Talent Spotter : Shadab Khan

Shadab Khan is a leg-spinning all-rounder who aspires to find a place in the national team in the near future. He was a member of the Pakistan A tours of England and Zimbabwe this year.

DS3BHFn.jpg

Full name Shadab Khan

Born October 4, 1998, Mianwali

Major teams Pakistan Under-19s, Pakistan A, Islamabad

Batting style Right-hand bat

Bowling style Legbreak

Developing Interest in cricket

I was born in Mianwali in northwest Punjab where I started playing cricket with tape-ball in the streets around my home. Like most Pakistanis, my parents were not too happy with me playing cricket as they really wanted me to concentrate on education. My elder brother on the other hand encouraged me to play and taught me how to bat and bowl. I played cricket in school and during those years also played regional Under-16 for the Rawalpindi region where I was adjudged best all-rounder. I did not continue my education past F.Sc. level as I had to devote time to cricket. However, I will finish F.Sc. once I have more time.

The Misbah-ul-Haq Mianwali connection

I am proud that I am from the same city as one of Pakistan’s greatest Test captains and an excellent batsman. To be honest, I never met him in Mianwali and I do doubt if he knows that I was born in the same town he is from. He was my captain in the President's Cup when I made my debut in List A so I did finally get to meet him there and it was a great experience.

The choice to bowl spin and inspiration from other cricketers

I always bowled leg-spin from the days of tape-ball cricket. In my younger years, I liked the way Shane Warne bowled. I used to watch him bowl a lot on television and wanted to bowl just like him although I also respect Amit Mishra the Indian spinner a lot, but if you ask me which cricketer I would want to emulate that would be the Australian Steve Smith. Of course, when it comes to learning the art of spin bowling, there is no one better than Mushtaq Ahmed to guide me and I have been lucky to have been trained by him in recent times at the National Cricket Academy in Lahore.

Mohammad Nawaz’s encouragement

I feel lucky that the Rawalpindi club I play for, Siddiq Akbar, has Pakistan spinner Mohammad Nawaz who whenever not playing international cricket will always come by and encourage me and play in club matches with us. I find working with him very useful and he has played a significant part in my development as a spinner.

Progression from regional Under-16 through to Under-19

I started with the regional Under-16s from 2011 to early 2013 but had a gap of a year after which in 2015 I was selected for the Under-17 series against England in the UAE. In that series, I was the top wicket-taker for Pakistan with ten wickets in four One-Day games. I also represented Rawalpindi in an inter-region Under-19 tournament where I was the highest wicket-taker with thirty wickets (average of 7.73) and two hundred and ninety-five runs (average of 73.75). I then took part in a one-day series for Pakistan Under-19 against Sri Lanka Under-19 and then played a tri-series versus the Australia and New Zealand Under-19 sides. Next, I represented Pakistan in the Under-19 World Cup in early 2016 which was played in Bangladesh where I took eleven wickets and shared the honour of being the highest wicket-taker for Pakistan with Hasan Mohsin.

Playing alongside Pakistan’s top stars in the Pakistan Cup One-Day competition

I made my debut in List-A for Islamabad against Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in April of 2016 during the Pakistan Cup. Of course, playing in a national tournament for my debut was fantastic but what made it special was that I was part of a star-studded Islamabad side which was being captained by one of Pakistan’s top players, Misbah-ul-Haq. To be honest, playing alongside Misbah-ul-Haq, Kamran Akmal, Sharjeel Khan and Mohammad Sami to name a few was a nervy experience as was the fact that I was playing against a team with big names like Younis Khan, Ahmed Shehzad and Yasir Shah. Thankfully with the help of Misbah-ul-Haq who inspired confidence in me, I was able to settle in and produce a match winning batting performance as I stayed not out on thirty-three in our run chase. One thing I would say about Misbah is that he never makes you feel that you are new or he is a senior player. He treats all players with respect and the trust is such that a player can share all issues whether they are cricket related or not with Misbah.

Unique First-Class debut against Sri Lanka in England

This was an amazing experience for me as I was selected for Pakistan A’s tour of England where I played in the second Unofficial Test against Sri Lanka A. It was a dream debut for me as I scored forty-eight runs and took five wickets in the game. I had already played List-A games in Pakistan and had an idea of the big stage but playing my debut First-Class game under English conditions was an amazing feeling and of course my good performances helped me there.

The challenge of playing for Pakistan A against Zimbabwe A on tour

This was the toughest challenge for me in my career so far. The pitches were on the flatter side in Zimbabwe and getting wickets was a difficult job. What also made life tougher was the fact that the Zimbabwe A team was composed mainly of their senior team; their batting line-up had mostly their Test players. What I learnt from this tour was the importance of discipline when bowling and how by denying scoring opportunities, one can induce mistakes from the batsmen. Nevertheless, I am glad that I ended the tour on a high-note where I took thirteen wickets which was the highest for Pakistan A on this tour and scored one hundred and thirty-seven runs during the two unofficial Test matches.

Wicket taking delivery

I depend a lot on my googly which is also referred to as a mystery ball nowadays. To further perfect this ball, I have been working with Mushtaq Ahmed at the NCA who has worked a lot on refining my action and making it more repeatable.

Future aspirations

I am eighteen years old now so very young but I will endeavour to find a place in the national side. What I want to become in the future is Pakistan’s best all-rounder as I believe that there is a real need for such a player in the team. The aim is not to put any deadline for making the national team but to continue working hard; success will follow with the Almighty’s help.

if you ask me which cricketer I would want to emulate that would be the Australian Steve Smith.

Hmm so he wants to be a batsman who can bowl a bit?

He is special hopefully he will make debut for pakistan sooner rather than later

Strange , he was selected for A team without playing a single FC match. That works for Pakistan cricket and many great starts of the past, Wasim Akram, Waqar, Aaqib Javed did not have impressive FC record before making international debut.

Going by his performances recently, he gives away an impression of a special talent. Looking forward to his development.

Heard good things about this lad. Let's see, seems like a decent prospect.

For some time(2 years ago) he use to do knocking at the net adjacent to our clubs net. He's a hard worker, and you will often find him start his training early in the morning.

To be honest, from what i have heard, he became a cricketer due to his own hard work, and not because of some club.

Nice guy, i also did knocking with him once.

Needs to get his economy rate in ODIs down to <5, otherwise top prospect. It is crucial that upcoming spinners take notes and try to improve their batting as there is no place for Zulfiqar like spinners, who have absolutely no prowess in batting, in modern cricket. Even Yasir is somewhat of a liability compared to someone like Ashwin.

Also, if he wants to emulate a batting all rounder, I'd advise him to closely observe Glenn Maxwell. We need someone in the lower order who can strike at an average of 30+ and SR of 120+, ala Butler/Maxwell.

An all rounder, in ODIs, should never play the role of a middle order consolidator (as in the case of Hafeez). Leave the job to experts. We need Shadab in the lower-middle or lower order to provide impetus at the latter stage of the innings.

dont think smitthy is a good role model for him.... as an allrounder he needs to find his place in the team and ideal for him would be to follow likes of Mo Ali (not the best spinner - batemen) but a useful one or ideally for him, he shld follow steps of Sakib-ul-hassan... if he can replicate himself to be tht, would be just gr8

i know many will argue y not afridi, but afridi was the most immature cricketer we ever had.. so he shld just stay away from tht style lol

just checked shadab hundred in zimbabway..

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/51bmzC4BTbo" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Brilliant find for Pakistan. Lot of praise from his Pak A captain Sohaib Maqsood also

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Dean Jones "Shadab Khan is a very good young leg-spinner, he's good enough to play for Pakistan" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/cricket?src=hash">#cricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IUvLQ?src=hash">#IUvLQ</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/830393951249170433">February 11, 2017</a></blockquote>

this is exciting news inzi should listen to him i hope he bowl well today big oporunity for him

Has def kicked since the U19 WC. Bowled with good control and showed an excellent googly and just enough leg spin.

Looks a bright prospect, varying his pace nicely and has a good googly on him. Should be under consideration for the national team this year.

Watching him bowl for the first time today, he has exceptional control for someone so young.

should make his ODI debut in Pakistan's next ODI series. He is ready.

I watched him for the first time today. Looks really good but i Would reserve my final judgement for a few more matches but i have to say one thing. He has impressed me in this one innings more than yasir ever did in his entire LOI career so far. Great control and great variations ( actually turns the ball big both ways with good control).

These yound kids Masha Allah,,
First Hasan khan, then Abrar now Shadab Khan.
And they say Pakistan m talent nahi hay...:facepalm:

Leg spinner quality in pakistan is Zahid Mehmood > Shahzaib Ahmed > Usama mir > Shadab khan = Karamat ali > Usman qadir

[MENTION=140234]DRsohail[/MENTION] yeh forgot him you can put him last in the list but for me Shahzaib ahmed should yasir's back up in 4 day while they should have zahid mehmood for limited overs with shadab and usama as backup

havnt seen him bowl but zahid,s record in list A isnt impressive either..

[MENTION=140234]DRsohail[/MENTION] Zahid has got all variations Flipper , google , legspin but most important he has got control . I saw him play for larkana many times in faysal bank t-20 remember he got 5-16 in 4 overs in one game and 4-20 something like that in other , a genuine wicket taker . Abdul qadir rates him highly even worked in nets with him in NCA once

thanks bro..we have to get rid of the darterz like nawaz and give a chance to wiket takers..

One thing is for sure he has a mean googly. Outfoxed Rossouw only for oldie Haddin to miss a stumping.

[MENTION=140234]DRsohail[/MENTION] i think its blunder to have nawaz over asghar as we have seen nawaz bat now

I feel misbah shud have him higher up the order and give him a chance to impress with the bat too

I've said it before and I'll say it again, this is guy is a star in the making.

Good enough to bat 5/6 and a quality bowler.

A leg spinner becomes quite lethal if he has a menacing googly. This is something that makes Tahir unplayable at times and is a huge hole in Yasir's armour.

Pakistan A star.

Has the potential.

Hope he becomes a star for Pakistan.

A leg spinner becomes quite lethal if he has a menacing googly. This is something that makes Tahir unplayable at times and is a huge hole in Yasir's armour.

Tahir is great in LOIs because of his variety and his big googly but terrible in Tests because of his average leg-spinner.

Yasir is the exact opposite, has a great leg-spinner which can spin big on turners and has great control and can stick to a tactical plan for 10-12 overs, which makes him a good weapon in Tests. Due to his lack of variety, Yasir is average in LOIs.

We need to stop hyping up kids. I understand we want them to do well because our current crop isn't great, but hyping them up to enormous levels only leads to disappointment later on.

He is only 19. I think Pak. should wait 4-5 years before debuting him. After all, he is a spinner.

If it was the Pakistan off old (90s - 2000s) this lad would have already debuted and assessment made whether he is good enough or someone who needs to be discarded. That is the Pakistani way.

We have seen this new way of only debuting people who are near 30 years old is not going to work. Players only regress if they play our domestics. Shadab has shown he has something about him and if left to rot in domestic he may turn out to be an inferior version of Afridi.

Is there a chance and would it be smart to play Shadab and Hasan Khan both as all rounders in the Pakistan team?

He should be debuted very next match against WI & bring under the National set up. In 4/5 years, he'll end up as another Saad Nasim.

Experience is an excuse to keep senior players in team. Ideally, in a 16 member LO team, about 4 players should be over 29, at least 4 under 23 with 1/2 even 19, and rest between 23-29.

I gave the example several times - 1997 WSC winning PAK team had one player over 30 - Akram (just 30), & Imad would have been 2nd oldest player in that team.

He should be debuted very next match against WI & bring under the National set up. In 4/5 years, he'll end up as another Saad Nasim.

Experience is an excuse to keep senior players in team. Ideally, in a 16 member LO team, about 4 players should be over 29, at least 4 under 23 with 1/2 even 19, and rest between 23-29.

I gave the example several times - 1997 WSC winning PAK team had one player over 30 - Akram (just 30), & Imad would have been 2nd oldest player in that team.

Sir we have a 43 year old captain who refers to 33 year old Azhar Ali as "youngster". Maybe somebody should remind him that batsman like Inzi retired at the age of 37.

We have the most number of selfish oldies of all the teams and rightfully at the bottom of rankings table.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Earlier. Ian Bishop "Shadab Khan has bowled brilliantly here tonight, his length has been quite beautiful" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL2017?src=hash">#PSL2017</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/831933110589804544">February 15, 2017</a></blockquote>

Every blame shouldn't go to Misbah. There is a selection committee & coaching staff as well. Misbah wasn't responsible for every Franchise picking the oldest possible players - there should be half a dozen U25 pacers who'll out bowl Gul, just one example.

The good thing about Shadab is that he has scored decent runs and finished matches as a batsman too. If not selected for Pakistan, he should be on all A tours and should be given a chance to bat in the middle order to develop his game and become a genuine all rounder.

Hopefully the 2 young spinners-Asghar and Shadab will be fast tracked into the team. For me, unless Yasir gets his Leg spinner back, he is finished. Shadab showed that he threatens both edges and bowled with great control. Asghar must be encouraged to flight the ball and give a rip.

If only Asghar could bat he would have easily replaced a non-spinning spinner like Imad. Asghar however is quite a dud with the bat and will only decrease our already abmysal batting strength.

However, a bowling combination of Asghar and Shadab in the middle overs is a mouth watering prospect.

If it was the Pakistan off old (90s - 2000s) this lad would have already debuted and assessment made whether he is good enough or someone who needs to be discarded. That is the Pakistani way.

We have seen this new way of only debuting people who are near 30 years old is not going to work. Players only regress if they play our domestics. Shadab has shown he has something about him and if left to rot in domestic he may turn out to be an inferior version of Afridi.

Bro he is not 19 not 29. No way he will regress.

Unfortunately, many of our players do regress after the initial spurt. It may be due to a number of factors including having too much money too soon and not having the education to deal with it.

Only if asghar was an off spinner because both shadab and asghar spin the bowl in same direction i mean away from a right hander, and shadab is clearly better option for being leg spinner and he has genuine potential with bat unlike asghar, and in this day and age you can't play as pure spinner who is number XI with bat, we can keep asghar as 2nd option but in playing XI we desperately need a off spinner to compliment shadab and bring the variety. Idealy that off spinner should also know how to hold a bat, till then we have malik for LOIs but need a test level off spinner asap for lefties in opposition teams. We have two good LOI bowlers in Amir and Hassan, just need another good fast bowler with good pace and working brain who can share new ball with amir and we will have one of the better bowling attacks in LOIs.

For now these are the best options for our LOI team,
1_Fakhar Zaman
2_Kamran Akmal
3_Babar Azam
4_Harris Sohail
5_Sarfraz Ahmad
6_Shoaib Malik
7_Umar Akmal
8_Sohail Khan
9_Shadab Khan
10_Muhammad Amir
11_Hassan Ali [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] would this work in short term?

1_Fakhar Zaman
2_Kamran Akmal
3_Babar Azam
4_Harris Sohail
5_Sarfraz Ahmad
6_Shoaib Malik
7_Umar Akmal
8_Sohail Khan
9_Shadab Khan
10_Muhammad Amir

Haris Sohail in modern ODI cricket is like recalling Mudassar Nazar.

1_Fakhar Zaman
2_Kamran Akmal
3_Babar Azam
4_Harris Sohail
5_Sarfraz Ahmad
6_Shoaib Malik
7_Umar Akmal
8_Sohail Khan
9_Shadab Khan
10_Muhammad Amir

No Sohail - he was denied 6 years back, but now too old. Neither Kamran for his age & fitness, though on playing merit he deserves a call. I have a detailed post on possible WI tour squad in other thread.

Turning it more than Yasir Shah, should be included in the one day side.. but maybe we'll find out more about him during the tournament..

So far he's looked good!

Inzi's real age was also closer to 40.. Misbah has just been honest about his age.. while the others you need to add 2-3 years more to their given..

Shadab should be in the odi team for ct, this should be the squad :

1. Shehzad
2. Fakhar Zaman
3. Babar Azam
4. Malik
5. Sarfaraz
6. U Akmal
7. Shadab Khan
8. Imad Wasim
9. Amir
10. Hassan Ali
11. Wahab Riaz

12. Shahzaib Hasan
13. Junaid Khan
14. Haris Sohail
15. Rizwan

No Sohail - he was denied 6 years back, but now too old. Neither Kamran for his age & fitness, though on playing merit he deserves a call. I have a detailed post on possible WI tour squad in other thread.

but i think for champions trophy in england this is the best possible and realistic combo considering our selection history and process. What changes you would suggest for champion trophy.

Looking at Usama Mir right now and Shadab Khan looked so much better than Usama Mir.
Shadab Khan >> Usama Mir

Looking at Usama Mir right now and Shadab Khan looked so much better than Usama Mir.
Shadab Khan >> Usama Mir

usama wasnt bad either,,,,he was tossing it up nicely thats why he got 2 wickets..

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Wasim Akram "Shadab Khan is very talented & has the ability to play for Pakistan. What I like is his hunger to learn & improve" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL2017?src=hash">#PSL2017</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/833319461356785664">February 19, 2017</a></blockquote>

Shadab finally gets a chance to bat and he shows what he has got. Misbah in previous matches batted him below Sami and Imran Khalid :facepalm:

Ammad played well too.

Could easily bat higher up in the order instead of some of the rubbish United have had.