Time to drop Sarfaraz Ahmed from the Test team and pick Kamran or Rizwan

Just because he plays 'one shot' (according to you), he should be dropped from Tests. Whoa. Laughable.

He has been one of our best Test batsmen. Just look at his series averages excluding the last one. If he has to be dropped then it should be from the ODI team, provided he fails in the series against NZ.

But replacing him with Kamran Akmal? No. He looks overweight nowadays. Would hardly dive.

btw dude Idk if I can be vice captain in PCL, my activity may go down in February, I'm not sure, so I don't want to take vice captaincy and then be inactive.

Give it to someone experienced like 96notout.

no worries bro

Deeply hurt by this comment. I only want what's good for the team.

The past is the past bhai. We forgave Amir, so forgive Kamran. The select few elite cricket experts on this forum agree with me. We are a forgiving and generous nation. Waqar Younis said it best the other day "Forgiveness is a quality of the strong". Are you strong?

One is talented, whilst the other is simply put, *****. Big difference.

A wicket keep batsman averaging 30 is miles better than one with 46 average? This has to be definitely a troll thread.

Kamran has played a couple of good knocks here and there but he has been a mediocre batsman overall. Here are the averages of Kamran in top test playing countries:

Australia: 15
England: 23
South Africa: 27

On top of that he has been a terrible keeper since 2009, probably the worst who has ever played in the history of modern cricket. I have not seen a keeper dropping regulation catches on fast bowling. Kamran has done it numerous times (Ross Taylor in 2011 WC, for example). He has been that bad. He is 34 years old and his game will naturally regress even further. According to some posters here, Younis and Misbah will fail in Australia and England but Kamran will succeed somehow, even though he did worse there in his prime years.

This is mind boggling.

Sarfraz, on the other hand, has been brilliant in test matches, 46 average at #7 is a very good performance by a specialist wicket-keeper. How many wicket-keeper batsmen average 46 in test cricket today and how many have done so in the past, except Gilchrist and Flowers? His average will eventually go down after playing more games but until Pakistan has a better wicket-keeper batsman, Sarfraz will play.

One bad series against England and he was exposed? I can only laugh at that argument. Going by that logic, Azhar was also exposed. Would you replace him too? One bad series does not mean anything. It is funny that Akmal bothers failed series after series and they got away with it because they were "talented".

Now coming to ODIs and killing the myth that he has been a stand-out failure in ODIs. Interestingly, only Shahzad and Hafeez have made more runs than Sarfraz in last 2 years.

Shahzad: 1199 runs in 33 innings at 36 avg and 76 strike rate
Hafeez: 1142 runs in 32 innings at 37 avg and 82 strike rate
Sarfraz: 805 runs in 26 innings at 35 avg and 90 strike rate
U Akmal: 543 in 22 innings at 28 avg and 90 strike rate
Riwan: 332 in 12 innings at 37 avg and 96 strike rate

Sarfraz's number are quite comparable to other Pakistani batsmen (except Malik and Azhar). He keeps wickets too and is definitely a better keeper than all Umar, Kamran, and Rizwan. So singling him out as a failure in ODIs is just pure bias.

In T20s, he has batted only 5 innings and he averages 33 at 116 strike rate. Hafeez averages 13 after 14 innings at 96 strike rate. But again, Sarfraz is the only misfit in T20s as per some posters here.

A wicket keep batsman averaging 30 is miles better than one with 46 average? This has to be definitely a troll thread.

Kamran has played a couple of good knocks here and there but he has been a mediocre batsman overall. Here are the averages of Kamran in top test playing countries:

On top of that he has been a terrible keeper since 2009, probably the worst who has ever played in the history of modern cricket. I have not seen a keeper dropping regulation catches on fast bowling. Kamran has done it numerous times (Ross Taylor in 2011 WC, for example). He has been that bad. He is 34 years old and his game will naturally regress even further. According to some posters here, Younis and Misbah will fail in Australia and England but Kamran will succeed somehow, even though he did worse there in his prime years.

This is mind boggling.

Sarfraz, on the other hand, has been brilliant in test matches, 46 average at #7 is a very good performance by a specialist wicket-keeper. How many wicket-keeper batsmen average 46 in test cricket today and how many have done so in the past, except Gilchrist and Flowers? His average will eventually go down after playing more games but until Pakistan has a better wicket-keeper batsman, Sarfraz will play.

One bad series against England and he was exposed? I can only laugh at that argument. Going by that logic, Azhar was also exposed. Would you replace him too? One bad series does not mean anything. It is funny that Akmal bothers failed series after series and they got away with it because they were "talented".

Now coming to ODIs and killing the myth that he has been a stand-out failure in ODIs. Interestingly, only Shahzad and Hafeez have made more runs than Sarfraz in last 2 years.

Sarfraz's number are quite comparable to other Pakistani batsmen (except Malik and Azhar). He keeps wickets too and is definitely a better keeper than all Umar, Kamran, and Rizwan. So singling him out as a failure in ODIs is just pure bias.

In T20s, he has batted only 5 innings and he averages 33 at 116 strike rate. Hafeez averages 13 after 14 innings at 96 strike rate. But again, Sarfraz is the only misfit in T20s as per some posters here.

Oh, so people do use logic and sense at times.

Sarfraz's problem is he will be "figured out" and instead of riding him out until said "figured out" it is better to ride with players who are technically sound who have already been "figured out", but there technique is so good that they will go from "figured out" to not "figured out". Funny how that works.

Oh, so people do use logic and sense at times.

Sarfraz's problem is he will be "figured out" and instead of riding him out until said "figured out" it is better to ride with players who are technically sound who have already been "figured out", but there technique is so good that they will go from "figured out" to not "figured out". Funny how that works.

There are 3 types of players as per PP posters:

Talented, e.g. Akmals, Maqsood, etc. : no matter how worse they perform, they will always be supported

Will be figured out: Sarfraz, Rizwan, Mukhtar, Fawad, etc., failed in one series and they are either already figured out or will be figured out very soon and thus should not play in future

Will come good: Hafeez, Azhar, Asad, etc. No matter how bad they are in one or more aspects of game, miraculously, they will come good and should be blindly supported

wasnt Kamran the guy WHO dropped chance after chance after chance. If he is so good as a batsman bring him in as a BATSMAN. Not as a wicketkeeper.

Talented, e.g. Akmals, Maqsood, etc. : no matter how worse they perform, they will always be supported

Will be figured out: Sarfraz, Rizwan, Mukhtar, Fawad, etc., failed in one series and they are either already figured out or will be figured out very soon and thus should not play in future

Will come good: Hafeez, Azhar, Asad, etc. No matter how bad they are in one or more aspects of game, miraculously, they will come good and should be blindly supported

The amount of truth here is actually mind-boggling. Welcome to PP, you're already my favourite poster.

Disappointed with Sarfraz's form largely of late.

To me he looks overweight and his form has suffered. Some excellent moments mixed of late with some very ordinary ones.

Sarfaraz's physcial condition reminds me of these players in no particular order

1. Dwayne Leverock because we have a poster Sun Tzu I think who has his picture as an avatar

2. Ranatunga, De-Silva, Lasith Malinga of late, and of course the greatest of them all Inzi bhai

3. Anwar Ali - I think it is only me but both are having a competition that who will get super fat first.

4. Nasir Jamshed.

This is mind boggling.

Oh please stop spouting false facts around.

Sarfraz averages 26 in T20's, 11 this year.

year 2015 4 23 19 11.50 Straight from statsguru, if you want to check it out, go ahead it's right there.

Sarfraz has missed quite a few chances for wickets but please tell me a single time where Rizwan has been the WK in T20's where he has done anything of the sort.

In ODI's, Sarfraz has done well in 1 series post WC, and scored the most overrated 49 in history and also a century against Ireland. Nothing big. Failed completely in Zim,BD and in Pakistan.

It's not the fact that Sarfraz averages 46 is the problem. It's similar to Umar in a way tbh, Umar was averaging around the same from 2009-2010 but later on in 2010 and in 2011 he started to throw his wicket away around the 40-60 mark when he didn't need to. Sarfraz did the same thing in the Zimbabwe series and in the England series, where he was one of the last remaining batsmen, which can be a crucial point in the match.

I also don't understand why you're comparing Kamran's averages in SA-AUS-ENG to Sarfraz when Sarfraz has been playing in Asia and on the roads of the UAE. Really stupid.

His average is inflated in tests despite good performances due to not outs, for some reason he keeps his wicket and other times he throws it away by going for a slog. It's really not a good habit.

Also I'm not saying Kamran is the best option to go with, but the way you're making up these stats and comparisons is really sad.

Rizwan has already been figured out by spin, and tries to slog all the time when he can't beat it and play sensibly.

Fawad didn't take his chances in the ODI's and failed miserably, while others did. He is still in the test squad though.

Mukhtar is a hack and only scored against Zimbabwe, you can see the frustration for the selectors there.

Sarfraz's main problem is his temperament and fitness issues, and also his keeping has been worrying recently.

Don't know who's saying Hafeez will come good, he's like 35 right? Shafiq and Azhar I agree with though, even though I really want them to succeed.

LOL @ Kamran Akmal. I think you want a repeat of the Sydney Test.

Sarfraz's performances haven't been great recently in LOIs but he is a beast in test cricket. Kamran Akmal can only dream of having a 45 average in test cricket.

It's no surprise that Afridi fans are also Kamran Akmal fans, they like to live in the past and bring up matches from the previous decade to justify the selection of their favorites.

Someone mentioned Akmal's match saving century against India. How long ago was that? 11 YEARS AGO.
When you are a pathetic player, you'll use the past to defend yourself.

LOL @ Kamran Akmal. I think you want a repeat of the Sydney Test.

Sarfraz's performances haven't been great recently in LOIs but he is a beast in test cricket. Kamran Akmal can only dream of having a 45 average in test cricket.

It's no surprise that Afridi fans are also Kamran Akmal fans, they like to live in the past and bring up matches from the previous decade to justify the selection of their favorites.

Someone mentioned Akmal's match saving century against India. How long ago was that? 11 YEARS AGO.
When you are a pathetic player, you'll use the past to defend yourself.

Dude, you just took the bait here.

Relax.

Kamran Akmal ka naam sun ke khoon kholta hai bhai.

Kami bhai na ho gaye, khoon ki haraarat barhaanay ki dawaai ho gaye.

At least ap kay paas low blood pressure ka totka maujood hai, jab BP low hoa, Kami bhai kay baaray main soch lain.

BP back to normal ...

See, there is silver lining to every cloud :))

Kami bhai na ho gaye, khoon ki haraarat barhaanay ki dawaai ho gaye.

At least ap kay paas low blood pressure ka totka maujood hai, jab BP low hoa, Kami bhai kay baaray main soch lain.

BP back to normal ...

See, there is silver lining to every cloud :))

Akmal household mein koi Silver Lining nahi hai jaani :p

From the legend himself:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p lang="und" dir="ltr"><a href="https://t.co/Na18PR90Ca">pic.twitter.com/Na18PR90Ca</a></p>— Kamran Akmal (@KamiAkmal23) <a href="https://twitter.com/KamiAkmal23/status/686204015324086272">January 10, 2016</a></blockquote>

What a player. Time to give him another "three" chances in the upcoming WT20. I have no doubt he will smash hundreds at will.

LOL!! Opening poster tells me who care about stats when he himself uses stats in OP? :P

I also don't understand why you're comparing Kamran's averages in SA-AUS-ENG to Sarfraz when Sarfraz has been playing in Asia and on the roads of the UAE. Really stupid.

His average is inflated in tests despite good performances due to not outs, for some reason he keeps his wicket and other times he throws it away by going for a slog. It's really not a good habit.

He rightly mentioned Kami's stats in foreign conditions because OP is suggesting to select Kami for England tour as he somehow knows Sarfraz will most likely fail there and Kami can be successful. You should read the OP.

Remaining not out in test is a big deal and it should the remain same way. If that's the case, his average is rightly inflated. It can not be held against him.

Oh please stop spouting false facts around.

Sarfraz averages 26 in T20's, 11 this year.

year 2015 4 23 19 11.50 Straight from statsguru, if you want to check it out, go ahead it's right there.

Sarfraz has missed quite a few chances for wickets but please tell me a single time where Rizwan has been the WK in T20's where he has done anything of the sort.

In ODI's, Sarfraz has done well in 1 series post WC, and scored the most overrated 49 in history and also a century against Ireland. Nothing big. Failed completely in Zim,BD and in Pakistan.

It's not the fact that Sarfraz averages 46 is the problem. It's similar to Umar in a way tbh, Umar was averaging around the same from 2009-2010 but later on in 2010 and in 2011 he started to throw his wicket away around the 40-60 mark when he didn't need to. Sarfraz did the same thing in the Zimbabwe series and in the England series, where he was one of the last remaining batsmen, which can be a crucial point in the match.

Also I'm not saying Kamran is the best option to go with, but the way you're making up these stats and comparisons is really sad.

I suggest you work on your comprehension skills before calling anybody's post stupid and accuse them of telling lies.

I presented stats for last 2 years for both ODIs and T20s. I clearly mentioned it in my post. I did not make up any stats. Here are the links, go knock yourself out:

ODIs:
http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...al1=span;team=7;template=results;type=batting

T20s:
http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...al1=span;team=7;template=results;type=batting

On what basis are Sarfraz's knock overrated in WC? Which other Pakistani batsman scored a century in the last WC?

The OP clearly stated that as Sarfraz failed in England series in UAE, he will perform even worse in England and hence, Kamran Akmal should be selected. As a counter argument, I presented Kamran's average in England and Australia, the countries where Pakistan will be playing their test matches. If he did not perform well there in his prime, then how come he is going to perform brilliantly this time just does not make any sense.

So, how does staying not-out in a test match goes against Sarfraz? He and Kamran batted at the same #7 position mostly. What was stopping Kamran to improve his average by staying not-out?

If Sarfraz goes Umar Akmal route and keeps throwing his wicket away series after series, then he will deserve to be dropped. But this has not happened yet and thus the propaganda against him is just non-sense.

Rizwan has already been figured out by spin, and tries to slog all the time when he can't beat it and play sensibly.

Fawad didn't take his chances in the ODI's and failed miserably, while others did. He is still in the test squad though.

Mukhtar is a hack and only scored against Zimbabwe, you can see the frustration for the selectors there.

Sarfraz's main problem is his temperament and fitness issues, and also his keeping has been worrying recently.

Don't know who's saying Hafeez will come good, he's like 35 right? Shafiq and Azhar I agree with though, even though I really want them to succeed.

Pakistan is playing in New Zealand, England, and Australia. Spin is not going to matter much anyway. If a player gets figured out after just 1 series and deserves to be dropped then there would have been no legend in the game.

Fawad had a brilliant come back. He failed in one series against Australia (others failed as well) and then he was dropped for Younis Khan of all people in WC. He was brought back after WC and he did fail against Bangladesh (again most of the other batsmen failed too) but he was the one who got axed again.

Mukhtar has played just 6 innings and he performed well in first 3. It did not make any sense to drop him permanently when neither Shahzad nor Hafeez has been better than him. He deserved more chances before he was dropped.

Ironically, the problems you associated with Sarfraz also apply to Kamran.

If there is no speculation that Hafeez will come good, then why does Afridi want to open with him in T20 WC despite him averaging 13 in last 14 innings?

I agree with suleiman.

Sarfraz has big holes in his gloves and has failed consitently in test matches. Kick him out foreve

Pakistan is playing in New Zealand, England, and Australia. Spin is not going to matter much anyway. If a player gets figured out after just 1 series and deserves to be dropped then there would have been no legend in the game.

Fawad had a brilliant come back. He failed in one series against Australia (others failed as well) and then he was dropped for Younis Khan of all people in WC. He was brought back after WC and he did fail against Bangladesh (again most of the other batsmen failed too) but he was the one who got axed again.

Mukhtar has played just 6 innings and he performed well in first 3. It did not make any sense to drop him permanently when neither Shahzad nor Hafeez has been better than him. He deserved more chances before he was dropped.

Ironically, the problems you associated with Sarfraz also apply to Kamran.

If there is no speculation that Hafeez will come good, then why does Afridi want to open with him in T20 WC despite him averaging 13 in last 14 innings?

Mukhtar's performances in domestic haven't been all that good, and his technique is pretty poor.

Yes Fawad was decent, but he isn't that young and he failed in 2 ODI series', so obviously he's not going to get in the squad. However, he is seen as a good FC player so he has gotten into the test squad.

Yeah I do agree that spin is not a problem overseas, but it's pathetic to just overlook a big problem. Ali and Rashid bamboozled Rizwan 90% of the time and he will face 1-2 spinners in England.

Afridi only really cares about his friends getting in, Hafeez is useless without his bowling.

If you read my post properly, I said "I don't think Kamran is the best option". So saying those deficiencies are similar with Kamran isn't going to make them go away is it?

I suggest you work on your comprehension skills before calling anybody's post stupid and accuse them of telling lies.

I presented stats for last 2 years for both ODIs and T20s. I clearly mentioned it in my post. I did not make up any stats. Here are the links, go knock yourself out:

ODIs:

T20s:

On what basis are Sarfraz's knock overrated in WC? Which other Pakistani batsman scored a century in the last WC?

The OP clearly stated that as Sarfraz failed in England series in UAE, he will perform even worse in England and hence, Kamran Akmal should be selected. As a counter argument, I presented Kamran's average in England and Australia, the countries where Pakistan will be playing their test matches. If he did not perform well there in his prime, then how come he is going to perform brilliantly this time just does not make any sense.

So, how does staying not-out in a test match goes against Sarfraz? He and Kamran batted at the same #7 position mostly. What was stopping Kamran to improve his average by staying not-out?

If Sarfraz goes Umar Akmal route and keeps throwing his wicket away series after series, then he will deserve to be dropped. But this has not happened yet and thus the propaganda against him is just non-sense.

Why the last 2 years? Is it because Sarfraz's average in 2015 is poor? Pathetic that 2015 alone which was the most recent is totally take out of the equation, just because it suits your agrument.

Sarfraz has thrown his wicket away since the Lahore series. Is that not long enough? :facepalm: Heck, It might have even been in the BD series too, but I didn't watch that one.

Kamran was definitely not at his prime back then. If he was averaging around 60 in FC then please get back to me. Not saying he's at his prime now, but he's in great form and Malik was too, and he was able to make a successful comeback.

Everyone on PP and their mothers was saying Sarfraz is the right fix to our opening problem after getting that 49. The Australia match was completely ignored "just because others failed". Yes none of our other batsmen scored a century in the WC, but no one really failed in that match did they? Haris got out on 3, because of Sarfraz's stupid running.

Kamran is more of an opener than a no.7 batsmen imo. Not saying Sarfraz staying not out is a bad thing, but everyone keeps bringing up his 46 average. The only reason why it's so high is because of those not outs.

You bring this average up when for the most part, Sarfraz has been in the UAE and SC for quite a long time, playing on roads. Kamran has played in England-SA-NZ while Sarfraz has only played in 1 of those where he averaged a terrible 13.83. What was Kamran's average in SA again? Oh yes, 27.

He rightly mentioned Kami's stats in foreign conditions because OP is suggesting to select Kami for England tour as he somehow knows Sarfraz will most likely fail there and Kami can be successful. You should read the OP.

Remaining not out in test is a big deal and it should the remain same way. If that's the case, his average is rightly inflated. It can not be held against him.

His average is misleading.

Dude Kamran averaged 27 in SA, while Sarfraz averages 13.

Why the last 2 years? Is it because Sarfraz's average in 2015 is poor? Pathetic that 2015 alone which was the most recent is totally take out of the equation, just because it suits your agrument.

Sarfraz has thrown his wicket away since the Lahore series. Is that not long enough? :facepalm: Heck, It might have even been in the BD series too, but I didn't watch that one.

Kamran was definitely not at his prime back then. If he was averaging around 60 in FC then please get back to me. Not saying he's at his prime now, but he's in great form and Malik was too, and he was able to make a successful comeback.

Everyone on PP and their mothers was saying Sarfraz is the right fix to our opening problem after getting that 49. The Australia match was completely ignored "just because others failed". Yes none of our other batsmen scored a century in the WC, but no one really failed in that match did they? Haris got out on 3, because of Sarfraz's stupid running.

Kamran is more of an opener than a no.7 batsmen imo. Not saying Sarfraz staying not out is a bad thing, but everyone keeps bringing up his 46 average. The only reason why it's so high is because of those not outs.

You bring this average up when for the most part, Sarfraz has been in the UAE and SC for quite a long time, playing on roads. Kamran has played in England-SA-NZ while Sarfraz has only played in 1 of those where he averaged a terrible 13.83. What was Kamran's average in SA again? Oh yes, 27.

Killing another of your myth now...

Even if we just consider their performances in Asia , Sarfraz is clearly the winner as he has done well everywhere in Asia, while Kamran was mediocre in Sri Lanka and average in India.

India: Kamran (37), Sarfraz (NA)
Sri Lanka: Kamran (23), Sarfraz (78)
UAE: Kamran (NA), Sarfraz (47)
Bangladesh: Kamran (NA), Sarfraz (121)
Pakistan: Kamran(51), Sarfraz (NA)

How will Sarfraz perform in England and Australia is not known unless you can look into the future. So, we cannot compare their performances in England and Australia. However, we do know that Kamran was mediocre in those conditions. Sarfraz is also 5-6 years younger than Kamran and has put some good numbers on the board recently. There is no justification to replace Sarfraz with Kamran in tests as the former is a superior test wicket-keeper batsman at the moment.

According to you Rizwan has been already figured out then who can replace Sarfraz right now in tests? Is there a better option? If yes, then please suggest one. It is not like Pakistan has wicket-keeper batsmen like Gilchrist and Dhoni warming the bench and Sarfraz is having an unfair spot on the team.

By the way, I used 2 years randomly to judge their performance as Pakistan does not play enough cricket like other countries and a criterion of 1 year would be too short. And what is the guarantee that you would not have objected on 1 year criterion had I used one and it did not favor your agenda?

I have already presented my case for Sarfraz with stats and logic and will not engage myself in unnecessary debate any further. You are entitled to your opinion and I am to mine.

Kamran Averages 20.55 against South Africa in South Africa you checked his overall average not the away average and Sarfaraz has not played SA in UAE.

And even that 20.55 is inflated by a not out since you seem to hold it against a batsman

Kamran averages 35 in FC in Tests 30 and Sarfaraz averages 44 in FC and 46 in Tests their averages are more or less indicative of their pedigree as a batsman Sarfraz is a superior bat even in FC and it reflects in the international averages too.

Killing another of your myth now...

Even if we just consider their performances in Asia , Sarfraz is clearly the winner as he has done well everywhere in Asia, while Kamran was mediocre in Sri Lanka and average in India.

India: Kamran (37), Sarfraz (NA)
Sri Lanka: Kamran (23), Sarfraz (78)
UAE: Kamran (NA), Sarfraz (47)
Bangladesh: Kamran (NA), Sarfraz (121)
Pakistan: Kamran(51), Sarfraz (NA)

How will Sarfraz perform in England and Australia is not known unless you can look into the future. So, we cannot compare their performances in England and Australia. However, we do know that Kamran was mediocre in those conditions. Sarfraz is also 5-6 years younger than Kamran and has put some good numbers on the board recently. There is no justification to replace Sarfraz with Kamran in tests as the former is a superior test wicket-keeper batsman at the moment.

According to you Rizwan has been already figured out then who can replace Sarfraz right now in tests? Is there a better option? If yes, then please suggest one. It is not like Pakistan has wicket-keeper batsmen like Gilchrist and Dhoni warming the bench and Sarfraz is having an unfair spot on the team.

By the way, I used 2 years randomly to judge their performance as Pakistan does not play enough cricket like other countries and a criterion of 1 year would be too short. And what is the guarantee that you would not have objected on 1 year criterion had I used one and it did not favor your agenda?

I have already presented my case for Sarfraz with stats and logic and will not engage myself in unnecessary debate any further. You are entitled to your opinion and I am to mine.

If you look at the stats provided, Sarfraz beats Kamran just in Sri Lanka. That's not enough data, as in the others one of Kamran or Sarfraz has/hasn't played.

He's been figured out when playing SPIN. He can learn, he's young and I want him to stay in the team. Overseas he might be able to get away with playing in the top order against pace, Sarfraz has tried to sweep and play very bizarre shots against pacers and it worked once in the WC against SA. His problem with running is not good either, alongside Hafeez and Azhar, he's involved in a lot of run-outs.

Look, I only went for 1 year because that shows the CURRENT form of players and the most recent performances. That's why. Sarfraz had a great 2014 in mainly the SC (IIRC) and in 2015 he slipped up a bit, not due to ability but due to batting no. and temperament. :uakmal

Fair enough, we can agree to disagree but this is just my 2 cents.

Kamran averages 35 in FC in Tests 30 and Sarfaraz averages 44 in FC and 46 in Tests their averages are more or less indicative of their pedigree as a batsman Sarfraz is a superior bat even in FC and it reflects in the international averages too.

I'm talking about current form bhai too. No one would have wanted Malik back when looking at previous stats but he has done very well for us in 2015. 60 average is a good base.

Kamran Averages 20.55 against South Africa in South Africa you checked his overall average not the away average and Sarfaraz has not played SA in UAE.

And even that 20.55 is inflated by a not out since you seem to hold it against a batsman

Sarfraz has played SA in SA though.. You've completely just ignored that!

If you look at the stats provided, Sarfraz beats Kamran just in Sri Lanka. That's not enough data, as in the others one of Kamran or Sarfraz has/hasn't played.

He's been figured out when playing SPIN. He can learn, he's young and I want him to stay in the team. Overseas he might be able to get away with playing in the top order against pace, Sarfraz has tried to sweep and play very bizarre shots against pacers and it worked once in the WC against SA. His problem with running is not good either, alongside Hafeez and Azhar, he's involved in a lot of run-outs.

Look, I only went for 1 year because that shows the CURRENT form of players and the most recent performances. That's why. Sarfraz had a great 2014 in mainly the SC (IIRC) and in 2015 he slipped up a bit, not due to ability but due to batting no. and temperament. :uakmal

Fair enough, we can agree to disagree but this is just my 2 cents.

I'm talking about current form bhai too. No one would have wanted Malik back when looking at previous stats but he has done very well for us in 2015. 60 average is a good base.

Sarfraz has played SA in SA though.. You've completely just ignored that!

Well where have I ignored his average in SA you already mentioned it in your post so I only pointed out Akmal's because you took the whole average instead of away average of Kamran Akmal because Sarfaraz has played only away against SA.

Kamran averages 23 against Sri Lanka away after 5 matches

Sarfaraz averages 78 against Sri Lanka away after 5 matches

The point being That Kamran Akmal is overrated here a lot on the basis that he is a complete batsman when he does not have much to show for it.

And the argument that he is a proven performer in tournaments goes down the drain when Even after playing a grand total of two world cups that too mostly In upper order he still could not score a single century and it's not like he did not get games against minnows Sarfaraz despite being a mediocre batsman managed to score one.

He has only 1 or 2 good tournaments and has failed in majority of other tournaments.

And I dont know what you are saying when you say Sarfaraz had a mediocre 2015 in tests because he still managed to average 51 and be included in the ICC Test team of the year.

Anyways the point is that Kamran is hugely overrated as a batsman here while he has got nothing to show for it despite playing 154 ODI's and 54 Tests his showing in both formats is just average.

Add to that his pathetic wicketkeeping in the latter part of his career that completely destroyed any legacy he had.

Sirfraz rightly holds main postion in the team apart from the last tests series v england with the bat hes been oustanding otherwise for the rest of the year.

Kamran whilst scoring well domestically has he really improved since the last he was in the side?

Rizwan needs to work on his game alot before he should even get a call up into pakistan test sqaud never mind anywhere near the starting 11.

Two separate discussions here:

Q: In Test matches, does Sarfaraz merit a place?
A: Absolutely. Maybe we can reassess after 2016 once he has had an extended run. But for now, his batting and largely good wicket keeping means it is a travesty to even have this debate.

Q: In ODIs/T20s does Sarfaraz merit a place?
A: No. Despite him 'looking aggressive/standing outside crease/having a high test SR" he cannot force the pace in LOI. His record is abysmal and his ability to turn situations is in direct contrast to tests.

So Who then?
Rizwan?
Akmal?
Anyone else?

Well where have I ignored his average in SA you already mentioned it in your post so I only pointed out Akmal's because you took the whole average instead of away average of Kamran Akmal because Sarfaraz has played only away against SA.

Kamran averages 23 against Sri Lanka away after 5 matches

Sarfaraz averages 78 against Sri Lanka away after 5 matches

The point being That Kamran Akmal is overrated here a lot on the basis that he is a complete batsman when he does not have much to show for it.

And the argument that he is a proven performer in tournaments goes down the drain when Even after playing a grand total of two world cups that too mostly In upper order he still could not score a single century and it's not like he did not get games against minnows Sarfaraz despite being a mediocre batsman managed to score one.

He has only 1 or 2 good tournaments and has failed in majority of other tournaments.

And I dont know what you are saying when you say Sarfaraz had a mediocre 2015 in tests because he still managed to average 51 and be included in the ICC Test team of the year.

Anyways the point is that Kamran is hugely overrated as a batsman here while he has got nothing to show for it despite playing 154 ODI's and 54 Tests his showing in both formats is just average.

Add to that his pathetic wicketkeeping in the latter part of his career that completely destroyed any legacy he had.

I was talking about 2015 being mediocre in ODI's. Personally think both are mediocre but Sarfraz is overrated on this forum.

And OP is talking about England. Calling for Kami's inclusion for England. You are using stats where it suits your purpose. As a matter of fact, your stats are completely wrong too.

Kami averages 20 in SA and 12 in ENG. Follow the link for reference:

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/41028.html?class=1;template=results;type=batting

Not my stats, I was going off [MENTION=139975]The_Odd_One[/MENTION]'s stats so please read that before blaming me. :facepalm:

I'm not doing it so it suits my purporse, I'm doing it so we can actually COMPARE what they have done overseas, England and SA have similar conditions and Sarfraz has played only in SA. What else can I do??

Simple Question: Tests or ODI's, will any of you bet your life if Kami was the keeper?

Not my stats, I was going off [MENTION=139975]The_Odd_One[/MENTION]'s stats so please read that before blaming me. :facepalm:

I'm not doing it so it suits my purporse, I'm doing it so we can actually COMPARE what they have done overseas, England and SA have similar conditions and Sarfraz has played only in SA. What else can I do??

You should have verified it as some others did.

OP is talking about selecting Kami for England tour where he failed big time. So there's no point of bringing SA into the equation. OP just assumes about Sarfraz's failure and Kamran's success. He fails big time statiscally and logically.

Sarfraz played 3 matches and Kami played 5 matches in SA. Not to mention it was Sarfraz's first series after comeback in alien conditions.

You should have verified it as some others did.

OP is talking about selecting Kami for England tour where he failed big time. So there's no point of bringing SA into the equation. OP just assumes about Sarfraz's failure and Kamran's success. He fails big time statiscally and logically.

Sarfraz played 3 matches and Kami played 5 matches in SA. Not to mention it was Sarfraz's first series after comeback in alien conditions.

You're making some excuses that you would see in Malik's support thread. :))

Yes he's only had 3 matches in SA but his shot selection against pace has been very limited, slog and/or sweep or defend, maybe do the occasional flick shot.

Similar to Umar which is why he has had problems getting runs and not getting out in the same fashion many many times.

This is a point bringing SA in to the equation, it's pretty obvious that their conditions are pretty similar. Yes Kamran failed there, but my point the whole time has been that Sarfraz is made to look much better by his fans than he actually is. :facepalm:

Stupid question, who would bet their life on anything?

I feel anyone suggesting Kami to be back is even stupider...if you have been bitten not once, but a million times by the same Minnion and you want him back, that is really idiotic. There has to be some sort testing of such brains, ordered ASAP!

Sarfraz should not be dropped from Pakistan test team. He should must go to England as our first choice test keeper.

If he loses 10 kg weight which he should than definitely his batting and keeping will improve.

I don't agree that his only go to shot against pacers is sweep shot. Rather it's his fitness and temperament which has caused dip in his performances.

Sarfraz can play through the cover and point against pacers. Not as efficiently as kamran but remember kamran was always a hit or miss batsman not dependable batsman. He just as two top class innings in my view, Both in tests against India. His most odi hundreds have come on flat wickets and poor opposition bowling lineup. For somebody batting in top 4 in odis usually look at his overall batting average. Also his keeping ? He has cost us many many games from position o strength to lose the games due to his keeping. Sarfraz's keeping is scratchy aswell but the ratio of his errors in keeping causing us games is far less than Sarfraz's.

Yes kamran had a good world t20 with the bat in 2009-2010 but it was 6 years ago when most bowlers were clueless about how to bowl in T20 format. People should look at his failures afterwards in both odis and T20's.

Kamran can be tried as only a batsman in limited formats but seriously it gives me real fear with his selection because he lived a charmed life after 2009-2010 because he did not get banned , did not go to jail. Everybody knew he was the closest friend of Mazhar Majeed and in world t20 1 or 2 games and throughout Australian tour he was most shoddy character and Aqib and Intikhab's views are known to all. Even eyebrows weren't raised about Asif, Amir or Butt than. There is a chance for somebody to learn from his mistakes by jail term and 5 years ban but the person who got away from it is highly unlikely. Remember he had a good NBP contract in last 5 years, played 2 bpl and 2 cpl editions and played for Pakistan occasionally so not much financial worries too and he was only out of team because of performances.

Rizwan as a batsman is in a very tricky position with no performance at all in last 2 series and he is the best fielder in circle in pakistan team whereas his keeping is even considered more scratchy than sarfraz. Those who have seen him in domestic cricket will be witness to it. So he isn't an option.

Sarfraz should be given a fixed batting number in odi cricket and he should must improve his fitness.

In T20's I think we should go with Rehan/Saifullah where my recommendation would be Rehan. He has played very little T20 cricket being from FATA but technically as keeper and batsman he is the best and his fitness levels are exemplary.

I feel anyone suggesting Kami to be back is even stupider...if you have been bitten not once, but a million times by the same Minnion and you want him back, that is really idiotic. There has to be some sort testing of such brains, ordered ASAP!

True. I gave up on Kamran after the 2013 CT (in terms of batting). I think he would have deserved a recall if he hadn't failed when similar things have happened in the past.

Sarfraz should not be dropped from Pakistan test team. He should must go to England as our first choice test keeper.

If he loses 10 kg weight which he should than definitely his batting and keeping will improve.

I don't agree that his only go to shot against pacers is sweep shot. Rather it's his fitness and temperament which has caused dip in his performances.

Sarfraz can play through the cover and point against pacers. Not as efficiently as kamran but remember kamran was always a hit or miss batsman not dependable batsman. He just as two top class innings in my view, Both in tests against India. His most odi hundreds have come on flat wickets and poor opposition bowling lineup. For somebody batting in top 4 in odis usually look at his overall batting average. Also his keeping ? He has cost us many many games from position o strength to lose the games due to his keeping. Sarfraz's keeping is scratchy aswell but the ratio of his errors in keeping causing us games is far less than Sarfraz's.

Yes kamran had a good world t20 with the bat in 2009-2010 but it was 6 years ago when most bowlers were clueless about how to bowl in T20 format. People should look at his failures afterwards in both odis and T20's.

Kamran can be tried as only a batsman in limited formats but seriously it gives me real fear with his selection because he lived a charmed life after 2009-2010 because he did not get banned , did not go to jail. Everybody knew he was the closest friend of Mazhar Majeed and in world t20 1 or 2 games and throughout Australian tour he was most shoddy character and Aqib and Intikhab's views are known to all. Even eyebrows weren't raised about Asif, Amir or Butt than. There is a chance for somebody to learn from his mistakes by jail term and 5 years ban but the person who got away from it is highly unlikely. Remember he had a good NBP contract in last 5 years, played 2 bpl and 2 cpl editions and played for Pakistan occasionally so not much financial worries too and he was only out of team because of performances.

Rizwan as a batsman is in a very tricky position with no performance at all in last 2 series and he is the best fielder in circle in pakistan team whereas his keeping is even considered more scratchy than sarfraz. Those who have seen him in domestic cricket will be witness to it. So he isn't an option.

Sarfraz should be given a fixed batting number in odi cricket and he should must improve his fitness.

In T20's I think we should go with Rehan/Saifullah where my recommendation would be Rehan. He has played very little T20 cricket being from FATA but technically as keeper and batsman he is the best and his fitness levels are exemplary.

Sarfraz should definitely get no.4 to his name when he plays, but he should be dropped from LOI's on current form and fitness, he doesn't deserve to play in the team.

Yes Rizwan is a good fielder, but his keeping in international has been so much better than Sarfraz's that domestic keeping is irrelevant. We also have good/just as good fielders in Umar,Shehzad and Anwar Ali, Hafeez isn't bad either.

Would be stupid to send Sarfraz as first team keeper to England just because you want it to happen. What if he fails in NZ? He also gave his wicket away in the England series and was doing this in LOI's too, not just against England but against Zimbabwe and Bangladesh.

He averaged 40+ in the recent ODI series vs Eng.
You must have very standards if you consider his performances "Disappointing"

Jesus Christ, I cannot believe how you lot have fallen for this hook, line and sinker with virtual essays being typed for what clearly is a troll thread.

If post #32 didn't give that away, I don't know what will.

Putting the blatant fishing aside, I thought Kamran was fantastic between 2005-2006, his hundreds against India in Mohali and Karachi will live long in the memory. But it ain't 2006 anymore and Kamran is done as an international cricketer. A few knocks against third-rate domestic attacks won't change that.

Jesus Christ, I cannot believe how you lot have fallen for this hook, line and sinker with virtual essays being typed for what clearly is a troll thread.

If post #32 didn't give that away, I don't know what will.

Putting the blatant fishing aside, I thought Kamran was fantastic between 2005-2006, his hundreds against India in Mohali and Karachi will live long in the memory. But it ain't 2006 anymore and Kamran is done as an international cricketer. A few knocks against third-rate domestic attacks won't change that.

Whether it's a troll thread or not it actually brings up some interesting points about Sarfraz, the Kamran part surely has to be a troll.

You're making some excuses that you would see in Malik's support thread. :))

Yes he's only had 3 matches in SA but his shot selection against pace has been very limited, slog and/or sweep or defend, maybe do the occasional flick shot.

Similar to Umar which is why he has had problems getting runs and not getting out in the same fashion many many times.

This is a point bringing SA in to the equation, it's pretty obvious that their conditions are pretty similar. Yes Kamran failed there, but my point the whole time has been that Sarfraz is made to look much better by his fans than he actually is. :facepalm:

Again, OP is talking about bringing Kamran for England where he have an average of 11. OP is saying Sarfraz will fail in England for which he doesn't have any stats, reason or logic.

Show me only one post where I'm praising Sarfraz in this thread? I'm merely comparing the two for England.

How Sarfraz gets out, how he plays has nothing to do with my post. Your point is nothing when you aren't actually not on topic. Thread is about bringing Kamran back for England.

Pls answer to the points mentioned if you are quoting anyone. You are dragging the thread without addressing the points mentioned in my posts.

Again, OP is talking about bringing Kamran for England where he have an average of 11. OP is saying Sarfraz will fail in England for which he doesn't have any stats, reason or logic.

Show me only one post where I'm praising Sarfraz in this thread? I'm merely comparing the two for England.

How Sarfraz gets out, how he plays has nothing to do with my post. Your point is nothing when you aren't actually not on topic. Thread is about bringing Kamran back for England.

Pls answer to the points mentioned if you are quoting anyone. You are dragging the thread without addressing the points mentioned in my posts.

Topic is to due with Sarfraz and him being replaced! I'm saying why people might want him replaced. It's really simple!

Kami Hami Ha, continues to produce the goods in domestics. IIRC he's leading scorer or somewhere near the tOP in the current competition.

What value is Sarfaraz adding to the T-20 squad? He can't hit the ball in the death overs, his keeping is unreliable. I think for T-20's Akmal jr should take the gloves to allow us to play an extra all rounder.

And people wanted this overweight hack to captain in LOIs when he's not good enough to be in the team in the first place.

If neither Sarfraz or Rizwan do well in NZ, we should consider bringing Kamran Akmal back in the team

Yes it is... Sarfraz is in the current team doing pretty bad right now, but Kamran is probably going to do just as bad. A bit of a dilemma.

But Sarfraz hasn't played in England and Kamran was terrible for years before being dropped. Huge difference!

Yes but the comparison is here because of his amazing form. Sarfraz, not so much. Anyway, I think we should just agree to disagree.

So Sarfraz's international performance can be compared to Kamran's domestic performance? Epic! :))

Despite his fabulous performance this season, Kamran is still behind Sarfraz in terms of stats. Be it internationally or domestically. Kamran wins in only T20Is by having an average of 20 while Sarfraz averages 18.

So Sarfraz's international performance can be compared to Kamran's domestic performance? Epic! :))

Despite his fabulous performance this season, Kamran is still behind Sarfraz in terms of stats. Be it internationally or domestically. Kamran wins in only T20Is by having an average of 20 while Sarfraz averages 18.

That's not what I meant at all.

I like Sarfraz but lately he hasn't been in good form, esp in LOIs.

If Kamran is doing well in the domestic games then he deserves a chance, more so because Pakistan are struggling with the openers as well and Kamran can fill that Position of Ahmed Shahzad.. I was one of those guys who always thought Shahzad is a long term solution for Pakistan's opening problems but this lad hasn't improved at all with time. Kamran can open and Pakistan can probably try someone like Babar Azam in the middle order in place of Sarfraz and probably Aamer Yamin in place of Maqsood.

I like Sarfraz but lately he hasn't been in good form, esp in LOIs.

If Kamran is doing well in the domestic games then he deserves a chance, more so because Pakistan are struggling with the openers as well and Kamran can fill that Position of Ahmed Shahzad.. I was one of those guys who always thought Shahzad is a long term solution for Pakistan's opening problems but this lad hasn't improved at all with time. Kamran can open and Pakistan can probably try someone like Babar Azam in the middle order in place of Sarfraz and probably Aamer Yamin in place of Maqsood.

When you send a person who has done well at 4 to bat at #7 and try to hit out he'll obviously fail.

Can't argue against Karachi lobby. Let it go.

Am from Karachi too, but I'm Pakistani first.

Sarfraz is an insult to our rich batsmanship heritage consisting of batting heavyweights like Miandad, Anwar and now Asad Shafiq.

Purely as a batsman? Maybe. But as a replacement for Sarfraz and as keeper? Nope. His paltry average would be realistically cut in half due to how many catches he'll drop.

Sarfraz is an insult to our rich batsmanship heritage consisting of batting heavyweights like Miandad, nwar and now Asad Shafiq.

Guy averages 45+ in test cricket. Remind me of dropmal's average please :)

When you send a person who has done well at 4 to bat at #7 and try to hit out he'll obviously fail.

I agree with you w.r.t the fact that Sarfraz has not been utilized properly and the shuffling of his batting order hasn't helped in any way. However, Sarfraz has missed cashing in on opportunities like in the LOI series against England, he couldn't quite deliver the goods even when he had sufficient time to settle in and score runs.

Again I really like Sarfraz but considering the WT20 I believe giving an in form Kamran a shot will not be a bad Idea, in fact I want Kamran in place of Shehzad, so if Sarfi can show some form then they can play them both and also Babar Azam in place of Maqsood.

Kamran Akmal in T20's is not a bad option at all especially at the top order. I'd take him as a specialist opening batsman over Shehzad any day

Would never trust Sarfraz with the bat over Kami.

Will trust him with a broom though.

When I read Kamran's name, I was like:

4c09f8859014b039dcdb6703898eceba.jpg

Would never trust Sarfraz with the bat over Kami.

Will trust him with a broom though.

It's beyond me why Kami the opening batsman in T20 cricket is being neglected. He's destructive batsman at the top and a genuine impact player in T20's. He has a world cup winners medal and two brilliant world cup tournament performances to boast. Is he really an option which is a lot worse then shehzad? Kamran is playing well in domestic cricket to so he's in good knick

I agree with you w.r.t the fact that Sarfraz has not been utilized properly and the shuffling of his batting order hasn't helped in any way. However, Sarfraz has missed cashing in on opportunities like in the LOI series against England, he couldn't quite deliver the goods even when he had sufficient time to settle in and score runs.

Again I really like Sarfraz but considering the WT20 I believe giving an in form Kamran a shot will not be a bad Idea, in fact I want Kamran in place of Shehzad, so if Sarfi can show some form then they can play them both and also Babar Azam in place of Maqsood.

If Sarfraz plays in the top 4 in the world t20 he'll be very effective because he can face the spinners. There's no point of playing him at 7. The thing with people like Sarfraz is that they don't cry on media and don't blame others which is why they don't get noticed. All you need to do to get the sympathy of others is to blame someone else for your failure and make excuses.

Kami is in good form in domestic tournament if he performs in PSL I would take him over sarfraz in t20s firstly in Asia cup and if he scores in Asia cup then in world t20

fully support the inclusion of kamran over safraz. safraz has done okay but kamran is an out and out match winner with the bat to go with his considerable keeping skills.

Sarfraz is an insult to our rich batsmanship heritage consisting of batting heavyweights like Miandad, Anwar and now Asad Shafiq.

Ohh you're from Karachi, how convenient :) [MENTION=136729]Suleiman[/MENTION] rehnay day bahi bandh kar apni yeah trolling FGS. Sarfaraz I understand is not up to scratch in LOIs but the problem is that we are playing him at absolutely the wrong position to begin with. He's not a #8 batsman and the shuffling he suffers to accommodate tailunts like Maqsood has ruined whatever game plan he might have as an LOI batsman.

I am not saying he's a world beater but to say that he's an insult to batsmans like Anwar and Faisal Iqbal :facepalm: is quite honestly taking it too far. This was the same guy that led the charge against SA in the WC when all our so called Akmals, Shehzads, Hafeezs and Harris were getting their behinds handed to them.and we were on the brink on getting knocked out in the group stages. In addition, to this wonderful contribution he was the only guy in the squad to have scored a century; albeit that century came against Ireland but nonetheless you can only play against the teams you face right ??

I still remember even before he was given a chance in the WC, ex-legends (Wasim Akram) and cricket pundits were writing him off just because they thought he didn't have the technique to survive in Australia - Guess what he made a match defining 48 against SA pacers the first game he was give a chance, and followed it up with a very useful ton against Ireland. Sarfraz has one thing which the Akmals in their entire lifetime will never have, he has grit to battle it out when the chips are down and just like his career has been; marred with preference bias in favor of Akmals I sincerely believe that if we play him at the correct position which is #3 or as an opener he would do quite well and would be a breath of fresh air for this dull and uncoordinated batting line up.

If I was in the coaching staff / management I would personally have the below 1,2 & 3 in my lineup.

1. Umar Akmal
2. Sarfaraz
3. Hafeez

In the above three you have a guy who plays pace best when it comes to the Pakistan batting line-up i.e. Umar Akmal. Then you have Sarfraz who plays spin the best which makes him a very useful T-20 opener as a lot of the teams start the bowling with spinners in this format. Then at #3 you have Hafeez who has is a very decent bat at one down position, probably his best batting position as well.

This lineup especially in T20s can make an extremely strong batting engine. It gives our best T20 bat UA the perfect opportunity to play as many overs as possible and also protects Hafeez from the new ball conundrum which has been the Achilles heel for his entire batting career. 7/10 I would back these three in particular to get the job done on most surfaces which practically is good enough for a team like Pakistan who's top three usually muck it up 9 times out of 10 and lets be sincerely honest here; Sarafraz won't do half as bad in the top three than what Shehzad and Maqsood have been dishing out for the past couple of years.

This might also help UA to achieve what we need of him to become for the Pakistan LOI side. Sarfaraz is quite the wily customer when it comes to calculating run rates and playing the field - In short he has a very sane head on his shoulders and further has captaincy experience at the junior level, so he can manage players as well. He could be the ideal foil to our batting crown prince and I would be inclined to pair them just so that he can transfer some of his brains to UA in a real time match environment. For all the talent UA posses he basically lacks the one thing that is most necessary - the brain. Sarfraz can be that leveler which could mature UA as a batsman and coherently make Pakistan a very dynamic batting unit altogether.

People very quickly forget how good he's been in tests, the most demanding cricket format, he was practically the reason why we managed that historic Sharjah chase. He added a very unique and modern dimension to our old fashioned test batting lineup and ever since his induction Pakistan have been quite prominent in having a sound top 7.

Disregarding his batting and on keeping standards alone he outperforms all his contemporaries i.e. Kamran, Rizwan & Umar which is practically the only reason that could be sufficient enough to hold his place. People very conveniently forget how miserable we were as a nation when in every game there was a drop catch happening and everyone was calling for Akmal's head. In case you've forgotten please have a look at this thread which was opened way back in 2011 right here on our precious PP website - Link

K.Akmal had a grand total of 84 muck ups in a span of 4 years i.e. from 2007-2011. I am not even giving you current numbers of 2016 after which the tally could be somewhere close to 110-120 if I am not mistaken :facepalm: you want a guy who has 100+ drops in his entire cricketing career ?? :O to play for Pakistan. I can bet a lot of money on the mere fact that if we accumulate all the drops from all keepers that played for Pakistan and yes that includes Umer and Adnan as well we would not be at even 50% of the drops that are inflicted by Mr. K.Akmal alone - That's how bad he is as a keeper.

In all fairness I would quote an English commie, i cant remember his name (can someone please correct me on this) but I remember the saying which went something like 'Even if K.Akmal had the average of Don Bradman in International Cricket, it would still not make up for the drops he incurs during a game' - That's how important keeping skills are for a team. Rationally speaking if Kamran cannot make it as a keeper he has no business in being in the XI for Pakistan because as a fielder he would be on par with either Irfan or Rahat and would give more runs than what his worth is with the bat.

As far as tests go there is not even a hint of competition between the two, Sarfraz in his last 19 test innings have been dismissed for a score of less than 50 only FOUR FREAKING TIMES. That's how good a batsman he is, so logically speaking I would be more inclined to give someone a chance who has proved his mettle at the highest level in comparison to someone who might just be a have been and quite honestly, even in his prime playing days K.Akmal was no world beater - He was just another decent bat; that's about it.

Past laurels for individual players means jack and we should look to move forward. It is an established fact that Sarfraz is the best player of spin bowling in the team at the moment. With the WC in India I would back him to perform against any attack currently. The circumstance do not allow us to bring K.Akmal as he will always be a stop gap in our batting hurdles. For once, we need to look long term and make decisions that benefit Pakistan for an extended period of time.

Bhai's plan is finally in motion. Called it months back. Glad Inzi Haq had chosen Riz because neither of us trust Sarf overseas 100%. Great minds think alike :inzi

Sarfraz has been great in Tests so far and it will be an injustice for him not to play. He should get 3 Tests on the trot. However in ODIs and T20s he needs to be dropped and replaced by Rizwan