"Team management is powerless in front of Babar": Wasim Akram

Grunge101

Local Club Regular
The Pavillion show yesterday. The following question was asked by a viewer narrated by Fakhar the host
Fakhar " Is the team management helpless in front of Babar Azam?"
Akram "probably Yes." (In a disappointed way)
Fakhar "that's it? (Asking if he wanted to elaborate)
Akram " that's what he asked, didn't he"

Waqar refrains from commenting and then Malik joins in that in the time he was with the team, the coaching staff was always following Babars instructions, adding in the end that he believe that's how it should be.

This comes with the background of pretty heavy criticism in the last few programs from the whole panel directed at Babar. Their objection primarily aimed at the fact that Haris should open with Babar or Rizwan and that this opening pair needs to change. They have been subtly critical of his team selection and in match decisions in the past but now it's coming much more directly.

Yes I watched this. I have no problem with a captain having absolute authority if he’s mentally strong, tactically astute and has a win at all costs mentality - similar to Imran.

But babar just seems a bit dumb and a very flaky individual that does not inspire any confidence.

The other part of the programme that was interesting was when they reviewed the post match team talk. Babar was praising Haris’ batting but also added that he should not throw his wicket away and finish matches off.

Malik (quite rightly) took exception to the message that it was a very confusing message to send to someone who’s an impact player - he needs to have clarity of mind and clarity of role. His whole job is requires him not worry about getting out. Misbah and Waqar were a bit wishy washy about it trying to give babar the benefit of doubt. Wasim was very clear that they should stop over complicating things.

The other excellent point Wasim made (and all agreed) - why are you filming your team talks and posting it on social media and no other team does it. It’s an absolutely stupid thing to do.

This was not criticism. They just answered a question in a straight forward manner.

I watch their show regularly. They have suggestions for the team think tank, which they make absolutely clear is for their benefit and if they choose not to follow it, so be it. They will still support the team and the think tank.

I think its fair to say there can be a difference of opinion without getting overly critical or negative about something or something.

Yes I watched this. I have no problem with a captain having absolute authority if he’s mentally strong, tactically astute and has a win at all costs mentality - similar to Imran.

But babar just seems a bit dumb and a very flaky individual that does not inspire any confidence.

The other part of the programme that was interesting was when they reviewed the post match team talk. Babar was praising Haris’ batting but also added that he should not throw his wicket away and finish matches off.

Malik (quite rightly) took exception to the message that it was a very confusing message to send to someone who’s an impact player - he needs to have clarity of mind and clarity of role. His whole job is requires him not worry about getting out. Misbah and Waqar were a bit wishy washy about it trying to give babar the benefit of doubt. Wasim was very clear that they should stop over complicating things.

The other excellent point Wasim made (and all agreed) - why are you filming your team talks and posting it on social media and no other team does it. It’s an absolutely stupid thing to do.

But Wasim himself made a dressing room discussion of Babar not going down the order public!!

Babar has done better than OK as Captain. We have reached 2 SFs when we arent in the top 4 teams as a T20 team. Unless we win the tournament, which is unlikely, then it will be time for a change because there is no T20 WC for the next 4 years and we need to look for other leaders. I don't mind Captains having the final say on team selection as they live and die by the results

He needs to bring w/c home IA to silence the critics , don’t mind Wasim & Waqar but some other ex cricketers especially that Tanveer omg that dude spits venom & Mo Amir well the less said the better

Babar's comments to Haris were not the best but I think there is also a risk of over analysing them.

Remember that Babar could have selected Khushdil, Haider and Asif. In fact I dont think any poster on this forum had Haris in their line ups because thats how far down the pecking order he was.

Need to give him some credit for the selection.

Malik’s comments in the same show after Wasim Akram said those comments.

He said (paraphrasing): “Saqi Bhai is willing to support and help out a player whenever he comes to him with any concerns. But he doesn’t get in the way of decisions of the captain. All decisions are purely on Babar”

That’s what he said and what he noticed whenever he was part of last year’s Wt20 squad with Babar and Saqlain.

IMO you need a coach who holds captain accountable too. Strategizing should be a part of the job of a coach, especially for a captain who is so young and still strategically deficient.

However what qualifications does Saqlain have to strategize as a head coach? He’s always been a bowling coach.

Once again PCB throwing money instead of hiring a proper head coach.

Too much hatred for Babar recently. Classic Pakistani trait- hate your own if they're successful.

Babar has put Pakistani batting back in the limelight after Miandad and Inzamam. He is going through a rough patch but he will get out of it.

Babar's comments to Haris were not the best but I think there is also a risk of over analysing them.

Remember that Babar could have selected Khushdil, Haider and Asif. In fact I dont think any poster on this forum had Haris in their line ups because thats how far down the pecking order he was.

Need to give him some credit for the selection.

He only selected Haris because Fakhar got re injured. Haris has been with the squad for 3 months and got 1 game to show anything. That is criminal.

If after all the failures shown by Asif and Khushdil Babar still didn’t play Haris then he’d look incredibly foolish. He only played Haris because he had no choice.

Maybe this is just me because I definitely had Haris in my lineup despite the safety first nerds telling me otherwise.

Too much hatred for Babar recently. Classic Pakistani trait- hate your own if they're successful.

Babar has put Pakistani batting back in the limelight after Miandad and Inzamam. He is going through a rough patch but he will get out of it.

Successful? What Tests or Trophies has he won us?

Babar needs to win with his own bat , then only he can be the boss. If he does not he needs to change his attitude.

And so what. These three on the panel were some of our worst pind politics players. Don't even get me started on Malik sahib or I'll reopen the longest PP thread in history..frankly some new members should read through nearly ten years of Malik posts.

Yes management follows the cuptaans lead. That's why this team has discipline. They fight together and go down together lose and win together not like Maliks lovely cuptaany period. And let's nor get started on wiqi and was...

Enough of the gully muhala jahiliyat..Babar is in charge that's how it should be..the cuptaan is the man. End of..

And so what. These three on the panel were some of our worst pind politics players. Don't even get me started on Malik sahib or I'll reopen the longest PP thread in history..frankly some new members should read through nearly ten years of Malik posts.

Yes management follows the cuptaans lead. That's why this team has discipline. They fight together and go down together lose and win together not like Maliks lovely cuptaany period. And let's nor get started on wiqi and was...

Enough of the gully muhala jahiliyat..Babar is in charge that's how it should be..the cuptaan is the man. End of..

Sorry Babar has shown zero authority or performance apart from in bilaterals v 2nd string sides.

I'd take Wasim, Waqar or Malik as captain any day of the week over a minnow like Babar.

Malik’s comments in the same show after Wasim Akram said those comments.

He said (paraphrasing): “Saqi Bhai is willing to support and help out a player whenever he comes to him with any concerns. But he doesn’t get in the way of decisions of the captain. All decisions are purely on Babar”

That’s what he said and what he noticed whenever he was part of last year’s Wt20 squad with Babar and Saqlain.

IMO you need a coach who holds captain accountable too. Strategizing should be a part of the job of a coach, especially for a captain who is so young and still strategically deficient.

However what qualifications does Saqlain have to strategize as a head coach? He’s always been a bowling coach.

Once again PCB throwing money instead of hiring a proper head coach.

Says who? A coach at this level should give advice yes strategist but the end decision is the captains..I can see many here haven't lead teams or worked in orgs..the buck stops with Babar so he should make the decisions and live and die by them..end of..

Sorry Babar has shown zero authority or performance apart from in bilaterals v 2nd string sides.

I'd take Wasim, Waqar or Malik as captain any day of the week over a minnow like Babar.

Haha lol...you would take malik over Babar.. I leave this nonsense right here..yay kya pagal pun hay??

He said as a captain

He is right. Malik was a superb captain for Sialkot and Pakistan in the 2007 World Cup

Says who? A coach at this level should give advice yes strategist but the end decision is the captains..I can see many here haven't lead teams or worked in orgs..the buck stops with Babar so he should make the decisions and live and die by them..end of..

Sheep mentality on full display.

Follow even when they are in the wrong. Pathetic.

Need to stand up for what is right. You’re a Pakistani, act like it. Don’t be meek and give into the leader just because he’s a leader.

He only selected Haris because Fakhar got re injured. Haris has been with the squad for 3 months and got 1 game to show anything. That is criminal.

If after all the failures shown by Asif and Khushdil Babar still didn’t play Haris then he’d look incredibly foolish. He only played Haris because he had no choice.

Maybe this is just me because I definitely had Haris in my lineup despite the safety first nerds telling me otherwise.

Haris' selection is on Babar irrespective of the circumstances. He could have gone on and selected Asif Khushdil or Haider too. They got the first opportunities because they were ahead in the pecking order. Haris wasn't and is natural for a junior player to gradually move up the ranks.

If all the poor decisions are Babar's fault, then all the correct ones are his too. Getting the most out of Nawaz and Shadab. Getting the bowling sorted and in prime form. Getting Wasim in the XI after immediately realising the error. Getting Shan in the squad at the right time to give stability to the batting. All of these decisions have clicked in some way.

Performing like Wajahtullah Wasti acting like great Imran Khan

Akhir cousin kiska hai :ua

I sense too much bitterness towards Babar. He is our best player of the 000s, he has performed under pressure in last years WC against Ind. People make out as if it was a given when those of us that have seen our players freeze against Ind for the last 20 years know that isn't true. No doubt he hasn't looked good in the tournament but that is part of the game. We have done very well to reach the SFs and IA we will win it.

Babar will lift the trophy and bookmark his name alongside Imran in history books.

Then we'll get a thread here saying he should bat at SR 147.643, else resign.

Babar will lift the trophy and bookmark his name alongside Imran in history books.

IA you are right. I want Babar to be positive and remember how good he is.

Bavuma could have won the trophy too, doesn’t make him a world class T20i opener

Babar has done better than OK as Captain. We have reached 2 SFs when we arent in the top 4 teams as a T20 team. Unless we win the tournament, which is unlikely, then it will be time for a change because there is no T20 WC for the next 4 years and we need to look for other leaders. I don't mind Captains having the final say on team selection as they live and die by the results

There is a T20 WC every 2 years and and ICC Limited overs event every year.

Lol narrative went from Babar is too timid to Babar doesn't listen to anyone. Pakistan Cricket in a nutshell.

Bavuma could have won the trophy too, doesn’t make him a world class T20i opener
Babar and Bavuma (who?) in the same bracket? Surely you can't be serious.

Relax man.

Babar and Bavuma (who?) in the same bracket? Surely you can't be serious.

Relax man.

They are both captains

They are both opening

Bavuma has outperformed him with the bat at least in this World Cup

Lol narrative went from Babar is too timid to Babar doesn't listen to anyone. Pakistan Cricket in a nutshell.

I didn't realise he was the Godfather in the dressing room. Never judge a book by its cover as they say ..

They are both captains

They are both opening

Bavuma has outperformed him with the bat at least in this World Cup
You do realise that this world cup is one of the many tournaments that Babar will play? Babar is already a champions trophy winner. And has taken the team to their second SF in the second tournament he's captained. He was in excellent form in CT 17 and the previous T20 WC. This one hasn't clicked but so what? The team is playing the SF and there's still a chance to amend that.

This is alongside many accolades Babar has already won with the bat, and will win by the time he hangs his boots.

I'll happily take Babar's boots with pride. You can take Bavuma's.

You do realise that this world cup is one of the many tournaments that Babar will play? Babar is already a champions trophy winner. And has taken the team to their second SF in the second tournament he's captained. He was in excellent form in CT 17 and the previous T20 WC. This one hasn't clicked but so what? The team is playing the SF and there's still a chance to amend that.

This is alongside many accolades Babar has already won with the bat, and will win by the time he hangs his boots.

I'll happily take Babar's boots with pride. You can take Bavuma's.

Reaching a bit aren’t you mate?

I sense too much bitterness towards Babar. He is our best player of the 000s, he has performed under pressure in last years WC against Ind. People make out as if it was a given when those of us that have seen our players freeze against Ind for the last 20 years know that isn't true. No doubt he hasn't looked good in the tournament but that is part of the game. We have done very well to reach the SFs and IA we will win it.

+1 anyone following cricket for 20 years knows what Babar is worth to Pakistan team. People being negative are either new fans or just very short-term memories or reactive in nature. Even if Babar fails in the next game, it doesn't change anything for me, personally. It's part of the game.

These silly threads start ASAP players lose form. It's not rocket science to see that he has struggled but all of sudden he is called terrible that know as much cricket as they know about anything in life. IA Babar comes back to form and leads us to a final and then a win.

Reaching a bit aren’t you mate?

Where is he wrong? Babar has led us to SFs which looked at our long term performance, is quite an achievement especially with a team that has less quality batsman than any top 7 teams.

These silly threads start ASAP players lose form. It's not rocket science to see that he has struggled but all of sudden he is called terrible that know as much cricket as they know about anything in life. IA Babar comes back to form and leads us to a final and then a win.

Relax Bewal bhai, you are a passionate/emotional guy but this thread isn’t OPs own opinion

He is only quoting Wasim Akram. He is allowed to quote a valid question/response asked to a guy with 900+ international wickets

Been watching cricket since 1998. Just because some want to worship Babar doesn't make them geniuses. He is not even in our best batsmen of the last 20 years. Stop making him into the new Inzy or Kohli. He is at best Hafeez level.

Maybe not the done thing, but I don't mind these dressing room videos, curious to see what's going on.

Where is he wrong? Babar has led us to SFs which looked at our long term performance, is quite an achievement especially with a team that has less quality batsman than any top 7 teams.

Yeah but how much of it is Babar’s tactical genius and not luck? That’s the actual question

Well that's a matter of opinion and both play their parts. But Kaptaans live and die by results and he has done slightly better than OK.

It would be one thing for Bobby to behave this way if he was actually performing.

I think he is clutching at straws now, he knows his captaincy is under serious threat and he is trying to get one innings to get going and silence critics but it is not coming and he is not letting go either, in the end the team is the one losing.

Been watching cricket since 1998. Just because some want to worship Babar doesn't make them geniuses. He is not even in our best batsmen of the last 20 years. Stop making him into the new Inzy or Kohli. He is at best Hafeez level.

You may have watched cricket since 98 but it doesn't mean you have good judgement. Babar isn't as talented as MY or Inzi but Inzi froze against Ind in 96, 99 and 03. And that is one of many reasons Ind have built up such psychological edge over us. That edge has gone, its now simple as who plays better on the day. And Babar has played a big role in that.

I think he is clutching at straws now, he knows his captaincy is under serious threat and he is trying to get one innings to get going and silence critics but it is not coming and he is not letting go either, in the end the team is the one losing.

PK have done better than they should with a batting lineup that is weak. 2 SFs is good return in the historical context

You can be both to be honest. Being timid and insecure with actual power leads to the above.

Relax Bewal bhai, you are a passionate/emotional guy but this thread isn’t OPs own opinion

He is only quoting Wasim Akram. He is allowed to quote a valid question/response asked to a guy with 900+ international wickets

WA isn't a good pundit, and these comments show it.

It’s known since under 19 days that babar isn’t a great thinker.

In an ideal world Ahmad Shahzad would have been the captain right now with babar allowed to focus on batting

It’s known since under 19 days that babar isn’t a great thinker.

In an ideal world Ahmad Shahzad would have been the captain right now with babar allowed to focus on batting

In who's ideal world would Ahmed be captain?

He's one of the dimmest guys to have played for Pakistan.

good insight

You may have watched cricket since 98 but it doesn't mean you have good judgement. Babar isn't as talented as MY or Inzi but Inzi froze against Ind in 96, 99 and 03. And that is one of many reasons Ind have built up such psychological edge over us. That edge has gone, its now simple as who plays better on the day. And Babar has played a big role in that.

He didn't freeze he just played poorly or got good deliveries. Also my judgement has proven mostly correct over the last 15 years on here.

No he froze, I was there in 99 at Old Trafford. An awful innings that annoys me to this day when he made Robin Singh look like Malcolm Marshall. Just as bad in 96 and awful in 2003. Talent is only one facet, albeit the main one but Babar has some real fire in his belly, something the more talented showed little of most of their careers.

Hes the captain so rightly has the final say

We have a go at him for being meek submissive and not having a strong personality and now when he has we have a go at him too

Its his call and the buck stops with him If pakistan gets to the final whos gonna criticise him?

Babar is hafeez level? Poor poor remarks like this means you cant be taken seriously as a poster

Next T20 WC is in June 2024 .

Who should Babar listen to, Yousuf and Saqi, what exactly they know about T20 cricket ?

Babar has not done OK as captain , we lost some crucial matches due to poor captaincy and team selection under him and him being stubborn and selfish in batting and batting order.

Next T20 WC is in June 2024 .

Who should Babar listen to, Yousuf and Saqi, what exactly they know about T20 cricket ?

Babar has not done OK as captain , we lost some crucial matches due to poor captaincy and team selection under him and him being stubborn and selfish in batting and batting order.

So 2 SFs with a poor batting lineup isn't OK. How did the 3 WCs go before this? Any idea.

Strange state of affairs at Karachi Kings.

Management is saying that they are powerless in front of Babar Azam.

Babar Azam is saying he has no say in key decisions as the management make all those decisions.

Babar is hafeez level? Poor poor remarks like this means you cant be taken seriously as a poster

In fact you can say Hafeez has been a bigger match winner. Tests and ODIs without doubt.

Babar is the king of soft pointless runs.

No he froze, I was there in 99 at Old Trafford. An awful innings that annoys me to this day when he made Robin Singh look like Malcolm Marshall. Just as bad in 96 and awful in 2003. Talent is only one facet, albeit the main one but Babar has some real fire in his belly, something the more talented showed little of most of their careers.

I was there too and again in 2019. Inzy as captain alone gave us some legendary moments. Babar is not even in the same universe as batsman or captain.

In fact you can say Hafeez has been a bigger match winner. Tests and ODIs without doubt.

Babar is the king of soft pointless runs.

What tests and odi series has hafeez the batter won?

No sane person would even utter the two names on the same sentence

Babar isnt even halfway into his pakistan career and alresdy one of the best batsmen in the world so this comparison is simply absurd

If KK wants to improve they need to get rid of the fixers from past and present. Get over Amir, Sharjeel and Wasim. Bring in professional coaches who understand t20 cricket, background staff that’s actually helpful for the players development and the talent scouts who can back their selection with hard numbers. The franchise is just a mess. If ARY can’t run this franchise then they need to sell it. They have treated Karachi as an advertisement board rather than a successful business. Absolute shambles.

Ah yes

Get rid of their best players lol

Ah yes

Get rid of their best players lol

If Amir and Sharjeel are your best players after competing in the tournament for 7 years, then you deserve to get knocked out in the first round of every tournament you play. Other teams have actually developed players over the years. This team has borrowed players from other franchises, discarded them and borrowed some more. It’s a really pathetic unit.

Hmm the Australian mentality would be that yes, the captain should get his way and he also has to own the results, good or bad. If Babar is going to be judged on this WC, then at least let him be judged on HIS WC- as in, yes, he got the team he wanted and the team played the way he was involved in setting up. Coach as support/sounding board not as chief of everything.

At times that pendulum has swung back or forth in Oz (if a rookie captain or weak team as in the early Border/Simpson era, but Border dragged it back by the end & advised Taylor to make sure he did it HIS way).

Wasim will sing Babars praises quick enough if he beats NZ tomorrow.

In the end, I actually like that the captain is being allowed to use his methods and make his own decisions.

Even if I disagree with some of them- such as the batting order- I still prefer he gets to do it his way. It makes things very clear and prevents bad feeling and bitterness/backbiting after the fact. In 5 years Babar can't go to the media and say "oh yes but I was undermined by scheming Saqlain" or whatever.

You don't have to be a PHD in cricket to know team advanced to SF , thanks to Netherland and not due to Babar's brilliance .

Just to add had the zimbabwe vs South Africa matched not rained out we wouldn't even have a sniff of the semis we are in this position because of luck, we have been extremely lucky

The Pavillion show yesterday. The following question was asked by a viewer narrated by Fakhar the host
Fakhar " Is the team management helpless in front of Babar Azam?"
Akram "probably Yes." (In a disappointed way)
Fakhar "that's it? (Asking if he wanted to elaborate)
Akram " that's what he asked, didn't he"

Waqar refrains from commenting and then Malik joins in that in the time he was with the team, the coaching staff was always following Babars instructions, adding in the end that he believe that's how it should be.

This comes with the background of pretty heavy criticism in the last few programs from the whole panel directed at Babar. Their objection primarily aimed at the fact that Haris should open with Babar or Rizwan and that this opening pair needs to change. They have been subtly critical of his team selection and in match decisions in the past but now it's coming much more directly.

Whats the issue?

Who would want to be near Wasim Akram lol. He can rat you out at any time.

So what all the panelists are of the same type when they were captain, Wasim held back alot of players, Waqar bought his cronies back, Malik the less said the better, Misbah took nepotism to next level with team flooded with SNGPL players

Strange state of affairs at Karachi Kings.

Management is saying that they are powerless in front of Babar Azam.

Babar Azam is saying he has no say in key decisions as the management make all those decisions.

What's the owner saying?

So what all the panelists are of the same type when they were captain, Wasim held back alot of players, Waqar bought his cronies back, Malik the less said the better, Misbah took nepotism to next level with team flooded with SNGPL players

as usual, you post half truth.

Misbah use to select the best players for SNGPL. IF any player did well in domestic, Misbah would get him an SNGPL contract. SNGPL had became the strongest team as it had all the talent in one team. Misbah was the only international cricketer that build a team.

Obviously when the best players are in sngpl they will get selected in national team.

After Misbah retired and Inzamam and Waseem became selector, they aswell choose SNGPL and Faisabalad wolves players because all the talent was there.

Also SNPGL was not a team of one region it had players of all regions. Shafiq, Azhar, Rizwan, Iftikhar, Yasir Shah, even Umar Akmal at one point

Babar shouldn't be the captain, he's not captaincy material, especially in T20s. Not every great batsman is supposed to be a captain and not every great captain is supposed to be a batsman.

Shadab is a way better choice for captaincy in T20Is and maybe even ODIs. With the way Babar thinks and makes decisions, he has been the main reason why Pakistan lost matches from winning situations.

The team selection, having injured players in the squad, not changing the opening pair when you know you haven't been performing, not going with 4 seamers in Australia from the very first game, giving players like Haider Ali and Asif Ali an extended run of games where they kept failing repeatedly, when you could have had tried many other players. The mistakes he has made are many, but the important part is that he has learned barely anything from those mistakes. You'd expect any captain to learn and adapt and be willing to make sacrifices. Yet he doesn't make any.

And that is how it should be. A captain must have full authority.
Pakistan will win this world cup inshAllah and haters will cry.

I agree. A captain should be given the full authority.

To me, Babar is still a young captain, has been captain for 2 years and he needs time.

Pakistan needs to promote Haris if they want to win this tournament. A powerhitter should not have any fear of loosing wickets.

Slow batting in powerplay can hurt Pakistan badly in coming 2 games.

Only one suggestion..
Babar u are a classical batsman and too good not to play T20
Jus focus on odi and tests ..
& Time has come that no T20 batter should be in test team..,only then Pakistan problems will be solved.
T20 deserving squad is
Sharjeel
Fakhar
Haris(wk)
Tayyab tahir
Azam Khan
Iftikhar
Imad wasim
Shahdab
Afridi
Haris
Naseem