[VIDEO] "Ian Chappell can see Australia's performance here for himself" : Sarfaraz Ahmed

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sarfaraz Ahmed responds to Ian Chappell 👊🏼 <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvAUS?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvAUS</a> <a href="https://t.co/AQaK0C0rJ2">pic.twitter.com/AQaK0C0rJ2</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1056652907351863297?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 28, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sarfaraz Ahmed's response to Ian Chappell "We didn't play in Australia like they have in this series against us and like they have collapsed against us. He can see for himself Australia's performance here against us" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvAUS?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvAUS</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1056646406948167680?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 28, 2018</a></blockquote>

Sarfraz bhaiya agle saal aapko Australia tour karna hai.

Thoda aggression sambhaalein

You'll face

Starc
Hazelwood
Cummins
Siddle
Counter Nile
Marsh
Lyon

Umm...

Aus drew a Test in the UAE, with their C side.

Pakistan has NEVER EVER won a Test series in Australia, in its entire history. They have won in Asia/PAk.

This clueless joke of a 'captain' does not even need to answer that lame question. What is he, a gali mohallay waala random kid?

Or present captain of the national team?

Which captain goes on a verbal war diarrhea with a non-cricketer? Chappell as a TV person can say anything.

You do not respond to such questions or comments.

Every person who criticized Kohli for his South Africa remark will be drooling over this Sarfaraz remark.

I do not know what's the South Africa remark.

Was it in response to some media person? Commentator? Or a cricketer from another team?

If it was not in response to a present SA cricketer, then that would've been as lame as this comment.

Sarfraz bhaiya agle saal aapko Australia tour karna hai.

Thoda aggression sambhaalein

You'll face

Starc
Hazelwood
Cummins
Siddle
Counter Nile
Marsh
Lyon

yes and Australia failed last time in UAE and they failed again this time.

Not denying that. But, it was the ex player who has said that. Australian players can easily get away with it.

But, he's a current player, moreover the captain of the team which will tour in a year. If he says this and goes on to lose by an innings in both the tests, then he will be absolutely manhandled by the Australian media.

Not denying that. But, it was the ex player who has said that. Australian players can easily get away with it.

But, he's a current player, moreover the captain of the team which will tour in a year. If he says this and goes on to lose by an innings in both the tests, then he will be absolutely manhandled by the Australian media.

he is only replying to what was said about Pakistan.

The "How many times have South Africa come close to winning in India?" comment is from here:

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?268635

I see, so just saw that video.

Everyone, even our PAK brothers/sisters were absolutely JUMPING at Kohli there, calling the comment "embarrassing".

Everyone here is LOVING this "dabanggg" comment from our street fighter Sarfraz.

The hypocrisy...

:broad

I see, so just saw that video.

Everyone, even our PAK brothers/sisters were absolutely JUMPING at Kohli there, calling the comment "embarrassing".

Everyone here is LOVING this "dabanggg" comment from our street fighter Sarfraz.

The hypocrisy...

:broad
Both Kohli and Sarfraz have made themselves look like absolute fools here. You're basically telling the world how easy it is to get under your skin.

But it's hilarious nonetheless. The Sarfraz one, I don't care about Kohli.

Wooow .. slow down buddy , you're Captain of pak not a retired player like Ian Chappel. This third class aus team draw a test in your own backyard not like pak team who got clean sweep 4 times a row. Australian media can eat you for this comment.

Umm...

Pakistan has NEVER EVER won a Test series in Australia, in its entire history. They have won in Asia/PAk.

This clueless joke of a 'captain' does not even need to answer that lame question. What is he, a gali mohallay waala random kid?

Which captain goes on a verbal war diarrhea with a non-cricketer? Chappell as a TV person can say anything.

Umm the same can be said about Pak team in 2010 when they got whitewashed by AUS having Ponting,Hussey,Watson,Clark and Johnson while many of our players were missing in several matches and we had to presist with the likes of Rana Tanveer,Rao Iftikhar,Faisal etc

You did not see us making reasons at that time

Use your brains before posting such non sense

Sarfis press conferences are way way better than the dull show we had from Inzi and Misbah

True. Australia test performance is good as they still manage to draw a test from the impossible situation. If pak loose in aus , definitely Australian media will go to their worst to mock this team.

Wooow .. slow down buddy , you're Captain of pak not a retired player like Ian Chappel. This third class aus team draw a test in your own backyard not like pak team who got clean sweep 4 times a row. Australian media can eat you for this comment.

The pakistan team that got clean swept were third class teams too probably the worst in our history

A D Pakistani batting line up drew against a strong Australian team in England in 2010

It all looks good when team is winning. I personally dont like so much humour and sarcasm in interviews. He needs to be serious.

The pakistan team that got clean swept were third class teams too probably the worst in our history

From 1998 to 2004 pak lost 1-0 in their own backyard and 3-0 white wash in next 3 series. And I guess Pakistan team is one of the best this time. This Australian team is worst I have ever seen , same with Pakistan.

It's not hit Sarfaraz that Ian was talking of Pak's performance in Australia. We all know Pak does well in the desert!

Both Kohli and Sarfraz have made themselves look like absolute fools here. You're basically telling the world how easy it is to get under your skin.

But it's hilarious nonetheless. The Sarfraz one, I don't care about Kohli.

Good posts.

Very balanced. Not falling for the "street fighter" "dabangggg" thing.

You're captain of the national team. You do NOT respond to such trash from the media, and go on to trash talk the actual opposition's cricket team.

What Sarf has done here is: picked on a comment from the media, and talked trashed about their actual team.

That comment was NOT from their team!

Saifi says everything and then says "there is nothing to say" :)))

This guy has a habit of lighting fires and causing severe heartburn for 'fans' and foes.

True. Australia test performance is good as they still manage to draw a test from the impossible situation. If pak loose in aus , definitely Australian media will go to their worst to mock this team.

Good posts.

You're captain of the national team. You do NOT respond to such trash from the media, and go on to trash talk the actual opposition's cricket team.

What Sarf has done here is: picked on a comment from the media, and talked trashed about their actual team.

Agreed. He should not comment and run with his emotions.He is a captain of current Pakistani team. None of Australian current team said anything like that.

Umm...

Who told them to send a C team?

Finally a Pakistan team captain with guts and heart to stand up for his team and nation.

His performances may not be up to par but his captaincy is.

Ian Chappal is not an average joe comentrator, he is an iconic figure of Australian cricket, who made dumb *** comment about Pak cric, A lot of posters are right for criticizing Sarfraz, but I am surprise no one from Pak cric criticized Aussies team, for not showing any backbone.

Didn’t see this kind of criticism when Misbah replied to Chappel’s statement in a similar, although more articulate manner. That was right after the Australian tour, whereas atleast Sarfraz has further performances to back up his point. You lot need to chill out.

Saifi says everything and then says "there is nothing to say" :)))

This guy has a habit of lighting fires and causing severe heartburn for 'fans' and foes.

Yes, we saw that in the Asia Cup.

[/b]

That's all you have, Asia cup loss which you will stick with for the rest of the coming year. Sometimes I feel really bad for you boys, you have to support India and don the saffron colors while living in Pakistan - must be really difficult.......

Totally unprofessional behaviour from a captain representing a national team. Whatever media asks, you can answer diplomatically.

"Every person has their own opinion.

We are here to give our best and win."

It isn't hard to say. Is it?

Totally unprofessional behaviour from a captain representing a national team. Whatever media asks, you can answer diplomatically.

"Every person has their own opinion.

We are here to give our best and win."

It isn't hard to say. Is it?

Do the same rules apply to Kohli and Dhoni who are/were often rude and downright disrespectful to the journalist?

Shouldnt throw stones while living in that glass house

chapair to all fans who thought australia will beat pakistan in tests and t20s in uae.. shabash my boys.. De Ghuma Ke

Do the same rules apply to Kohli and Dhoni who are/were often rude and downright disrespectful to the journalist?

Shouldnt throw stones while living in that glass house

The same rule applies. If you'll see other threads, you will realize most indian posters criticized kohli for that.

[/b]

You cry about Pakistani fans harping on about the Champions Trophy (which is at least an ICC event) one year on, yet you bring up some bilateral series against NZ and now the Asia Cup (neither one of which are comparable to an ICC trophy) everyday to make yourself feel better.

The double standards are way too obvious.

You cry about Pakistani fans harping on about the Champions Trophy (which is at least an ICC event) one year on, yet you bring up some bilateral series against NZ and now the Asia Cup (neither one of which are comparable to an ICC trophy) everyday to make yourself feel better.

The double standards are way too obvious.

The New Zealand series and the Asia Cup reinforced the belief that the Champions Trophy was a fluke.

The reason why those two reality checks are brought up is because they have been our two major Limited Overs tests over the last 12 months and we failed both with flying colours.

Some in this thread have totally derailed it by bringing India into the discussion. Nobody is saying here that PAK is the NO.1 team but that doesn't change the fact that Chappell's comments were in very poor taste and got the response they deserve.

You can't just go around saying that "Australia shouldn't invite Pakistan" and not expect a response when your team gets bruised and battered the world over.

My 2 cents.

Although Ian Chappel comments were totally uncalled for, it does reflect how Pak-Aus rivalry has anything but competitive since the 90s.

Aus has won 3 test series in Pakistan/UAE, the only team to do so apart from Sri Lanka. Pakistan has won 0 test series down under and their last test win in Aus was in 1995. In addition, Pak has won only one bilateral series and a tri nation VB series in Aus. In comparison, Aus has dominated us competed in ODIs for the last 15 years or so including winning in Pakistan/UAE.

So Ian Chappel is right in the sense that unless Pak improves their performance by at least drawing few tests down under, they won’t be drawing any sponsors. It also reflects how FTP is set up going forward. Outside the Ashes, Aus has 3-test match series against SA and 4-test match series against India. Pak has only 2 2-match test series against Aus in the next 4 years. In fact, it will probably be the first time that Pak will play only a 2-match test series during their next tour to Aus. Serves us right I guess.

So unless Sarfaraz and co plan to be more competitive in Aus next time by at least drawing a test series and competing in the ODI series, I would keep my mouth shut.

The New Zealand series and the Asia Cup reinforced the belief that the Champions Trophy was a fluke.

The reason why those two reality checks are brought up is because they have been our two major Limited Overs tests over the last 12 months and we failed both with flying colours.

Although Mamoon has real issues about Pakistan, he is right that we have failed our 2 major odi tests after champions trophy. The next 4 odi series will show where this team lies becuase we won’t get any reprieve from likes of NZ, SA, Aus, and England.

However, I still hold to the view the champions trophy was not a fluke but rather everything aligned for us perfectly and we played our best odi cricket in a decade. Beating 4 teams back to back is a no major feat in a knock out scenario, especially when you completely dominate the likes of Eng and India in semis and final.

I dont think India has won a sinle ODI in New Zealand in last 2-3 tours.
Asia cup Pak played poorly rather than India playing brilliantly. Almost lost to bangla and Afghanistan.
India got smashed in ODI's in England prior to Asia cup and now given headaches by West indies.

Good posts.

The media did not make up the comment.

That comment was from a very well respected person and Sarfaraz's answer was about that comment only.

My 2 cents.

Although Ian Chappel comments were totally uncalled for, it does reflect how Pak-Aus rivalry has anything but competitive since the 90s.

Aus has won 3 test series in Pakistan/UAE, the only team to do so apart from Sri Lanka. Pakistan has won 0 test series down under and their last test win in Aus was in 1995. In addition, Pak has won only one bilateral series and a tri nation VB series in Aus. In comparison, Aus has dominated us competed in ODIs for the last 15 years or so including winning in Pakistan/UAE.

So Ian Chappel is right in the sense that unless Pak improves their performance by at least drawing few tests down under, they won’t be drawing any sponsors. It also reflects how FTP is set up going forward. Outside the Ashes, Aus has 3-test match series against SA and 4-test match series against India. Pak has only 2 2-match test series against Aus in the next 4 years. In fact, it will probably be the first time that Pak will play only a 2-match test series during their next tour to Aus. Serves us right I guess.

So unless Sarfaraz and co plan to be more competitive in Aus next time by at least drawing a test series and competing in the ODI series, I would keep my mouth shut.

Pakistan tours Australia once every 5-6 years and even then gets just 1-2 short warm up games max against average opposition on easy wickets which also means that every time we have players touring Australia for the first time. Australia in that time period manages to tour India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh. Not really a fair playing field. Even India gets to play in Australia every three years now and many of their players get to be on their second and third tours to Australia as a result.

To be honest Australia has less acceptable excuses for failing in the subcontinent in comparison to Pakistan against Australia.

Besides it's not like Pakistan inspite of the whitewashes in Australia hasn't been competitive. We were very competitive in the 1999 Sydney game and 2010 Sydney game, we were competitive in Brisbane and Melbourne in 2017

Asia cup Pak played poorly rather than India playing brilliantly. Almost lost to bangla and Afghanistan.
India got smashed in ODI's in England prior to Asia cup and now given headaches by West indies.

I don’t see any purpose in juxtaposing Pakistan and India. They have been at a different level in ODIs for around 15 years now, and barring 2006, have been consistently ranked higher.

On the other hand, we have lost nearly 80% of our series against top flight opposition in this period. India deserved more leeway than Pakistan for performing poorly occasionally. On the contrary, poor performances have been the norm for us.

Consistently mediocre barring small purple patches here and there.

I do not know what's the South Africa remark.

Was it in response to some media person? Commentator? Or a cricketer from another team?

If it was not in response to a present SA cricketer, then that would've been as lame as this comment.

The "How many times have South Africa come close to winning in India?" comment is from here:

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?268635

The comment from Kohli was wrong. So is this.

Captain of national teams are expected to be better than this.

India got smashed in ODI's in England prior to Asia cup and now given headaches by West Indies.

India won 3-1 ODI series and 1-0 test in their second last tour. So hiding your team miserable performance behind "India hasn't won a sinle ODI in New Zealand in last 2-3 tours" is absolutly rubbish.There is nothing like almost lost to bangla, like afganistan almost won against best side pakistan.
Smashed by England is good in test but I believe in ODI india played well and if series is 5 match picture could be more clear.We won t-20 series their.

I don’t see any purpose in juxtaposing Pakistan and India. They have been at a different level in ODIs for around 15 years now, and barring 2006, have been consistently ranked higher.

On the other hand, we have lost nearly 80% of our series against top flight opposition in this period. India deserved more leeway than Pakistan for performing poorly occasionally. On the contrary, poor performances have been the norm for us.

Hint : Check the rankings.

India hasn't played a single ODI in NZ in the last 3 years. How do you expect India to win without playing?

India might have nearly lost to Bang and Afg, but we didnt. We also smashed Pak in the other 2 games and Bangladesh in the other game.

As for India in England, India didnt get smashed. We lost 2-1. Thats hardly getting smashed.

Hint : Check the rankings.

Yes, Pakistan are well behind in 2 out of 3 formats, and are an inferior team in the only format where they have accumulated more points than India.

Yes India has been far better than Pak. But with the limited resources(compared to India),poor domestic structure and no cricket at home Pak too has done well to remain a force in internationals.
NZ tours have been the toughest even for great experienced teams like India so a young Pak team too deserves a bit of leeway. At least they won in T20's.

India won 3-1 ODI series and 1-0 test in their second last tour. So hiding your team miserable performance behind "India hasn't won a sinle ODI in New Zealand in last 2-3 tours" is absolutly rubbish.There is nothing like almost lost to bangla, like afganistan almost won against best side pakistan.
Smashed by England is good in test but I believe in ODI india played well and if series is 5 match picture could be more clear.We won t-20 series their.

Pak has been miserable in ODIs but not T20 and Tests. and I forgot India's performance on second last tour in NZ

Stupid comments and setting yourself up for disaster when you tour Australia next time.

Also everybody knows this Australian team is probably the weakest in their entire cricketing history. Ian Chappell was also wrong when he put out those ridiculous comments for Pakistan but Pakistan used to go to Australia with their best team that had 3-4 match winners and come back with a whitewash. This has happened for the past 20 years.

Sarfraz better win a Test match now in Australia to back up his comments.

Stupid comments and setting yourself up for disaster when you tour Australia next time.

Also everybody knows this Australian team is probably the weakest in their entire cricketing history. Ian Chappell was also wrong when he put out those ridiculous comments for Pakistan but Pakistan used to go to Australia with their best team that had 3-4 match winners and come back with a whitewash. This has happened for the past 20 years.

Comments are for this series. He did not say we will pulverize Australia when we go there!

Yes, Pakistan are well behind in 2 out of 3 formats, and are an inferior team in the only format where they have accumulated more points than India.

Once again since you have issues looking past your hate

Capture.JPG

Ignoring the Pakistan-India discussion which is part of every thread regardless of the topic, I think Sarfaraz is both right and wrong at the same time.

Right to be in your face and not backing down from an opponent.
Wrong in being ungracious. You don't spit on your opponent once you have beaten them. Do it before the series - then the fight is on.

I will be entirely Ok if he fires some shots at NZ and South Africa - but I have a feeling he won't - or if he does, he won't be able to back it up.

There are enough ex-players in Pakistan to respond to Ian Chappell.

Good reply by sarfraz.

Thing is on this tour australia didnt win a single game.

And people should stop giving the excuse of C team.

Yes two players are banned but the rest of the squad was the best chosen squad that was sent

Pakistan has not even drawn a test match in Aus for 20 years. Sarfaraz Ahmed should look at that record before making these kind of statements.

Spot on.

Right to be in your face and not backing down from an opponent.
Wrong in being ungracious. You don't spit on your opponent once you have beaten them. Do it before the series - then the fight is on.

I will be entirely Ok if he fires some shots at NZ and South Africa - but I have a feeling he won't - or if he does, he won't be able to back it up.

There are enough ex-players in Pakistan to respond to Ian Chappel

Funny thing is, the opponent did not even say anything. Who is he responding to?

And he's spitting on that opponent for no reason after their bad show, of a C team playing so many debutants.

You're right that there are enough jealous, bitter ex cricketers here to take on another bitter ex cricketer.

He's the captain! Embarrassing.

I am sure he himself did not start this Ian chappel discussion.
This must have been a reply to some masala-seeking reporter who already knew Sarfraz doesnt have good communication skills. He doesnt think much before speaking.

Seems like he has only answered a question. These things happen and should not be taken seriously.

Probably his English skills didn’t allow him to handle the answer in better manners, may be Misbah (he did retaliated against IC that time) would have sugar quoted it better; but that Jurno (whoever raised this), is a fool. There is no comparison in 3-0 T20 loss v 3-0 Test loss (12-0 actually, which was the source of IC’s rant, Aussies actually earned a quite credible draw here), and even if so, active cricketer (that too Captain) isn’t the right person to ask this question in a victorious press conference.

Sarfraz should have dodged the bullet here.

Probably his English skills didn’t allow him to handle the answer in better manners, may be Misbah (he did retaliated against IC that time) would have sugar quoted it better; but that Jurno (whoever raised this), is a fool. There is no comparison in 3-0 T20 loss v 3-0 Test loss (12-0 actually, which was the source of IC’s rant, Aussies actually earned a quite credible draw here), and even if so, active cricketer (that too Captain) isn’t the right person to ask this question in a victorious press conference.

Sarfraz should have dodged the bullet here.

Agreed.

First, it's not even comparable (Test whitewashes to a meaningless T20 victory. In Tests, they even drew with their C side!).

Second, he should have dodged it.

Agreed.

First, it's not even comparable (Test whitewashes to a meaningless T20 victory. In Tests, they even drew with their C side!).

Sarfraz seriously needs to think about support from an image consultant. Guy talks from heart but somehow he looks different while talking - also talks too fast to give a feeling that he isn’t thinking much. If he is not good in English, should speak in Urdu at every occasion (even toss - no shame in it, lots of Latin soccer world champs couldn't speak in English). His street fighting attitude is good in cricket field, off it he has to balance, because it’s almost certain that he’ll lead PAK in WC & British Tabloids are notorious - if they find that PAK Captain isn’t smart with his tongue, they’ll make lots of money out of it.

Agreed.

Ungracious comments but Pak too have beaten Aussies in all but one tests in last two series, not just in this T20 series. This comment about Aus C team is rubbish many times we have traveled to Aus with our top players missing through injury or bans or policy of not selecting some ban players. So it was also our C team that got beaten last series. There is no doubt at home Aus have been a far superior team past 20 years but there is a good reason for that, Pak play very few tests abroad in unfamiliar conditions. So inviting Pak less will not help competitiveness between the two teams, but hinder it .

Seriously who cares.

Australia were poor so he said as is, instead of being the diplomatic no comment guy.

I myself would have just let it go but everyone is different,it’s not the storm like some of the haters pretend it is.

If anything it’s the Indian fans getting more riled than the Aussies themselves which is ironic.