Sushma Swaraj likely to raise terror issue at OIC meet today

External affairs minister Sushma Swaraj is expected to raise the issue of terror when she represents India for the first time at a meeting of foreign ministers of the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) in the UAE, people familiar with developments said on Thursday.

Swaraj will address the inaugural plenary session of the meeting in Abu Dhabi on March 1 as a guest of honour, and officials have described the invitation to India as a key foreign policy success in efforts to strengthen relations with Arab and Muslim-majority countries.

Islamabad has conveyed its concerns over New Delhi’s participation to the OIC in the wake of the Indian air strike on a Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM) camp at Balakot on Tuesday - the first time in 48 years fighters jets from India entered Pakistani air space for an operation. Acting largely due to pressure from Pakistan, OIC had condemned the air strike as an “incursion and aerial violation” and urged both countries to seek peaceful solutions to the crisis through dialogue.

The Indian side, however, is unfazed by this criticism because of the symbolic importance of the invitation from the OIC in the face of opposition from Pakistan, a founding member of the 56-member grouping.

“There is expected to be a reference to terror by the external affairs minister at OIC,” said a person familiar with developments who spoke on condition of anonymity. “We will attend. Don’t attach much importance to a statement put out by the (OIC) secretariat at the behest of Pakistan to deter us from attending,” the person added.

IAF pilot Abhinandan Varthaman fought captors, swallowed documents before being captured: Report
India has launched a campaign to mount international pressure on Pakistan to crack down on terror groups operating from its soil after a JeM suicide bomber attacked a Central Reserve Police Force convoy in Pulwama on February 14, killing 40 troopers.

India will also underscore its long-standing political, economic and other ties with members of the OIC and Swaraj will hold bilateral meetings with counterparts from the UAE and some other nations, the people said.

According to reports in the Pakistani media, Islamabad officially conveyed to the OIC on Wednesday that it may boycott the meeting in Abu Dhabi if the invitation to India isn’t withdrawn. The reports cited a letter written by foreign minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi to OIC secretary general Yousef bin Ahmad Al-Othaimeen that asked the UAE to withdraw the invitation.

The letter reiterated Pakistan’s complaints about “violation” of the Line of Control (LoC) during Tuesday’s air strike on Balakot. However, people familiar with developments said the UAE government had made it clear Swaraj will be received with full honour.

The UAE earlier said India is being invited as a guest of honour to the OIC meet because of its “great global political stature as well as its time-honoured and deeply rooted cultural and historical legacy and its important Islamic component”.

India has had, at best, a *****ly relationship with OIC, largely because Pakistan often used the forum to target the country over the Kashmir issue. Pakistan and its allies in the Arab world also blocked attempts to give observer status to India, which has the world’s third largest Muslim population. The external affairs ministry described the invitation as a “welcome recognition of the presence of 185 million Muslims in India and of their contribution to its pluralistic ethos...”.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...-meet-today/story-aupS7LARUWY0spd46fgpkM.html

Shah Mahmood Qureshi has announced in parliament that Pakistan won't be attending the OIC session.

A bit embarrassing really that we weren't able to convince the OIC not to invite her despite being a founding member.

Rhe OaiC is useless, they've achieved nothing in the history of forever. The Arabs are too busy squabbling with Qatar to do any good to Muslims

Shah Mahmood Qureshi has announced in parliament that Pakistan won't be attending the OIC session.

A bit embarrassing really that we weren't able to convince the OIC not to invite her despite being a founding member.

Good decision by Pakistan. India has no business to do in OIC. If this was the case then Israel should also be invited because they too have 20% muslims.

The Arabs as usual playing on both sides... Pakistan at the moment can't really do much considering the economic situation but its really disappointing to see India being invited to OIC which anyway is a dead organisation but knowing jingoistic indian media, they would hail this as a diplomatic victory...

We didn't really have much choice other than boycotting. OIC is a completely ineffectual organization but has great symbolic significance. It has always been India's goal to achieve full OIC membership and to be honest it seems they are on their way. Being invited as guest of honor despite being boycotted by a founding member and second largest muslim country means they might be close to getting observer status and will have their eyes on full membership in future. Just shows how much out diplomatic stock has fallen in the last few decades. This would have been inconceivable in the past.

Will not attend OIC's Council of Foreign Ministers: Qureshi

Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi has announced that he will not attend the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation's Council of Foreign Ministers.

https://www.dawn.com/live-blog/

Pakistan will not attend OIC’s council of foreign ministers: FM Qureshi

FM Qureshi announced in joint session of Parliament he will not attend OIC meeting due to the organisation's failure to rescind invitation to Indian FM

ISLAMABAD: Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi on Friday announced Pakistan will not attend a meeting of the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) being hosted by the United Arab Emirates on March 1-2.

Qureshi made the announcement in a joint session of the Parliament, which continued for a second day today in the wake of Indian aggression against Pakistan.

Reiterating his protest against the OIC's decision to invite Indian Minister of External Affairs Sushma Swaraj to attend the meeting of the Council of Foreign Ministers in Abu Dhabi, Qureshi said he will not attend the session due to the inter-governmental organisation's failure to rescind the invitation to his Indian counterpart.

Mentioning that the "UAE has always helped Pakistan in difficult times", Qureshi noted with regret that despite Pakistan's protest, the OIC's invitation to Swaraj was not rescinded.

"There was no consultation over OIC invitation to Indian foreign minister. India is neither a member nor an observer of the OIC," Qureshi pointed out, adding that he sent two letters - the latest only yesterday - to the UAE calling upon the body to withdraw its invitation to the Indian foreign minister.

Qureshi informed the Parliament that he requested the OIC to either rescind the invitation or postpone the session in view of the prevailing situation, neither of which was done.

"I have [therefore] decided not to attend OIC Council of Foreign Ministers meeting in Abu Dhabi," the foreign minister announced.

However, a lower-level delegation from Pakistan will attend the OIC session in order to present Pakistan's 19 resolutions that also include the human rights violations and persecution of Kashmiris in Indian-occupied Kashmir, Qureshi said. The delegation will also staunchly oppose any move to grant observer status to India at the OIC.

The 46th session of the OIC’s Council of Foreign Ministers is being hosted by the UAE in Abu Dhabi on March 1-2, under the title “50 Years of Islamic Cooperation: Road Map for Prosperity and Development.”

The UAE’s Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation Sheikh Abdullah bin Zayed Al-Nahyan will inaugurate the session in the presence of OIC Secretary-General Dr Yousef Al-Othaimeen and representatives of 56 member states and five observer states.

The joint session of the Parliament under Speaker Asad Qaiser is under way for a second day today to discuss the developments arising in the wake of India's violation of the Line of Control (LoC).

Prime Minister Imran Khan during the Parliament's joint session on Thursday had announced to release captured Indian air force pilot Abhinandan Varthaman on Friday (today) as a gesture of peace towards New Delhi and a de-escalation effort in favour of regional peace.

He had warned that efforts for de-escalation should not be considered a weakness. "All issues should be resolved through dialogue. Despite us opening the Kartarpur corridor, we received no response from India."

"When the Pulwama attack happened, we were blamed within 30 minutes," he had lamented. "I'm not saying that India has a part to play in it but I asked them to share evidence."

"The only purpose of our strike was to demonstrate our capability and will. We did not want to inflict any casualty on India as we wanted to act in a responsible manner."

Pakistan to release captured Indian pilot today as peace gesture

"Countries are ruined because of miscalculation. War is not a solution. If India takes any action, we will have to retaliate," he had asserted.

PM Imran had also said he attempted to hold a telephone call with Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/229685-pa...-oics-council-of-foreign-ministers-fm-qureshi

ISLAMABAD: Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi will arrive in Abu Dhabi today and address a press conference.

According to diplomatic sources, Qureshi was scheduled to arrive in Abu Dhabi on Thursday, however, the schedule was changed due to the escalating tensions in the region.

However, it is not yet known whether the foreign minister is in Abu Dhabi to attend a meeting of the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) Council of Foreign Ministers scheduled to be held from March 1-2.

A day earlier, Qureshi while speaking to Geo News said Pakistan had conveyed its reservations over Indian Foreign Minister Sushma Swaraj's presence at OIC.

“India is neither a member of OIC nor an observer,” Qureshi said.

Pakistan conveyed reservations to OIC over invite to India's foreign minister, says Qureshi

"The host country had invited the Indian foreign minister as a guest speaker for one inaugural session. I have spoken to the UAE minister and apprised him of Pakistan's reservations and told him that he should have spoken to us before inviting Swaraj."

"I will not hesitate to meet but OIC is not the forum for talks with Swaraj," Qureshi asserted.

Tensions between Pakistan and India have heightened after New Delhi without any proof blamed Pakistan for harbouring terrorists behind the Pulwama attack. Prime Minister Imran Khan in response called for dialogue and urged India to provide actionable intelligence.

On Tuesday, Indian military aircraft had violated the LoC as they "intruded" from the Muzaffarabad sector and were forced to return owing to the timely response of the Pakistan Air Force.

Pakistan on Wednesday confirmed it had shot down two Indian aircraft which had crossed over the Line of Control (LoC) and taken one Indian pilot in custody.

PM Imran while addressing a joint session of Parliament on Thursday announced, Pakistan will release captured Indian pilot Abhinandan Varthaman today (Friday) as a gesture of peace towards New Delhi and a step showing de-escalation in favour of regional peace.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/229675-fm-qureshi-to-address-press-conference-in-abu-dhabi-today

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) president Asif Ali Zardari on Friday said Pakistan should attend the meeting of the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) being hosted by the United Arab Emirates, after Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi announced he will not be attending the session.

Qureshi announced in a joint session of the Parliament earlier today that Pakistan will not attend the OIC's Council of Foreign Ministers meeting in Abu Dhabi, in protest against the OIC's decision to invite Indian Minister of External Affairs Sushma Swaraj.

Addressing the joint session of Parliament, Zardari said he did not agree with Pakistan's decision to boycott the OIC meeting.

“I suggested that we should not refuse to attend the OIC meeting,” the former president said. “These countries are our friends and Pakistan should engage its friends. We should not forget our friends.”

“If the Parliament wishes that the government not attend the meeting, then I can’t say much,” he added.

“Not attending the meeting is not the solution,” Zardari said. “I suggest the foreign minister attend the OIC meeting. He should go there and talk.”

“The world has changed,” the PPP president lamented. “It does not matter if the foreign minister goes now or later. He can send the foreign secretary right now.”

“In the current situation, Pakistan should not forget its friends. China, Russia and Turkey should play their part,” Zardari noted.

“Modi’s adventure was for elections in India. Wars are not only fought by armies but also by nations,” he said. “We should try to have better relations with our neighbouring countries so that they stand with us in difficult times.”

“We should work on making our economy stronger.”

Sharing his views in the joint session, Opposition Leader in the National Assembly Shehbaz Sharif said it would be good if friendly countries would speak out in support of Pakistan.

"The UAE crown prince is among one of Pakistan's good friends," Shehbaz said.

The Parliament further suggested a delegation of Parliament members should be sent to friendly countries.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/229686-zardari-says-pakistan-should-attend-oic-meeting

I am ashamed of muslim leaders. We actually have none.

Modi ji have excellent relations with almost all Muslim countries except one . If I remember he got many highest civilian awards from Muslim countries such as Saudi etc.
India need to lead OIC in the presence of Narendra Modi . India will try to isolate Pakistan in OIC.

In all this humiliation, we did have some diplomatic upper hand after all. What a surprise though. I think Pakistan's absence gave India a free stage to voice their narrative. Not a very smart thing to do IMO.

I dont understand why Pakistan gives so much importance to a lame organisation with no power or influence.

Modi ji have excellent relations with almost all Muslim countries except one . If I remember he got many highest civilian awards from Muslim countries such as Saudi etc.
India need to lead OIC in the presence of Narendra Modi . India will try to isolate Pakistan in OIC.

You mean OIC (Organization of Islamic Cooperation) is needed to lead by a Non-muslim led country ?

On the one hand, Hindu nationalists are trying to downplay and erase the huge impact that Islam and Muslims have had on India but on the other, they want other Muslim countries to support them because of their history with Islam and Muslims.

Pick one, will ya? I actually do not mind India embracing the facts and admitting that Islam has become an integral part of the Indian fabric and that India was a state ruled by Muslims for nearly a thousand years.

In all this humiliation, we did have some diplomatic upper hand after all. What a surprise though. I think Pakistan's absence gave India a free stage to voice their narrative. Not a very smart thing to do IMO.

There is one in my DP

Recep Tayyip Erdogan is another good Muslim leader. Hopefully, Imran and Erdogan become best buds and build a close alliance between their countries. The Arabs will awaken soon and of course, we are awaiting the Mahdi and Isa (PBUH). The Muslims will have great leaders again, InshAllah.

Also, good luck isolating Pakistan, a Muslim-majority country, and the only nuclear, Muslim-majority country from other Muslim-majority countries.

Please do not quote me alongside hindu extremists like Akki Malhotra. I am proud of my secular thoughts. Its a humble request.

Thanks

Bhaijaan

As long as the OIC does not officially condemn Pakistan, India's efforts at the OIC will be a waste of time.

The Saudi Fm while in India, told the Indians provide proof of Pakistan's involvement before accusing it of anything. So there is no fear of them being influenced by Indian narrative.
Only countries that matter to are Saudi Arabia, Turkey, UAE. We have very close relations with the first 2, UAE has turned into a very Machiavellian state vis a vis its actions in Libya, Yemen etc.
UAE is hosting, and as hosts they invited India. I do consider it a diplomatic failure on Pakistan's part as founding member of OIC (It was ZAB's brainchild) to not be able to convince UAE to rescind this invitation.

Also, good luck isolating Pakistan, a Muslim-majority country, and the only nuclear, Muslim-majority country from other Muslim-majority countries.
How many times you need to learn. You didn't rule an iota. You guys are ex Bhartis and ex Hindus who had to convert forcefully or may be little chances of at will.
I have listened what Afghans tell you. Saudis laughs at you. When you say we ruled India. It's a straight history. Nobody could deny it.
Dnt quote me alongside with poor sarcastic and dumb posters like freelancer ,and expect sensible reply.

How many times you need to learn. You didn't rule an iota. You guys are ex Bhartis and ex Hindus who had to convert forcefully or may be little chances of at will.
I have listened what Afghans tell you. Saudis laughs at you. When you say we ruled India. It's a straight history. Nobody could deny it.
Dnt quote me alongside with poor sarcastic and dumb posters like freelancer ,and expect sensible reply.

I have Mughal forefathers and besides, as Muslims, we're under the banner of Islam and the Muslims of the past were our predecessors and we are grateful to them for providing us with the light of Islam. India was ruled by Muslims for 800 glorious years, the best years of the region's existence in which it became one of, if not the richest nations in the world as well as being protected from the Mongols, who would have ravaged the land if it was not for the brave Muslims, MashAllah.

The Saudis, while in your own country, refused to say anything negative about Pakistan and Turkey backs Pakistan completely. You need to realize that despite your best efforts to isolate Pakistan, Pakistan will always have international friends because of Islam, InshAllah. While you guys will never be united even within your own country. At least until you give up Kashmir.

Like I said in the other thread, as long as Indian Muslims are at the forefront of India's OIC dealings, this would be something that I will support. However, India will have to once again start glorifying its Islamic history and rulers like Aurangzeb (May Allah's Mercy be upon him) and the Taj Mahal will again have to become India's most iconic piece of architecture, ever.

I have Mughal forefathers and besides, as Muslims, we're under the banner of Islam and the Muslims of the past were our predecessors and we are grateful to them for providing us with the light of Islam. India was ruled by Muslims for 800 glorious years, the best years of the region's existence in which it became one of, if not the richest nations in the world as well as being protected from the Mongols, who would have ravaged the land if it was not for the brave Muslims, MashAllah.

The Saudis, while in your own country, refused to say anything negative about Pakistan and Turkey backs Pakistan completely. You need to realize that despite your best efforts to isolate Pakistan, Pakistan will always have international friends because of Islam, InshAllah. While you guys will never be united even within your own country. At least until you give up Kashmir.

Like I said in the other thread, as long as Indian Muslims are at the forefront of India's OIC dealings, this would be something that I will support. However, India will have to once again start glorifying its Islamic history and rulers like Aurangzeb (May Allah's Mercy be upon him) and the Taj Mahal will again have to become India's most iconic piece of architecture, ever.

Quite frankly, not many people apart from yourself care about what you support.

We're not in the 1900s anymore. You don't get international support just based on what religion the majority of your country follows.

Why don't you properly read the history of Bharat thousands years old civilization and all the invaders etc. 99 percent Pakistanis have Hindus ancestors. It's a simple fact. You guys have identity crisis. You are neither Arab, nor Turk, nor Persians,.. Only thing is ex Bhartis.
We know history of Bharat. Saudis have given highest civilian award to Modi. So what? I can quote thousands of links about Bharat provided by neutral sources or thousands of quotes by international communities cursing Pakistan about terrorism. But I am not enough vehla. Do you research. Next time you say you ruled Bharat when Pakistan didn't exist then please think twice. Or you can think this way if you say India didn't exist before 1947 then how come those Mughals ruled India for 800.
Go out and check real history. At least be respectful to your ancestors. Dnt need to cut the ties with them thoroughly.

Also Akbar who started deen-e-elahi .. lol.

There is one in my DP

Imran is a great leader no doubt. But it will take time for him to grow a global appeal among muslims. He is getting there quickly though. Erdogan has a reputation among muslims and many muslims are looking at what he will do post 2024 when the 100 year period after khilafat will end. But people do look at him with suspicion because of his stand in Syria. Even if we consider these 2 are good leaders, it still isnt enough. We need more strong leaders. Our bad luck that Arabs turned out to be dumb as rocks. When Allah has to test a people, he either afflicts them with hardships or gives them in abundance. Arabs have been given in abundance and they arent doing enough in their test.

Also Akbar who started deen-e-elahi .. lol.

But died a Muslim, thankfully. Aurangzeb (RA) was the true Mughal hero though.

Why don't you properly read the history of Bharat thousands years old civilization and all the invaders etc. 99 percent Pakistanis have Hindus ancestors. It's a simple fact. You guys have identity crisis. You are neither Arab, nor Turk, nor Persians,.. Only thing is ex Bhartis.
We know history of Bharat. Saudis have given highest civilian award to Modi. So what? I can quote thousands of links about Bharat provided by neutral sources or thousands of quotes by international communities cursing Pakistan about terrorism. But I am not enough vehla. Do you research. Next time you say you ruled Bharat when Pakistan didn't exist then please think twice. Or you can think this way if you say India didn't exist before 1947 then how come those Mughals ruled India for 800.
Go out and check real history. At least be respectful to your ancestors. Dnt need to cut the ties with them thoroughly.

100% of all human beings came from the same ancestors. This is a childish argument. I am a Muslim and Muslims ruled the land that is now India (and Pakistan, Afghanistan, Iran, etc) for a thousand years. Practicing Muslims do not pay much heed to tribalism, our Deen is what provides us with our identity.

To bring the discussion back to the OIC, this will be a good step to further legitimize the influence of Islam and Muslims in India.

Quite frankly, not many people apart from yourself care about what you support.

We're not in the 1900s anymore. You don't get international support just based on what religion the majority of your country follows.

Do you know what the OIC stands for? Having a Muslim majority definitely gets you support there. India will need to embrace its history with Islam and Muslims to become a significant voice in the OIC.