Sheer unprofessionalism and selfishness of former and current Pakistani cricketers hurts me

Bhaijaan

Hall of Famer
...as a life long well-wisher and die hard fan of Pakistan cricket.

I think the solution to all problems related to Pakistan cricket is to completely getting rid of ALL ex cricketers from any position of relevance in Pakistani cricket.

Barring a few legends they were all mostly unprofessional themselves and are full of selfishness.

They are all delusiinal, full of themselves, and All they want is to suck money from Pakistan cricket like leeches

You don't need that. Get rid of all of them.

Bring in die hard non cricketing professionals to run Pakistan cricket. Just suggesting but even people like [MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] etc can do a great job than these ex cricketers and politicial uncles.

This is 2019, the sort of gutter comments many Pakistani cricketers and ex cricketers get away with on daily basis amazes me. They get away smiling leaving me in shock like how can you even say that? And how in the hell is someone with such unprofessional mentality getting a way in important matters?

Life of a modem day Pakistan fan must be awful.

You deserve better. Afghanistan and Nepal have more professionalism than you.

Batsmen who averaged mere 20 something and bowlers with barely 100 wickets at an average of 40 in these countries have started contributing way more effectively after retirement compared to so called legends of Pakistan cricket.

How can you get anywhere with these delusional, dishonest and greedy people in your system.

Please you need a cleaning driving

The ex cricketers in Pakistan are the most toxic of all ex cricketer communities in world cricket.

There's always an axe to grind or grudges to settle.

Sometimes you need controversy to remain relevant and you can see that on both sides of the fence (IND & PAK) and some of these so called stars from the past will do anything and everything before they fade into history.

Best piece of advice, ignore them altogether whether its Sarfraz Khan or Gautam Gambhir. The more you feed them, the larger they get.

We have the misfortune of having the most paindu ex-cricketers polluting the cricketing infrastructure. The 'bahar ka coach nahi hona chahiye' sensationalist campaign run by most of these leeches was an utter disgrace.

PCB is a reflection of Pakistan society - you cannot have an A class institution in an environment which breeds mediocrity

The ex cricketers in Pakistan are the most toxic of all ex cricketer communities in world cricket.

There's always an axe to grind or grudges to settle.

The way they say things like give me a job with PCB and I will get talent out of a hat like magic it is so cringe worthy.

When it comes to Pakistan cricket it always seems like the bigger the name the worse the attitude and ego he carried around.

This is precisely why I suggest this although impossible completely out of the box idea.

I used to belong to the minority which thought Misbah ul Haq was sensible and educated. After seeing his latest press conference even I am doubting his mental state. On media he was literally ridiculing Pakistani talent in domestic cricket saying things like aaaap uska record dekh lo he doesn't deserve to be in team how can I pick him. How can he say such things even. He is there to motivate talent to get to national team or destroy their confidence and ridicule them on TV like this. How idiotic. He is now full of arrogance which he thinks is sarcasm.and shows him.cool but it is toxic and Pakistan deserve better.

The way they say things like give me a job with PCB and I will get talent out of a hat like magic it is so cringe worthy.

When it comes to Pakistan cricket it always seems like the bigger the name the worse the attitude and ego he carried around.

This is precisely why I suggest this although impossible completely out of the box idea.

I used to belong to the minority which thought Misbah ul Haq was sensible and educated. After seeing his latest press conference even I am doubting his mental state. On media he was literally ridiculing Pakistani talent in domestic cricket saying things like aaaap uska record dekh lo he doesn't deserve to be in team how can I pick him. How can he say such things even. He is there to motivate talent to get to national team or destroy their confidence and ridicule them on TV like this. How idiotic. He is now full of arrogance which he thinks is sarcasm.and shows him.cool but it is toxic and Pakistan deserve better.

Misbah is a very smart and educated man. Yes maybe he let that slip, and that isn't right, but he talked a lot of sense as well. The journalists were trash and asking him bakwas and trying to pressure him. Give the man time.

This was in response to a question by a journalist asking why Abid Ali wasn't in the team.

Misbah rightly pointed out that with an average of 20 and strike-rate of 104, the journalists themselves would have crucified him for picking such a player. He also said that Abid can come into contention with good performances in the National T20 Cup which starts tomorrow.

Nothing wrong with that answer at all. And the ridiculing tone of his response was aimed at the journalist, not at the players.

This might hurt lots of posters here but following PAK cricket almost religiously for almost four decades, I can say that PP is a perfect reflection of PAK cricket society - there is a massive ego of entitlement across the cricket fraternity of Pakistan which is blocking their vision beyond their delusional world of own fantasy. More alarming that, the reality checks are often “covered up” with excuses, those are irrelevant to cricket matters - sometimes selection, some times rebuilding, sometimes coaching staff, sometimes isolation, sometimes geo-politics or sometimes just simple bad luck. But, the white elephant in the big room that’s often overlooked is that, this is a pathetic PAK generation of cricketers that doesn’t draw any respect from opponents - let alone fear!!!!!

India is far ahead now, but what I see the treatment today for BD, SRL or AFG team was exactly the case just about a decade back for Indian team, for their pacers, for their “flat track bully” batsmen and that’s to me the main reason of this free fall - lots of soul searching is required and PAK as a cricket nation must realise where they belong first - a troll that takes more pleasure for neighbours’ defeat or a former world champion that was once famous for their expressive flamboyance in cricket field. It’s easy to mock BD team when they are losing to SRL or AFG teams after so called 20 years of experience; but then the attitude is missing when after 75 years of experience being white washed to SRL reserves at home to their strongest format - just one example.

It’s a pity to watch being PAK cricket fan that some of the posters takes more satisfaction in levelling BD as an Afghan spillover than the grief should be there for losing 0-3 to reserves of SRL B at home .... and I see a self serving consolation in levelling it as “just a meaningless T20”, but I didn’t see that spirit when BD lost to AFGs is same format in their home ground - just 2nd example.

It should hurt, it should hurt to the core of PAK cricket - being just a fan I felt the pain and I deliberately didn’t post a single negative comment in those three T20s, because I could see the writing on the wall - it’s no fun to kick the belly of a fallen guy. It should hurt PAK cricket of realisation that India has moved generations ahead of them, rather than measuring how many inches they are ahead of BD, AFG or SRL.

Unprofessionalism is not the only problem here - Senegal soccer team drew with Brazil few days back and FGS, their soccer association isn’t more professional than PCB. What is missing for PCT is benchmarking - only 10-12 countries play cricket seriously and it’s a dying game in half of those. Even without any effort, PAK will remain in top 8-9 for many, many years, because it’s the mail n game of a 23 crore country (and not many countries in this game) - problem is it is more skewed to satisfaction that we are ahead of BD, SRL, WIN or AFGs in ranking table. I am afraid, exactly that’s the case here as a whole.

PAK cricket collectively has to feel the pain that IND B will smash PAK 5-0 in the two major formats of the game, otherwise only professionalism won’t solve the problem. This acceptance of mediocrity is the problem here, otherwise PCB is much more professional than what was in past. That entitlement is catching up current players as well - 20 years back I saw Wasim Akram leaving the World Cup final podium with a nod to Warne - dejected, shamed and humiliated..... today PAK players are happy to celebrate a 50 against Afghans!!! The signs are ominous.

Sorry for my long, heavy two pounds ......

This might hurt lots of posters here but following PAK cricket almost religiously for almost four decades, I can say that PP is a perfect reflection of PAK cricket society - there is a massive ego of entitlement across the cricket fraternity of Pakistan which is blocking their vision beyond their delusional world of own fantasy. More alarming that, the reality checks are often “covered up” with excuses, those are irrelevant to cricket matters - sometimes selection, some times rebuilding, sometimes coaching staff, sometimes isolation, sometimes geo-politics or sometimes just simple bad luck. But, the white elephant in the big room that’s often overlooked is that, this is a pathetic PAK generation of cricketers that doesn’t draw any respect from opponents - let alone fear!!!!!

India is far ahead now, but what I see the treatment today for BD, SRL or AFG team was exactly the case just about a decade back for Indian team, for their pacers, for their “flat track bully” batsmen and that’s to me the main reason of this free fall - lots of soul searching is required and PAK as a cricket nation must realise where they belong first - a troll that takes more pleasure for neighbours’ defeat or a former world champion that was once famous for their expressive flamboyance in cricket field. It’s easy to mock BD team when they are losing to SRL or AFG teams after so called 20 years of experience; but then the attitude is missing when after 75 years of experience being white washed to SRL reserves at home to their strongest format - just one example.

It’s a pity to watch being PAK cricket fan that some of the posters takes more satisfaction in levelling BD as an Afghan spillover than the grief should be there for losing 0-3 to reserves of SRL B at home .... and I see a self serving consolation in levelling it as “just a meaningless T20”, but I didn’t see that spirit when BD lost to AFGs is same format in their home ground - just 2nd example.

It should hurt, it should hurt to the core of PAK cricket - being just a fan I felt the pain and I deliberately didn’t post a single negative comment in those three T20s, because I could see the writing on the wall - it’s no fun to kick the belly of a fallen guy. It should hurt PAK cricket of realisation that India has moved generations ahead of them, rather than measuring how many inches they are ahead of BD, AFG or SRL.

Unprofessionalism is not the only problem here - Senegal soccer team drew with Brazil few days back and FGS, their soccer association isn’t more professional than PCB. What is missing for PCT is benchmarking - only 10-12 countries play cricket seriously and it’s a dying game in half of those. Even without any effort, PAK will remain in top 8-9 for many, many years, because it’s the mail n game of a 23 crore country (and not many countries in this game) - problem is it is more skewed to satisfaction that we are ahead of BD, SRL, WIN or AFGs in ranking table. I am afraid, exactly that’s the case here as a whole.

PAK cricket collectively has to feel the pain that IND B will smash PAK 5-0 in the two major formats of the game, otherwise only professionalism won’t solve the problem. This acceptance of mediocrity is the problem here, otherwise PCB is much more professional than what was in past. That entitlement is catching up current players as well - 20 years back I saw Wasim Akram leaving the World Cup final podium with a nod to Warne - dejected, shamed and humiliated..... today PAK players are happy to celebrate a 50 against Afghans!!! The signs are ominous.

Sorry for my long, heavy two pounds ......

Very well said, pakistan fans really need to be more level headed and not just trying to make excuses or console themselves in being better than X team. This really ties in with what [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] often says, the culture is rotten to the core.

I don't know how this can be fixed though. Maybe getting players through an education programme. We need to somehow remove the arrogance from the players and their acceptance of mediocrity - we need that hunger back.

I don't think the situation is as bad it seems though, T20 is a joke format under a new management. But yes, the performance should have been better, much better and it wasn't acceptable. I am willing to give the new management more time.

Very well said, pakistan fans really need to be more level headed and not just trying to make excuses or console themselves in being better than X team. This really ties in with what [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] often says, the culture is rotten to the core.

I don't know how this can be fixed though. Maybe getting players through an education programme. We need to somehow remove the arrogance from the players and their acceptance of mediocrity - we need that hunger back.

I don't think the situation is as bad it seems though, T20 is a joke format under a new management. But yes, the performance should have been better, much better and it wasn't acceptable. I am willing to give the new management more time.

The situation is worse than that - trust me. PAK has a century long heritage & cricket culture hence still team is winning “crunch” moments against less experienced side, just from the vast experience of playing log many games at higher level - like the Asia Cup or WC games against Afghans or the Afridi blast at Dhaka few years back. Trust me, within few years time that gap will be closed and it won’t be fun any more.

What is alarming is the skill set of players - did you see the strike play of rookie Lankan batsmen, or their new ball skill? I know it’s T20, but you missed the hind side - in a game where on their day almost any team can beat others, latest was Singapore blowing Zimbabwe after Zimbabwe had blasted Afghans in very previous game; SRL reserves beat PAK’s first XI 3 times in a row with plenty to spare!!!! It doesn’t happen without a reason. Even in ODI, that SRL side made a game of chasing 300 from 28/5 and just one experienced bowler, they would have choked PAK in 2nd game.

I thought this series will end like the famous ZIM tour as I believed PAK players still are capable of crashing 2nd/3rd ranked team/squads, but it didn’t happen - that’s the gradual decline. Start to demand more, start to ask questions - today Shadab Khan is a next Gen prodigy of PAK cricket; trust me, just about 29-25 years back there were several such 2 penny all-rounders playing street cricket in Lahore/Karachi and I myself have scouted few for league cricket.

It was T20, which reduces the experience gap between two sides for short distance- but that’s probably was the reason also for SRL reserves to lose both ODI as well!!!!

The situation is worse than that - trust me. PAK has a century long heritage & cricket culture hence still team is winning “crunch” moments against less experienced side, just from the vast experience of playing log many games at higher level - like the Asia Cup or WC games against Afghans or the Afridi blast at Dhaka few years back. Trust me, within few years time that gap will be closed and it won’t be fun any more.

What is alarming is the skill set of players - did you see the strike play of rookie Lankan batsmen, or their new ball skill? I know it’s T20, but you missed the hind side - in a game where on their day almost any team can beat others, latest was Singapore blowing Zimbabwe after Zimbabwe had blasted Afghans in very previous game; SRL reserves beat PAK’s first XI 3 times in a row with plenty to spare!!!! It doesn’t happen without a reason. Even in ODI, that SRL side made a game of chasing 300 from 28/5 and just one experienced bowler, they would have choked PAK in 2nd game.

I thought this series will end like the famous ZIM tour as I believed PAK players still are capable of crashing 2nd/3rd ranked team/squads, but it didn’t happen - that’s the gradual decline. Start to demand more, start to ask questions - today Shadab Khan is a next Gen prodigy of PAK cricket; trust me, just about 29-25 years back there were several such 2 penny all-rounders playing street cricket in Lahore/Karachi and I myself have scouted few for league cricket.

It was T20, which reduces the experience gap between two sides for short distance- but that’s probably was the reason also for SRL reserves to lose both ODI as well!!!!

Those are all good points and it is alarming.

I don't know. I guess the new FC system is a step in the right direction if it's executed properly. Pakistan cannot accept mediocrity like Shadab or sarfraz.

What I don't get, is why doesn't the PCB ever have the balls to drop underperformers like them and try someone new? They always retain these players and excessively back them.

Pakistan Cricket and getting involved in the administration is not for the faint hearted. You don't like the criticism, vultures don't get involved.

Misbah probably just saw the pay cheque when accepting the CS, Head Coach and Batting Coach role, he didn't take into account the criticism and vultures that would pounce on him if he didn't perform

An ugly truth.

Pakistan cricket is declining and unprofessionalism of most ex and current players is one of many reasons.

PCB is a reflection of Pakistan society - you cannot have an A class institution in an environment which breeds mediocrity
Oh this is perfect depiction of pakistan today in literally everything.

You don't want ex Pakistani Cricketers to talk, you go ahead and perform in the field, if you are on 14 ODI losing streak, if you your last 8 T-20's in a row, if your A T-20 sides loses to an 8th rank T-20 side, don't expect anyone to show mercy let alone these so called unprofessional cricketers.

While I agree, I think the problem is these ex-cricketers drag the nation's cricket down regardless of the result.

They make unnecessary comments, try to weasel into high-paying positions (without doing the work properly), and even try to promote their unqualified buddies. The only thing anyone can learn from these guys is how to be selfish.

The same attitude then rubs onto the current players because these former cricketers are their role models.

Even in general discussions with Pakistanis who are mainly uneducated and are doing taxi etc, their solution is also to appoint xyz legend into abc positions. They do not have the wisdom to think outside of the box and no recognition of the actual hard workers in the domestic circuit or coaches around the world.

The PCB needs a complete overhaul of sincere professionals. I wouldn't mind if they move their head office to Dubai and attract more applicants from around the globe. Tired of these rigid fools not using their brains and consistently letting everyone down but their friends.