Upcoming trip to NYC

ikky47

As it says in the title, I will be heading out to NYC in early April and was wondering what are some good food spots to visit. Want to avoid all the touristy rush, as a Brit Pakistani would be good to know what the food scene is like around NY.

Also if any American citizens could also tell me what the border officials are like at JFK? If anyone has had any experience as have heard from others that they’ve not had great experiences entering the US.

Also stamped on my passport are numerous visits to Pakistan and the Middle East in the past 3/4 years.

Thanks

As it says in the title, I will be heading out to NYC in early April and was wondering what are some good food spots to visit. Want to avoid all the touristy rush, as a Brit Pakistani would be good to know what the food scene is like around NY.

Also if any American citizens could also tell me what the border officials are like at JFK? If anyone has had any experience as have heard from others that they’ve not had great experiences entering the US.

Also stamped on my passport are numerous visits to Pakistan and the Middle East in the past 3/4 years.

Thanks
i am an american in nyc for 23 years. never had issues at jfk. but i am american. don't forget to go to lucallis pizza in brooklyn. hands down best pizza in nyc

Will definitely hit that up sounds good! Thank you. Well hopefully there will be no problem with the border officials. As I said I’ve known a few people that have been detained and questioned and their phones being investigated.

If you strictly want halal cuisine then max you would be able to go to Pakistani or Middle Eastern places.

Kyon bhai Indian restaurants ko bhi boycott kiya kya aapne? :(

As far as I know every Indian restaurant is Halal as well :amla:

I don't recollect the name but isn't there one on Times Square?. They have pictures on their walls of pretty much every A-list American celebrity visiting their Pizza place. Can't remember the name but the Pizza was very good even though personally a fan of Chicago pie style Pizza.

That's because majority of Indians don't eat non-veg, and inorder to attract a wider clientele (read as Pakistani) the Indian restaurants in the west use halal meat.

Will definitely hit that up sounds good! Thank you. Well hopefully there will be no problem with the border officials. As I said I’ve known a few people that have been detained and questioned and their phones being investigated.

Don't know if you have it in the UK, but try going to Five Guys Burger. It'll be hands down the best burger you will have in your life.

Brooklyn has that pizza place also Yemeni Cafe is good Arab food.

Queens has everything and best desi food is over there. They also have halal Chinese.

Halal Guys if u are in Manhattan, and if u want a burger go to Elevation in Yonkers

Have you received your ESTA clearance?

Also what saddo visits a new city for the first time, only to seek Pakistani food.

Live a little.

I don't recollect the name but isn't there one on Times Square?. They have pictures on their walls of pretty much every A-list American celebrity visiting their Pizza place. Can't remember the name but the Pizza was very good even though personally a fan of Chicago pie style Pizza.
no self respecting new yorker does anything in times square. NOTHING. go see the site and get out. lucalis hands down the best pizza. plus it's byob. cash only. best indian if u have cash is indian accent. great place.

i would say the buyer is shake shack , best deal for money. J.G melón is an institution for buyers. and if you really want to spend cash and i eat the very best burger (35). minetta tavern black label burger.

As someone with an Indian passport JFK officials were the worst I encountered.

i would say the buyer is shake shack , best deal for money. J.G melón is an institution for buyers. and if you really want to spend cash and i eat the very best burger (35). minetta tavern black label burger.

burger not buyer

no self respecting new yorker does anything in times square. NOTHING. go see the site and get out. lucalis hands down the best pizza. plus it's byob. cash only. best indian if u have cash is indian accent. great place.

Of course. That's what I hear. only visited NYC in a tourist capacity if I discount the only one occasion I was there for work where I didn't get to dine out and was subjected to one of those crappy corporate lunches.

I did a three week exchange program in NYC last year. You will literally find everyting for catering to your taste buds. It is all about spending money. However. if there is one dish that, was a fresh breath, then try Chipotle at Mexican grill- it is very healthy and tasty mexican dish. I liked it very much. Officals at JFK airport are very friendly and just answer the questions to the point without coming across as a super-smart guy for nothing.

Brooklyn has that pizza place also Yemeni Cafe is good Arab food.

Queens has everything and best desi food is over there. They also have halal Chinese.

Halal Guys if u are in Manhattan, and if u want a burger go to Elevation in Yonkers
Halal Chinese in Sunnyside queens is really good, I would recommend going there for Chinese halal food

I would recommend King of Falafel and Shawarma from the cart or truck, not the restaurant.

If you are coming to NYC try all the other world food this city has to offer> I love desi food, but there is so much out there. And if you know what you are doing you can get it on the cheap also. Also if you eat halal only there is still other cuisine where you can have seafood.
East harlem for authentic mexican food
Ipuudo ramen in east village for japanese noodles
MAdame vo for Vietnamese
thursdays kitchen for korean with french/spanish twist
Taci beyti in coney island for halal turkish
Ravagh for iranian in east village ( halal)
Gup Shup , hi end indian. I like junoon or indian accent better.
Blue ribbon Sushi in soho
Cafe select swiss in soho ( its a scene)

You are not going to get good Pakistani food in the city for that you will have to go to Hicksville in Long Island.

I was never harassed and the immigration have always been very polite, maybe because I traveled with my mom as my mom looks like an angel but in reality she acts nicd to outsiders but beats me up.

If you are on a budget, try the Jackson heights food, if you love kebabs then head to Steinway and you enjoy some shisha too. If you like Thai food, there's mythai in bayridgre. Halal guys opposite Hilton is the bomb :inzi

My parents have traveled many times to Pakistan on Canadian passport haven't had issues entering the US afterwards. Although they enter US from land, not sure if that matters. I don't see why traveling to Pakistan would be an issue, especially if you are of Pakistani background.

Lol where did you hear that?

Many of them are not. But can do halal if requested in advance

Well he’s a tourist not a New Yorker... poor advice to say to not go to Times Square as a tourist

You are not going to get good Pakistani food in the city for that you will have to go to Hicksville in Long Island.

What happened to the world famous Haandi on Lexington?

I did a three week exchange program in NYC last year. You will literally find everyting for catering to your taste buds. It is all about spending money. However. if there is one dish that, was a fresh breath, then try Chipotle at Mexican grill- it is very healthy and tasty mexican dish. I liked it very much. Officals at JFK airport are very friendly and just answer the questions to the point without coming across as a super-smart guy for nothing.

Lol chipotle is hardly healthy. It’s healthy if you’re comparing with McDonalds chick fil-a etc but in the grand scene I wouldn’t say it is.

That reminds me.
OP have the spicy chicken sandwich at Chick Fil-a. It’s really really good.

Also go to Katz Patisserie. That’s kosher/halal so works if that’s a limitation.

Honestly nyc food scene is unreal. I’ve been there several dozen times and more, and rarely have I eaten at one place more than twice. Just too many options.

Don't eat at Chipotle brothers :amla or else you'll need to use a public bathroom and public bathrooms in New York are dirty. Please becareful when you need to use the public bathroom, coronavirus is just getting started. Travel safe and be safe. Carry a hand sanitiser with you at all times.