The Education Thread

Hey ppl

I am currently doing law at a russel group university! Havent attended lectures all year and here comes exam time- its going to be fun revising. I am use to this position, situation so its not all bad- just need to get my head down. In my opinion, the best way to deal with stress is to work with someone else who is similar to yourself so you can help each other when times are hard.

Have fun!!

KhushbuHussain said:
Maths? God I feel for you bro.....
But then again, I'm taking physics and chemistry.... :)) But thats only to AS level at the moment :D And then I can drop physics :D and do politics :D

Hey, I also take physics and chemistry along with Biology!
And I hate maths. :D

Although I really do miss university life, it's times like these where I'm glad I no longer am a student! For the first time in many years, I will not have to deal with the stress associated with exams!

KhushbuHussain said:
Maths? God I feel for you bro.....
But then again, I'm taking physics and chemistry.... :)) But thats only to AS level at the moment :D And then I can drop physics :D and do politics :D

I advise you not to take hard subjects like Physics, Chemistry if if it not necessary for you to do so. Well, it all depends on your uni course that you are looking to do and which uni you want to go to. For an example, I did Maths As, A2 and struggled even thou I got an A but the point that I am making is that I could have done something like sociology instead and got into my uni course!! Instead of stessing, working hard for two years.

Ahhh,Had a bad day in the office today..:31:
Dont know how to gee myself up for tomorrow's exam..:(

Anyone else starting to panic slightly about exams........EEEKKKKKKK :42: :42: :42:
I know its only the end of April, but I'm already feeling ill just thinking about them :31: :31:

I have my A levels in three weeks and I don't know ANYTHING

I just can't focus and I'm still demotivated about not getting into Uni. I hate talking about this stuff with people I know so it feels absolutely wonderful to get it all out :P

I'm taking physics, chemistry, math and economics and I managed 2As and 2Bs in my AS levels. apparently, that's not good enough. I guess it's my punishment for taking retarded subjects like them

If only they had an A level in cricket D:

I have a 6-hour beast to tackle tomorrow.

Really nervous and feel hopelessly ill-prepared.

I should probably get back to studying...

siccric said:
I have my A levels in three weeks and I don't know ANYTHING

I just can't focus and I'm still demotivated about not getting into Uni. I hate talking about this stuff with people I know so it feels absolutely wonderful to get it all out :P

I'm taking physics, chemistry, math and economics and I managed 2As and 2Bs in my AS levels. apparently, that's not good enough. I guess it's my punishment for taking retarded subjects like them

If only they had an A level in cricket D:
Couldn't agree more!! :))
OMG I'm taking Chem and Physics AS, and am deteriorating to a slow and painful death :O :O

KhushbuHussain said:
Couldn't agree more!! :))
OMG I'm taking Chem and Physics AS, and am deteriorating to a slow and painful death :O :O

I'd offer my assistance but you're better off without it :P

Chemistry in AS level is much harder than in A2, specially organic chemistry.
As for physics, it just keeps getting worse so be mentally prepared

I got Bs in Chemistry and Physics AS levels, even though I messed up most of both of them. I got pretty lucky

Pak_Pace said:
whats the integral of e^(x^2) ? :malik :Zardari

when you're integrating an exponential, you differentiate the (x^2) and divide the obtained value by the initial function

I don't know if that made sense but...

the differential of (x^2) is 2x

so the integral of e^(x^2) is

(e^(x^2)) / 2x

if you know what I mean

dude that was a trick question...that function does not have an anti derivative.

Doing O'levels and had my English O'level examination today. Funny thing is I have been consistently getting marks in the 80-90 region in English for the past years and I fear I might've not done my best on this O'level :(.

Oh well, am counting down the days to freedom.

Guys, I've got my first GCSE exam on Friday morning, Insha'Allah. Please do pray for me.

Thanks.

Inshallah you will do well.

My son will be appearing in his exam as well - lot of tension in our home :)

Just recite:

My Lord Increase My Knowledge (Rabbi Zidni Ilmun) and say Bismillah when you start your exam - and ask ALLAH for His help

KhushbuHussain said:
Politics and Chemistry clash tomorrow at 1pm.
Oh boy am I gonna get grilllllllllllled.
:|

Dont worry

I once had maths, law, chemistry clash- 6 papers!!

Completely constrasting subjects.

Boi said:
Guys, I've got my first GCSE exam on Friday morning, Insha'Allah. Please do pray for me.

Thanks.
Boi Yaar Insh'Allah you will do well, go for the maximum A* :afridi

Try your best, thats all you can do :)

Inshallah you will do well.

My son will be appearing in his exam as well - lot of tension in our home :)

Just recite:

My Lord Increase My Knowledge (Rabbi Zidni Ilmun) and say Bismillah when you start your exam - and ask ALLAH for His help

Insh'Allah your son won't be like his dad and will actually pass ;-)

I have my gcse english literature paper on tuesday!! - has to be the hardest one!

Thanks for the good luck wishes guys. The exam went really well, Alhamdulillah. Another exam coming up next month on the 25th, I think. Statistics paper. :|

Good luck to everyone who is taking part in examinations this year. Insha'Allah, you'll all do well. :)

Graduating in July

Anyone else graduating this year? I am excited and a bit nervous. I keep thinking that I might trip on stage.

Who else is graduating this year, and for those who have graduated, what is the feeling like?

graduating in november.. im sick of studying... jus want that degree hehe

I graduated last year and it was a relief to get through the day without any glitches! But above all try to enjoy it (inshallah you won't have any issues with the gown or tripping etc!). It's a very proud moment, especially if your family is there :)

Hope it goes well for you.

Those graduating in Nov. Is tht for Pakistan or the UK?

Congrats to those graduating and may you have successful careers in whatever you want Insh'Allah

I just graduated school this year and will be going to college in August. Scary stuff

ozzy_07 said:
P.S. I also graduated in law, what are your plans post-graduation?

I am doing the BPTC (Bar Professional Training Course) in September and Inshallah, by this time next year I will be a Barrister. Will try to look for a pupillage, but if I don't find one then I have plans to go to Pakistan and open a firm there.

Vegitto1 said:
I am doing the BPTC (Bar Professional Training Course) in September and Inshallah, by this time next year I will be a Barrister. Will try to look for a pupillage, but if I don't find one then I have plans to go to Pakistan and open a firm there.

The barrister route is a difficult gig to get in the UK. If you are willing to invest some additional time/expense then I recommend 1) doing an LLM - and it needs to be from one of the top universities and 2) doing a mini pupillage.

I wish you the best of luck with that. I have quite a few friends who opted for the barrister route and it's a tough slog to land a pupillage but inshallah if you work hard you'll be rewarded.

I opted for the solicitor path myself, I'll be be starting my training contract this September. So if I ever need counsel's opinion I know where to come ;-)

ozzy_07 said:
I wish you the best of luck with that. I have quite a few friends who opted for the barrister route and it's a tough slog to land a pupillage but inshallah if you work hard you'll be rewarded.

I opted for the solicitor path myself, I'll be be starting my training contract this September. So if I ever need counsel's opinion I know where to come ;-)

Lol, definitely. But I might just go in a partnership with my dads firm. he is a solicitor and under the new rules barristers can partner solicitors.

Boi said:
Thanks for the good luck wishes guys. The exam went really well, Alhamdulillah. Another exam coming up next month on the 25th, I think. Statistics paper. :|

Good luck to everyone who is taking part in examinations this year. Insha'Allah, you'll all do well. :)
Well, the Statistics exam went wonderfully, Alhamdulillah. Now an anxious wait for my results...

Vegitto1 said:
Lol, definitely. But I might just go in a partnership with my dads firm. he is a solicitor and under the new rules barristers can partner solicitors.

Yeah they've relaxed the rules recently because they're trying to facilitate closer relations between barristers/solicitors and the work they do.

Well whatever you decide to do best of luck for your future career.

Confused about my career.
I have no freaking idea.

Currently I'm in Yr 11 and I took all Commerce related subjects.Business,Marketing and Accounts.

But,though its easy.Its not what I want to do in my life.
I'm torn between 2 career options..
(i)Journalism
(ii)UNICEF social work.

Now I'm just in Year 11 but which one do you think is a better option?

Super Sixer said:
Confused about my career.
I have no freaking idea.

Currently I'm in Yr 11 and I took all Commerce related subjects.Business,Marketing and Accounts.

But,though its easy.Its not what I want to do in my life.
I'm torn between 2 career options..
(i)Journalism
(ii)UNICEF social work.

Now I'm just in Year 11 but which one do you think is a better option?

(ii)UNICEF social work: If you are in Pakistan.

(i)Journalism: If you are anywhere else, in some broadminded country.

Good luck for all getting their results today BUT do NOT panic of you dont get what you were expecting/needed for Uni, its seriously not the end of the world.

I am speaking from personal experience...i decied to take a gap-year to try and get into my choice of Uni and not go through the clearing option (my personal choice and the fact im doing Law, nothing at all wrng with clearing) and it was one of the biggest blessings (granted stressful at the start, thinking about all my friends starting Uni and not me etc) of my life Alhamdulillah. I'm now InshAllah starting Uni, starting my course which i wanted to study (Law) and things look much roiser then exactly 1 year ago.

If you need ANY advice or help, im here :)

Good luck for all getting their results today BUT do NOT panic of you dont get what you were expecting/needed for Uni, its seriously not the end of the world.

I am speaking from personal experience...i decied to take a gap-year to try and get into my choice of Uni and not go through the clearing option (my personal choice and the fact im doing Law, nothing at all wrng with clearing) and it was one of the biggest blessings (granted stressful at the start, thinking about all my friends starting Uni and not me etc) of my life Alhamdulillah. I'm now InshAllah starting Uni, starting my course which i wanted to study (Law) and things look much roiser then exactly 1 year ago.

If you need ANY advice or help, im here :)
I am guessing your AS grades were unsatisfactory? And you made up for it in your A2 year? Kinda stuck in the same situation now. What did you do in your gap year as I've been told that Unis do not like it if you sit idle for a year. What uni are you going to now? I need some motivation. :(

No infact i was in a much worse situation than you...my AS grades were good but a flopped my A2s...much much worse situation my friend.

Are you suppose to start your A2s in September? What exactly is your situation atm?

I'm doing Law Insh'Allah, UCL

EDIT: I put Kings by accident, it still seems its on my mind. I REALLY wanted to go there but didnt make the grades first time around and they didnt even give me an offer the second time lol

No infact i was in a much worse situation than you...my AS grades were good but a flopped my A2s...much much worse situation my friend.

Are you suppose to start your A2s in September? What exactly is your situation atm?

I'm doing Law Insh'Allah, Kings
How did you manage that? First of all congratulations. That is quite a recovery. So I'm guessing you did resits in your gap year?

I will start my A2s next month. I got ACD for my AS after being predicted AAB at Christmas. Was looking to do finance, accounting or economics or a combination at LSE. But I guess no chance of that now. So now I'm looking at the next tier of unis such as Manchester, Nottingham and Warwick. But no chance of an offer from them this time with the grades that I got. So my options atm are clearing or taking a gap year after raising my grades.

I'd love to hear more of your story. Law is fiercely competitive. And what did you do in your gap year?

How did you manage that? First of all congratulations. That is quite a recovery. So I'm guessing you did resits in your gap year?

I will start my A2s next month. I got ACD for my AS after being predicted AAB at Christmas. Was looking to do finance, accounting or economics or a combination at LSE. But I guess no chance of that now. So now I'm looking at the next tier of unis such as Manchester, Nottingham and Warwick. But no chance of an offer from them this time with the grades that I got. So my options atm are clearing or taking a gap year after raising my grades.

I'd love to hear more of your story. Law is fiercely competitive. And what did you do in your gap year?

My situation was as such...i did pretty good at my 4 AS's, that wasnt the problem. Did yr 13...flopped my A2s when i got my results one year yesterday...20 August 2009 - BCC)...took a gap year (decided i didnt want to re-so yr 13...this was my own personal decision)...got tutors for English and History, decided i'll just do Law myself and re-sate in January...Alhamdulillah.

I'll admit it was one of the WORST times of my life after i got my results, i though it was the end of the world...it wasnt. In fact i can say with 100% conviction it was one of the best things to have happened in my life...i managed to cruise through my GCSEs and AS's with relax, relax, last-minute revision :)) but this has made me realise that cant happen anymore.

Considering you flopped with your C and D at AS gives you a chance to perhaps re-sit at January and try and improve those grades (perhaps push it up to Bs) and then work hard for your A2s....you have the A in the bank as to speak so thats good.
Try and convince your teachers to give you good predicted grades for the C and D subjects, trust me, just really go for it, they'll give you good predicted grades InshAllah for your University application.

I dont know why you're thinking about clearing, gap-year already tbh, you've got one more year to go man...re-sit your C and D in January to try and boost those grades and try an work hard to get good grades and June July for your A2s as well as hopefully getting good predicted grades so you can get an offer from Uni's you want...just a little blip thats all...

In regards to your gap year...i'll be honest i didnt do much in regards to trvalling, i tried to look for legal work-experience but to no avail yet still did fine...so relax.

Also have a GREAT personal statement and try to get it done ASAP...and i mean ASAP. Start now in the holidays because your teachers will make you do lots and lots of re-drafts (however good it may be)

This is a different kind of thread.

The purpose of this thread is to act as a place where students at different stages of their education can discuss things about their education. Whether you are in primary school, middle school, high school or even university, please feel free to ask any doubts that you may have. If someone asks a question that you might know the answer to, then please go ahead and help them with the solution. I can probably help with a lot of maths myself but no promises:bm

Any Update About 12th Result?

Hi, I recently appeared in my intermediate exams and now waiting for 2nd Year Result. Can anybody tell me the exact date of its declaration?

Have Lahore board and other Punjab boards declared their final dates and timing?
Please inform if you have some idea.

Thanks

Hello everyone, I'm currently living in the U.S. but recently a couple of deaths in the family have changed the world for my family upside down. We're now permanently moving back to Pakistan (in a few months) but I would like to get some information before I go. I've got lots of family back in Pakistan which I can get information but I know a lot of PP'ers are currently enrolled in college in Pakistan so I'd like to hear from you guys.

I'm 18 at the moment and I am only a high school graduate from the U.S. I'm would like to apply to the top colleges in Pakistan for economics. Which begs the question, is economics worth it in Pakistan? If so, which colleges and how is the quality of the education? What are the estimated expenses? Should I look to do a double major in Economics and Finance or Economics and Political Science or will a simply B.S. in economics will do.

Knowing my desires for after education will probably help so if things go right, I'd like to be working in an investment bank (if they are a good place of work in Pakistan). Whatever it is, I don't mind working long hours for a large sum. I understand that some people are willing to sacrifice a large salary for vacations and short hours but I'd rather take the money.

Also, are there any ways for me to make money while I study? If so, how?

I would really appreciate if I could get some information.

Hello everyone, I'm currently living in the U.S. but recently a couple of deaths in the family have changed the world for my family upside down. We're now permanently moving back to Pakistan (in a few months) but I would like to get some information before I go. I've got lots of family back in Pakistan which I can get information but I know a lot of PP'ers are currently enrolled in college in Pakistan so I'd like to hear from you guys.

I'm 18 at the moment and I am only a high school graduate from the U.S. I'm would like to apply to the top colleges in Pakistan for economics. Which begs the question, is economics worth it in Pakistan? If so, which colleges and how is the quality of the education? What are the estimated expenses? Should I look to do a double major in Economics and Finance or Economics and Political Science or will a simply B.S. in economics will do.

Knowing my desires for after education will probably help so if things go right, I'd like to be working in an investment bank (if they are a good place of work in Pakistan). Whatever it is, I don't mind working long hours for a large sum. I understand that some people are willing to sacrifice a large salary for vacations and short hours but I'd rather take the money.

Sorry to hear about the tough circumstances around your move to Pakistan.

There are a lot of quality schools in lahore for what you are looking to do but a lot depends on your future plans. What sort of career do you have in mind. What’s your budget?

The usual suspects are LUMS, NUSt, IBA, etc and there are some good law schools in Lahore. I am not familiar at all with Karachi area but there are very good options in Punjab for sure.

Interesting timing considering I started my masters this week!

If it's economics then LUMS is your destination.

I am also in a university but not as a student but as an assistant professor lol

Just finished an internship at a NYC courthouse.

Yeah, I’ll stick to pursuing corporate law where I stare at papers from my desk all day. :)

Sorry for your loss man, Idk too much about the Pakistani system or your circumstances but if it's possible I'd recommend going to college in America. An American degree will take you a long way and even if you move to Pakistan later on I'm sure it'll help you a lot more in job market over there and you'd be able to get better salaries based off your American degree and work experience.

True but if there are fewer hours and more money then you have more disposable income to spend in your freetime.

Actually, it doesn’t matter whether you work for a firm or the DA’s (District Attorney) office. You’re first few years are brutal and you have to have almost no down time to become successful.

Might as well get rich doing the same amount of work.

Sorry to hear about the tough circumstances around your move to Pakistan.

There are a lot of quality schools in lahore for what you are looking to do but a lot depends on your future plans. What sort of career do you have in mind. What’s your budget?

The usual suspects are LUMS, NUSt, IBA, etc and there are some good law schools in Lahore. I am not familiar at all with Karachi area but there are very good options in Punjab for sure.

If it's economics then LUMS is your destination.

Yep, I've heard of LUMS and NUST quite a bit on the forum and I'm looking into them. They are a bit on the expensive side but I think I could probably get a loan from my uncle who himself is in the college business.

Sorry for your loss man, Idk too much about the Pakistani system or your circumstances but if it's possible I'd recommend going to college in America. An American degree will take you a long way and even if you move to Pakistan later on I'm sure it'll help you a lot more in job market over there and you'd be able to get better salaries based off your American degree and work experience.

We are still in talks and this is the main focus point. I know that a job of some sort would be guaranteed but the situation is just so complicated and difficult that staying in the U.S. is very difficult for the family.

LUMS,IBA are the top 2 schools in Pakistan for what you're looking for,followed by others like CBM,SZABIST etc.

Sorry to hear about your family situation.

I myself am 18 and will start University at CBM next month.I think you will have to wait until January to give the IBA entrance test.Term itself wlll start in September.Admissions everywhere are closed now.

Did my Bachelors in mechatronics Engineering and now doing a job to support my family. I am planning to design a motion system that rotates a load (say a camera) from 90 deg to -90 deg.I really want to share the details of what i wanna do so that someone knowledgeable in this stuff may help and guide me. The Purpose is to learn through this little project and whether i can upscale it or not.

Motor Selection:
I plan to take an object, model it in solidworks(Cad software) to know the inertia around the axis i want to rotate it. Set my goals for the acceleration and deceleration and the rotational speed. and calculate the torque and power needed to do that. Size my motor and select the right gearbox. At this point i might have to make a trade off between the out put toruqe, speed and Inertia ratio.

Control Goals:
I need to select the the encoder and set my own target on how precisely I want to control the motion and the settling time which may depend upon the motor and gearbox selected. Implement Position, velocity, acceleration and current control.

Electronic Design and Programming:
I Will have to design a motor driver and program my arduino Micro controller to execute PID control. This part is the most easy for me as this is what I did in BSC.

If some one knows the ins and outs of this subject , I would really appreciate some technical help.

Did my Bachelors in mechatronics Engineering and now doing a job to support my family. I am planning to design a motion system that rotates a load (say a camera) from 90 deg to -90 deg.I really want to share the details of what i wanna do so that someone knowledgeable in this stuff may help and guide me. The Purpose is to learn through this little project and whether i can upscale it or not.

Motor Selection:
I plan to take an object, model it in solidworks(Cad software) to know the inertia around the axis i want to rotate it. Set my goals for the acceleration and deceleration and the rotational speed. and calculate the torque and power needed to do that. Size my motor and select the right gearbox. At this point i might have to make a trade off between the out put toruqe, speed and Inertia ratio.

Control Goals:
I need to select the the encoder and set my own target on how precisely I want to control the motion and the settling time which may depend upon the motor and gearbox selected. Implement Position, velocity, acceleration and current control.

I Will have to design a motor driver and program my arduino Micro controller to execute PID control. This part is the most easy for me as this is what I did in BSC.

If some one knows the ins and outs of this subject , I would really appreciate some technical help.

I am doing Mechatronics engineering as well at the University of New South Wales. I'm still in first year so I can't help you with this but the first place you should look for help is on youtube. You probably know this already but lots of engineers who follow these sort of passion projects in their spare time put videos of this stuff online, so you should find plenty of walkthroughs related to it. Also, is this work related or are you doing this as a form of passion project?

It is not related to my office work but i wish to do masters in robotics from Nust in future.
If the idea is to just pick up a random motor, attach a random load and implement some sort of control on it then there is lots of stuff found on the internet. But I intend to learn something more than that. What I plan to do isnt something new so there must be something available on the internet but i really need to dig that out. It is not so easily searchable though..

Motor Selection:

Control Goals:

I'm doing my masters in that field... Some technical help that I can provide right away is that, do NOT use an Arduino, it is only an 8-bit microcontroller and is not as precise, since you want precise jerk-less motion for a camera mount probably use a 64/128/256 bit Texas Instruments MSP board. The programming is a lot more difficult than an Arduino but trust me once you get the hang off it you will think of Arduino as a kids toy. If you want to make a career out of this field and all your experience is in Arduino then people will laugh at you. Arduinos are for people with limited knowledge in the field or teenagers starting off on their first project.

You mentioned you are going to employ a PID controller, which means you need position/speed feedback from the motor. How do you intend to that?

I'm doing my masters in that field... Some technical help that I can provide right away is that, do NOT use an Arduino, it is only an 8-bit microcontroller and is not as precise, since you want precise jerk-less motion for a camera mount probably use a 64/128/256 bit Texas Instruments MSP board. The programming is a lot more difficult than an Arduino but trust me once you get the hang off it you will think of Arduino as a kids toy. If you want to make a career out of this field and all your experience is in Arduino then people will laugh at you. Arduinos are for people with limited knowledge in the field or teenagers starting off on their first project.

You mentioned you are going to employ a PID controller, which means you need position/speed feedback from the motor. How do you intend to that?

Mounting a quadrature encoder and along the motor shaft and since i know the gear ratio ratio, I can always know the camera position.

I know the limitations of Arduino so yes i ll need to switch to other boards too.

Doing masters in Comp Sci while working full time as a developer. Taking 2 classes a semester is rough.