[VIDEO/PICTURE] Mushfiqur Rahim loses his cool at a team-mate after taking a catch

Losing it Mushfiqur Rahim!

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 55.769%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/9zwg2b" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Mushfiq overreacted there. That's not how you behave with a teammate during a game.

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 55.769%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/9zwg2b" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

No, it’s the fielders’ fault this time.

Mushi is often hyper, but he called it loud this time and that fielder should never have approached - I have seen players dislocating shoulders or loosing teeth in similar clashes. Mushi was loud & clear that it’s his catch (should be as well, he is WK with gloves).

But yes, instead of on-field, he should have actually landed that punch in dressing room - the guy could have learned there after. I am sure every coaching staff has taught him many times ....

I honestly expected nagin dance or something like that, really disappointed. This is pretty normal stuff by his standard.

Mushi is often hyper, but he called it loud this time and that fielder should never have approached - I have seen players dislocating shoulders or loosing teeth in similar clashes. Mushi was loud & clear that it’s his catch (should be as well, he is WK with gloves).

But yes, instead of on-field, he should have actually landed that punch in dressing room - the guy could have learned there after. I am sure every coaching staff has taught him many times ....
Also, it appears that the fielder made the same mistake twice.

No way. Don't think showing punch can be justified.

It was heat of the moment, but his anger has a valid reason - not everyone’s expression is same.

Had he landed the punch in a private setting, it would probably the the last thing he ever did prior to having hospital food, there's quite a size differential there.

:) There is a reach gap indeed, but trust me this guy Mushi is a packet dynamite - if he can reach close to anyone, he'll crash some bones. His wrists are wider than most people; stocky, low centre of gravity guy who actually was a boxer in younger days!!! He was trained at BKSP for Fly weight.....

Is this required here? What's the problem with the league - what is the mighty mouse league?

I'll leave the league out of it. I actually know nothing about the league but it seems like a televised club cricket match.

Classless behaviour by a classless individual.

Rahim has always had a problem controlling his emotions. Pretty normal for a elite athlete running high on adrenaline.

Long ago, I played a match against Centurions (team in toronto and district league) at King city where our keeper collided with another fielder as both were going for a catch. Keeper was running very fast towards the other fielder and yelled "mine" twice, but ended up colliding with him. Our keeper not only broke his nose, but also lost teeth and ended up in a hospital. I can never forget this as his face/nose was completely disfigured and blood all over his face, so I can understand why Mushi got upset.

Unnecessary behaviour at any level, particularly from an experienced and senior cricketer.

Should get a 5 match ban from all cricket. This is a gentleman’s sport, not a street/mohalla game. Useless individual!

Would would have happened if he really punched him? How many match ban we are taking about here?

But still Mushfiqur should have had the ability to control himself and act in a calm manner!

Would would have happened if he really punched him? How many match ban we are taking about here?

He should get banned anyways. You don’t raise your hands like that in any sport unless it’s a slapping contest.

Disgraceful stuff from supposedly a legend of a Test nation.

Incredibly unprofessional from such a seasoned player. This shows his mentality and usual behaviour, it's probably a nothing match aswell.
If he did this to someone like Shoaib Akhtar or so he wouldn't come out of the field alive lol

Incredibly unprofessional from such a seasoned player. This shows his mentality and usual behaviour, it's probably a nothing match aswell.
If he did this to someone like Shoaib Akhtar or so he wouldn't come out of the field alive lol

That’s the difference, he wouldn’t raise his hands to someone like that or even a foreigner. Only these poor domestic jobbers have to suffer such abusive behaviour.

Hahahah! What is this? Backyard cricket? :)))

This is so funny! Mushi being half his size makes it look even more ridiculous!

It was heat of the moment, but his anger has a valid reason - not everyone’s expression is same.

I know this place can sometimes be tough for a BD fan, but not every thing needs to be justified.

This comedy of highest order! Who in the world threatens to punch his teammate on the field? :)))

Rahim would have been whooped had he done this to one of the old school players in the 90s. :akhtar

Gotta feel for the fielder poor guy's face looked worried and sad

Rahim being a senior should have reacted better

Granted fielder was at fault but still at the end of the day the catch was taken and wicket has fallen

No damage done

It's normal for rahim to have an initial reaction we are human

But he should have stopped and composed himself

He has always had a tendency to get in headlines for such matters. An overly emotional guy. Should have matured by now.

Was definitely really poor from the fielder but, Rahim should understand his seniority/stature and how he can send wrong message to young BD players with such reaction on the field.

Something is seriously wrong with Mushfiqur as I just saw few other clips of this match and Mushfiqur seemed like a madman who ran away from a mental hospital and somehow ended up on a cricket field. Go to youtube and search "Mushfiqur Rahim loses his cool" to see what I am talking about. He should get banned for this, Seriously!!

post dem

I know this place can sometimes be tough for a BD fan, but not every thing needs to be justified.

This comedy of highest order! Who in the world threatens to punch his teammate on the field? :)))

Who is justifying his act here? Guy is hyper in cricket field, probably in life as well and often his emotions get better of his good sense, but he is an honest trier who gives his 100%, and here is a reason for him to be upset.

I made a similar mistake and a senior slapped me on the field. Mind you I was a u-16 state cricketer and this bugger was a Ranji trophy player.

If this happens in England, the Senior is in Jail for assault on a minor and that’s the end of his career. Also the guy may get beaten to a pulp by other parents at the club before the police get a hold of the perpetrator

Are we talking about the same guy who did a premature win celebration in a World T20 only to get owned in the next two balls?

Mushy is a child in a grown man body, should get a ban for next game at least and bar from being in the consideration for any captaincy.

Are we talking about the same guy who did a premature win celebration in a World T20 only to get owned in the next two balls?

Mushy is a child in a grown man body, should get a ban for next game at least and bar from being in the consideration for any captaincy.

Might get away with this one because match referee was Raqibul Hasan - would give him some long advices before punishing. Mushi is playing pro cricket since grade 8, that’s almost 25 years ..... it didn’t change much, so I guess it’s not going to change ever.

OMG. Is this guy on LSD or something? Or is it a part of this team’s culture for the captain/wicket keeper to behave like a slave owner?

That's exactly what it looked like.

Who is justifying his act here? Guy is hyper in cricket field, probably in life as well and often his emotions get better of his good sense, but he is an honest trier who gives his 100%, and here is a reason for him to be upset.

"his anger has valid reason"

"it was heat of the moment"

"not everyone's expression is the same"

If that's not justifying, I do not know what is.

"his anger has valid reason"

"it was heat of the moment"

"not everyone's expression is the same"

If that's not justifying, I do not know what is.

His anger indeed has a valid reason - why, read my first post.

Mentioning “heat of the moment”, or “indifferent expression” is not the words that you use to justify any act, rather it tells that the guy indeed has done something wrong, but can be given some space, because he is built like that.

Please re-read that last line of your post and then tell me again with a straight face that that is not justification :)

Dude, you are literally practicing the definition of justification while saying that I am not doing so :)))

But anyway, this exchange isn't really adding much value to the topic. I guess we have a different interpretation of the word justify.

Still doesn't change the fact that Mushi acted like the kid in backyard cricket who either owns the equipment or the space!

This guy is just a drama queen. The fielder is not your son that you want to give him slap. To Make it worse he did in front of camera. Too arrogant. He should learn some manner from his brother-in-law Mahmudullah.

Please re-read that last line of your post and then tell me again with a straight face that that is not justification :)

Dude, you are literally practicing the definition of justification while saying that I am not doing so :)))

But anyway, this exchange isn't really adding much value to the topic. I guess we have a different interpretation of the word justify.

Still doesn't change the fact that Mushi acted like the kid in backyard cricket who either owns the equipment or the space!

It was never a justification - you may read my comments on YKs action as well or Inzi’s baseball bat handling ..... And, I am telling it in straight face.

This exchange indeed isn’t adding value to the topic ... particularly in a Pakistani forum when we’re talking about players acts on field. We should leave it here.

After watching that youtube video, I feel like Mushi is at fault here. Regardless of his natural tendency to be emotional, he needs to behave better. It just looks like he is being very irrational and moody as if he is superior to the people around him.

Well atleast he caught the ball, remember Ajmal and Shoaib Malik who were both coming for a catch and none of them took it in the end :)))

I absolutely hate it when seniors bully junior teammates like this, bhai itna jazba junoon hai toh do it against opposition player with similer stature. With all the hate Kohli gets for his behaviour never seen him being rude to his team mates on field. Even Sarfraz never didn't do anything like this.

Sir ji 'He is built like that' is such a strawman. If he was built like a jerk he should have been rewired and reprogrammed by coaches and managements long back. Being aggressive and compititive on field is one thing and being a straight up jerk is another. Pretty sure if this was Mashrafi or Shakib that 'Heat of Moment' never would have occured.

Well atleast he caught the ball, remember Ajmal and Shoaib Malik who were both coming for a catch and none of them took it in the end :)))

Man, that is still one of the funniest sh#$ on Youtube, their expression was priceless after the miss.

Sir ji 'He is built like that' is such a strawman. If he was built like a jerk he should have been rewired and reprogrammed by coaches and managements long back. Being aggressive and compititive on field is one thing and being a straight up jerk is another. Pretty sure if this was Mashrafi or Shakib that 'Heat of Moment' never would have occured.

From what I've seen of Mushfiqur all these years, he does seem to have a sort of inferiority complex. It isn't being a jerk or something. Rather it's just way of acting tough & rude to hide that complex. Interesting that a player achieving legendary national status still insecure about his stature and status as a national legend.

Interesting that a player achieving legendary national status still insecure about his stature and status as a national legend.

Exactly, dude is a fantastic player overall no doubt, probably the best bat BD has ever produced. I think years of pampering by the management has played its part as well.

:) There is a reach gap indeed, but trust me this guy Mushi is a packet dynamite - if he can reach close to anyone, he'll crash some bones. His wrists are wider than most people; stocky, low centre of gravity guy who actually was a boxer in younger days!!! He was trained at BKSP for Fly weight.....

Settle down there, Mushfiqur.

Cricket is a game of gentlemen and people like little Mushi bring bad name to our beautiful white game.

Lil Mushy must apologise to MCC for this, because MCC is the real guadian of Cricket.

This is one of the reasons I advocate for cricket to be limited to A+ grade English speaking schools only. It should have never become a game of masses.

Make cricket elite again

Mushfi should apologise

Exactly, dude is a fantastic player overall no doubt, probably the best bat BD has ever produced. I think years of pampering by the management has played its part as well.

Sakib, Tamim still far better than than Musfiq.

People don't know this about Mushi but once he spared with Mayweather which actually resulted in Floyd paying Rahim to leave boxing since it was no way he could compete with the latter. Only then he decided to take up cricket and has proceeded to become the greatest WK bat of his era.

This is I guess what you call unparalleled athletic genius.

How humiliated must the other player be feeling on national tv! Stupidity from Mushfiq. Should be slapped with a ban for a couple of games at least.

How humiliated must the other player be feeling on national tv!

Bullies always pick on people who they know won't fight back. I would like to see him try that on an established player, but he is smarter than he looks and will never attempt anything like that.

Exactly!!! How about if he picks Russel or Gayle or even Jason Holder? I cannot stand when people thinks they are too good than others. Most likely he was spoil brat in his childhood. Too arrogant!!!!

that's wot makes Bangaldesh cricket interesting. A team, which has won absolutely nothing even after 2-3 decades of international cricket, has players who think of themselves as some kinda legends. Feel sorry for Bdeshi fans, they do deserve better team and cricketers.

Cricket is a game of gentlemen and people like little Mushi bring bad name to our beautiful white game.

Lil Mushy must apologise to MCC for this, because MCC is the real guadian of Cricket.

This is one of the reasons I advocate for cricket to be limited to A+ grade English speaking schools only. It should have never become a game of masses.

Make cricket elite again

:wy:rp

People take things too seriously. Thori garma garmi hojati hai game mein.

Feel bad for that guy. That's probably the most humiliating thing that can happen to an on-field player.

And coming to Mushi, he was never the sharpest tool in the box to begin with. Him and a few other Ban players deserve a mental conditioning coach. As a financially well off board, BCB should have no problem in accommodating that.

Mushi acting like an idiot here, if you look at the video the fielder runs in instinctively but then pulls out when he sees mushi commit, it could have been a lot worse but at least he had the presence of mind to abort. Theres no need to humiliate someone like that on the cricket field, behind closed doors have your say, but this is a sign of weak mentality, struggling to control your emotions.

I think the issue here is Mushi is a big name in Bangla cricket, there aren't many, his ego has probably been over inflated as such. I would love to see him try and do that anywhere outside of Bangladesh, more use to seeing him cry abroad instead.

He acts like a gully cricketer lol. Will never forget his dancing and celebrations. What a character.

People don't know this about Mushi but once he spared with Mayweather which actually resulted in Floyd paying Rahim to leave boxing since it was no way he could compete with the latter. Only then he decided to take up cricket and has proceeded to become the greatest WK bat of his era.

This is I guess what you call unparalleled athletic genius.

:))) I can confirm this story from the Mayweather gym, very famous for its sparring, moreover Floyd would then start out in the lower divisions, thank god Mushy moved on

Mushfiqur Rahim has been fined 25% of his match fee and apologised after threatening to punch Beximco Dhaka team-mate Nasum Ahmed

Not unheard of what Mushfiqur did - happens all over the world.

Unfortunately it happens in gully cricket or in lower level club matches. Not on televised matches.

He really should learn after having played so much cricket some simple rules.

Beximco Dhaka Captain Mushfiqur Rahim has been fined 25 percent of his match fees for breach of the BCB Code of Conduct in the Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020 Eliminator match against Fortune Barishal on 14 December 2020 at the SBNCS, Dhaka.

Mushfiqur was found guilty of showing insulting gesture towards a teammate (Nasum Ahmed) during the match which constitutes to a Level 1 (2.6) Offense. In addition to the sanction imposed, one (01) demerit point has been added to the player’s disciplinary record. Pursuant to Article 7.5 of the Code, if Mushfiqur reaches four (04) or more demerit points in the tournament, the points will then be converted into match suspension and he will be banned. Four demerit points equate to a ban from one (01) match.

Level 1 breaches carry a minimum penalty of an official warning and a maximum penalty of a fine of 50 percent of a player’s match fees and one or two demerit points. Mushfiqur accepted the sanction and as such no official hearing was required.

The breach was reported by on-field umpires Gazi Sohel and Mahfuzur Rahman, 3rd Umpire Masudul Rahman Mukul and 4th Umpire Muzahiduzzaman Swapon and the penalty was imposed by Match Referee ASM Roquibul Hassan.

http://www.tigercricket.com.bd/2020...fiqur-rahim-fined-for-code-of-conduct-breach/

I like Mushfiqar but this was ridiculous from him. He caught the ball which was the most important thing. He has apologised so he even realised he should not have reacted the way he did.

It’s about consequences, he wouldn’t do that Shakib , felt sad seeing the other fielder’s reaction, seems like drowning in power, always have maintained my dislike for Mushi’s attitude.

Not unheard of what Mushfiqur did - happens all over the world.

Unfortunately it happens in gully cricket or in lower level club matches. Not on televised matches.

He really should learn after having played so much cricket some simple rules.

Which local club match has this happened? Blows with opposite team maybe, internally?

Pretty clear picture of what happened!

EpSR2VJVoAwgEiN

Absolutely. If you wont do it to a man of big stature
or strength and you do it to a guy who isnt rich or famous, you're just a tool and a bully.