"The whole system is archaic and deeply humiliating for the players" : CEO NZCPA on IPL Auction

Hitman

"The whole system is archaic and deeply humiliating for the players" : CEO NZCPA on IPL Auction

Despite the hype surrounding the last week’s Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 auction, not everyone from cricket fraternity is pleased with the nature of the event. Cricket officials from New Zealand have come out in public, demanding an end to the IPL auction, which they consider is degrading and humiliating for players. Former India captain Bishan Singh Bedi was the first to criticize the league, terming it a platform for ‘money laundering’.

Heath Mills, chief executive of the New Zealand Cricket Players Association (NZCPA), said that the auction is an unprofessional way to play with athletes’ livelihoods while talking to New Zealand Herald on Tuesday.

The NZCPA chief executive also endorsed a tweet from former Wellington Cricket chief executive Peter Clinton, who had termed the IPL auction an undignified, cruel and unnecessary employment practice.

The IPL, which started in 2008, has emerged as the most lucrative career option for cricketers from across the world, but Hills found the current practice of auction deeply humiliating to players. He said the league should instead allow teams to choose players the way other top professional leagues in the world do.

"I think the whole system is archaic and deeply humiliating for the players, who are paraded like cattle for the world to see. There’s lot of good things about the Indian Premier League and it’s been great for cricket but I’d like to see it mirror the rest of professional sport in the way they engage athletes. The auction system is wrong — it’s not professional, far from it," Mills told the Herald.

The NZCPA official slammed the league for not treating players as per modern standards. "The players enter the auction not knowing where they’re are going, who their team-mates are going be, who’s managing them, who the owners are — no other sports league in the world engages players on that basis. We've seen some players play for five or six teams over the 10 years the league has been going."

"Coaches cannot build an affinity with players; they can’t build a long-term culture. The whole thing is very poor and players associations around the world would like to see it change," he said.

As many as 24 Kiwi players were in the IPL auction with seven of them - Brendon McCullum, Kane Williamson, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Colin Munro, Tim Southee, Mitchell Santner- earning a contract at the end of it

Link: https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...rofessional/story-UlcBSySzXhwTdpa5zDmvLI.html

People who follow IPL:

Why were the teams reset this year (by and large)?

It seemed that many teams were starting to have a culture and identity (some have retained a bit. Nonetheless why was there a need to restart from scratch

As for issues raised by NZ rep: IPL isnt the first time this is happening and not last. You can say same about a draft system.

People who follow IPL:

It seemed that many teams were starting to have a culture and identity (some have retained a bit. Nonetheless why was there a need to restart from scratch

As for issues raised by NZ rep: IPL isnt the first time this is happening and not last. You can say same about a draft system.

It happens after every 4 years. In draft, players are selected. In auction, they are sold. Massive difference both.

May be not happy with the number of NZCPA members selected in IPL.

In draft, players are selected. In auction, they are sold. Massive difference both.

lol atleast try to understand

the issue this member seems to have is that in auction, players do not know where they are going. Same in draft

People who follow IPL:

Because teams wanted to rebuild with fresh auction but at the same time they don't want lost their most valuable and popular players thats why player retention & right to match exists.

People try to impress against India, and also as the we get close to auction players frantically tries to get the attention. Both noobs and experienced international players. This is where WI players will lose a lot over a period. Because they are not in the news anymore apart from past players.

I don’t like the fact that in these leagues,teams change almost entirely after every couple of seasons.Teams need to develop an identity.

A lot of people do have their issues with the IPL. We Indians might call it a case of 'sour grapes', but in their minds they do have their justification.

IPLers shouldn't get offended here. The guy (Mills) has a point here. Instead of auctioning like cattle IPL should evolve and sign players like in other sports' leagues.

IPL has provided good things to Indian cricket.

Most important part of the article, for me, is: Former India captain Bishan Singh Bedi was the first to criticize the league, terming it a platform for ‘money laundering’.

BCCI's corruption is well documented and the IPL is the perfect platform for Indian billionaires to avoid taxes. Hopefully Indian gov. will control it and make them pay.

IPLers shouldn't get offended here. The guy (Mills) has a point here. Instead of auctioning like cattle IPL should evolve and sign players like in other sports' leagues.

IPL has provided good things to Indian cricket.

Most important part of the article, for me, is: Former India captain Bishan Singh Bedi was the first to criticize the league, terming it a platform for ‘money laundering’.

BCCI's corruption is well documented and the IPL is the perfect platform for Indian billionaires to avoid taxes. Hopefully Indian gov. will control it and make them pay.

Why should ipl do what xyz is doing? Auction has worked fine for ipl and thats how they should go ahead. Just because some player association has issues doesnt mean this should change. The members if NZCPA were more than willing to join the auction and only when only 7 NZCPA members were picked did the NZCPA has issues.

Auction allows a player to find his true value in terms of money and allows every team a chance to buy a player.

I agree with them, an auction system is humiliating, should go with a draft system.

How many other major sports leagues have an auction system?

Just leaves a bad taste IMHO.

Players don't care if it's humilating.

Auction allows a player to be sold for alot more then expected.

Draft is fixed.

I think if you look at English premier league, it losely resembles the auction system as teams willing to pay more wins the player.

IPL auction is much more organized.

I always believed that leagues like IPL and PSL don't create much of team history or unity and that sort of crap.

But the problem is the league structure. IPL and PSL are 1-2 months league.

Leagues like nhl operate for the whole year.
Thus in cricket, a Shane Watson of last year could suck this year thus rotation is necessary every year

How does big bash operate? Not sure about that

Why should ipl do what xyz is doing? Auction has worked fine for ipl and thats how they should go ahead. Just because some player association has issues doesnt mean this should change. The members if NZCPA were more than willing to join the auction and only when only 7 NZCPA members were picked did the NZCPA has issues.

Auction allows a player to find his true value in terms of money and allows every team a chance to buy a player.

The NZCPA have the right to criticize it.

Stop acting as if anything India does cannot warrant criticism.

They have acknowledge the benefits and good of IPL..

Though I think auction does good price rationing. Greater demand resulting in greater price. Example jadeja....

Though in terms of ethics, it does look bad for players till some extent.

The NZCPA have the right to criticize it.

Stop acting as if anything India does cannot warrant criticism.

They have acknowledge the benefits and good of IPL..

Though I think auction does good price rationing. Greater demand resulting in greater price. Example jadeja....

Though in terms of ethics, it does look bad for players till some extent.

IPL has nothing to do with NZCPA.

I don’t like the fact that in these leagues,teams change almost entirely after every couple of seasons.Teams need to develop an identity.

Identies only exist if the league runs for 1 whole year. Example NHL

These leagues take place after 10 months. They play for only 1-2 months.

During the off season alot of changes take place.

Creating identity and all is quite hard in such cases.

Also, IPL was always a league for brands to advertise themselves. These leagues have little to do with team history and more to do with brand mkting.

I read a few days back Joe Root was unpicked in the auction, is that right?

Just FYI, I don't watch IPL anymore, infact haven't watched it for a few years now.

:Facepalm:

Oh Bhai all I'm saying is that nothing is above criticism and learn to accept it

Bhai wo apni jagah

But what is the point of this useless comments of NZCPA out of nowhere?

Its like they are unhappy with their members not getting selected.

Well it's humiliating enough when England's best batsman Joe Root can't get a contract and some very ordinary international cricketers who can't even fully secure a spot with their countries are getting mega rich offers.

The only board that has any right to complain is PCB. They have been humiliated for a decade by this entire system

I can bet, most of the players will be more than happy to be auctioned again including Pakistani players too...

Any debate on IPL seems to veer in two extremes : for those who hate it, any negative mention is further proof of how bad it is. For those defend it, its the usual reductionist argument: if you dont like it dont come/sour grapes etc.

Well IPL General?? Manager(sumthin like that) himself said that they are preparing themselves for Draft based selection of players in coming years. Players will be selected through Drafts and they are discussing this thing.

If it contains the New Zealanders they represent then evidently they do.

Sorry but IPL signs agreements with NZC and individual cricketers. It doesnt recognise NZCPA or FICA etc. Nzcpa is free to ask its members not to go to the auctions, thats within their ambit, but IPL isnt.

I don't think the auction system is humiliating..it's overpriced! Maybe an auction of Indian players is fine...teams can pay what they want for local stars but most of the international players are unjustifiably overvalued. Maybe that's the goal to ensure players give IPL priority but that can still be achieved by offering non-Indian international players something like $50k more than CPL/BBL/PSL/etc.

What is humiliating about earning tons of cash?

And I don't think it's an issue if the players don't have a problem with it. I mean players before the auction, not the ones who get bitter after the auctions due to not anyone bidding for them.

Sorry but IPL signs agreements with NZC and individual cricketers. It doesnt recognise NZCPA or FICA etc. Nzcpa is free to ask its members not to go to the auctions, thats within their ambit, but IPL isnt.

Bro please see the article, they are only complaining about the auction and not the IPL, indeed they have said it IPL is a great thing that has happened to cricket, they are somewhat right here, rather than betting why not have a draft system, with player from top category getting INR 10 Crores..
Like i posted above, an IPL official himself said that Draft may replace this Auction thing in the coming auditions

If it's humiliating why are their players participating?

Capitalism, free contract etc. etc.

They choose to get humiliated for money. Ofcourse many of them try to think that its not humiliation. It depends on the person as well.

Jeez nobody can even suggest a thing to Indians without getting a phainty from you Joshila Sahab. Take it as a suggestion and discuss its merits and demerits. It would only be beneficial. Simply rejecting everything by saying we can do whatever we want isnt the right way. Some things do hold merit and might make the league better.

I don't think the auction system is humiliating..it's overpriced! Maybe an auction of Indian players is fine...teams can pay what they want for local stars but most of the international players are unjustifiably overvalued. Maybe that's the goal to ensure players give IPL priority but that can still be achieved by offering non-Indian international players something like $50k more than CPL/BBL/PSL/etc.
Why? If International players who are as talented as indian players and performs well then they deserves better money.
Ab devilliers's central contract is much lesser
Than kohli/root/smith etc. Thanks to Ipl he gets money worthy of his skills.

It always bugged me that they call it 'auction', slaves were 'auctioned' during the slave trade and I don't think auctioning is a proper term to be used in professional sports.

And I don't think it's an issue if the players don't have a problem with it. I mean players before the auction, not the ones who get bitter after the auctions due to not anyone bidding for them.

The idea of an auction where humans are treated like cattle is generally not that great but seems that this is the acceptable face of capitalism.

The only board that has any right to complain is PCB. They have been humiliated for a decade by this entire system

PCB OR ANY other board have no rights to complain. IPL is a domestic product which is primary for Indians.

International players unsold definitely would feel humiliated.

If it contains the New Zealanders they represent then evidently they do.

Actually they dont. No Cricket player’s association have any jurisdiction in IPL. Their role is only limited to International and domestic games in their respective countries. You should know that India/BCCI do not have player’s union and do not believe in such. If NZCPA have a problem with proceedings in IPL then they can address to the players they represent and/or the respective board for not issuing NOC. But they have absolute no say in how IPL should go on about their business.

International players unsold definitely would feel humiliated.

Well hope they have learnt their lesson and wont come back; if they do, that tells me that this doesnt bother them.

You’re partially right. We may seem money offered to players (both locals and international) are more than what they deserved, which may or may not be true. When you look at overall revenue generation of IPL which is closer to 650-700M per year including sponsors, and they are only paying 10% to players. Now, looking at those numbers, Id say players are actually being underpaid. IPL is successful because of the players, and they are only getting portion of the pie. Maybe down the road, players would get what no one had ever imagined they would be able to earn in cricket. Just look at Kohli, making $2.6M just playing IPL.

Auction is typically associated with commodities and cattle so the nomenclature is certainly unfortunate. And there is also the fact that auction has an element of luck involved - the order in which players are sorted plays a big role in how the franchises bid for them. So it's also not the most efficient system. I fully expect a sort of hybrid system to replace the current auctions in near future.

Bro please see the article, they are only complaining about the auction and not the IPL, indeed they have said it IPL is a great thing that has happened to cricket, they are somewhat right here, rather than betting why not have a draft system, with player from top category getting INR 10 Crores..
Like i posted above, an IPL official himself said that Draft may replace this Auction thing in the coming auditions
Kohli makes 17crores, why would he be ok getting a pay cut and get 10 crores if draft system takes place?

Draft system would work only if the top players are getting contract outside of the draft otherwise i see many top Indian players demanding bigger pay check. I see nothing wrong with auction, as it is strategy to form a team with allowed cash and also playing a bluff to jack the price of a player.

Players don't care if it's humilating.

Auction allows a player to be sold for alot more then expected.

Draft is fixed.

I think if you look at English premier league, it losely resembles the auction system as teams willing to pay more wins the player.

IPL auction is much more organized.

I always believed that leagues like IPL and PSL don't create much of team history or unity and that sort of crap.

But the problem is the league structure. IPL and PSL are 1-2 months league.

Leagues like nhl operate for the whole year.
Thus in cricket, a Shane Watson of last year could suck this year thus rotation is necessary every year

How does big bash operate? Not sure about that

NHL operates for 9 months out of the year and doesn't have to compete usually with international tournaments. Yes, they take a break for Winter Olympics, but those are every four years-and then a world hockey championship every two years. They don't have three different formats and three different ICC tournaments. Rivalries are played out over the course of the season rather than Ashes being played in summer and winter, and two even larger rivals not playing at all.

Jeez nobody can even suggest a thing to Indians without getting a phainty from you Joshila Sahab. Take it as a suggestion and discuss its merits and demerits. It would only be beneficial. Simply rejecting everything by saying we can do whatever we want isnt the right way. Some things do hold merit and might make the league better.

He is right though, fact is majority of non Indians aren’t even involved with IPL nor they follow it, and yet you see them passing judgement every other day. I also get where you coming, when you said analyzing the constructive criticism and providing proper feedback. I totally agree with you that those who have stake in IPL should be given a chance to provide proper constructive feedback, so it can get better in future.
But my only problem is, people who generally rubbishes IPL and do not even follow it are providing anything but constructive feedback, so acting upon those feedback isn’t smart thing to do, what you say?

I get what they mean. The problem is IPL is not big enough to accommodate all good players from all the countries. And some very good players apparently go unnoticed. Best thing to do as a player is to set a relatively low base price and hope the price goes up. Franchises spend too much money up front on a few really good players and end up having not enough money to bid for the other good players. So I feel there is a strategic issue here as well. Players who don't get selected shouldn't feel humiliated. Instead they should try and raise the bar. Think about Root and Guptill. They might be big names in their respective countries but that doesn't mean they should get an IPL contract. Guptill is a great T20 player but his recent performances haven't been convincing.

Kohli makes 17crores, why would he be ok getting a pay cut and get 10 crores if draft system takes place?

Draft system would work only if the top players are getting contract outside of the draft otherwise i see many top Indian players demanding bigger pay check. I see nothing wrong with auction, as it is strategy to form a team with allowed cash and also playing a bluff to jack the price of a player.

That is what NZCPA are saying, why not do this behind the closed doors and directly signing contracts with players like in football, footballers earn billions and there never has been auction for football leagues...
Draft may not work so try contracts and all that.

I get what they mean. The problem is IPL is not big enough to accommodate all good players from all the countries. And some very good players apparently go unnoticed. Best thing to do as a player is to set a relatively low base price and hope the price goes up. Franchises spend too much money up front on a few really good players and end up having not enough money to bid for the other good players. So I feel there is a strategic issue here as well. Players who don't get selected shouldn't feel humiliated. Instead they should try and raise the bar. Think about Root and Guptill. They might be big names in their respective countries but that doesn't mean they should get an IPL contract. Guptill is a great T20 player but his recent performances haven't been convincing.

You’re right.

Franchises pick players based on two things, their utility as a player and overall brand image. Now, Root is excellent player in test cricket, however he hasnt done anything in T20 arena to get noticed. Plus, Root isnt exactly crowd puller among Indian masses, which makes it even more difficult for him to secure a contract. With Guptil, he is relatively less known among us Indian fans even though he is very attacking batsman. From whatever limited chances he got in Ipl, he massively failed and couldnt leave upto the hype. IPL can be very unforgiving, which is why franchises are very reluctant to invest in someone like Guptil who had very low base price (Rs 50 lac?).

Now compared this with AbD who is quite popular among Indians and can play positively on Indian pitches. Same goes for Ben Stokes.

That is what NZCPA are saying, why not do this behind the closed doors and directly signing contracts with players like in football, footballers earn billions and there never has been auction for football leagues...
Draft may not work so try contracts and all that.

I also think contract system is better arrangement, however since doing behind close door would require lot of communication between players, players association, agents, boards, BCCI, IPL body, Franchises etc. Plus, a player would also feel he can get more if he is auctione. For instance, Rashid Khan was offered Rs 7 crore by SRH as a retainer, but he rejected think he would fetch more which he did. So, players also need to get into line in order for contract system to work.

Why should ipl have a draft and fix salaries? If a team is willing to pay someone 17cr why should that player be paid only 10cr? So that some players who arent picked up get a contract? NZCPA is bitter as obly 7 if its 24 members in the draft got picked. Some un capped Indians got huge money while capped foreigners didnot get a contract. You have to understand that auction works on demand and supply and thats how it should be.

IPL auctions have only been expanding to include uncapped foreigners first and then uncapped Indians. Thats a fair deal.

He is right though, fact is majority of non Indians aren’t even involved with IPL nor they follow it, and yet you see them passing judgement every other day. I also get where you coming, when you said analyzing the constructive criticism and providing proper feedback. I totally agree with you that those who have stake in IPL should be given a chance to provide proper constructive feedback, so it can get better in future.
But my only problem is, people who generally rubbishes IPL and do not even follow it are providing anything but constructive feedback, so acting upon those feedback isn’t smart thing to do, what you say?

As a business, IPL must look at suggestions from every corner and enetertain them on merit. Only suggestions questioning the very existence of the league should be brushed aside. Thats the prudent thing to do in business.

Are you making an assumption that NZCPA doesnt follow IPL? And hence its feedback isnt constructive? Because Joshila Sahab wasnt willing to listen to NZCPA and thats what i questioned.

As a business, IPL must look at suggestions from every corner and enetertain them on merit. Only suggestions questioning the very existence of the league should be brushed aside. Thats the prudent thing to do in business.

Are you making an assumption that NZCPA doesnt follow IPL? And hence its feedback isnt constructive? Because Joshila Sahab wasnt willing to listen to NZCPA and thats what i questioned.

Like I said, if he was following IPL for past 10 years, he should’ve noticed that auction is primary mode of player signing with franchises. Its not something started this year or last year. So, now all of a sudden he or his union have problem with auction suggest, he is either mad about something (maybe less number of NZ player getting selected) or just throwing tantrums for the sake of it. Had he suggested the same cricitism when he took over the office, then it wouldnt look sour grapes like it is now.

As for Business model, believe me when i say IPL is fastest growing league in the world. They are already ranked in top 10-20 best leagues in world. So, im sure they are doing just fine.

lol atleast try to understand

the issue this member seems to have is that in auction, players do not know where they are going. Same in draft

That's not the issue that has been raised. The issue is that players are sold like cattle, with a delegation of rich people buying and selling humans in an auction room. A draft is quite different to that, both the PSL draft or any other draft.

Then the IPL goes and publishes a list of unsold players, further adding to the humiliation.

I've always found the system to be the worst in all sport BUUUUT if many of these players want to sell their dignity for a price, why should we complain?

The good guys of Cricket have been acting quite uncharacteristically of late.

You’re partially right. We may seem money offered to players (both locals and international) are more than what they deserved, which may or may not be true. When you look at overall revenue generation of IPL which is closer to 650-700M per year including sponsors, and they are only paying 10% to players. Now, looking at those numbers, Id say players are actually being underpaid. IPL is successful because of the players, and they are only getting portion of the pie. Maybe down the road, players would get what no one had ever imagined they would be able to earn in cricket. Just look at Kohli, making $2.6M just playing IPL.

IPL revenue is irrelevant because players get paid by the franchises and not IPL. Paying millions for local Indian players is fine...they're the national heroes and all franchises want them..that is still justifiable (in some way). But for foreign players....I don't get why they pay a huge premium when they can only pay something around $50k-$75k more than what other leagues are offering. It's just my personal opinion though....franchises could save a further 10 to 15% of costs by cutting down these huge price tags they put on foreign players and use it for something else.

Like I said, if he was following IPL for past 10 years, he should’ve noticed that auction is primary mode of player signing with franchises. Its not something started this year or last year. So, now all of a sudden he or his union have problem with auction suggest, he is either mad about something (maybe less number of NZ player getting selected) or just throwing tantrums for the sake of it. Had he suggested the same cricitism when he took over the office, then it wouldnt look sour grapes like it is now.

Yes it doesnt look good that he didnt say a word in previous years but lets not shoot the messenger. This is the same guy who advocated a separate window for IPL few years back so he is a well wisher. He obviously has no problems with IPL itself. Just the auction process and we cant really accuse him of being disgruntled because only 7 NZ players were selected.

As for Business model, believe me when i say IPL is fastest growing league in the world. They are already ranked in top 10-20 best leagues in world. So, im sure they are doing just fine.

So? Whats the connection with my post?

Why? If International players who are as talented as indian players and performs well then they deserves better money.
Ab devilliers's central contract is much lesser
Than kohli/root/smith etc. Thanks to Ipl he gets money worthy of his skills.

You didn't get my post....it's not about why they're getting that. What I was saying was franchises can pay these foreign players less and still maintain the tag of highest paying league/franchise for these players. All you need is to pay $50 thousand more than other leagues and still be under what they spend today.

Evident from what? Do you have proof? Any document? Any statements from them where they have explicitly admitted it? Shouldn't claim something which we cant prove.

Where was NZCPA for last 10yrs? Only when the smallest NZ contingent will be playing the IPL they have problems.

Yes that doesnt look good on their part that they were silent for so many years but it still isnt proof enough to say they are simply disgruntled because of less kiwis selected. They only have problems with auction process, not the IPL. This NZCPA advocated a separate window for IPL few years back, surely they are friends of IPL.

By the way How many kiwis were playing last year?

You didn't get my post....it's not about why they're getting that. What I was saying was franchises can pay these foreign players less and still maintain the tag of highest paying league/franchise for these players. All you need is to pay $50 thousand more than other leagues and still be under what they spend today.
I don't agree.I think cricketers deserve better pay & IPL is rich enough to afford lot more higher pay in future.
in auction Some players gets lucky and earn more than what they worth and some unlucky players remain unsold.it's upto teams to decide which players they want.

Yes that doesnt look good on their part that they were silent for so many years but it still isnt proof enough to say they are simply disgruntled because of less kiwis selected. They only have problems with auction process, not the IPL. This NZCPA advocated a separate window for IPL few years back, surely they are friends of IPL.

By the way How many kiwis were playing last year?

I have to chk the number of kiwis last season but they were more. Guptill and Ferguson played last season plus the 7 this year. Thats from top of my head.

Draft means more chances of international players getting a contract as fixed salaries mean a Khaleel wont get 3-4cr.

Whole system also benefits players a lot because auctions drive up contracts a fair bit.

It happens after every 4 years. In draft, players are selected. In auction, they are sold. Massive difference both.

At least for American sports, the draft is a way to prevent teams from competing with each other and raising the money to be paid to the players.

In the NFL, the player is first selected by the team. Then the player (or rather his agent) negotiates the salary with the team. The player does not have the option of playing for another team.

The auction is more favorable to players than the draft.

Why should ipl have a draft and fix salaries? If a team is willing to pay someone 17cr why should that player be paid only 10cr? So that some players who arent picked up get a contract? NZCPA is bitter as obly 7 if its 24 members in the draft got picked. Some un capped Indians got huge money while capped foreigners didnot get a contract. You have to understand that auction works on demand and supply and thats how it should be.

IPL auctions have only been expanding to include uncapped foreigners first and then uncapped Indians. Thats a fair deal.

Isn't contract system a possibility, signing contracts with players like futball

When players don't have problem from last 10 years! what is CEO of NZCPA's problem here?

BCCI will not even bother to respond to such player associations, they will deal with respective Cricket boards only :srini

Its kinda like posting test results on notice board in college. Always loved that.

I think in this sense BPL has the best system in place, with its own set of flaws which BCCI would have fixed

In BPL, teams sign up with foreign players and local icons. This means that a player will get multiple offers from different teams and they will eventually go to the side that gives them the best offer. And at times, players can ask for increment in their price when they are in high demand. Now that would mean that a player like De Villiers would need to be paid around 1 to 1.2 million USD by the teams willing to be purchased by him, now if several teams offer 1.2 million, then the certain side more desperate will offer 1.3million USD.

Now auction has its merit and demerits but the issue is that some players eventually get more than they deserve and such.

Also in BPL, there is a draft where players will comparatively low price are drafted out, foreign players are brought for between 50k to 70k.

The issue with just having a draft is that some players of different demand will be bought for the same amount. Say for example, both Dhoni and Kohli would have been sold for 1million USD but to most teams Kohli is a bigger fish and they would be willing to pay more.

Anyways, I am not really bothered about the humiliating part, what is humiliating? Players signed up for this. If they don't like the IPL they can go to other leagues around the world. All these league pay more than good amount of money for a month's worth of T20 cricket.

Isn't contract system a possibility, signing contracts with players like futball

In first couple of seasons uncapped foreign and indian players were not in the auction but signed by franchisees on contract. The result was that the money they received was not that high.

Something like a mix of Draft and Contract system, i am short of ideas but since IPL management is planning to have something different; lets hope it disappoints niether fans nor players

If we go by monetary logic than a auction is the best way to find the market price. It will be a very poor step if uncapped Indian players miss out on big pays.

Reminds me a bit of the NFL Draft that is a reminder of the dark history of race relations of yesteryear.

People who follow IPL:

this auction system looks like a draft system; but draft system is only used for rookies while here it is being used for senior professionals as well and thats wrong; so I agree with NZ rep here

As someone who feels very strongly about dignified and fair treatment of employees i am glad that a prominent organization has decided to address this filthy display of money power in IPL. I truly believe it is a matter of huge shame for humanity when humans are auctioned like cattle (i don't support animal abuse either) in front of rich billionaires. What saddens my heart even more is the way so many ordinary Indians choose to defend this. Can we please put humanity over nationalism? As i write, the disparity between the rich and poor in India stands at its lowest point. 1% Indians today hold 73% of their country's wealth. What exactly is there to be celebrated about this?

Yours,
Bhaijaan.

As someone who feels very strongly about dignified and fair treatment of employees i am glad that a prominent organization has decided to address this filthy display of money power in IPL. I truly believe it is a matter of huge shame for humanity when humans are auctioned like cattle (i don't support animal abuse either) in front of rich billionaires. What saddens my heart even more is the way so many ordinary Indians choose to defend this. Can we please put humanity over nationalism? As i write, the disparity between the rich and poor in India stands at its lowest point. 1% Indians today hold 73% of their country's wealth. What exactly is there to be celebrated about this?

Yours,
Bhaijaan.

What is inhuman about auction ??