Time for the players to step up, take responsibility and perform for Pakistan

Same here, I really have a good feeling about this one. Plus I haven't liked the arrogance of these Poms if there's one team besides India I want to see us beat the most in the WC it's England!

Yea will be surprised if England live up to the favourite tag and deliver

That has nothing to do with Sarfaraz or the Pakistani Cricket team, I can have a little fun as long as I am within the rules of PP. I can tag a mod here too if you like. [MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION]

On the other hand my comment is valid because it seems like Sarfaraz is much more focused on the strengths and weaknesses of his Biryani rather than the Pakistani Cricket team. If he had no motivation and didn't have the drive for the success of the Cricket team (that he is the captain of, which also happens to be an International team followed by millions and millions of people) then he should have just become a chef and focused on what truly makes him happy. He should have declined the captaincy offer in 2016/2017 if he wasn't up for the challenge.

Neither were the great Wasim, Inzi, Miandad and the rest - It was until Imran gave them the talk and led from the front and lit that much needed fire in their rear ends that changed our fortune in that tournament. That is what the captain does and what a good captain is supposed to do when they have their backs against the wall. Do you see how much of a vital position it is being the captain of a team? Do you not know what it means to be a captain of a team?

A captain is a part of the team management and has a lot of say in selection matters, if he wants a certain player he can get a certain player. This is HIS team, if he, after so much experience as a captain still can't get maximum output from his young team then what good was the investment put into Sarfaraz from his junior days?

How many times do I have to reiterate the fact that Sarfaraz has been a captain since his junior days. If that isn't backing a player then what is? The amount of time, money that has gone into Sarfaraz since he was a young player is not bearing it's fruits.

Should have been a chef.

Wasim, Inzi, Miandad and the rest of the players weren't hyped and motivated to play for Pakistan and neither are the current lot?

Ok :))

Yes I understand what you are reiterating and my statement was that you are claiming that PCB didn't back the right guy for the job.

It's simple man - there are 15 guys in the squad - all of whom are big enouh and ugly enough to know the importance of this tournament. None of them are playing to their potential or taking ownership of this game therefore they all deserve the blame for the defeat.

Sure it would be nice if Sarfraz was in form and WA SA better captain - but that is no excuse for the rest of the team looking like lost lamb on a cricket field.

Time for them to step up and play for the badge on the chest.

So one one hand you are saying they are capable of playing a few good games and beatinv teams like SA, SL, England and India - like they did in 2017 - and on the other hand you are saying we saw the best this team could do when they were blown away by West Indies....which one is it?

This is a kind of response that one gives when he or she is just trying to debate and not to talk or understand. We won the Champions trophy, and since then we did nothing at all remarkable the game against West Indies was an exception, not every day we will see Pakistan bundling out for 100 odd runs. That being said, other professionals and proper teams are continually introducing new good players winning matches and improving themselves according to requirements of modern day cricket you don't see this from Pakistan.

That is my reason to write them off as finished. I hope my answer is much clearer now.

This is a kind of response that one gives when he or she is just trying to debate and not to talk or understand. We won the Champions trophy, and since then we did nothing at all remarkable the game against West Indies was an exception, not every day we will see Pakistan bundling out for 100 odd runs. That being said, other professionals and proper teams are continually introducing new good players winning matches and improving themselves according to requirements of modern day cricket you don't see this from Pakistan.

That is my reason to write them off as finished. I hope my answer is much clearer now.

That is the kind of response you are given when you have contradictions in your post :)

Anyway - if you think this team is finished - please feel free to stop following them. And yes yes yes - I know I know - you have free will, you can follow who you want, you don't have to take suggestions from me, you are a fan but are disappointed to see the team play poorly, I don't own the team blah blah blah.

But just a simple suggestion. If this team is finished and there is no hope for them in your mind - then surely in your mind you know the result of when they play and what they do. So a simple suggestion - if you think they are finished - please feel free to stop following them :)

See I'm not here to convince fickle fans that this team is great. Ideally - I would just like to see the fickle fans go away all together :)

Wasim, Inzi, Miandad and the rest of the players weren't hyped and motivated to play for Pakistan and neither are the current lot?

Ok :))

Mere bhai :91:

My point was both of the teams were absolutely thrashed by the opposition but it took the captain to bring the best out of the bunch he had. We only know those players as legends now but if we didn't win the World Cup that year they wouldn't be praised as much as they are now. They most likely wouldn't even be legends as big as they are. I am looking at it from the perspective fans would have looked at it in '92. There is no difference between those players at that specific stage of the tournament and the current players since the outcomes were both the same - thrashing of an epic proportion, the difference was the captain inspiring them and lighting the much needed fire beneath them that brought out the best in them.

Yes I understand what you are reiterating and my statement was that you are claiming that PCB didn't back the right guy for the job.

They honestly didn't have a choice, we couldn't go back to Malik, Azhar was a dud, Hafeez is Hafeez. Sarfraz is and was the best choice but he needs to step his game up. He has been a major dissappointment for the captaincy experience he posses. It pisses me off when the guy can't even get the basics right himself, a captains job is to motivate others and energise the team but he can't even do that for himself. He had a lot of expectations and he's failed miserably, that CT Trophy should have been motivation for him but he looks like a lamb to the slaughter before the match even begins. He has no confidence whatsoever. His batting was a breath of fresh air back in 2016 England series but ever since then his performance has dropped drastically. Maybe he wasn't the right man for the job if captaincy is effecting him so much? I remember reading an article a few months back where he said something along the lines of Sarfaraz not being able to sleep because of the team.

It's simple man - there are 15 guys in the squad - all of whom are big enouh and ugly enough to know the importance of this tournament. None of them are playing to their potential or taking ownership of this game therefore they all deserve the blame for the defeat.

Again, Captain needs to inspire them. He is the damn captain, if captain has a losers mentality before the game even wins what are the rest of the players going to do? Momentum and inspirational plays play a huge role in Cricket, especially Pakistan Cricket. That win in CT Trophy 2017 should have inspired all of the 15 players including Sarfaraz but it looks like they just aren't good enough.

Sure it would be nice if Sarfraz was in form and WA SA better captain - but that is no excuse for the rest of the team looking like lost lamb on a cricket field.

Time for them to step up and play for the badge on the chest.

They can surely punch above their weight for this tournament - I hope they do but Pakistan Cricket as a whole is in a rapid decline.

Mere bhai :91:

My point was both of the teams were absolutely thrashed by the opposition but it took the captain to bring the best out of the bunch he had. We only know those players as legends now but if we didn't win the World Cup that year they wouldn't be praised as much as they are now. They most likely wouldn't even be legends as big as they are. I am looking at it from the perspective fans would have looked at it in '92. There is no difference between those players at that specific stage of the tournament and the current players since the outcomes were both the same - thrashing of an epic proportion, the difference was the captain inspiring them and lighting the much needed fire beneath them that brought out the best in them.

They honestly didn't have a choice, we couldn't go back to Malik, Azhar was a dud, Hafeez is Hafeez. Sarfraz is and was the best choice but he needs to step his game up. He has been a major dissappointment for the captaincy experience he posses. It pisses me off when the guy can't even get the basics right himself, a captains job is to motivate others and energise the team but he can't even do that for himself. He had a lot of expectations and he's failed miserably, that CT Trophy should have been motivation for him but he looks like a lamb to the slaughter before the match even begins. He has no confidence whatsoever. His batting was a breath of fresh air back in 2016 England series but ever since then his performance has dropped drastically. Maybe he wasn't the right man for the job if captaincy is effecting him so much? I remember reading an article a few months back where he said something along the lines of Sarfaraz not being able to sleep because of the team.

Again, Captain needs to inspire them. He is the damn captain, if captain has a losers mentality before the game even wins what are the rest of the players going to do? Momentum and inspirational plays play a huge role in Cricket, especially Pakistan Cricket. That win in CT Trophy 2017 should have inspired all of the 15 players including Sarfaraz but it looks like they just aren't good enough.

They can surely punch above their weight for this tournament - I hope they do but Pakistan Cricket as a whole is in a rapid decline.

Uff Yaar tum kitna Bolte ho!! :))

I'm joking - I'm starting to really enjoy our banter and discussions :inzi

Ok to summarise:

- You are convinced Sarfraz is to blame for our poor run of results since he doesn't inspire the team and has been playing below average himself

- I think the players are to blame since they have simply been playing poor cricket and are hiding behind the coach and captain

Right?

I can't convince you otherwise and you cant convince me - right?

I think your wrong and you think I'm wrong - right?

Uff Yaar tum kitna Bolte ho!! :))

I'm joking - I'm starting to really enjoy our banter and discussions :inzi

Me too mate! :afridi Other than hyping up Hasnain to be better faster than Akhtar, you're alright :P

(I know you never said that, I just put words in your mouth)

Ok to summarise:

- You are convinced Sarfraz is to blame for our poor run of results since he doesn't inspire the team and has been playing below average himself

- I think the players are to blame since they have simply been playing poor cricket and are hiding behind the coach and captain

Right?

I can't convince you otherwise and you cant convince me - right?

I think your wrong and you think I'm wrong - right?

Right!

But we can come to an agreement that these players need to start respecting the jersey and what it means to represent Pakistan, every single player.

Me too mate! :afridi Other than hyping up Hasnain to be better faster than Akhtar, you're alright :P

(I know you never said that, I just put words in your mouth)

Right!

But we can come to an agreement that these players need to start respecting the jersey and what it means to represent Pakistan, every single player.

Haha Hasnain will come good inshallah in this competition - just wait and see. Akhtar will be singing his praises :mv :))

And yes absolutely - the worst sight for a Pakistani fan is seeing the Pakistani players not appreciating the honour which has been bestowed upon them by representing the millions of Pakistanis around the world. Inshallah we will see them raise their game in the coming matches

That is the kind of response you are given when you have contradictions in your post :)

Anyway - if you think this team is finished - please feel free to stop following them. And yes yes yes - I know I know - you have free will, you can follow who you want, you don't have to take suggestions from me, you are a fan but are disappointed to see the team play poorly, I don't own the team blah blah blah.

But just a simple suggestion. If this team is finished and there is no hope for them in your mind - then surely in your mind you know the result of when they play and what they do. So a simple suggestion - if you think they are finished - please feel free to stop following them :)

See I'm not here to convince fickle fans that this team is great. Ideally - I would just like to see the fickle fans go away all together :)

Why so much hostility while having a simple discussion about sports?

I like cricket as a sport and want to follow it since I am a born Pakistani as a human being I am inclined towards my tribe and people hence the interest in Pakistan cricket. Yes, in my opinion, the team is finished for now, and no, I don't think that they can never recover or improve.

Thank you for your suggestions, but I am a little shocked than anything.

I hope Pakistan team can provide some solace tomorrow to our hurting hearts

I like cricket as a sport and want to follow it since I am a born Pakistani as a human being I am inclined towards my tribe and people hence the interest in Pakistan cricket. Yes, in my opinion, the team is finished for now, and no, I don't think that they can never recover or improve.

Haha it's nothing about hostility - I just don't understand why anyone would willingly invest their free time, time and effort in something they think is a lost cause. Why would anyone who has lost hope in a cause spend time discussing that cause and outline how hopeless he thinks that cause is on the internet with strangers during his free time when he can do anything else he wants.

Just a bit lost on me.

Haha it's nothing about hostility - I just don't understand why anyone would willingly invest their free time, time and effort in something they think is a lost cause. Why would anyone who has lost hope in a cause spend time discussing that cause and outline how hopeless he thinks that cause is on the internet with strangers during his free time when he can do anything else he wants.

Just a bit lost on me.

I have already answered that bit in my last post, but you conveniently ignored it or completely missed it. I will copy it here again and mark it bold for you.

"I like cricket as a sport and want to follow it and since I am a born Pakistani as a human being I am inclined towards my tribe and people hence the interest in Pakistan and its cricket."

I have already answered that bit in my last post, but you conveniently ignored it or completely missed it. I will copy it here again and mark it bold for you.

"I like cricket as a sport and want to follow it and since I am a born Pakistani as a human being I am inclined towards my tribe and people hence the interest in Pakistan and its cricket."

But you have lost hope in your tribe and your people's team so why bother.

Just a bit lost on me.

You will not get an answer.

The reality is such fans are searching for the upset result so they can feel good about it. Basically an uplifting tonic for a depressive thought process.

Time to show fight

Yeah it’s a massive mismatch but our guys need to make England sweat by giving their everything

You will not get an answer.

The reality is such fans are searching for the upset result so they can feel good about it. Basically an uplifting tonic for a depressive thought process.

Yuip exactly.

I dont get if these fans just enjoy pitying themselves or they are sad enough to invest their free time in something which they believe is a lost cause.

The batsmen have stepped up Alhumdullilah

Time to see if the bowlers and fielders can do the same inshAllah

Because it's a lost cause

You only read my posts to counter and not to understand with too many emotions.

I am again quoting my older post to correct you here and even if it is a lost cause still why not?

The batsmen have stepped up Alhumdullilah

Time to see if the bowlers and fielders can do the same inshAllah

The match is pretty much still in balance and batsmen have scored above 300 quite a few times in last games, and even if they win this match, it will prove nothing as they won the previous CT by playing few good matches.

On the flip side, you can see England while chasing the world record total in a high-pressure world cup match seems calm and performing.

The match is pretty much still in balance and batsmen have scored above 300 quite a few times in last games, and even if they win this match, it will prove nothing as they won the previous CT by playing few good matches.

On the flip side, you can see England while chasing the world record total in a high-pressure world cup match seems calm and performing.

You only read my posts to counter and not to understand with too many emotions.

I am again quoting my older post to correct you here and even if it is a lost cause still why not?

So you log in every day to see if the hopeless team now has hope?

Anyway - hope you have some hope now. :)

Beautiful. :sree

Although we still need to work on all 3 facets of the game. We aren't performing to our potential yet.

So you log in every day to see if the hopeless team now has hope?

Anyway - hope you have some hope now. :)

Yes, I log in every day because the cricket World Cup is going on and I am a fan of the game. If you remember me, I was a regular here when I was the fan of just Pakistan cricket.

I am still not hopeful winning few matches will change nothing like I said before you need to read my posts before answering to have a proper discussion as of yet I am just quoting my self over and over again.

Yes, I log in every day because the cricket World Cup is going on and I am a fan of the game. If you remember me, I was a regular here when I was the fan of just Pakistan cricket.

I am still not hopeful winning few matches will change nothing like I said before you need to read my posts before answering to have a proper discussion as of yet I am just quoting my self over and over again.

Pakistani cricket - giving hope to the hopeless since 1952

Just that we are in 2019 the era of professionals. You saw one playing today, and you know as much as I do, he will be as reliable as he was today in the next game and how single-handedly. He kept the hope alive for England as long as he was on the crease.

Pakistan suffered the same fate with hockey as we are currently facing with cricket and we are going down fast in all sports just because of our lack of professionalism and individual brilliance here, and there will change nothing.

You will understand it when you will leave your emotions aside and try to understand the situation.

Just that we are in 2019 the era of professionals. You saw one playing today, and you know as much as I do, he will be as reliable as he was today in the next game and how single-handedly. He kept the hope alive for England as long as he was on the crease.

Pakistan suffered the same fate with hockey as we are currently facing with cricket and we are going down fast in all sports just because of our lack of professionalism and individual brilliance here, and there will change nothing.

You will understand it when you will leave your emotions aside and try to understand the situation.

Did you read the OP?

Forget the OP - did you read subject?

Am I saying the players or anything about our team is perfect?

Am I even saying they are great?

All I can see is me saying they have the potential to be great if they step up and play for their country with pride.

You can call that professionalism or anything you want - but that is the bottom line.

What I don't get us the hopeless nature of posters who seem to enjoy to pity themselves.

I think it is quite important to have the right characters in the team to perform on big occasions, and this showed today. A lot of the seniors have come in for criticism in the last couple of years, but they showed their worth today. Hafeez, Amir, Wahab and even Malik with his bowling showed their competitive edge when the going gets tough. That is priceless, and wins you games in big tournaments.

Let's not go overboard, this bunch of players are not likely to win the tournament, or even qualify for the semis in reality, but other fancied teams won't look forward to playing them. That's about as much as you can ask from this era's Pakistan team.

Hafeez and Sarfaraz the seniors did step up. Cant expect more from them. Sarfraz needs to hold on to catches like basically the rest of the team.

Allhundulillah really glad with today's performance. I wouldnt have felt bad even if pak woyld have lost but atleast the fight was there. This is what we fans are all used to. Watching the last 11 games was just pure abnormal.

Still a lot more to improve but allhumdullilah its been a great win agaisnt a top team to boost our confidence

Our players, especially Hafeez, certainly stepped up yesterday. Very good team performance.

Did you read the OP?

Forget the OP - did you read subject?

Am I saying the players or anything about our team is perfect?

Am I even saying they are great?

All I can see is me saying they have the potential to be great if they step up and play for their country with pride.

You can call that professionalism or anything you want - but that is the bottom line.

What I don't get us the hopeless nature of posters who seem to enjoy to pity themselves.

And I am continually saying no this is not the case, in my opinion, they are already playing to their potential, and they are no world beaters. Other teams have moved on to be better professionals who can consistently deliver where our players are one match wonders mostly. Other teams are better due to their superior structure and professionalism, which enabled them to perform better regularly.

You are somehow motivated to back them up based on your belief in them, and I am not in the mood to do so based on the understanding I have.

Apart from that, I am a little disappointed with your hostile behavior where you try to conclude understanding of my personality based on a few posts you have read here.

And I am continually saying no this is not the case, in my opinion, they are already playing to their potential, and they are no world beaters. Other teams have moved on to be better professionals who can consistently deliver where our players are one match wonders mostly. Other teams are better due to their superior structure and professionalism, which enabled them to perform better regularly.

You are somehow motivated to back them up based on your belief in them, and I am not in the mood to do so based on the understanding I have.

Apart from that, I am a little disappointed with your hostile behavior where you try to conclude understanding of my personality based on a few posts you have read here.

And I am continuously saying that even though there are many short comings with our structure, system, cricket board etc. - our players can perform better then what they showed in the ODI series vs Eng and in the first game vs WI....

:afaq

My belief stems from performances like they put in against England which showed what the team are capable of. Granted - to do that on a more consistent basis we need to see how train our players.

My hostility has nothing to do with your personality. My hostility is to do with the fickle fans who jump on the band wagon when the team is playing well and sulk in self pity when the team performs poorly and act as innocent hopeless victims. I don't think our team needs such 'fans'. Now whether that description fits you or anyone else - I will let you decide.

Anyway it's obvious we aren't changing each others mind & are just going in circles so lets end this discussion here and I apologize if I offended you any way.

And I am continuously saying that even though there are many short comings with our structure, system, cricket board etc. - our players can perform better then what they showed in the ODI series vs Eng and in the first game vs WI....

:afaq

My belief stems from performances like they put in against England which showed what the team are capable of. Granted - to do that on a more consistent basis we need to see how train our players.

My hostility has nothing to do with your personality. My hostility is to do with the fickle fans who jump on the band wagon when the team is playing well and sulk in self pity when the team performs poorly and act as innocent hopeless victims. I don't think our team needs such 'fans'. Now whether that description fits you or anyone else - I will let you decide.

Anyway it's obvious we aren't changing each others mind & are just going in circles so lets end this discussion here and I apologize if I offended you any way.

I always appreciate difference of opinion and no hard feelings bro I am not offended.