[VIDEO #25] I can't believe how Quetta Gladiators lost that match

They choked and the last 2 overs were excellent. This is what happens when you play Anwar ali. He lost them the game

Shockingly poor batting from Rilee. Fair enough Anwar Ali is crap but Rilee not even attempting to run back for a second was really surprising.

that was really fishy
they misfielded there and parera was calling for it but riley was not interested at all.

Sarfraz was shocking today, hopefully learnt a few lessons. Don't want this friendship crap in the national team

Can someone tell me why Sarfraz did not attempt to run Shadab out ? And, now how come QG lost this game, it was in their hand ?

Quetta lost from the position India was in when they were about to win the World Cup Final in 2011... thank God they didn't have an Anwar Ali in their ranks... the best finisher of modern era...

Can someone tell me why Sarfraz did not attempt to run Shadab out ? And, now how come QG lost this game, it was in their hand ?

Shadab was in... its clear he got a little overconfident with his decision making, Misbah is an old dog, but he still has some moves, out thought the young lion once again like he did in the PSL final last year...

Shehzads slow knock also lost them the game. He should've either batted till the end but the rubbish player that he is, he got out after the slow knock.

Sami being the best bowler of PSL is what happened. Misbah being an amazing tactician and handler of bowlers is what happened. Shehzad's selfish-ish knock is what happened. IU being the best team of PSL is what happened.

One match doesn't make IU the best side. QG are still the best side in the tournament.

The same Muhammad Sami was smacked for six in the last match in a very similar situation. LOL at Sami being best bowler of PSL.

why not give credit to sami and ruman instead of bashing anwar, sarfraz, and shehzad.
very good bowling in death overs gave them a win. anwar wasn't in touch today, that's all.

and yes it look like quetta didn't want to win.

As for the pitch - 150-160 par, said Misbah at the toss. So he's looking for 170 to give his bowlers something to defend.

160 par, aiming for 170.

c9Bpbmo.gif

Split the difference with 165 and won by a single run.

:salute :salute :salute

Shehzad almost won the game, yes this his fault that Saefraz and Anwali Ali messed it up. Guys have a heart and learn to praise someone when he deserves.

One match doesn't make IU the best side. QG are still the best side in the tournament.

The same Muhammad Sami was smacked for six in the last match in a very similar situation. LOL at Sami being best bowler of PSL.

Oh, please. I'll see what you say when we lift the trophy ....AGAIN. And Sami has been the best bowler of PSL both seasons. LOL at your logic - how does getting smashed for a six take that away? Steyn was smashed for 28 runs in an over in the IPL, does that mean he's not a good bowler? Allah he Hafiz hai phir tou.

Secondly, you mention similar situation. Phir say LOL. Yaar bowlers are not successful in such situations 99/100. Nothing out of the ordinary.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">When you need 2 to tie the match, run 1 and there's a misfield & you tell your batting partner don't bother just stay there <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL2017?src=hash">#PSL2017</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/QGvIU?src=hash">#QGvIU</a> <a href="https://t.co/e6ViScAHGO">pic.twitter.com/e6ViScAHGO</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/835214767669317632">February 24, 2017</a></blockquote>

look at rileys how casually he is running.
mann this match must be investigated.
sarfraz not deciding to runout shadab .
and sending anwar ali ahead of parera and mahmudulla.

It was a really selfish knock from shehzad. Not the first time though. You are right that Anwar is more to blame

Selfish in what sense? 59 of 51 was selfish? he almost took the team home it was there in ability to schore 9 of 12

Wow that is really suspicious by Rilee..

There was no way they would have got a second run to tie the game and Roussow knew that.

Although, everybody knew that there was no way that Quetta were going to lose that game...

Every close competition is fixed by the logic our very own conspiracy theorists are presenting. Come on, folks. Let it be and enjoy the beautiful game. Rilee was too far ahead to even think of going back. There was no point.

This was a very interesting chess game between an old battle hardened but declining Lion, and the new king of the jungle.. the new Lion had this swagger about him this confidence, he is majestic... there is alot to admire about him..

the older one is circumspect, his reflexes have given in, the defeats he has faced in recent years has made him more pessimistic, no longer the lion he used to be in his prime, he's silent and unsure of his abilities, he likes to go through the motions but he's sure he's on the losing side, yet he hangs on, his years of experience have taught him that, its more a run through the motions than anything else not out of any medals of bravery, because there are none for loser.. but as a soldier's soldier.. you live by the sword and you die by one..

The younger lion, is at the top of his game, he is ferocious, he is ruthless, he has his best years ahead of him, all the jungle wants this new lion to be their leader, to be their king.. there is an air arrogance about him, he knows he is the best.. as there should be when you are the one on the attack, when you make things happen..

He is the best, his record proves it, he has the look of a predator, he is attacking by nature but very shrewd as well, the sort of look that makes the old lion thinks his time is up..

The old Lion must've stolen the victories when the new King was still learning, but now its his time for glory, and he knows it..

However he underestimated that old lion, who's body is not the same, yet his mind still calculates and still works out an opening, a weakness, a time to attack... a time when the enemy is too busy admiring himself, he sees a weakness.. he attacks, and he takes the younger lion down

Again proving himself as the best, still the king at heart, yet not physically there, but still proving that he has what it takes... proving regardless of what year you are in... experience is everything

WOnderful captaincy by Misbah ul haq.

THere was no point of running two on that ball, as it wasnt a big fumble.

well we cant say Anwar coming ahead of Mahmadullah a suspicios . Anwar was sent ahead in game againt Lahore also and he hit six and 4 that time . this time he failed . so nothing suspicious about it . Sami was just too good

I will not say suspicious because he thought Sami have the ball and he knew it is not gone too far after miss field but it is rather unprofessional
dude dont he know the basics of cricket ?
if he try running more aggressively than the one who is there to runout a batsmen gets into pressure and miss the bowl.
we saw this many many a times specially at these situations when there is 2 run required on last ball or last ball 1 run.
you may remember superover match of pakistan vs australia in dxb.

That was one very strange ending.

What was Anwar Ali trying to do?

Why didRoussow not even try to go for the 2nd run?

I know there was no point but at least he could have tried to run he never even tried to run

There was no way they would have got a second run to tie the game and Roussow knew that.

If you need 2 to win, surely run the first one hard and then see what happens. Roussow ambled through that 1st run, not remotely interested in attempting to run 2.

LOL just accept QG choked big time. Rilee must have been dissapointed with that last shot. He knew it was over.

Rilee should've atleast attempted he second. Sami has a history of choking and he could've double fumbled. I think Rilee was just disappointed and gave up

This was also a great reminder of the importance of fielding, that run out on the penultimate ball made all the difference. If Smith had been a split second slower it would have left Quetta needing one run to tie, so keep that in mind the next time Umar Akmal says something idiotic like "I don't want to lose weight because I won't hit the ball as far"

dude dont he know the basics of cricket ?
if he try running more aggressively than the one who is there to runout a batsmen gets into pressure and miss the bowl.
we saw this many many a times specially at these situations when there is 2 run required on last ball or last ball 1 run.
you may remember superover match of pakistan vs australia in dxb.

I know this is what is odd that he didnt even tried to run and denied run but still that was confusion silly mistakes can happen in cricket i dont see it as suspicious

If you need 2 to win, surely run the first one hard and then see what happens. Roussow ambled through that 1st run, not remotely interested in attempting to run 2.

looks like you don't know any dynamics of batting. Riley put his full efforts to look for a boundary shot which he couldn't connect and he was falling when he was running for the first run.

Sarfraz played a horrible shot when he needed just less than 1 run per ball. That was a pathetic shot to attempt when you know you are limited. Then he made the worst decision to send Anwar Ali hack in keeping in mind Sami would be bowling the last over.

looks like you don't know any dynamics of batting. Riley put his full efforts to look for a boundary shot which he couldn't connect and he was falling when he was running for the first run.

I think you were watching a different match.

Look at who is running to the danger end.
Look at Perera, he wants to go for the 2nd run.
Look at the difference in how the 2 batsmen run the 1st run.
Look at the reaction of the Quetta bench to Roussow not even trying the 2nd run.

Quetta choked but I don't think match was suspicious for those who are claiming this match should be investigated get a life please.

This was also a great reminder of the importance of fielding, that run out on the penultimate ball made all the difference. If Smith had been a split second slower it would have left Quetta needing one run to tie, so keep that in mind the next time Umar Akmal says something idiotic like "I don't want to lose weight because I won't hit the ball as far"

the fielding of islamabad was terrible today.

The 2s that went for boundaries were ridiculous.

SOme very fat and pathetic fielders at the boundary

the fielding of islamabad was terrible today.

The 2s that went for boundaries were ridiculous.

SOme very fat and pathetic fielders at the boundary

I thought any chance they had was gone when Talat let the ball go through his legs near the end

I think you were watching a different match.

Look at who is running to the danger end.
Look at Perera, he wants to go for the 2nd run.
Look at the difference in how the 2 batsmen run the 1st run.
Look at the reaction of the Quetta bench to Roussow not even trying the 2nd run.

Lol Safraz was screaming abay run lo ********* :kohli2

This is a bit outlandish but think back to when Sarfaraz didn't run out Shadab and let that run to complete. If that run had not been completed we would have had a tied game right now. QG stole defeat from the jaws of victory.

Shocking from anwar ali.

He lost them the match, but Riley was also bad himself.

Should have at least tried.

ball went to Misbah and he is safest hands so Roussow knew game is finished

I thought any chance they had was gone when Talat let the ball go through his legs near the end

that error should get him suspended for next game; will do wonders for him in future

anwar ali 2(5) was the difference... anwar ali sent ahead of mahmudhullah and perera for this QG deserves it... Sarfraz and his friendship might haunt for years to come for pak.....atrocious that umer amin didnt have a game yet and there is only 1 league game left before the playoffs...

What a choke.

Literally no harm in attempting a run, and this wasn't even a Desi player. So much for non-Desis being professional!

Guess Rossouw brought in those choking genes from SA. :kallis

But even if you don't consider that last ball, how could one possibly bottle 17 runs off 19 balls with 9 wickets remaining??? Regardless of how good the bowling is, that should be achieved 10/10 times.

All you need is singles. Even after KP's unlucky dismissal and Shehzad's careless dismissal, they needed 7 off 12. Promoting Anwar who was already down on confidence was a huge error, especially when you have Mahmudullah hand Perera still in the hut.

Overall pathetic show by Quetta in the last 5 overs of the game. Viv needs to give them a talk tonight.

anwar ali 2(5) was the difference... anwar ali sent ahead of mahmudhullah and perera for this QG deserves it... Sarfraz and his friendship might haunt for years to come for pak.....atrocious that umer amin didnt have a game yet and there is only 1 league game left before the playoffs...

Indeed. Amin is probably one of their best Pak players.

Sarf promoting friends over him - unbelievably bad.

How Sarfaraz can call for Anwar Ali to bat before an internationally established hitter like Parera is beyond me.

Also Ruman was correct in giving Sarfaraz that send off today. Not showing respect to a bowler believing you will blast him out of the stadium the first ball you face, what was Sarfaraz thinking??

look at rileys how casually he is running.
mann this match must be investigated.
sarfraz not deciding to runout shadab .
and sending anwar ali ahead of parera and mahmudulla.

Sarfaraz also promoted Anwar Ali in the 200 chase against LQ and IIRC Anwar hit 12 of a few balls to win the match. One hit from Anwar would have ended the match and that's probably what Sarfaraz thought as well.

The ball went straight to Misbah and Rilee knew there wasn't a second run there. If you look closely even Parera wasn't looking for a second run until Sami misfielded. And by the time he had misfielded Rilee had already gone past the stumps...

Why sarfraz did not try to runout Shadab ?
Why Srafraz threw his wicket ?

Can't believe some people are blaming Shehzad. He played a well calculated innings and game was in the bag when he got out.

Sarfraz is a decent captain but he trying too much to make decisions out of the box like making Anwar Ali come out to bat. Can't believe he made such a move when he had a clean and better hitter in Perrera to come in too. He though game in bag so let's bring Anwar in he will see us home and people be saying what a decision. He needs to keep it simple.

Why sarfraz did not try to runout Shadab ?
Why Srafraz threw his wicket ?

lots of questions in this match.

Also why send Perera below Anwar Ali.

Why not send Nawaz in ahead of Anwar Ali?

Why not send in Mahmudullah ahead of Anwar Ali?

lots of questions in this match.

Also why send Perera below Anwar Ali.

Why not send Nawaz in ahead of Anwar Ali?

Why not send in Mahmudullah ahead of Anwar Ali?

Regarding Anwar Ali, Perera failed in the match vs LQ and Anwar Ali played some fine shots to finish the game. Nothing to be questioned about that decision.

I'm sorry but this match has left a bad taste in the mouth, I don't care who wins or loses but the way quetta lost that raises too many questions, dissapointing after some really good games we have seen over the last week or so.

If Riley had fixed it he would have at least pretended to run a second. Just saying.

There was never ever a 2 there, slightly lazy but realistic.

If Riley had fixed it he would have at least pretended to run a second. Just saying.

There was never ever a 2 there, slightly lazy but realistic.

I guess a lot of people are questioning the lack of intent.

This is why you try to finish the match in the 2nd last over. Never take it to the last over when you're that in control of the game like QG were.

I don't know what Misbah has to do with winning the match?? He screwed up big time while batting, played painfully slow, did not took advantage of start provided by Talat 🙄🙄🙄

Game changed because of wrong KP's dismissal, when he was going after bowlers, Misbah had no answer.... After him both Safi and Shezad could not even score run a a ball, again non of them can play pacers, as We have seen for millionth time. Misbah himself is like them... only thing Misbah did in whole match is send the fielder back on long on when Sami was tying for Yorker in last 3 deliveries, to prevent boundary .... A guy who has played 50 test as Captain and screw our ODI team for 8 years, can atleast have learn this much, islets make him Captain till 2020 😱😱😱

I don't know what Misbah has to do with winning the match?? He screwed up big time while batting, played painfully slow, did not took advantage of start provided by Talat 🙄🙄🙄

Game changed because of wrong KP's dismissal, when he was going after bowlers, Misbah had no answer.... After him both Safi and Shezad could not even score run a a ball, again non of them can play pacers, as We have seen for millionth time. Misbah himself is like them... only thing Misbah did in whole match is send the fielder back on long on when Sami was tying for Yorker in last 3 deliveries, to prevent boundary .... A guy who has played 50 test as Captain and screw our ODI team for 8 years, can atleast have learn this much, islets make him Captain till 2020 😱😱😱

I89EUuz.gif

Oh wow I am shocked Gladiators lost. I felt the game was won by them so I stopped watching.

lack of intent ...whose part. Sami who missed easiest of throws or russow didnt even raise his head to look
around.

I think fixing allegations are a overreaction and totally unnecessary. Like seriously, why would anyone want to fix after the allegations made on Sherjeel and Latif ?

Riley obviously knew there wasn't a second and he has to be disappointed with the performance he put in today. We can sit here and analyze all we want, but we don't know how Riley was feeling and why he made that decision. You can definitely speculate , but it is good to lay off fixing allegations.

This is why you try to finish the match in the 2nd last over. Never take it to the last over when you're that in control of the game like QG were.
I was only following the match through commentary and before the start of the final over there were 5 runs needed in 6 balls and I posted in the match thread "you know what IU can still win this" and that is exactly what happened.

Never take a game in the final over when you are so comfortably ahead. Raees bowled an excellent penultimate over though just gave away 2 runs, however he was greatly assisted by Sarfaraz, Rilee and Anwar.

Shehzads slow knock also lost them the game. He should've either batted till the end but the rubbish player that he is, he got out after the slow knock.

How the hell can you guys manage to blame Shehzad? I am not a fan at all, but this is embarrassing attack. Have some self respect.

The guy got 59 runs and how many balls he used does not matter. Quetta needed 7 runs of 12 balls with 7 wickets in hand. It was definetly not Shehzad fault.

Is it just me or a second run really looked impossible there??