[VIDEO] Younis Khan donates Rs10m award to Edhi Foundation, Indus Hospital & The Citizens Foundation

Muhammad10

[VIDEO] Younis Khan donates Rs10m award to Edhi Foundation, Indus Hospital & The Citizens Foundation

<div id="selectorElement" style="width:560px;height:330px;">
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/Evg4QEzj23w" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
<script data-cfasync="false" id="EboundAd" type="text/javascript" src="//eboundservices.com/ads/ads.js" width="560px" height="330px"></script>
</div>.

Very good from him.

Yes, making the video wasn't necessary, but Younis is a man who likes to be proud of his actions and that's fine. He could've just kept it all to himself, but he donated which is very commendable.

Thank you Younis.

Excellent gesture by Younis Khan, I wouldn't see it as him "showing off", but rather setting an example on what certain things you can do. He's donated his award money for a good cause and hopefully makes Pak greater.

Very good from him.

Yes, making the video wasn't necessary, but Younis is a man who likes to be proud of his actions and that's fine. He could've just kept it all to himself, but he donated which is very commendable.

Thank you Younis.

He absolutely needed to make this video

At a time when our leaders are facing corruption scandals and every few years our cricketers are caught fixing.. we need a guy to set a positive example

Donating money is good, but making this video is an even better gesture by Younus. Truly a selfless man

I hope this inspires the other cricketers who got awards to do something like this. If not the full amount at least something. Pakistan is a third world country and actually should not be able to afford to hand out such gifts in the first place.

At a time when our leaders are facing corruption scandals and every few years our cricketers are caught fixing.. we need a guy to set a positive example

Donating money is good, but making this video is an even better gesture by Younus. Truly a selfless man

Nah, Sarfraz also donated (if media is to be believed) and he did it silently without a video.

Anyhow, regardless, it's a great action by Younis and whether he made a video or not doesn't change that one bit. Let's not focus on that too much and keep the thread on topic.

Well done. Yes, he should make the video so others can follow his example.

Don't know what religion you are but in Islam there is a hadith which states that you should gave donation in a way where you're left hand wouldn't even know, basically meaning that you should keep it private. But at the same time it's not the end of the world if he made a video as long as it's not with the intention to get praise.

Well said.

It was not necessary, but it's not the end of the world.

Move on.

Thank you Younis. I hope he not only gets the award tax exempt but PM should match his contribution with his own money

Makes you wonder if he donated truely from his heart or was another pr stunt.

No need to make anvideo and let everyone know

Islam also tells the believers to inspire one another and compete against one another in good deeds. Besides, every action is judged by intention, according to the Hadith. If his intention was to inspire and motivate others to do similar good deeds, he will get his rewards inshAllah

One of the biggest sins is to question the intentions of others. Never second guess or doubt the good deeds of others unless you have a solid proof. You lead yourself in a dangerous path, spiritually.

Doesn't matter if he let the public know about it, what matters is that he donated the money.

Stunt or PR, Garibo ka toh Kuch bhala hoga dono cases main.

I would rather everyone know about such donations than keeping in private. Everyone must know and get inspired by it.

Younis Khan did the right thing.

Really upsetting to read some of the posts in this thread, people always find a way to criticise even the good you do; that's pakistani's for you and their narrow minded bigotry. The man gave charity, so what if he made a video in fact it's a positive if you ask me; it promotes humanitarianism and doing good.

If someone's loved one was injured or in need of serious help and Younis Khan donated charity to help them and then after made a video that he helped, would they complain?

Some people are just beyond pathetic, I have no words. Anyway good on Younis Khan, fair play champ! a king on and off the pitch.
[MENTION=47617]Red Devil[/MENTION] [MENTION=3474]TalhaSyed[/MENTION]

Islam also tells the believers to inspire one another and compete against one another in good deeds. Besides, every action is judged by intention, according to the Hadith. If his intention was to inspire and motivate others to do similar good deeds, he will get his rewards inshAllah

One of the biggest sins is to question the intentions of others. Never second guess or doubt the good deeds of others unless you have a solid proof. You lead yourself in a dangerous path, spiritually.

Yes. No one needs to worry about Khan's intention other than Khan himself. Praise the guy for his generosity and leave the rest to him. Well done, Younis bhai. MashAllah.

This.

Always puzzles me why Philanthropists themselves need to publicise their goodwill. The recipients can offer their vote of thankfulness if they want and create awareness and encouragement for others to follow suit. Donors making 30 sec videos just stating the fact that they're donating money seems embarrassing to me, almost feels like you're buying publicity for cash, it should never be that way.

Maybe he made the video to inspire others to do the same. How many of you can actually donate an entire bonus paycheck?

Great gesture and very glad that he made it public.
Inspired me to donate some more to charity and hopefully did likewise to others.

One one hand we have a recently retired cricketer donating his bonus to help the poor and then we have the head of state going to Mecca with all expenses covered by the tax payer. Wonder if the tax payer also covered the cost of Professional photographer who accompanied that family...

Maybe he made the video to inspire others to do the same. How many of you can actually donate an entire bonus paycheck?

If he was a common Pakistani then he wouldn't be donating his entire bonus cheque and most likely wouldn't be making a video after donating either.

On topic: stop judging, his reward is between Allah and him, his intention is only known by him and Allah. You hear about Zahbhas' donating stories during and after Prophets (PBUH) times. Allah bless him with fame and nothing is wrong to use that fame to shed the light on positive such as donating and inspiring other to donate if you have it in excess.

What if this gesture inspire one more person to donate in good cause? Look for positive in this and stop trying to search for negative and trying to put him down for doing the right thing.

Encourage doesn't mean say "Oh look at me, I donated X amount of money, I'm such a good person" (which Younis didn't do, I'm just giving an example), it could just simply mean telling someone how it is a liked act by Allah and also helps the poor.

I didn't question his integrity.

Three Talking points from this news

1. TV Headlines
Saw the breaking news on TV stating that Younis is AGAIN ****** off at the PCB for not inviting him properly to the event at PM house and has decided to donate all the money to charity. Ive seen a certain feeling of discontent among the cricketing fraternity on the Cash award being received by the team, and that escalated to a whole new level when it was revealed that certain support staff will also be rewarded with generous amount of cash. Since then there has been a campaign in a series of tweets and columns by journalists crying foul at the nepotism in awarding cash rewards.

2. Request for Tax Exemption
YK also requested the gov. to exempt him from Tax on this amount so he could as much as possible to the needy.
3. Amount to given away for Charity
Never in the video did he specify that he is giving it all away, he just said that hes donating equally among the the two trusts. It is above my understanding that a cricketer like YK who has worked so hard and dedicated his life to the cause of pakistani cricket will give away all of this rare prize money, which is rightfully earned and not even think about the future of his wife and kids who are the rightful beneficiaries, especially in a country like pakistan where cricketers dont even get to earn a quarter of what internationals cricketers of other nationalities are earning.

PR or not , the money will help the poor.

Stop criticizing just for the sake of criticism.

Encourage doesn't mean say "Oh look at me, I donated X amount of money, I'm such a good person" (which Younis didn't do, I'm just giving an example), it could just simply mean telling someone how it is a liked act by Allah and also helps the poor.

I didn't question his integrity.

This topic is about younas khan please discuss what he said and. Not give examples of others

If Younis wants to donate this once in a life time amount to Charity, his playing days are over and he is not going to be able to ever make such an amount again then be my guest. You can't hold it against other players for not donating so extravagantly, no one is going to take care of the players once their playing days are over.

Really upsetting to read some of the posts in this thread, people always find a way to criticise even the good you do; that's pakistani's for you and their narrow minded bigotry. The man gave charity, so what if he made a video in fact it's a positive if you ask me; it promotes humanitarianism and doing good.

If someone's loved one was injured or in need of serious help and Younis Khan donated charity to help them and then after made a video that he helped, would they complain?

Some people are just beyond pathetic, I have no words. Anyway good on Younis Khan, fair play champ! a king on and off the pitch.

[MENTION=47617]Red Devil[/MENTION] [MENTION=3474]TalhaSyed[/MENTION]

Some people will always work to their own agendas.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Younis Khan signing the bat for The Citizens Foundation with which he reached the milestone of 10,000 Test runs <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/TKC2yHOX0V">pic.twitter.com/TKC2yHOX0V</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/885114390340653061">July 12, 2017</a></blockquote>

Younis Khan at the event:

"I work for all sort of charities like Edhi foundation, TCF and Indus Hopital"

"I help people where ever possible as i don't want to be bound to one organisation"

"I need time for myself as well and don't want people to be bored of me if i stick to one particular organisation"

A generous gesture that should applauded equally for its philanthropy and its optics

Younis Khan says yet to receive prize money announced by Nawaz Sharif

KARACHI – Former test cricketer Younis Khan says he hasn’t been paid the prize money announced by former prime minister Nawaz Sharif earlier this year.

Talking to the media, the ace cricketer who ended his illustrious career after successful tour of West Indies in April said nobody has contacted him in this regard.

Former skipper Younis Khan is the only Pakistani batsman to score 10,000 runs in Test cricket.

Soon after the legendary cricketer achieved the milestone, former PM Nawaz Sharif had announced Rs10 million prize money for him.

Khan also released a special video message earlier this year in which he had requested Mr Sharif to exempt the prize money from tax so that he could donate it among three charitable organizations of the country including Edhi Foundation.

Last month, ex-PM Nawaz Sharif gave away Rs10 million each to every player of the national cricket team for winning the Champions Trophy after defeating archrival India in London’s Oval cricket ground.

https://en.dailypakistan.com.pk/spo...eceive-prize-money-announced-by-nawaz-sharif/

Haven’t received Rs 10m announced by ex-PM Nawaz Sharif: Younis

Former Pakistan cricket team captain Younis Khan stated that he has not received Rs 10million announced by ex-Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif.

“I am hoping that I will receive the money because I have donated it to Edhi Foundation, Indus Hospitals and other charities,” he said. The iconic player appealed new Prime Minister Khaqan Abbasi to look into this matter.

http://nation.com.pk/sports/07-Aug-...rs-10m-announced-by-ex-pm-nawaz-sharif-younis