[VIDEO] "Mohammad Asif was the best bowler I had faced" : Hashim Amla

abbas is pretty bad. I like him. He tries but no just not good enough in bouncy wickets. In u.a.e and swing conditons he has been good. Let's see how he fares vs England.

He already demolished England in England in test cricket and dominated their first class cricket for two seasons. He is lethal in England.

After Australia and SA there is a question mark on his skills on bouncy wickets. Asif has the edge atm because of the hype of an unfinished career; kudos from some of the best batsmen in the world at the time including KP, Amla, De Villiers; and he also performed reasonably well in Australia and SA, unlike Abbas.

Having said that, nowadays pitches are not as sporting. If you noticed, in the SA series, there was little seam movement on offer, even Philander was struggling. I think this was deliberate to negate Abbas. He was always going to struggle in Australia because the wickets are so flat there nowadays.. but which of our bowlers didn’t struggle in Australia?

He already demolished England in England in test cricket and dominated their first class cricket for two seasons. He is lethal in England.

After Australia and SA there is a question mark on his skills on bouncy wickets. Asif has the edge atm because of the hype of an unfinished career; kudos from some of the best batsmen in the world at the time including KP, Amla, De Villiers; and he also performed reasonably well in Australia and SA, unlike Abbas.

Having said that, nowadays pitches are not as sporting. If you noticed, in the SA series, there was little seam movement on offer, even Philander was struggling. I think this was deliberate to negate Abbas. He was always going to struggle in Australia because the wickets are so flat there nowadays.. but which of our bowlers didn’t struggle in Australia?

what I don't get is how is abbas with his 125 k effective on dead Pakistani pitches lol. How? reverse swing ? but he is good opening the bowling there too. Doesn't make any sense.

He is terrible in bouncy and pattas I agree. I would only use him in swing and home conditions. no where else.

what I don't get is how is abbas with his 125 k effective on dead Pakistani pitches lol. How? reverse swing ? but he is good opening the bowling there too. Doesn't make any sense.

He is terrible in bouncy and pattas I agree. I would only use him in swing and home conditions. no where else.

Yes, you have hit the nail on the head. People got excited about him because of his performances in UAE. I think he is actually super talented and really should have played that first test in Australia.... basically, his confidence took a shot when he was playing domestic cricket this season, as the wickets were crazy, crazy flat. Then after that, he wasn’t in good rhythm. Misbah, instead of backing him and giving him confidence, dropped him... for Imran Khan Snr! Ludicrous....

I still have faith in Abbas. People say he has lost a bit of pace lately... but inshallah he will bounce back.... people on PP should appreciate him more.

Asif was a pure joy to watch - people go to watch cricket for fours & sixes .... I used to be glued on screen when Asif was bowling with new ball - absolute class, a treat to watch and a very non Pakistani type pacer - slow in pace, but extremely cunning, skillful and brilliant with new ball. He was probably the best pacer to read a batsman and I dare say, Asif was as good as Wasim of MCG 1990, in that SAF Series of 2006-07. I did see him clocking 141.7Km, but he didn't need that - pace was just a surprise element for him, he was damn good within 127-134Km range. Facing a peak Asif on grass with a new ball was probably the toughest job in cricket after facing two Ws with a old one on dry surface. I have to give lots of credit to Woolmer for this one - after Ul Haq quickly got rid of him after the 2005 AUS tour, it was Woolmer who took care of him and I believe in a Tour game, he took 10for, which led a call back for him to that Karachi Test, ironically where Inzi was missing for injury. Absolute genius - could have taken 400 Test wickets for PAK.

[MENTION=2501]Savak[/MENTION] - your assessment is wrong for Asif - Trott. JT was successful in that tactics because he was in tremendous form that time - everything was working for him. If tactics could have solved every problem, his career average won't have dropped from mid 60s to mid 40s.

Cricket's fundamental skills are still intact, probably the first page of MCC Coaching Manuel, written 200+ years back is still applicable - batting fundamentals are always same - foot-work, balance, judgement, application, alignment ..... Yes, time to time batsmen adjust their game to the condition/opponents, which works for a short period and WHICH ONLY works, if your basics are correct. It's a game of instincts, therefore sometimes inform batsmen get away with doing fancy things, but the key is fundamentals - both bat or ball, that's why Fakhar Zaman or Hasan Ali couldn't last two years while Tendulkar or WAkram would make it count if they make a come back, at this age.

Coming to that shuffling tactics of Trott - that time it worked, because the guy was in great touch, almost everything worked and Asif didn't get the time for a counter measure. That's the way player's improve - I saw a young Faisal Iqbal using feet better than any Englishman since WW2 against Warne and almost took him out of bowling attack with his inside out drives through covers, taking a leaf out of Salim Malik's batting page - next game, Warne came with a slip cordon in front of batsman - 5 men between point to mid-off and he was bowling leg line, forcing Faisal to attempt drives against spin .......

Asif was accurate like an off-spinner darting - six inches out-side off, releasing from very close to wickets, which indeed was countered by shuffling the front pad outside line and leaving anything going away, for a short period. But, with same accuracy and movement, to counter that shuffling tactics, I am sure Asif would have come round the wicket within few games - now releasing close to wickets and within sticks with 4 men on leg side - mid-wicket, mid-on, squire-leg and deep fine-leg, to block leg-side flicks; only two in slips for fine edges, but two in gully/point and keeping entire cover mid-off open to encourage batsmen attempting drives through covers with a cramped feet from shuffling. The way he could bring the leg-cutter in late, and on target - just once or twice in every spell batsman missing to connect with that shuffle (remember, uncanny shuffle means batsman is also sacrificing his balance & alignment, batting is a side-on skill) - a 5for for Asif, almost every completed innings.

Only thing, that could have worked against him was that the guy ate, smoked, drank every thing in every format - he could have lost his stamina and no matter how skilled you are, at least 125Km speed one has to maintain.

Really enjoying your posts this week [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] bhai

I guess MMHS has a point in the Asif - Johnathan Trott thing. Jacques Kallis was also equally successful against Asif in the first few encounters but then Kallis adapted and batted with greater discipline against Asif knowing he had to see him out, be careful and take the other bowlers apart. My belief is other batsmen would have watched Trott's approach against Asif and copied it as well.

England in the 2002 series against Sri Lanka in England adopted a very unique approach against Murlitharan where the right handers tried sweeping him but made sure their front pad/leg was always outside the offstump therefore everytime the ball hit the pad, the lbw went out of the equation and the end result was that it took Murali 50-60 overs to get his 5-6 wicket hauls instead of 25-30 overs and that made a big difference. Other teams started following and adapting the same approach and Murali needed to bowl a lot more overs for his wickets. However Murali also unlike Saqlain kept trying to adapt and find alternative strategies to be on top of his game for e.g. knowing the field placings necessary for him, he then adopted the around the wicket tactics to the right handers and knew how and where to keep the fielders to put pressure on the batsman bringing the lbw into play and this is something Nathan Lyon has picked up as well. Unfortunately Pakistani bowlers for the most part are just too dumb cricketing wise to work out these things for themselves and will just do the same thing again and again expecting different results.

Asif was one heck of a bowler.

Made me fall in love with the game of cricket...

I guess MMHS has a point in the Asif - Johnathan Trott thing. Jacques Kallis was also equally successful against Asif in the first few encounters but then Kallis adapted and batted with greater discipline against Asif knowing he had to see him out, be careful and take the other bowlers apart. My belief is other batsmen would have watched Trott's approach against Asif and copied it as well.

England in the 2002 series against Sri Lanka in England adopted a very unique approach against Murlitharan where the right handers tried sweeping him but made sure their front pad/leg was always outside the offstump therefore everytime the ball hit the pad, the lbw went out of the equation and the end result was that it took Murali 50-60 overs to get his 5-6 wicket hauls instead of 25-30 overs and that made a big difference. Other teams started following and adapting the same approach and Murali needed to bowl a lot more overs for his wickets. However Murali also unlike Saqlain kept trying to adapt and find alternative strategies to be on top of his game for e.g. knowing the field placings necessary for him, he then adopted the around the wicket tactics to the right handers and knew how and where to keep the fielders to put pressure on the batsman bringing the lbw into play and this is something Nathan Lyon has picked up as well. Unfortunately Pakistani bowlers for the most part are just too dumb cricketing wise to work out these things for themselves and will just do the same thing again and again expecting different results.

James Anderson managed to adapt after he was found after 2003 and then again with the resurgence of pace in County cricket
Im sure asif would similarly been able to adapt and outfox the likes of kp

Mohammad Asif’s fledgling cricketing career was cut short when he was caught in the controversial spot-fixing scandal that rocked the cricketing world in the year 2010. The trio of Salman Butt, Mohammad Asif, and Mohammad Amir was banned by the International Cricket Council(ICC) after they were found guilty of spot-fixing at Lords against England.

Up until that point, Asif had picked up 106 wickets in Tests and 46 wickets in the ODI format. At the age of 27, Asif’s career was over after he was imposed a seven-year ban and the right arm speedster did not feature in a single match after that for the Pakistan side.

Former Pakistan pacer Shoaib Akhtar has termed Asif as the ‘smartest bowler’ that he has ever seen and is of the opinion that Asif could have become better than the legendary Wasim Akram. He also added that unorthodox batting genius AB de Villiers was made to cry by Asif.

“I think he probably is the smartest fast bowler. Bumrah, Mohammad Amir and even bigger than Wasim Akram, the guy that I’ve seen bowling is Mohammad Asif. I have actually seen batsmen crying while facing Asif. Laxman once said ‘how will I face this guy’, AB de Villiers literally started crying during the Asian Test Championship,” opined Akhtar in a chat with Sports Today.

The Rawalpindi Express also added that Bumrah is another guy who is a smart bowler, “But I think after Asif, Bumrah is the smartest fast bowler presently. People were doubtful about his fitness in Test cricket, even I was watching him closely. He has a quick bouncer, is deceptive and sharp and a good character this guy is,” revealed Akhtar.

Akhtar also termed Bumrah as one of the nicest guys that he has ever come across and said that Bumrah exhibits his aggression in the length that he bowls.

“Bumrah has aggression in his length, not in his body. This is how I’m going to define Bumrah. There is aggression in the length he bowls, he defeats the batsmen with his length. His body language is not aggressive, he’s the nicest guy I’ve come across. But when he comes to bowl, in those 5 seconds he showcases his aggression in his length.”

In an international career that lasted almost a decade and a half, Shoaib Akhtar took 178 wickets in Tests and 247 wickets in ODI cricket for Pakistan.

https://www.crictracker.com/mohammad-asif-better-than-bumrah-amir-and-wasim-akram-shoaib-akhtar/

Asif is my all-time favourite bowler. His bowling was just beautiful to watch. He was like an artist or a poet with the ball in hand. The world has been robbed of his art by his own stupidity but PCB should have done something to keep him playing.

India and Pakistan's three-match Test series, in 2006, was a memorable one between the arch-rivals. While India won the six-match ODI series convincingly, they lost the Tests 1-0 during their 2006 tour to Pakistan.

While the first two Tests were drawn, which showed the dominance of batsmen from both the camps, the third Test was a topsy-turvy ride that ultimately saw the home side Pakistan win by a whopping 341-run margin in Karachi.

The third Test was not only about Irfan Pathan's first-over hat-trick but also remembered for Pakistan's emphatic victory despite only a slender 7-run lead in the first innings. The Inzamam-ul-Haq-led side went ahead mainly due to Kamran Akmal and Faisal Iqbal's respective tons, along with 7-fer from Mohammad Asif and supporting roles from Shoaib Akhtar and Abdul Razzaq.

Speaking about Pakistan’s victory in that game, former speedster Asif told Kamran Akmal on the latter’s YouTube channel, “No doubt it was a great feeling. It was such a batting-heavy team. I remember when Shoaib bhai and I looked at the team sheet, he was like ‘who all are we going to get out’. At No 7 or 8 was Dhoni.”

At that time, India's famed batting line-up comprised captain Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Sourav Ganguly, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni, Virender Sehwag. In this regard, Asif added, “We looked at the line up and we said ‘how are we going to get them out’. Because I think all these players across formats would have combined to score a lakh or 1.5 lakh runs between them. Everyone had at least 15-20K runs."

He further opined, "Shoaib bhai I remember had bowled to the Indian batsmen with a lot of pace. He had started bowling those deadly bouncers, full of pace from Faisalabad itself. And I took advantage of it. Because of his bouncers, Indian players were playing on the backfoot and since I pitched the ball forward, they were in two minds. He was extremely quick in that match. He couldn’t get wickets but he set the stage for my wickets.” Asif concluded.

https://www.timesnownews.com/sports...ar-ahead-of-2006-karachi-test-vs-india/702226

On commentary with Nicholas today:

"Mohammad Asif caused me the most trouble. He was a magician with the ball. He was a beautiful bowler to watch, but not so good to face,"

"He was the toughest to face. I'd set myself up for an inswinger and he'd beat me on the outside edge. I'd prepare for an outswinger, and he would beat my inside edge and clip the bails, bowling me out."

On commentary with Nicholas today:

"Mohammad Asif caused me the most trouble. He was a magician with the ball. He was a beautiful bowler to watch, but not so good to face,"

"He was the toughest to face. I'd set myself up for an inswinger and he'd beat me on the outside edge. I'd prepare for an outswinger, and he would beat my inside edge and clip the bails, bowling me out."

Mohammad Asif - The magician!

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/9l23x2" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

The great idiot that Pakistan has produced. Turned gold into tuurd by the brilliance of his stupidity.

Anderson learned a lot from Asif in 2010. Became a more complete bowler who could turn in effective performances overseas.

asif with his wobble ball seamers revolutionised bowling, i dont think many people were doing it before him.

such a shame he was an idiot off the pitch, was a guaranteed 300 wicket bowler, maybe more since he had an action he could have bowled with till late 30s.

Mohammad Asif - The magician!

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/9l23x2" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

From the heart by Hashim.

You can see the respect he had for Asif the bowler just from what he said and how he said it.

Oh man, what a shame his career turned out the way it did,

Such a shame he shone so briefly due to his own stupidity He really was a magician with the ball

asif with his wobble ball seamers revolutionised bowling, i dont think many people were doing it before him.

such a shame he was an idiot off the pitch, was a guaranteed 300 wicket bowler, maybe more since he had an action he could have bowled with till late 30s.

Pollock was.

True. England Greats Jimmy and Broad learnt alot of Asif, no doubt as a seamer he was a genius, with his skill set I wouldn't be surprised he if he broke all records at the time, he had a economical.

Pollock was.

Similar yes.

Asif had a special skill which was so rare where he could bowl the same ball, with the same action, the same wrist position, the same run-up, one ball would swing in and the next would swing away.

Incredible level of skill.

Asif's story is just shameful and sad. He could have ended as the greatest test fast bowler ever from Asia. Amla, ABDV, KP etc all have said the same thing.

Pollock was.

I am absolutely certain that Courtney Walsh and Glenn McGrath were also pretty adept at bowling the wobble seam, especially in England. They just used to refer to it as 'scrambled seam' back in the day.