Tumbbad now on Amazon Prime, Bollywood movie of the year?

Reddy

Tape Ball Captain
Nice to see that Tumbbad is now on Amazon Prime, It is the Bollywood movie of the year In my opinion, Did anyone else here check out the movie?

[utube]sN75MPxgvX8[/utube]

Trailer looks exciting. But it's hard to trust Bollywood when it comes to serious cinema.

Anyway it is on Amazon Prime so people who have subscription can watch for free, Almost everyone i know has Amazon Prime due to low price of Rs 1000 per year, just posting so that people can share their opinions after watching the movie.

People should watch this movie. I recommend it

Anyway it is on Amazon Prime so people who have subscription can watch for free, Almost everyone i know has Amazon Prime due to low price of Rs 1000 per year, just posting so that people can share their opinions after watching the movie.

I've got Prime, so unlike Gangs of Wasseypur, I can't really make any excuse not to watch it. But will only do so if some Bollywood critic whose opinion I can respect can recommend it. These films are usually 2-3hrs long so don't want to waste that much of my life unless it comes with some decent reviews.

People should watch this movie. I recommend it

Make that two plus recommendations. I respect your opinion of course, but the members who have gained the most kudos for cinematic expertise here are aliasad, Deadball and the other guy whose name I forget right now.

you are going senile..how can you forget saadibaba.

I've got Prime, so unlike Gangs of Wasseypur, I can't really make any excuse not to watch it. But will only do so if some Bollywood critic whose opinion I can respect can recommend it. These films are usually 2-3hrs long so don't want to waste that much of my life unless it comes with some decent reviews.

Tumbadd is just 1 hour 44 mins, so not your usual 3 hour long film, the critics score on Rotten Tomatoes is 89%

I tried to watch it a while ago..gave up after seeing tonsured heads and shaky camera. don't find indian horror scary at all.

you are going senile..how can you forget saadibaba.

Yeah my memory has suffered from too much bad living in my youth, must be catching up with me now. I was thinking who was that other lapsed Pakistani, and of course it was our own saadibaba who can dissect a movie from every angle and wring the last drop of emotional juice from it like no other contributor here. :salute

Fair enough. Personally liked it. Refreshing from Indian cinema which usually comes up with bakwas. And a short movie at that by the standards.

[MENTION=131678]Madplayer[/MENTION] [MENTION=143290]Reddy[/MENTION] Is it family friendly?
My young sister wants to watch it with me and I would rather it didn't have any explicit scenes not suitable for younger audiences.

[MENTION=131678]Madplayer[/MENTION] [MENTION=143290]Reddy[/MENTION] Is it family friendly?
My young sister wants to watch it with me and I would rather it didn't have any explicit scenes not suitable for younger audiences.

Nothing explicit naked scene but there are mistresses in the movie, so it depends on family to family. Why not watch yourself first and then decide whether you will allow her to watch or not.

Just watched it, would rate it as Good or 6.5/10 at best. OK for a one time view. There were times when I was looking at my watch although I did like the whole full circle ending (not sure if many would wait 1 and a half hours for it).

The reviews on Imdb are mostly Indian based with the usual hyperbolic titles such as "A movie we needed, but we don't deserve.", "Best bollywood movie ever." and my personal favourite "Hollywood may take lessons from this Indian flick" :facepalm:

Most of the Indians are probably in awe that Bollywood whose usual fare is the kinds of Race 3 etc, could make a half decent movie but there are at least 20-30 Indian movies which would rank way higher in my list. Not even in my top 5 for best Bollywood movie of this year.

How old is your sister? There is a scene which implies masturbation in the beginning, not much other than that (apart from the usual fare). It also has some gore.

She's 15.
Yar your other post has turned me off big time. Was looking forward to this film.

She's 15.
Yar your other post has turned me off big time. Was looking forward to this film.

It is in the end my personal opinion. I also did not watch many movies with bad reviews for years until I finally did (basically due to not having much else to watch left) and some turned out to be hidden gems. Like I said, it is good for a one time watch. You could give it a try, maybe you will like it more than I did.

Rotten Tomatoes has been all praise though. Might check it out and see if it's worth it.

Just watched it, would rate it as Good or 6.5/10 at best. OK for a one time view. There were times when I was looking at my watch although I did like the whole full circle ending (not sure if many would wait 1 and a half hours for it).

The reviews on Imdb are mostly Indian based with the usual hyperbolic titles such as "A movie we needed, but we don't deserve.", "Best bollywood movie ever." and my personal favourite "Hollywood may take lessons from this Indian flick" :facepalm:

Most of the Indians are probably in awe that Bollywood whose usual fare is the kinds of Race 3 etc, could make a half decent movie but there are at least 20-30 Indian movies which would rank way higher in my list. Not even in my top 5 for best Bollywood movie of this year.

Which Bollywood movies do you suggest for 2018 list of good movies? i am sure i must have missed some and can watch it now on Netflix, Amazon or torrents.

Top stuff, although I think I enjoyed reading your review of the IMDB Indian reviews more than the review of the film itself. Not convinced on the film yet, will maybe need a bit more enthusiastic endorsement before I take the plunge, but one worth considering maybe.

Which Bollywood movies do you suggest for 2018 list of good movies? i am sure i must have missed some and can watch it now on Netflix, Amazon or torrents.

Am still waiting for Andhadhun and Badhaai Ho but from the movies that I have seen in the past year or so (have seen movies from much earlier too but not including those)

Sacred Games (series but good)
Padman (good)
Bioscopewala (good)
Hindi Medium (good)
Stree (good)
Secret Superstar (good)
Mukkaybaaz (Ok)
Manto (Ok)
Newton (Ok)
Karaavan (Meh)
October (Meh)
Blackmail (Meh)

As for really good movies you may have missed out in the recent past, I would suggest

Dangal
PK
Ugly
Kahaani
Gangs of Wasseypur
***** Khadoos
Visaaranai (Interrogation)
Shahid
Iqbal (Not so recent but the best cricketing movie ever in my opinion)

Am sure I have missed many but will add others as they come to mind.

Am still waiting for Andhadhun and Badhaai Ho but from the movies that I have seen in the past year or so (have seen movies from much earlier too but not including those)

Padman (good)
Bioscopewala (good)
Hindi Medium (good)
Stree (good)
Secret Superstar (good)
Mukkaybaaz (Ok)
Manto (Ok)
Newton (Ok)
Karaavan (Meh)
October (Meh)
Blackmail (Meh)

As for really good movies you may have missed out in the recent past, I would suggest

Dangal
PK
Ugly
Kahaani
Gangs of Wasseypur
***** Khadoos
Shahid

Have seen all the old ones, the 2018 ones i knew all those names but missed 4 to 5 of those, have Netflix and Amazon Prime so can watch almost everything except one or two which are on hotstar premium and will need to acquire them differently. What about Pataakha? Recently released on Amazon.

How is Mirzapur? Released few days back on Amazon. And also other series like Ghoul and Powder on Netflix, Breathe on Amazon?

Sorry for the late reply.
For a 15 year old, its pretty clean really. But It has some gore so i am not sure how your sister would take it. It depends from person to person i suppose.

Only bollywood movie? if not I would suggest 2 brilliant south indian movie- Vikram Veda and Ratsasan, I watched recently and enjoyed it thoroughly.

I recommend” Kaahani “to anyone that’s usually a first time watcher of Bollywood movies who for the most part allways assumes that every single Bollywood movie has songs where you sing and dance .

Of course I also have to also assume that this person is someone that loves the thriller genre and isn’t someone that loves the over the top melodrama which is like 90% of them.

Kahaani is an absolute gem with a very slick twist in the end. Unfortunately in my mind the sequel did not live up to my expectation.

Other good movies of this year are Andhadhun and Badhaai Ho.

Ones a thriller and the other a comedy.

Stree is a good horror comedy also from this year.

Padman (good)
Bioscopewala (good)
Hindi Medium (good)
Stree (good)
Secret Superstar (good)
Mukkaybaaz (Ok)
Manto (Ok)
Newton (Ok)
Karaavan (Meh)
October (Meh)
Blackmail (Meh)

Dangal
PK
Ugly
Kahaani
Gangs of Wasseypur
***** Khadoos
Shahid

Ugly is seriously very underrated. This movie, in my opinion, is more realistic than most films. There's no or bad character in this movie. It's an old movie though.

I'll also recommend hunterrrrrr to the guys here. Not a family friendly movie. But it's a good comedy (where they dont joke to make you laugh).

Padman (good)
Bioscopewala (good)
Hindi Medium (good)
Stree (good)
Secret Superstar (good)
Mukkaybaaz (Ok)
Manto (Ok)
Newton (Ok)
Karaavan (Meh)
October (Meh)
Blackmail (Meh)

Dangal
PK
Ugly
Kahaani
Gangs of Wasseypur
***** Khadoos
Shahid

It's subjective but Andhadhun, Aankhon Dekhi,tumhari sulu,Paan Singh Tomar are better than some movies you suggested.

And if time is not the limit then Ship of Thesus as well.

Have seen all the old ones, the 2018 ones i knew all those names but missed 4 to 5 of those, have Netflix and Amazon Prime so can watch almost everything except one or two which are on hotstar premium and will need to acquire them differently. What about Pataakha? Recently released on Amazon.

How is Mirzapur? Released few days back on Amazon. And also other series like Ghoul and Powder on Netflix, Breathe on Amazon?

Haven't watched Pataakha.

Watched about 3 episodes of Mirzapur and got bored, not engaging at all and the acting looks forced.

Ghoul, didn't even bother as top voted reviews gave it a 1 (and that too Indian reviewers, which is saying something).

Will definitely give Powder a go as have heard really good things about it, apparently it was released in 2010 and Netflix picked it up recently.

It's subjective but Andhadhun, Aankhon Dekhi,tumhari sulu,Paan Singh Tomar are better than some movies you suggested.

And if time is not the limit then Ship of Thesus as well.

Like I said, am still waiting for Andhadhun and Badhai ho (really like Ayushmann Khurrana). Aankhon Dekhi is also really good. Paan Singh Tomar was OK for me. Wanted to watch Ship of Thesus before but then forgot to for some reason or another, will give it a go soon.

Karwaan is pretty decent movie to watch on prime too

Did you see shaitan haveli series on prime? It's both a parody as well as homage to Ramsay brothers movies

Sadly No.
Waise I realize Ramsay Bros films were weird and creepy in a funny sort of way but one's gotta admit they were spooky like anything.
Remember watching Veerana as a kid and it was a miracle that I didn't crap my pants.

Sadly No.
Waise I realize Ramsay Bros films were weird and creepy in a funny sort of way but one's gotta admit they were spooky like anything.
Remember watching Veerana as a kid and it was a miracle that I didn't crap my pants.

It's actually pretty fun. An old horror film maker wants to shoot Ramsey type horror again and choses an old haveli. But there is an actual chudail in the haveli and soon the monster actors start dying and be coming real monsters. It's pretty funny and a good parody

Sounds fun. Might give it a watch after Tumbbad.

Like I said, am still waiting for Andhadhun and Badhai ho (really like Ayushmann Khurrana). Aankhon Dekhi is also really good. Paan Singh Tomar was OK for me. Wanted to watch Ship of Thesus before but then forgot to for some reason or another, will give it a go soon.

Ship of Thesus is actually remarkable but you do need some patience,which I'm sure you do, there are lot of subtle scenes , would love to see your review after watching it though.
Problem with such Indian movies is one dimensional characters except Aankhon Dekhi or Paan Singh tomar, most of Amir movies are one dimensional but he excels in that dimension.

Ship of Thesus is actually remarkable but you do need some patience,which I'm sure you do, there are lot of subtle scenes , would love to see your review after watching it though.
Problem with such Indian movies is one dimensional characters except Aankhon Dekhi or Paan Singh tomar, most of Amir movies are one dimensional but he excels in that dimension.

ship of theseus, sounds like the kind of movie tailor made for the convent educated, west worshipping, mental midgets, who like to show off their class by watching movies which have indian characters speaking in english, so that they can use the words "offbeat" and "subtle" and "refined" to describe their taste.

The ones who are rejoicing at Priyanka's wedding with Nick Jonas.

Surprisingly very Indian, Jain monk, Share bazaar waala ,at best one character is what u r saying.

I didn't like Dhoni ghaat and movies that u r talking abt either, I like to entertained while watching movies.

The ones who are rejoicing at Priyanka's wedding with Nick Jonas.

Lol no one seems to care except the nationalists who praised her for decision to get married in India unlike Deepika/Kohli so yeah lol.

Surprisingly very Indian, Jain monk, Share bazaar waala ,at best one character is what u r saying.

I didn't like Dhoni ghaat and movies that u r talking abt either, I like to entertained while watching movies.

Dhobhi*

Ship of Thesus is produced by Soham Shah who btw also produced Tumbbad and acted in both movies so lol.

Watched Tumbbad. Pretty decent film. Good concept and the execution was good too. Cinematography was brilliant.
I suggest watching with subtitles though.

Watched Tumbbad. Pretty decent film. Good concept and the execution was good too. Cinematography was brilliant.
I suggest watching with subtitles though.

Pretty decent doesn't sound great, seems to be hyped then.
I'm guessing it was.more of a cinematical experience than a streaming one.

Why would an Indian film ever be called Ship of Thesus? Is it about some Indian movie wedding where the happy couple sail to the Greek Isles to have a white wedding? They could have gone to the US like Priyanka if they wanted to do that.

Coz the film is based on that concept ship of thesus.. kudos to director for staying true to the name..and not being insecure.

It's a good.movir cap, I think even for you I think k you might not seem songs or dances in it but the dialogues and cinematography are real good.

Watched it in multiplex couple of weeks ago. What a surreal experience! One of the best movies I've watched in the genre. Highly recommended.

When it comes to art, nationality doesn't matter. It is not just Indians who hyperbole stuff, the foreigners do it equally if not more which is why IMDB ratings aren't reliable even for most big budget hollywood films. Besides the fans came down heavily on the utter trash that was Thugs of Hindustan most recently. Things are changing fast. Thanks to the internet revolution brought by Reliance Jio, India's entertain landscape has turned dramatically. The industry has tapped just in time the millions of Indians feeding on western TV shows in absence of good content back home. Sacred Games, Mirzapur etc have created a buzz and have paved way for many more such projects.

Sadly No.

Ramsay Bros were the best and scariest (for a kid at least in my time), the intro music of the Zee Horror Show still gives me the chills.

Karwaan is pretty decent movie to watch on prime too

Below average in my opinion, Irrfan Khan has made some real crap of late, including Karwaan and Blackmail. Don't know if it's due to his health that he chose these projects or not.

Haven't watched Pataakha.

Watched about 3 episodes of Mirzapur and got bored, not engaging at all and the acting looks forced.

Ghoul, didn't even bother as top voted reviews gave it a 1 (and that too Indian reviewers, which is saying something).

Will definitely give Powder a go as have heard really good things about it, apparently it was released in 2010 and Netflix picked it up recently.

How is Breathe with R Madhavan? It is a Amazon Prime series.

I like most things with Madhavan but it has mixed reviews.

Have watched a few episodes of Powder (although I have Netflix but the series is not available on Netflix Germany but it is on YouTube) and it is very good apart from a few "moments". It is quite thorough in it's explanation of how the whole system works. I liked how they mentioned how the "war on drugs" is just a current government policy which could change with time like in many other countries and that they are just puppets if the current government and policies, also that they show some compassion and try to help out some of the people involved either knowingly, due to circumstances or otherwise.

Liked the human touch and the fact not everything is black and white.

I like most things with Madhavan but it has mixed reviews.

Have watched a few episodes of Powder (although I have Netflix but the series is not available on Netflix Germany but it is on YouTube) and it is very good apart from a few "moments". It is quite thorough in it's explanation of how the whole system works. I liked how they mentioned how the "war on drugs" is just a current government policy which could change with time like in many other countries and that they are just puppets if the current government and policies, also that they show some compassion and try to help out some of the people involved either knowingly, due to circumstances or otherwise.

Liked the human touch and the fact not everything is black and white.

Thanks for the review, Breathe looks good, will watch later, I will watch Pataakha today or tomorrow. How the times have changed, Earlier there used to be 3-4 good Bollywood movies or shows a year and now we have backlogs with a 1-2 decent options getting added every month.

Just watched it on Prime. Great movie and certainly deserves to do better commercially (when other ridiculous movies are hitting 100 cr), but not worthy of all the over the top reviews.

Agreed.

2.0 earned 100 crores on the very first day of its release, lol.

If you don't care about quality just you can just watch GoW on dailymotion. It was taken off Netflix but you can rent it in HD for $4 too.

This seems the best year for Indian movies. I have only watched 5 or 6 Indian movies in last 2-3 years

Watched Stree and it was my first since that Sanjay Dutt movie ( which i was forced to watch ).

Andhadhun is on the watchlist and Badhai ho too.

Usually, i get couple of Good Indian movies in an year but this year I'm going to watch at least 4, all released this year.

Kahaani is also on my watchlist.

Will be a cold day in hell before Captain pays to rent a bollywood movie.

You would be surprised to hear I actually paid to watch two Bollywood films at the theatre, Devdas and Veer Zara. Admittedly not because I wanted to, but those films actually got the attention of the mainstream press and I thought it would be a treat for the wife who hates me criticising the rubbish she watches.

Both were decent watches as far as Bollywood goes, although Veer Zara was much better because it had decent songs. Despite them being over the top Bolly tamasha, they had a certain authenticity which I liked.

Has any of the Pakistani brethren/ sisteren watched Vikram Vedha? Thoughts?