[VIDEO]"Our belief is that if you work hard then Allah makes things easier for you": Mohammad Rizwan

he was implying what he believes in. Does he not have the right to believe in whatever he wants???????

just answer that my friend and if someone asks where your performance came from and if he credits it to his belief, does he not have that right?

Or that right disappears out of the window because he is a pakistani or a muslim? Why are you so defensive? he hasnt disrespected any other religion or implied any ones elses belief or even thought process.

Why you got your knickers in a twist?

He has the right to believe in whatever he wants to. Just spare us nob-believers from your sermons.

Not surprising from a Bjp era Indian. Bigotry and Islamophobia has a limit.

This is how muslims are and how we behave. We bring Islam into everything because for us it IS everything. Look the other way or cover your ears if you dont want to hear us.

Based.

he was implying what he believes in. Does he not have the right to believe in whatever he wants???????

just answer that my friend and if someone asks where your performance came from and if he credits it to his belief, does he not have that right?

Or that right disappears out of the window because he is a pakistani or a muslim? Why are you so defensive? he hasnt disrespected any other religion or implied any ones elses belief or even thought process.

Why you got your knickers in a twist?

Don't listen to him. Your TV has mute button, or do you guys listen to him to complain

Bishop does not bring his religion because he does not want to smear the entire world with his personal views on God.
Its a dumb hypothetical scenario until someone says it. Keep your religion to yourself. It is personal. We do not want to hear about your views on God and religion.

Then don't watch or try to find a sport where Muslims aren't dominating (good luck with that, lol).

"ALHAMDULILLAH. I know you guys don't like this"

Have you seen any Muslim interviewer talk about Allah when interviewing a player?

Sorry but sport has nothing to do with religion. He failed to mention all the dancing, singing, songs and free mixing that were in the ground. I'm sure Allah really wanted them to win a cricket match.

This is the general problem with the world. Too many non-believers out there who DEMAND to remove religion out of everything .. all in the name of "freedom" and "being cool".

I am not a muslim, but what Rizwan has said, is EXACTLY what is even said in the Gita. Do your karma in the best of your ability and leave the rest up to God.

Muslims are honorable and humble enough to acknowledge and work under the divinity of God. So are all the religious folks regardless of religion. It is only those who have made a pact with the devil will have an objection to someone saying this.

[MENTION=6728]kamz[/MENTION]

This is a Pakistani trait. Remember Malik's "all Muslims around the world wanted us to beat India" crap after the WT20 2007 Final?

Afridi and Inzamam have made such nonsense statements as well. Now Saqlain and Rizwan are reviving this culture after Misbah kept religion aside during his captaincy/coaching tenures. Nothing wrong with being religious, but please don't shove it down other people's throats.

where in his statement riz shoved his belief anyone elses throat. He was asked a question and he even started by the words honest answer, we believe...... and it worked for us. Where does that statement anywhere imply him showving his belief anyone else's throat

Since he didnt shove it down anuone else's throat, he doesnt deserve to be viled or despised for what he believes in and sharing what works for him. If he is despised for that, then that speaks volumes of your thinking rather than pakistani

BEsides how do you know what culture is being revived, you part of that dressing room? from 2 statements and a couple of videos you come to this conclusion.

Think you are smarter than that to come to that sort of conclusion!

I’m not really bothered with all this in a way. He probably didn’t express himself too well.

The only thing I would say is that when you are interviewed about your game, or analyse how you played, how you countered etc, give a technical answer. We all know you believe in Allah and leave things to Allah - that’s a given.

Didn't take long to pull out the Islamophobia card.

What else would you call it? You don't want to listen to a player briefly talk about Islam because you have an irrational fear of Islam.

Otherwise this wouldn't bother you, lol. It doesn't bother me one bit when I heard a Christian MMA fighter praise Christ in Abu Dhabi a couple of weeks ago.

This is the general problem with the world. Too many non-believers out there who DEMAND to remove religion out of everything .. all in the name of "freedom" and "being cool".

I am not a muslim, but what Rizwan has said, is EXACTLY what is even said in the Gita. Do your karma in the best of your ability and leave the rest up to God.

Muslims are honorable and humble enough to acknowledge and work under the divinity of God. So are all the religious folks regardless of religion. It is only those who have made a pact with the devil will have an objection to someone saying this.

Another superbly based comment. I found it admirable that Kohli pointed to the Heavens and thanked God after playing that super innings at the MCG. It shows that the man is humble enough to acknowledge that God is the one who provides.

What rubbish.

No Hindu quotes Gita or gives the credit to Krishna or calls him the creator of the world in interviews. There is no devil in Hinduism.

Muslims have every right to believe in what they want to. But airing faith and beliefs is unnecessary. Audience which will be majority non-muslim do not want to hear that.

I am also a Muslim. My problem is with people who advertise their religion instead of keeping it personal.

You should notice that I have no issue with Adil Rashid even though he also has a beard. In my opinion, he is the perfect role-model. Religious man but keeps it to himself.

Yeah, lets ban Hajj, Eid etc because its advertisement of someone's religion :)))

Watched it at the time and it didn't feel right I agree. You can't really call it a language barrier because he mentioned the same thing in one of the PCB videos also after the game.

Not a fan of bringing religion into sports.

Another superbly based comment. I found it admirable that Kohli pointed to the Heavens and thanked God after playing that super innings at the MCG. It shows that the man is humble enough to acknowledge that God is the one who provides.

Or it could be he is pointing to his Dad who passed away when he was young. Kohli often mentions his dad and how much he misses him.

Sorry but sport has nothing to do with religion. He failed to mention all the dancing, singing, songs and free mixing that were in the ground. I'm sure Allah really wanted them to win a cricket match.

Athletes point to Islam being one of the reasons behind their successes.

Secular fans: "rEliGion hAs nOthiNg to do wiTh sPoRt"

Don't listen to him. Your TV has mute button, or do you guys listen to him to complain

on the contrary bewal. I found it refreshing to what rizwan had to say, so didnt want to mute it at all. I thoroughly enjoyed it. For a change someone gave an honest answer. I just wonder why people have a problem in what a certain individual believes in and if he attributes his success to his belief.

Nothing wrong with that. As someone aptly pointed out Muhammad Ali. No one bats an eye lid there. for crying out loud. I remember from years ago Chris Adams jokingly said he believes in Mushi's Allah granting sussex victory or something.
If it works for some individuals good for them. why are fans dictating what they should feel and believe in?

Athletes point to Islam being one of the reasons behind their successes.

Secular fans: "rEliGion hAs nOthiNg to do wiTh sPoRt"
That is fine. But if an athlete resorts to 'you' and 'us' then there's a preaching or an insecurity problem. Both aren't healthy.

You want to express that firm belief in Allah is helping you achieve success then by all means express it with the bat in hand. And that's it. There's no need to rub it in afterwards by resorting to 'my' belief and 'your' belief tactics. That's being judgemental.

We tuned in to listen to his perspective on the match. Its like the initial Youtube Ad without a skip button.

Exactly!!!!!!
and he gave his perspective. You dont like his perspective fine. But despising him! or saying he is wrong and degrading him isnt right either. That just speaks about your character and ego my friend :) what works for him may not work for you and what works for you may not work for him

He can praise Allah, his religion all that he wants. That’s his FOS

The only issue I have with the statement in the OP is presenting the team’s religion as a difference between Pakistan and other teams. It’s not necessary.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] is also right, how would the non Muslim players in Pakistan feel about this?

The same way I would feel if a Christian player in my team in England praised Jesus.

I’d be happy that he lived in a world where he could express his spirituality and the things that matter most to him.

I would most certainly not be like - how dare he bring up religion. Only close minded people like you do that.

That is fine. But if an athlete resorts to 'you' and 'us' then there's a preaching or an insecurity problem. Both aren't healthy.

You want to express that firm belief in Allah is helping you achieve success then by all means express it with the bat in hand. And that's it. There's no need to rub it in afterwards by resorting to 'my' belief and 'your' belief tactics. That's being judgemental.

This is something that you are concocting in your own head because it certainly did not come from Rizwan.

He was talking about the Islamic principle of doing what we can and leaving the rest up to God. How does this demean anyone else or could even remotely seem like a taunt?

This isn't just an Islamic principle, by the way. Plenty of non-Muslims believe in controlling the controllables and not worrying about what is not in one's hand so who exactly is offended by this?

What rubbish.

No Hindu quotes Gita or gives the credit to Krishna or calls him the creator of the world in interviews. There is no devil in Hinduism.

Muslims have every right to believe in what they want to. But airing faith and beliefs is unnecessary. Audience which will be majority non-muslim do not want to hear that.

Where did I say that Hindus also quote the Gita? I said, what Rizwan has said is what is also said in the Gita.

The concept of devil is different between religions. In Hinduism, just like Christianity and perhaps even Islam, all activities that take you away from the path of God and leaves in you in a pursuit of hedonism and self-pleasure by abandoning your spirituality and going against the principles of God, is akin to abandoning God and making a pact with the Devil. The question here is not about the validity of Devil philosophy. The question here is indulging in activities that take you away from God.

I have premium account. That is why I said the post match presentation with Rizwan is a Youtube Ad without the Skip option.

The point being: If you don't like it, don't watch. It's part of the package with Muslims. Islam is the most important facet of our lives.

I am used to watching Pak players giving interviews since Inzamam days. He used to bring religion too. But only in the first sentence. Rizwan's interview is more like a sermon. We can easily tell the difference.

Rizwan says nothing that most other Pakistani players do not. He simply has a bigger platform since he's been scoring more runs for us than anyone else.

The fact that we have Muslim posters having issues with Muslim sportsmen starting conferences with Bismillah, or mentioning in sha Allah or anything Islamic is pathetic. You’re literally hating on your brothers in faith for doing and saying what is islamically correct. Start with Bismillah and if you plan on doing something say in sha Allah, these are basic values in our religion.

All power to Rizwan for expressing his love for his religion.

Those not interested in it, can move on and ignore him. For others like myself, I find his views inspiring in many ways. To each their own.

Good post.

Agree wholeheartedly

“Our belief is different, because we know that Allah is the creator”

I don’t disagree with this as a Muslim

But I disagree with making such statements on a platform where religious differences are not supposed to be mentioned.

In the context of Islamic theology, even this is not 100% correct.

Many at times, you work VERY, VERY hard but Allah has different plans, and you don't get what you work hard for.

He is free to say whatever he wants but I am not a fan of pulling so much of a religiosity in sports.

Now if we lose from India in the finals? Would that mean Bhagwan is more powerful than Allah? (naoozubillah).

This is exactly the reason why you can and you should, pray to Allah as much as you want to get divine help in sports, but please don't wave the religiosity flag in every public statement.

Can you also add the part where he said “our belief is different”

Maybe he meant it differently but I agree in any case he should not be saying such things.

For one he is representing Pakistan not the Islamic world that he needs to speak for the behalf of everyone. Not everyone shares his beliefs in the country and maybe not even within the team. Its also sets him and the team up for needless mockery should they mess up the final. Where will this different belief go then (that made the difference)?

PCB needs to come up with a strict policy where religion needs to be a personal matter for everyone involved. Practice religion as much as you want in your free time and talk about faith being an inpiration as well but on a personal, singular level. Rizwan could easily have said that he had faith that Pakistan will come through and that his faith inspires him to do better.

PCB also needs to make sure that the players realize that when they are on tour they are there to play cricket, representing Pakistan and that is it. They are not there as religious scholars/figures, and they shouldn't act like they are. The team is not a platform to make any religious or political statements.

One miscontructed sentence and it can easily go so wrong, leading to a political and diplomatic disaster. What happens then? Think this through and you will realize why most teams have a policy of players not broadcasting their views especially on sensitive topics that are not their domain, and certainly not speaking for the whole team. If Rizwan or anyone else wants to talk about their faith, it should be done on their own; seperate from the entity that is Pakistan Cricket.

I don't always agree with [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] but this is one of the areas where I'm aligned. Pakistani cricketers are unique even amongst Muslim cricket teams in these public displays of piety.

The trend began with Inzamam's captaincy whose intentions I believe were to use religion as a unifying force, largely a reaction to the debauchery and disunity of the 1990s. Although stories of religious litmus tests for selection are exaggerated (Akhtar and Asif were no model Muslims yet were regulars under his tenure; Kaneria last time I checked is still a devout Hindu), press conference were peppered with religious utterances, while several players joined TJ.

It got so over the top that after England's 2005 tour of Pakistan, one of their journalists remarked "Allah ought to be Man of the Series."

Rizwan has taken it to another level by praying namaz during drinks breaks, talking about his fasting during matches and delivering these sermons in interviews. Naturally it appeals to the Pakistani public where religious conservatism has grown significantly over the last few decades.

Let me be clear, I've no issue with anyone who sincerely holds religious beliefs. I've no issue with Rizwan preaching in mosques on tour as an invited guest. However our players should remember while they're free to espouse their religious views privately - the cricket field is a public forum where the eyes of the world are on you. Sponsors are watching while social media is a minefield so exercise care with your public statements - especially when Rizwan's English is limited so liable to misspeak and risk making the interviewer feel uncomfortable.

Yes, exactly, which is why Ian has to remain on topic with the cricket while Rizwan can thank God, his family, coaches, haters, etc. This is why it has never happened that an interviewer has gotten offended when a player thanks God and speaks about his belief in his Creator.

Not a hard concept to grasp but I'm not surprised that a certain group of people cannot seem to understand.

The onus is on both interviewer and player to remain professional and stick to the subject. As I mentioned above, the eyes of the world are on you at a World Cup and when Rizwan's English is limited, you risk misspeaking and creating a needless controversy, in addition to putting the interviewer in an awkward position.

Back home in front of our own people in his native tongue, of course he can say what he wants with no risk of misinterpretation.

The onus is on both interviewer and player to remain professional and stick to the subject. As I mentioned above, the eyes of the world are on you at a World Cup and when Rizwan's English is limited, you risk misspeaking and creating a needless controversy, in addition to putting the interviewer in an awkward position.

Back home in front of our own people in his native tongue, of course he can say what he wants with no risk of misinterpretation.

There is a risk of misspeaking every time you open your mouth. I'm not sure what you're trying to argue for but it's incoherent.

Rizwan pretty clearly conveyed what he wanted to say in what was is his third or fourth language. However, if you are concerned about him misspeaking then advocate for Pakistan having a dedicated translator instead of asking Rizwan to not praise Allah.

No interviewer feels awkward hearing a Pakistani player speak about Allah. It's expected. Heck, even Matthew Hayden spoke about the prayers of Pakistanis coming true and resulting in Netherlands beating South Africa.

This is a non-issue and this criticism is pretty disappointing coming from a poster of your quality.

I agree with our players not conducting interviews in English. There is no need to do so. They aren't applying for jobs in England, they are cricketers from Pakistan.

Rizwan PcB needs to give them communication classes

On a side note after retirement first thing Rizwan should do is a go for a preaching journey to Caribbean Island on a cruise

I felt it was unnecessary. Specially the "our belief is different" part. I can totally understand how a non Muslim viewer would feel alienated by this. There is nothing wrong with thanking Allah and saying Inshallah but this went a little too far with the "our belief system vs yours" part

I don’t understand why this is so hard for people to understand here. This is the only concerning part of this whole episode. Nothing else

We're not the only Muslim playing nation. You have Bangladesh and Afghanistan and then many Muslim players playing for non Muslim teams. Why is it that it's always a Pakistani coming up with this "Muslims are different" claims in interviews

Btw, I don't believe Rizwan meant it that way. But his discomfort with the interview language led to him phrasing sentences in that manner. They should have a translator with them

People are twisting Rizwan's words to further their agenda.

Rizwan didn't disrespect other religions or spoke for all Muslims or tried to preach anyone....he just gave an honest answer.

Ian Bishop asked a simple question about what worked for him and how he and the team managed to turn it around from the earlier loss.

To this, Rizwan said that they had firm belief on Allah and went by the Islamic teachings of doing your best and leaving the results to Allah.

This is just Rizwan sharing the belief within the team.

Nothing preachy or disrespectful about it, he just shared what worked for him and the team.

Doesn't matter if some trolls or insecure people don't like it.

I don’t understand why this is so hard for people to understand here. This is the only concerning part of this whole episode. Nothing else

Because for the majority anything like this is perceived as a direct attack on either Islam or Muhammad Rizwan. You even have posters asking about Mamoons faith simply because he didn't think Rizwan should've worded it that way

Because for the majority anything like this is perceived as a direct attack on either Islam or Muhammad Rizwan. Whilst the one commenting might actually be a Muslim who doesn't Muhammad Rizwan. You even have posters asking about Mamoons faith simply because he didn't think Rizwan should've worded it that way.

It's the same mentality that led Afridi to ask a player to convert to Islam to save his afterlife.

The zealots couldn’t criticise his batting today so the faithless cowards come after a mans religion, you should be careful, you saw what happened to Conor Mcgregor

I don't always agree with [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] but this is one of the areas where I'm aligned. Pakistani cricketers are unique even amongst Muslim cricket teams in these public displays of piety.

The trend began with Inzamam's captaincy whose intentions I believe were to use religion as a unifying force, largely a reaction to the debauchery and disunity of the 1990s. Although stories of religious litmus tests for selection are exaggerated (Akhtar and Asif were no model Muslims yet were regulars under his tenure; Kaneria last time I checked is still a devout Hindu), press conference were peppered with religious utterances, while several players joined TJ.

It got so over the top that after England's 2005 tour of Pakistan, one of their journalists remarked "Allah ought to be Man of the Series."

Rizwan has taken it to another level by praying namaz during drinks breaks, talking about his fasting during matches and delivering these sermons in interviews. Naturally it appeals to the Pakistani public where religious conservatism has grown significantly over the last few decades.

Let me be clear, I've no issue with anyone who sincerely holds religious beliefs. I've no issue with Rizwan preaching in mosques on tour as an invited guest. However our players should remember while they're free to espouse their religious views privately - the cricket field is a public forum where the eyes of the world are on you. Sponsors are watching while social media is a minefield so exercise care with your public statements - especially when Rizwan's English is limited so liable to misspeak and risk making the interviewer feel uncomfortable.

I think it’s a breath of fresh air that a public forum is being used to air these views and feelings, its a part of his identity and the words are real, we need more of this especially in the world where there is so much far right violence towards Muslims. Sports stars who are proud to depict their faith inspiring them is more of a positive then a negative, he isn’t the first to do it, do people remember Muhammad Ali? English isn’t Riswan’s first language so perhaps that doesn’t help some of the less sophisticated folk understand what is being said but you get the point. Ya”ll are acting like he is going full Wahabi in these interviews, people need to chill, he’s a good bloke who is respected around the world but it is the inferior complex and insecurity of some Pakistani’s which is causing fits when they can’t criticise his batting for a day

Have never seen more Muslims ashamed of their faith than some.

Keep going Rizwan. Wear your faith on your sleeve. It is fantastic that you have zero insecurities in this regard, compared to the droves of people here

Darn right Rizwan's belief is different from mine. I believe in a sinless Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, the one the Old Testament prophesied, the New Testament showed, the one who died on the Cross for my sins and the sins of the whole world, including Muhammad Rizwan's. If Rizwan wanted to come to come to give me dawah I would give him the Gospel because I love Rizwan so much I don't wish for him to go to hell.
I think it's frankly a work of Shaitan (or Satan as he's called in the West) that we don't have these serious discussions about faith and eternity. I do not agree with Rizwan's belief, but I know where he's coming from. Gratitude breeds humility. Humility breeds a desire to serve. A desire to serve leads back to the Lord, the maker of heaven and earth.

As for those who don't want to hear it-we love you anyway, we are sorry that we have to spare you our sermons, we only wish to see you spared from hell.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Kisi se nahi hota,<br>Allah se hota hai.<br><br>Grateful for the belief Saqlain bhai and our entire management has put in us. Alhumdulillah, we are one and will give it our all, in sha Allah.<br><br>Special thanks to all the fans for their support & love. Please keep us in your dua. &#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816; &#55358;&#56626; <a href="https://t.co/Co3bn7nCVB">pic.twitter.com/Co3bn7nCVB</a></p>— Muhammad Rizwan (@iMRizwanPak) <a href="https://twitter.com/iMRizwanPak/status/1590359236915396608?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 9, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

on the contrary bewal. I found it refreshing to what rizwan had to say, so didnt want to mute it at all. I thoroughly enjoyed it. For a change someone gave an honest answer. I just wonder why people have a problem in what a certain individual believes in and if he attributes his success to his belief.

Nothing wrong with that. As someone aptly pointed out Muhammad Ali. No one bats an eye lid there. for crying out loud. I remember from years ago Chris Adams jokingly said he believes in Mushi's Allah granting sussex victory or something.
If it works for some individuals good for them. why are fans dictating what they should feel and believe in?

Just like he has the right to throw religiosity card so very often in everything, including sporting events, then millions of other people, including many Muslims in the forum may have the right to express their opinion.

However lets analyze the situation an in an effort to explain my view on this and express my opinion that what's questionable in his "understanding of Islamic faith" and his "choice of words".

Again, NOTHING is wrong with this emaan/faith and he has the right to express his opinion whichever legal way he wants to do - and I support this freedom.

Lets analyze this.

And AGAIN, we are NOT talking about his faith and his emaan. We are NOT being critical in his belief in Allah. No, absolutely not!

We are talking about his understanding of Islamic theology and choice of words.

“1 - Our belief is different, because we know that Allah is the creator”
2 - Our belief is that if you work hard then Allah makes things easier for you"

The very first question. What does "OUR" mean here?
His family? The team? The Pakistani nation? The entire 1.2 Billion Muslim population?

Either way you look at it, Jews and Christians also believe in the same. English speakers call him God and Arab Christians call him Allah.

So no, this sense of superiority that my religion is better than the rest, OR, you didn't ask me, but I will tell you anyway as to what's my belief in creation. Because, soon as he says "OUR", then there is an automatic "THEIRS" ... who is "Theirs"?

Second and most important
"Our belief is that if you work hard then Allah makes things easier for you."

If you work hard, things usually tend to get doable and easier. THIS IS THE LAW OF NATURE !!

And it's generally true for everyone, whether they believe in Allah or Yahweh or Bhagwan or a cow or a snake or a monkey or an elephant or Zeus or Buddha, OR they believe in NONE!
No need to bring Allah into this.

Here is an example,
If he loses to India in the finals, and Rohit Sharma comes to him and says, where was your Allah today, or did you not work hard enough?

He has couple of answers.

"Allah did not reward my hard work" (may be because he has other and better plans for me).
In this case, his statement is NOT correct anymore when he explains the Islamic theology that "if you work hard then Allah makes things easier for you", because he did work hard but Allah did not make things easier for him.

Or he can say,
"We did not work hard enough".

In which case, his statement "if you work hard then Allah makes things easier for you" is incorrect again.

Because now what we notice is that it's not Allah but it's the hard work that pays off and it's the hard work that makes the difference.

And what Rohit tells him that, "I prayed to Bhagwan and based on that divine help, we won. So it looks like Bhagwan has more power than Allah (naoozubillah)"

Tell me, with what face he is going to take that statement?

In my opinion, he lacks the philosophy of Islamic theology and preaching the incorrect message. Me as a fellow Muslim, do not agree with this understanding of Islamic faith, and the way he advertises it. And just like many others here, I do have the right to voice my opinion in a civilized manner.

So when he says "OUR" then he should better explain who that our is, because not 1.2 billion people will agree and have to jump on his bandwagon.
And ironically enough, if he says "Our" means "Pakistanis" or "Muslims" then seriously, we don't really believe in what we are saying in the general scheme of things. Look at the top 10 most corrupt nations in the world and see how many are Muslims. One wonders, where is your belief in Allah and where is your hard work?

Islam is more about meekness and docility - and Islamic faith requires to let your actions talk rather than hot air from the mouth.

One should have an absolutely firm belief in Allah, one should always try his best and one should always have good hopes from Allah - This is my firm belief.

But I don't agree with over advertising of your faith on every platform in such a manner when you start comparing "ours" vs "theirs".

Nothing wrong in what Rizwan has said.

And to all those questioning him, who are you? Who are you to judge him?

If the colleagues of Moeen Ali, Hashim Amla, M Rizwan do not have an issue with them, their respective cricketing boards and administrators do not have a problem with them, then who are you to judge them?

I'm sorry to say but this is really narrow minded thinking, extremely low life stuff.

Now will you tell people what to say in an interview? Rizwan Or XYZ should come and ask you what is right to say, or what is wrong to say and how to behave and how to talk to his peers, and live his life according to the rules set by you?? Hilarious.

As long as he is not speaking against anyones belief and not hurting anyones sentiments then he is well within his rights to speak his mind. Now dont tell me praising someone you believe in is hurting other people sentiments.

I've seen many actors/actresses thanking the God they believe in, in various Award ceremonies and I or anyone never had any issues with that. In fact we all appreciate it. Same goes for many sporting events... Many sportsmen get emotional and thank the Gods they believe in. I never saw an issue with that.

This is such pathetic, narrow minded thinking. People have freedom of speech, let them practice it.

Which further confirms why he shouldn't be doing interviews in English.

Isn't that the media approaching him and way of the world?. Management need better control of their players. Don't Pakistan have a media manager?.

Just like he has the right to throw religiosity card so very often in everything, including sporting events, then millions of other people, including many Muslims in the forum may have the right to express their opinion.

However lets analyze the situation an in an effort to explain my view on this and express my opinion that what's questionable in his "understanding of Islamic faith" and his "choice of words".

Again, NOTHING is wrong with this emaan/faith and he has the right to express his opinion whichever legal way he wants to do - and I support this freedom.

Lets analyze this.

And AGAIN, we are NOT talking about his faith and his emaan. We are NOT being critical in his belief in Allah. No, absolutely not!

His family? The team? The Pakistani nation? The entire 1.2 Billion Muslim population?

Either way you look at it, Jews and Christians also believe in the same. English speakers call him God and Arab Christians call him Allah.

So no, this sense of superiority that my religion is better than the rest, OR, you didn't ask me, but I will tell you anyway as to what's my belief in creation. Because, soon as he says "OUR", then there is an automatic "THEIRS" ... who is "Theirs"?

If you work hard, things usually tend to get doable and easier. THIS IS THE LAW OF NATURE !!

And it's generally true for everyone, whether they believe in Allah or Yahweh or Bhagwan or a cow or a snake or a monkey or an elephant or Zeus or Buddha, OR they believe in NONE!

Here is an example,
If he loses to India in the finals, and Rohit Sharma comes to him and says, where was your Allah today, or did you not work hard enough?

"Allah did not reward my hard work" (may be because he has other and better plans for me).
In this case, his statement is NOT correct anymore when he explains the Islamic theology that "if you work hard then Allah makes things easier for you", because he did work hard but Allah did not make things easier for him.

Or he can say,

In which case, his statement "if you work hard then Allah makes things easier for you" is incorrect again.

Because now what we notice is that it's not Allah but it's the hard work that pays off and it's the hard work that makes the difference.

And what Rohit tells him that, "I prayed to Bhagwan and based on that divine help, we won. So it looks like Bhagwan has more power than Allah (naoozubillah)"

In my opinion, he lacks the philosophy of Islamic theology and preaching the incorrect message. Me as a fellow Muslim, do not agree with this understanding of Islamic faith, and the way he advertises it. And just like many others here, I do have the right to voice my opinion in a civilized manner.

So when he says "OUR" then he should better explain who that our is, because not 1.2 billion people will agree and have to jump on his bandwagon.
And ironically enough, if he says "Our" means "Pakistanis" or "Muslims" then seriously, we don't really believe in what we are saying in the general scheme of things. Look at the top 10 most corrupt nations in the world and see how many are Muslims. One wonders, where is your belief in Allah and where is your hard work?

Islam is more about meekness and docility - and Islamic faith requires to let your actions talk rather than hot air from the mouth.

One should have an absolutely firm belief in Allah, one should always try his best and one should always have good hopes from Allah - This is my firm belief.

But I don't agree with over advertising of your faith on every platform in such a manner when you start comparing "ours" vs "theirs".

Excellent post. This is very well written and you have explained your POV very well without judging someone just because he talks about 'religion' in his speech.

The MOM speech that Rizwan made in my opinion was full of grammatical mistakes and overall failed to convey the message imo he wanted to broadcast to the viewers.

Now I personally could not understand what exactly his religious message was or he wanted to say, but when it comes to sports, in this era, someone like Khabib Nurmagomedov, a former UFC MMA fighter comes to my mind, who despite his limited English proficiency, speaks and communicates clearly his religious views during his interviews.

If someone listen to Khabib interviews, one could understand he is a religious guy, he is a respectful guy and a honorable, disciplined and hardworking guy. Even if you are not his supporter, one could understand such things listening to him but I think Rizwan"s MOM speech failed to communicate his way of life, belief and faith

If he really wants to showcase his beliefs he should first learn to communicate properly as these things can be misrepresented if not done correctly.

Lets analyze this.

Here is an example,

Or he can say,

Wonderfully put

POTW

This is exactly my issue with this statement by Rizwan and Colorblind Genius has explained my own POV on this brilliantly

Have never seen more Muslims ashamed of their faith than some.

Keep going Rizwan. Wear your faith on your sleeve. It is fantastic that you have zero insecurities in this regard, compared to the droves of people here

Exactly he should continue saying what's comfortable with him and not worry about critics

Nothing wrong in what Rizwan has said.

And to all those questioning him, who are you? Who are you to judge him?

If the colleagues of Moeen Ali, Hashim Amla, M Rizwan do not have an issue with them, their respective cricketing boards and administrators do not have a problem with them, then who are you to judge them?

I'm sorry to say but this is really narrow minded thinking, extremely low life stuff.

Now will you tell people what to say in an interview? Rizwan Or XYZ should come and ask you what is right to say, or what is wrong to say and how to behave and how to talk to his peers, and live his life according to the rules set by you?? Hilarious.

As long as he is not speaking against anyones belief and not hurting anyones sentiments then he is well within his rights to speak his mind. Now dont tell me praising someone you believe in is hurting other people sentiments.

I've seen many actors/actresses thanking the God they believe in, in various Award ceremonies and I or anyone never had any issues with that. In fact we all appreciate it. Same goes for many sporting events... Many sportsmen get emotional and thank the Gods they believe in. I never saw an issue with that.

This is such pathetic, narrow minded thinking. People have freedom of speech, let them practice it.

Exactly aslong as he's not offending someone's religion then he has every right to say what he wants aslong as it doesn't cross the boundaries

Darn right Rizwan's belief is different from mine. I believe in a sinless Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, the one the Old Testament prophesied, the New Testament showed, the one who died on the Cross for my sins and the sins of the whole world, including Muhammad Rizwan's. If Rizwan wanted to come to come to give me dawah I would give him the Gospel because I love Rizwan so much I don't wish for him to go to hell.
I think it's frankly a work of Shaitan (or Satan as he's called in the West) that we don't have these serious discussions about faith and eternity. I do not agree with Rizwan's belief, but I know where he's coming from. Gratitude breeds humility. Humility breeds a desire to serve. A desire to serve leads back to the Lord, the maker of heaven and earth.

As for those who don't want to hear it-we love you anyway, we are sorry that we have to spare you our sermons, we only wish to see you spared from hell.

Pray that Rizwan fails in the finals and Pak loses. We will see whose prayers work.

Hey Rizwan, don't forget the Netherlands! They also make things easier for you.

There is a risk of misspeaking every time you open your mouth. I'm not sure what you're trying to argue for but it's incoherent.

Rizwan pretty clearly conveyed what he wanted to say in what was is his third or fourth language. However, if you are concerned about him misspeaking then advocate for Pakistan having a dedicated translator instead of asking Rizwan to not praise Allah.

No interviewer feels awkward hearing a Pakistani player speak about Allah. It's expected. Heck, even Matthew Hayden spoke about the prayers of Pakistanis coming true and resulting in Netherlands beating South Africa.

This is a non-issue and this criticism is pretty disappointing coming from a poster of your quality.

You must have watched a different video because Rizwan was as clear as mud in articulating his point. What I'm advocating is preventing the many, vocal enemies of Muslims worldwide the opportunity to mischaracterise our cricketers representing Pakistan as a bunch of religious fanatics.

He's welcome to say "Thanks to God" at the start of his interview like how Inzamam did, and leave it there. Why talk about how "our beliefs are different" and launch into a khutbah in broken English, risking an unintentionally offensive comment that creates a firestorm ?

Again, Pakistan is unique amomgst the Muslim cricketing nations in incendiary comments invoking religion.

We heard Shoaib Malik dedicate a win over India to all Muslims. Ahmed Shehzad tried to convert Dilshan on the field in 2014. Waqar Younis said he liked seeing Rizwan pray "in front of the Hindus" in the India game last year.

You don't need to be a raging secularist to recognise that's a problematic pattern of behaviour and our boys need to think before making comments on a global stage.

Lets analyze this.

Here is an example,

Or he can say,

my friend indeed you do have the right to voice your opinion. And thank you for such a well thought out and articulate response.

Though a small point from my perspective a food for thought. Is it always necessary that whenever there is an our there has to be their? or where ever there is an I there has to be a You?

Can it not be just clarifying ones own position, without questioning the other's position or thought. Hey I think this is for me its different than yours but hey it works for me. Is that antagonising you in any manner or perhaps belittling you even? I think not and can it be possible that this is what Rizwan meant?

We are working on a lot of asumptions what his our could have meant and what if his our was limited to the team only him and His Creator could know it. and if his statement was meant different to majority in the cricketing fraternity or perhaps even the belief they had in past where success comes from (which you beautifully pointed out (law of nature) he is saying exactly that but instead of law of nature he replaces that with Allah

Essentially everyone believes that you put the hard yards in the benefits reaped in later. He just is perhaps stating our mindset different that instead of law of nature we attribute that to Allah and we had that thinking before now our is different and we attribute to Allah and it is working for us. Not by any means suggesting that our is superior or better than yours etc, but merely clarifying his or the team's mindset and position?

So essentially yes, could it be possible that can there be instances where there is an our, there isnt necessarily an intention to belittle a their or in fact to be a "their" in the argument

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Mohammad Rizwan "we didn't start the tournament well but the guys believed in themselves. Our belief is that if you work hard then Allah makes things easier for you" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/T20WorldCup?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#T20WorldCup</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NZvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NZvPAK</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1590307210592391168?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 9, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 45.455%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/mggo0x" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Hadn't watched this. Very Tablighi but he's not wrong!

In other words, keep persevering and good things come to those who wait. It's a universal thought.

Lets analyze this.

Here is an example,

Or he can say,

It might not be the case with him as I don't know his personal background. But he sounds like one of those people that has suddenly discovered religion or have turned back to the faith. He feels the need to throw his religiosity around at every turn, perhaps to keep up the pious brand Rizwan.

This won't go down well but he also comes across as immature. Even his speeches at the mosque, a five year old could deliver those.

Ohhhh. So I've seen the interview in full. This. This isn't good.

That was a premeditated speech in line with his mosque tours. He sounded very robotic and extremely indoctrinated. This must've come from the Tablighi heads, Saqlain and Yousuf.

Faith is an amazing thing. But this was a whole evangelical eulogy at a time they should rejoice. It sounded exactly like Shoaib Malik's dozy speech after the final in 2007. And he's no religious man.

Ultimately, this will be embarrassing if they lose to India especially. Given all the connotations.

Someone needs to crack the whip and Hayden isn't anywhere near as powerful as he should be made.

It's all good giving sermons post-match when the crowd's euphoric, dancing and the broadcasters are left utterly bemused.

I swear these evangelists knocked on my door last Saturday morning. You can tell them you've an affiliation elsewhere yet they persist unashamedly.

Whatever happened to faith being between yourself and the Almighty?.

I mean when Dariush (Christian Iranian UFC fighter) declared his religion proudly after his fight in AbuDhabi( predominantly muslim society) nobody really batted an eye.
It shouldn't matter how one chooses to express their beliefs. Emotions are high following triumph. He feels very strongly about his beliefs and believes it's a major factor in his drive to succeed and is very thankful for it.

I am also a Muslim. My problem is with people who advertise their religion instead of keeping it personal.

You should notice that I have no issue with Adil Rashid even though he also has a beard. In my opinion, he is the perfect role-model. Religious man but keeps it to himself.

Am I the only one who has noticed that Rizwan has changed the name on his shirt from Rizwan to Mohammad? I do wonder why.

I 100% agree. Religion is personal, no need to advertise one's belief.

I mean when Dariush (Christian Iranian UFC fighter) declared his religion proudly after his fight in AbuDhabi( predominantly muslim society) nobody really batted an eye.
It shouldn't matter how one chooses to express their beliefs. Emotions are high following triumph. He feels very strongly about his beliefs and believes it's a major factor in his drive to succeed and is very thankful for it.
It was a rehearsed diatribe. He just went on autopilot. This was premeditated. It was totally unnatural

Hadn't watched this. Very Tablighi but he's not wrong!

In other words, keep persevering and good things come to those who wait. It's a universal thought.

Sure, but why do Pak players thank Allah and say Bismillah after a victory in a post match interview, but not after a loss? Surley a loss also comes under a universal thought?

Piety is a profitable business

Again, Pakistan is unique amomgst the Muslim cricketing nations in incendiary comments invoking religion.

We heard Shoaib Malik dedicate a win over India to all Muslims. Ahmed Shehzad tried to convert Dilshan on the field in 2014. Waqar Younis said he liked seeing Rizwan pray "in front of the Hindus" in the India game last year.

Majority of PPers don't see anything wrong. Players are not going to be different. Players are coming from the same population.

If Pakistanis don't see a problem with what Rizwan said then there's a bigger problem for Pakistanis more than anyone else. To invoke religious comparison on winning is fine but pakistan looses more than it wins, what about those times when you loose? I am sure Pakistanis don't believe that when they lost to India and Zimbos it was because of religion. And what about the political and the economic situation , i am sure the country could get some help with divine intervention in there as well. It's perfectly fine to thank God (all humble people should actually do that as so many times things happen when you don't expect), Kohli did it in asia cup when he said 'aap jitna bhi haath paav maar lo, deta upar waala hai jab usse dena hota hai'. There's a difference between being religious and flaunting religion just because u won on a particular day.

Am I the only one who has noticed that Rizwan has changed the name on his shirt from Rizwan to Mohammad? I do wonder why.

I 100% agree. Religion is personal, no need to advertise one's belief.

Yes, that name change is part of his gimmick.

It is funny though - all the religious people that I know, out of respect, would never write Allah’s (SWT) or Prophet Muhammad’s (PBUH) on something that would come into contact with the ground.

Here we have Rizwan, a cricketer and especially a WK, who is going to tumble across the ground and end up on his back numerous times, paying respect to Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) by rubbing his name on the same ground where other players walk and spit.

Think people are now taking this anti Riz thing to another level.

Reminder: There is a thread on Rizwan and Mosque in TPS where you can vent your hate on him as much as your conscience allows.

Toss, Post-match presentation, Pre-Post Match interviews / press conferences are only about how team played, how was the wicket, what was the game plan during the game, what was going in your mind, how you handled the pressure, team selection etc. Better to stick to these topics and build your response accurately whether you are speaking in Eng or in your native language. You can post whatever you like on twitter/FB or share your thoughts whenever you meet people on personal level. When we work in offices our discussion is mainly related to official work only or little bit about personal life if you have good relationship with some of your collogues

Think people are now taking this anti Riz thing to another level.

Reminder: There is a thread on Rizwan and Mosque in TPS where you can vent your hate on him as much as your conscience allows.

naw MiG.
I don't think anyone is "hating" Rizwan as a person. No one is taking a personal hit on him OR his religion or his faith.

It's mostly about a certain form of his conduct at very specific occasions, that some people don't agree with.

Not all of us have to jump on the Rizwan bandwagon and start shouting religious slogans at the top of our lungs.