[VIDEO] Ramiz Raja’s commentary, post-match presentations, and analysis

Bazid would've been Pakistan's premier commentator had his voice been a bit more exciting. Ramiz possesses ZERO knowledge of domestic cricket and it's embarrassing when he can't talk about domestic players in PSL.

I didn't mind him too much in the past, but he's been awful recently. He asks stupid questions during the toss and the post-match presentation.

More than batsman you have become a batman - Wow just wow.

How does he come up with such gems one after the other? :ramiz

The presentation today was a personal best for Ramiz - probably the worst post match presentation I have ever seen.

Just what was that post match presentation? As if asking the most stupid questions wasn't bad enough, he goes and messes up what he was supposed to say while following the script! He had 1 job!

How has his presentations gotten worse and at such a quick rate aswell.

It was only last week we were discussing how bad his presentations were but this is a new level of bad.

with tensports as the broadcaster they can easily go with Sikander Bakt for the presentations, if not him then Bazid someone rescue poor old Ramiz

I don’t mind Ramiz. At times he is over critical of the Pak team but you can tell he genuinely wants the best for Pak.

“Catch it is the call” :raja

How has his presentations gotten worse and at such a quick rate aswell.

It was only last week we were discussing how bad his presentations were but this is a new level of bad.

Seriously, I was actually saying the words for him when he was stuttering and looking confused and making mistake after mistake.

Almost felt sorry for him.

Seriously, I was actually saying the words for him when he was stuttering and looking confused and making mistake after mistake.

Watching Pakistan cricket won’t be the same without Ramiz. We need him as commentator.

There was a point where he got a few awards mixed up and I could see the worry and confusion on his face.

It’s just embarrassing now, he’s making the PCB look bad and It’s surprising that Najam Sethi and co don’t see this.

Ramiz provides decent comedic value while 'commentating'

done expect Ramiz to say something of substance, or cricket analysis .. you'll be deeply disappointed (even angry)

Yes it won't be the same........as it will be a lot better :)

If we could like/upvote a post on PP,I would have pressed the like button for this.

Ramiz just keeps getting worse.Keeps making a fool out of himself.His interview with last night's MotMv(Fakhar) was cringeworthy to say the least.I shut off my telly so didn't watch the interview with Babar.

If we could like/upvote a post on PP,I would have pressed the like button for this.

Ramiz just keeps getting worse.Keeps making a fool out of himself.His interview with last night's MotMv(Fakhar) was cringeworthy to say the least.I shut off my telly so didn't watch the interview with Babar.

Didn't he say something along the lines of "Mashallah se aapka runout ka record bohot acha hai" to Fakhar :)))

Ramiz Raja and Ravi Shastri r two of my most favourite commentators. It's sad that Ramiz Raja didn't get selected by sky.

Not 'selected' by Sky Sports for the series!

Not surprised really. I think Sky Sports have realised just how poor his commentary is and the lack of research he does.

At times it made me cringe listening to Ramiz commentating alongside great commentators like Mikey Holding and Mike Atherton.

Going to miss the one liners like "Emrit, he's flying" after getting hit for a six. At least his antics can keep us all entertained whenever the cricket becomes dull during the passage of play.

You guys asked for it... now you will have to sit and suffer listening to the commentary of Wasim :facepalm:

Delighted with this decision, although Wasim is pretty bland and unimaginative as a commentator. Funny how some larger than life cricketers turn out to be boring raconteurs. But at least we won't listen to cringeworthy faux pas.

"You guys want me to be part of the picture" - standing behind KOB and presenter of MOM award and then maybe someone told him to get lost or he realised it and moved away; does this guy even know basic thing about commentary and presentation. He is pathetic; speaks rubbish in commentary, yesterday when Pak took new ball, he said "i would bring Shadab here" I mean what the hell..... :facepalm: :facepalm:

He is an embarrassment. Speaks broken English and has no knowledge of the current Pak players, can't even get their names right on some occasions, let alone their stats.

"You guys want me to be part of the picture" - standing behind KOB and presenter of MOM award and then maybe someone told him to get lost or he realised it and moved away; does this guy even know basic thing about commentary and presentation. He is pathetic; speaks rubbish in commentary, yesterday when Pak took new ball, he said "i would bring Shadab here" I mean what the hell..... :facepalm: :facepalm:

This was so cringey. Honestly, he is awful.

He is an embarrassment. Speaks broken English and has no knowledge of the current Pak players, can't even get their names right on some occasions, let alone their stats.

LOL! He is an educated guy and English is his second language. I suspect your urdu does not match his. His English is fine.

Can't stand the man. For a supposed educated guy his repetitive word-salad is mind-numbing.

Much rather Bazid taking over than Ramiz.

LOL! He is an educated guy and English is his second language. I suspect your urdu does not match his. His English is fine.

I can speak better English and Urdu than him on any given day. You seem to be a fan of his commentary though, which is rare and surprising.

That was hilarious LOL

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en-gb"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Who is the commentator who just said first slip should be in line with the keeper?! <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IREvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IREvPAK</a></p>— Jimmy Neesham (@JimmyNeesh) <a href="https://twitter.com/JimmyNeesh/status/996350855145185280?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">15 May 2018</a></blockquote>

Go on, have a guess.

The issue is not his command of English: I am sure he can hold a decent conversation one-to-one.
Commentary is a profession that requires practice: the qualification is not just being able to speak English. It requires presence of mind and the gift of story telling. And of course an insight in to the game. It also requires you to do a bit of research about current players, captains, etc.
Some have it easily while others practice regularly.
Rameez, I suspect doesnt fit in to either category.

Was really suprised to see him. Was he a last minute inclusion?

The Ireland test wasn't produced by the Sky Sports team. It was the TGS innovate group or something. That's why there was a lack of speed guns, cameras and decent commentators. Ramiz won't be there for the England series and Sky Sports haven't hired him for the coverage, thankfully.

I always thought of him as a good commentator.Now it looks like he's making lot of mistakes lately

It’s probably his age getting to him.
Was hilarious when he was stood in the picture ‘do you guys want me to be apart of the picture’ lol

I always thought of him as a good commentator.Now it looks like he's making lot of mistakes lately

I've been watching cricket since 2000 and in the early to mid 2000s he was actually relatively decent for an Asian commentator but unfortunately last 10 years he's gone from bad to new levels of descendancy each year, so much so that he was ditched by Channel 9 in respect of the Australia tour 18 months back and now Sky Sports have final picked this up, hence why he won't be commentating for them for the 2 upcoming tests.

Sorry but his cricket knowledge is poor hence poor commentary. Dont much care about English if he can provide good insights.

Though he is good at taking fun interviews (off the field) in Urdu.

I was speaking with someone who has been watching cricket for a very long time and he was talking about Ramiz's commentary. He stated that he felt that Ramiz has limited knowledge of cricket and the technical aspects of the game and he tries to cover that with the use of big words which are really not relevant.

Another point was that he is trying too hard to be the comedian while on air, which given his poor sense of humour makes for a dire experience for the viewer.

Sky have moved on from him, others could follow.

He's been the voice of Pakistan cricket for a while. But his commentary has been poor for a while and his cricket knowledge isn't great. Need a new voice of Pakistan cricket.

He was a fairly decent commentator back in the day, but now he is absolute garbage.

Over the last 10 years we’ve all witnessed his decline and it’s almost embarrassing watching him commentate now.

Worst thing is that he can’t even form proper sentences anymore and he stumbles over every word. Add to that the fact that he tries to be funny and exciting all the time which by the way fails almost always and we have an absolute train wreck.

Was making a lot of bald jokes re Morrison in the PSL but the IPL commentators don't seem to be any better either. Bhogle and co were making the same stupid jokes today and heard others too previously in the IPL, even the female commie was giggling like a school girl at the hair jokes. Seems like the quality has dropped overall.

He called Babar Azam, Babar Zaman again today. Awful commentator.

Babar zamaan :)) how can you get that wrong every single time Rameez?

Why does this guy keep trying to be funny? When Shadab Khan took the wicket with the googly, he tried and failed to make a pun between googly and google, and he realized half way through he had no material so said something else completely different. So bad, I think a 2 year old baby wouldn't do much worse than him as a commentator.

He's discovered some new words now. Unfortunately he has no clue when to use them or in what context.

Continues to make a fool of himself.

Not just rameez the overall quality of commentary on cricket is so cringeworthy and so uninteresting. They add nothing to the experience of watching the game. Unfortunately most of them are ex cricketers who half the time keep talking about 'their times' and are totally disconnected to what the younger lot wants to listen. The best commentary I find is during Big bash league.

Today Bazid and Ramiz were commentating in tandem - I had to mute the television. Both were chatting rubbish, nothing relevant, technically inept and making unfunny comments that they thought were hilarious.

After Pakistan completely dominated Zimbabwe and restricted them to 194, Ramiz on commentary proceeded to say something along the lines of "whilst Zimbabwe haven't delivered a knock out punch to Pakistan, they have certainly posted a competitive score."

No worry he is getting dropped by broadcasters.

So his new bugbear seems to be Imam's lack of hitting the maximums in his previous game, in which he scored 128 and hit 11 fours? Then he goes onto moan about Imam not taking singles...

I swear, man...

Ramiz post-match:

"Good victory for Pakistan, but don't they need to be more entertaining? Hope about someone smashes a hundred off 60 balls?"

Ramiz post-match:

"Good victory for Pakistan, but don't they need to be more entertaining? Hope about someone smashes a hundred off 60 balls?"

I dont really rate Ramiz as a commentator but I do get the point where he is coming from here. Yes a win is a win regardless but maybe thump the opposition or try to the way India or England would if they were playing a minnow side

there have been lots of former players transitioning into the comm box in recent times, SKY like to promote former players especially for their domestic matches. Shame there isn't really anyone stepping forward from Pakistan. Seems like we have had the same 3/4 comms for years which is why Rameez will carry on for the forseeable future

Even though it wasn’t great to begin with i believe with the advent of the t20 leagues his standard of commentary has got drastically worse

Maybe he’s intentionally decided that clowning around and throwing a mish mash of made up vocabulary will get him the big t20 league contracts

Unfortunately for him his lack of preparation, analysis, insight and adding depth to the coverage intentional or otherwise has made serious sense broadcasters run a mile from his mumbo jumbo and rightly so

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Frankly I didn’t enjoy Pak’s win today. it was clinical alrite but colourless..didn’t have any magical moments to savour like a great bowling spell or a 100 off 50 balls. Why isnt a Pakistan batsman looking for a 200!! Why not.. if not against Zim then who against??</p>— Ramiz Raja (@iramizraja) <a href="https://twitter.com/iramizraja/status/1018891735383060480?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 16, 2018</a></blockquote>

Chasing 195, why not make 200 :)))

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Frankly I didn’t enjoy Pak’s win today. it was clinical alrite but colourless..didn’t have any magical moments to savour like a great bowling spell or a 100 off 50 balls. Why isnt a Pakistan batsman looking for a 200!! Why not.. if not against Zim then who against??</p>— Ramiz Raja (@iramizraja) <a href="https://twitter.com/iramizraja/status/1018891735383060480?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 16, 2018</a></blockquote>

This cant be true?? even by ramizs standards

"I didn't enjoy Pakistan's win today": Ramiz raja

After yesterday's pak win over Zimbabwe Ramiz Raja tweeted

Your thoughts? :sanga

I agree, just winning is not enough, they should go for some sort of record. Its boring one-sided series.

He wanted one of our batsmen to get a 200 when Pakistan were chasing 195. Enough said lol

We need to bat first and post 350+

Need as much batting practice as we can before the WC.

Truly boring series.. Zimbabwe is already weak, plus this is almost like their thrid XI facing the No.1 team in the world.

Cant blame Pakistan though, they will beat whoever they face, not their problem if the opposition is pitiful

Truly boring series.. Zimbabwe is already weak, plus this is almost like their thrid XI facing the No.1 team in the world.

Cant blame Pakistan though, they will beat whoever they face, not their problem if the opposition is pitiful
We will see this soon in the Asia Cup

Today Bazid and Ramiz were commentating in tandem - I had to mute the television. Both were chatting rubbish, nothing relevant, technically inept and making unfunny comments that they thought were hilarious.

You really don't like these two Saj bhai :))

Exactly! Rohit Sharma is one of a kind, a once in a generation type player who is scoring double hundreds for fun in ODIs. You can’t expect Pakistan players scoring double hundreds in ODIs. Rameez is expecting too much but this spirited Pakistan side. Let them play within their limits, fans are happy with results.

Ramiz post-match:

We have had enough of Afridi in the past 20 years. Playing one amazing knock per 15 innings is not what the fans want.