Sir Viv Richards joins IPL

Sankalp

Local Club Regular
Former West Indies world cup winning captain join the Delhi Daredevills team as the chief mentor today. It is great to see one of the greatest batsman ever in IPL. Welcome Viv.

Saw the great man in a huddle with the Delhi team. IPL is lucky to have him in the mix.

P.S. He wasn't a WC winning captain though.

157013.jpg

157014.jpg

Last Pic

Viv: "And then I said, I ain't doing this for money".

All start laughing. :)

What a sad comment. Dont players take money when they play for their country?

Playing for your country is honour but it is their profession as well and they have to feed their family as well so board compensate them for their service to country just like soliders get paid for defending the country. IPL and similar events are just tamasha.

Yet your avatar is from a club football match (not country). Hypcocrite much or is your theory only applicable to cricket and its ok to be passionate about club football?

Just like county cricket, EPL and expats. Well said, now come back to Pakistan, with your family, to uphold that honour instead of doing a tamasha on your own in New York.

Yet your avatar is from a club football match (not country). Hypcocrite much or is your theory only applicable to cricket and its ok to be passionate about club football?

You are comparing apple and oranges. Football is played with same rules at both club and national team level. You cannot say the same about test cricket and T20 tamasha league. There is huge difference between test cricket and cricket in these tamasha leagues.

Viv is acting as a coach...ofcourse he will get paid. But he is only doing for money is a wrong statement. Mushtaq Ahmed is a national coach of England. What do you think? He is doing it for money/love for England?

Would be great to see him pad up and come out to bat in one of the matches. Will still be better than most DD batsmen.

What I am watching? Viv Richards batting for Delhi?? Wait its actually Sehwag. The only player who resembles Sir Viv kinda strokeplay. Superb hitting.

Free cash.

What does he even have to do, anyway? Teach some kids T20, a format he's never played before?

Free cash.

What does he even have to do, anyway? Teach some kids T20, a format he's never played before?

Maybe share his experiences on how to deal with various situations, how to plan an innings, what mistakes not to make, point out and correct technical flaws in batsmen.

punter (2).jpg

Look at the intense in Punters face during the drinks break. Only doing for money?? I dont know

DK.jpg

What I am watching? Viv Richards batting for Delhi?? Wait its actually Sehwag. The only player who resembles Sir Viv kinda strokeplay. Superb hitting.

Viv richards had better footwork then sehwag if i am not mistaken

its very late that somebody like viv joins IPL in the 6th year

he can been a very good ambassador for IPL or any teams

Glad to have King Viv in the biggest carnival in kirkit. Truly global.

How pathetic do you sound? You have any Idea?

Viv Richard is offered a job and he says yes. Is it for money or something else don't matter!
Why are you in New York and serving Americans? Come home and help your own country!! Everyone loves money and so does Suarez. If Suarez is offered big money by City, United or Real he will run away. Everyone loves money. IPL is great because it's giving fame and money to many cricketers that would struggle 10 years ago.

How pathetic do you sound? You have any Idea?

Viv Richard is offered a job and he says yes. Is it for money or something else don't matter!
Why are you in New York and serving Americans? Come home and help your own country!! Everyone loves money and so does Suarez. If Suarez is offered big money by City, United or Real he will run away. Everyone loves money. IPL is great because it's giving fame and money to many cricketers that would struggle 10 years ago.

Read the bloody thread from start before gobbing off in defense of IPL.

By the way your beloved IPL discriminate against the best T20 players in the world based on their national origin.

Well had a massive effect on sehwag i guess =p

By the way your beloved IPL discriminate against the best T20 players in the world based on their national origin.
Only person gobbing here is you. The hatred is sparkling from your posts and needless to say you are making a joke of yourself.
And no IPL is not discriminating players based on nationality. If that was the case you wont have seen Rameez, Mushy, Aleem Dar, Wasim Akram in IPL. It cannot play Pakistani cricketers due to the security reasons cited by Government. Nothing IPL can do about it.
Along with me, many Indians are also sad not to have Pakistani players in IPL. And I am sure once the political situations improve we will proudly see Pakistani players featuring IPL.
You just need to get rid of the hatred sunglasses you wearing and think before you post.

Mate, you and your players are much better off without the trash that is the IPL. Stop broadcasting an inferiority complex, do you really want to see Jamshed's batting technique, or Junaid's bowling technique in tatters if they're given a couple of seasons?

The IPL and all of its associated rubbish hasn't taken us or the likes of Lanka anyplace but south in terms of form and overall quality across formats.

The best T20 team in the world by the way (not that it matters), is the West Indies. Didn't they win the last WT20?

Who are you trying to fool? The best T20 players are already playing in IPL. The ones that are not playing coz no one wants to watch them.

good stuff, would be awesome if IPL 7 had a legends game to start proceedings.

Hadlee or Lilee bowling to Viv Richards. Just for fun, but I would see that for sure!

Mate, you and your players are much better off without the trash that is the IPL. Stop broadcasting an inferiority complex, do you really want to see Jamshed's batting technique, or Junaid's bowling technique in tatters if they're given a couple of seasons?

The IPL and all of its associated rubbish hasn't taken us or the likes of Lanka anyplace but south in terms of form and overall quality across formats.

The best T20 team in the world by the way (not that it matters), is the West Indies. Didn't they win the last WT20?

+1. I would love this to continue. Much better off without IPL, Pakistani Players. Or for that matter, player's technique from any country would be much more better off without this.

I can certainly say that as a kid I wasn't a big fan of test cricket. Only thing i cared about was odis and specially if series was among three or more nations. As I got older I started following test cricket.
However, I still love my world cup and India Pakistan odi games most.
But then again, Passionate Indian fans do deserve at least a league where top players from the world are performing even if its only 20 overs per side. I hope one day these clubs will afford themselves 30 overs a side.

Money talks, I doubt you would need any coaching for T20 cricket.. its mostly hit and miss

I did not see anybody cry about him selling out when he joined the Melbourne Stars in the BBL as a batting coach. Was he working for a charity there?

:bow: :viv !!

Lol at some comments, He was a professional cricketer and I'm glad they hired him!!

and I'm sure he can still bat better than many current Pak batsman :misbah

cheif mentor?? ya kon sa role hai? any ways i am sure even now he is better batsman than any batsman among 20 crore people in pakistan.

He did the ipl gig for money, far more emotiionally invested in the psl:)
He seems like a genuine person. That's the vibe I get from him. I hope he can work on the mental toughness of our team so they dont crumble at the sight of adversity.

LOL, when former cricketers get involved with IPL, they do it for the money. But when they get involved with PSL, they do it for love, passion, emotion, etc.

:najam
which one of yours to be believe?

Saw the great man in a huddle with the Delhi team. IPL is lucky to have him in the mix.

P.S. He wasn't a WC winning captain though.