amount mattered a lot in those days. But my father never sought support from anyone in the family even when they offered it.” Afridi saw his father crying and praying on their terrace for two months until things took a turn when he got selected for the team.

“I had the best bowling performance in the West Indies,” he said. “Then Mushtaq Ahmed had an injury and the then captain Haroon Rashid called me up and said I had been selected for batting.” Afridi ended up creating a world record by scoring a hundred in 37 deliveries.

When asked about how he deals with the ups and downs, Afridi recounted how he had almost lost hope after winning the 2009 World T20 (Pakistan vs Sri Lanka).

“I decided not to play cricket anymore,” he admitted. “Shoaib Malik had become the captain and there was a lot of politics going on within the team.”

Afridi was then taken to a buzurg (an old spiritual man) by one his friends whose words the cricketer recalls even today when he is going through a hard time. “He said you’re so worried about your own performance and worldly matters. Just compare your hardships to those of Prophet Muhammad (PBUH), and you will realise that yours are nothing.”

On fitness and playing with young cricketers

“I have to take care of my fitness,” Afridi said. “It’s not easy to play cricket with youngsters as their fitness is amazing.”

When asked how he feels about cricketers today, including Babar Azam, Afridi said he is the backbone of Pakistan cricket team at the moment and is learning very fast. “But when we started out in 1996, there used to be 14 or 15 stars in a team.” He said cricketers can become stars only by winning matches, and that there aren’t as many stars today as there were back in the day. He called on cricket academies to train youngsters not only in batting or bowling, but communication skills as well.

Afridi denied having a hand in the infamous episode wherein fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar had hit Mohammad Asif with a bat. “Things happen,” he said. “Asif had sided with me in a joke which enraged Shoaib and all this happened. But Shoaib has a very beautiful heart.”

Afridi’s favourites

When asked about his favourite Bollywood actor, Afridi said he and Tabu used to talk over the phone at hotels as there were no cell phones. But avoided the question about his favourite Pakistani actors when given such options as Mahira Khan, Mehwish Hayat and Maya Ali.

“I’ve not been following them.” Afridi named, however, Fazeela Qazi and Atiqa Odho his favourite drama stars. When asked what beauty is according to him, Afridi remarked that it is “simplicity”.

Advice for PM Khan

Afridi remarked that politicians should know that their first and foremost responsibility is to give people their rights. “Imran Khan is stuck in the system,” he said, “and a person or two can’t change it.” Running the country is not like playing a cricket match that requires a team comprising 12 or 13 players, Afridi said, adding that it’s a question of millions of people. He remarked that most of PM Khan’s government has the same members who have been associated with the parties the premier keeps calling “corrupt and incompetent”.

“He [PM Khan] gives a lot of explanations,” Afridi said. “It’s about time he left behind [Asif] Zardari and Nawaz Sharif, and focus on what his own people are doing.”

He ruled out the possibility of creating his own political party if he ever ventured into politics and said he is focusing on serving people through his Shahid Afridi Foundation at the moment.

https://www.samaa.tv/lifeandstyle/2...essure-to-bear-sons-family-debt-imran-advice/

Shahid Afridi speaking in an Eid show:

"If you want to play cricket alongside youngsters then you will need to stay fit"

"When we started playing cricket in 1996, there were 14-15 stars in the team but that is not the case now; You only get stars when you win games"

"Babar is an outstanding player now but only when Pakistan wins because of his performances will he become a bigger name in cricket"

"I have been saying this for a while now that the NHPC in Lahore should not only be about teaching batting/bowling/fielding but it should be about teaching them how to handle the media as well"

"Babar is our team captain in all 3 formats, he should be groomed as well"

About the Asif bat incident

"Sometimes these things happen as we are away from our families and sometimes people cannot bear jokes being made; So in that situation, Asif was helping me in that joke with Shoaib Akhtar but Shoaib didnt like it and so he went in with Asif, and I tried to intervene"

"Even I had some run-ins with others such as with Inzi bhai whilst playing football and also with Younis Khan in a similar situation"

"I have spent a lot of time with Shoaib Akhtar and I can say that despite what he looks from outside, he is a very kind hearted person from the inside"

Few people have the aura and presence that Afridi carries to this day. Not many cricketers have been such larger than life characters. We couldn't have won the wt20 09 without him. I think he was an underrated test cricketer and should have 60-70 tests atleast. His batting suffered heavily since he retired from tests back in 2006.

Would like to know which captains is he referring to when he says they tried their best to get rid of him. One is probably Shoaib Malik, who are the others? Waqar Younis, Rashid Latif? Salman Butt was definitely thinking about getting the captaincy in all formats after becoming the test captain and he publicly hates Afridi.

Supporters of PTI wouldn't like his comment on current government but I wholeheartedly agree with him.

Scoring at a strike rate of 147.8, Bairstow played the innings of his life which included 14 fours and 7 maximums. His quick-fire innings saw Bairstow break several records, including one of Shahid Afridi.

Shahid Afridi scored a century against West Indies in only 78 deliveries at the Bridgetown whereas Jonny Bairstow reached the milestone in 77 deliveries, securing the record for second-fastest century in the fourth innings of a Test match.

https://cricketpakistan.com.pk/en/n...-breaks-shahid-afridis-record-in-test-cricket

Now mentor of KPL franchise Jammu Janbaz

FW9ZXfRWIAEAC5d

He is selfishly hogging a spot for a younger player. He should seriously quit now. He doesn't have the fitness anymore

How we could do with Lala at his best in the current T20I side.

Would love to see him as a coach of Pakistan's LOI teams especially T20 one. :inti

He isn't in favor of having a head coach for international team.
He's said many times that there should be only seperate batting, bowling, fielding coaches run by a team manager with captain having all the authority over tactics and selection.

Not in favor of his ideology of international team.

Could still out perform some of the names we have in the side in batting, bowling and fielding.

Think t20 in international cricket started a decade too late as far as Afridi the batter is concerned. He used to be very quick to get behind the ball against the pacers till 2007.

He’s probably the greatest T20 cricketer ever despite the fact that the format really took off in his later years. The guy was hitting test 100s opening the batting in his early career and everyone saw his bowling at the World Cup in 2011. Outrageously gifted cricketer who had the perfect temperament for this format.

I think when he played Pakistan was a bit spoilt for choice in terms of decent T20I players.

Nowadays I think we realise just how effective and useful he was.

Doubt anyone can match his aura and crazy fan following in Atleast next coming 20 years
Our current players all are dull .

I think with Afridi, it is fair to say was a rare breed of player where you could always see his talent, energy, enthusiasm and desire to win but he continually broke our hearts more then he made us smile.

Despite the heartbreak, I’ve never seen such a box office player where you are glued to the screen when he is batting and when he made you smile, you remain uplifted all day.

Afridi will never go down for me as an elite all time great but he will always be the player I enjoy watching more than most. That to me is what sport is about - entertainment.

I think with Afridi, it is fair to say was a rare breed of player where you could always see his talent, energy, enthusiasm and desire to win but he continually broke our hearts more then he made us smile.

Despite the heartbreak, I’ve never seen such a box office player where you are glued to the screen when he is batting and when he made you smile, you remain uplifted all day.

Afridi will never go down for me as an elite all time great but he will always be the player I enjoy watching more than most. That to me is what sport is about - entertainment.

Since the Misbah era started entertaining players were curtailed and dropped whereas slow boring batsmen like Azhar Ali were the new foundation for Pakistan the new people in charge are still applying that formula and refusing to play aggressive cricket in test cricket that exactly what the public wants entertaining cricketers and positive results.

1.jpg

Had a fantastic hit-about today in the exhibition game, 25 from 17 balls.

Good to see Lala playing with so much aggression

He could still turn up at a match, bowl a few balls and hit a couple of sixes and he would fill the stadium.

Shahid Afridi signing an Indian flag during Legends League

<blockquote class="imgur-embed-pub" lang="en" data-id="5xLDM2k"><a href="https://imgur.com/5xLDM2k">View post on imgur.com</a></blockquote><script async src="//s.imgur.com/min/embed.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

View attachment 118533

Had a fantastic hit-about today in the exhibition game, 25 from 17 balls.

ATG t20 cricketer. The one format where he did justice to his talent somewhat.. not surprising.

Still remember his century out of nowhere batting in the top order at the England t20 competition (Natwest?) POST retirement :)))

ATG t20 cricketer. The one format where he did justice to his talent somewhat.. not surprising.

Still remember his century out of nowhere batting in the top order at the England t20 competition (Natwest?) POST retirement :)))

That was a special knock in the QF, he treated the spinners especially with disdain. The bowling attack had Matt Henry and Imran Tahir to, but in a very Afridi like way, next game which was the semi-final, he was out for a first ball duck lol

Speaking in a TV show, Shahid Afridi said he is working on his fitness as he is set to play in a couple of upcoming leagues.

"I got an offer to play in T10 league last year but I couldn't go there due to some personal commitments. This year if they offer me, I will play inshallah"

"Canada T20 league, a league in America and Sindh Premier League (SPL) is also in the pipeline. You will see me in action inshallah".

Former Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi will don the national colours once again in the Inaugural Over 40s World Cup, set to be held here in September-October, the country’s veteran cricket association announced on Friday.

Afridi, who represented Pakistan from 1996 to 2016, agreed to feature for the veterans’ side after a meeting with Pakistan Veterans Cricket Association chairman Fawad Ijaz Khan and other officials on Thursday, said a PVCA press release.

The former all-rounder currently runs a social welfare foundation — named after himself — which will be the “CSR Partner” for the tournament, according to the association.

The Over 40s World Cup will see eight teams — from Australia, West Indies, Canada, Hong Kong, Saudi Arabia, UAE and the US — vie for the honours at the National Bank Stadium here from Sept. 23 to Oct. 8.

DAWN