"This is not something that we take lightly as a team" : Faf du Plessis

The Proteas have forgiven Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed for the controversial taunt he directed at Andile Phehlukwayo during the second ODI at Kingsmead in Durban on Tuesday.

But Proteas captain Faf du Plessis added that they have left the matter in the hands of the International Cricket Council (ICC).

The ICC are looking into the matter after they received a detailed report from the officials who handled the match and an announcement on whether Ahmed will take to the field in the third match at Centurion on Friday will be made soon.

“We forgive him because he said sorry‚” said Du Plessis on Thursday.

“He has apologised and taken responsibility for it‚ it is out of our hands and ICC will have to deal with it now.

"When you come to South Africa‚ you have to be very careful when you go to racial comments.

"I am sure he didn’t mean it like that but he has taken responsibility and we will have to see what the outcome of that is going to be.

"This is not something that we take lightly as a team‚ but the fact that he apologised straightaway means there is regret from his part.”

Ahmed was caught by the stump microphone saying in Urdu about Phehlukwayo: “Abey kaale‚ teri ammi aaj kahaan baitheen hain? Kya parwa ke aaye hai aaj?"

The comment was later translated as: “"Hey black guy‚ where's your mother sitting today? What [prayer] have you got her to say for you today?"

The Pakistan captain has received widespread condemnation back home in Pakistan and here in South Africa after the racial remarks.

Part of his apology said: “I wish to extend my sincere apologies to any person who may have taken offence from my expression of frustration which was unfortunately caught by the stump mic during yesterday’s game against SA.

"My words were not directed towards anyone in particular.”

Pakistan fast bowler Shaheen Afridi and two officials declined to comment on the matter on Thursday afternoon before training at SuperSport Park.

https://www.timeslive.co.za/sport/c...or-controversial-taunt-at-andile-phehlukwayo/

As expected. Nicely done to diffuse the situation. Funny part is they asked Shaheen for a comment. Poor kid :))

He was sent to the pre-match presser - the manager should have made a short statement before the presser and clarified issue.

Gotcha. At this point anything beyond a couple of demerit points from ICC would be a disproportionate response. The players and boards have sorted this out.

I appreciate his regret and give him the benefit of doubt but Sarfaraz cannot remain the captain of Pakistan after this debacle.

I for one, still think that the PCB should have vaccinated Sarfraz by banning him for a couple of ODIs. It would have sent a great gesture. While the apology is good, but it doesn't and shouldn't affect punishment, as this would set a precedent because players would go down this road only to apologize later without any repercussions.

As for sarfraz, i think he should zip his mouth shut and talk with his performance. i.e as a captain wicketkeeper and as a batsman. He chickened out in last ODI instead of leading from the front. It won't be a bad idea for him to open, due to fielding restrictions, and have a solid batsman like Shan Masood in to consolidate our middle order. With Amir in place of Hussain Talat, The 2nd ODI team would be as good as it gets until Haris Sohail can be fit again, who should then replace Hafeez.

I was thinking about making a thread titled: "Sarafaraz does not have to be a non-racist to lead Pakistan". Will have to pass now, I guess 😕

Gotcha. At this point anything beyond a couple of demerit points from ICC would be a disproportionate response. The players and boards have sorted this out.

Not at all.

Sarfraz said a racial remark which is a represtation of you and your nation. He said it in another language because he thought he could get away with it. It was meant in a derogatory way.

Race relations in Sourh Africa of all places where apartheid is only decades old is no small matter. Mandela went to jail due to race relations and his beliefs.

Comments like these show how little respect Sarfraz has for what these types of slurs truly mean. One can feign on innocence and that Sarfraz is not as learned on the subject, however he is no small player, he is the captain of your nation.

Steven Smirh and his cheating is no different to me than blatant racism towards your opponents.

If in my job I said something like that, I would be fired immediately and one can have charges pressed on them for human rights violations with regard to prejudicial comments based on creed or colour.

We may sit and say that Sarfraz didn't mean it, but then we are giving too much benefit of doubt and giving him the ignorance card too easily.

On one side he is a tactician and a wizard of the field to some (not me) and to others he isn't smart enough to realize his comments are offensive.

Facts are that he said it in Urdu so as to not be caught.

There should be some matches lost to this and a major fine. If not, then PCB doesn't see the magnitude of what was said.

If he said it in English, wouldn't the opponents react on field? So that means saying it in Urdu, Sarfraz thought he could be sneaky with his derogatory remarks.

Shameful stuff.

Coupled with his performance, or just purely because of this?

So who should be captain , Faheem Ashraf ? or Shaheen Afridi ?

Purely because of this. His performance as a wicket-keeper and captain has been satisfactory, in my opinion.

I think Shoaib Malik would make for a good LOI captain. Pakistan don't play tests until October so that appointment can be delayed for the time being.

Purely because of this. His performance as a wicket-keeper and captain has been satisfactory, in my opinion.

I think Shoaib Malik would make for a good LOI captain. Pakistan don't play tests until October so that appointment can be delayed for the time being.

It's not that bad, in my opinion.

Malik is 36 though. You guys need a Graeme Smith type youngster to come in and lead for 10 years. Then again, I reckon your rebuilding phase will be quite extensive after the WC.

Not at all.

Sarfraz said a racial remark which is a represtation of you and your nation. He said it in another language because he thought he could get away with it. It was meant in a derogatory way.

Race relations in Sourh Africa of all places where apartheid is only decades old is no small matter. Mandela went to jail due to race relations and his beliefs.

Comments like these show how little respect Sarfraz has for what these types of slurs truly mean. One can feign on innocence and that Sarfraz is not as learned on the subject, however he is no small player, he is the captain of your nation.

Steven Smirh and his cheating is no different to me than blatant racism towards your opponents.

If in my job I said something like that, I would be fired immediately and one can have charges pressed on them for human rights violations with regard to prejudicial comments based on creed or colour.

We may sit and say that Sarfraz didn't mean it, but then we are giving too much benefit of doubt and giving him the ignorance card too easily.

On one side he is a tactician and a wizard of the field to some (not me) and to others he isn't smart enough to realize his comments are offensive.

There should be some matches lost to this and a major fine. If not, then PCB doesn't see the magnitude of what was said.

If he said it in English, wouldn't the opponents react on field? So that means saying it in Urdu, Sarfraz thought he could be sneaky with his derogatory remarks.

Shameful stuff.

Look at this from a different perspective. Similar comment from someone from Caucasian countires would have been taken more seriously. People from IndoPak heritage have been subjected to rasicm in SA along with the ethnic black population. From that context, it hasn't blown as some would have expected. Add to that the common knowledge that he isn't a racist helps. His apology and some background backing from Arthur who is a south African would have helped diffuse the situation. I standby my assessment that he doesnt deserve anything more than a couple of demerit points now that the players and boards have recconciled.

The fact that Sarfraz said it in Urdu is the only reason why he's not undergoing major emergency maxillo-facial surgery as I'm sure he would have had that cricket bat fed to him!!

Acting holier than thou. Pathetic. Sarfraz has done nothing wrong. Let's crush these moaning cretins tomorrow.

Look at this from a different perspective. Similar comment from someone from Caucasian countires would have been taken more seriously. People from IndoPak heritage have been subjected to rasicm in SA along with the ethnic black population. From that context, it hasn't blown as some would have expected. Add to that the common knowledge that he isn't a racist helps. His apology and some background backing from Arthur who is a south African would have helped diffuse the situation. I standby my assessment that he doesnt deserve anything more than a couple of demerit points now that the players and boards have recconciled.

There is so much to unpack here.

Firstly, the background being Pakistani is irrelevant. Racism is racism. There was no apartheid in Pakistan.

What common knowledge is that he isn't a racist? His comments are racist...

Backing from Arthur, what does that mean? The amount of Americans who say racist things and then get another famous African-American to say they aren't racist, just YouTube or google it.

Very odd comments.

I didn't really expect SA or ICC to react sharply. But PCB should have handled it differently.

Yes, PCB should have taken the initiative. By giving Sarfaraz a 3 match ban. Waiting for ICC is not a good idea, because ICC can give a much harsher punishment like a 6 month ban or something

Not at all.

Shameful stuff.
Seems to me you haven't been to Pakistan, nor do you know anything about the psyche of the people living there. What Sarfraz said, must have been said by a lot of people based in Pakistan here on this very forum. The same people who are acting holier than thou and bashing Sarfraz to fit in with the 'cool' anti-racist crowd. This is pretty common in Pakistan, and unfortunately a lot of dark-skinned individuals in our country face these taunts consistently.

Also kudos to thinking that Sarfraz meant it as a racial taunt and thought he would get away with it because he said it in his own language. That's some high level nonsense. I would like you to explain the meaning of 'racial taunts' to a common Pakistani from a humble background, when he/she calls a dark-skinned individual 'habshi' or 'kaala'.

However, since Sarfraz is the captain on the field. He should have had the sense to not act like a gully mohalla chokra and act with dignity on the cricket field.

Seems to me you haven't been to Pakistan, nor do you know anything about the psyche of the people living there. What Sarfraz said, must have been said by a lot of people based in Pakistan here on this very forum. The same people who are acting holier than thou and bashing Sarfraz to fit in with the 'cool' anti-racist crowd. This is pretty common in Pakistan, and unfortunately a lot of dark-skinned individuals in our country face these taunts consistently.

Also kudos to thinking that Sarfraz meant it as a racial taunt and thought he would get away with it because he said it in his own language. That's some high level nonsense. I would like you to explain the meaning of 'racial taunts' to a common Pakistani from a humble background, when he/she calls a dark-skinned individual 'habshi' or 'kaala'.

However, since Sarfraz is the captain on the field. He should have had the sense to not act like a gully mohalla chokra and act with dignity on the cricket field.

Bro understand this.

What you say at home or to your friends is not usually repeated in your office or formal environments. An international cricket match where we are told that our players are like our ambassadors is NOT the place for such language or style.

If it was a white player making such ignorant and racist comments then any decent person would be in uproar!

So we are now in a situation where not only are our national team players needing to be taught how to play the game which they are supposed to know at this level BUT they now need to be educated in the basics of human respect in public (what you do and say in your own privacy is your business).

It was only a matter of time that his barking - bullying of his own team players would eventually and hopefully be this opportunist's own downfall!

We want blood : Purge, World Cup Year :97: Sarfraz must be sacked and dropped from PCT in 3 formats.

But, I don't mind PCB calling him back as Captain next year against us in Test Championship series.;-)

Yes, PCB should have taken the initiative. By giving Sarfaraz a 3 match ban. Waiting for ICC is not a good idea, because ICC can give a much harsher punishment like a 6 month ban or something

It was an opportunity to show they are being proactive with handling misbehavior from its own players. Since SA didn't make a big deal out of it, PCB might not be under scanner as much as they should. But this has been a pattern. They first delay and they come up with a lame statement.

There is so much to unpack here.

Firstly, the background being Pakistani is irrelevant. Racism is racism. There was no apartheid in Pakistan.

What common knowledge is that he isn't a racist? His comments are racist...

Backing from Arthur, what does that mean? The amount of Americans who say racist things and then get another famous African-American to say they aren't racist, just YouTube or google it.

Very odd comments.

The background is relevant and is what saved him. Imagine Warner saying this. There would have been an outrage from SA team management. He's just an ignorant fool. It's not like he's playing against these players for the first time either. They all know each other well. I believe Arthur had a role to play in explaining things over and SA team accepted the apology. Case closed and now onto ICC who I hope don't over react.

Ah the lovely "you haven't experienced, therefore you don't know rebuttal".

I have been to Pakistan. Many times.

He said it in Urdu, anyone I know who has to switch languages to say something, said it with clear vitriol and talking about his mother, is usually doing it as a taunt. It was a taunt.

You're justifying wrong.

So, Faf disappointed some desperate Pakistani fans, who were waiting for some miracle.

Bro understand this.

What you say at home or to your friends is not usually repeated in your office or formal environments. An international cricket match where we are told that our players are like our ambassadors is NOT the place for such language or style.
Which is why I agree with disciplining Sarfraz. I mentioned in my last statement that, as a captain, he should have been responsible and kept his mouth shut, whatever mailay thoughts he was having.

However, the racist accusations against Sarfraz are laughable from this poster. I'm certain someone in the team management would have had to explain to him, what exactly he did wrong here to be vilified to the extent he has been.

The background is relevant and is what saved him. Imagine Warner saying this. There would have been an outrage from SA team management. He's just an ignorant fool. It's not like he's playing against these players for the first time either. They all know each other well. I believe Arthur had a role to play in explaining things over and SA team accepted the apology. Case closed and now onto ICC who I hope don't over react.

See the problem here is that you're giving Sarfraz all the credit in the world and not thinking there was contempt. He spoke about skin colour and his mother. Doesn't sound like a taunt to you?

Racism is racism whether you are any colour. This is such a poor cop out that he is desi, therefore it's not racist.

The perpetuation of this narrative is a bit scary.

Arthur explaining it once again is no different than when a racist remark has been said by an actor and they go to Al Sharpton to apologize.

Our captain said it on the field of play as a representation of our nation. The accepting of our apology should not mean PCB should not take action.

Ah the lovely "you haven't experienced, therefore you don't know rebuttal".

I have been to Pakistan. Many times.

He said it in Urdu, anyone I know who has to switch languages to say something, said it with clear vitriol and talking about his mother, is usually doing it as a taunt. It was a taunt.

You're justifying wrong.
Your post shows a clear lack of understanding, sorry. You might have been to Pakistan, but you don't understand the psyche of the common man there. Calling someone 'habshi' or 'kaalay' is trivial to say the least, and no one understands the racial undertones to those two words.

Sarfraz has the psyche of a common launda from Karachi. He just so happens to be the captain of our national cricket team, which is why the furore over this issue is justified.

I'm quite confident he didn't intend to racially abuse Phehlukwayo. I mean come on :facepalm:

Have patience you cant keep changing captains on yearly basis at the end team will no where

It's not that bad, in my opinion.

Malik is 36 though. You guys need a Graeme Smith type youngster to come in and lead for 10 years. Then again, I reckon your rebuilding phase will be quite extensive after the WC.

Malik will be a transitional captain. Unless he wins us the WC that is.

Have patience you cant keep changing captains on yearly basis at the end team will no where

Ideally, Sarfaraz would have stayed until the WC at least. However, his comments have sealed his fate.

Your post shows a clear lack of understanding, sorry. You might have been to Pakistan, but you don't understand the psyche of the common man there. Calling someone 'habshi' or 'kaalay' is trivial to say the least, and no one understands the racial undertones to those two words.

Sarfraz has the psyche of a common launda from Karachi. He just so happens to be the captain of our national cricket team, which is why the furore over this issue is justified.

I'm quite confident he didn't intend to racially abuse Phehlukwayo. I mean come on :facepalm:

Again, thinking something isn't racist, doesn't make it racist.

The irony of hubris and the lack thereof with regard to any reason.

If I was Sarfraz, I would go up to the SA team, apologize and explain why my taunt was not a racial slur and how certain things can be misinterpreted in a different culture.

I don't think social media is the best way to apologize in this case.

Anyway, I hope the focus shifts back to cricket soon because this is where it should end. It was a mistake due to the ignorance of a person, nothing else.

If I was Sarfraz, I would go up to the SA team, apologize and explain why my taunt was not a racial slur and how certain things can be misinterpreted in a different culture.

I don't think social media is the best way to apologize in this case.

Anyway, I hope the focus shifts back to cricket soon because this is where it should end. It was a mistake due to the ignorance of a person, nothing else.

Am sure he has done that in private and was probably accompanied by Mickey Arthur - am just guessing.

I hope so too. Mickey is probably the best person to lead mission damage control. He understands both the cultures and should feel the responsibility to diffuse the situation.

If it was a white player making such ignorant and racist comments then any decent person would be in uproar!

So we are now in a situation where not only are our national team players needing to be taught how to play the game which they are supposed to know at this level BUT they now need to be educated in the basics of human respect in public (what you do and say in your own privacy is your business).

It was only a matter of time that his barking - bullying of his own team players would eventually and hopefully be this opportunist's own downfall!
Your last para really sums up Sarfraz as a human being. Opportunist and a bully. Totally agree.

Diplomatic stuff by SA, even so sarfraz needs to be banned.

Faf saying they aren’t taking this lightly. So I’m assuming that some of the other black players I’m the SA team aren’t happy. But we had posters on here laughing at these comments. I did say others could be offended by Sarfraz stupidity.

Please sack him asap. Should be sacked for his performance anyway.

Expect Andile and SA to come at us all guns blazing with a stellar performance.:faf

Sarfraz should not play further in this series - it's up to PCB, if they want to sack him or not permanently; but to defuse the situation, they should have called their Captain back. It'll be uncomfortable for Sarfraz as well to lead the side with multiple non white players in SAF XI.

And again, Sarfraz is being protected only because he is Captain - had he been an ordinary (non Captain) member of the squad, no way he would have played further in this Series at least.

Kavi, kavi to lagta hai ke PAK's National Treasure has changed vault ....................

Sarfraz should not play further in this series - it's up to PCB, if they want to sack him or not permanently; but to defuse the situation, they should have called their Captain back. It'll be uncomfortable for Sarfraz as well to lead the side with multiple non white players in SAF XI.

And again, Sarfraz is being protected only because he is Captain - had he been an ordinary (non Captain) member of the squad, no way he would have played further in this Series at least.

Kavi, kavi to lagta hai ke PAK's National Treasure has changed vault ....................

What do you think about ICC ban? can they do take action now ?

ICC won't intervene, unless it's essential. Probably, they'll wait to see what PCB does; but I don't expect them to be too strict here. It's not ICC's responsibility to safe guard PAK cricket's interest - PCB should know from the Fixing saga in UK, what are the possible consequences if they start to ignore irresponsible acts/comments from their office bearers, captains, coaches or players and irritate every Cricket board one by one.

PCB will not take any actions,take my words.

Faf saying they aren’t taking this lightly. So I’m assuming that some of the other black players I’m the SA team aren’t happy. But we had posters on here laughing at these comments. I did say others could be offended by Sarfraz stupidity.

Please sack him asap. Should be sacked for his performance anyway.

Not happy about being called black?

Are you offended if you are called Asian. SA always want to be the victims.

His poor performance as a batsman and as a captain has made it worse even worse for him. If Misbah or even Afridi had said what Sarfaraz said, overall reaction would have been milder.

You are confusing "Addressing" and "Identifying" someone. Not many people will be offended if someone identified them by their Race.
For Ex: The tall Black Man or A Chinese guy was looking for you.

But if you look at a Black Man and say "Hey Black Guy, want to go for lunch?" or "Hey Chinese, what are you doing?" people will be offended.

All said and done, Safraz apologized and South Africans accepted, it's time to move on. PCB need to hire a firm and get some training materials for their cricketers.

If someone came up to me and said "Hey Asian/brown man", I would be offended.

What Sarfraz said it's something I don't hear on a daily basis.

If they don't have the cojones to sack him then at the least the PCB could have done is rest Sarfraz from the remainder of the series because I have no doubts it will play on his mind.

What he has said will affect him and the rest of the team in the series. Expect a raging performance from SA to avenge Sarfraz for his racist jibe and win 4-1.

The title of this thread is misleading. It should be "SA forgives Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed for controversial taunt at Andile Phehlukwayo"

Actually no.

Durban has a massive ethnic Indian population and they were the second most privileged group under Apartheid and have now overtaken whites in wealth.

No Zulu in the former Natal province considers ethnic Indians like Sarfraz to be their fellow victims of Apartheid. They consider Indians to be relative beneficiaries of it.

Actually no.

Durban has a massive ethnic Indian population and they were the second most privileged group under Apartheid and have now overtaken whites in wealth.

No Zulu in the former Natal province considers ethnic Indians like Sarfraz to be their fellow victims of Apartheid. They consider Indians to be relative beneficiaries of it.

I concur
I still remember Ghandis views on apartheid but I’ve just come across a quote by Mandela which I’ve never read before

“Gandhi must be forgiven those prejudices and judged in the context of the time and circumstances. We are looking here at the young Gandhi, still to become Mahatma”

Actually no.

Don't Amla, Tahir come under the quota in SA lineup?

It is a misleading title IMO.

Others have come into this thread and come to the conclusion that SA are making a big fuss out of this when the reality is they have acknowledged Sarfaraz's apology and are ready to move on and leave any punishments up to the ICC.

Rabada to take this offensive taunt as motivator and get a couple of 5fers in remaining odis.

I think, CSAF has asked Faf to render this statement, but his team is not happy with the proceedings, and Faf has let it know being politically correct.

PCB should have withdrawn Sarfraz for the reminder of the series, at least for tomorrow’s game. I am not sure if the interactions between players will be normal if Sarfraz goes for Toss.

I think, CSAF has asked Faf to render this statement, but his team is not happy with the proceedings, and Faf has let it know being politically correct.

PCB should have withdrawn Sarfraz for the reminder of the series, at least for tomorrow’s game. I am not sure if the interactions between players will be normal if Sarfraz goes for Toss.

Interactions between players are fine so seems that the storm has blown over

So will Sarfaraz be banned like Gibbs?

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2007/jan/15/cricket.southafricacricketteam

Herschelle Gibbs has been banned for two Test matches after a disciplinary hearing found the South African guilty of making racist remarks during yesterday's play in the first Test against Pakistan at Centurion.

Match referee Chris Broad confirmed that Gibbs's comments were picked up by a stump microphone and that the International Cricket Council's chief executive Malcolm Speed had laid the charge under the governing body's code of conduct.

"Gibbs has been charged under Level 3.3 of the Code which prohibits using ... 'any language or gestures that offends, insults, humiliates, intimidates, threatens, disparages or vilifies another person on the basis of that person's race, religion, colour, descent or national or ethnic origin'," read an ICC statement.

News of Gibbs's punishment followed an earlier statement from Cricket South Africa, which confirmed that the player would appear before a separate internal disciplinary hearing. "CSA has investigated the matter, and we have heard the remarks made by Herschelle Gibbs in response to verbal abuse directed by a number of Pakistan supporters at Paul Harris while he was fielding on the boundary," said CSA chief executive Gerald Majola.

"Herschelle says these remarks were for the ears only of his team-mates in his proximity, and were directed in general terms at that section of the crowd that had verbally abused Paul Harris. He has apologised if he has caused offence to anyone." Two spectators agreed to leave the stadium after admitting swearing at left-arm spinner Harris.

The news came after the Proteas had completed a seven-wicket victory, reaching their victory target of 199. The second Test begins in Port Elizabeth on Friday.