[VIDEO] "Babar said I won't bat at number 3, so we had to send Sharjeel Khan instead": Wasim Akram

With fans making excuses like this

We deserve to lose against Netherlands and Bangladesh.

bhai merey its t20 cricket England got turned over by ireland Your great buttler who pakistan should base their approach on was found wanting againstbthe mighty irish

These things can happen in a handful of overs

someone should ask inzamam wasim, waqar ramiz and misbah etc what excuses they had when they were losing HOME TESTS against the likes of minnows zimbabwe in the 90s or losing odis to a new teams like bangladesh or ireland in world cup 50 over games

They forget about that dont they when they start preaching nowadays

I can understand Waqars frustration when he commented that in the last 2-3 years Pakistan has experimented with various fast bowlers, spinners, middle order batsmen but the openers have remained the same and untouched.

What frustration?

Waqar is a hypocrite. I’ve watched 95% of games since Rizwan has opened. I know which commentator/analyst loves to hype Rizwan to the moon. Waqar was one of them. Nothing he says now is genuine.

Babar doesn’t want to bat at 3, because he knows if the two players ahead of him get around 70 off the pp then there’s more pressure on him to continue the momentum. He’s only good for the first 5 overs.

Also, let’s not forget when Babar had Sahibzada Farhan dropped for Joe Clarke in KK, and when he did play him then he came in around 5-6 I think. Some matches he wouldn’t even come on to bat. Imagine that.

Pakistan needs to do the same with Rizwan as Spain done with Raul

Muqaddas Gai

Babar is a superstar and therefore we should just respect him otherwise the world will not lol

Yes, we should because if we don't then how will?

He is an asset for our country and its cricket.

Yes he will make mistakes and yes he could be removed as captain but the respect for him must never decrease.

Pakistan should open with Asif Ali and Haider Ali vs SA at Perth [MENTION=2016]Rana[/MENTION] bhai doodh ka doodh…kya khayal hai

Let him get his range against the Netherlands first

Pehle usko Halwa pesh karo, phir kache kareley

Yes he will make mistakes and yes he could be removed as captain but the respect for him must never decrease.

And we do give him respect. He is the most sought after and respected player in Pakistan as a Batsman. However, these selfish moves deserve no respect whatsoever

He did it with Fakhar and Sharjeel both

Who’s next? Saim Ayub playing in the Pakistan side as a number 5 because Babar and Rizwan have to open?

Respect for him hahahahha for what?
For scoring tons of runs vs minnows or C string teams in bilaterals only to fail vs big teams in big tournaments? No Thank you

He's not even in the top 20 batsmen we have produced. Unfortunately we have made a nikka jakath into our national captain.

Now this is silly Babar is among the best pakistan has produced and the best pakistani batsman produced in the last 20 years

If you think he isnt then you are a poster not worth listening to

Now this is silly Babar is among the best pakistan has produced and the best pakistani batsman produced in the last 20 years

Your choice any match winning Test knocks vs top opposition?

Only 1 class knock is 2019 v NZ.

Vastly overrated.

Your choice any match winning Test knocks vs top opposition?

Only 1 class knock is 2019 v NZ.

Vastly overrated.
Babar is a massive bottler in all formats, but sticking to Test cricket his record is patchy:

- Only one Test hundred in SENA.

- One of the culprits in those two infamous botched chases vs SRL and NZL in 2017 and 2018 in UAE, costing us our proud record there.

- Scored a fifty vs ENG in 2020 Manchester Test in 1st inns, the usual pretty drives which his cringy teenage fans repost a million times, but gets out first ball of next day when he should've made a big hundred. Gets dismissed cheaply to a loose drive in a fatal 2nd inns collapse that denied us a bigger total to defend. We lose the Test, and series.

- One fifty in four innings vs SAF in 2021. It was Fawad, Rizwan and Faheem who scored the hard runs while Babar did his usual look pretty before disappearing when the team needs him act.

- Failed against the mighty Zimbabwe in 2021 tour.

- Did okay vs West Indies in fairness, but Fawad outscores him in the 2nd Test with a big hundred while Babar fails to convert.

- Scores an excellent 196 vs Aus to save the Karachi Test, but on a pitch which was a highway even on Day 5. Pair of fifties in Lahore Test, but we lose the series partly thanks to his pathetically defensive tactics as captain.

- Scores a terrific hundred in 1st inns of 1st Test vs SRL, but Abdullah Shafique scores the big hundred to complete the chase. In 2nd Test, he fails in 1st inns and scores an 81 in a hopeless cause in 2nd inns.

So some brilliant knocks but plenty of examples of him going missing when the team was under the pump, so forgive me if I'm not ready to declare him Pakistan's greatest ever batsman just yet.

yes he is, but that's because Pakistan has failed to produce any other test quality batsman since younis debuted more than 20 years ago.

this a period over which azhar ali has managed to play 95 tests for pak, he wouldn't even make the extended squad of an all time pak team.

the fact that arguably hafeez is the second most impactful test batsman pak have had over the last two decades says everything.

babar is very very good, but he has not yet had the kinda two or three seasons to cement his legacy as an ATG player yet.

Babar is a massive bottler in all formats, but sticking to Test cricket his record is patchy:

- Only one Test hundred in SENA.

- One of the culprits in those two infamous botched chases vs SRL and NZL in 2017 and 2018 in UAE, costing us our proud record there.

- Scored a fifty vs ENG in 2020 Manchester Test in 1st inns, the usual pretty drives which his cringy teenage fans repost a million times, but gets out first ball of next day when he should've made a big hundred. Gets dismissed cheaply to a loose drive in a fatal 2nd inns collapse that denied us a bigger total to defend. We lose the Test, and series.

- One fifty in four innings vs SAF in 2021. It was Fawad, Rizwan and Faheem who scored the hard runs while Babar did his usual look pretty before disappearing when the team needs him act.

- Failed against the mighty Zimbabwe in 2021 tour.

- Did okay vs West Indies in fairness, but Fawad outscores him in the 2nd Test with a big hundred while Babar fails to convert.

- Scores an excellent 196 vs Aus to save the Karachi Test, but on a pitch which was a highway even on Day 5. Pair of fifties in Lahore Test, but we lose the series partly thanks to his pathetically defensive tactics as captain.

- Scores a terrific hundred in 1st inns of 1st Test vs SRL, but Abdullah Shafique scores the big hundred to complete the chase. In 2nd Test, he fails in 1st inns and scores an 81 in a hopeless cause in 2nd inns.

So some brilliant knocks but plenty of examples of him going missing when the team was under the pump, so forgive me if I'm not ready to declare him Pakistan's greatest ever batsman just yet.

he's only 40 tests into his career, in any proper team he's not even close to being the most important player, he would still be finding his way (its three years worth of test cricket for an English player, see someone like ollie pope).

pakistani fans have elevated him into a position of greatness, which he does not warrant in tests, yet, his biggest failure so far has been a failure to convert 50s to 100s, and 100s into massive daddy knocks. maybe he learns to do this, maybe he doesn't, but hes got a lot of cricket ahead of him yet.

That's how Baber-Rizwan the two most experienced and top ranked T20 batsman started against Zimbabwe while chasing 130:

1st over: 2/0
2nd over: 3/0
3rd over: 12/0
4th over: 20/1 (Baber got out and Rizwan luckily got 1 top edged six behind keeper)

In contrast Zim was:

1st over: 14/0
2nd over: 23/0
3rd over: 31/0
4th over: 38/0

Bro, that's also the fact Pak bowled full Zim bowled short and length balls which works on this ground that's why none of the pak bowlers could touch Zim bowlers. Every Ausie pitch requirement is different. What length one bowls on MCG doesnt work on Perth or other grounds...

That's no excuse lol :sarf2

So you get some random uncle from the streets to bowl short and number one and three ranked T20 bats will struggle to get bat to bowl? In that case they don't deserve to be ranked and rated so highly. It's absolutely pathetic that minnows Zimbabwe can tie them up, imagine what better teams would do to them on these tracks.

he's only 40 tests into his career, in any proper team he's not even close to being the most important player, he would still be finding his way (its three years worth of test cricket for an English player, see someone like ollie pope).

pakistani fans have elevated him into a position of greatness, which he does not warrant in tests, yet, his biggest failure so far has been a failure to convert 50s to 100s, and 100s into massive daddy knocks. maybe he learns to do this, maybe he doesn't, but hes got a lot of cricket ahead of him yet.

He's on a decline already. Will finish with far less 100s than Inzy the real boss.

So you get some random uncle from the streets to bowl short and number one and three ranked T20 bats will struggle to get bat to bowl? In that case they don't deserve to be ranked and rated so highly. It's absolutely pathetic that minnows Zimbabwe can tie them up, imagine what better teams would do to them on these tracks.

someone is still sad that Sarfraz's keeping gloves and captaincy was taken away... Been 3 years, move on

Zimbabwe bowlers are not uncle from streets. Zim did beat pakistan on couple of occasions before this T20, they played better cricket and won.

Yes Rizwan and Babar will definitely struggle in coming games not only them but this whole batting lineup, May be Fakhar can play cut and pull better than anyone in this lineup but yet to be tested... and yes It 'll be a cracking game against Netherland and may a one sided affair against SA:rabada2

Babar and rizzy are similar fools kings like shaheen is thinking full length will always work everywhere and then look what zimbabwe did to them... teams study you, they improvise, they have bloody cheat sheets on you, and our team still playing Dino cricket, kudrat ka nizam, jo Allah chahay... bhai tum log phir aam khanay aye ho, kisi ko bhi khilaa lo... MENTAL GAME is the issue... THIS needs to be sorted.... then proper coaches and strategies, and backed by a proper domestic and junior setup.

Typically I would not want to change the order, but I think Shan should open for left and right hand combo with Babar or Rizwan to follow.

One of them needs to come later.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/babarazam258?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@babarazam258</a> we need fire power at the top with batters who are showing clear intent like Haris and Shahdab. Plz consider Haris opening with Riz and you one down followed by ur next best hitter. You should be rigid on winning the match and flexible on a balanced batting line up</p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1589169138160672768?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 6, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Riz needs to be sent down too!

Usually id suggest anyone to do the opposite of what afridi says but in this aspect and seeing babar is totally out of form they do need to make use of harris and his form

I feel like Babar shouldn't be told to "consider" coming down.

He needs a tight slap from Imran Khan himself and to be told he is coming at 3.

rumour going around babar has quit karachi and is going to zalmi. likely gonna open with haris there. would also explain akmal leaving.

How can you just quit and agree your next destination? Surely he has to re-enter the draft?

If it’s true, very bad news for PZ fans

How can you just quit and agree your next destination? Surely he has to re-enter the draft?

If it’s true, very bad news for PZ fans

has happened in the past with afridi i think, when he moved from zalmi, not sure exactly how that works, but if u know a player wants to go to a specific team why would u draft them? wouldn't make sense from team harmony pov.

Maybe there is a pre draft player swap system…I don’t know

Babar Azam loves batting as an opener. Now, as he has stepped down from captaincy, prospects of him to open innings in T20Is are less

I still think one of Rizwan or Babar Will open but am not sure which one will.
Should be rizwan opening in T20I, keep Babar back in middle order incase a collapse happens, strikers of the ball should bat ahead of him. He is such a class batsman that he can help pak to a decent total even if 4-5 wickets are down.

Can open of Rizwan and Babar not bat at 3/4 or 4/5 ?