Steven Smith slowly becoming a HTB/FTB?

What about the hundred he made in South Africa against Steyn and Morkel and Philander on their own patch. Smith does show up on all kinds of wickets. Before somebody says he doesn't show up on grassy wickets, his dismissals at Trent Bridge and Edgbaston were caused by not being able to cope with swing, which is an atmospheric thing, not necessarily related to the pitch.

As at Edgbaston, the Australian batsmen were also routed by a display of swing bowling by Jerome Taylor in Kingston before the Ashes, who took 6/47. Smith made 199, the next highest score was Michael Clarke's 47.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/810425.html

More of a HTB than FTB. Like I said, his technique is being exposed.

Will score runs everywhere barring England where he may struggle due to his technique not being able to combat the moving ball

No problemo, there's a reason why the months of December and January exist on the cal.

Root and Kohli are better than Smith, but Warner is the biggest FTB in the world.

Smith isn't a FTB; he is the third best batsman in the world.

No problemo, there's a reason why the months of December and January exist on the cal.

Haha that's harsh smith has scored runs in south Africa uae, new zeeland, and 3 centuries in England

First he was labelled as worst player, but then he became best player and now people saying he is turning into HTB. Nope, this guy is still a best player, yes not number one though.

Root
Kohli
Smith
de Villiers
Williamson

Top 5 batsmen in the world.

Score runs in south Africa new zeeland uae try again

All of his high scores came on flat tracks. Warner also smashed the opposition bowlers in those innings, so did the other Australian batsmen.

Do you want to try now?

All of his high scores came on flat tracks. Warner also smashed the opposition bowlers in those innings, so did the other Australian batsmen.

Do you want to try now?

Score 90 odd in 2013 against India when all his team mates was falling like ninepins. Also scored runs in UAE against us. In new Zealand ball was moving around but him and khwaja played well and got Australia to a match winning position which voges took advantage off.

Try again

Score 90 odd in 2013 against India when all his team mates was falling like ninepins. Also scored runs in UAE against us. In new Zealand ball was moving around but him and khwaja played well and got Australia to a match winning position which voges took advantage off.

Try again

Same test match against India in which Starc outscored Smith in both innings?
Same test match against Pakistan in which Misbah equaled fastest century record of Viv and he got a duck in the first inning?
Same test match against NZ in which McCallum hit the fastest test century ever and Burns outscored him in both innings?

How was this try?

Root and Kohli are better than Smith, but Warner is the biggest FTB in the world.

Have to disagree here, he had a decent tour of England on green tops against Anderson and Broad.

Believe me Smith is the biggest flat track bully, his technique gets exposed against the swinging and seaming ball. In England all his runs came on the flat decks - one of them being at the Oval whereas in the other 3 tests he was a walking wicket, half of his tour runs came in that 215 innings. Warner on the other hand was scoring consistently throughout but failed to convert any of his 5 half centuries to a ton, which is why he averaged 46 (still impressive) as opposed to 60+.

I'll agree Steve Smith is one of the best batsman in the world because his ability score big runs (150+) beats anyone at the moment, with Younis Khan second in this feat...

Same test match against India in which Starc outscored Smith in both innings?
Same test match against Pakistan in which Misbah equaled fastest century record of Viv and he got a duck in the first inning?
Same test match against NZ in which McCallum hit the fastest test century ever and Burns outscored him in both innings?

How was this try?

Starc only outscored him by about 6 runs
Misbah got a lot of runs of smiths bowling and we was soooo far ahead assuie bowlers had given up

Do you want to try now?

Let's come back to this thread in a few months. Australia are playing in south Africa India and Sri Lanka it will give you a clearer picture of weather or not he's a flat track bully

Starc only outscored him by about 6 runs
Misbah got a lot of runs of smiths bowling and we was soooo far ahead assuie bowlers had given up

The point is not by how many runs did Starc outscore him, the point is he did outscore him.
Smith did not play any match-saving or winning knock against Pakistan.

He is a very hard-working batsman and I am his fan but his numbers are hugely inflated by batting on flat tracks. He still has a long way to go to cement himself as a modern batting great.

The point is not by how many runs did Starc outscore him, the point is he did outscore him.
Smith did not play any match-saving or winning knock against Pakistan.

He is a very hard-working batsman and I am his fan but his numbers are hugely inflated by batting on flat tracks. He still has a long way to go to cement himself as a modern batting great.

Come back to this thread in a few months and we shall see if smith is an ftb as they have away tours coming up

Sure but he is a FTB at the moment unless he proves his critics wrong in these tours.

I am a smith fan also. He has scored a lot of run on flat tracks but scored on some difficult tracks too. These next few tours will tell us a lot about Steve

I cant wait for Australia to finally have the guts to face Bangladesh. Imagine their technically inept batsmen against Fizz. Cutters will ruin them!

Can't see them survive even 10 overs against the incredible Bangladeshi bowling attack.

Smith is surely at another level when in Aus, but he can play in other conditions as well.

Is that the order? AB's gotto be better than Smith surely

Don't rate him very highly, there is less substance behind the 360 shots and innovative stroke-play.

A complete failure in T20 internationals and overrated in Tests as well, who had a lot of things for him in the longest format - has been carried by Smith, Amla and Kallis for the better part of his career and didn't have to face the likes of Steyn either.

A fantastic ODI batsman though, but has not been able to seize the big moments and has thus failed to win big, key matches for South Africa.

I am not having him in my team ahead of Kohli, Root and Smith who have more steel and in my opinion, will end their careers as greater batsmen.

de Villiers is one of the greatest entertainers of all time though, I will give him that.

Funny how he's the second best batsman on the list when he averages 44 and everyone else on there is averaging 50+ :danny

I see him as a player who has outperformed some of the greats of the game in Australia well before he has peaked and in ODIs, will end up as the best of all time.

No doubt in my mind that we are witnessing the first batsman in history to end his career with a 50+ average in all three formats.

Root
Kohli
Smith
de Villiers
Williamson

Top 5 batsmen in the world.

You won't give up on Kohli will you. Sadly T20 performances don't count nearly as much as Test performances do otherwise there is no way that ABD or Williamson would make it to your list. I'd be tempted to have the # in there.

I see him as a player who has outperformed some of the greats of the game in Australia well before he has peaked and in ODIs, will end up as the best of all time.

No doubt in my mind that we are witnessing the first batsman in history to end his career with a 50+ average in all three formats.

That Aus series was pretty ridiculous, Chris Rogers averaged 55+ :facepalm:

Rogers is a good Test batsman.

Yes the pitches were flat, but no Asian batsman can dominate Australia in Australia like Kohli did.

Give the Pakistani batsmen same flat tracks and the will do well to score 4 hundreds collectively, which Kohli did on his own.

Besides, watch his century in the second innings of the Adelaide Test. The pitch was breaking up and the ball was turning.

Lyon took 7 wickets and apart from him and Vijay, no Indian batsman could get bat on ball.

It was easily the best and the bravest innings of the series, given the circumstances.

Don't believe everything you read on PakPassion.

You won't give up on Kohli will you. Sadly T20 performances don't count nearly as much as Test performances do otherwise there is no way that ABD or Williamson would make it to your list. I'd be tempted to have the # in there.

Kohli is the only batting superstar of the generation, who strikes fear into the hearts of the opposition.

Root is equally good but doesn't have Kohli's personality.

Everyone else is inferior.

Kohli is the only batting superstar of the generation, who strikes fear into the hearts of the opposition.

Root is equally good but doesn't have Kohli's personality.

Everyone else is inferior.

Bhai tu na sudrega, time will prove who is the best be it Root, Smith, Williamson, Kohli or someone else.

Mamoon
:bean ne babar azam ko once in a quarter of a decade kaha tha. Per nahee hua. IS ne sohab maqsood ko inzi 2.0 kaha tha per nahee hua. Is ne yasir shah ke baray mein kaha tha ke he will be found out per nahee hua. Is ne kaha tha ke ehsan adil bohot acha bowler hai per abi tak woh acha bowler sabit nahee hua.

list kafi lambi hai per filhal ye kafi hai :)))

You got my point :D

Have to disagree here, he had a decent tour of England on green tops against Anderson and Broad.

Believe me Smith is the biggest flat track bully, his technique gets exposed against the swinging and seaming ball. In England all his runs came on the flat decks - one of them being at the Oval whereas in the other 3 tests he was a walking wicket, half of his tour runs came in that 215 innings. Warner on the other hand was scoring consistently throughout but failed to convert any of his 5 half centuries to a ton, which is why he averaged 46 (still impressive) as opposed to 60+.

I'll agree Steve Smith is one of the best batsman in the world because his ability score big runs (150+) beats anyone at the moment, with Younis Khan second in this feat...

Warner only has 3 centuries outside of Australia and South Africa. Good player but bit of spin and swing and he won't be scoring big.

That's the difference, other teams are riddled with players that are good players of spin and swing. lol

Read again, I said FTB. Every country can have a flat track.

Can you explain how that works, Smith has played 14 test matches against Joe Root and scored more runs, more hundreds and higher strike rate but Smith is a FTB so does that mean that Root is a swing and spin track bully. Sorry but its just so funny how people come up with these brilliant theories.

Simple, he only scores big when it is a flat batting track.

The difference between him and Root is that the latter scores on other tracks too.

Simple, he only scores big when it is a flat batting track.

The difference between him and Root is that the latter scores on other tracks too.

The same applies with AB De villers and Kane Williamson. So these players are not able to score on Flat tracks but score on spin or swing tracks I assume then but go to pieces on flat tracks. I mean if these players can score on spin and swing tracks then you would think that flat tracks would be a cakewalk for them.

Funny how most of the top batsmen cant play on flat tracks, Root, Williamson and ABDV are walking wickets on flat tracks, who would have guessed.

Funniest thing I have heard in a long time.

That's the difference, other teams are riddled with players that are good players of spin and swing. lol

Very true good player but his stats have been inflated because of the flat wickets in australia

Run that by me again, he has a higher average away from Australia than in Australia so that would mean the opposite of what you say.

So Smith averages 60.3 at home and 60.9 away and that means the flat wickets in Australia have inflated his average.

Run that by me again, he has a higher average away from Australia than in Australia so that would mean the opposite of what you say.

So Smith averages 60.3 at home and 60.9 away and that means the flat wickets in Australia have inflated his average.

Difference is smith can score centuries away from home Warner has struggled to do this even against West indies were Adam voges as a debutant scored one Warner couldn't. Yes smith has inflated his average bu scoring in australia but not as much Warner :misbah

Maybe you don't know how averages work, if you take Smiths Australian stats out his average goes up.

What you are saying is incorrect.

Maybe you don't know how averages work, if you take Smiths Australian stats out his average goes up.

What you are saying is incorrect.

Huh I thought u was trying to defend Warner? I don't think smith is a FTB. I think Warner is more of an ftb

Smith has an away average of 55 in tests. How is he a HTB in tests? Warner has an away average of 40+.That puts him a player at similar level to the likes of Hayden and Clarke if he maintains it all through his career.

Are you sure he avgs 61 away and the same at home.

All this talk of him being a FTB is rubbish beyond measure. Yes he is not as good as Kohli and Root, but he is still a world class batsman by any yardstick.

He has been so consistent since 2013 that a slight blip in form is now unacceptable for people. That is what happens when you become so good.

As an opener it's tough to score centuries, was unlucky to miss out on a hundred in England and he had a decent tour of UAE in that 2 test series where he averaged 60. He's very consistent batsman which is why I rate him. In my view he's the best opener in the world because he makes an impact and sets up the innings for the middle order such as the likes of steve smith to bully the old ball and score big runs...

Just needs to work on converting more of those 50s to 100s to be the finished article...

As an opener it's tough to score centuries, was unlucky to miss out on a hundred in England and he had a decent tour of UAE in that 2 test series where he averaged 60. He's very consistent batsman which is why I rate him. In my view he's the best opener in the world because he makes an impact and sets up the innings for the middle order such as the likes of steve smith to bully the old ball and score big runs...

Just needs to work on converting more of those 50s to 100s to be the finished article...

I think vijay is better. In the Ashes on the pitches that were swinging Warner was gone. Vijay did well in England and scored runs on a difficult wicket in australia.

When did Vijay score runs on a difficult wicket in Australia.

2014 ask one of the Indian poster for more details. Also in difficult conditions in England he looked much more comfortable than Warner

I'm familiar with the tests in 2014 and in every test Smith scored a hundred which means that Smith scored a hundred on a difficult pitch according to you.

Smith is a great batsmen but a bit of statistician delight. He is hard to get out when conditions eases out and batting becomes easy and when he gets set he goes on to hit a massive century but I haven't seen such knocks from him where he fights out off the tough conditions and plays big knock under pressure situation.

His centuries away from home have come on mostly flat pitches i.e. Lords or oval in England or when conditions becomes easier for batting like his 138 in NZ or the century in SL in a dead rubber game.

I want to see Smith play a knock which really puts him in a different league to other Australian FTB batsmen.

As of now, it just looks like he is pretty similar to them with more hunger of runs.

Smith is a great batsmen but a bit of statistician delight. He is hard to get out when conditions eases out and batting becomes easy and when he gets set he goes on to hit a massive century but I haven't seen such knocks from him where he fights out off the tough conditions and plays big knock under pressure situation.

His centuries away from home have come on mostly flat pitches i.e. Lords or oval in England or when conditions becomes easier for batting like his 138 in NZ or the century in SL in a dead rubber game.

I want to see Smith play a knock which really puts him in a different league to other Australian FTB batsmen.

As of now, it just looks like he is pretty similar to them with more hunger of runs.

There is one more trend, whenever he has played a good inning, someone else from his team has played a similar if not better inning, Marsh for instance in this test.

That is why I would rate someone like Mark Waugh above Smith because the former played some incredible innings on some very difficult tracks against very strong bowling attacks.

There is one more trend, whenever he has played a good inning, someone else from his team has played a similar if not better inning, Marsh for instance in this test.

What??

I don't think so. He is clearly by far the best batsmen in Australian team.