"The coach should know how to get the best out of every player": Asif Mujtaba

MIG

PakPassion Administrator
Runs
Asif Mujtaba, perhaps most famous for sealing a miraculous tie by smashing Steve Waugh for 16 runs in an ODI in 1992, made his debut in 1986 and represented Pakistan in 25 tests and 66 ODIs over the course of a decade. Currently coaching in Dallas, Texas, Asif spoke to PakPassion.net about his thoughts on the current state of Pakistan cricket and shared his own experiences whilst representing his country.

Many thanks to Sehsan for this interview and our heartfelt thanks to the PP Team (PCF/SOSAMI/Khabri/IS) for their effort to write this up!

PakPassion.net: Tell us a bit about your current activities. Are you still playing cricket? Coaching?

Asif Mujtaba: I am involved with the local leagues here in Dallas, Texas. I'm currently a coach and selector for the North Texas Cricket Association as well as a youth developer. Occasionally, I also play some matches in the local league and provide one to one coaching or group coaching on a private basis. Other than that, I have a regular job which keeps me busy Monday to Friday.

PakPassion.net: What was your favourite venue in Pakistan or overseas?

Asif Mujtaba: In Pakistan, it’s the Gaddafi Stadium and overseas I would say Lord’s.

PakPassion.net: Tell us a bit about your experience playing at Lord’s.

Asif Mujtaba: It’s the headquarters of cricket. Lord’s has a lot of tradition and history – it has an outstanding status. The atmosphere makes it special. Playing a match there is a surreal experience. Other than that, all cricket stadiums have the same basics to them but it’s all about the atmosphere that’s present at the ground on the day. As a Muslim, prayer is prayer whether you pray at your local masjid or at Masjid-e-Haram, but praying at Masjid-e-Haram is an entirely different feeling. In a way Lords is the “Qibla” of cricket – the experience of playing in it is something totally different.