The Winds Of Winter by George RR Martin

GullyCricketFlop

When will this book be released?Martin's last book in this series was released way back in 2011 but it's been 7 years and there is still no definitive release date for TWoW.I just reread the 5 already published books and rewatched GoT but it's only made me want more.

And there is STILL another book after TWoW,called A Dream Of Spring.I hope Martin finishes up quickly.He is already 70.

The previous books(and their release dates)

A Game Of Thrones(1996)
A Clash Of Kings(1998)
A Storm Of Swords(2000)
A Feast for Crows(2005)
A Dance with Dragons(2011)

The series started before I was born and now I'm in my second year of University.

Quality work takes time to complete guys. Have patience. George RR Martin has a couple of people under his sleeve who can finish his book, if he passes away suddenly.

Most complete writer since Tolkien.

I feel your pain,although on a much smaller scale lol.I read the books after watching GoT and was amazed how much better they were.I just finished the last book 3 days ago.I went through then a week at a time.Can’t wait for Winds of Winter.I think it’ll be released just before the last season of GoT airs.I’ve also heard a rumor that Martin is writing both of the last books simultaneously and A Dream of Spring will release right after the last episode of S8.

You reread all the 5 books?

I respect your endurance. Never in my life have I ever finished a book from page 1 to last. I always stop reading somewhere in the middle. Irrespective of how interesting its content might be. I just don't have the stamina.

I have read the entire series including the spin off books at least 8-10 times already.

Quality work takes time to complete guys. Have patience. George RR Martin has a couple of people under his sleeve who can finish his book, if he passes away suddenly.

What makes you think he is a complete writer?There is so much of adaption of tragedy from Shakespeare in his books, even serving pies with ppl in it was from a Shakespeare play.

He is a good writer, complete writer don't think so.

Are nahi aa rahi yar ye. I have given up a long ago.

Bro jab tak wo zinda hai,umeed bhi zinda hai.I can’t imagine what it would have been like to become a fan in the very beginning,in 1996.Too much patience required.Maybe I still have hope because I’m a newer fan.

GRRM is good but JK Rowling is comfortably better.
Feast for crows was a snoozefest.

I have been an avid book reader since childhood.I've read almost every famous YA book series as well as many others.I finished Harry Potter when I was 10.

Rowling is fantastic but GRRM's world-building is phenomenal.Probably the best author alive in that regard.Second only to Tolkein from the material I've read.

I agree,Feast for Crows is the weakest in the series.

I had already read the books before the TV series was made, the interesting thing is, while the TV version was based on the books it seemed to have a lot more depth. Since they charged on ahead with the series because the writer couldn't keep up, the TV version seems to have dropped in quality as a result.

Not even sure I could be bothered reading the books now, the TV show will have spoiled it by the time they are released.

I think it's on record that Martin has forbidden anyone from completing his books if he dies before completing them.

Is it on record? That would make no sense considering they are going to be completed in some form anyway with the TV show coming to a conclusion soon.

https://www.themarysue.com/grrm-others-writing-got/

https://www.tor.com/2013/11/12/george-rr-martin-no-more-game-of-thrones/

He as decided that he doesn’t want anyone continuing the story in his absence, in the style of Ian Fleming or Robert Ludlum, because he’s too concerned about the quality of the stories. As he said:

“…history has shown us is eventually these literary rights pass to grandchildren or collateral descendants, or people who didn’t actually know the writer and don’t care about his wishes. It’s just a cash cow to them. And then we get abominations, to my mind, like Scarlett, the Gone with the Wind sequel.”

This is quite an old article though,maybe he has changed his mind.Also,the books and the show(especially S5-S7) have a lot of differences.

I am not sure if I am going to read the books now even if they come out.

I remember seeing that in one of his recent interview that came with Season 6 Blu-ray. He has 2 people in his team who are there to complete his work if he dies.

Rowling is a kid's writer. None of her adult books are anywhere close to Asoiaf series. She is amazing at world building but the Harry Potter series has one single Point of View, pretty one dimensional characters (except someone like Snape or Dumbledore) and pretty much playing it safe (everyone marries their school friends, seriously how often does that happen in real life?).

I know growing up with a series clouds your judgement, for a long time Enid Blyton was my favorite writer and I thought she was the Bee's Knees

I remember seeing that in one of his recent interview that came with Season 6 Blu-ray. He has 2 people in his team who are there to complete his work if he dies.

Nope, GRRM is very clear, he doesn't want anyone else to write for him

I hope he completes quickly so that we and HBO can move on from game of thrones to another different epic fantasy book adaption show.

HBO is gonna go through with the show regardless of whether Martin finishes the books or not.

If you guy's think GRRM is the best world builder, you haven't read much high fantasy.

Read Robin Hobb's Farseer Trilogy, Liveship Traders, The Tawny Man etc if you want to see what world building is.

What makes you think he is a complete writer?There is so much of adaption of tragedy from Shakespeare in his books, even serving pies with ppl in it was from a Shakespeare play.

He is a good writer, complete writer don't think so.

By that definition, nobody is a complete writer. Shakespeare lifted a lot of stylistic elements from Francis Bacon and storytelling style from Virgil.
All authors do- as the saying goes, there are no truly original authors. Good authors are ones who can create an unique feel by cut-pasting other author's stuff in an unique fashion.

By that definition, nobody is a complete writer. Shakespeare lifted a lot of stylistic elements from Francis Bacon and storytelling style from Virgil.
All authors do- as the saying goes, there are no truly original authors. Good authors are ones who can create an unique feel by cut-pasting other author's stuff in an unique fashion.

Stylist elements is different from taking a plot.

Every plot is bit part taken from somewhere or another.
Think of writing as a jigsaw puzzle of character archetypes, plot styles etc. All authors, good and bad- just create their own jigsaw out of the existing blocks.

Have you read the post-constructionist essay by Roland Barthes “The Death of the Author” - very influential and interesting, Barthes essentially argues that current writing is the product of other past writing, which was itself the product of other past writing, and so on; it posits each item of literature as the end result of all relevant art, culture and history leading up to the moment it was written. In literary theory I would say that the idea of an author as one ingenious mind is now dead.

It was never going to either way.
:facepalm: And to think that we have two books left to come out.

He's writing books about Westerosi history and Targaryen history instead of finishing the main series :facepalm:

He should have written those books after ASOIAF.He's already 70

He's writing books about Westerosi history and Targaryen history instead of finishing the main series :facepalm:

He should have written those books after ASOIAF.He's already 70

I think you are talking about Dunk and Egg Novellas? Well they are fantastic too but yes the priority should be given to finishing the main project first.
If I'm not wrong He has 3 more left before he finishes off the spin off series.

I think you are talking about Dunk and Egg Novellas? Well they are fantastic too but yes the priority should be given to finishing the main project first.
If I'm not wrong He has 3 more left before he finishes off the spin off series.

No no,I'm talking about 'A World of Ice and Fire' and this new Targaryen history series,'Fire and Blood'.

What incentive is left for the author to finish these books anyways?

He has (literally) lost the plot. His world has become too big for him to handle.

I just hope he lives long enough to see the success of his final books. He is taking too long and age is not on his side.

Looks like he's lost the passion to write after becoming filthy rich.

After the awful last 2 seasons of the show, more people than ever want to read the last books

Understand from fans’ perspective but GRR is 70 now and already has made millions.

And he hasn’t shown any strong commitment toward finishing the series from the beginning anyways (even before show came around). I wouldn’t count on it one bit.

25 years since the first book came out. This series was never going to be completed.

I already feel like i wasted a lot of time by investing myself in his story and the show, his half hearted attempt at tying the knots and completing the books is only exacerbating it. Dont even need to talk about how bad the last season was, it is quite plain to see that he has written himself into a corner that he doesn't know how to get out of now.

He wrote himself into a corner in ADWD but with most POV characters converging, you'd have thought the story would move quicker in Winds.

Understand from fans’ perspective but GRR is 70 now and already has made millions.

And he hasn’t shown any strong commitment toward finishing the series from the beginning anyways (even before show came around). I wouldn’t count on it one bit.

The first 3 books took 2 years each.

If GRRM had gone along with the original outline,the story would have moved much quicker. But he introduced new plot points and POV characters, which led to his last 2 books being so slow. Even those two books basically took place at the same time, separated geographically.