[VIDEO] “Where is he?": Shubman Gill asks for English journalist who highlighted India's record in Birmingham

Rajdeep

In Edgbaston, an English journalist had even brought up India's bleak past, emphasizing that the squad had never won a single match.

Gill was eager to see the same reporter who had brought up the sour statistics in front of him at the pre-match news conference when he came to the press conference after making history.

"I can't see my favorite journalist. Where is he? I wanted to see him," Gill said, trolling the journalist during the media conference.

I even said before the Test match that I don't really believe in history and stats. Over the last 56 years or so, we've played nine matches - different teams have come here. I believe we are the best team to have come here to England, and we have the capability to beat them, to win the series from here. If we keep making the right decisions and keep fighting, I think it would be one of the series to remember," he further said.

Some may call this arrogance and unnecessary.

Some may say it is pmgood shut up call to that journalist who was mocking Indias record in Edgbaston.

Which side are you on?

Shabash, nice shut up call . Smashed these arrogant England media's,fans and player's. And Ready for the counterattack. 🇮🇳🇮🇳 :kp

seems pretty light hearted and gentle banter, is this considered a roasting in India?

We Bharatiyas didnt take the comments from some English journalists in pre match PC very kindly. They were mocking Gill...almost to a stage of bullying him. I have highlighted this behavior as well and reason why Op Lagaan was launched. Now that we have given it back, thinking whether to do ceasefire or continue Lagaan part 3 in Lords test.

:viv_thinking

We Bharatiyas didnt take the comments from some English journalists in pre match PC very kindly. They were mocking Gill...almost to a stage of bullying him. I have highlighted this behavior as well and reason why Op Lagaan was launched. Now that we have given it back, thinking whether to do ceasefire or continue Lagaan part 3 in Lords test.

:viv_thinking
Gill gave a more than befitting answer on the pitch

It’s nothing. Just some light hearted banter. Someone like Momin bhai would have been more merciless with the mic.

Some may call this arrogance and unnecessary.

Some may say it is pmgood shut up call to that journalist who was mocking Indias record in Edgbaston.

Which side are you on?
I agree with his comment on "history" part. He is right. Just because one set of team failed at Edgbaston doesn't mean every set that come after that will fail there. It is logical.

he should come down to earth

he didn't win a world cup or WTC Final

its just one Test match....also the journalist was in his right to question him early.....like your team suck on this ground, one win won't change that

He is a bang average batsman. Our inferiority complex means some PPers will soon start saying he is better than likes of Babar and Steven Smith.

Some team can't even win a single test in Australia even after more than 30 years. :kp

We won more series than Pakistan in England , Australia, won more test than Pakistan in South Africa . Lol :kp
England? LOL Pakistan drew 2-2 there even recently. England have smashed India every time since India fluked against a very weak team in the mid 2000s.

Atleast checked the history / stats before talking .

This guy is a proper Punjabi

Smiles and smirks on the outside but is giving all the curses and gaalis inside.
Oh he is swearing plenty

There was a clip where he mentioned some nasty things lol about England.

Iski you know what maarne hein
And all that jaaz.

When did India last win in England? Check stats. @mominsaigol @Bhaag Viru Bhaag :viru
India drew 2-2 in 2022 and won in 2007. Pakistan's last series win in England was in 1996. They have drawn two series since then there but have never won. So if 2007 is a joke, the last time Pakistan won in England was against Chris Lewis, Alan Mullaly and Dominic Cork.

Let's look at the English team India beat in 2007 (2 years after their famous Ashes win)
Strauss, Cook, Michael Vaughn, Pieterson, Collingwood, Bell, Prior, Tremlett, Sidebottom, Monty Panesar, James Anderson.

India drew 2-2 in 2022 and won in 2007. Pakistan's last series win in England was in 1996. They have drawn two series since then there but have never won. So if 2007 is a joke, the last time Pakistan won in England was against Chris Lewis, Alan Mullaly and Dominic Cork.

Let's look at the English team India beat in 2007 (2 years after their famous Ashes win)
Strauss, Cook, Michael Vaughn, Pieterson, Collingwood, Bell, Prior, Tremlett, Sidebottom, Monty Panesar, James Anderson.
Our bowling has Zaheer, sresanth, rp etc .more than half of players were playing for first time in eng including dhoni, dk, wasim Jaffer, yuvi, ramesh powar,ranadeep bose, gambhir .

We want someone strong at the crease not at the presser.
Peak Kohli was strong at the crease and in pressers. His 2018 hundred at Edgbaston was a far better knock than Gill's 269.

Whatever he may become as a player, Gill has the personality of a mail-box.

Peak Kohli was strong at the crease and in pressers. His 2018 hundred at Edgbaston was a far better knock than Gill's 269.

Whatever he may become as a player, Gill has the personality of a mail-box.
To be fair Gills is chanceless unlike Kohlis. Gteame Smith was dropped by Nasser in single digit when he made 259. A sitter. Strauss dropped Amla at 44 when he made 311. But Gill did not even get beaten. It is a special knock. 7% false shot over a score of 269. Highest by in history in England. Had he made only 147 like first test India could have lost.

In Edgbaston, an English journalist had even brought up India's bleak past, emphasizing that the squad had never won a single match.

Gill was eager to see the same reporter who had brought up the sour statistics in front of him at the pre-match news conference when he came to the press conference after making history.

"I can't see my favorite journalist. Where is he? I wanted to see him," Gill said, trolling the journalist during the media conference.

I even said before the Test match that I don't really believe in history and stats. Over the last 56 years or so, we've played nine matches - different teams have come here. I believe we are the best team to have come here to England, and we have the capability to beat them, to win the series from here. If we keep making the right decisions and keep fighting, I think it would be one of the series to remember," he further said.

Shubman Gill's 'Favourite Journalist' Speaks Up After India Captain's Brutal Trolling​

BBC's Joe Wilson, has spoken up after being at the receiving end of Gill's trolling:

"What the captain said, very sensibly, was that if you look back to the 1960s, 1970s, even 1980s, let's say, there was a different feel to the Indian team when they travelled abroad. There was no expectation from them to win. Now, they do have the expectation to win. So, maybe that was just statistics, in terms of history. Maybe, it was a motivation. Because, We lost count of records that Shubman himself and India broke. How to get Shubman out that would be the no. 1," Joe Wilson, BBC's cricket correspondent, said on RevSportz.

"I would say anything to motivate him, may be who knows. I think he is a real gentleman. he answers every question with great dignity. We love to talk about statistics, don't we. It was fun."

Shubman Gill's 'Favourite Journalist' Speaks Up After India Captain's Brutal Trolling​

BBC's Joe Wilson, has spoken up after being at the receiving end of Gill's trolling:

"What the captain said, very sensibly, was that if you look back to the 1960s, 1970s, even 1980s, let's say, there was a different feel to the Indian team when they travelled abroad. There was no expectation from them to win. Now, they do have the expectation to win. So, maybe that was just statistics, in terms of history. Maybe, it was a motivation. Because, We lost count of records that Shubman himself and India broke. How to get Shubman out that would be the no. 1," Joe Wilson, BBC's cricket correspondent, said on RevSportz.

"I would say anything to motivate him, may be who knows. I think he is a real gentleman. he answers every question with great dignity. We love to talk about statistics, don't we. It was fun."

To be fair Gills is chanceless unlike Kohlis. Gteame Smith was dropped by Nasser in single digit when he made 259. A sitter. Strauss dropped Amla at 44 when he made 311. But Gill did not even get beaten. It is a special knock. 7% false shot over a score of 269. Highest by in history in England. Had he made only 147 like first test India could have lost.
It was a great knock but you also have to look at the context. It was a very easy pitch to bat on. Especially if you're an Indian batsmen who has grown up on slow, dry surfaces since the days of school cricket. Kohli's knock by comparison was special. I think it was easily one of his best ever. Not only was he coming off that horror 2014 tour but he was batting on a pitch offering considerable swing and seam movement. To score 149 out of your team's 274 runs in such a situation against Anderson and Broad, who thrive in such conditions, was nothing short of remarkable.

Btw I was looking at the scorecard for that match and no other Indian batsman even crossed 31 in that match.

It was a great knock but you also have to look at the context. It was a very easy pitch to bat on. Especially if you're an Indian batsmen who has grown up on slow, dry surfaces since the days of school cricket. Kohli's knock by comparison was special. I think it was easily one of his best ever. Not only was he coming off that horror 2014 tour but he was batting on a pitch offering considerable swing and seam movement. To score 149 out of your team's 274 runs in such a situation against Anderson and Broad, who thrive in such conditions, was nothing short of remarkable.

Btw I was looking at the scorecard for that match and no other Indian batsman even crossed 31 in that match.
As I said he played the exactly fishing drive jn that match as well except fielder dropped it. Oflate fielders don't drop those. I guarantee had Kohli played in this match he would not have even crossed 30 let alone score 269. Gill has corrected his technique.

You're entitled to your opinion but I don't really care much for the 'what could have been' side of cricket. If we start analyzing cricket like this then we will find ways to poke holes in just about every great innings ever played. At the end of the day, the catch wasn't taken and Kohli went on to play a fantastic knock in challenging conditions. And that's what most people will remember. Gill's knock was indeed a flawless knock and anytime someone scores 269 you need to stand-up and applaud regardless of the nature of the pitch, but let's be real...how many times was he really challenged on that pitch? I would wait till he plays on a pitch with prodigious swing and seam movement in this series before judging where he is as a batsman right now. It wasn't too long ago that there were serious question marks on just his place in the side.

I rate this above that. Beacuse He made a mistake at Leeds by gifting his wicket away. This time at 211/5 India could have easily imploded. He showed immense composure in taking the total to safety. Then in the second dig he could have once again failed and left the team in lurch. He made 161 in 162 balls. Did not show up just in one innings. If he had gotten out for 0 in the 2nd dig. Nobody would have said anything. india could have collapsed and England would have had a sniff. So credit to him. On the same pitch Root had an answer. World no.1 batsman in prime form. Shouldn't he have scored like 300 against this inexperienced Indian attack? This is much harder to achieve. There is a reason why very few persons have scored 400 runs in a match and still ended up on the winning side. Only twice has happened in 150 plus years cricket history. Better innings than Kohli has been achieved by Rahul Dravid in England in much more challenging conditions. He broke their will with sheer brute batting display.

Gill has the potential to be a solid captain, but he needs to stop this fake aggressive persona. His sledging sounds funny because he sounds like an Indian aunty.

He is trying too hard to be like Kohli but in reality he is more of a Dravid type character and there is nothing wrong with it. Not everyone has to be hyper-aggressive on the field and get in the face of the opposition.

Gill has the potential to be a solid captain, but he needs to stop this fake aggressive persona. His sledging sounds funny because he sounds like an Indian aunty.

He is trying too hard to be like Kohli but in reality he is more of a Dravid type character and there is nothing wrong with it. Not everyone has to be hyper-aggressive on the field and get in the face of the opposition.

His batting under pressure is leaving a lot to be desired not the signs of a potential solid capt...

Gill needs to look for Washington Sunder, who said that they are gonna win before lunch the next day....

Agree. Gill needs to be comfortable with his natural self, stay calm, level headed. That will also translate to his batting. I think he has done a decent job for most of the series, but in the second innings at Lord’s he seemed to lose the plot a little bit, and his batting also became more panicky and frenetic as a result.

Issue with this generation is 90% of times they have thinking about the content for instagram which will increase their followers. Shubman gill knows this very well that if I say 2 3 words my reel edits will be all over the internet. That's why they loose focus very quickly. Look at Kl Rahul it took him almost 10 years to finally act responsibly and come out of that insta phase now he only looks for runs and not goes for these unnecessary fights to look good on reels.

His batting under pressure is leaving a lot to be desired not the signs of a potential solid capt...
Hit put himself under pressure with his antics. When he plays without picking up fights with the opposition, he leads the team well and also scores well.

He isn’t a Kohli, who would bring his A game whenever there was a controversy or some altercation with the opposition.

Issue with this generation is 90% of times they have thinking about the content for instagram which will increase their followers. Shubman gill knows this very well that if I say 2 3 words my reel edits will be all over the internet. That's why they loose focus very quickly. Look at Kl Rahul it took him almost 10 years to finally act responsibly and come out of that insta phase now he only looks for runs and not goes for these unnecessary fights to look good on reels.
This is so true. They do these things knowing there are plenty of jobless, low-IQ people who will edit the clips, add laser eyes, and throw in captions like 'Thug Life', 'Legend', or 'Sigma'. :yk :inti

"Exactly bro, the real MVPs are the unemployed editors—without them, half the players wouldn’t even know they’re ‘Sigmas’ yet."
"Soon BCCI will have a ‘Reel Strike Rate’ stat next to batting average."