The Top 10 Most Regrettable & Bizarre Quotes by PCB Chairmen

Saj

Over the years the Pakistan Cricket Board Chairman has been a rich source of entertainment for the cricketing fraternity. Many quotes attributed to the Chairmen have been lapped up by the media and cricket lovers. From General Tauqir Zia to the unforgettable Ijaz Butt and more recently the latest incumbent Najam Sethi have all made statements that have either been bewildering, mystifying or at times just ridiculous.

Here's a compilation of the top 10 bizarre quotes from Pakistan Cricket Board Chairmen over the years.

1. The all time "classic" from Ijaz Butt where soon after the spot fixing scandal of 2010, he alleged that English players were also involved in fixing

“There is loud and clear talk in the bookie's circles that some English players were paid enormous amounts of money to lose the match. No wonder there was a total collapse of the English side.”

Soon after Butt made an apology to the ECB and to the England players.

2. Ijaz Butt getting his IPLs and his Champions League tournaments mixed up

"I have already spoken to Lalit Modi about this and there is no chance of any team from Pakistan playing in the Champions League this year. After the way our players were treated [in the IPL auction] I don't see our players or teams taking part in the Champions League this year."

3 months later Ijaz Butt denied that he had spoken about the Champions League

"Those comments of mine were about the IPL and our participation in that event and not at all about the Champions League. I had said our players would not be in the IPL because of what had happened at the auction. I did not say that our domestic teams would not go to the Champions League. Why would I deprive them of that opportunity? My comments were misinterpreted."

3. Najam Sethi gets his 4 man and 5 man Committees all mixed up

"A four man committee has been set up to investigate and possibly reduce Mohammad Amir's 5 year ban."

In fact a 5 man Committee had been set up by the ICC not to look at Amir's ban, rather, to look at relaxing some conditions imposed on him such as using PCB practice facilities.

4. Ijaz Butt on former Pakistan head coach Geoff Lawson

“Lawson is a useless man. But there is no use removing him now and we will allow him to complete his contract, which will not be renewed. “We will suffer a huge financial loss if we terminate his contract now."

3 days later, Lawson was sacked

5. Ijaz Butt on four young players Crying to him about Shahid Afridi's captaincy

"One day 4 young players came to me and said we want to talk to you. Why are you going back to Pakistan? I told them I am not feeling well and that is why I am going back, after which these 4 youngsters claimed that my presence on the tour had made Afridi's body language much better than it was, now neither does he abuse us in the ground nor does he say bad things to us in the dressing room. On hearing this I told the kids "Do not worry I will make everything fine. All the four youngsters started crying and saying that please do not go back to Pakistan."

Whilst there were alleged tears from the youngsters, it was Afridi who had the last laugh as Butt was eventually replaced as Chairman.

6. Dr Nasim Ashraf was less than impressed with Kamran Akmal's wicket keeping in June 2011

A leaked report quoted Ashraf as saying.

"The wicket keeping was pathetic, especially after Kamran Akmal dropped the catch and pretended that he had held on to it. This is unsporting behaviour but perhaps one has to give him the benefit of the doubt as he may not have realised that the ball had slipped out from his hand, which was picked up by the cameras. I do not want such behaviour from any Pakistani player. Please warn everyone! We ought to be looking at playing another keeper."

The cricketer once again had the last laugh though as Ashraf was replaced and Kamran Akmal continues to be in and around the Pakistan squads.

7. Tauqir Zia on why as Chairman he had not imposed tougher actions on players following the Qayyum report

"When I looked at the Qayyum report, I thought of removing all the offending players from Pakistan cricket. I went to the President of Pakistan to say "Look, I do not know much about Pakistan cricket because I’ve just worked there for three or four months. If you ask me, I’d like to get rid of all these characters. He asked ‘do you have the backup squad?’"

Subsequently under Zia's tenure as Chairman, a "soft" approach was administered on most of the big name cricketers mentioned in the Qayyum report after the President's suggestion of a lack of back up players to replace the offenders.

8. Only days into the job and Najam Sethi has a second entry into the 10 most bizarre statements by a PCB Chairman. This time Sethi suggests that Mohammad Amir may have had more leniency shown if he had a white lawyer representing him in the UK.

“We will hire a white lawyer in the UK, since they react to our skin colour, to look at the anti-corruption laws and look at ways to get at least 20% relief for Mohammad Amir.”

The law is the law Mr Sethi, irrespective of whether you have a white, brown, or green lawyer.

9. Ijaz Butt labels as Bulls**t Shoaib Akhtar's jibes at Tendulkar and Dravid in his book

"We are trying so hard to bridge the gap with India. In these times such Bulls**t is totally uncalled for. He ( Shoaib Akhtar) is talking nonsense and should be rebuffed by the people of India. We will give an official statement, on Saturday, saying everything that he has said in his book is bulls**t. There is not an iota of truth in it. He has caused us enough trouble as a player and the misery continues even now."

Akhtar's book was lapped up by the world's media particularly in India where he appeared on many TV shows. Ijaz Butt's autobiography can be purchased at all well known book stalls in Karachi and Lahore for 3 rupees.

10. Ijaz Butt calls for Capital Punishment for Shane Warne after the leg spinner's correct prediction of a tied match between India and England

"Warne’s act was a surprising one and the matter should be raised before the International Cricket Council. He took a harsh stance and said that Warne should be hanged over defaming cricket and ICC."

Warne's innocent prediction was taken a little too seriously by Ijaz Butt & his suggestion for Warne to be hung was treated with the distain it deserved.

Long live the PCB Chairman, may you continue to provide us with statements that make us laugh, almost bring us to tears and make us hold our head in our hands.

The white lawyer one isn't bizarre - it's painfully stupid and disgusting.

what took ijaz butt years to dominate this ranking sethi broke through in a week. Sethi is unstoppable. they give him chairmanship for a year and the entire top ten will be filled with his statements. what about iqbal qasim.. i think his "afridi bowled pretty well but sometimes you just dont get wickets" after saffer tour must be near the top ten position.

The time of butt was entirely facepalm worthy.

absolutely hilarious

shows what kind on chairman's wve had in the past and the trend is still continuing

Over the years the Pakistan Cricket Board Chairman has been a rich source of entertainment for the cricketing fraternity. Many quotes attributed to the Chairmen have been lapped up by the media and cricket lovers. From General Tauqir Zia to the unforgettable Ijaz Butt and more recently the latest incumbent Najam Sethi have all made statements that have either been bewildering, mystifying or at times just ridiculous.

Here's a compilation of the top 10 bizarre quotes from Pakistan Cricket Board Chairmen over the years.

1. The all time "classic" from Ijaz Butt where soon after the spot fixing scandal of 2010, he alleged that English players were also involved in fixing

“There is loud and clear talk in the bookie's circles that some English players were paid enormous amounts of money to lose the match. No wonder there was a total collapse of the English side.”

"I have already spoken to Lalit Modi about this and there is no chance of any team from Pakistan playing in the Champions League this year. After the way our players were treated [in the IPL auction] I don't see our players or teams taking part in the Champions League this year."

"Those comments of mine were about the IPL and our participation in that event and not at all about the Champions League. I had said our players would not be in the IPL because of what had happened at the auction. I did not say that our domestic teams would not go to the Champions League. Why would I deprive them of that opportunity? My comments were misinterpreted."

"A four man committee has been set up to investigate and possibly reduce Mohammad Amir's 5 year ban."

In fact a 5 man Committee had been set up by the ICC not to look at Amir's ban, rather, to look at relaxing some conditions imposed on him such as using PCB practice facilities.

“Lawson is a useless man. But there is no use removing him now and we will allow him to complete his contract, which will not be renewed. “We will suffer a huge financial loss if we terminate his contract now."

5. Ijaz Butt on four young players Crying to him about Shahid Afridi's captaincy

"One day 4 young players came to me and said we want to talk to you. Why are you going back to Pakistan? I told them I am not feeling well and that is why I am going back, after which these 4 youngsters claimed that my presence on the tour had made Afridi's body language much better than it was, now neither does he abuse us in the ground nor does he say bad things to us in the dressing room. On hearing this I told the kids "Do not worry I will make everything fine. All the four youngsters started crying and saying that please do not go back to Pakistan."

Whilst there were alleged tears from the youngsters, it was Afridi who had the last laugh as Butt was eventually replaced as Chairman.

6. Dr Nasim Ashraf was less than impressed with Kamran Akmal's wicket keeping in June 2011

"The wicket keeping was pathetic, especially after Kamran Akmal dropped the catch and pretended that he had held on to it. This is unsporting behaviour but perhaps one has to give him the benefit of the doubt as he may not have realised that the ball had slipped out from his hand, which was picked up by the cameras. I do not want such behaviour from any Pakistani player. Please warn everyone! We ought to be looking at playing another keeper."

The cricketer once again had the last laugh though as Ashraf was replaced and Kamran Akmal continues to be in and around the Pakistan squads.

7. Tauqir Zia on why as Chairman he had not imposed tougher actions on players following the Qayyum report

"When I looked at the Qayyum report, I thought of removing all the offending players from Pakistan cricket. I went to the President of Pakistan to say "Look, I do not know much about Pakistan cricket because I’ve just worked there for three or four months. If you ask me, I’d like to get rid of all these characters. He asked ‘do you have the backup squad?’"

Subsequently under Zia's tenure as Chairman, a "soft" approach was administered on most of the big name cricketers mentioned in the Qayyum report after the President's suggestion of a lack of back up players to replace the offenders.

8. Only days into the job and Najam Sethi has a second entry into the 10 most bizarre statements by a PCB Chairman. This time Sethi suggests that Mohammad Amir may have had more leniency shown if he had a white lawyer representing him in the UK.

“We will hire a white lawyer in the UK, since they react to our skin colour, to look at the anti-corruption laws and look at ways to get at least 20% relief for Mohammad Amir.”

The law is the law Mr Sethi, irrespective of whether you have a white, brown, or green lawyer.

9. Ijaz Butt labels as Bulls**t Shoaib Akhtar's jibes at Tendulkar and Dravid in his book

"We are trying so hard to bridge the gap with India. In these times such Bulls**t is totally uncalled for. He ( Shoaib Akhtar) is talking nonsense and should be rebuffed by the people of India. We will give an official statement, on Saturday, saying everything that he has said in his book is bulls**t. There is not an iota of truth in it. He has caused us enough trouble as a player and the misery continues even now."

Akhtar's book was lapped up by the world's media particularly in India where he appeared on many TV shows. Ijaz Butt's autobiography can be purchased at all well known book stalls in Karachi and Lahore for 3 rupees.

10. Ijaz Butt calls for Capital Punishment for Shane Warne after the leg spinner's correct prediction of a tied match between India and England

"Warne’s act was a surprising one and the matter should be raised before the International Cricket Council. He took a harsh stance and said that Warne should be hanged over defaming cricket and ICC."

Warne's innocent prediction was taken a little too seriously by Ijaz Butt & his suggestion for Warne to be hung was treated with the distain it deserved.

Long live the PCB Chairman, may you continue to provide us with statements that make us laugh, almost bring us to tears and make us hold our head in our hands.

Sums up the mental age of our PCB Charmin's . Thank you SAJ for bringing smiles

Tsk tsk tsk tsk im embarassed that we managed to choose these people out of all of pakistan, they're pathetic.

The best one, by far and not surprisingly it is by the most incompetent Chairman in history.

Of course this could have been a list of 50 quotes :)

Thanks to MIG and Gotham Cronie for their input into the top 10 by the way.

the bookie circle comment was memed for a long time on here :ibutt Hilarious stuff

First time I'm reading about #5.....

.....and I'm speechless. You're kidding me, right?

Top post overall though.

Noticed that Shahryar Khan doesn't appear once on that list. Guess it was a somewhat less controversial and more 'boring' period in Pakistan cricket. I sure miss those days 2003-2006. Things seemed to be heading in the right direction.

well from your statements it seems that everyone around us is good only we are bad , how do you know that shane warne is innocent ????? do you know his history and there is no big deal for english players if they do spot fixing , we dont need apologists like you to talk about Pakistan .......

Why hello there Mr Butt, welcome to Pakpassion!

You missed a most recent one.

After Sri Lanka, attack, no team wants to come to play here, not even Bangladesh. Maximum we can do is ask them (ICC) to review after a year. But they demand assurances and demonstrable progress.”

Right, like Bangladesh are some inferior nation.

Saj bhai, aakhir sarcasm ki bhi koi hadd hoti hai.. :)))

Post of the week! What comedy and laughter:)):)))!

Winner!

What a letdown! From the few occasions he has appeared on Indian News, I thought Sethi was a journalist of high repute. Hopefully for Pakistan cricket, a one-off faux pas...

I dont think even Ijaz Butt was capable of the 'white lawyer' comment or 'Even Bangladeshi's refused to tour'. :))

Sethi is making his own place in PCB's history. :ibutt

Looking back, Ijaz Butt was hilarious. Hanging Shane Warne :)))

#bringbackbutt

What about Butt lashing out at Chris Broad who aired his concerns after the Liberty attacks, and said he will file a case against him. Especially at a point when people were shell-shocked to see such a pathetic arrangement for an international match.

Ijaz Butt and family were at the India/Pakistan ODI in the Champions Trophy. I shook his hand when I saw him getting shown to his seats, he seemed quite amiable for a buffoon.:haris

Hilarious :)))

But one thing, I believe there was substance in the accusation against Shane Warne. How can anyone call a draw in a cricket match? Its just ridiculous. But i dont want to get into this discussion.

Sethi in terms of quotes compared with time in office is definitely in the lead. It could be a long 3 months with him in charge :)

Some of the comments are really disappointing. I was expecting more somehow.
The one by IB against ECB/Eng players was like a traditional reaction than a response. Def the top contender for the worse one.

But i never expected Najam Sethi to say what he said. It was and still sounds unbelievable.

The IPL one from Najam Sethi isn't far behind too many of the quotes in this thread.

This is the first ever thread I read here, I think.

These people we have at the helm... :facepalm:

What's with the four youngsters one?

I think bizarre is incorrectly used here. Bizarre would indicate a statement that is infrequent and downright odd to see. When it comes to our chairmen, these are regular occurrences.

ALso does Butt really have a autobiography. I must get my hand on it!

Eh? Did this really happen? Backyard stuff.

Nasim Ashraf's quote shouldn't be there. He didn't say anything wrong! Infact we should be ashamed that someone as pathetic as Kamran Akmal is still representing Pakistan!

Re: The Top 10 Most Regrettable & Bizarre Quotes by PCB Chairmen

Has Shoaib Akhtar's 'genital warts' comment been discussed already? Not sure who said that? Butt or Ashraf? Too much information though!

Sent from my XT1058 using Tapatalk

Zaka Ashraf had a couple of very unprofessionals ones too,

I think he went to BCCI with a begging bowl and tried his best to brown his nose much as possible but eventually was left frustrated with the cold shoulder given by BCCI and said:

"Indians are cowards"

and then apologized and went back on his knees in front of BCCI and kept on begging until his last days in the office.

Ijaz butt continues to haunt even after leaving:
Called the big 3 sons of pigs.

As chairman he called Chris broad a liar when the details of the Sri Lanka team attack was pointed out

These guys are just morons, I long for the day when he have something approaching professional leadership with vision and integrity.

Ijaz Butt, worst chairmen! Attack on Sri Lanka, Spot fixing fiasco, Sydney debacle etc etc all happened under his regime if I'm not wrong.

Sethi has a verbal diarrhea. Being a journalist, he speaks too much and announces official news on twitter rather than in official press release. But he has talked about implementing some good policies. Let's hope he fulfills them.

I don't see how 2 and 3 are bizarre.. just simple mistakes anyone can make, mixing up a tournament or number of people in a committee- we knew what was being implied

the white lawyer one is awesome thou

I must have missed it. :/

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p>Yayyyy! ODI series in the bag too. Doubting Thomases can choopo gannay!</p>— Najam Sethi (@najamsethi) <a href="https://twitter.com/najamsethi/statuses/373864408008908800">August 31, 2013</a></blockquote>

This tweet comes after a series win against Zimbabwe.:23:

Pakistani team was under severe criticism after the loss in the first ODI against Zimbabwe. He tweeted this to reply to them.

How about asking the opposition (Zimbabwe) to suck on sugarcane after we defeated them? :najam

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p>Yayyyy! ODI series in the bag too. Doubting Thomases can choopo gannay!</p>— Najam Sethi (@najamsethi) <a href="https://twitter.com/najamsethi/statuses/373864408008908800">August 31, 2013</a></blockquote>

This tweet comes after a series win against Zimbabwe.:23:

Pakistani team was under severe criticism after the loss in the first ODI against Zimbabwe. He tweeted this to reply to them.

Embarrassing.

As if winning against ZIM is a major achievement. :facepalm: The criticism was what they deserved.

Time to update this thread with some of Shehyrar Khan's comments as of late.

Mooting a boycott of the World T20 and then days later denying there'll be a boycott.

Sending letters to the BCCI then denying any letter was sent.

And of course - "We are still waiting for BCCI response" - basically every day for the last three months. This is after saying the final, final deadline would be Monday of last week.

Ijaz butt continues to haunt even after leaving:
Called the big 3 sons of pigs.

As chairman he called Chris broad a liar when the details of the Sri Lanka team attack was pointed out

THE most incompetent PCB official we have ever had and that is saying a lot...

Time to update this thread with some of Shehyrar Khan's comments as of late.

Mooting a boycott of the World T20 and then days later denying there'll be a boycott.

Sending letters to the BCCI then denying any letter was sent.

And of course - "We are still waiting for BCCI response" - basically every day for the last three months. This is after saying the final, final deadline would be Monday of last week.

You are right.

Finally Age catching up with ex diplomat. Wasn't so in his tenure as pakistan team manager and when he was chairman pcb last time.

2. Ijaz Butt getting his IPLs and his Champions League tournaments mixed up "I have already spoken to Lalit Modi about this and there is no chance of any team from Pakistan playing in the Champions League this year. After the way our players were treated [in the IPL auction] I don't see our players or teams taking part in the Champions League this year." 3 months later Ijaz Butt denied that he had spoken about the Champions League "Those comments of mine were about the IPL and our participation in that event and not at all about the Champions League. I had said our players would not be in the IPL because of what had happened at the auction. I did not say that our domestic teams would not go to the Champions League. Why would I deprive them of that opportunity? My comments were misinterpreted."

Yaar, I miss our Ijaz Butt. The GOAT as far as chairmen are concerned.

I have a dream that 1 day Afridi will end up as PCB chairman and then my friends we will have quotes that all of us deserve after tolerating PCB chairmans.

:))) :))) Ijaz Butt is a genius.

Ijaz Butt is like bright searing supernova of incompetence that blinds to every one else's incompetence.

You forget Mr. Najam Sethi then Chairman after signing Big 3 "Congratulation! Pakistan is included in Big 4".

Didn't forget it at all. Look at when the post was made and look at when Sethi made the statement.

I have a dream that 1 day Afridi will end up as PCB chairman and then my friends we will have quotes that all of us deserve after tolerating PCB chairmans.

That would be interesting and entertaining.

This was a great read. Feel bad for Ashraf getting replaced. KAkmal being in the team is more of a curse than a blessing.

where is the sons of pigs? That was the best

Whenever you are down in the dumps, go through this thread.

A gem from Shehryar from the summer:

"I took advice from Inzi and everyone about Sarfraz as Test captain, I felt he is the best candidate. But first I wanted his acceptance.

Today I met him in the elevator and asked him if he is willing to be Test captain, he said 'as you wish, I am ready to help'. So Sarfraz becomes captain of the Test team."

Who knew appointing captains was so simple ?

Always good for comedy are PCB Chairmen.