Start of Afghanistan cricket's remarkable chapter after their performances in the ICC ODI World Cup 2023

If they win Pakistan is more then likely out
Man dont really care. Its good for cricket if a new team reaches the semis.

These guys by reaching the semis will be taken seriously by other teams

Man dont really care. Its good for cricket if a new team reaches the semis.

These guys by reaching the semis will be taken seriously by other teams
I want them to reach semi's bro. They deserve it more then Pakistan lol.

I'm just sad to see my favourite team lose to afg 😭😭.

By favourite I mean aus and nz 2nd

If Afghanistan wins tonight, they will be more closer towards the semi finals.. They are capable of doing 1996 SL to India with their deadly spin attack. Afganisthan looking dangerous and most likely to win today against AUS. 290+ is game on where there is assistance for spinners.

Oh man, this team is making Australia crumble.

I just love these guys. Wonderful cricket out there by them.

And to think this team was only formed 20 years ago.

Not been on PP for a while now but that doesn't mean I don't keep an eye out or have stopped following cricket.

Very impressed with Afghanistan in this WC, the fight, aggression, commitment and the hunger to win games has been phenomenal.

With that said, is it time to crown them as the 2nd best team after India for Asia?

The way they are playing, dare I say, they may well be the 2nd best team in the world (at least in this WC).

They might lose these 2 matches and fail to qualify for semis. Just wait till the league phase is over before calling anyone as 2nd best Asian side.

Not been on PP for a while now but that doesn't mean I don't keep an eye out or have stopped following cricket.

Very impressed with Afghanistan in this WC, the fight, aggression, commitment and the hunger to win games has been phenomenal.

With that said, is it time to crown them as the 2nd best team after India for Asia?

The way they are playing, dare I say, they may well be the 2nd best team in the world (at least in this WC).
Nope.

Afghanistan has played good cricket because of good utilization of their resources. But to be the 2nd best team of Asia you need to win away.

Afghanistans goal isnt to be the best of Asia. There goal should be to first master and dominate in subcontinent and than develop for SENA.

Making such threads are abit naive, because as soon as Afghanistan losses the next game, the usual haters will be here bashing and insulting the team while having no idea about the struggle these guys have put.

i have been following afghanistan cricket since 2007 when i once opened a newspaper and laughed at the fact that this war stricken country has a cricket team that actually plays cricket. Started following them and from WCL 5 they are now playing and defeating Australia. 15 years of following these guys bro

Aussies looking like right clowns.

Ha bhai, series miss karwai for human rights. Ab points bhi nahi milne HAHAHA.

Nope.

Afghanistan has played good cricket because of good utilization of their resources. But to be the 2nd best team of Asia you need to win away.

Afghanistans goal isnt to be the best of Asia. There goal should be to first master and dominate in subcontinent and than develop for SENA.

Making such threads are abit naive, because as soon as Afghanistan losses the next game, the usual haters will be here bashing and insulting the team while having no idea about the struggle these guys have put.
And they have dominated not just Subcontinent teams but others in this WC.

As things stand, Afghanistan is far ahead of teams like Pakistan, Bangladesh & Srilanka. Barring India, Afghanistan is easily the best team in Asia on current form.

And they have dominated not just Subcontinent teams but others in this WC.

As things stand, Afghanistan is far ahead of teams like Pakistan, Bangladesh & Srilanka. Barring India, Afghanistan is easily the best team in Asia on current form.
they are not.

To be the top team, they will have to win games outside subcontinent, and that SHOULD NOT be the goal of Afghanistan.

Afghanistan needs to learn to dominate in subcontinent which they are currently doing. And they should focus on this for the next 2 years than develop assets for SENA.

Publicly gonna apologise to @Major for belittling what I thought was a ridiculous call with respect to Afghans. Sorry lil bro @Major This was the biggest call of the World Cup .

Can't believe what I'm seeing with my eyes.

No excuses for pathetic performances by BD and SL. Also , those lame excuses given by certain sections of the English press regarding travel schedule, pitches and weather look absolutely juvenile right now . Afghans are doing it like true pros and playing with such desperation and skill.

Afghanistan could have pulled off a Sri Lanka 1996 if the Indian juggernaut were not standing in their way.

Afghanistan with their tail up can beat any team in the world in these conditions except India whose skill and mentality is too much for Afghanistan to handle.

If they do make the semifinals and face India, the result will never be in doubt but if they were to avoid India, they could have easily played the final.

Biggest give away by afghanistan would have been just a massive push had they managed a semi final berth . Anyways their best World Cup performance and they will only get stronger from here

Afghanistan could have pulled off a Sri Lanka 1996 if the Indian juggernaut were not standing in their way.

Afghanistan with their tail up can beat any team in the world in these conditions except India whose skill and mentality is too much for Afghanistan to handle.

If they do make the semifinals and face India, the result will never be in doubt but if they were to avoid India, they could have easily played the final.

Maxwell has other ideas but Afghanistan played well England and Pakistan were well below par against them but you still have to win.

This loss should be given the same dedication to the people the same way they disrespected Pakistan after beating them.

:ua

Lol they're not reaching semi-finals. That's wishful thinking from an Afghan supporter.
This is why never go into threads making fun of every topic which you dont know about.

Afghanistan may or may not make the semi finals. But the stage is all set for them. They came with the perfect squad for this world cup and have outperformed Pakistan and England (Current Champions).

3 wins against 3 major teams is a very big feat for this team.

Wishful thinking.

If you can't get an injured player out (albeit the greatest innings of all time), you don't deserve to be in the Semis.

Nasser Hussain was right when he said Pakistan would've defended their total against Afghanistan if they had a better captain than Babar.

Afghanistan pretty much out now. They have to hope New Zealand and Pakistan lose their games.

I feel sorry for Jonathan Trott. Australia virtually ended his playing career and now they've perhaps ended his Afghanistan coaching stint.

Still its their best ever World Cup campaign.

Wishful thinking.

If you can't get an injured player out (albeit the greatest innings of all time), you don't deserve to be in the Semis.

Nasser Hussain was right when he said Pakistan would've defended their total against Afghanistan if they had a better captain than Babar.
Maybe do bhangra if pakistan had defeated Afghanistan.

They won 4 games. I understand you just want to save your face as earlier you dsint expect them to win a single game.

Maybe do bhangra if pakistan had defeated Afghanistan.

They won 4 games. I understand you just want to save your face as earlier you dsint expect them to win a single game.

Makes no difference to me. Pakistan don't deserve to make the semis just like the way they didn't deserve to make the semis in last year's WT20.

I expected Afghanistan to win at least 3 games and I knew the Pakistan game would be 50/50 in Chennai. So my prediction was up until this point has been correct.

"They could have played the final" they are struggling to even make semis here. Lmao

Makes no difference to me. Pakistan don't deserve to make the semis just like the way they didn't deserve to make the semis in last year's WT20.

I expected Afghanistan to win at least 3 games and I knew the Pakistan game would be 50/50 in Chennai. So my prediction was up until this point has been correct.
Sure you did.

Deserving to go ti the semis decides on points and nrr.

If nz losses and pakistan wins than pakistan deserves

"They could have played the final" they are struggling to even make semis here. Lmao
A certain "number 1" ranked team with the "number 1" batsman and "number 1" WK and "number 1" fast bowling attack is huffing and puffing to limp its way into the semifinals and their fans are making fun of Afghanistan.

It is absolutely hilarious even if we ignore the fact that the same team got owned by Afghanistan earlier in the tournament.

Well played Afghanistan. That was one insane innings by Maxwell and he was lucky too

They can still qualify if NZ and Pak lose their games and they beat SA

Wishful thinking.

Nasser talks utter nonsense when it comes to Pakistan though. Babar's captaincy was poor but even Dhoni would struggle to choke batsmen on these pitches with spinners like Shadab, Nawaz and Iftikhar.

Pakistan lost to Afghanistan not because of captaincy but because the spinners are not good enough. In fact, that has been the biggest weakness for Pakistan in this World Cup.

Afghanistan's first ever WC century, in ruins.

Trounced, Trumped, and Superceded with the greatest ODI Double Century knock from Maxwell!

Aur karo half time bhangra.

I dont get why posters are going gaga here.

This team knocked Pakistan out and almost reached the semis. Maybe they would had not made it even if they defeated AUstralia due to the South Africa game. Point is, many posters who were laughing were panicking. Because none of them expected 4 wins by Afghanistan.

What Afghanistan has done is a big achievement. Yes they lost the game, but what are you gonna bash them for? For lack of experience.

This country had no resources and used to do diving practice on rag mattress cause the country had no grass to do fielding practice.

What they have achieved in this world cup alone is a massive credit to them,

Let this be a lesson to Afghanistan.

You forged your fires with the wrong side (BCCI/India).
It is funny because establishing ties with BCCI and getting exposure to IPL has accelerated their growth and development.

They also owned Pakistan on Indian soil in a World Cup, a Pakistan team that called itself world number 1.

What lesson are you talking about? Afghanistan cricket is in a wonderful place and such results will only build their character and help them grow.

Pakistani fans need to be worried about their team and the direction Pakistan cricket is heading in. The OTT celebrations show how much getting owned by Afghanistan hurt the egos of Pakistani fans.

Nah, the jokes is on Pakistani fans for doing bhangra over Australia beating Afghanistan because their own team was not good enough to do so.
Must be late for you, awwwww, stayed up late so you could witness Pakistan's WC elimination? You have plenty more sleepless nights ahead!

Instead you witnessed the greatest ODI, WC, Double Century innings!

Poetic justice!

Afghanistan's first ever WC century, in ruins.

Trounced, Trumped, and Superceded with the greatest ODI Double Century knock from Maxwell!

Aur karo half time bhangra.
to be fair, Ibrahim did said that he met Tendulkar and got guidance from him for this innings. Losing cause century lol

Afghanistan's prospect of making it to semi is now close to 0%.

They lost a great chance today.

They played very good cricket to be honest. Before this game, their only blemish was to loose a game to our sorry bunch to start with otherwise still would have been a strong contender for SF.

However, a lot of things went their way as well - Butler put them in despite knowing their strength, PAK was at historical worst defending 282, SRL probably themselves don’t know which day they can play well and which day horrible & against Dutch, in Asia they are supposed to win, massively helped by Dutch brain collapse as well.

Today, everything that went for them was balanced out - it could have been their greatest cricket achievement beating Australia in an active WC Game & probably make the SF … this scar might hunt them for long, long time.

Despite the loss today, they can hold their heads up high as they have played better cricket than a number of so-called bigger teams.

If they beat South Africa on Friday, they will end up on 10 points, a tally that New Zealand and Pakistan can also match. But with their net run rate (NRR) being the lowest among the three teams still with a chance of making the semi-finals, they not only need to win big against South Africa but also hope New Zealand and Pakistan face crushing defeats.

Well played to Afghan bros this tournament, only boon of ICC development upto now in the past 30 years I have been watching Cricket. Meanwhile Pak might sneak in here to the semis.

Sure you did.

Deserving to go ti the semis decides on points and nrr.

If nz losses and pakistan wins than pakistan deserves

I expected Afghanistan to beat Netherlands, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka so that's why I said at least 3 wins. They lost to Bangladesh but they made up for it by beating England.

As for the Pakistan contest in Chennai, it turns I actually gave Afghanistan 70-80% chance. See #619 in the thread below:

I expected Afghanistan to compete but I knew 4 wins wasn't going to be enough for them to make it into the Semis. I don't expect them to beat South Africa. I'm not taking away what they've achieved but if I'm being honest, they haven't exceeded my expectations. We all know how potent their spin attack is so you would expect a minimum of 3-4 wins.

Despite the loss today, they can hold their heads up high as they have played better cricket than a number of so-called bigger teams.
Sorry mate, for a nation that prides itself to be warriors…I can’t understand how their cricketers are scared of a cricket ball.

Atrocious standards of fielding throughout the tournament

They gave up too early. All they needed was one good ball or one piece of good fielding to get rid of maxwell. The shoulders dropped too soon.

Poor captaincy and tactics too

Aus needed 60 odd to win when Maxwell was left on one leg. Any smart captain would bring on a spinner and try to make Maxwell lunge forward to meet the ball. He most likely would have skied one or he would have had one final cramp that would force the umpires to get him off the field. Umpires have a duty of care towards all players, and there is no way they would have allowed a player to threaten his well-being the way Maxwell was in physical pain.

My man Hashmatullah serving him Naveen and Azmatullah so that Maxwell can just stand and use the military medium pace to his advantage

Just LOL at some of the reactions here. Afghanistan being called the 2nd best team from Asia. Today they showed why they are a minnow.

They've had a great tournament, but when they were put under serious pressure for the first real time in this tournament they crumbled badly. No shame in that, they have still exceeded expectations, but this result might be good for the forums if only to stop the jubilation of the Pak haters. Sorry guys, Pakistan is still in this even if this causes a few more sleepless nights.

I bet Zadran was already preparing his match winning speech honouring his hundred to the home returning illegal migrants from Pakistan when Aussies were 7-91

Guess what, Kudrat ka nizaam struck.

I bet Zadran was already preparing his match winning speech honouring his hundred to the home returning illegal migrants from Pakistan when Aussies were 7-91

Come on man, you are trying to hurt them (their fans here). They played really well to be undone by a miracle - really felt sorry for their captain today.

At multiple points during maxwell's epic, I was thinking 'surely not...', but it happened in the end.
Being undone by a freak innings shouldn't overshadow their efforts in this tournament, they have exceeded expectations.
If SA don't bat first they have a chance in their next game too.

A certain "number 1" ranked team with the "number 1" batsman and "number 1" WK and "number 1" fast bowling attack is huffing and puffing to limp its way into the semifinals and their fans are making fun of Afghanistan.

It is absolutely hilarious even if we ignore the fact that the same team got owned by Afghanistan earlier in the tournament.
Pakistan was ranked number 1 as per the ICC ranking and it's natural for the fans of Pakistan cricket to rejoice in that. To criticize Pakistan for being ranked 1 is just plain stupid and shows your desperation to undermine Pakistan.

Pakistan has sturggled this worldcup no doubt and they lost to Afghanistan but they did come off winning a whole series from them where they won 3-0 so Afghanistan beating Pakistan was certainly an upset. On another day and circumstances Pakistan would beat afghanistan 9 out of 10 times. It was a bad day.

To use terms like "got owned" shows your jealousy towards Pakistan team and it's people. If we are to use your language we can say Pakistan has "owned" Afghanistan since the cricket teams inception but you don't see us beating our chests about it.

His mistake was to mention Tendulkar and his chat during the innings break.

The curse of a century in a loss continues.

Pakistan was ranked number 1 as per the ICC ranking and it's natural for the fans of Pakistan cricket to rejoice in that. To criticize Pakistan for being ranked 1 is just plain stupid and shows your desperation to undermine Pakistan.

Pakistan has sturggled this worldcup no doubt and they lost to Afghanistan but they did come off winning a whole series from them where they won 3-0 so Afghanistan beating Pakistan was certainly an upset. On another day and circumstances Pakistan would beat afghanistan 9 out of 10 times. It was a bad day.

To use terms like "got owned" shows your jealousy towards Pakistan team and it's people. If we are to use your language we can say Pakistan has "owned" Afghanistan since the cricket teams inception but you don't see us beating our chests about it.
Yeah it’s not like Pakistani fans are the ones who gave our team or players the number 1 ranking - it was the ICC - so it’s so strange that people will try to use Pakistan reaching the #1 ranking as an own. If you have an issue with the rankings, write to the ICC and have them change the way they calculate it.

Afghanistan’s success in the tournament to me just demonstrates how necessary good spinners are when you’re playing in India. Regardless, they could have won this game but did some of the most brain dead bowling I’ve ever seen after getting Australia to 91-7. They had an injured player who could barely move his legs when facing the ball and they just kept bowling it right in the slot for him to hit, not to mention one of the worst fielding performances of the tournament so far.

I even quite liked their team and I remember ever since 2015 when they pulled off that win in the WC against Scotland I was rooting for them. At that point, I didn’t even realize that Afghanistani fans hate us so much. We did a lot for their cricket and I’m glad we did but the level of hatred they show towards us is unreal. I’m glad Maxwell gave them this beating. If we face them again, our lion from KPK, Fakhar Zaman, will probably give them the same beating.

Come on man, you are trying to hurt them (their fans here). They played really well to be undone by a miracle - really felt sorry for their captain today.
Trying so very hard but not feeling sorry for Afghanistan.

I guess I am not an angel but a human who likes to hate people who hate me.

Today's Afghanistan loss is extra special.

Had this been Ireland, Kenya, Namibia, Netherlands, et al, I would be feeling sorry for them, but no, I am over the moon that Afghanistan lost today.

To have set 292 to win, and have Australia at 91/7, there is no better definition or example of deserving humiliation.

1. Afghanistan players are ungrateful to Pakistan, after what Pakistan did to help Afghanistan cricket.

2. Afghanistan players will take any opportunity to diss Pakistan at pre, mid, and post match interviews.

3. Afghanistan fans (some) decide to go Rambo mode with violence at Pakistan vs Afghanistan matches.

4. Afghanistan have forged their fires with India/BCCI - just to rile up Pakistan, but little do they realise they are literally getting played.

5. Afghanistan were not thinking about SF position, but just wanted to top Pakistan. SF was just sugar coating.

6. All the haters of Pakistan got a taste of their own medicine today. I bet they had their lines ready at 91/7, hoping Afghanistan would eliminate Pakistan's chances at qualifying for the SF, only to be silenced by Maxwell's miracle. Of course the Indian media would be running specials had Afghanistan ended up knocking Pakistan out.

All the Tendulkar talks, amount to nothing. Even the 4 min innings break nonsense fell flat on deaf ears with a century in a losing cause.

Afghanistan are easily the most arrogant cricket team in the history of the sport, and today they were truly humbled by a side that refused to tour them.

Never have I been so joyful at an opposition losing, this too, in the manner of defeat.

The best part, Afghanistan had to bowl out Australia for under 172 runs to eliminate Pakistan, instead gifted Pakistan a chance by squandering a match that was in the bag - not forgetting, today's match will be mentioned for many many years, such that Afghanistan will be constantly reminded of the utter humiliation bestowed upon them today.

Today was a great win for Pakistan, a great win for Australia, and a great win for ODI cricket.

Afghanistan do not deserve a semi final spot after today's bottle job.

That spot should be reserved for someone like Pakistan who have made an incredible turn around this world cup

Too many people reading from the same script so I’ll just leave a general response.

Physicality matters in every physical sport. How much it matters differs from sport to sport and also from disciple to disciple (within the same sport).

I agree that physicality without technique is nothing but technique with physicality will take you places.

Let’s take a look at Babar - he gives his everything but he hits tiny sixes even on small grounds. He has the technique but he doesn’t have the strength and athleticism to generate the bat speed.

You are either born with athleticism (like Afghans, northern Pakistanis) or you work towards it by putting in the work in the gym and eating the right food (like Indian players).

Most Pakistanis (except some from KP region), Bangladeshis and Sri Lankan players don’t have the the natural athleticism and they don’t have the work ethic either.

There isn’t a single Pakistani players who has physically transformed over the last few years even though they have all the money, time and facilities. It is all about attitude and desire.

Afghan players have this natural advantage that others do not. Their batsmen always had explosive power but they lacked temperament and technique but they have improved leaps & bounds on that front.

Next step is to improve their fast bowling. They have the natural ability to bowl fast but they don’t have the technique yet.

Unlike most Bangladeshi players, they aren’t naturally hampered.

They should also be a really good fielding size because of their arm strength and ability to cover the ground quickly.

To be a really successful cricket team you need both technique and physical prowess. They have the latter but they are improving on the former.
Not the Lankans - they are the most athletic & pound for pound strongest people in South Asia. They had couple of world class female sprinters and I actually had a autograph of one of the lady (Sushantika Jayasingha) when she was in her training body suits - her thighs were almost as wide as our Miraz’s waste - trust me.

Afghans are quite likeable people to be honest - one of my mosque met somehow found that I love to talk about cricket & I am a Bangladeshi …. Everyday takes notes/comments from me about next game…. After PAK-AFG game brought Kebab as well for me ….

But somehow, he doesn’t like Pakistani people (though very friendly with his Jamat people) and believes that without PAK as neighbours, by now Afghanistan would have been like Australia in cricket and Malaysia as a country (which to him is better than Canada). It’s easier to digest for me also because he doesn’t speak great English, I’m bankrupt in Pashto.

Afghanistan do not deserve a semi final spot after today's bottle job.

That spot should be reserved for someone like Pakistan who have made an incredible turn around this world cup
What turn around? Beat Bangladesh ? Or giving 400? It’s fakhar or nothing .

Somebody has to console Mujeeb. He was trending on social media. He should work hard on catching until it becomes a second nature. He must be feeling guilty of letting his yeam down who could have made history today.

Awwww.

Afghanistan dropped 5 catches vs NZ too.

Rather than console Mujeeb, how about Afghanistan replace their fielding coach and concentrate on fielding instead of bhangra with Indians.

No one was consoling Mir when he dropped Warner, in fact he was mocked, which is why Mujeeb, and Afghanistan fielding as a whole should be mocked too.

Awwww.

Afghanistan dropped 5 catches vs NZ too.

Rather than console Mujeeb, how about Afghanistan replace their fielding coach and concentrate on fielding instead of bhangra with Indians.

No one was consoling Mir when he dropped Warner, in fact he was mocked, which is why Mujeeb, and Afghanistan fielding as a whole should be mocked too.

Entire unit is bad. Even among them Mujeeb is worst extraordinarily. IPL or aany league cricket international cricket this guy never fails to drop sitters. Either they have to hide him or ask him to fake an injury and leave after bowling. Until then Afghanistan will continue having heart attacks.

Fakhar is part of the Pakistani team not a separate entity so his success is the success of Pakistani team.
That doesn’t make any turn around . Their mindset is dull . It’s only fakhar who goes with an attacking mindset.

The turn around is that we lost 4 in a row and then dominated against Bangladesh and beat what almost everyone rates as a top 2 or top 3 team in the World Cup.

Should Pakistan really be beating their chests over owning a cricket team that only started professional cricket 15 years back?

Is that what Pakistan cricket has reduced to?

There many things in life to be jealous of but trust me, Pakistan cricket team and Pakistani cricket fans cannot be those things. In fact my association with both (by default not by choice) causes me immense embarrassment.

Entire unit is bad. Even among them Mujeeb is worst extraordinarily. IPL or aany league cricket international cricket this guy never fails to drop sitters. Either they have to hide him or ask him to fake an injury and leave after bowling. Until then Afghanistan will continue having heart attacks.
Captaincy was awful. Maxwell couldn’t run and was given easy singles to keep strike multiple times. Shahidi was more worried about restricting Maxwell’s boundaries, rather than keep Cummins on strike and get him out.

Not sure why some Pakistani fans are putting down Afghan accomplishments in cricket. Just because Rashid did Bhangra with Irfan?

Sure , you can celebrate their loss but this World Cup has been a great performance by Afghans even if they finish 6th.

They lost to a freak knock by an Aussie . Pakistanis should be sympathetic to that since they have been at the receiving end of such knocks by Aussies.

Waugh smashing Saleem Jaffar, Hussey smashing Aamir and Ajmal, Wade smashing Shaheen....

No need to bring Pakistan into this thread. Stay on the topic, please.

A budding team like Afghanistan can get severely hurt & confidence dented after witnessing such loss! Of course they didn't have the experience & smartness to handle the situation... I think this will despirit them and their intensity may reduce in the next match... I can now say that the SF toss up is between NZ & Pakistan... Pakistan are in better shape because they play their game last against demoralized England team... I think NZ won't put too much pressure on themselves (worrying about NRR) and just try to win their match against Sri Lanka... Afghanistan have chance only if South Africa is chasing, still they can't catch up with NRR (don't think NZ & Pak both will lose their games!)... Best chance for Afghanistan was to beat Australia and with that confidence somehow beat SA too by batting first again, more wins instead of NRR headaches! Anyways it was a good world cup for Afghanistan and they learnt plenty of things going forward...

Should Pakistan really be beating their chests over owning a cricket team that only started professional cricket 15 years back?

Is that what Pakistan cricket has reduced to?

There many things in life to be jealous of but trust me, Pakistan cricket team and Pakistani cricket fans cannot be those things. In fact my association with both (by default not by choice) causes me immense embarrassment.

Good then support other teams no need to get embarrassed then Pakistan has won the World Cup in 50 and 20 overs aswell as the champions trophy until Afghanistan come even close to doing similar in the future there is no comparison.

Today's Afghanistan loss is extra special.

Had this been Ireland, Kenya, Namibia, Netherlands, et al, I would be feeling sorry for them, but no, I am over the moon that Afghanistan lost today.

To have set 292 to win, and have Australia at 91/7, there is no better definition or example of deserving humiliation.

1. Afghanistan players are ungrateful to Pakistan, after what Pakistan did to help Afghanistan cricket.

2. Afghanistan players will take any opportunity to diss Pakistan at pre, mid, and post match interviews.

3. Afghanistan fans (some) decide to go Rambo mode with violence at Pakistan vs Afghanistan matches.

4. Afghanistan have forged their fires with India/BCCI - just to rile up Pakistan, but little do they realise they are literally getting played.

5. Afghanistan were not thinking about SF position, but just wanted to top Pakistan. SF was just sugar coating.

6. All the haters of Pakistan got a taste of their own medicine today. I bet they had their lines ready at 91/7, hoping Afghanistan would eliminate Pakistan's chances at qualifying for the SF, only to be silenced by Maxwell's miracle. Of course the Indian media would be running specials had Afghanistan ended up knocking Pakistan out.

All the Tendulkar talks, amount to nothing. Even the 4 min innings break nonsense fell flat on deaf ears with a century in a losing cause.

Afghanistan are easily the most arrogant cricket team in the history of the sport, and today they were truly humbled by a side that refused to tour them.

Never have I been so joyful at an opposition losing, this too, in the manner of defeat.

The best part, Afghanistan had to bowl out Australia for under 172 runs to eliminate Pakistan, instead gifted Pakistan a chance by squandering a match that was in the bag - not forgetting, today's match will be mentioned for many many years, such that Afghanistan will be constantly reminded of the utter humiliation bestowed upon them today.

Today was a great win for Pakistan, a great win for Australia, and a great win for ODI cricket.
Why is Pakistan so desperate to take credit for Afghanistan success?

As one of the former CEO of Afghanistan cricket said they owe nothing to Pakistan.

He said we paid all Pakistani coaches well above what the PCB would ever pay them. They did not come for charity but because they were paid handsomely in USD.

He said every time we went to Pakistan to use their facilities we paid for it in USD.

Afghanistan can be proud of their campaign. They played great cricket. Only a freak inning by Maxwell knocked them out.

Why is Pakistan so desperate to take credit for Afghanistan success?

As one of the former CEO of Afghanistan cricket said they owe nothing to Pakistan.

He said we paid all Pakistani coaches well above what the PCB would ever pay them. They did not come for charity but because they were paid handsomely in USD.

He said every time we went to Pakistan to use their facilities we paid for it in USD.

Afghanistan can be proud of their campaign. They played great cricket. Only a freak inning by Maxwell knocked them out.
So why dont they go to india and use their facilities?

Why they always choose pakistan?

Pakistan always put in some extra efforts for Afghanistan to achieve such standards in cricket but still no gratitude by them!