Shoaib Akhtar resigns "effective immediately" as adviser to PCB Chairman [Post #70]

PennOne

Local Club Regular
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shoaib Akhtar has been appointed Advisor to Chairman on Cricket Affairs/Brand Ambassador PCB</p>— Najam Sethi (@najamsethi) <a href="https://twitter.com/najamsethi/status/964561907498840064?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 16, 2018</a></blockquote>

Misbah would have been the best choice for the role.

Shoaib, i am not sure if he can be any good.

Ya Parwar Digar, Rehem Kaar - salamat rehna mere yaaaar.

Nothing serious guys - I am praying before lunch.

It's the same old policy of PCB. They understand psyche of ex-cricketers. They tend to stop criticizing when they have an incentive attached to it. Shoaib won't bicker on Geo anymore.

This is what happens when you appoint a corrupt, incompetent individual like Sethi as the head of the most powerful sports board in the country as a token of appreciation for doctoring elections.

The challenge is for a certain poster to praise Sethi like he always does but also protest against this pathetic move.

Well he does a lot of talking , let's see how much he puts into place that is if he any power. Wouldn't be surprised if he's another part of highly paid PCB staff who don't do anything .

This role is about as substantive as Javed Miandad's "Director General" role.

Jobs for the boys.

This role is about as substantive as Javed Miandad's "Director General" role.

Jobs for the boys.

The primary intention of giving Akhtar the role is to shut him up. You won't see Akhtar spewing against the PCB everyday on GEO now that he himself is part of PCB.

As you said, jobs for the boys.

Lala deserved it more but Shoaib is a legend as well.

I expect him to find and refine some real express bowlers now.

As [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] and [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] have already said, this is a PR tactic to ensure Akhtar doesn't keep slamming the PCB on news channels.

:)):)):))

Is this an advanced April's fool joke?

Extremely ill suited and emotional for such a role. Not sure what the PCB is thinking here because Shoaib is hardly a critic anyone pays serious attention too.

And why no role for Yousaf then?

From being banned for 5 years, from being dropped from the team for Genital viral warts to now being a PCB brand ambassadar. Just like Asif Zardari's elevation from prisoner to Pakistan President, proof anything is possible in Pakistan and that there is hope for everyone

It's a tactical move

Sethi is very clever..he is giving useless positions to former cricketers who criticize the PCB most on social media.

What role is the 'adviser' supposed to play?
He has no powers...Sethi is justing giving a lollipop to most critical experts on the media.

Aren't Younis Khan, Misbah ul Haq, Shahid Afridi already on the cricket advisory committee?

Hilarious. Makes sense, pay someone off and he can't criticise Pakistan cricket/board in the media which is what he's been doing. Not to mention it gives the semblance that those criticising are being heard and "given an opportunity" to fix things.

Its funny how these Imran Khan supporters, the ones who always keeping harping on TV that 'we need another Imran Khan to change the fortunes of Pakistan cricket' - are the ones that jump PCB ship as soon as they are offered a reputable package worth their name.

Saw the same with Wasim (PSL), Waqar, (Pakistan coaching) Inzamam (Chief Selector), Javed Miandad (DIrector PCB) and now SHoaib Akhtar the most recent on (Basically Najam Sethi's right hand man).

Now lets see how Akhtar makes Khushamdi Phool about Najam Sethi, praises PCB, and completely change his stance on criticizing PCB when he goes live on TV.

This will start of as the greatest romance of two 'big talkers', with each waxing lyricals about one another and will end in a very public/bitter breakup.

Thats my gut feeling... Shoaib as somebody's adviser I still can't help laugh.

Not sure why people are getting bothered. Even worse case scenario considered - this is a PR move and SA will be a puppet. The power behind the throne lies elsewhere...

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Looking forward to work with <a href="https://twitter.com/najamsethi?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@najamsethi</a> and <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/pcb?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#pcb</a> to take PAKISTAN cricket to the next level. <a href="https://t.co/MT4sNhlXtT">https://t.co/MT4sNhlXtT</a></p>— Shoaib Akhtar (@shoaib100mph) <a href="https://twitter.com/shoaib100mph/status/964569797232136192?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 16, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Am honored to be chosen for these positions in <a href="https://twitter.com/TheRealPCB?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@TheRealPCB</a> ,will work with same passion as i did when playing.Thank you once again!<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ShoaibAkhtar?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ShoaibAkhtar</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PCB?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PCB</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/BrandAmbassador?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#BrandAmbassador</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Advisor?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Advisor</a></p>— Shoaib Akhtar (@shoaib100mph) <a href="https://twitter.com/shoaib100mph/status/964573589461766144?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 16, 2018</a></blockquote>

This is what happens when you appoint a corrupt, incompetent individual like Sethi as the head of the most powerful sports board in the country as a token of appreciation for doctoring elections.

The challenge is for a certain poster to praise Sethi like he always does but also protest against this pathetic move.

I can't speak for the stuff he has done in regards to the political corruption and all that but there is no denying he has done amazing stuff for pakistan in the past couple of years. Pulling of PSL and bringing teams to Pak were possible because of him.

People criticizing Shoaib should understand that this will be an unpaid position. This is not an actual job for which you will be going to an office 9-5. I doubt even Misbah, Younis, Afridi are getting paid for being on the Cricket advisory committee.

Advisor to Chairman and Brand Ambassador ?

What advise is he going to give. "Hello, Najam Sethi bhai sahib, this is Shoaib Akhtar. So Shoaib Akhtar want to advise you that Shoaib Akhtar thinks that bhai mujhse inti bowling kuon karai ke mere ghutne farigh hogaye"

Two made up positions with absolutely no clout or power.

What brand does PCB have? They only have one job to do. They are the only ones who can do it. There is no sell involved.

Rashid latif would have been the best options. He knows about domestic cricket, current affairs etc.
Based on TV shows I watched, Shoaib Akhtar hardly watch domestic cricket now a days
A person who has less interest on core/basic things, what will he advise?

With his tuk tuk and new meaning of defensive cricket absolutely I agree!
I don't know whether you are serious or you are kidding in any way.

This is a not a job where he has to play cricket himself but this is an ADVISORY job where he has to comment on cricketing matters including the domestic cricket. Shoaib is nowhere as good a s Misbah can be in this role. It is a job to just shut him up. That is all I can imagine.

Hope he helps them take some bold decisions and try new things. The system is stagnant and needs some twists and spice.

I know Shoaib is too emotional for such a post but i would wait before making a judgement. If they follow hos advices, things will start moving, upwards or downwards remains to be seen.

Let him start working, if somehow he manages to strengthten the domestic game all the haters here will make a big U-turn, AS usual.

Strange decision.

Not really the sort of person who is full of great cricketing ideas.

Strange decision.

Not really the sort of person who is full of great cricketing ideas.

It's more shocking that throughout his playing career, Shoaib was considered a rebel and a bad influence on team environment and now he is being asked by the PCB to be a brand ambassador. Strange decision.

A few months ago he said he will never work for PCB and now he is the advisor.

It's more shocking that throughout his playing career, Shoaib was considered a rebel and a bad influence on team environment and now he is being asked by the PCB to be a brand ambassador. Strange decision.

These days it seems PCB just want yes men and not necessarily people advising them who actually offer some ideas of value.

Good decision by Sethi sahab. Should have been appointed National or U19 bowling coach. Pakistan needs his experience badly. He is the only guy in Pakistan who can help in developing genuine fast bowlers.

Itz being reported that high level pcb meeting will take place in dubai on 23rd feb. re pak domestic cricket and other matters. Sethi Arthur inzi shoib are among participants.

Good decision by Sethi sahab. Should have been appointed National or U19 bowling coach. Pakistan needs his experience badly. He is the only guy in Pakistan who can help in developing genuine fast bowlers.

Why do you think so?

Itz being reported that high level pcb meeting will take place in dubai on 23rd feb. re pak domestic cricket and other matters. Sethi Arthur inzi shoib are among participants.

Why the heck does PCB meeting need to take place in Dubai? Doesn't that cost needless money to book flights, logistics, hotels, meeting rooms etc for the participants when all of those costs could be avoided (or minimized) if the meeting is held at PCB headquarters in Lahore. Ajeeb baqwas hai.

The PSL will be starting on Feb 22 and all these individuals in question will be in UAE at the time working for their respective franchises. Might as well have the meeting in Dubai then, it would be more expensive to have the meeting in Pakistan for one day calling these guys to Pakistan and then sending them back to Dubai.

For starters I thought only Arthur and perhaps Inzi will be in Dubai since they are directly associated with franchises. I didn't know Sethi and Shoaib were also being sent there on paid vacation.

Sethi will be already there re opening ceremony.

What next Kamran Akmal to be appointed as wicketkeeping coach

Zulqurnain Haider as Advisor Strategic Planning & Mohammad Asif as Director PR

Not a bad decision at all. Shoaib has good post retirement international exposure like Wasim Akram. I'm not sure why people are disappointed here. And I think some of you guys don't understand the role either. It's not a coaching or selection job.

Shoaib and Inzi are involved with Lahore Qalandars. Afridi and Arthur are involved with Karachi. Misbah is with Islamabad United and Younis is involved with Peshawar Zalmi. Sethi will be there during the PSL so every key individual will be in Dubai at the time.

Good on Sethi to get ex cricketers involved. Maybe this way they can do some work rather than just criticize

Shoaib has a very under rated cricketing brain. He is a strong proponent of modern, smart training techniques. For having fast bouncy pitches, of aggressive captaincy. He is also not a fan of Mickey Arthur or coaches in general and comes from the old school that players should just go out there and be allowed to naturally express themselves.

On a serious note. This shows you the value of networking and building relationships. In 2015 Sethi invited Shoaib to the PCB headquarters over a cup of tea and Sethi decided to reimburse Shoaib all the money the PCB took from him in 2009 as part of the fine announced on him in 2008. Then they met in social gatherings through common friends and today Sethi has appointed him an advisor and PCB brand ambassador.

What is the job description of the Brand Ambassador? Is this a way to encourage, bring sponsorship and marketability to Pakistan Cricket? Wouldn't Afridi have been better suited being the most commercially successful Pakistani Cricketer in history?

I don't know whether you are serious or you are kidding in any way.

This is a not a job where he has to play cricket himself but this is an ADVISORY job where he has to comment on cricketing matters including the domestic cricket. Shoaib is nowhere as good a s Misbah can be in this role. It is a job to just shut him up. That is all I can imagine.

Like yourself don't agree with Shoaib's appointment but Pakistan needs to move on from Misbah - who is largely to blame for the team's ODI demise with his ultra defensive mindset.

Shoaib Akhtar: ‘Will give my best to improve cricket structure’

Pakistan’s former fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar is relishing the prospect of playing a role in improving the country’s cricket structure.

After the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced that chairman Najam Sethi had appointed Akhtar his advisor on cricket affairs and brand ambassador, the pacer said he would do his best.

“I am really happy to be given this position because I have always wanted to do something for Pakistan cricket. We have great talent but a structure that needs improvement,” he said.

The PCB chief is also expected to announce former captain, Misbah-ul-Haq, as another advisor on cricket. Akhtar said that he had accepted the position because he felt that Sethi sincerely wanted to do good for Pakistan cricket and the success of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) was proof of this.

Akhtar, who has been a staunch critic of the cricket structure, said it was good if former players were involved in helping the board improve the system.

Sethi, while announcing Akhtar’s appointment, said he had taken the decision because the fast bowler was a big name in international cricket and had good knowledge of the game.

Interestingly, the PCB, while appointing Akhtar, has not extended the contracts of former greats Wasim Akram and Ramiz Raja as brand ambassadors of the PSL.

Sethi said that since all franchises of the PSL had appointed their own brand ambassadors, and there was no need for the board to have PSL brand ambassadors.

Akhtar, during his playing days, was always at loggerheads with the board on disciplinary issues and also faced bans and fines. But after Sethi took over as chairman, he ordered the board to repay Akhtar seven million rupees, which were deducted by the PCB on the recommendations of a disciplinary hearing sometime back.

http://www.sportstarlive.com/cricke...improve-cricket-structure/article22799374.ece

If someone had said to me that Shoaib Akhtar would one day be an advisor to the PCB, I would have said they were crazy :)

On a serious note. This shows you the value of networking and building relationships. In 2015 Sethi invited Shoaib to the PCB headquarters over a cup of tea and Sethi decided to reimburse Shoaib all the money the PCB took from him in 2009 as part of the fine announced on him in 2008. Then they met in social gatherings through common friends and today Sethi has appointed him an advisor and PCB brand ambassador.

What is the job description of the Brand Ambassador? Is this a way to encourage, bring sponsorship and marketability to Pakistan Cricket? Wouldn't Afridi have been better suited being the most commercially successful Pakistani Cricketer in history?

This is the job description of a brand ambassador:

tenor.gif

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is to announce that i have resigned from the post of Advisor to the Chairman <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PCB?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PCB</a> effective immediately.<a href="https://twitter.com/TheRealPCB?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@TheRealPCB</a> <br> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ShoaibAkhtar?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ShoaibAkhtar</a></p>— Shoaib Akhtar (@shoaib100mph) <a href="https://twitter.com/shoaib100mph/status/1037587367027253249?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 6, 2018</a></blockquote>

Not sure why he had to resign. Misbah and Younis have not resigned

I really thought Akhtar would be for Hafeez's retirement mainly due to the tweet I saw yesterday on this forum.

I can't prove, so don't catch me on this - my hunch is it's because he was told that honeymoon period is over - his advice isn't required.

To start with, Akthar got that job (not sure if it's regular paid job), through bashing PCB & it's executives in TV shows, which kept his mouth nicely zipped. If people believes that, due to MoHa's exclusion (despite expert recommendation ....), a PAK retired great has decided to leave his posh position at PCB - I have to say that someone's skin has suddenly become thin overnight.

Maybe busy with LQ

Lol, according to news reports, he was like if the previous chairman who appointed him was no longer around, it would have been unethical for him to continue.

What exactly was his role? Short of being on tv shows and joking around I don't know what he did.

What great advice has he given to the PCB in this role?

I reckon Akhtar's walked before he was pushed.