South Asia Football Discussion Thread

It seems all the Indian fans are out from their hideouts. Before the match none of them commenting anything. Its a natural thing for them, THEY wait for the outcome of the match, they wait especially if they win the match so they can then mock/troll.

I don't think there is a single Indian poster here who follows football. LOL. :yk

Fact of the match is. India sucks at football, despite being bigger nation, with a billion plus people, ranked higher than Bangladesh. Still couldn’t beat Bangladesh, at home. Despite using all sorts of dirty tactics days before the game; not allowing Bangladesh to train in the main ground enough, keeping them away, changing the training timing, ground staffs asking BFF member more money for training facilities, turning the lights off in the training ground during one session. JEES. What a host India. Classless.

Dirty tactics. Where have we seen that before? Champions Trophy 2025? :inti

India generally always employ dirty tactics. Whether it is football, cricket, or something else. :inti

Syria vs Pakistan starting soon, less than half hour. Pakistan making a comeback after the ban.

I’ve never been so keen on South Asian football as I am now. Yes it’s all due to Hamza’s arrival to BD and hearing the new BFF president is keenly bringing in more origin players to Bangladesh football team, because it’s time. Football must get more attention and investment. Bringing in origin based players will only help improve the game in the country. Quite frankly speaking even a 3rd tier English league player is better than local desi nation’s national team best player.

Watching Pakistan vs Syria live on Youtube. If anyone wants the link. Holla at me.

Ngl watching Pakistan for the first time. I heard they brought in many origin players. Pakistan is playing good football passing and moving the ball about well. Look good.

Oh my days. 😂 😂

I thought Syria was Pakistan, it’s actually Syria in Green and White and are now 2-0 up. Pakistan is in whole white. My bad.

Syria looks good side.

It finished. Syria 2 - 0 Pakistan.

Not a good start for the South Asian side.

I think Bangladesh should've won because they brought in good players from overseas. For example, Hamza Choudhary now plays for BD. Hamza used to play for Leicester City in Premier League (former FA Cup winner).

Missed opportunity.

Bro one player can't make that much of a difference. It takes time to gel and understand the system plus he is going to be carrying 10 donkeys ( not just Bangladeshis but all Asian footballers come into this category).

It's a good result for Bangladesh. Many people here don't understand football. Indians especially are acting like it's one to one player to player battles like cricket. It's a significant result from Bangladesh away from home. Can India draw away from home with a team 60 ranking points ahead? Of course not.

It finished. Syria 2 - 0 Pakistan.

Not a good start for the South Asian side.
Pakistan is very poor. Even the strategy of recruiting overseas isn't making a difference. I don't think there is a solid club structure.

Indian football is far ahead of the rest of sub continent at the moment as they have a solid domestic base.

Bro one player can't make that much of a difference. It takes time to gel and understand the system plus he is going to be carrying 10 donkeys ( not just Bangladeshis but all Asian footballers come into this category).

It's a good result for Bangladesh. Many people here don't understand football. Indians especially are acting like it's one to one player to player battles like cricket. It's a significant result from Bangladesh away from home. Can India draw away from home with a team 60 ranking points ahead? Of course not.

It is not just one overseas player. There are 5-6.

One was born in Denmark and he played in both Danish league and Argentine league (Jamal Bhuyan). Another is from Italy.

This draw is not surprising at all. India isn't that great in football and Bangladesh is improving.

In football, ranking difference isn't as decisive as it is in cricket.

India couldn't beat BD at home. They tried dirty tactics. Nothing worked.

They should stick to IPL. :inti

It is not just one overseas player. There are 5-6.

One was born in Denmark and he played in both Danish league and Argentine league (Jamal Bhuyan). Another is from Italy.

This draw is not surprising at all. India isn't that great in football and Bangladesh is improving.

In football, ranking difference isn't as decisive as it is in cricket.
Jamal Bhuyan is a poor player in football terms and the Italian guy plays in the fourth tier. Best of luck to them and I don't mean them disrespect but they aren't that good.

On the contrary Choudry is a genuine talent.

Jamal Bhuyan is a poor player in football terms and the Italian guy plays in the fourth tier. Best of luck to them and I don't mean them disrespect but they aren't that good.

On the contrary Choudry is a genuine talent.

They are better than domestic guys. That's my point. Domestic guys are worse.

I think Jamal is okay because one Argentine club signed him. He had to be good to get an Argentine club contract. Anyway, he now plays for a BD club.

They are better than domestic guys. That's my point. Domestic guys are worse.

I think Jamal is okay because one Argentine club signed him. He had to be good to get an Argentine club contract. Anyway, he now plays for a BD club.

Jamal Buiyan had his better days, still ok for that level. People need to understand none of the local players are anything above tier 4 in Europe. Just facts, at best some of them could reach tier 3. So any 4tier, 3tier european brought up origin-player still better than native players. Harsh truth.

There’s more origin players to join BD coming months. They need it, need a better left winger, striker, more offensive midfielders.

Theres two in MLS, Quinn and Cavan Sullivan both are Bangladeshi origin. Cavan is 15 already taken up by Man City, will officially sign on his 18th Birthday. I doubt these two will choose BD because they have chances with USA. But let’s see. Time will tell.

Syria is a good football team. One of the best in Asia.

Not sure why @Rajdeep gave haha to this. Maybe he should stick to IPL. :inti

Arab nations are some of the best Asian sides in football. this is a common knowledge. Syria almost made it to 2018 WC. Lost a close game in qualifying playoff.

BTW, Syria beat India 1-0 recently.

Arab nations are some of the best Asian sides in football. this is a common knowledge. Syria almost made it to 2018 WC. Lost a close game in qualifying playoff.

I am laughing at all the self goals by BD posters in this thread. Epic humiliation.

Hiding behind Syria won't help unfortunately.

:rp

@Rajdeep gave haha reaction again. He probably thinks India is #1 in Asia. :inti

Here are the rankings of all Asian sides (source: https://inside.fifa.com/associations/AFC):

Japan

Japan
1652.791653-0.21
IR Iran

IR Iran
1635.311635+0.31
Korea Republic

1585.451585+0.45
Australia

Australia
1544.151544+0.15
Qatar

Qatar
1474.61475-0.4
Iraq

Iraq
1442.861443-0.14
Uzbekistan

Uzbekistan
1424.931425-0.07
Saudi Arabia

1406.561407-0.44
United Arab Emirates

1385.571386-0.43
Jordan

Jordan
1375.911376-0.09
Oman

Oman
1306.671307-0.33
Bahrain

Bahrain
1305.521306-0.48
China PR

China PR
1266.381266+0.38
Syria

Syria
1249.471249+0.47
Thailand

Thailand
1231.171228+3.17
Palestine

Palestine
1215.871216-0.13
Tajikistan

Tajikistan
1203.081203+0.08
Kyrgyz Republic

1194.191194+0.19
Lebanon

Lebanon
1171.431168+3.43
Vietnam

Vietnam
1164.791161+3.79
Korea DPR

Korea DPR
1164.411164+0.41
India

India
1133.621134-0.38
Indonesia

Indonesia
1133.411135-1.59
Malaysia

Malaysia
1115.511117-1.49
Kuwait

Kuwait
1108.721109-0.28
Turkmenistan

1065.421065+0.42
Philippines

Philippines
1046.671048-1.33
Hong Kong, China

1028.761025+3.76
Afghanistan

Afghanistan
10251025-
Yemen

Yemen
1018.271018+0.27
Singapore

Singapore
1011.681008+3.68
Maldives

Maldives
1001.391001+0.39
Chinese Taipei

990.56991-0.44
Myanmar

Myanmar
981.35986-4.65
Nepal

Nepal
939.2939+0.2
Cambodia

Cambodia
920921-1
Bhutan

Bhutan
904.06904+0.06
Brunei Darussalam

899.87900-0.13
Bangladesh

Bangladesh
898.81899-0.19
Laos

Laos
890.08890+0.08
Mongolia

Mongolia
879.75884-4.25
Macau

Macau
868.79872-3.21
Timor-Leste

Timor-Leste
846.8851-4.2
Pakistan

Pakistan
842.59843-0.41
Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka
832.8833-0.2
Guam

Guam
824.65822+2.65

@Rajdeep gave haha reaction again. He probably thinks India is #1 in Asia. :inti

Here are the rankings of all Asian sides (source: https://inside.fifa.com/associations/AFC):

Japan

Japan
1652.791653-0.21
IR Iran

IR Iran
1635.311635+0.31
Korea Republic

1585.451585+0.45
Australia

Australia
1544.151544+0.15
Qatar

Qatar
1474.61475-0.4
Iraq

Iraq
1442.861443-0.14
Uzbekistan

Uzbekistan
1424.931425-0.07
Saudi Arabia

1406.561407-0.44
United Arab Emirates

1385.571386-0.43
Jordan

Jordan
1375.911376-0.09
Oman

Oman
1306.671307-0.33
Bahrain

Bahrain
1305.521306-0.48
China PR

China PR
1266.381266+0.38
Syria

Syria
1249.471249+0.47
Thailand

Thailand
1231.171228+3.17
Palestine

Palestine
1215.871216-0.13
Tajikistan

Tajikistan
1203.081203+0.08
Kyrgyz Republic

1194.191194+0.19
Lebanon

Lebanon
1171.431168+3.43
Vietnam

Vietnam
1164.791161+3.79
Korea DPR

Korea DPR
1164.411164+0.41
India

India
1133.621134-0.38
Indonesia

Indonesia
1133.411135-1.59
Malaysia

Malaysia
1115.511117-1.49
Kuwait

Kuwait
1108.721109-0.28
Turkmenistan

1065.421065+0.42
Philippines

Philippines
1046.671048-1.33
Hong Kong, China

1028.761025+3.76
Afghanistan

Afghanistan
10251025-
Yemen

Yemen
1018.271018+0.27
Singapore

Singapore
1011.681008+3.68
Maldives

Maldives
1001.391001+0.39
Chinese Taipei

990.56991-0.44
Myanmar

Myanmar
981.35986-4.65
Nepal

Nepal
939.2939+0.2
Cambodia

Cambodia
920921-1
Bhutan

Bhutan
904.06904+0.06
Brunei Darussalam

899.87900-0.13
Bangladesh

Bangladesh
898.81899-0.19
Laos

Laos
890.08890+0.08
Mongolia

Mongolia
879.75884-4.25
Macau

Macau
868.79872-3.21
Timor-Leste

Timor-Leste
846.8851-4.2
Pakistan

Pakistan
842.59843-0.41
Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka
832.8833-0.2
Guam

Guam
824.65822+2.65
[TR]
[th width="120px"]RK[/th]
[th width="auto"]Team[/th]
[th width="150px"]Total Points[/th]
[th width="150px"]Previous Points[/th]
[th width="150px"]+/-[/th]

[/TR]
Like your friend @Mas-LFC you are doing self goal as well. This thread was opened just because a premier league player was playing in BD team and you guys thought it is guaranteed that you will beat India. That is why all the big talks before the game. And now giving all silly excuses just to make yourself feel better. As I said before, unathletic Bangladeshis will not beat India in any sport - cricket, football whatever. I am just loving this thread because of the humiliation that has been dished out. Hopefully you all have learnt a lesson and will not do premature celebration going forward.

Football is making a comeback in BD, which was really our primary sport. Had enough of investing money in Cricket with not much to show for and always targeting next world cup.

BD highest ranking was 110 back in like 1997 which was very decent. However, instead of progressing they regressed.

Jamal Buiyan had his better days, still ok for that level. People need to understand none of the local players are anything above tier 4 in Europe. Just facts, at best some of them could reach tier 3. So any 4tier, 3tier european brought up origin-player still better than native players. Harsh truth.

There’s more origin players to join BD coming months. They need it, need a better left winger, striker, more offensive midfielders.

Theres two in MLS, Quinn and Cavan Sullivan both are Bangladeshi origin. Cavan is 15 already taken up by Man City, will officially sign on his 18th Birthday. I doubt these two will choose BD because they have chances with USA. But let’s see. Time will tell.
The Sullivan Brothers don't look much Bangladeshi to me. Hamza does appear mostly Bangladeshi and down to Earth kind of guy. He is going to be bigger star than Shakib AL Hasan.

Also, football is all about money. No point comparing to European players whom are worth millions of dollars.

I know Cricket is a difficult sport but BD should've done well in football and badminton. Everyone in BD play these sports.

The Sullivan Brothers don't look much Bangladeshi to me. Hamza does appear mostly Bangladeshi and down to Earth kind of guy. He is going to be bigger star than Shakib AL Hasan.

What does looks has to with anything if he is an origin player or not. Does he has to be brown to be desi Bangladeshi to you? The key is he is Bangladeshi origin, they themselves proudly say it.

Half black, 2/3 white, works for you? Are you really fine with such individuals representing your nation? Sounds pretty desperate tbh.

Football is making a comeback in BD, which was really our primary sport. Had enough of investing money in Cricket with not much to show for and always targeting next world cup.

BD highest ranking was 110 back in like 1997 which was very decent. However, instead of progressing they regressed.

There’s a genuine buzz around Bangladesh football this time now with the arrival of Hamza Choudhary and Fahmidul who didnt make it to final sqaud but has a bright future only 17yo. Plus more players lined up to come. I saw the news where tens of thousands in different parts of Bangladesh watching the BD match on big screen, for the first time such ways, ever. They usually do that for Argentina and Brazil matches.

Previous BD lacked football institutions, facilities as such international standards. But with Bashundhara group’s near completion of the biggest sports complex in South Asia, has definitely helped lift BD football a lot. Now BD practices mostly in the sports complex as the facilities are excellent and play home matches in Bashundhara Kings arena stadium.

Its good signs. Lets hope it gets better.

Btw. Ignore that bitter troll who clicked the laughter emoji, at your post. Always trys to be censor BD posters and derail every thread. Idk how mods never take any action against him making the forum not nice. There’s no rational objective intention from that user. Always trolls like a deep hater. I’ve added him to the ignore list.

Bangladesh had a primary sport?? Yeh Kab hua?
Anyone on earth taking FIFA rankings seriously has no idea about football at all. PRIMARY SPORT, lol!

Half black, 2/3 white, works for you? Are you really fine with such individuals representing your nation? Sounds pretty desperate tbh.
Still count as a Bangladeshi origin. It doesn’t matter if he half this or that. As long as they are happy to represent Bangladesh Football team. Bangladeshi fans welcome that. I don’t know why that upsets some Indians.

As for Hamza, He has a Bangladeshi passport now, dual citizenship. He has been in Bangladesh more than many of us, growing in his childhood he used to go very often.

Watch the highlights for yourself. How luckily the mighty India escaped the defeat. Bangladesh should’ve won it if they had better finishing. Too many Darwin Nunez’s in the front line.

bhai no one cares about football.
Do we share chess matches between Indian and Banagladeshi GMs.. Oh wait there aren't Bangladeshi GM in chess :ROFLMAO:

Still count as a Bangladeshi origin. It doesn’t matter if he half this or that. As long as they are happy to represent Bangladesh Football team. Bangladeshi fans welcome that. I don’t know why that upsets some Indians.

As for Hamza, He has a Bangladeshi passport now, dual citizenship. He has been in Bangladesh more than many of us, growing in his childhood he used to go very often.
No one is upset, wanted your point of view since I wouldn't be fine having partial Indians representing the nation, specially if India played no part in the player development.

Self-esteem naam ki cheez hoti hai. :P but some people are used to outside funding and dole outs, imports doesnt affect their national pride.

bhai no one cares about football.
Do we share chess matches between Indian and Banagladeshi GMs.. Oh wait there aren't Bangladeshi GM in chess :ROFLMAO:

Oh here comes the classic Indian tactics of deflection.

Noboday cares about football? Speak for yourself. You might not, most of your country men might not. Thats fine. Each to their own. But Dude this about South Asian Football. Its a football thread. Kindly go talk about the subject you want elsewhere in the relevant thread. Thanks.

India doesn’t have the system in place, it doesn’t allow dual-citizenship. So there’s no chance they can have origin players, yet.

Time has changed. Many other countrys have already done it. Origin-players are needed to enchance the quality at least in the regional level. BD people want more origin players asap. The buzz created with one Hamza. They hope to get more. BD fans am talking about the Bangladeshi based Bangladeshis are more than excited for the future with origin players with BD passport, coming in.

Oh here comes the classic Indian tactics of deflection.

Noboday cares about football? Speak for yourself. You might not, most of your country men might not. Thats fine. Each to their own. But Dude this about South Asian Football. Its a football thread. Kindly go talk about the subject you want elsewhere in the relevant thread. Thanks.

Agree.

Football is literally the number one sport in the world. It is followed globally.

Actually, it is cricket which very few care about (other than desis). LOL.

This Aang_Bang has a habit of derailing threads.

Are they definitley going to play for BD? I think they will select USA.

As I said in the original post regarding them. They have chances for USA. Cavan might be the next big thing for US football. Highly doubt they’ll choose to rep BD, unless they cant get into US team by late 20s.

Lol one draw has BD celebrating? Man they all are similar to Mushi after all

Check out the Indonesian football team. More than 50% of their players are European white whom might have some Indonesian connection. This is ultimately not a good way to build up a team in the long term. You need strong domestic culture.

Their name and ability to speak at least mediocre Bangla is is kind of needed for me. Hamza ticks all of the boxes, Tariq Qazi is also ok. Just having 10% BD origin doesnt mean much, and I dont like how BD media keep portraying these Sullivan bros lol.

Check out the Indonesian football team. More than 50% of their players are European white whom might have some Indonesian connection. This is ultimately not a good way to build up a team in the long term. You need strong domestic culture.

Their name and ability to speak at least mediocre Bangla is is kind of needed for me. Hamza ticks all of the boxes, Tariq Qazi is also ok. Just having 10% BD origin doesnt mean much, and I dont like how BD media keep portraying these Sullivan bros lol.

Indeed, the grassroots and domestic is utmost crucial to growth in any sports. But this is South Asia it has been lacking it for the longest time hence why none of them can make it to fifa World Cup.

As the south asian region nations has a lot diasporas, expatriates everywhere in the world. It has good chances of finding better origin players than it’s domestic ones which hence can benefit their quality, at least in the Asian region level, to begin with.

Bangla should rope in Erling Haaland for next game. In doing so, maybe they will manage to beat India...tsk tsk.

I have never seen a bigger self goal thread than this one. What humiliation 😂
There was no humiliation. 185 ranked team drawing with 120s ranked team, that too away is excellent result for BD.

Now, if people thinks one CDM is going to change the game completely definitely don't understand football.

There was no humiliation. 185 ranked team drawing with 120s ranked team, that too away is excellent result for BD.

Now, if people thinks one CDM is going to change the game completely definitely don't understand football.

Read the thread from beggining...you will get the context

most Indians here dont understand how football works. Especially that troll I’ve added to the ignore list. Only one on it.

@Mods

can you clean up this thread please. All The hindustanis are trying to do is down play, belittle others to make their points valid. When the need of this thread is to be constructive and objective about South Asia football sides or even your own desi nation. Add something meaningful. Check my innitial posts I made this thread for to discuss about South Asian football why it has failed and how things can move forward. Anything related this region. Friendly banter in a good humour is fine, I don’t mind, it’s normal growing up in UK but most of the Indians here going off topic especially Rajdeep, and are replying back and posting about basically trying the best to show dadagiri and belittling Bangladesh and Bangladeshis.

This is a FOOTBALLING DISCUSSION THREAD. Either add something unbiased, constructive relevant to the thread or go elsewhere if you lack footballing knowledge.

Classless people have no shame, no manners. It doesnt go well for this wonderful forum when theres some online ultra-blind nationalistic Bharati army polluting every thread.
They are mostly racist people. Especially against Bangladeshis.

most Indians here dont understand how football works. Especially that troll I’ve added to the ignore list. Only one on it.

You said this highlighted part on post #4 itself which kind of give away your true intention behind this thread

Where are the Hindustani brothers? Why is no Hindustani commenting here. Lol. Are you guys worried about 25th March when the Bangla tigers come to hunt you down in Shillong?

India with a billion plus people, has a super league spent millions yet still cant dominate the lesser funded neighbouring countries in South Asia.

You wanted Hindustani brothers attention and we gave exactly that. Why you crying now?

Basically you expected easy win for BD but when 25th March didn't materialize as per your expectation, you started crying about how Indians don't understand football, accusing others of racism, crying to mods and putting posters on ignore list etc. Lets be honest, all of this is only because your football team humiliated you on that day after all the big talks. Rather than taking it as a life lesson of not celebrating prematurely, you are acting like that other kid Mushfiqur Rahim.

I cant speak for other Indians but I am one of the biggest supporter of Man City and regularly follow football. So don't be under the delusion that Indians dnt understand football and only Bangladeshis do. LOL

@BDfanforever as FYI

Where is my friend @Mas-LFC these days? Completely dissappeared and no post in this thread. I am keen to know how is Asian football going?

Why Brazil legends chose to play Bharat and not South Asian football giants Bangladesh

:facepalm

These Indians are astonishing. Bragging about this. LMAO!

This is not even a regular game. These are retired players having a "legends" game.

In football, these games are called "friendlies". It is not like cricket where big 3 play among each other. Football is more inclusive. Football is not run by petty paindoos.

:facepalm

These Indians are astonishing. Bragging about this. LMAO!

This is not even a regular game. These are retired players having a "legends" game.

But don’t you think it’s disrespectful from Brazil legends to ignore the true Football super power of South East Asia and come to Bharat instead?

Why Brazil legends chose to play Bharat and not South Asian football giants Bangladesh

This type of petty thought process is not present in football. Nobody brags and thinks like this when it comes to football. It is mostly Indians who behave like this in cricket and in IPL.

In international friendlies, many strong teams often visit weak teams. Nothing revolutionary about it. It is not like cricket.

BTW, there were talks of Argentina visiting Bangladesh too. Argentina was okay to visit Bangladesh but it was postponed due to renovation and later on political instability.

:inti :inti

=========================================

Argentina’s proposed Bangladesh tour in June cancelled

Salahuddin said he wants to bring Argentina team in Bangladesh after the completion of the renovation work of Bangabandhu National Stadium which is unlikely to be finished this year

Argentina football team were supposed to play a FIFA international friendly match in Dhaka next month but the plan was cancelled due to venue problem, Bangladesh Football Federation president Kazi Salahuddin told Dhaka Tribune Wednesday.

“Argentina are not coming to Bangladesh in June because the venue (Bangabandhu National Stadium) will not be ready in time,” said the BFF chief over phone.

“I thought the venue will be prepared but it is not happening so I had to cancel the plan last month,” he added.

Salahuddin also said he wants to bring Argentina team in Bangladesh after the completion of the renovation work of BNS which is unlikely to be finished this year.

Argentina football team came to Bangladesh only once before when they played a friendly against Nigeria at the fully-packed BNS on September 6, 2011.

Source: https://www.dhakatribune.com/sport/football/310321/argentina’s-proposed-bangladesh-tour-in-june.

This type of petty thought process is not present in football. Nobody brags and thinks like this when it comes to football. It is mostly Indians who behave like this in cricket and in IPL.

In international friendlies, many strong teams often visit weak teams. Nothing revolutionary about it. It is not like cricket.

BTW, there were talks of Argentina visiting Bangladesh too. Argentina was okay to visit Bangladesh but it was postponed due to renovation and later on political instability.

:inti :inti

=========================================

Argentina’s proposed Bangladesh tour in June cancelled

Salahuddin said he wants to bring Argentina team in Bangladesh after the completion of the renovation work of Bangabandhu National Stadium which is unlikely to be finished this year

Argentina football team were supposed to play a FIFA international friendly match in Dhaka next month but the plan was cancelled due to venue problem, Bangladesh Football Federation president Kazi Salahuddin told Dhaka Tribune Wednesday.

“Argentina are not coming to Bangladesh in June because the venue (Bangabandhu National Stadium) will not be ready in time,” said the BFF chief over phone.

“I thought the venue will be prepared but it is not happening so I had to cancel the plan last month,” he added.

Salahuddin also said he wants to bring Argentina team in Bangladesh after the completion of the renovation work of BNS which is unlikely to be finished this year.

Argentina football team came to Bangladesh only once before when they played a friendly against Nigeria at the fully-packed BNS on September 6, 2011.

Source: https://www.dhakatribune.com/sport/football/310321/argentina’s-proposed-bangladesh-tour-in-june.

i acknowledge Bangladesh’s greatness in football. You have a former Leicester City player in your team.

India's traditional rival in South Asian football is Maldives not Bangladesh. Just Hamza or tier 3/4 players from Europe won't do jack. Afghanistan though, if they stayed in SAFF, would be proper rivals right now, maybe even favourites.

Thing is South Asian football has fallen well behind SEA and Central Asian teams, forget East and West Asia. India has qualified on merit to last couple of Asian Cups but chances look bleak, we don't have quality strikers anymore

India's traditional rival in South Asian football is Maldives not Bangladesh. Just Hamza or tier 3/4 players from Europe won't do jack. Afghanistan though, if they stayed in SAFF, would be proper rivals right now, maybe even favourites.

Thing is South Asian football has fallen well behind SEA and Central Asian teams, forget East and West Asia. India has qualified on merit to last couple of Asian Cups but chances look bleak, we don't have quality strikers anymore

Your team couldn't beat Bangladesh at home. As a matter of fact, Bangladesh could've won 2-0 but they missed 2 easy opportunities. Don't overrate your team too much. :inti

However, I agree that South Asian football is in the gutter currently. Need a boost.

Your team couldn't beat Bangladesh at home. As a matter of fact, Bangladesh could've won 2-0 but they missed 2 easy opportunities. Don't overrate your team too much. :inti

However, I agree that South Asian football is in the gutter currently. Need a boost.
India didn't beat Bangladesh at home in the last qualifiers too but beat them away. This is the weakest India has been in a while though as new players are coming in.

Good result for BD but they'll have to show they can compete at atleast SAFF level. Don't think they have even made a final in years

Even Nepal beat India in the early 2010s, but have fizzled away. Will have to see more before claiming they are on par