Tamil Nadu announces Hajj subsidy for Muslims

Varun

Senior Test Player
CHENNAI: Six months after the Centre withdrew Haj pilgrimage subsidy to Muslims, the Tamil Nadu government on Tuesday announced an annual subsidy of Rs 6 crore for Haj pilgrims.

Making a suo motu announcement in the assembly, chief minister Edappadi K Palaniswami said the state government had been extending subsidy to Hindus to take up pilgrimage to Mansarovar in China and Muktinath in Nepal.

Former chief minister J Jayalalithaa had announced subsidy to Hindus realising her electoral promise. She had announced subsidy for Christians to visit Jerusalem.

“The state government, following the footpath of Amma (Jayalalithaa), considers the welfare of the minorities. The government will extend a Rs 6 crore subsidy to Muslims for Haj pilgrimage,” Palaniswami said.

“I am happy to state that 3,728 pilgrims will take up Haj pilgrimage this year under the scheme,” the chief minister said.

Palaniswami wrote to Modi in January and urged the Centre to reconsider the decision to revoke Haj subsidy.

Labour minister Nilofer Kafeel, MJK MLA Thamemun Ansari and IUML MLA Abu Backer thanked the chief minister for the government’s gesture to the minorities.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...r-centre-scrapped-it/articleshow/64842299.cms

Tamil Nadu is one of India’s more developed states however it still suffers from large levels of poverty, corruption, poor healthcare and as a state has huge levels of debt. How can any sane person therefore justify paying out public money to help Christians to go to Jerusalem, Hindus to go to Nepal and now Muslims to go to Saudi Arabia?

Also doesn’t Islam state that Hajj should be performed by Muslims using their own resources? You cannot take a loan or accept economic help to perform Hajj. That’s one of the reasons the government in India is stopping the subsidy - they were lobbied heavily by various Indian Muslim groups to stop it.

Tamil Nadu is one of India’s more developed states however it still suffers from large levels of poverty, corruption, poor healthcare and as a state has huge levels of debt. How can any sane person therefore justify paying out public money to help Christians to go to Jerusalem, Hindus to go to Nepal and now Muslims to go to Saudi Arabia?

In addition to the free pressure cookers and TV sets doled out yearly.

Sad to see.my state go down to dogs since late 2000s, socialism has crept in so.bad, it's going the Bengal way.

Don't see it bouncing back ,subsidy shouldn't had been extended to any religion.

Plus don't think a budget of 6 crore would do anything much for Haj.

Tamils know that their real enemies are the Aryan invaders - posing in their own midst as "Brahmins" -, and Islamic invaders just invaded the initial invaders, that's why they're not that Islamophobes as compared to the rest of Hindus, and the BJP still try to have a definitive impact there. Long live the Dravidians.

Also doesn’t Islam state that Hajj should be performed by Muslims using their own resources? You cannot take a loan or accept economic help to perform Hajj. That’s one of the reasons the government in India is stopping the subsidy - they were lobbied heavily by various Indian Muslim groups to stop it.

Why shouldn't Hindus get subsidies when most of the taxpayers are hindus? Let each community get share proportionate to the taxes they pay.

Tamils know that their real enemies are the Aryan invaders - posing in their own midst as "Brahmins" -, and Islamic invaders just invaded the initial invaders, that's why they're not that Islamophobes as compared to the rest of Hindus, and the BJP still try to have a definitive impact there. Long live the Dravidians.

Seems the muslim invaders were like america of now. Bringing peace and liberty wherever they stepped foot. Long live such peace.

The state shouldn't be paying for religious excursions unless there is a surplus of funds. These monies could be used for better purposes.

Lol what? Brahmins have no influence on TN whatsoever ,most of them have already moved out, it's true they have discriminated and have a history of it but right now for.last 25 years tamizhans have had control of their state irrespective of Brahmins and have still screwed up, casteism is still out in the open between Vaaniyars,Dalits etc.

Subsidy ,socialism ,protesting any new industry being setup have become a normal there, the less I talk about State board education the better.

Having said all that an average Tamizhan are still very hard working but sadly their potential will not be realized if they keep doing naukri without any mental development, and doing protests without any meaning.

On the Bright side the women have become indepdent and are slowly and steadily making right decisions w.r.t individuality and improving upon themselves, an opposite reaction is a real high divorce rate but that's ok.

Respect to Tamils.

Aryans invaders what ? Which madraasa taught this story. Seems interesting. So i am aryan and if i am not bhaarti then which nationality and religion does i belong??

I'm Tamil, and for that matter a "Brahmin invader", and have no idea what you're talking about.

Good for Muslim groups objecting to using public funds to pay for private pilgrimages. Shame on the Hindus and Christians for not lobbying in a similar manner for the public interest.

I'm Tamil, and for that matter a "Brahmin invader", and have no idea what you're talking about.

Brahmins are not invaders. They did not show up with swords and chariots :))

They were imported from North by South Indian Kings to carry out religious duties.

So subsidy for Muslims to go to Mecca.

Subsidy for christians to go to Jerusalem.

Do I get subsidy for visiting United States? I followmy own religion and USA has my sacred place of worship. Its green in color and it has lot of value.

Tamils know that their real enemies are the Aryan invaders - posing in their own midst as "Brahmins" -

The ancestry of South Indian Brahmins has about equal portions of Dravidians (Y-chromosome haplogroup H) and Indo-European (Y-chromosome haplogroup R).

So subsidy for Muslims to go to Mecca.

Subsidy for christians to go to Jerusalem.

Do I get subsidy for visiting United States? I followmy own religion and USA has my sacred place of worship. Its green in color and it has lot of value.

Good idea, but you need to pick another color as green has already been taken by Islam. Maybe burgundy, that should at least get you to France :)

I am amazed at the stupidity of our leaders. Religious pilgrimages should not be paid for by the state. At the same time state has no business taking over the properties and offerings of temples either. These are religious endowments and not for the state to make up their revenue deficit or fund their subsidy schemes.

Hajj is supposed to be performed by personal resources

Supposed to be, but if the govt is offering subsidies to Hindus, Christians etc, then Muslims should take up their allocation as well to show they are well integrated citizens.

TN govn has taken over Hindu trusts as well, but not Christian or Muslim ones.

The govn is notriously involved in religious matters even though ruling govn since 1960s and their derivative parties have been atheists that actually went on destroying Hindu Idols publically, so there is nothing of integration, TN govn jus messes up, inspite of so many educated your in the state ,it's still going dwon the drain.

TN govn has taken over Hindu trusts as well, but not Christian or Muslim ones.

The govn is notriously involved in religious matters even though ruling govn since 1960s and their derivative parties have been atheists that actually went on destroying Hindu Idols publically, so there is nothing of integration, TN govn jus messes up, inspite of so many educated your in the state ,it's still going dwon the drain.

Hindu temples you mean. They steal money from Hindu temples for their subsidies. Almost all southie states do it.Now even maha govt has started it. Disgusting.

Guys, we’re talking about ₹6 crores here. That’s nothing. Political parties there are ready to spend 10x that amount for a tiny council election. Imagine the level of corruption. It’s without a doubt the most corrupt state in India.

So is this mostly just PR then?

Yes that's what I was thinking. That's a paltry amount

To give you an idea. A budget but comfortable Haj would come around 2-3 lakhs. (Fancy ones can easily be 8-10x)

You are barely covering Hajj for a couple of hundred people with that amount

To give you an idea. A budget but comfortable Haj would come around 2-3 lakhs. (Fancy ones can easily be 8-10x)

2-3 lacs? Looks like the Saudi govt making lots of profit. Always thought that Saudis didn’t use this to make profits.

As for fancy ones, I thought that the idea of a religious pilgrimage was to leave away your worldly belongings and for everyone to be equal and not have fancy hotels and robes.

This is the issue I have with all religions. A means to making money but not admitting to it.

So is this mostly just PR then?

Definitely. But unlike some of the other PR stunts they do, this will actually benefit some people. There’s one more thing. People who have performed Hajj are considered to be superior by other people in the community. They’re well respected. Why limit the opportunity to some rich people only? This initiative will help some poor people which is good imo. And it seems like they’re giving similar subsidies for Hindus too. I’m not saying that all such subsidies should be there but these are all very small amounts compared to the unbelievable amounts we’re losing to corruption.

This is just a subsidy bro. Not a complete sponsorship. The Government can’t obviously sponsor the entire trip of so many people.