"The way I play is that I never hold back my natural stroke-play" : Faheem Ashraf

Fast bowling all rounders are rare we need to show patience and develop their skills. We should stick with him and he will learn with international standard of coaching staff. Inshallah he could be developed in good bowling allrounder.

He could bowl closer to the wicket as he was bowling from a very wide angle today.

He deserves a slap for that sloppy run-out. Ground your bat ! Schoolboy stuff.

But yes its worth giving him a run as finding a pace bowling AR has been an ongoing issue.

His batting is promising

He needs to work hard like Azhar Ali and Steven Smith. Our youngsters show promise but show no growth. Growth is important.

batting wise looks solid, fearless, and not intimidated by the situation, opposition or the pressure of playing on a knock out .... in terms of batting ability and temperament 10 times better than the bottlers hafeez, shehzad...

I was mighty impressed with his six of short ball from malinga. It was enough to tell that boy got guts and aggressive approach which you need down the order. Will do wonders for Pakistan in coming years.

That's a great compliment. half as good as stoakes will still be a good player.

all of his balls were hit right in the middle.. big free flowing bat xcites me. ..... hopefully PSL contract will ciome and a good bowling coach can help him improve... i would love to have him in isb , so he can work with wasim but i fear that misbah might kill him out so lahore looks like the best option with Aaqib helping him

he can be much more impactfull than Imad as an all-rounder, who is essentially useless

The pull shorts he played tells a lot about how mentally strong he is. He's not the type to get scared of short balls.

Bowling was a bit wayward at times, but the ingredients are definitely there, decent pace as well so I see no reason why he can't improve.

Looks like a proper batsman as well, played the short ball better than anyone in our team. Seems a strong lad and was clearing the boundary with ease.

Hopefully his innings won't end again how it ended today, otherwise I feel like he could have been the one to lead Pakistan home with sarfraz. Definitely better than so called all rounders we've had before him.

Sure, he looks promising, but the Anwar Ali comparisons are premature. At least let him reach the level of Stokes and Shakib first. :rp

Looked better then Hafeez, Malik, Imad, Azhar. Unlucky to get run out like that, stupid mistake. But he looks like someone who can hit big. Isn't he the one who won warm up match against BD?

Yes it was him. Out of nowhere demolished Bangladesh bowlers and won the game.

With the expected short pitch barrage from England, it will be utter madness to drop him.... we all know the likes of Hafeez and Malik will be hopping around like bunnies .... a case can be made to actually promote him ahead of those 2.

Every youngster looks promising - it's the bloody seniors that are being carried yet again!

No he does not! There is no talent in Pakistan and we should continue to select the same players even if we lose. The experienced seniors are the key. Too many youngsters are not good. You need experience. You need the seniors to guide the youngsters like Azhar guided Fakhar Zaman today. He took all the pressure on his shoulders and allowed Zaman to play his natural game. You might even say that he carried Zaman, who if we are being honest would have been dismissed for duck if an experienced pro was not there to guide him.

I like Zaman and Faheem, but I think they are too young and lack experience. Let’s give them 5-7 years to mature and develop their game at the domestic level.

This will also allow Azhar and Hafeez etc. to play for a few more years and maximize their talent. Please do not be impatient, Why are we in a hurry to induct youngsters into the team when we have so many senior pros ready, able and willing to serve the nation? Besides like I said, there just isn’t enough talent in Pak and the seniors (despite their flaws) are the best we have

Faheem is not one of the best youngsters in our tracks.. i would be playing Raees over him.

I was terrified watching him waddle to the crease yesterday - was very lucky to get those wickets.

To be honest I thought Aamer Yamin was miles ahead of him from what I saw of Faheem in domestic cricket but he definetly looks like a solid option. Well done Inzi, Well done Tauseef

The story of a pak batsman. Comes with a bang and then fades away. Just like our bowlers.

So one should hold the horses for a bit to call him even a proper batsman.

Babar Azam already following the trend and going from good to bad. If he cant change his fortune, I'll say another umer akmal in making.

Looks like a handy late order batsman but has to learn from his mistakes. For goodness sake take a good look at field placings before going for a hook shot as normally there are fielders placed to catch. The opposition will continue bowling bouncers attempting to trap him. He has to often resist the temptation to hook for the sake of the team.

His batting technique is quite nice for an all-rounder. Definitely can be turned into a handy contributor with a bit of development.

An ideal example of someone with the core skills needing refinement. A good coach can turn him into a solid player.

I think he can be like Abdur Razzaq if he works on his game.

Too early to say anything about his bowling but he looks like an exciting lower order batsman. Powerful striker.

He looked composed and calm at the wicket and played some quality shots. Like many before him, let's hope he is not a one-match wonder.

Too early to say anything about his bowling but he looks like an exciting lower order batsman. Powerful striker.

Ian chappel said he has seen enough of Faheem against SL to say that he can bat well and can bat at number 6. He also said hafeez should be dropped.

I lke Fahim from the first glance, the guy has very good potential become good allrounder, he looks very good bat technique wise, bowling is impressive. I hope Pakistan keep faith on these new bloods guys like Hasan Ali, Fahim Ashraf, not doing chopping after one or two failures.

No he does not! There is no talent in Pakistan and we should continue to select the same players even if we lose. The experienced seniors are the key. Too many youngsters are not good. You need experience. You need the seniors to guide the youngsters like Azhar guided Fakhar Zaman today. He took all the pressure on his shoulders and allowed Zaman to play his natural game. You might even say that he carried Zaman, who if we are being honest would have been dismissed for duck if an experienced pro was not there to guide him.

I like Zaman and Faheem, but I think they are too young and lack experience. Let’s give them 5-7 years to mature and develop their game at the domestic level.

This will also allow Azhar and Hafeez etc. to play for a few more years and maximize their talent. Please do not be impatient, Why are we in a hurry to induct youngsters into the team when we have so many senior pros ready, able and willing to serve the nation? Besides like I said, there just isn’t enough talent in Pak and the seniors (despite their flaws) are the best we have

How on earth did Azhar carry Zaman? Azhar's tuk tuk batting massively increased the pressure on Fakhar to perform, and the fact that you're stating that Azhar's blocking barrage somehow served as 'guidance' is quite frankly laughable. You're right, playing Azhar and Hafeez for a few more years will maximize their limited talent, but it will also destroy Pakistan cricket along with many promising careers, so these talented TTF's need to replaced immediately

He is sarcastic

Those hooks put a smile on my face, he hooked by choice not fear, haven't seen that from any Pakistani with a bat for a long time.

Stick with him all the way .. PPers are notoriously fickle; could see nearly 90% of this site jumping down his throat if that first hook went straight to fine leg. The way he plays he's initially likely to fail rather than succeed at this level, but he needs to be supported.

Batting looked good. What an unlucky run out otherwise he would have been the one to drag us along the line with Sarfraz. Hopefully, he does not turn out to be another Anwar Ali

The story of a pak batsman. Comes with a bang and then fades away. Just like our bowlers.

So one should hold the horses for a bit to call him even a proper batsman.

Babar Azam already following the trend and going from good to bad. If he cant change his fortune, I'll say another umer akmal in making.

You knowledge is poor if you think Babbar is like Umar.

If anything Babar plays nothing like Umar. Better technique and plays orthodox at number 3.

Umar became a slogger and never came higher than 6 on most occasions.

You knowledge is poor if you think Babbar is like Umar.

If anything Babar plays nothing like Umar. Better technique and plays orthodox at number 3.

Umar became a slogger and never came higher than 6 on most occasions.

Waqar Younis is the reason this happened.

I think his bowling was a bit meh. If he doesnt improve that he will be a bit-part player. Azhar really needs to work on him, get his seam position right because he showed today he does have decent pace

Had a pretty decent debut. He is worth persisting with, not least because his batting looked fearless.

I do agree his bowling needs some work. Even though the radar was saying he was bowling pretty quickly it didn't look all that threatening for some reason. Other than his seam position, is there anything else you would say he needs to work on to improve his bowling?

First signs are pretty good. I think he'll be more of a batting all rounder than bowling one. But he can always work on that. His hook was nothing like I have seen from this team for a long time.

Tomorrow he should be sent at 3. Wasim used razzaq in 1999 wc up the order and that helped razzaq become good batsman.

Had a pretty decent debut. He is worth persisting with, not least because his batting looked fearless.

I do agree his bowling needs some work. Even though the radar was saying he was bowling pretty quickly it didn't look all that threatening for some reason. Other than his seam position, is there anything else you would say he needs to work on to improve his bowling?

Control and length especially. He was bowling way to full early on, many batsmen would have nailed those balls into the river. He did rectify it later on though, but still needs work, hopefully he stays around the team, dont need him rotting in domestic cricket

Very impressed with his batting plus the way he has increased his pace working on his fitness. 10 months back he was 133 max bowler. Now he can go as high as 142 kph.

Well done NCA.

But something which no one has pointed on PP and something where he really needs to improve is his seam position.

His seam position is as wobbly as it could get therefore unless his delivery hits a crack He won't move the ball an inch and will be run barrel WAHAB with new ball.

Azhar Mehmood has a perfect seam position and Faheem has just come under his fold. I am sure he will work out Faheem's weakness.

Faheem's batting has improved massively.

Very impressed with his batting plus the way he has increased his pace working on his fitness. 10 months back he was 133 max bowler. Now he can go as high as 142 kph.

Well done NCA.

But something which no one has pointed on PP and something where he really needs to improve is his seam position.

His seam position is as wobbly as it could get therefore unless his delivery hits a crack He won't move the ball an inch and will be run barrel WAHAB with new ball.

Azhar Mehmood has a perfect seam position and Faheem has just come under his fold. I am sure he will work out Faheem's weakness.

Faheem's batting has improved massively.

[MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] I think Fahim can be a serious player for us.

He impressed Ian Chappel. Very few impress the Legend.

[MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] Gotta say good work by PCB and Inzi as well, Despite the fact that his List A stats are not good, he has massive massive potential.

Fahim, Shadab, Raees and Amir are all fighting for two spots.

India play spin very well (Imad has to keep out and Fahim's bowling isn't good enough to face India) go with Amir, Junaid, Hasan and Raees. Two spinners Shahdab and Hafeez.

[MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] Gotta say good work by PCB and Inzi as well, Despite the fact that his List A stats are not good, he has massive massive potential.

When the sample size is small than you can look at FC stats plus Pakistan A stats. In both of these his numbers were good.

Bowling needs lots of work.

When the sample size is small than you can look at FC stats plus Pakistan A stats. In both of these his numbers were good.

Fahim has defenitely got potential....he also bowled a couple of deliveries over 140 kph...

It's good to see Inzi/PCB getting praise when it is deserved- too many on here with their own vendettas.

[MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] Ashraf considers himself a bowling all-rounder. From what you have seen, would you agree? Or do you think he is more of a batting all-rounder at the moment?

A bower who can bowl 135-140 kph consistently and strike the ball cleanly down the order is Godsend for the Pakistan team.

[MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] Ashraf considers himself a bowling all-rounder. From what you have seen, would you agree? Or do you think he is more of a batting all-rounder at the moment?

Looks like a batting all rounder. His bowling needs work as [MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] mentioned but important thing is pace is there. 136-142 easily.

I think that currently he is a batting allrounder who should be batting at number 5 like Stokes but He can't as there is no space. In domestic he should be sent in at 5 or 6 by those incharge for His development.

I don't believe in batting or bowling all-rounders personally. I believe in Imran Khan's, Kallis's Razzaq's etc ie Genuine allrounders. Somebody who is equally good in either traits.

Faheem can become genuine all-rounder if he can make slight adjustment to his action which would allow him to have control over his line and length plus he needs to work very hard on his ball release. His release is the worst atm amongst all Pak Test, Odi, T20 pacers. You can't see the Seam once he releases the ball. Grip needs work plus wrist position also needs work. How quickly he could rectify it with Azhar is what would matter.

Furthermore he hasn't yet achieved Int Cricket fitness levels. When he does than He will be 136 to 145kph bowler which would be gold.

How quickly He improves will matter because Hussain Tallat will indeed push him.

Looks like a batting all rounder. His bowling needs work as [MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] mentioned but important thing is pace is there. 136-142 easily.

Currently his pace is not consistent because his action isn't repeatable plus he hasn't got peak Int fitness so yes He can bowl between 136-142 but majority of his bowls are in 129-136kph range.

He should now be persisted with and there should not be chop & changes.

Competition is good. It will drive the young ones to higher fitness and skill levels. Providing the seniority culture is killed off.

Fahim has defenitely got potential....he also bowled a couple of deliveries over 140 kph...

Yes He has improved his pace but pace isn't consistent yet. Release is a concern. Batting has massively improved. Did you watch his batting footage vs BD ?

Currently his pace is not consistent because his action isn't repeatable plus he hasn't got peak Int fitness so yes He can bowl between 136-142 but majority of his bowls are in 129-136kph range.

He should now be persisted with and there should not be chop & changes.

From the speedwatch thread, he was clocking between 134-138, and if what you say about his action is true then he can easily reach 140+.

He has the speed, just needs the discipline.

Looks good with the bat though.

From the speedwatch thread, he was clocking between 134-138, and if what you say about his action is true then he can easily reach 140+.

He has the speed, just needs the discipline.

Looks good with the bat though.

InshaAllah.

[MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] Yaar inko aqal kesse agayi, player to sahi nazar main rakha hai inhonai Fahim

Inzamam ne issay short lost ker liya tha 3-4 Fc hundreds ki wajah se. Kyun k inzamam ne kaha tha k wo Fc stats ko priority dega incase of allrounders. Yamin bus height ki wajah se missed out.

Yeh koi chaj ka kaam kiya vessay. Shukar Hai.

I think that currently he is a batting allrounder who should be batting at number 5 like Stokes but He can't as there is no space. In domestic he should be sent in at 5 or 6 by those incharge for His development.

I don't believe in batting or bowling all-rounders personally. I believe in Imran Khan's, Kallis's Razzaq's etc ie Genuine allrounders. Somebody who is equally good in either traits.

Faheem can become genuine all-rounder if he can make slight adjustment to his action which would allow him to have control over his line and length plus he needs to work very hard on his ball release. His release is the worst atm amongst all Pak Test, Odi, T20 pacers. You can't see the Seam once he releases the ball. Grip needs work plus wrist position also needs work. How quickly he could rectify it with Azhar is what would matter.

Furthermore he hasn't yet achieved Int Cricket fitness levels. When he does than He will be 136 to 145kph bowler which would be gold.

How quickly He improves will matter because Hussain Tallat will indeed push him.

Indeed, not to mention Amad Butt and Aamer Yamin.

His batting is a bit of an unknown quantity at the moment, although the early signs are good. Hopefully he plays in the PSL next year which should be a great learning curve for him.

Faheem Ashraf - the fielder

There has been a lot of discussion about the relative merits of Fahim Ashraf playing on Sunday against India.

So far he has only played the one match, and many have expressed surprise at the fact he hasn't played more in the tournament. The general consensus seems to be his batting is an asset, whilst his bowling has also shown potential (but needs some work).

However, what does not seem to have been discussed is his fielding. A lot of the youngsters in the team have shown excellence and energy in the field. Ashraf on the other hand has not- he has dropped two crucial catches so far (one as a substitute fielder):

1. Virat Kohli- was on 43 at the time and went on to score 81*- need I say more?

2. DAS Gunaratne- was on 16 at the time went on to score 27- this was an absolute sitter and while it didn't prove too costly, Gunaratne is a dangerous batsmen, especially given he was the last recognised batsmen.

So my question is:

1. How much of a problem do you think his fielding is? Do you think his fielding is a factor in the management's reluctance to select him?

Obviously, if he does play tomorrow, I hope he is able to show that he is in fact a good fielder. If however, his fielding is a problem then I hope he puts in the hard work to improve as he has shown potential with both the bat and ball.

He seems like a good outfielder, but a shoddy catcher. Basically the same problem that Hasan Ali has. I don't know what those domestic coaches are doing with these upcoming boys.

Steve Rixon certainly has his work cut out!

I think only two of Imad, Shadab and Faheem can play since the management doesn't seem to rate their batting much so Faheem's got his work cut out to make it to the playing XI.

I think he's the best out of the three. Shadab is untested and raw and Imad is struggling to hit.