[VIDEO] "They have ruined cricket entirely": Shoaib Akhtar

Ball Blazer

Administrator
Akhtar on India’s win
“India has tried to do something like this: there’s a rich kid in a neighborhood who calls all the poor kids and says, ‘Come, let’s play cricket—but only I am going to win.’ India is doing the same thing with us.”
“Out of eight teams, only four remained. From those four, they call three and say, ‘It’s my bat,’ and then come and declare, ‘I won.’ So try to understand—this has completely destroyed the criteria and fairness of cricket as well.”

Yeah not the same sport as bobbleheads have come to power.

From world cup winning teams that once had Imran, Wasim, Inzi, Miandad or Ponting, Gilchrist, Warne, McGrath to now Sanju, Vishnu, Shivam, Patel - you can guess where it's heading.

Is India under pressure to win a tournament when held in Australia or South Africa? Not really because every once in a while they'll be contesting a home tournament or served a special one-off schedule in the UAE. That's not a world game.

We had a fair chance to shift this final in Colombo

India won fair and square.

I don’t know why they suddenly shifted to red soil in the final even though the track at Ahmadabad was a good track for the previous games, but it’s still a stupid call by NZ skipper to bowl first knowing full well India struggles to chase more than they do at setting a score without pressure…that too in a final.

From world cup winning teams that once had Imran, Wasim, Inzi, Miandad or Ponting, Gilchrist, Warne, McGrath to now Sanju, Vishnu, Shivam, Patel - you can guess where it's heading.

Is India under pressure to win a tournament when held in Australia or South Africa? Not really because every once in a while they'll be contesting a home tournament or served a special one-off schedule in the UAE. That's not a world game.
Yeah they complete their quota on their home conditions with icc help and little bribery to their poor opponents....... I bet anything if sanju played like that in 2028 in Australians conditions.....

I don’t know why they suddenly shifted to red soil in the final even though the track at Ahmadabad was a good track for the previous games, but it’s still a stupid call by NZ skipper to bowl first knowing full well India struggles to chase more than they do at setting a score without pressure…that too in a final.
India would have chased down 400....its already scripted abd written.
.....matt Henry and santner forget how to bowl....

It's not happened in 2013-2024 because even if Aus, eng loses the likes of srilanka, pakistan and westindies manages to win but now its clear path for india to win...

It's not stupid call.....its paid call 😂

Can't beat them.. Let us throw some shade. All great teams have gone through this cycle. In a way, it is a sign that you are looking at a good team. Aussie licking here won't make your team better. As a matter of fact, Aussies are inspired by India, and they want to make their team better. At least that is what they discuss in their podcasts, not coming out cock and bull theories. Do Aussies ever hide behind Pakistan and other teams for trolling India? i doubt so :)

This post seems more of living in the past with nostalgia than anything else.

This current winning Indian team has players that are ranked at the top among their peers. Now compare that with the names you mentioned at that time?? Where’s the difference??

Bumrah has a better record now than the bowlers you mentioned. He has 500+ international wickets at 20.xx even better than McGrath. Hardik Pandya is such a clutch allrounder and Abhishek Sharma is ruling the T20 format with ~200 SR which is unheard of and he turned up in the finals.

Its only natural that younger generation will surpass older Gen. I mean its not like Inzi and Miandad are some ATGs?? They are very good players among their peers. And it’s the same with the current lot.

Things will only improve if you live in the present.

Denial is the only thing keeping their spirits up. Both countries have very different trajectories and it's not gonna get any better for them. Watch more tears and jealousy as years go by.
keeps me amused, Roze bhi rakhne hai aur Ramzaan ke spirit per mitti paao bhi karna hai

He didn't say it like that.

He was saying Pakistan finished itself, while India took advantage of the situation as the well prepared Cricketing nation.

Such garbage makes us even bigger laughing stocks. Why not just shut up and work on your shortcomings before saying anything.

Humble request to everyone involved with Pakistan cricket at this moment, to just keep your head down and your expectations really low, while taking positive steps towards improvement.

Such garbage makes us even bigger laughing stocks. Why not just shut up and work on your shortcomings before saying anything.

Humble request to everyone involved with Pakistan cricket at this moment, to just keep your head down and your expectations really low, while taking positive steps towards improvement.
TBF all Pakistani match shows and ex players on camera were extremely gracious about Indian win and acknowledging the victory of the system and process.

Did a quick skim last night, even court jesters like Amir were acknowledging it;s result of having a process and a "system".

Pakistani match shows are mostly of better production and a better product than what i have seen of Indian post match shows

TBF all Pakistani match shows and ex players on camera were extremely gracious about Indian win and acknowledging the victory of the system and process.

Did a quick skim last night, even court jesters like Amir were acknowledging it;s result of having a process and a "system".

Pakistani match shows are mostly of better production and a better product than what i have seen of Indian post match shows
I agree. They definitely push their agenda using this though :) But they don't create conspiracy theories.

I am talking of the main 2 here mostly the one with Shoaib/Saqi/Hafeez bhai & Sana and the other one with Tanveer/Imad & Azhar.

Salman Butt's analysis is pretty good too, there is some agenda but not that much.

Shoaib Akhtar's epilogues are legendary! Whether praising ICT or lambasting BCCI (two very different things!)

I am talking of the main 2 here mostly the one with Shoaib/Saqi/Hafeez bhai & Sana and the other one with Tanveer/Imad & Azhar.

Salman Butt's analysis is pretty good too, there is some agenda but not that much.

Shoaib Akhtar's epilogues are legendary! Whether praising ICT or lambasting BCCI (two very different things!)
SHameless guy is shaqlain lol THe way he defends his son-in law makes his opinion irrelevant.

It's not happened in 2013-2024 because even if Aus, eng loses the likes of srilanka, pakistan and westindies manages to win but now they are dogs **** soo its clear path for india to win...
During that 2013–2023, they reached the semis or finals in every ICC tournament, across formats..often without losing a game. It was only a matter of time before they crossed the hurdle and lifted the trophy.

Even in that 10-year trophy drought, they had the highest win percentage.

In T20Is, India has won every bilateral T20 series from the 2024 World Cup to 2026. This dominance in tournaments is not surprising if you apply some common sense.

BCCI has absolutely ruined cricket by making it a foreign policy tool for the BJP, but the Indian team won this fair and square on the field.

Cricket has massive structural issues regarding its management, but they can also be analysed separately from the Indian team's performance.

Yeah they complete their quota on their home conditions with icc help and little bribery to their poor opponents....... I bet anything if sanju played like that in 2028 in Australians conditions.....
I'm actually curious about the economics of this. Do you think everyone was bribed?

How much do you think Pakistan were paid.
- They gave up their match winning fees of ~$30K
- They risked their Super 8 money of $380K
- They were are also fined about $20K each for losing to India - so about $300K again?
- You'll have to throw a bit on top so about $1.5M?

Next tier is West Indies & Zimbabwe - We'd have to pay at least a couple of million each since they gave up on Semi Finals.

Final tier was England and New Zealand - $5M a piece? After all, they gave up a chance at the big prize money.

South Africa obviously forfeited their payment or do you think they were paid something as well to make a game look good?

Did Australia get paid to exit quietly and not trouble India since they're the bogey team?

So we're talking about maybe $30M. Expensive World Cup!

But we'll take it!

Final was played on a mixed soil pitch

Generally Akhtar is very very apprciative of India and he takes a dig at pakistan along the way lol. I think this is one of those discussion.

His YouTube channel got banned in India - so he is now talking to the only audience available.

I'm actually curious about the economics of this. Do you think everyone was bribed?

How much do you think Pakistan were paid.
- They gave up their match winning fees of ~$30K
- They risked their Super 8 money of $380K
- They were are also fined about $20K each for losing to India - so about $300K again?
- You'll have to throw a bit on top so about $1.5M?

Next tier is West Indies & Zimbabwe - We'd have to pay at least a couple of million each since they gave up on Semi Finals.

Final tier was England and New Zealand - $5M a piece? After all, they gave up a chance at the big prize money.

South Africa obviously forfeited their payment or do you think they were paid something as well to make a game look good?

Did Australia get paid to exit quietly and not trouble India since they're the bogey team?

So we're talking about maybe $30M. Expensive World Cup!

But we'll take it!
Stop bursting bubbles with logic! You’re hurting his feelings.

Attaboy Akhtar. Everybody is after YouTube dollars and have been too chummy about Indian wins. Need more conspiracy theories. Basit Ali and Akhtar talking about technique and game awareness is ridiculous. Most of their views about cricket itself are trash. Bring back the fixing talk. Bring back conspiracy theories of how Santner was threatened. Let everyone know the IPL masters have sent a red notice to international cricketers to under perform. Enlighten us on how Hasie Cronje's brother in law ordered Saffers to bowl trash and lose to NZ. Prove to us how India vs NZ final.was pre decided and NZ was sent to tour India before WC so Indian batters could get used to NZ bowling. Give the fans what they want.

It’s a fact that people are not watching cricket nowadays because of Endians ruining the game for everyone through corruption and just their typical cringe behaviour.

I want to say that NZ also had a chance to play aggressively like India
Don't tell me that pitch changed suddenly in few minutes
So this talk of fixing the match is hilarious
Just another excuse to hide our medicore cricket

Let Indians just stick to IpL

Why can’t we form our own event? Excluding India.

Better for the world in cricket

Can't beat them.. Let us throw some shade. All great teams have gone through this cycle. In a way, it is a sign that you are looking at a good team. Aussie licking here won't make your team better. As a matter of fact, Aussies are inspired by India, and they want to make their team better. At least that is what they discuss in their podcasts, not coming out cock and bull theories. Do Aussies ever hide behind Pakistan and other teams for trolling India? i doubt so :)

Aussies don't care for T20s. They be watching some other sport while this world cup was going on.

When they say they want to improve, they are mostly thinking about Tests and that these voices are only from their most ardent supporters or players.

Aussies don't care for T20s. They be watching some other sport while this world cup was going on.

When they say they want to improve, they are mostly thinking about Tests and that these voices are only from their most ardent supporters or players.
No it is about LOIs. Both ODis and T20s. Lol I am sharing Australians words. Look at the players they bring in. Maxwell, SToinis. There is no talent there. Atleast SA has talent. England has talent. But Australia lacks new talents.

There are layers to this.

I wouldn't fault the Indian cricket team (i.e. players/staff) because they've put in the hard work and won fairly. Winning any ICC tournament isn't a joke and especially not as convincingly as they have.

The real fault lies with the ICC and of course the BCCI due to their influence on key decisions. The fact that there's a major ICC tournament almost every year is a real disservice to the sport and to the actual impact of the tournament. Even India's win in 2024 is watered down because the next tournament came two years later.

There should be a proper four-year gap between these tournaments and a two-year gap between T20 and ODI WCs.

Something like...

2023 ODI WC
2025 T20 WC
2027 ODI WC
2029 T20 WC
2031 ODI WC

I have no idea why they are playing a major tournament every year if you include the Champions Trophy. It's even worse considering how many of these tournaments India is hosting, which further impacts the value of the tournament.

Even though Indian fans will enjoy this win, they didn't even get to savor their 2024 win properly. A win should feel like a monumental achievement where a generation of players only get 2-3 shots to win the ultimate prize in their career. Right now with this schedule it seems like you lose one tournament and you'll get another shot in a few months.

No it is about LOIs. Both ODis and T20s. Lol I am sharing Australians words. Look at the players they bring in. Maxwell, SToinis. There is no talent there. Atleast SA has talent. England has talent. But Australia lacks new talents.
Because they don't care. Their fanbase and their administration has lost of lots of interest in cricket.

They see Tests as important mainly because of Ashes and their 'cricket' summer while they see BBL as a fund raiser.

I wouldn't fault the Indian cricket team (i.e. players/staff) because they've put in the hard work and won fairly. Winning any ICC tournament isn't a joke and especially not as convincingly as they have.

The real fault lies with the ICC and of course the BCCI due to their influence on key decisions. The fact that there's a major ICC tournament almost every year is a real disservice to the sport and to the actual impact of the tournament. Even India's win in 2024 is watered down because the next tournament came two years later.

There should be a proper four-year gap between these tournaments and a two-year gap between T20 and ODI WCs.

Something like...

2023 ODI WC
2025 T20 WC
2027 ODI WC
2029 T20 WC
2031 ODI WC

I have no idea why they are playing a major tournament every year if you include the Champions Trophy. It's even worse considering how many of these tournaments India is hosting, which further impacts the value of the tournament.

Even though Indian fans will enjoy this win, they didn't even get to savor their 2024 win properly. A win should feel like a monumental achievement where a generation of players only get 2-3 shots to win the ultimate prize in their career. Right now with this schedule it seems like you lose one tournament and you'll get another shot in a few months.

ICC Tournaments were arranged every year for generation of $$$$ for Associate nations as well as poor cricket boards.

Champions Trophy might change into Champions Cup (T20 version of Champions Trophy) after 2031.

It's a case of sour grapes. Aussie don't care when they don't win.

All stadiums were full for BBL matches.

Cricket Australia arranged nearly 25-30 T20Is to prepare for this World Cup.

It's a lie Aussies don't care for T20 cricket.

Most of their premier bowlers were injured after the Ashes, they knew they won't go all the way in this World Cup.

If they don't care for T20, why are they hosting T20 World Cup twice in 6 years (2022 & 2028)

Let Indians just stick to IpL

Why can’t we form our own event? Excluding India.

Better for the world in cricket
Try it
Pak Sri Lanka Bangaldesh world cup. No one is stopping you from boycotting India. Tried it recently...what happened

Attaboy Akhtar. Everybody is after YouTube dollars and have been too chummy about Indian wins. Need more conspiracy theories. Basit Ali and Akhtar talking about technique and game awareness is ridiculous. Most of their views about cricket itself are trash. Bring back the fixing talk. Bring back conspiracy theories of how Santner was threatened. Let everyone know the IPL masters have sent a red notice to international cricketers to under perform. Enlighten us on how Hasie Cronje's brother in law ordered Saffers to bowl trash and lose to NZ. Prove to us how India vs NZ final.was pre decided and NZ was sent to tour India before WC so Indian batters could get used to NZ bowling. Give the fans what they want.
When supposedly well to do superstars speak like this...you can get an idea of the general population and that explains all the delusion we see in this forum...

Software updated after he called Mohsin Naqvi incompetent. The most daler Pakistani cricketer among those who are out of jail has surrendered his soul. Very unfortunate to see.

Most of their premier bowlers were injured after the Ashes, they knew they won't go all the way in this World Cup.

If they don't care for T20, why are they hosting T20 World Cup twice in 6 years (2022 & 2028)

How many Australian people watched their T20Is including the WC and Pak series?

This assumption of sour grapes is blatantly misguided.

Australia has won everything there is to win in cricket. Why would they have sour grapes?

They will have sour grapes if they lose the ashes or lose a test series at home etc.

And no, BBL avg attendance was barely above 50%

Something like...

2023 ODI WC
2025 T20 WC
2027 ODI WC
2029 T20 WC
2031 ODI WC

There are now 6 ICC events every 4 years if count the WTCs and CTs.

Complete farce.

BCCICC has destroyed this beautiful sport with overcommercialization and petty politics. :inti

Because they don't care. Their fanbase and their administration has lost of lots of interest in cricket.

They see Tests as important mainly because of Ashes and their 'cricket' summer while they see BBL as a fund raiser.
How do you know they don't care lol CUmmins skipped atleast 2 or 3 tests. Josh was not even available. Smith missed a test. lol Imagine Bangladesh saying "We don't care about any format" otherwise we would have won. Heck they won u19 world cup last edition in 2024. This lie is that is shared by pak fans to cope

Adam Zampa took 4 for 21 in a World Cup match, but thinks he'd "probably be feeling exactly the same if I'd got none-for tonight."

"It's feeling pretty hollow, to be honest," Zampa said after Australia's nine-wicket win against Oman. "You'd prefer to have the wickets than not, but it's probably the worst-feeling four-for I've ever got.

"To be sitting here right now, knowing that I'm flying home tomorrow - I didn't envision this, that's for sure. So it's a flat feeling."

It is an outright lie that is peddled by pak fans lol
Adam Zampa took 4 for 21 in a World Cup match, but thinks he'd "probably be feeling exactly the same if I'd got none-for tonight."

"It's feeling pretty hollow, to be honest," Zampa said after Australia's nine-wicket win against Oman. "You'd prefer to have the wickets than not, but it's probably the worst-feeling four-for I've ever got.

"To be sitting here right now, knowing that I'm flying home tomorrow - I didn't envision this, that's for sure. So it's a flat feeling."

Not another conspiracy theory!

Shoaib is a confused guy. I watched that interview. He did say that but in the same breath also attributed a more robust, performance-driven merit system for the rise of Indian cricket.

New Zealand is a method team and one would normally expect them to have done their homework and to give a more disciplined display.

However, their bowling was absolutely rubbish in the final. They bowled either too short or half volleys which were simply put away with disdain by Sanju and co. The occasion (120,000 plus crowd) definitely got to them and maybe the recent drubbing by India in the bilateral series (1-4) also had a psychological effect.

Hindsight is 20/20 but bowling first was also a questionable decision esp after seeing India notch up 253 against England in the semifinal.

You should always bat first in a pressure game if the wicket and conditions are good. Best to put runs on the board.

Look I understand that you guys are unhappy, but this is getting sad now.

Pull up your socks and work hard.
Compete.

Don't do this wailing and crying.
Embarrassing and frankly.... I weird.

Nahin pasand toh change Karo, rone se kya hoga agha ji?

Not another conspiracy theory!

Shoaib is a confused guy. I watched that interview. He did say that but in the same breath also attributed a more robust, performance-driven merit system for the rise of Indian cricket.

New Zealand is a method team and one would normally expect them to have done their homework and to give a more disciplined display.

However, their bowling was absolutely rubbish in the final. They bowled either too short or half volleys which were simply put away with disdain by Sanju and co. The occasion (120,000 plus crowd) definitely got to them and maybe the recent drubbing by India in the bilateral series (1-4) also had a psychological effect.

Hindsight is 20/20 but bowling first was also a questionable decision esp after seeing India notch up 253 against England in the semifinal.

You should always bat first in a pressure game if the wicket and conditions are good. Best to put runs on the board.
I think you said it right

It was the bilateral effect. They were traumatised by putting India combat there first. That’s why they did the opposite

Like India in 2003 when they lost to Aus. Should have batted first.

There are now 6 ICC events every 4 years if count the WTCs and CTs.

Complete farce.

BCCICC has destroyed this beautiful sport with overcommercialization and petty politics. :inti
Our neighbours really are pioneers tbh. T20 was a master piece.

Look how much players are able to earn now

T20 gets you money
Tests gets your notoriety

Also odi is meaningless. Pays nothing.

Just have tests and t20

We should all fall at our neighbours feet tbh for creating these franchise leagues and promoting t20

It has only helped grow the game. I am so jealous of India.

If only there was a way to monetize tests.

Btw only England Aus and SA pay well for test cricketers

Most other nations pay very little in test cricket. ODI is worse. Money is all in t20

This is one area India needs to help sort out. I am sure our powerful neighbours will get it right though.

ODI has more runtime compared to T20. So it probably generates same amount of money. I also think sports are in general way too overvalued. These days you can just watch highlights on Youtube.