Things to do in Islamabad

babajee

One of my friends is going soon as part of his trip to Pakistan.

Any places you guys would recommend to see and things to do? [MENTION=143023]SarfiBabarHaris[/MENTION] [MENTION=141922]ExpressPacer[/MENTION] [MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] and anyone else.

As a Lahori, I have no idea :ssmith

Its a pretty boring city. Nothing exciting to do there. In Pakistan, majority of enjoyment surrounds around food and thats all they have. Visit restaurants I guess. And usual places like Faisal mosque and Monal up there in the hills.

One of my friends is going soon as part of his trip to Pakistan.

Any places you guys would recommend to see and things to do? [MENTION=143023]SarfiBabarHaris[/MENTION] [MENTION=141922]ExpressPacer[/MENTION] [MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] and anyone else.

As a Lahori, I have no idea :ssmith

Monal at night
Hike to peer sohawa through trail 3 or trail 5 (approximate 2 hours hike in summers and 1:15 minutes in winter)
Centaurus Mall
Pakistan Monument
Saidpur Village
Faisal Mosque
Rawal Dam and lake view park
F-9 park for relaxaion and walking/jogging
And early morning 25 minute hike to Daman e Koh from Zoo if he is interested in nature and complete peace.

These are some good places to visit. He will get a nice view of Islamabad from both Monal and Daman e Koh. If no fog then he will live the view.

Baqi Islamabad used to be a bit dull when it comes to food but now we have some cool eating places too but that depends what he likes and with whom he is going either with family or friends and what kind of a guy he is.

Mahol dekhna hai to us mai bhi depend krta hai banda kaisa hai ;)

Also agr randomly drive krna hai to he can drive in newly built E and D sectors which are just beside the Margalla Hills or better would be to drive on Margalla road.

For crowded places and to get a feel of the city drive from G-10 markaz to Karachi company then to Jinnah super F-7 and from there to Super Market F-6.

If he is a nerdy kinda guy then he should visit new NUST H-12 campus which is pretty cool for a Pakistani university.

Its a pretty boring city. Nothing exciting to do there. In Pakistan, majority of enjoyment surrounds around food and thats all they have. Visit restaurants I guess. And usual places like Faisal mosque and Monal up there in the hills.

well actually its not, it doesnt have a great taste but if u the person is looking for beauty and greenery islamabad is just the right place

Islamabad needs a lot of work done when it comes to excitement. Being our capital city the government needs to liven things up there.

Islamabad is the best city in Pakistan. Clean, beautiful and organised. There is a lot of things to do; including visiting the museum (amazing!), hiking, going to places such as Lake View. The food is nice too; you could check out Butt Karahi . There is also a Mian Jee on the way to Islamabad. Islamabad itself offers many great places to eat!

Islamabad is the best. Along with Wah it is the nicest city in Pakistan for everyday life.

Islamabad itself offers many great places to eat!

As an Islamabadian wouldn't have agreed with this 10 years back but its true now.

I have lived in Faislabad , Karachi and Lahore too (and for good period not just few weeks) and we are catching up in terms of food places.
But downside is we are losing our greenery for which Islamabad was/is famous.

is Islamabad the cleanest and most modern city in Pak? From the pictures that I have seen, it looks so pristine and beautiful. Yes pictures can be deceiving but it does look like a good city to live in.

[MENTION=138692]hamid.s[/MENTION]

No doubt Islamabad is the best city in PAK.

Abbottabad is also beautiful

[MENTION=138692]hamid.s[/MENTION]

No doubt Islamabad is the best city in PAK.

Abbottabad is also beautiful

cool. it just looks very different from the rest of other Pak or even subcontinental cities. would love to visit it someday inshaAllah when the overall situation improves.

Situation is good now, but yeah hopefully the relations between both countries improve and we can travel freely.