Shoaib Malik should play in place of Imad Wasim in the last two matches : Shoaib Akhtar

I think Shoaib wants controversy on his youtube channel - this will be prioritised over decent cricket analysis any day.

Malik against Afghanistan is not a bad shout. You need minnow bashers and Malik is a certified minnow basher. Plus his strength is playing spin bowling and Afghanistan's bowling only revolves around spin. And Malik spared Pakistan's blushes in the Asia Cup. So it might not be a bad idea just to play him against Afghanistan.

His batting has always been atrocious. Should never have been in the squad.

I'd rather go with a 4th fast bowler against Afghan and BD. Husnain could a difference maker, we already know Malik and Imam aren't going to provide anything to the team.

Also, don't want to disrupt the team chemistry by bringing Malik back in.. Who knows what is going on there

In my opinion Shoaib Malik would have bowled better than Imad Wasim today.

All these anaylsts have also been saying play shoaib malik instead of haris sohail. Lacking literacy. they also want asad shafiq in one day team

You need Malik as those spinners from Afghanistan and Bangladesh will choke Pakistan down through the spinning attack.

Just because someone has played international cricket, it doesnt make their opinion carry more weight.

Have seen a lot of silly suggestions by our ex-players over the years.

Agreed because playing cricket is a technical skill, whereas the role of a pundit is analytical. Not all technicians are great analysts, as shown on numerous occasions by many of our ex-players.

Malik wouldn’t get into this Afghanistan team

BOOM!

A batsman with an average of 13 in England over 28 innings with just one half century, can no way make the Afghanistan team.

Yet we have some posters here who still want him to play against Afghanistan.

Neither are very good but the Malik chapter is over. He’s 37 years old (that’s his official age) and has a completely lacklustre attitude. I’ve no idea why he was selected.
I’d rather Hafeez be removed too. Leave these fossils in the past.

Lol these chachas don't seem to know a thing about cricket. Hafeez has a horrendous record as opener with an average in the 20s. And Imad is still a better option with bat & ball than the woefully out of touch Malik. Not only is he useful at the back end with his hitting but he happens to have the best economy rate among all Pakistani bowlers at this WC.

These so called experts are as senile as they come. They should atleast have the courtesy to look at some basic stats before doling out uninformed opinions based on hearsay.

I also feel like they don't have any concept of a winning combination.

You need Malik as those spinners from Afghanistan and Bangladesh will choke Pakistan down through the spinning attack.

Sarfraz, Haris, Hafeez (provided he doesn't get out to a part-timer) are all good players of spin.

Shoaib Akhtar is just a horrible analyst and Mohsin Khan is even worse.

Not a big fan of Imad here but we really do need someone down the order that can accelerate the innings. Also, he can pick up some wickets/save runs with his bowling.

If Babar, Hafeez, Haris, and Sarfaraz are not good enough to get through the spin than we really deserve to lose at that point.

I know where Akhtar is coming from but considering how poor Malik has been and also his career is at end I dont think so he can even milk the spinners.

Also team combination is working, there is no need for experimentation or being over-smart.

Problem with this is that Malik will book his spot in the team only to fail in the Semis.

I very much back Imad over Malik against the Top 4 teams.

Why tinker with a winning combination?

Imad is more than handy with both ball and bat.

Why don’t we get Malik to open the batting like in 2005 while we are at it....

These idiotic ex players with nepotistic agendas....

There is a reason malik averages 10 in England over 15+ year period

Sarfraz, Haris, Hafeez (provided he doesn't get out to a part-timer) are all good players of spin.

Good players but not best. They won’t be dealing part time spinners anymore when they face Bangladesh and Afghanistan. Imad would be useless as spinner since they know how to play spinners.

Why don’t we get Malik to open the batting like in 2005 while we are at it....

These idiotic ex players with nepotistic agendas....

There is a reason malik averages 10 in England over 15+ year period

That means nothing. Pointing who averages probably lower in India doesn’t mean he is not legend. England is his weakness since he averages 50 in SA easily and best chaser..

Can you please give the breakdown per ground in South Africa?

Shoiab doesn't think before he speaks as it takes time and he just wants to be fastest one to say this crap.He should keep himself away from any type of analysis as he is horrible with it.Thats why he was snubbed from the commentary panel for WC and is making those pathetic videos to serve his ego

Is he out of his mind lol You could play wooden stool in place of Malik and it might be more useful

Not a bad thought to play Shoaib. It is not as if Imad is irreplaceable or has done something worthy of praise in the WC.

I'd keep Imad. His bowling is somewhat useful.

Plus, no need to change a winning combination unless there's a dramatic difference in conditions.

Tbh this is still a mild suggestion than Khurram Manzoor suggesting "drop Fakhar, so that Shoaib bhai moves up one slot as he is getting wasted at 6".

Shoaib Malik player na huay, Khuda ban gaye hain. Puri team ko hila do, taakay Shoaib bhai khel jayein kisi tarha :yk

OH my God there are still 2 or 3 people wanting to play Malik, honestly if you have something concrete than share with all of us as there is nothing in his record to show that he is be included in the playing eleven let alone be part of the team.

Wow what a suggestion
Malik for god sake can’t open and he can’t bat at number 7
Malik was never going to succeed in England his career was prolonged unnecessarily

Our bowling attack looks week from Overs 15 to 40 especially if Shadab doesn't pick wickets, ideally we should have had a spinner somehow but the options in the squad of 15 are limited.

The kind of form Malik was in maybe 2 years ago yes okay but now I don't think so. We already have Haris Sohail to bowl a few overs if you want another batsman play Asif Ali. But current lineup has a good balance so no real need to change anything with Hafeez bowling getting better.

Must have Malik instead of Imad. If Imad was doing good, then Malik was not needed. With pitches turning, Malik will be a must.

Had either of Babar or Harris gotten out yesterday, it was Sarfaraz coming next. Imad would not have done much. Malik can play spin well.

Must have Malik instead of Imad. If Imad was doing good, then Malik was not needed. With pitches turning, Malik will be a must.

Had either of Babar or Harris gotten out yesterday, it was Sarfaraz coming next. Imad would not have done much. Malik can play spin well.

How many overs has Malik bowled in the last 4 years?

And Malik who has failed for 20 years in England would have done much?

NO NO NO NO NO JUST Please NOooOOOOOOO
If I was Pak fan, i would never get Malik anywhere near final 11. His lethargic attitude (chalta hai yaar attitude), laziness and sense of entitlement was holding this team back. Harris has great attitude. He plays as if he played 200 matches before. Just comes to the crease and starts rotating the strike. He took the pressure away from Babar yesterday. Overall, It was great to see Pak team performance yesterday. They looked focussed, hungry and happy to play as a team. I am rooting for India Pak final. My the best team win :)

And Malik who has failed for 20 years in England would have done much?

Try keeping emotions aside. What options are there
Malik, Imad, Asif Ali

The choice is easy. On a big stage, it is always better to go with experience.
These are not England like pitches. The Afghan and Bangla spinners will choke the middle order. Only Malik has the ability to counter. Imad and Asif do not even have the ability to counter spin.

TBH as much as i hate malik, i. agree with shoaib
Afghans have quality spinners you need good players of spin
and Bangaldesh have trundlers and spinners something malik feeds on

Try keeping emotions aside. What options are there
Malik, Imad, Asif Ali

The choice is easy. On a big stage, it is always better to go with experience.
These are not England like pitches. The Afghan and Bangla spinners will choke the middle order. Only Malik has the ability to counter. Imad and Asif do not even have the ability to counter spin.

Emotions?

You are suggesting replacing a potential failure with a proven failure. And your justification is that on the big stage experience in failing is vital!

Imad is a superior spinner and a superior striker.

Before talking about emotions try working with facts.

Imad is a useless slouch who neither can bowl or field due to his poor fitness. He bowled only 3 overs in last match.

But looks like there is someone from behind using Shoaib Akhtar to lobby for Malik's inclusion. Team is further away, Shoaib Malik should not be in the squad. He used to play spinners well 2 years back his techniques is not good enough for longer formats. Malik has limited himself to T20 technique.

Apart from Imad, Imam is also a burden.
Most people would not know Asif Ali started as an opener. He can do extremely well in power play overs.
Asif Ali and Hasnain should be brought into the side replacing Imam and Imad.

Emotions?

You are suggesting replacing a potential failure with a proven failure. And your justification is that on the big stage experience in failing is vital!

Imad is a superior spinner and a superior striker.

Before talking about emotions try working with facts.

Malik has played some very good innings against spin. Proven faliure is not a fact.
Imad a superior striker may be, but one does not need strikers to play spin.

Best way for the current Pakistan set up to utilise Malik is to ask him to act as the interim fielding coach till the end of the Worls cup. He's always been a good fielder and I'm sure he can impart some fielding tips and routines onto the lads.

He's past it though as far as playing goes at this level, move on.

Malik has played some very good innings against spin. Proven faliure is not a fact.
Imad a superior striker may be, but one does not need strikers to play spin.

When was this last great innings against spin?

Malik isn’t a failure? Record in ICC tournaments? Record in England? Record against front line teams?

One does not need strikers when batting in the lower order?

You don’t need to strike spinners?

Last time Malik provided fireworks at the death?

Best way for the current Pakistan set up to utilise Malik is to ask him to act as the interim fielding coach till the end of the Worls cup. He's always been a good fielder and I'm sure he can impart some fielding tips and routines onto the lads.

His fielding skills have certainly been on display in this tournament.

how anyone thinks this street loafer named akhter knows what he is talking about needs to get their head examined. He should be kept far away from pakistan cricket. Miles away.

He can teach the youngsters the droopy shoulder technique and the tip your hat to the opposition when they hammer you technique..

Rather give Harris 20 chances to get out on a duck before getting Malik back in.

Look towards the youngsters look towards the future. Even when youngsters get out on ducks, they learn from it. Experienced players committing suicide like Hafeez in the last 3 games is criminal!

Anyone who thinks Malik should be selected has a screw lose in their head.
Anyone suggesting Fakhar is dropped and Malik picked instead batting between 4 to 6 has an even bigger screw lose.

Firstly, if the wickets continue to get slower and and start turning (just like yesterday's game) do you seriously think Malik, who is currently batting like a tail ender (no disrespect to tail enders) will suddenly find form in a big match situation? Secondly, just because the wickets are taking turn are teams going to drop their fast bowlers and pick four spinners? The squads done even have four specialist spinners...
So any captain that see's Malik walking on to the crease is going to go straight to his fast men.

Coming to Fakhar, yes he is hit and miss but he's the one guy at the top who can single handily take the game away from the opposition. He's our luxury, yes he may fail but he can easily score a fast 40 or 50 or even a hundred on his day... Thats how our team is set up and thats how it should continue.

Anyone wanting Malik back needs their head tested.

His fielding skills have certainly been on display in this tournament.

I'm sure this is a sarcastic remark knowing your delightful keyboard warrior type profile, but yeah for a 38 year old hes pretty fit and still a decent fielder, imo has a future as a fielding coach in the pak setup.

Fakhar
Hafeez
Babar
Malik
Haris
Asif
Sarfraz
Shadab
Wahab
Amir
Shaheen

Hafeez is 39 and was technically never good enough if bowl moves while Fakhar is also getting out pretty softly in last few matches.

Imam has solid technique and usually comfortably plays the first 5-7 overs to get that shine of the new ball. In my opinion with the lineup you have mentioned we can have the same days we regularly had few years ago where we were 3-4 down inside 20 overs.

What will imad darters gonna do against BD and Afg who play spin well? And you think Imad will bat better than Malik against shakib and Rashid Khan?

yes on current form Imad is better than Malik.. Malik is two old and should just retire his reflexes have slowed down too much,

Hafeez is 39 and was technically never good enough if bowl moves while Fakhar is also getting out pretty softly in last few matches.

Imam has solid technique and usually comfortably plays the first 5-7 overs to get that shine of the new ball. In my opinion with the lineup you have mentioned we can have the same days we regularly had few years ago where we were 3-4 down inside 20 overs.

I would add here that Asif dropping dollies is absolutely inexplicable and Malik should not even be in the squad let alone in the team.

We should go with same team.

Good players but not best. They won’t be dealing part time spinners anymore when they face Bangladesh and Afghanistan. Imad would be useless as spinner since they know how to play spinners.

You're overrating Malik. He may be a very good player of spin but the WC isn't being played in the sub-continent and the guy can't buy a run. Imad is not a spinner but he is still very crafty and a thinking bowler. And I'm pretty sure Afghans (and maybe B'Desh) are going to have trouble against him as they did in the warm-ups. Teams that haven't faced him much generally struggle against him atfirst.

Anyone who thinks Malik should be selected has a screw lose in their head.
Anyone suggesting Fakhar is dropped and Malik picked instead batting between 4 to 6 has an even bigger screw lose.

Firstly, if the wickets continue to get slower and and start turning (just like yesterday's game) do you seriously think Malik, who is currently batting like a tail ender (no disrespect to tail enders) will suddenly find form in a big match situation? Secondly, just because the wickets are taking turn are teams going to drop their fast bowlers and pick four spinners? The squads done even have four specialist spinners...
So any captain that see's Malik walking on to the crease is going to go straight to his fast men.

Coming to Fakhar, yes he is hit and miss but he's the one guy at the top who can single handily take the game away from the opposition. He's our luxury, yes he may fail but he can easily score a fast 40 or 50 or even a hundred on his day... Thats how our team is set up and thats how it should continue.

Anyone wanting Malik back needs their head tested.

Anyone who thinks we will win the WC with any other combination doesn't just have a screw loose but I seriously question what they have been watching? This is Pakistan's best combination and if they are to win anything it will be with this 11.

Did you see him after we won against SA and NZ? PCB claimed that his tenure was only up to India's match, LOL.....

Lol I thought it was till end of WC. Regardless he had no reason to be in England intervening team management's decision-making. Glad they've sent him home

I would add here that Asif dropping dollies is absolutely inexplicable and Malik should not even be in the squad let alone in the team.

We should go with same team.

Agreed. I wouldnt have mind changing the combo a bit if we had another decent batsmen in the squad who can bowl a bit but Malik looks completely out of touch and has been struggling for two years now.

Akhtar raised one genuine point that if Haris would have gotten out early Sarfaraz and Imad are not good enough to bat through while keeping the run rate in check the way Haris did but Malik isnt the man either.

Ideally we should have groomed another decent batsman like Saud Shakeel (He is a pretty useful left arm spinner) or even Khushdil Shah and Iftikhar Ahmed as both both are brutal hitters (With FC centuries under their belt) can up the anti and pretty good off spinners. But I guess no point in thinking this bow.

Hafeez as opener is such a terrible idea and anyone who has been watching Pakistan for the last decade knows why. Not only is he terrible against the new ball but he's also dreadfully slow. As opener he has an average of 29 and a SR of 71.

Also its not the '99 that you need to get the shine off the new ball. Imam is there because he can go on and play a big innings, his SR is also not that bad and he knows how to rotate the strike when he gets set.

This opening combination is undoubtedly the best one Pakistan has had in decades so why not show a little faith and patience instead of recommending changes that take us 10 steps backwards.

Akhtar is a terrible analyst. Half of his analysis are him praising himself and how he would have been an even better player under Imran Khan. The other half is him backing rubbish players like Malik. Seriously who would pay him money to give analysis? The guy has no clue about cricket.

Agreed. I wouldnt have mind changing the combo a bit if we had another decent batsmen in the squad who can bowl a bit but Malik looks completely out of touch and has been struggling for two years now.

Akhtar raised one genuine point that if Haris would have gotten out early Sarfaraz and Imad are not good enough to bat through while keeping the run rate in check the way Haris did but Malik isnt the man either.

Ideally we should have groomed another decent batsman like Saud Shakeel (He is a pretty useful left arm spinner) or even Khushdil Shah and Iftikhar Ahmed as both both are brutal hitters (With FC centuries under their belt) can up the anti and pretty good off spinners. But I guess no point in thinking this bow.

I liked the look of Hussein Talat..
Really don't know why they kept picking him in T20's when I think he would have been better suited for ODI's.

He seemed to have a good technique, a decent head on his shoulders and a very good fielder. plus he can bowl median pace. Of course, he's also 15-18 years younger then Malik...

I would add Asif instead of Imad but never Malik

I really wanted Asif to succeed and thought he was on his way to having a successful workdcup after the England series. However, his ground fielding has been exposed badly. You simply cannot drop dollies like he has.

Also, Imad has actually done well with the bat and is growing in to that lower order hitter role quiet nicely. This is why I wouldn't rock the boat.

Don’t fix something that’s not broken. Malik has done zilch for Pak in the last year and Asif is not even a hack. All miss and no hit.

Shoaib rarely makes sense. His vocabulary is limited to phainti, daleri and tagri.

I liked the look of Hussein Talat..
Really don't know why they kept picking him in T20's when I think he would have been better suited for ODI's.

He seemed to have a good technique, a decent head on his shoulders and a very good fielder. plus he can bowl median pace. Of course, he's also 15-18 years younger then Malik...

Yes he looked decent however, he needs to work hard on his temperament and pressure handling and we will have a good option for ODIs. His strike rotation was pretty good, needs to work on his ground shots and other scoring areas.

How about we reach a deal with ICC to allow Malik to bat 10 times for everyone. The rest of the team would just bowl and field.

Bradman's teacher aka Shoaib Malik deserves at least this much.

hate this guy, rashid latif but he had the only (little bit) sane review in there.... Malik is a disaster... never again plz ... i would change imad for husnnain but that weekens our batting ...

i hope none of these guys get anywhere near a coaching role.. Mohsin Khan resigning from tht committee scares me as he is looking to go for head coach role... plz dont

Is Malik irreplaceable or done anything of note in this World Cup?

Neither has Imad done anything. I feel Shoaib is more capable of contributing something positive then Imad. I hate the way Imad plays more then Shoaib does.

You're overrating Malik. He may be a very good player of spin but the WC isn't being played in the sub-continent and the guy can't buy a run. Imad is not a spinner but he is still very crafty and a thinking bowler. And I'm pretty sure Afghans (and maybe B'Desh) are going to have trouble against him as they did in the warm-ups. Teams that haven't faced him much generally struggle against him atfirst.

England is not his lucky ground and Malik is out of form but we did lose to Bangladesh not long ago and almost lost to Afghanistan. Our top order is good at playing fast bowlers but when it comes to spinners Malik comes to the rescue. Malik was part of winning momentum of T20 WC 2009. He is the reason Pakistan qualified for Champion Trophy when Pakistan almost lost to Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe and West Indies. Any batsman who averages 50 in SA cannot be overrated. Not to mention he averages 50 in wins.

Malik was brought in because Haris along with Babar and others failed and got out to 110 against West Indies. I would maintain the winning momentum but Imad is useless as player and Malik bowls and field better than him. Just the matter of time before he finds the form back and hopefully play the role in the upcoming matches.

England is not his lucky ground and Malik is out of form but we did lose to Bangladesh not long ago and almost lost to Afghanistan. Our top order is good at playing fast bowlers but when it comes to spinners Malik comes to the rescue. Malik was part of winning momentum of T20 WC 2009. He is the reason Pakistan qualified for Champion Trophy when Pakistan almost lost to Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe and West Indies. Any batsman who averages 50 in SA cannot be overrated. Not to mention he averages 50 in wins.

Malik was brought in because Haris along with Babar and others failed and got out to 110 against West Indies. I would maintain the winning momentum but Imad is useless as player and Malik bowls and field better than him. Just the matter of time before he finds the form back and hopefully play the role in the upcoming matches.
I haven't seen malik perform against a top side in odi's since 2003!
Let it go man!
Let malik go!

Fakhar and Imam are both due a big score. Fakhar more so is due. Dominating innings. Against Afg might be the day.