Sourav Ganguly appointed BCCI President

cricketjoshila

Test Captain
News trickling in that Sourav Ganguly will be elected the new BCCI President unopposed.

Jay Shah,son of Amit Shah will be secretary.

Arun Dhumal, brother of Anurag Thakur to be Treasurer.

Brajesh Patel likely to be IPL Chairman.

Nepotism when Amit Shah’s son is there, so much for BJP supporters always talking about nepotism in Congress.

Ganguly wasn't a bad captain. He seems like a decent guy to me. Maybe not a bad choice for a president position.

Great appointment it would be hopefully.

Ganguly knows Indian cricket, it's problems and the solutions needed.

Vo sab to thik hai.
Lekin what is Amit shah's son doing there ?

And lol about Arun Dhumal...Devotees won't cry about dynasty now....These 2 are very well qualified to be BCCI's office bearers.

Pretty apparent that actual power still resides with Srinivasan. This is all a ruse to satisfy the Lodha requirements.

The idea to have Ganguly and Shah in the two most important positions in the Indian board was taken at an unofficial meeting in Mumbai on Sunday, attended by some of the key men in Indian cricket including former BCCI presidents N Srinivasan and Anurag Thakur, along with former board secretary Niranjan Shah, and former IPL chairman Rajeev Shukla.

Although all these individuals are part of the BCCI's old guard, they continue to wield a lot of power in Indian cricket. Srinivasan's daughter Rupa Gurunath was recently elected unopposed as the president of the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association; Dhumal was recently elected president of Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association, where Thakur held charge for several years. Niranjan Shah's son Jaydev, the former Saurashtra captain who retired less than a year ago, was elected as president of Saurashtra Cricket Association, once again unopposed.

Ganguly, Jay Shah and Patel were all present at the meeting in Mumbai which, one attendee said, was organised by Srinivasan. It is understood that Srinivasan announced Ganguly and Patel's name for the top positions in the BCCI and IPL. This was soon followed by the other attendees giving their oral approval to the other names filling up the remaining office-bearers' positions.

Former Indian skipper Sourav Ganguly, who is all set to become the next BCCI president, has admitted that it will be a challenge for him to look after the “biggest organisation” in the cricket world.

Meetings and counter meetings ruled the roost as the affiliated units of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), along with the bigwigs of the board, met on Sunday.

At the end of the day, Ganguly was leading the race to be the next BCCI President, while ex-India batsman Brijesh Patel is touted to bag the position of IPL Chairman.

“I am happy with the appointment because this is the time when BCCI’s image has got hampered and it’s a great opportunity for me to do something,” Ganguly was quoted as saying by India Today.

“Whether you are elected unopposed or otherwise, it’s a big responsibility because it is the biggest organisation in the world of cricket. India is a powerhouse. It will be a challenge,” he added.

The former India captain was also offered the post of IPL Chairman, but it is being said that Ganguly turned down the offer at around 6 p.m. on Sunday.

However, the appointment of the 47-year-old will be a short one as he will have to go in for a cooling off period from July 2020 under the new rules.

The former Indian skipper has been holding posts in Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) for the past five years where he currently serves as president.

According to the new BCCI rules, an administrator can only serve six years at a trot.

“That’s the rule. So we will have to deal with it. My first priority will be to look after first class cricketers,” said Ganguly.

“I had requested to the Committee of Administrators (CoA) and they have not listened. Ranji Trophy cricket will be the focus. To take care of cricketers’ financial interest,” he added.

https://www.cricketcountry.com/news/will-be-challenge-to-serve-as-bcci-chief-admits-ganguly-899226

Vo sab to thik hai.

To make sure noone even talks about India playing Pakistan. That was not going to happen anyways, but now they apparantly have a real anti-Pakistan guy in administration, assuming he is like his father.

After the 3 yrs of CoA and 2 yrs of Lodha, i will take Srini and co. in a heart beat. Tbey ran BCCI much better.

They did not. Srini is corrupt to the core and equally autocratic. He is the worst admin that we have received since early 90s. His regime was all about power, money and self interest.

It's a different matter that CoA was extremely inept
constututing of members who are remotely connected with the games administration and treated it as their own playing field thereby screwing up BCCI big time.

Both have been equally damaging to BCCI in their own way. However I will concede one thing - with Srini at helm, he would have still remained the big boss and Kohli's tantrums would have been promptly put off.

It is official

Saurav Ganguly is BCCI President.

Congrats Dada. Wish you well on this inning. I am sure you will hit it out of the park like you treated most off spinners :srt

Sourav Ganguly files nomination for BCCI president post; says great to be looked as someone who can take things forward in difficult times

Sourav Ganguly on Monday filed his nomination for the post of BCCI president and this has officially cleared the ground for him to be the new chief of the world’s strongest cricket board. Speaking after filing his nomination, the former India skipper said that his primary focus will be to revamp first class cricket and improve the financial conditions of the players.

“I have been very vocal on domestic cricket especially remuneration. That is going to be my first priority,” Ganguly said while addressing the media which had gathered outside the BCCI headquaters at the Wankhede stadium in Mumbai.

Reflecting on the state of affairs in the board, the former skipper said that he now plans to shift his focus to bringing the house back in order. Ganguly, who represented India in 113 Tests and 311 ODIs and has more than 18,000 runs and 38 centuries to his credit in international cricket, said that it is an important time for the administration of the sport in the country.

“It’s always great to be someone who is looked at to take things forward in difficult situations and hopefully I can deliver.

“Happy and satisfied. It’s a very important time in Indian cricket administration because of all that happened in last 3 years. It’s satisfying to be in a position to make a difference along with the team. It is a very important time in cricket administration with what has happened in the last three years. Hopefully in the next few months we can put things back in order and bring back normalcy in Indian cricket.

“It is a very satisfying moment for me personally. In the last few years, there was a kind of situation in the board which you can call as emergency. There is a lot of work to do especially at administrative level. The board has to be the best in the world that’s how it has been over the years. Hopefully it will be a normal situation in the coming years,” the former India captain said.

Ganguly reflected on Team India’s great performance on the field and said that the new office bearers will have to create a conducive environment for the players to go out and perform at their best.

“As a team we have a lot of things to look after actually. We have to get the house in order, administration in order and most importantly cricket on the field. The cricket has been brilliant on the field since we crashed out of the World Cup 2019 and hopefully that will continue. And this is our job to create an environment that the boys can go out and excel themselves,” he said.

Ganguly, who has to step down from his position as president of the Cricket Association of Bengal, stressed on the need to improve the financial condition of domestic players.

He further shed light on the circumstances in which he was informed about the decision taken by the board members.

“I had never expressed my aspirations for this position. There are senior members in the team. I have never spoken to anyone or expressed that I was keen. 90% of the representative in the board is new. Till 1030 in the night I wasn’t aware of this. I was told that I was needed to take the board forward with Jay and Arun and I felt it was a great responsibility.

“No politician was in touch with me and that’s what it is. The members decide who will be part of this esteemed institution. In terms of Mamata didi, I thank her. She is Mamata didi and I am very happy to get her congratulatory message,” Ganguly added.

The new administration will see Home Minister Amit Shah’s son Jay Shah take over as the secretary of the board while former president Anurag Thakur’s brother Arun Singh Dhunal will take charge as the new treasurer.

“I think experience was looked at and I have spent six years in cricket administration at Cricket Association of Bengal. Jay has been even more senior to me. Experience was one of the key factors as to who will take the charge at administrative level at this crucial juncture because as I said, the house needs to be set in order,”

Ganguly also made it clear that he will take up the matter of increasing India’s share of revenues with the International Cricket Council.

“That’s one area that we will look into. We haven’t received any money from ICC in the last few years. Money in the sense what we deserve. India generates 70-80 percent of the revenue. So that’s going to be one of the agendas. Talks and discussions need to happen and we have to find a solution to this as this is not leading anywhere,” Ganguly said.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...-nomination/story-xeqeIZ06s1mEwOpiQ42AjO.html

Ganguly is not going to be friendly to Pakistan at all. I personally found him to be diplomatic in public but something about him tells me he b doesn't like Pakistan

All those bouncers from Shabby probably give him bad nightmares...

Its crazy what this guy has done for indian cricket. If only one of ex cricketers was this dedicated pakistani cricket..

Nepotism when Amit Shah’s son is there, so much for BJP supporters always talking about nepotism in Congress.

Vo sab to thik hai.

And lol about Arun Dhumal...Devotees won't cry about dynasty now....These 2 are very well qualified to be BCCI's office bearers.

What's new? It's always been same, BJP is no exception. Anyone who thought BJP is any different was deluded.

Congress, BJP, SP, BSP, RJD, TMC, CPI etc etc are all same just different names.

What's new? It's always been same, BJP is no exception. Anyone who thought BJP is any different was deluded.
Quite a few deluded souls on this thread itself. It's as if their dynasts are better than Congress' which is an extremely laughable and biased way of looking at these things.

I think Ganguly will be fair and not act like a stooge. But this is only for 9 months though lol

To make sure noone even talks about India playing Pakistan. That was not going to happen anyways, but now they apparantly have a real anti-Pakistan guy in administration, assuming he is like his father.

Ohh no sweetheart. Thats not the case. Although it sounds too cute. But our problems are way bigger than you can comprehend.
With Jay Shah in the BCCI organization, a certain political party has already entered one of the biggest and richest sports board in India. There already was a lot of financial bungling going on, now this political party will use all its might to blackmail people involved and make the most of black money.
Not to mention that they now do not need Hawala cases. Any corporate can sponsor the cricket matches, and a big share of that amount will be transferred to party fund by hook and crook.

So, cute as it may sound your concern, our concerns are way bigger. We are royally doomed. This will be like watching Peaky Blinders live!

Quite a few deluded souls on this thread itself. It's as if their dynasts are better than Congress' which is an extremely laughable and biased way of looking at these things.

Atleast Congress people were educated and had class.

Ohh no sweetheart. Thats not the case. Although it sounds too cute. But our problems are way bigger than you can comprehend.
With Jay Shah in the BCCI organization, a certain political party has already entered one of the biggest and richest sports board in India. There already was a lot of financial bungling going on, now this political party will use all its might to blackmail people involved and make the most of black money.
Not to mention that they now do not need Hawala cases. Any corporate can sponsor the cricket matches, and a big share of that amount will be transferred to party fund by hook and crook.

So, cute as it may sound your concern, our concerns are way bigger. We are royally doomed. This will be like watching Peaky Blinders live!

So a lose lose situation for all parties. But serves you good as you guys got them elected again. Hopefully the facist supporters will realize this soon, before it’s too late.

We didnt get them elected. I am not one of those. And there are many like me. Although, I come from a hindu family. And there are a majority like me who love our democracy and love all religions.

I see. Need more sane persons like you.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The new team at. <a href="https://twitter.com/BCCI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@bcci</a> .. hopefully we can work well .. anurag thakur thank you for seeing this through ⁦<a href="https://twitter.com/ianuragthakur?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ianuragthakur</a>⁩ <a href="https://t.co/xvZyiczcGq">pic.twitter.com/xvZyiczcGq</a></p>— Sourav Ganguly (@SGanguly99) <a href="https://twitter.com/SGanguly99/status/1183817968053936130?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 14, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Arun Jaitley
Anurag Thakur
Sharad Pawar
Jyotiraditya Scindia
Madhav Rao Scindia
SK Wankhede
NKP Salve
Ranvir Mahindra etc etc

All politicians who were part of the Bcci before Jay Shah.

Can you point to the financial bungling thats going on?

Do you realise that almost all of Bcci's money transactions are via banks and you just cannot give the money to anyone.

You have your right to not vote. Others have their right to vote. Yours is not bigger than them.

Arun Jaitley
Anurag Thakur
Sharad Pawar
Jyotiraditya Scindia
Madhav Rao Scindia
SK Wankhede
NKP Salve
Ranvir Mahindra etc etc

All politicians who were part of the Bcci before Jay Shah.

Can you point to the financial bungling thats going on?

Do you realise that almost all of Bcci's money transactions are via banks and you just cannot give the money to anyone.

And you are so naive to state that there was no financial bungling while Jaitley , sharad pawar and the others were around? You seem to be living in a fairy land!

Any business has transactions via bank. Doesnt mean there arent malpractises happening. Read more!

And you are so naive to state that there was no financial bungling while Jaitley , sharad pawar and the others were around? You seem to be living in a fairy land!

Any business has transactions via bank. Doesnt mean there arent malpractises happening. Read more!

I can challenge anyone on this forum on matters pertaining to bcci. So dont tell me to read more.

Tell me the financial bungling that haopened via bcci? Give a few examples.

I can challenge anyone on this forum on matters pertaining to bcci. So dont tell me to read more.

Tell me the financial bungling that haopened via bcci? Give a few examples.

You can challenge anybody? Lolz! Mr challenger, go read a bit. Seems like you've been living in lalaland.
And yes, I have been handling businesses and finance for the last 17 yrs. So , let me see how much you know about corporate frauds. Its easy to be a ***** and keep typing on keyboard.

You can challenge anybody? Lolz! Mr challenger, go read a bit. Seems like you've been living in lalaland.
And yes, I have been handling businesses and finance for the last 17 yrs. So , let me see how much you know about corporate frauds. Its easy to be a ***** and keep typing on keyboard.

My family owns one of the oldest mining businesses in East India, please do not teach me corporate and businesses. We have been into business since before India was independent. First textiles then mining.

Now tell me about this alleged corporate crime in BCCI, where political party siphoned off money.

My family owns one of the oldest mining businesses in East India, please do not teach me corporate and businesses. We have been into business since before India was independent. First textiles then mining.

Now tell me about this alleged corporate crime in BCCI, where political party siphoned off money.
First go read a bit on the fraud in DDCA which happened under Arun Jaitley. Then come back. And yes, I can see that this could only be a family owned business of yours. Coz it doesnt look to me that you have any practical knowledge in this!

Sourav Ganguly is set to become the first India cricketer after the Maharaja of Vizianagaram to become the president of Board of Control For Cricket in India (BCCI). While the news of Sourav Ganguly becoming BCCI president left his fans ecstatic, Pakistan fast bowling legend Shoaib Akhtar also applauded the decision. Shoaib Akhtar believes Sourav Ganguly transformed Indian cricket and changed its mentality.

Shoaib Akhtar, who played for Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) under the captaincy of Sourav Ganguly, also believes the former India captain has brilliant cricketing knowledge. "One person that transformed Indian cricket was Sourav Ganguly, never felt before 97-98 that India could beat Pakistan. I never felt India had the system to beat Pakistan until Sourav Ganguly became the captain. Sourav Ganguly changed the mentality of Indian cricket. He had an eye to pick a talent to play for India," Akhtar said in a video on his YouTube channel.

"Sourav Ganguly is a great leader, he is honest person when it comes to picking up talent. He is a brilliant cricketing knowledge," he added.

Ganguly will take charge as BCCI President on October 23 as he was the only one to file the nomination for the post.

Ganguly, however, will be able to serve as BCCI president only up to September 2020. He has been holding a post in the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) for the past five years where he currently serves as President.

https://sports.ndtv.com/cricket/sourav-ganguly-great-leader-says-shoaib-akhtar-2117273

First go read a bit on the fraud in DDCA which happened under Arun Jaitley. Then come back. And yes, I can see that this could only be a family owned business of yours. Coz it doesnt look to me that you have any practical knowledge in this!

What fraud? Lol. Kejriwal made this claim and when dragged to court for defamation, he apologised unconditionally.

Former India skipper Sourav Ganguly is all set to become the President of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and the development has not only drawn praise in the country but also across the border as Pakistan fast bowling legend Shoaib Akhtar on Tuesday applauded the decision.

Akhtar, who played for Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) under the captaincy of Ganguly, believes the Prince of Kolkata had transformed Indian cricket during its tough phase besides changing the players’ mentality as he has brilliant cricketing knowledge.

“One person that transformed Indian cricket was Sourav Ganguly, never felt before 97-98 that India could beat Pakistan. I never felt India had the system to beat Pakistan until Sourav Ganguly became the captain. Sourav Ganguly changed the mentality of Indian cricket. He had an eye to pick a talent to play for India,” Akhtar said in a video on his YouTube channel.

“Sourav Ganguly is a great leader, he is honest person when it comes to picking up talent. He is a brilliant cricketing knowledge,” he added.

Ganguly had filed his nomination at the BCCI headquarters in Mumbai on Monday and said that taking care of first-class cricketers and setting the house in order will be his top priorities.

However, Ganguly’‘s appointment will be a short one as he will have to go in for a cooling off period from September 2020, under the new rules.

The former India captain has been holding posts in Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) for the past five years where he currently serves as president. An administrator can only serve six years on the trot.

On October 23, the Committee of Administrators (CoA) will hand over power to the BCCI office-bearers.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...i-president/story-daEHhkTFaiNKZlSF8VnmNI.html

Good news to Indian cricket and cricket fans.. Congrats DADA.
He is great leader and great administrator

Not sure if he ticks all the boxes for management qualification but good for him. Wish him the best. Ex players and captains punching above their weight in this new era.

Read the article below that explores the corruption at the DDCA, under Jaitley. It references court orders detailing crores of loss and investigation agencies finding more than 60 violations.

https://caravanmagazine.in/vantage/unabated-corruption-mismanagement-ddca

You should try and get a better source than caravan.

https://www.google.co.in/amp/s/www....ull-text-of-apology-letter-1202695-2018-04-02

Kejriwal made these allegations and had to apologise when sued.

Good choice. Saurav has a good Cricket brain for sure. Expect him to do well during his tenure.

Not sure if he ticks all the boxes for management qualification but good for him. Wish him the best. Ex players and captains punching above their weight in this new era.

Cricketers of late 90s have huge political clout thanks to all the money flowing in.

What kind of malpractices we are talking about here?

Start with

Dada has record of good administration and is obviously experienced enough in it. Pragmatic enough to handle multiple political factions within BCCI. Also a very popular name amongst all the stakeholders including fans.

He is good choice for the immediate future.

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) president-elect and former India captain Sourav Ganguly on Tuesday said he would like to see the Indian team management focus on winning more ICC tournaments and that is an area he would like skipper Virat Kohli to address. “My only thing is that they need to win big tournaments. They are not going to win every time but they have gone through seven tournaments without winning one,” Ganguly told reporters at the Eden Gardens on his arrival in the city amid much fanfare.

“They are a much better side than that. That is an area they need to get ready mentally. Talent is enormous. We reached the World Cup semis. That’s an issue which Virat needs to address. It doesn’t happen in the boardroom,” said the 47-year-old.

India last won an ICC tournament in 2013 when the MS Dhoni-led side beat England in the final of the 50-over Champions Trophy.

Asked about the 50-over Champions Trophy being replaced by back-to-back World T20s in 2020 and 2021, Ganguly said: “Times have changed. We will have to respect that. When Champions Trophy came in, I was captain that time and it was a huge tournament. With the advent of T20, people come in more for T20 games and the ICC is going by that.”

Ganguly also rated his Test debut in 1996 as a bigger moment in his life than becoming the BCCI President. “1996 will always be the biggest day of my life. I played a first test match for India nothing can beat that,” he added.

Ganguly scored a hundred on debut against England at Lord’s in June 1996.

Ganguly also spoke on India Test wicketkeeper and local boy Wriddhiman Saha, who took two brilliant catches in the second Test in the ongoing series against South Africa in Pune. He said the 34-year-old will have to score runs in order to continue playing for the country.

“I am extremely happy that he plays for the country and does it so well behind the stumps. But my suggestion for him is that in front of the stumps also he has to score a lot more runs. His wicketkeeping will never be doubted. If he has to play 100 Test matches he will have to score a lot more runs. I have played with him, I want his good.”

https://www.cricketcountry.com/news...ng-icc-tournaments-says-sourav-ganguly-899722

You can never be a good leader if you cannot be a douche bag when you have to be a douche bag.

This is why Ganguly is a great leader while Sachin the pure heart was not.

What fraud? Lol. Kejriwal made this claim and when dragged to court for defamation, he apologised unconditionally.

When you have power, you have bought judges ( and killed a few of them), bought the police , you can get away with just about anything. A simple man like Kejriwal could be bent anyway they wanted.

The only people who do not see anything wrong with such behaviour are the ones who are complicit or just blind supporters or display the same behaviour in their day to day life. You can pick which one suits you best.

When you have power, you have bought judges ( and killed a few of them), bought the police , you can get away with just about anything. A simple man like Kejriwal could be bent anyway they wanted.

The only people who do not see anything wrong with such behaviour are the ones who are complicit or just blind supporters or display the same behaviour in their day to day life. You can pick which one suits you best.

Rather than ranting, please put in a few sources backing your claim that BCCI money was siphoned off by political party. Any political party. Leaders of most political parties have held high posts in BCCI. So which party did it? Please tell.

Dont go around beating the bush! Already gave one example. Too tough for you to digest truth, then thats your problem.

So thrilled with the appointment of Jay Shah. The man with the magic wand.

After his Modi chacha won the election, his company's revenues catapulted from 50K to 80 odd crore within a single year.

Hope he can work this sort of magic for Indian cricket. We have a year for the next T20 World Cup. Expecting good things :hamster:

So thrilled with the appointment of Jay Shah. The man with the magic wand.

After his Modi chacha won the election, his company's revenues catapulted from 50K to 80 odd crore within a single year.

Hope he can work this sort of magic for Indian cricket. We have a year for the next T20 World Cup. Expecting good things :hamster:

Another fake allegation, nothing else.
This wasn't proven in court.
Secondly if you know how they calculated this profit then u will laugh on how naive can a journalist be.

Newly elected Board of Control for Cricket in India President (BCCI) Sourav Ganguly clearly stated that he doesn't have an answer on when bilateral cricket between India and Pakistan will resume as the decision depends on the respective governments of the two countries.

Ganguly, who is set to take charge as BCCI's next president on October 23, said that the resumption will depend on the permission of the Indian goverment and can only be taken after an agreement is reached between the prime minister of the two countries: Narendra Modi and Imran Khan.

"You have to ask that question to Modi ji and the Pakistan Prime Minister. Of course we have (to take permission), because international exposure (tours) is all through governments. So we don't have an answer to that question," Ganguly told the media in Kolkata.

The two countries last played a bilateral series in 2012, when India hosted their neighbours for three ODIs and two T20Is.

Earlier this year in February, the BCCI even asked the ICC via e-mail to cut all ties with countries that's filled with terrorism. The letter was sent from the part of the three-member Committee of Administrators (CoA), which is set to leave office once fresh elections were held. It also thought of asking the ICC to boycott Pakistan from the World Cup.

The communications came following the terror attacks in Pulwama, a northern Indian state of Jammu and Kashmir, where more than 40 paramilitary troops were killed following the deadly terror strikes.

https://www.indiatvnews.com/sports/...anguly-india-pakistan-bilateral-series-556976

A simple man like Kejriwal could be bent anyway they wanted.

Kejriwal seems to have fooled quite a few people. My closest friend was a CEO of a company. He said that AAP (a party Kejriwal has absolute power over) wanted a bribe of that was 35% the value of a contract they bid for.

Yes.. And your friends credentials would be?

Ganguly's story is inspirational. Who can forget what he went through from 2015-16 where he was villified, ostracized by Greg Chappel, the BCCI and was humiliatingly dropped as if his past performances to the country were worth nothing.

And now Sourav Ganguly is the BCCI President, the most powerful position in Indian Cricket which not many people can get too whereas Greg Chappel is a retired unnoticed unmentioned entity in Australian Cricket. This game is a beautiful leveler in the long run

Ganguly's story is inspirational. Who can forget what he went through from 2015-16 where he was villified, ostracized by Greg Chappel, the BCCI and was humiliatingly dropped as if his past performances to the country were worth nothing.

And now Sourav Ganguly is the BCCI President, the most powerful position in Indian Cricket which not many people can get too whereas Greg Chappel is a retired unnoticed unmentioned entity in Australian Cricket. This game is a beautiful leveler in the long run

That's really unfair. When Greg dropped ganguly he deserved to be dropped, Sachin+Sehwag were better option and in tests ganguly wasn't performing as was expected of him.

Ganguly came back strong, kudos to him for lifting his game after being dropped.

Greg Chapel was coach of Indian team and wanted to do his best, his methods were not suited for Indian team and he turned out to be a failure for us. But that does not mean he is a lesser name than Ganguly in cricket history.

That's really unfair. When Greg dropped ganguly he deserved to be dropped, Sachin+Sehwag were better option and in tests ganguly wasn't performing as was expected of him.

Ganguly came back strong, kudos to him for lifting his game after being dropped.

Greg Chapel was coach of Indian team and wanted to do his best, his methods were not suited for Indian team and he turned out to be a failure for us. But that does not mean he is a lesser name than Ganguly in cricket history.

Not unfair at all. Ganguly was going through bad patches but it wasn't so bad that he deserved to be dropped as a player and villified like he was back then.

Chappel is a complete non-entity now who has a horrible reputation, even his local Australian players do not have complimentary things to say about him. Ganguly's net worth, reputation and now stature is way higher than Greg Chappel.

Not unfair at all. Ganguly was going through bad patches but it wasn't so bad that he deserved to be dropped as a player and villified like he was back then.

Chappel is a complete non-entity now who has a horrible reputation, even his local Australian players do not have complimentary things to say about him. Ganguly's net worth, reputation and now stature is way higher than Greg Chappel.

Chappell has lived his life, he's 70+ years old, obviously Ganguly being 25 years younger still has a lot to do in his post-cricketing career.

Useless life where he wasn't able to do much. Like Walter White says "Your lucky you didn't have to waste your entire life to do something big". Ganguly will have a bigger impact on the game already and hopefully has plenty of years to go.

Indian team comes first and ganguly deserved to be dropped. He was given a long rope and he took his place for granted. Dropping him was correct decision.

Let's make it clear before people misunderstand and jump in, Chapel was a terrible coach for India, however, his decision to drop ganguly at that time was correct. Vilifying ganguly and every other decision he made was wrong.

Stature and reputation is moot point. Obviously any Indian legend will enjoy more popularity because of fan base and Indian media. Especially compared to someone who is 70+ years old. Chappel was a great cricketer for his time, ganguly was for his time.

Let's not compare two legends and diminish their achievements. Both have had a tremendous career. Post retirement it's upto an individual to try things he want to, some try coaching, commentary, politics, dance and singing shows, comedy shows, administration, some just enjoy their retirement and spend missed time with family and friends. You can't compare post cricket life of people as everyone has different mentality on how to live their lives.

Indian team comes first and ganguly deserved to be dropped. He was given a long rope and he took his place for granted. Dropping him was correct decision.

Let's make it clear before people misunderstand and jump in, Chapel was a terrible coach for India, however, his decision to drop ganguly at that time was correct. Vilifying ganguly and every other decision he made was wrong.

Stature and reputation is moot point. Obviously any Indian legend will enjoy more popularity because of fan base and Indian media. Especially compared to someone who is 70+ years old. Chappel was a great cricketer for his time, ganguly was for his time.

Let's not compare two legends and diminish their achievements. Both have had a tremendous career. Post retirement it's upto an individual to try things he want to, some try coaching, commentary, politics, dance and singing shows, comedy shows, administration, some just enjoy their retirement and spend missed time with family and friends. You can't compare post cricket life of people as everyone has different mentality on how to live their lives.

I have no desire to waste time in defending Ganguly as he is your player after all, feel free to feel that way. But lets be clear, Greg Chappel has been an utter failure in everything he put his hands on after his cricketing career whereas Ganguly has tasted much more success and is now the BCCI President and trust me there was a lot of competition for the job. Chappel's failures post his cricketing life should affect his legacy. Its the same with Miandad, tremendous player but a failure in everything he did after his playing days.

Cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar on Thursday backed his former opening partner and the president-elect of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to play his new role well.

Ganguly, the former India skipper and the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) president, is set to be elected opposed as the BCCI president on October 23 at the Indian cricket board’s Annual General Meeting.

Tendulkar, who was speaking at the launch of the Road Safety World Series League, where he will be captaining the Indian team which is set to feature his former teammates – Virender Sehwag, Ajit Agarkar, Zaheer Khan and RP Singh, said that Ganguly will serve as BCCI president just like he played his cricket – with passion and same focus.

“The way he played his cricket, the way he has gone out and served the nation, I have no doubt that he will serve (as BCCI President) in same capacity and in the same manner, with same passion and same focus. That is what I know of him,” said Tendulkar.

Talking about the league, Tendulkar said: “I will practice and all these cricketers are geared up. We shot a film yesterday, so everyone is charged up and it is a good feeling to be back on the field again after a long time but as I said earlier also, whenever you walk on the field the feeling is different.”

“Something that we will look to relive our rivalries on the field and as you must have picked, we are good friends off the field we might be pushing each other on field and competing really hard but off the field we are good friends and that is what matters,” added Tendulkar.

https://www.cricketcountry.com/news...ely-as-he-played-his-cricket-tendulkar-900143

Its crazy what this guy has done for indian cricket. If only one of ex cricketers was this dedicated pakistani cricket..

Former PAK cricketers are busy with making YouTube videos desperate enough for some likes and views.

shows you the difference. :ssmith

Ganguly has done a lot for cricket in India, promoting it all over the country. All the cricketers who played under him are still giving a lot to cricket by either coaching or running academies. Think what you like but this man was a born leader and everyone in cricketing circles knew he would be running affairs after his retirement.

I reckon if Kaptaan wins couple of trophies then ICC Chief.

Lol its a news to me that DDCA is not corrupted. :inti

Well some people like to live in their own lalaland. So, all is well for them. Including indian economy. Sab changa si. DDCA is absolutely corruption free as much as British built railways for the welfare of Indian public!