"Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Hafeez cannot last long in the new Pakistan team" : Mohammad Zahid

From his latest blog....

Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Hafeez cannot last long in the new Pakistan team

"I have always felt that Shoaib Malik’s place in the Pakistan team has been questionable, regardless of his current form. The same can be said of Mohammad Hafeez. Of course, he played a brilliant innings in the final against India but I feel that was probably the peak of his career and he cannot repeat that again and again. I do not think that there is a place for Hafeez in the future teams of Pakistan and I would say the same for Malik who can no longer be considered an all-rounder but simply as a batsman. There are plenty of new players who can step up and take the places of these senior players and that’s the way it should be."

Read more at http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/s...ollow-quot-Mohammad-Zahid#5I95DLd0j11KxpiA.99

We have gone through this train ride several times already.

Both Mian and National Treasure are here to stay until the 2019 WC.
[MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION]

I dont agree with Zahid.

Why are we hell bent on discarding experience? You cannot have a whole team of new people.

I dont agree with Zahid.

Why are we hell bent on discarding experience? You cannot have a whole team of new people.

why not?

we have vets in Azhar, Sarfraz, and even Amir, Imad and Babar have played and performed around the world now. this isn't exactly a team of of 18-19 year olds

very smart comments by Zahid, totally on point

no need to carry passengers just for the 'experience'

I dont agree with Zahid.

We mainly won the champion trophy because of new or young players, so there is your clear sign what we have to do.

"mainly" is the key word in your statement.

Hafeez reminds me of Lord Baelish in the sense that he's cunning and very manipulative....He's done very little good (i.e. Joffrey in Baelish, Hafeez this CT final) however he's growing weaker by the day due to a severe lack of friends and being exposed more now that there's no one to hide behind. His end is near.

They should've been forced to retire or dropped from the team permanently after the CT. There is no place in the team for them as they are liabilities. Malik is not a passenger in the field, but Hafeez has progressively gotten worse. As far as their performances go, they don't win matches, quite the opposite, hafeez's batting has halted enough of Pak team's innings'. How many more times do they want Hafeez to cost us games.

I don't understand what Hafeez has to do to get dropped, he scores a 50 every time it feels like he's finally going to be dropped and plays an additional 10 games on the laurels of that one 50. Both of them have had a career of mediocrity and have been out of their so-called "primes" for more than a few years now. They have ruined other careers (Fawad Alam) and hold our team hostage with their consistently below average performances. If they are part of the WC squad for 2019, we won't have a shot.

We have gone through this train ride several times already.

Both Mian and National Treasure are here to stay until the 2019 WC.

[MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION]

Don't know - few days back, never thought Miah Sharif'll lose his chair like this. There could be several changes in PCB - normally, in such cases, undeserving seniors get a bit shaky.

Personally, I don't think Mian or MoHa would survive those Series in NZ, SAF & UK before WC 2019 - they are too ordinary for that in their late 30s/40s. Biggest myth buster in last 2 months for PAK cricket is that, youngsters have proved that they are capable of taking this team forward in big ICC events, hence going forward, seniors won't be "sold" so easily for their "experience".

Wholesale changes is never the way to go. New faces need to be eased in and perform before discarding old boys. Until we have better options Hafeez and Shoaib should continue to be considered.

Both have had a long run in the team, I think new and younger players can come in and do a better job. Time for these two to be phased out.

Don't know - few days back, never thought Miah Sharif'll lose his chair like this. There could be several changes in PCB - normally, in such cases, undeserving seniors get a bit shaky.

Personally, I don't think Mian or MoHa would survive those Series in NZ, SAF & UK before WC 2019 - they are too ordinary for that in their late 30s/40s. Biggest myth buster in last 2 months for PAK cricket is that, youngsters have proved that they are capable of taking this team forward in big ICC events, hence going forward, seniors won't be "sold" so easily for their "experience".

Chairmans, PM, Presidents etc. have come and gone but our love for "seniors" will remain timeless.

Shoaib Malik since returing to the team in 2015:

36 Matches, 1275 runs @ an average of 53.12 and a strike rate of 100.79

Totally agree. Pakistan must get rod of this culture of overplaying experienced players out of respect rather then performance. This is why idiots like Kamran Akmal are trying to worm their way back in.

It would be extremely short-sided if Malik and Hafeez are not phased out by next year. The planning has to start now. Malik was a passenger in the Champions Trophy. Hafeez performed well - but his days are numbered.

PCB - act now - replace both these guys.

It depends, if the team keeps winning without much fuss, these two will stay till CWC2019 getting injured here and there when their chips are down....

Hafeez contributes very little with his bowling and batting aka bits and pieces player..

Malik has contributed more with his batting...

if it has to be an end for this two i think hafeez will go first as he is adamant to play slowly and dont buy the faith of playing fast...

Chairmans, PM, Presidents etc. have come and gone but our love for "seniors" will remain timeless.

Because, everyone, even fans can't see the future - their preference is based on past & present. Indeed Malik batted at 50/100 stats in last 2 years, indeed MoHa made a sparkling 50 in an ICC final - but, next ICC event is in 2 years time. This was exactly the thought process when Javed was called back in 1996. More or less, apart from Imran almost everyone in PAK cricket has prolonged career by 2 to 5 years and that has become an example for others. And the cycle will continue, unless the thought process changes from - PAK needs an "experience" player to "capable" player.

I always quote a line from Viv, when he retired 6 months before 1992 WC - "one should retire when everyone is asking why, rather why not?". After winning CT, it was the best podium for these 2 gentlemen into their 3rd decade in PAK colours in some capacity to call it a day. These days financials aren't that big issue, because still for next 2-4 years they could have earned a decent amount from PLs & SLs; on top of that, cricket media can be an avenue for both. Sadly, neither could raise above the usual.

Agree with MMHS that both should have retired on a high. Potentially both will play till 2019 WC and fail which will harm Pakistan's chance of winning the tournament.

ICC champions trophy proved that Pakistan isn't reliant on experience. The youth are more than able to carry the team and if given a chance they can succeed and improve by playing international cricket.

I agree with Zahid, current young Pakistani team is all of a sudden looking dangerous and real contender for Wordcup 2019. If they somehow find replacement to Malik and Hafeez then Pakistan team will definately be one to watchout for.
On the other hand, Indian selector thinks replacing Yuvi and Dhoni isn't viable

Agree with MMHS that both should have retired on a high. Potentially both will play till 2019 WC and fail which will harm Pakistan's chance of winning the tournament.

ICC champions trophy proved that Pakistan isn't reliant on experience. The youth are more than able to carry the team and if given a chance they can succeed and improve by playing international cricket.

There are few myths in PAK Cricket, which needs to be busted -

1. If there is a youngster & senior player of same caliber, always the senior should be picked for his experience - qu ke, jaab ek experienced senior player kaat ti hai to uo cha jatey hai, unki celling bara hota hai

2. UAE wickets are great for PAK, because in AUS/ENG pitch pe pace or bounce hoti hai or hamarey batsmen pace ya bounce ko samahal nahi pate

3. New ball ko samhar kar khelna chahiea, or hame top players to ODI may new ball ke samne expose karna nahin chahiye; wukto haath may hai to kahi bhi target chase ya set kia ja sakta

4. Ek ya do catch girne say keya farak parta hai, ye a to part of game hai na - aagar hamare paas acchey bowlers hota to uo bowled or LBW se game nikal leta ... hamne karkey dikhaya

N. PAK me talent bohut hota hai ...........

:(

1. If there is a youngster & senior player of same caliber, always the senior should be picked for his experience - qu ke, jaab ek experienced senior player kaat ti hai to uo cha jatey hai, unki celling bara hota hai

2. UAE wickets are great for PAK, because in AUS/ENG pitch pe pace or bounce hoti hai or hamarey batsmen pace ya bounce ko samahal nahi pate

3. New ball ko samhar kar khelna chahiea, or hame top players to ODI may new ball ke samne expose karna nahin chahiye; wukto haath may hai to kahi bhi target chase ya set kia ja sakta

4. Ek ya do catch girne say keya farak parta hai, ye a to part of game hai na - aagar hamare paas acchey bowlers hota to uo bowled or LBW se game nikal leta ... hamne karkey dikhaya

Lol well said. The last one in particular is extremely frustrating for me as the catches Pakistan often drop aren't difficult ones.

Because they were part of a winning team it's alright for them to stick around in the squad, but we have to think of the future. Will these guys be able to perform in 2 years' time? Even though Shoaib Malik always looks like he's about to explode and play a blinder, he just doesn't seem to have it in him anymore -- especially on big stages. I'm glad Hafeez played a great knock in the Finals, but like Zahid said, can we expect him to play like that again? Truth is, the first step is to make sure Hafeez never bats above the position he batted at in the Finals, and he established himself as a "Finisher". That's the only spot Pakistan truly needs, and if Malik & Hafeez are willing to do that for us, then they have a spot in the team -- otherwise not.

Mohammad Zahid is correct. The sooner we move on, the better. Neither of these seniors are consistently playing a vital role in the team.

Problem is, he didn't show up on the biggest stage.

15, 16*, 11, 12.

Judging a player from 4 games out of 36 is just wrong. Especially when he has been so consistent. And in CT, he was not out in one game and run-out in a way that wasn't his fault in one game. So he basically didn't perform in 2 games which is not bad considering his recent record

Problem is, he didn't show up on the biggest stage.

15, 16*, 11, 12.

He did well

Was doing really good against India before an insane run out he wasnt at fault for

Looked great in an unbeaten knock against Saffers

Poor against Lanka

Didnt bat against England

Came out for quick runs in final

To call him a failure in CT is harsh

Judging a player from 4 games out of 36 is just wrong. Especially when he has been so consistent. And in CT, he was not out in one game and run-out in a way that wasn't his fault in one game. So he basically didn't perform in 2 games which is not bad considering his recent record

He did well

Was doing really good against India before an insane run out he wasnt at fault for

Looked great in an unbeaten knock against Saffers

Poor against Lanka

Didnt bat against England

Came out for quick runs in final

To call him a failure in CT is harsh

I'll accept I'm harsh.

But his career average is 22.47 in 20 CT + 3 WC matches.

But somehow he will come good in CW2019? Come on, guys!

I'll accept I'm harsh.

But his career average is 22.47 in 20 CT + 3 WC matches.

But somehow he will come good in CW2019? Come on, guys!

That's a ridiculous argument. Current form is what matters. Last World Cup he played was back in 2007. And I don't care if there's a player in the team who's 50 years old. If he's scoring consistently and striking the ball over 100 his place in the side isn't even a question till the time he loses his form.

I dont agree with Zahid.

Experienced? More like proven long time failures. if either player is not performing they should get the boot, i doubt come 2 years time either player is going to get any better pushing towards the world cup or even beyond.

That's a ridiculous argument. Current form is what matters. Last World Cup he played was back in 2007. And I don't care if there's a player in the team who's 50 years old. If he's scoring consistently and striking the ball over 100 his place in the side isn't even a question till the time he loses his form.

Dig deeper.

Since his comeback in May 2015...

26.75 vs ENG (UAE)
30.75 vs ENG (in ENG)
32 vs NZ
18 in ICC CT

The only good team he did well against was Australia.

Otherwise, he's done well against low-quality teams such as ZIM, SL, and WI.

Is that what you are banking on for CW2019? This is a recipe for disaster.

"mainly" is the key word in your statement.
Hafeez got lucky that in the Champions League Final he faced a club level Indian "pace" bowling "attack" with two old balls.

I wouldn't fancy the chances of a 38 year old Hafeez in 2019 against Starc or Rabada or Boult.

I dont agree with Zahid.

Issue is there are easily better batsmen than them.haris sohail umar amin usman is being wasted.They hv been given no time to develop them
hafeez is highly injuryprone also his performances as a batter against good bowling sites hv been below mediocre.
also umar will perform under sarfaraz i am pretty sure

Selectors, the coach and the captain must focus on 2019 world cup. If they perform then let them play.

Hafeez must never play in top order again tho.

[MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] we desperately need ur all time favrite imran khan in our cricket set up,,,he said in one of his largest jalsa few days ago that he will bring merit and fix cricket if come in charge....and u know what merit means for him unlike our other people jo merit par 18 ***** experince player khellaty ha A category detay ha q nki wo field ma youngstrs ko guide krtay ...jisay family k elders kartay ha....

Issue is there are easily better batsmen than them.haris sohail umar amin usman is being wasted.They hv been given no time to develop them
hafeez is highly injuryprone also his performances as a batter against good bowling sites hv been below mediocre.
also umar will perform under sarfaraz i am pretty sure

Hafeez tends to get "injured" just before he is about to be dropped. :hafeez2

people arent being rational. fact or the matter we have very little lower/middle order options atm and if they can perform they should stay. Babar or haris should open with fakhar and the other slots in at 3 dropping azhar. id drop hafeez and keep malik despite the former actually doing well in ct, just feel malik is better use in the future, looks in better form. that leaves to try out to youngsters/ new batsmen as two open slots 4-7. i wouldnt continue imad at 7 id play him as a full time option at 8 or replace entirely. id look to getting in hammad at 7 as hes now doing well in domestic finally bat and ball. at a loss who i'd bring in as a middle order bat though at 5/6 i would have gone for umar akmal but that ship has sailed atm, so maybe umar amin i guess.

could this have something to do with the fact that we are not giving chances to middle order new comers? and what is wrong with playing would-be-openers in the middle order, if the top positions are taken? isn't that were both malik and hafeez started out?

the irony here is that we are reserving specialist spots for two seniors who are actually supposed to play as allrounders, yet we are unable to conceive of the possibility that any combination of the following could be at least as good, if not much better:

sharjeel, aslam, sahibzada, azhar, babar, haris, fakhar, shadab, faheem, sarfraz, wasim...

could this have something to do with the fact that we are not giving chances to middle order new comers? and what is wrong with playing would-be-openers in the middle order, if the top positions are taken? isn't that were both malik and hafeez started out?

the irony here is that we are reserving specialist spots for two seniors who are actually supposed to play as allrounders, yet we are unable to conceive of the possibility that any combination of the following could be at least as good, if not much better:

sharjeel, aslam, sahibzada, azhar, babar, haris, fakhar, shadab, faheem, sarfraz, wasim...

There's nothing wrong with trying out openers/top order batsmen in middle/lower order if they can do it. Malik's pretty much always been a middle order bat (he had a few games as opener granted). Hafeez was an opener, but it was clear he had ability to perform down the order.

However you can't play guys who would not succeed down the order. Azhar wouldn't, hell he struggled at 3, can not imagine him lower than that. Shehzad can't another one, just hasn't got the game to.

Let's go down that list. Sharjeel is out for suspected fixing, Aslam quite frankly looks like an opener again, doesn't seem to have the array of shots to suit down the order. Sahibzada extremely young, people are hyping him off one innings, but quite frankly shouldn't be rushed like that, especially if he's been placed in a batting position upon entry which he isn't familiar with. Sure if he debuted at 6 people would be complaining at no end saying it's unfair to him. Azhar shouldn't be in the team and can't work down the order. Babar and Haris suit top order order, should be batting opener,3 or 4 where quite frankly the best batsmen in the team should bat. I see no benefit moving these two down the order. Fakhar is already opener. Shadab is a bowler, who hasn't even cemented his place for that same with Faheem. Sarfraz already in the team. Imad Wasim already in the team, but quite frankly his batting despite stats doesn't look all that impressive, he looks more like a no.8 bat (especially after the CT), but I don't mind him carrying on at 7 he is an asset to the team.

The guys who we have tried middle order (and rightly), Umar akmal, Rizwan, Maqsood these were the brightest middle/late order talents. It didn't work out for them atm. So yes we have few options in the late middle order right now. Fawad Alam is out too, and was dropped unfairly IMO but let's face it isn't coming back.

While in the mean time Malik has been scoring bucketload of runs. Even Hafeez despite him looking on the wane is scoring at an average of 40.

Who specifically would you try down the order instead of those guys? And at what position? People never answer this question yet they complain seniors are burdening the team.

I'm all for trying out new guys especially in preparation for 2019, I'd already said I'd drop Hafeez even though he had a good CT in terms of looking for the future. But whatever age they are, if they're scoring runs they're hardly hurting the team. We aren't exactly accommodating them, it's worse they have little competition for their spots. Just need to accept reality. You can't have a team full of new people especially when you have little idea who exactly is going to replace. Need to replace them slowly especially if said senior is still performing. I'd get rid of Hafeez now, try out someone, see if he succeeds. Then if he does, turn to dropping Malik for someone (if there is someone suitable who can replace him). Keep Imad at 7 I guess for now, but not sure it'll work out, while I'm still a fan as a player the way he batted in the CT final and in general he's what we need at 7 looks more like an 8, but it seems at the moment Faheem is the only one who seems touted as competition atm (Shadab doesn't count as if both Imad and Shadab play, Imad will play at 7, Shadab at 8 most likely) probably stick with him for now.

The only two realistic names I hear to enter middle order right about now are Umar Amin and that other guy (talat or something I've forgotten his whole name), and of course there are reservations on Amin given he wasn't too impressive before (he deserves a second chance though looks like he earned it). Guys who have done well in domestic cricket for a substantial period of time to earn a call up. Hardly an infinite number of options. But that's how cricket is, you need to be patient and wait for cricketers to bang the door down in domestic to earn a call up.

I think, Malik & Hafeez won't be part of 2019 squad, may be it's a tight call even for Azhar, but he can always be part of the squad, if he is in good tough.

Mian & particularly MoHa was almost history this time before CT, but MoHa is saved by his sheer luck - Azhar got injured & his deputy Sarfraz missed the AUS ODI series, hence MoHa was called back & he capitalized the opportunity, courtesy to a sitter dropped by one of the safest pair of palms in the game - this is called uper wala jaab deta hai to chappar faar key ..... . Then he cashed on poor WI, just in time to keep his nose afloat. Finally, his old pal Ul Haq gave him every bit of space to qualify through PAK Cup, where without the top players, was a perfect stage for him to earn some cheap claps. The mockery of Ul Haq's double standard was that, he didn't attend any match before finalizing the team & submitted the list at middle of a tournament, that was suppose to be a scouting ground for CT team - there was time to name the squad on the night, just after the end of the Final...............

On other side, Mian had been doing exceptionally well in whatever opportunity he got in last 2 years, but his weakness against short ball is well known - in 2 years time it'll be a serious issue. Malik would have been a question mark already, had PAK not won the CT, but now that win'll work in his favor. In that regard, he also got lucky.

BUT, going forward, as per the FTP, PAK has some "tough" matches for both these guys - 5 in NZ, 5 in SAF, 5 in UAE but against the Aussies, 5 in UK just before WC and may be few additional matches out side FTP - like Proteus in coming winter or early 2019, against Poms in 2018 summer or against Kiwis as well in early 2019 - and these are all likely to be outside Asia. I don't see MoHa/Malik surviving these matches to make the team of 2019. MoHa had been backed by his former Captain (s), whenever he needed that extra push to retain in squad, but going forward, I don't see that luxury from Sarfraz or Arthur. Already, Sarfu is using him lesser & lesser as bowler - without that, he doesn't have much chance to survive. Previously, whenever his batting was an issue (in Test), Misbah backed him for his 20 tight overs, and to his credit with his old action, he was a genuine world class ODI all-rounder any where.

PAK team won't be finalized for 2019 WC, before the end of those 5 ODI against Poms in May '19 and this time, Inzi won't be allowed to name his squad before the 5th ODI - I don't see MoHa/Malik to survive in PAK squad after those 5 matches. Chances are high that, before that ENG series, PAK might play few more matches in NZ or SAF in FEB-APR period - so, good luck for M&M.

Drop Malik for sure- Hefeez plays the same role but better.

But drop Hafeez after he averaged 50 in the CT at a strike rate of 93?!! Why? Not like he only got cheap runs either, the guy performed in the big games and turned in match saving innings right when needed- exactly what a senior should be doing.

Keep him around for experience and the option of some handy spin overs depending on what other balance you have in your attack. Like anyone drop him if he is poor for too long but not now just when he's performing as you would want and you have already brought in some new blood to the team.

Great insight. ..considering malik is just 35 and MoHafeez is only 37 years old.

There's nothing wrong with trying out openers/top order batsmen in middle/lower order if they can do it. Malik's pretty much always been a middle order bat (he had a few games as opener granted). Hafeez was an opener, but it was clear he had ability to perform down the order.

However you can't play guys who would not succeed down the order. Azhar wouldn't, hell he struggled at 3, can not imagine him lower than that. Shehzad can't another one, just hasn't got the game to.

Let's go down that list. Sharjeel is out for suspected fixing, Aslam quite frankly looks like an opener again, doesn't seem to have the array of shots to suit down the order. Sahibzada extremely young, people are hyping him off one innings, but quite frankly shouldn't be rushed like that, especially if he's been placed in a batting position upon entry which he isn't familiar with. Sure if he debuted at 6 people would be complaining at no end saying it's unfair to him. Azhar shouldn't be in the team and can't work down the order. Babar and Haris suit top order order, should be batting opener,3 or 4 where quite frankly the best batsmen in the team should bat. I see no benefit moving these two down the order. Fakhar is already opener. Shadab is a bowler, who hasn't even cemented his place for that same with Faheem. Sarfraz already in the team. Imad Wasim already in the team, but quite frankly his batting despite stats doesn't look all that impressive, he looks more like a no.8 bat (especially after the CT), but I don't mind him carrying on at 7 he is an asset to the team.

The guys who we have tried middle order (and rightly), Umar akmal, Rizwan, Maqsood these were the brightest middle/late order talents. It didn't work out for them atm. So yes we have few options in the late middle order right now. Fawad Alam is out too, and was dropped unfairly IMO but let's face it isn't coming back.

While in the mean time Malik has been scoring bucketload of runs. Even Hafeez despite him looking on the wane is scoring at an average of 40.

Who specifically would you try down the order instead of those guys? And at what position? People never answer this question yet they complain seniors are burdening the team.

I'm all for trying out new guys especially in preparation for 2019, I'd already said I'd drop Hafeez even though he had a good CT in terms of looking for the future. But whatever age they are, if they're scoring runs they're hardly hurting the team. We aren't exactly accommodating them, it's worse they have little competition for their spots. Just need to accept reality. You can't have a team full of new people especially when you have little idea who exactly is going to replace. Need to replace them slowly especially if said senior is still performing. I'd get rid of Hafeez now, try out someone, see if he succeeds. Then if he does, turn to dropping Malik for someone (if there is someone suitable who can replace him). Keep Imad at 7 I guess for now, but not sure it'll work out, while I'm still a fan as a player the way he batted in the CT final and in general he's what we need at 7 looks more like an 8, but it seems at the moment Faheem is the only one who seems touted as competition atm (Shadab doesn't count as if both Imad and Shadab play, Imad will play at 7, Shadab at 8 most likely) probably stick with him for now.

The only two realistic names I hear to enter middle order right about now are Umar Amin and that other guy (talat or something I've forgotten his whole name), and of course there are reservations on Amin given he wasn't too impressive before (he deserves a second chance though looks like he earned it). Guys who have done well in domestic cricket for a substantial period of time to earn a call up. Hardly an infinite number of options. But that's how cricket is, you need to be patient and wait for cricketers to bang the door down in domestic to earn a call up.

I think you are just validating my argument...you are basically saying "we don't have options because...the options we have are untested." Right. So let's test them. What other way forward is there? Keep these seniors on for another two years, by which time they are not to be any better, and may have fallen to pieces, then scramble desperately for other options, none of which options will be any more tested by then?Because we have refused to give them a chance to play. It simply does not make sense. We have won the CT on the back largely of young talent like Hasan and Fakhar, who to boot was completely untested.

As for the players you commented on. Sahbizada has not had one good innings, His last five LA scores as an opener were 123, 54, 58, 54, 53 at a SR of 99. Whether or not Sahibzada will succeed internationally is neither here nor there; he has been at least as good as Fakhar in domestics and we don't have many attractive opening options; I agree with you on Azhar.

Both Shadab and Faheem look like upgrades on Hafeez and Malik to me, batting wise. People made much how how comfortable and in nick Malik has looked, that he was unlucky to get out etc. But the same can be said for Shadab; he has looked great every time he has picked up the bat but he comes in too low to make a difference.

Faheem meanwhile played the kind of innings in the warm up that only Sharjeel could replicate in the current set up. He may be out for now but as it now looks his ban may not last much longer.

We can build a new line up around these players and have some to spare for the bench. And precisely because we actually have a surplus of openers, it makes all the sense in the world to try some out some of them in the middle orders.

Not least because neither Hafeez nor Malik are that great as middle order batsmen (Malik slightly better I'd say on recent form) Hafeez is as likely to kill an innings as he is to push it along. Malik gets out to pace. The only use of Hafeez is as a late order sloggers, but we have others who can do that job too.

Which is to say Hafeez is properly only a lower order batsman.

I'd take a Fakhar and Sahibzada over Hafeez any day, any position, and a Sharjeel and Faheem over Malik and Hafeez for the slog overs.

If an allrounder is required, both Shadab and Wasim are upgrades on Hafeez; Shadab has more penetration, Wasim is a better container. I won't even talk about Maliks bowling. But if I could keep either Hafeez or Malik I'd keep Malik, who is at least not a liability in the field.

Batting options: Sahibzada, Aslam, Azhar, Fakhar, Babar, Haris, Amin, Sarfraz, Sharjeel, Shadab, Faheem, Wasim

I think you are just validating my argument...you are basically saying "we don't have options because...the options we have are untested." Right. So let's test them. What other way forward is there? Keep these seniors on for another two years, by which time they are not to be any better, and may have fallen to pieces, then scramble desperately for other options, none of which options will be any more tested by then?Because we have refused to give them a chance to play. It simply does not make sense. We have won the CT on the back largely of young talent like Hasan and Fakhar, who to boot was completely untested.

As for the players you commented on. Sahbizada has not had one good innings, His last five LA scores as an opener were 123, 54, 58, 54, 53 at a SR of 99. Whether or not Sahibzada will succeed internationally is neither here nor there; he has been at least as good as Fakhar in domestics and we don't have many attractive opening options; I agree with you on Azhar.

Both Shadab and Faheem look like upgrades on Hafeez and Malik to me, batting wise. People made much how how comfortable and in nick Malik has looked, that he was unlucky to get out etc. But the same can be said for Shadab; he has looked great every time he has picked up the bat but he comes in too low to make a difference.

Faheem meanwhile played the kind of innings in the warm up that only Sharjeel could replicate in the current set up. He may be out for now but as it now looks his ban may not last much longer.

We can build a new line up around these players and have some to spare for the bench. And precisely because we actually have a surplus of openers, it makes all the sense in the world to try some out some of them in the middle orders.

Not least because neither Hafeez nor Malik are that great as middle order batsmen (Malik slightly better I'd say on recent form) Hafeez is as likely to kill an innings as he is to push it along. Malik gets out to pace. The only use of Hafeez is as a late order sloggers, but we have others who can do that job too.

Which is to say Hafeez is properly only a lower order batsman.

I'd take a Fakhar and Sahibzada over Hafeez any day, any position, and a Sharjeel and Faheem over Malik and Hafeez for the slog overs.

If an allrounder is required, both Shadab and Wasim are upgrades on Hafeez; Shadab has more penetration, Wasim is a better container. I won't even talk about Maliks bowling. But if I could keep either Hafeez or Malik I'd keep Malik, who is at least not a liability in the field.

Batting options: Sahibzada, Aslam, Azhar, Fakhar, Babar, Haris, Amin, Sarfraz, Sharjeel, Shadab, Faheem, Wasim

Excellent post. Not sure why so many posters are so deferential to seniors, especially when it is a "senior" like Hafeez. Even if Malik/Hafeez are part of the WC19 squad, at the very least PCT should develop some back up options. As you have said, how do you expect new players to get experience if you don't play them?

In addition to the names you have mentioned, Hussain Talat is someone who should be looked at ASAP. There has also been mention of Khushdil Shah- let's see what the fuss is about. Also, going from the central contracts list Amir Yamin will be given a chance- his bowling is average but he could be a good option for batting down the order.