[VIDEO] Netflix courtroom drama "Haq" about the "Triple Talaaq', Starring Emraan Hashmi tops India charts, Trends at No. 1

The Bald Eagle

Netflix Courtroom Drama Haq Starring Yami Gautam, Emraan Hashmi Tops India Charts, Trends at No. 1​

The courtroom drama Haq, starring Yami Gautam and Emraan Hashmi, has emerged as the most-watched title on Netflix India. Following its OTT release on January 2, 2026, the film quickly climbed to the No. 1 position, outperforming several high-profile releases, including the latest season of Nawazuddin Siddiqui’s Raat Akeli Hai.

Inspired by the Landmark Shah Bano Case​

Haq draws inspiration from the historic Mohammad Ahmed Khan vs Shah Bano Begum case of 1985, one of India’s most significant legal battles. The film explores issues surrounding Muslim women’s rights, maintenance laws, and the tension between personal law and secular legal frameworks.

The narrative focuses on the emotional and legal struggle of a woman seeking justice within a deeply complex social and legal system.

Lead Performances and Characters​

Yami Gautam plays Shazia Bano, a determined woman who takes her fight for dignity and financial security to court. Emraan Hashmi appears as Mohammad Abbas Khan, her husband, delivering a restrained and layered performance. Critics have highlighted the intense courtroom exchanges between the two leads as one of the film’s strongest aspects.

From Theatrical Release to OTT Success​

Haq was originally released in theaters on November 7, 2025, with an estimated budget of ₹40–45 crore. The film earned approximately ₹28–30 crore at the box office, falling short of commercial expectations. However, its digital release has dramatically changed its fortunes, with strong audience engagement and word-of-mouth driving its Netflix success.

Industry and Celebrity Praise​

The film has received widespread critical acclaim, with many reviewers calling it one of the strongest performances of both Yami Gautam and Emraan Hashmi’s careers. Actress Kiara Advani also praised Yami Gautam’s performance on social media, adding to the film’s growing momentum.

With its timely subject matter, compelling performances, and renewed visibility on OTT, Haq has found a wider audience and emerged as a standout legal drama on Netflix.

Source: INVC News

I saw that. It was ok, but very repetitive if you ask me. 90% of Bollywood content on Netflix are really really poor.

It’s not made for Netflix exclusively. I think it released in the theater and now on Netflix.

Having said that not a fan of such drama films. Need action!!! :ua

It’s not made for Netflix exclusively. I think it released in the theater and now on Netflix.

Having said that not a fan of such drama films. Need action!!! :ua
so is it poor or not?

is it not an Indian content on netflix?

You indians are really an insecure group

so is it poor or not?

is it not an Indian content on netflix?

You indians are really an insecure group
Abbey should I call you illiterate and say every Pakistani is the same because of your comprehension issues?

There is Indian content made for Netflix- like Sacred games, Delhi crime etc

And then there are individual Indian films which go on Netflix/ Amazon etc as they sell their rights to OTT streaming partners.

This is not produced by Amazon/ Netflix and I agreed with him that Netflix made Indian content is garbage.

What are you missing here apart from brain cells?

Abbey should I call you illiterate and say every Pakistani is the same because of your comprehension issues?

There is Indian content made for Netflix- like Sacred games, Delhi crime etc

And then there are individual Indian films which go on Netflix/ Amazon etc as they sell their rights to OTT streaming partners.

This is not produced by Amazon/ Netflix and I agreed with him that Netflix made Indian content is garbage.

What are you missing here apart from brain cells?
like i said you Indians are an insecure group.

Point is whether this film is good or not or anyone has seen it.

But you are more worried about the netflix part. As if izat come hojani agar Netflix made this

Like I said you are only proving yourself to be a dumb illetrate.

The bolded part is verbatim what I said.

Netflix content is garbage

Netflix produced content is garbage

Having said that not a fan of such drama films

In bold is what I said. This specific film doesn’t interest me as it’s not my kind of genre.

Not sure what you are arguing here. If someone has touched your nerve in the wrong area on some other thread, take it up with them. There is nothing to debate here 👍

In bold is what I said. This specific film doesn’t interest me as it’s not my kind of genre.

Not sure what you are arguing here. If someone has touched your nerve in the wrong area on some other thread, take it up with them. There is nothing to debate here 👍
Like i said, you indians are the most insecure group in the world.

You repeated the same thing 3 times, instead of repeating it had you re-read my first post, you could have saved both of us time. Still don’t understand what’s the issue?

You like this film- Haq and Indian content on Netflix? Ok. 👌 Good for you. Ab pakka mat.

You repeated the same thing 3 times, instead of repeating it had you re-read my first post, you could have saved both of us time. Still don’t understand what’s the issue?

You like this film- Haq and Indian content on Netflix? Ok. 👌 Good for you. Ab pakka mat.
Indians are insecure bunch

How many times(5 or 6?) do I have to correct you here? It's illiterate, not illetrate. If you are going to call someone illiterate, the irony of misspelling the word yourself is almost impressive. At least proofread before trying to mock someone. :facepalm

Aur kaagaz ready ho gaye tere? :inti

How many times(5 or 6?) do I have to correct you here? It's illiterate, not illetrate. If you are going to call someone illiterate, the irony of misspelling the word yourself is almost impressive. At least proofread before trying to mock someone. :facepalm

Aur kaagaz ready ho gaye tere? :inti
That was a test for you to see how closely you read my posts. Wish I could say the same for you lol.:genius

Also looks like the kagaaz taunt touched you in the intended spot that you squirm about it all the time 🤣🤣🤣 ye dekh ke accha laga. 😍 need more!!!

That was a test for you to see how closely you read my posts. Wish I could say the same for you lol.:genius
images

Also looks like the kagaaz taunt touched you in the intended spot that you squirm about it all the time 🤣🤣🤣 ye dekh ke accha laga. 😍 need more!!!

Yeah, Nick's video clearly hit a nerve, straight into kaagaz collection mode before the inevitable kick-out. :yk :inti

images

Yeah, Nick's video clearly hit a nerve, straight into kaagaz collection mode before the inevitable kick-out. :yk :inti
stick to posting memes and proving how in tune with India you are, we ain’t buying it. You probably didn’t know who this Nick guy was before Capt. welfare went on a YouTube rabbit hole to find something to offend me 🤣, kisi ko bhi daddy bana lete ho kya? tsk tsk 😭 isliye kagaz ki zarurat padti hai, daddy ka pata chalta hai. Jaa leke aaja 😘

Are you still trembling? I wasn't the one who posted that video, I simply reacted to it and laughed at your situation. The same guy who keeps lecturing everyone about kaagaz suddenly started crying when he was asked about his own kaagaz and identity in the States. :misbah

Turns out the video was spot on. Some of you act like jaahil desis in the US while preaching to the locals there. No matter how hard you try, you will always be seen as guests. And honestly, it feels good watching you get a taste of your own medicine. So next time you dish it out, make sure you are ready to take it back from me because most of the time, you either call in your little puppies for backup or run away from the thread. Aur kaagaz ki jaroorat tere jaise uthaai giro ko hi padti hai jinko apne pyo tak ka nahi pata. :yk :inti

Netflix Courtroom Drama Haq Starring Yami Gautam, Emraan Hashmi Tops India Charts, Trends at No. 1​

The courtroom drama Haq, starring Yami Gautam and Emraan Hashmi, has emerged as the most-watched title on Netflix India. Following its OTT release on January 2, 2026, the film quickly climbed to the No. 1 position, outperforming several high-profile releases, including the latest season of Nawazuddin Siddiqui’s Raat Akeli Hai.

Inspired by the Landmark Shah Bano Case​

Haq draws inspiration from the historic Mohammad Ahmed Khan vs Shah Bano Begum case of 1985, one of India’s most significant legal battles. The film explores issues surrounding Muslim women’s rights, maintenance laws, and the tension between personal law and secular legal frameworks.

The narrative focuses on the emotional and legal struggle of a woman seeking justice within a deeply complex social and legal system.

Lead Performances and Characters​

Yami Gautam plays Shazia Bano, a determined woman who takes her fight for dignity and financial security to court. Emraan Hashmi appears as Mohammad Abbas Khan, her husband, delivering a restrained and layered performance. Critics have highlighted the intense courtroom exchanges between the two leads as one of the film’s strongest aspects.

From Theatrical Release to OTT Success​

Haq was originally released in theaters on November 7, 2025, with an estimated budget of ₹40–45 crore. The film earned approximately ₹28–30 crore at the box office, falling short of commercial expectations. However, its digital release has dramatically changed its fortunes, with strong audience engagement and word-of-mouth driving its Netflix success.

Industry and Celebrity Praise​

The film has received widespread critical acclaim, with many reviewers calling it one of the strongest performances of both Yami Gautam and Emraan Hashmi’s careers. Actress Kiara Advani also praised Yami Gautam’s performance on social media, adding to the film’s growing momentum.

With its timely subject matter, compelling performances, and renewed visibility on OTT, Haq has found a wider audience and emerged as a standout legal drama on Netflix.

Source: INVC News

Any misrepresentation of Islam and Muslims in a light which is favorable to the fantasies of Hindutva brigade will be hit in India.​

But frankly speaking who is most insured?
IMO the ppls who don't want to expose bad, barbaric act, atrocities activities exist in their religion. Thats why they opposed movies like the kashmir files, the kerala story, the Bengal files, dhurandhar etc.

Haq movie is based on real story of Shah Bano whose husband given alleged triple talaque as per sharia. However fight against this illegal and unlawful act for many years.
Finally Shahbano won her battle in Supreme Court of India in April 1985.

Then it was government's duty to implement this judgement and make new law. However, Congress government who was in power shown back to this judgement due to Muslim vote bank policy. Surprisingly, in Islamic nations like Pakistan, Bangladesh, the triple talaq was abolished long back.

Congress kept Muslim women to suffer under this unlawful and illegal triple talaque system for 32 years.

Finally in 2017, Supreme Court abolished triple talaq system and BJP government implemented it. At that time Muslim cleriks were said to BJP not to interfere in sharia. BJP said to them ok we will not apply it, you can continue the said practice under sharia, but we will apply whole sharia to Muslim community. Means Muslim can do multiple marriages, triple talaq, but if any Muslim criminal found then Indian police will chop his hands, legs or chop his head to which Muslim clerics were not agree. They wanted their criminal acts should be try under IPC