The decline in Pakistan's ODI bowling fortunes continues unabated

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">In the latest ODI bowling rankings, Pakistan only has 2 bowlers in the top 45 places (Irfan 18th & Hafeez 38th) <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/840475063279321088">March 11, 2017</a></blockquote>

Where is Riaz now,where is Amir now,where is Sohail.K,Tanvir,Rahat and e.t.c.......lol on so called the best bowlers of Pakistan.

Our bowling is the biggest worry

Lowest point in history

lol the rankings are a bit of a joke... a good example would be the recently concluded PSL, where the greats of T20 e.g. Gayle, Macullam, Sanga, Malik, Pollard (apart for 1-2 innings) all failed and that bcz of strong bowling units... let them rubble in IPL or Big Bash and they will tear apart the local bowlers. .... yes we dont have any express bowlers but medium pacers or just above speed pacers, we have a decent bunch..

We don't have any express bowler because we don't consider M.Sami as Pakistani,I think he is from Portugal isn't he?

I think these stats are about to be flipped on their head. Just wait and watch.

Amir, Sohail, Wahab, Hasan and Rumman are a good bunch to go forward with and if the right selection decisions are made we can easily have one or two of them in top 20.

Pakistan began to regress since spin became there main wicket taking option.

Fast bowlers were pushed to background, and spinners also started taking the new ball.

What is incredible is that some of our bowlers have been around the ODI team for several years yet barely are in the top 50.

I think though that Hasan and Amir will progress.

It is obvious when you have incompetent personal to polish the skills of bowlers. PCB can't even hire a good bowling coach for the national team.

Hasan Ali and Amir will come good. We have 2 bowlers both under 24. In another couple of years our team will be in good shape.

Thats what Mickey said, our bowling was under-performing during Australia. Batting was fine.

And someone on PP came up with Wahab vs Starc or maybe Cummins just after that series.

Shows how poor wahab has been. He's hasn't been dropped since late 2014 but he's still outside the top 50.

But pace is pace yaar. :akhtar

Doesn't matter if he goes for 100 off his quote atleast he can bowl the effort ball at around 150kph and that is all that matters. Anybody denying that is just a blind hater.

Pace >>>>> Wickets

Between the end of the 2015 WC and May 2016, we had the second WORST ODI bowling statistics in the world and that's including Associates. It is especially damning given we had a coach during that time whose specialism was meant to be bowling yet utterly failed to groom a proper attack and persisted with his favourites.

However we also must look at the domestic pitches. Any trundler can simply land the ball on a length with no real skills and get a stackful of wickets just using the conditions.

The Grays ball swings prodigously and on those green, damp pitches even mediocre seamers look the second coming of Marshall, especially given the domestic season is during predominantly overcast weather. No wonder we've a generation with no clue how to use the new ball which we waste with regularity.

But pace is pace yaar. :akhtar

Doesn't matter if he goes for 100 off his quote atleast he can bowl the effort ball at around 150kph and that is all that matters. Anybody denying that is just a blind hater.

Pace >>>>> Wickets

Wahab is the newest addition to the TTF list. Like hafeez, Wahab needs one 2-wicket match in a five match series to secure his place in the team for the next series.

India has 6 in the top 50, in tests 7 in top 50,impressive

Pakistan's LOI bowling has been poor for many years now and even when they did do well it was because of hafeez's and Ajmal's chucking.

We don't have any express bowler because we don't consider M.Sami as Pakistani,I think he is from Portugal isn't he?

In last 15 years, how many times Sami has played for Pakistan and how many times he has failed , countless. Not everyone good at domestic level is a success at international level. . Sami probably got more chances than he deserved, due to his pace. Time to move on from him.

Farhat, Misbah and Hafeez are others who got far more chances that they deserved.

In a year or two probably 2-3 pak bowlers will be in the top 20. The bowlers like Amir & Hasan showed great promise in the recently concluded series. Imad or new young leggie who bowled well in Psl will be in top 20 along with Amir or Hasan. In the batting department Babar will be the highest rank players from Pakistan. he has all the ingredients to be a top player. One need to be little selfish to be at the top of rankings. Selfish means sometime playing for ur personal milestones

Would still rather have Wahab than anyone else. Our pace attack would consist of mediocrity who have trouble bowling over 135. Too one dimensional. Wahab gets taken to the cleaners like a 13 year old on his bad days but he usually gets the important wickets in the middle of the innings which is vital.

Also, who do have to replace him with? Sadaf Hussian LOL? Or is it that Abbass guy? Lets be honest guys, Wahab is 1000000x better than all the "reserves" we have.

People keep repeating this without even checking that Gayle Sanga, Mccullum all have failed in recent times in IPL and other leagues. They succeded half a decade back in their prime. Low pitches un-conducive to hitting does not mean the bowling attacks are amazing either. Dil to bahlane ke liye, Ghalib, khayal accha hai, but when nobodies like Kamran, Smith, Russow and Sammy were smashing the same attacks, your arguement seems laughable at best

I think the future has to be Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir and the likes of Rumman Raees, Mohammad Asghar etc.

I think some of the guys who have been picked regularly in the last couple of years have been awful.

Would still rather have Wahab than anyone else. Our pace attack would consist of mediocrity who have trouble bowling over 135. Too one dimensional. Wahab gets taken to the cleaners like a 13 year old on his bad days but he usually gets the important wickets in the middle of the innings which is vital.

Also, who do have to replace him with? Sadaf Hussian LOL? Or is it that Abbass guy? Lets be honest guys, Wahab is 1000000x better than all the "reserves" we have.

I partially agree. While Wahab is pacy and gets important wickets, he still has a few bad days too many and is on the wrong side of 30. Keeping that in mind, as you said there is nobody who can replace him atm. He should continue to play for 2-3 years until Ghulam Mudassar increases his pace and accuracy and is ready to replace Wahab.

If a 3-man attack of Amir, Hasan and Mudassar can be even 60% of Wasim, Waqar and Akhtar then I think we would all be happy fans.

Haha bro, Wahab is only 31. Not really what the good side of 30 would be if this is the wrong side. Any-who, regardless of age, I agree. He should carry on for around 3 more years and then call it a day from Tests and ODI's and focus solely on T20i's.

For someone reason I want Sami to be in the 15 man squad too. A back up for Wahab. Its a given that Wahab will have a couple of bad matches after a good one and we can have Sami for those matches. Both are the same type of bowlers and Sami has greatly impressed me in the past couple of seasons for PSL.

Pakistan began to regress since spin became there main wicket taking option.

Fast bowlers were pushed to background, and spinners also started taking the new ball.

We had no choice given our shift to the UAE.

Guys like Rahat and Imran can play their entire careers on greentops and they will still struggle to break into the top 50. I wonder whose bright idea was it to keep playing these guys.

In ODIs? :danish

The same point applies to the likes of Anwar Ali in the shorter formats, though.

Haha bro, Wahab is only 31. Not really what the good side of 30 would be if this is the wrong side. Any-who, regardless of age, I agree. He should carry on for around 3 more years and then call it a day from Tests and ODI's and focus solely on T20i's.

For someone reason I want Sami to be in the 15 man squad too. A back up for Wahab. Its a given that Wahab will have a couple of bad matches after a good one and we can have Sami for those matches. Both are the same type of bowlers and Sami has greatly impressed me in the past couple of seasons for PSL.

Besides pace, they are very different type of bowlers. Sami is a far better new-ball bowler while Wahab is better with the old ball. Wahab is better at executing a short bowling strategy. Sami has wilted under pressure many times while Wahab ups his game in tournaments.

When Wahab is bowling consistently and has rhythm in his bowling like he did in his last few ODIs, he's a very good bowler and we probably don't have someone else like him at the moment. But when he gets it wrong, it can go awry. I think he should be rotated in the shorter formats. Kept in the squad but used sparingly as in the series versus Australia. Should play regularly in Tests.

Hassan Ali is the best prospect in ages, kind of a throwback to to Rao Iftikhar and a bit of Rana.