They had written India’s name as winners at innings break: Inzamam-ul-Haq

Former Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq narrated his experience of playing an ODI against India in 2004 at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata which was specially organised by BCCI to mark their Platinum Jubilee celebrations.

“India had invited Pakistan for the celebrations of platinum jubilee of BCCI. It was organised in a grand style. Former players from Pakistan were invited, politicians were also there. Imran Khan was there. BCCI had invited all Indian captains. When the first innings ended, they made them take rounds of the ground in small batches,” Inzamam said on his YouTube channel.

India after opting to bat first had posted a formidable 292 for six. Virender Sehwag had scored 53 and Sourav Ganguly and VVS Laxman scored important runs but it was a strokeful innings from Yuvraj Singh (78 off 62) that propelled India to a good total.

Inzamam said such a big target at the Eden Gardens had never been chased before and the organizers were so confident that they had written India’s name on the trophy during the innings break itself.

“So there was a lot of pressure for that match. BCCI had arranged for a big trophy for the winners. India won the toss and batted first. They scored 292 for six. 293 was never chased before there. I remember they wrote India as the winners of the platinum jubilee cup. They were so confident because they had a very good team. India always had a good team. That score had never been chased there before so they were confident of winning. The celebrations began at lunchtime,” Inzamam said.

But as it turned out, Pakistan ended up winning the match comfortably by six wickets and an over to spare. Salman Butt was the star with an unbeaten 108 off 130 balls with significant contributions from Shoaib Malik (61 off 55) and captain Inzamam (75 off 75).

“It was just one match so the pressure was much more. The second big pressure was of Imran Khan, who was watching the match from our dressing room. I have played under Imran bhai. He had kind of taken over captaincy. Salman Butt was batting with me. He suffered cramps. So a teammate came running in with a message. I thought I’m the captain who is sending me messages. He told me that Imran bhai has said Salman Butt is having troubles with his hamstring. Tell him to retire hurt, take treatment and then go back onto the field. I sent Salman back. He came back and scored a hundred.”

“I remember Younis Khan who was our best at that moment had got out for a duck in the chase. Shoaib Malik and Salman Butt put together a good partnership and then I walked in when Malik got out. I took time in the beginning, couldn’t score freely in the first 30-40 balls but gradually upped by scoring rate. Salman at the other end was playing really well. He scored a hundred,” recalled the former Pakistan captain.

Inzamam also hailed the crowd at Eden Gardens.

“In Calcutta 1 lakh people watch the match. They make a lot of noise for their home side. 15-20 thousand had come to watch us practice a couple of days before the match,” he added.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...bilee-match/story-nL4qV9tc9gKeawKApfJWIP.html

We were a very good chasing side under Inzamam, who in particular was instrumental in nearly every big run chase during the 2004-2007 period.

For me that was the last time we were any good in ODI cricket. We have been awful since.

We were a very good chasing side under Inzamam, who in particular was instrumental in nearly every big run chase during the 2004-2007 period.

For me that was the last time we were any good in ODI cricket. We have been awful since.

Champions Trophy 2017 was the peak though.

This was one game I thought we would never win!

I remember that game.

Salman Butt batted slowly but he set up the chase for Pakistan.

Fast forward to 2013, we lost to Pakistan at Eden Gardens again. Couldn't chase 250.

A bogey ground for us.

I remember this game! I think this was the hundred where Salman Butt ma have been fasting, which would explain the dehydration cramps. Inzi was the absolutely master of the odi chase. Nothing seemed impossible when you had Inzi in your side.

Khan's nous about cricket and his instinct was fantastic and this just shows in Inzi's narration. Truly an ATG.

Inzi didn't select a lot of new players in his captaincy but I think he did a good job as captain. As mentioned we were a good ODI team under him especially when we had to chase. We are mostly rubbish at chasing but Inzi and Woolmer did well in chases.

Inzi couldnt bat nor lead in competations where it mattered more.

2007 world cup he didnt contribute, i think he also did nothing in the champions trophy aswell.

Inzi couldnt bat nor lead in competations where it mattered more.

2007 world cup he didnt contribute, i think he also did nothing in the champions trophy aswell.

Seriously? Have you forgotten 1992 WC? He was one of the main reasons for us winning the cup. Something players like Misbah can only dream with ZERO centuries in ODI cricket.

92 world cup 92 world cup. Inzi had a career after that. yes he did something in the semi final agianst nz.

However, after that the guy did nothing. He played like 35 world cup matches and a few champions trophy ones. Avg in the low 20s.

Great player for series, but when it came to ICC events, the guy was poor and couldn't bat

Didn't remember this game, had to check the scorecard, Afridi bowled well there it seems., 10-0-29-2 (wickets of Sehawag & Laxman, excellent players of spin) on high scoring match.. BTW why didn't he open the innings there?

Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan is considered to be a powerful personality. Well before he had turned to politics, he was one of the most influential cricketers going around in world cricket, let alone Pakistan. Under his captaincy, Pakistan won their maiden and till date only ODI World Cup back in 1992. Explaining what an impact Imran had over Pakistan cricket, former captain Inzamam-ul-Haq revealed how the former all-rounder had in away taken over the captaincy from him during a match against India in 2004.

Inzamam was talking about BCCI’s Platinum Jubilee match in which the Indian board had invited Pakistan for an ODI to celebrate the occasion in 2004. The match took place in front of a large crowd in Eden Gardens Kolkata.

Noted former cricketers from both India and Pakistan were invited along with politicians and leaders.

Inzamam, who was the captain of Pakistan in that match said there was a lot of pressure on his team not only because of the occasion and atmosphere but also because of the presence of former captain Imran in their dressing room.

India after opting to bat first had posted a formidable 292 for six. Virender Sehwag had scored 53 and Sourav Ganguly and VVS Laxman scored important runs but it was strokeful innings from Yuvraj Singh (78 off 62) that propelled India to a good total.

Inzamam said Imran had sent out a message for him during the drinks break of Pakistan’s chase.

“It was just only one match so the pressure was much more. The second big pressure was of Imran Khan, who was watching the match from our dressing room. I have played under Imran bhai.

“He had kind of taken over captaincy. Salman Butt was batting with me. He suffered cramps. So a teammate came running in with a message. I thought I’m the captain who is sending me messages. He told me that Imran bhai has said Salman Butt is having troubles with his hamstring, tell him to retire hurt, take treatment and then go back onto the field. I sent Salman back. He came back after treatment and scored a hundred,” said Inzamam on his YouTube channel.

Pakistan ended up winning the match comfortably by six wickets and an over to spare. Salman Butt was the star with an unbeaten 108 off 130 balls with significant contributions from Shoaib Malik (61 off 55) and captain Inzamam 75 off 75.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...dia-in-2004/story-7FulvpQXIQfhCeOaFkBktM.html

Well India has always been arrogant even though they are poor at everything.same thing happened in that aane doh series.Sharam magar inko Nahi aati

Didn't remember this game, had to check the scorecard, Afridi bowled well there it seems., 10-0-29-2 (wickets of Sehawag & Laxman, excellent players of spin) on high scoring match.. BTW why didn't he open the innings there?

Afridi bowled well especially to Sehwag. Butt and Younis opened followed by Malik Youhanna and Inzy...

Well India has always been arrogant even though they are poor at everything.same thing happened in that aane doh series.Sharam magar inko Nahi aati

Poor at everything? I can see you being arrogant here.
Your name has Invincible:ua

Afridi bowled well especially to Sehwag. Butt and Younis opened followed by Malik Youhanna and Inzy...

I see that but isn't Afridi was a regular opener under Inzi/Woolmer time? I was asking why he didn't opened there..

Inzamam is mostly very respectful but I didn't like the youtube title for this video. It said kaise Pakistan ne Bharat ko Dhul Chatayi. Not very appropriate and very unbecoming of Inzamam.

Clearly, these YouTube accounts are managed by some company who do the editing and posting. Wonder if players bother to check these boastful and tasteless captions

Inzamam is mostly very respectful but I didn’t like the youtube title for this video. It said kaise Pakistan ne Bharat ko Dhul Chatayi. Not very appropriate and very unbecoming of Inzamam.

Clearly, these YouTube accounts are managed by some company who do the editing and posting. Wonder if players bother to check these boastful and tasteless captions

It was changed later, I think.

Looks like a clickbait attempt by the managing company.

I miss the time when we used to go to India and smash them there. Ghar mein ghus ke.

Just like Aane do series

:ua

Those were the days when malik was batting up the order , thus Pakistan batting had a good depth , Woolmer used to push certain players up , so that he can have proper batters down the order , who could milk the bowlers .

And after that WC he averaged less than 25. Truly embarrassing

@MenInG @Saj

I wanted to bump this thread to just remind the fans of this generation how tough the previous generation cricketers were and that they too didn’t have it easy while touring Bharat.

The Platinum jubilee match was played in front of 90,000 Bengal fans and there was pin drop silence when Salman Butt was hitting boundaries. There was no support for the Pakistan teams, there was no Dil Dil Pakistan being played in the stadium, absolutely nothing but they showed incredible fighting spirit amd guts that night to pull off a spectacular win what was at that time a very good first inning score in a one off match.

From that generation to today when a white skin foreign coach is trying to divert attention from his teams poor show to the DH not playing their favorite songs. This change in attitude is sad to see.

The Miandad, Inzamam,, Shoaib Akhtar from the old generation did not give a damn about all this.

images
It was an iconic match and no one was bothered by Salman Butt’s sajda as no political statements were ever associated with it. We all expected that.

That one fluke innings?

Inzy has a tailender average in world cups. He was that atrocious.