[VIDEO]"Our belief is that if you work hard then Allah makes things easier for you": Mohammad Rizwan

Am I the only one who has noticed that Rizwan has changed the name on his shirt from Rizwan to Mohammad? I do wonder why.

I 100% agree. Religion is personal, no need to advertise one's belief.

Rizwan is a master showman and this act of changing his name is a part of that showmanship. Apart from this, his other gimmickry involves making no eye contact with female TV presenters but finding no issues in training and chatting with Sarah Taylor off camera. This is next level hypocrisy and self-righteousness!

Just a question. I know he comes across different, but the ones who have a problem with pakistani players’ overt display of Islam, do the same people have an issue with Khabib?

He has his signature gesture of of pointing upwards to Allah and always says Alhamdulillah and takes great pride in being a Muslim too?

Is that a problem for the same people? Or do they just have a problem with Pakistanis doing it?

The only difference I would say is that Khabib does get technical as well as praising Allah. Rizwan’s speech was a bit awkward but I do think it might be a language thing. What he was probably trying to say when questioned about “how did you guys keep going after almost being knocked out” was to say that “we kept going because we believe in Allah and he can will anything to happen. So we just have to do our best and see what is destined for us”.

Where I think Pakistani players have a problem with their interviews is (not only from a religious perspective but every perspective) is their lack of providing any technical cricketing value to their interviews. Even when interviewed in Urdu so that bit is not even a language thing. And even Misbah - his fans’ proclaimed, master of the English language, used to do the same.

As Shoaib once said stop giving us a match summary and give us some technical analysis.

If we plah against India in the final, Rizwan needs to change his attitude

He is waayyyyy too friendly with them when they are out batting. It helps to relax them and slowly build confidence.

Religion seemingly above everything for him - that's what we/he is put on the earth to do (worship), who cares whether he references it or not?

You've got a day an age where literally anything goes (LGBTQ+) and is defended and protected, so if he is not hurting anyone, who gives a toss.

Pray that Rizwan fails in the finals and Pak loses. We will see whose prayers work.

https://www.espncricinfo.com/video/...are-hoping-india-make-it-to-the-final-1344170

See from 8:20 onwards. I guess speaking in his language, perhaps allows him to be a bit more articulate

Clearly states that Allah is not just for our team but for all teams.

Always helps if one isnt prejudiced and has pre conceived notions. It is fine to have a rivalry but when it gets to a point where one tries to find faults in every tiny little thing because they are your rivals that doesnt bother the rivals but speaks volumes of your character my friend :)

@colourblindgenius

Guess our assumptions of what he meant by our is further clarified here in this video.

Surely he didnt just go in the dressing room connected to the internet and see what the world is saying and then recorrected his statement at the next interview opportunity. (mobile phones are not allowed by the way in dressing rooms - just in case anyone entertains that sort of an idea haha)

I am also a Muslim. My problem is with people who advertise their religion instead of keeping it personal.

You should notice that I have no issue with Adil Rashid even though he also has a beard. In my opinion, he is the perfect role-model. Religious man but keeps it to himself.

Why should he not? If he is Muslim and proud. Why should we be quiet about it?

Other religions can show how proud they are and no one has issues. But us ‘Muslims’ want to keep quiet about it. He said nothing wrong but the fact that he believes in his lord and with hard work the rest is upto the lord.

Nothing wrong with it

Why should he not? If he is Muslim and proud. Why should we be quiet about it?

Other religions can show how proud they are and no one has issues. But us ‘Muslims’ want to keep quiet about it. He said nothing wrong but the fact that he believes in his lord and with hard work the rest is upto the lord.

Nothing wrong with it

A post-match interview isn't the place to conduct a rehearsed sermon. It's completely disingenuous and is alienating cricket fans everywhere

Rizwan is a religious man, so he will mention Islam in his speeches. Deal with it. Whether he is doing it for the camera or its genuine is not for us to decide.

I will bet my life that none of you would raise a ruckus if an LGBTQ player did something similar.

Rizwan is a religious man, so he will mention Islam in his speeches. Deal with it. Whether he is doing it for the camera or its genuine is not for us to decide.

I will bet my life that none of you would raise a ruckus if an LGBTQ player did something similar.
Erm, sure. Might as wel start wearing Tableeghii Jamat shirts for camera. In association with Tariq Jamil

All power to Rizwan for expressing his love for his religion.

Those not interested in it, can move on and ignore him. For others like myself, I find his views inspiring in many ways. To each their own.

Though a few here seem to be doubting his sincerity, to me it seems that his faith is central to his life and clearly inspires and moves him greatly.

To those suggesting he should keep his faith to himself and out of the public view, this in one way misses the point. For many believers, life is not reduced to neat and separate compartments, nor easily dichotomised between the profane and the spiritual.

As that great scholar of religion, Wilfred Cantwell Smith, once wrote:"Islam is not the meaning that the Islamic symbols have for a Muslim; rather, it is the meaning that life and the universe have, in the light of those symbols."

Understand this and you understand that "the Islamic has not been a particular way of being religious, but rather a particular way of being human."

Erm, sure. Might as wel start wearing Tableeghii Jamat shirts for camera. In association with Tariq Jamil

Sure, why not? As long as it doesn't affect the playing performance, I don't care if our team starts beheading people in between overs.

Sure, but why do Pak players thank Allah and say Bismillah after a victory in a post match interview, but not after a loss? Surley a loss also comes under a universal thought?

Do you watch boxing If so can't you remember when Princess Naseem used to say Allahu Akbar and he isn't from Pakistan.

If Pakistanis don't see a problem with what Rizwan said then there's a bigger problem for Pakistanis more than anyone else. To invoke religious comparison on winning is fine but pakistan looses more than it wins, what about those times when you loose? I am sure Pakistanis don't believe that when they lost to India and Zimbos it was because of religion. And what about the political and the economic situation , i am sure the country could get some help with divine intervention in there as well. It's perfectly fine to thank God (all humble people should actually do that as so many times things happen when you don't expect), Kohli did it in asia cup when he said 'aap jitna bhi haath paav maar lo, deta upar waala hai jab usse dena hota hai'. There's a difference between being religious and flaunting religion just because u won on a particular day.

You have to give 100% you can't just sit behind a screen and expect results to happen .

naw MiG.
I don't think anyone is "hating" Rizwan as a person. No one is taking a personal hit on him OR his religion or his faith.

It's mostly about a certain form of his conduct at very specific occasions, that some people don't agree with.

Not all of us have to jump on the Rizwan bandwagon and start shouting religious slogans at the top of our lungs.

I think one issue that has left a sour taste in quite lot of fans mouth is remembering when the likes of Salman Butt used to do sajda. Not suggesting for one minute that Riz is like that but these things have made us all wary.

Though a few here seem to be doubting his sincerity, to me it seems that his faith is central to his life and clearly inspires and moves him greatly.

To those suggesting he should keep his faith to himself and out of the public view, this in one way misses the point. For many believers, life is not reduced to neat and separate compartments, nor easily dichotomised between the profane and the spiritual.

As that great scholar of religion, Wilfred Cantwell Smith, once wrote:"Islam is not the meaning that the Islamic symbols have for a Muslim; rather, it is the meaning that life and the universe have, in the light of those symbols."

Understand this and you understand that "the Islamic has not been a particular way of being religious, but rather a particular way of being human."

This is an amazing post and I thank you for summarizing so succinctly something that many have been trying to say for a while.

Ok this could hurt some feelings on the issue but here goes from Babar's presser when asked by a reporter:

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 50%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/ddfypz" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Ok this could hurt some feelings on the issue but here goes from Babar's presser when asked by a reporter:

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 50%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/ddfypz" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Perfect answer in Urdu

Thank God he didn’t say “our belief is different” like Rizwan did

Perfect answer in Urdu

Thank God he didn’t say “our belief is different” like Rizwan did

Really?

He said we believe in ... isn't that the same as saying its not the same belief as other?

but note the question that was asked - was trying to say why is Pakistan bringing in religion to it.

Really?

He said we believe in ... isn't that the same as saying its not the same belief as other?

but note the question that was asked - was trying to say why is Pakistan bringing in religion to it.

If you want to disagree with those who could see the response from Rizwan was questionable, go ahead. I can’t stop you from defending what you think is right. Religion is a delicate matter

For upteenth time Rizwan did not say we won because our belief is different ,he implied we were beliveing differently to others and had faith we will win.

The problem here is that the pakistani players are not the best speakers or very articulate whether its in english or urdu

They arent also very media savvy and careful as to what they say and dont realise that things need to be clear or avoided so not to be controversial as a lot of times it doesnt comes across well

This is where media training and a media manager is important to answer certain questions

Take babar for example in the snippet above he praises allah swt and says thats their believe and gives thanks for their success and that allah swt is helping them And thay they do work hard too

Maybe someone more media savvy wouldve downplayed the controversial headline snippets the reporter is eagerly looking for

Maybe he couldve said yes they give their thanks to allah swt for their succcess but emphasised more on the fact that theyve not won anything yet so need to get ahead of ourselves and emphasised even more the fact that without hard work nothing is guaranteed

Its important as a public speaker babar comes across well and relays the right message of the link between hard work and success

Its True Pakistan cricketers and even Pakistani nation do not know how to speak diplomatically, they often say what ever they feel in their heart, but I am all for Pakistani players being vocal about their faith in almighty and belief that everything they achieve is with his blessings. This is more inportant now than ever, with all kind of immoral stuff being forced into society and loudly communicated too, so why should muslims shy away from portraying their beliefs in whatever platform attract mass audience. Looking forward to another Rizwan speech of humbleness and gratitude for the almighty creator after lifting the trophy if he so desires.

Really?

He implied Muslims have their own belief systems something supernatural..

I am proud of Rizwan for being a very good muslim and no he was not disrespecting any other religion. The GOAT wicket-keeper batsman is not only a soild cricketer, but it seems that he is also a great human being.

Do you guys know how many MOTM awards Rizwan has won in the last two years including PSL? Close to 20 I guess?

I think one issue that has left a sour taste in quite lot of fans mouth is remembering when the likes of Salman Butt used to do sajda. Not suggesting for one minute that Riz is like that but these things have made us all wary.

It's a good point you make here. I'm a fan of Shadab and see him as future captaincy material in white ball cricket. However, I remember him doing sajda before the scandal that happened where he was accused of blackmail by that woman in Dubai.

Another example is Muhammad Amir doing sajda during the spot fixing series.

If every player in the team is carrying out this act and we have more revelations of scandals going on, there'll come a time when Pakistani players of the past, present and future will all end up losing credibility for wearing their religion up their sleeves.

There's nothing worse than hypocrisy in our faith and eventually most cricket fans will see that these players are showing off their religiosity merely to seek approval from others.

Our Maalishya (masseur) praying for Pakistan - he is Christian.

That's why you never bring religion into sports. It is two separate aspects.

What happened today?

We lost a cricket match against a very strong English team. Your guys don't even show up. Just like you don't show up.
Where is the bump of Haris Rauf's thread to say you were wrong all along and he has become a terrefic T20 bowler?

What happened today?

Nothing....as Rizwan said they try their best and leave the results to Allah, there's no guarantee of success.

It wasn't meant to be today....thank Allah for the opportunity, move on and keep working harder, that's the Islamic principle

Nothing....as Rizwan said they try their best and leave the results to Allah, there's no guarantee of success.

It wasn't meant to be today....thank Allah for the opportunity, move on and keep working harder, that's the Islamic principle
+1
Allah swt has different plans for you, maybe this loss will help bring improvement in Paksitan team.

What happened today?

You claim to be muslim and yet do not know Allah tallah just does not make all momins win everything, otherwise Muslims would never lise any battles.
Just because results do not go in your favour does not mean you lose faith or stop praising and thanking almighty.

Belief not defeated men failed in the field.

That is why giving credit to God does not make sense to begin with. God does not watch cricket matches.

Pak does not have the team to challenge England. They still did well in the tournament in-spite of poor batting lineup. Not one batsman in Pak lineup puts fear in the opposition. Almost all of them are accumulators.

Why pray then. If god is going to do what he is going to do. What’s the point of praying. Anyway good tournament and I am satisfied with Pakistan. England is just another level

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Muhammad Rizwan previously had Rizwan on the back of his shirt. He now has Muhammad on the back of his shirt. <br><br>His reason is that he wanted his identity to be the Prophet Muhammad in every aspect. He prefers to be called by the name of the Prophet <a href="https://t.co/4eGE112RJB">pic.twitter.com/4eGE112RJB</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1599838771318468609?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 5, 2022</a></blockquote>

He dives around the ground in dirt & mud & he has the Prophet’s name on his back. What sort of respect is this? He will go to any lengths for his PR.

He is the same Rizwan who refused to look at a female TV presenter who was interviewing her but was happily chatting with the England women wicket-keeper behind cameras.

His form has gone downhill ever since he start overselling his religious persona. He deserves it.

I've no problem with those who hold religious beliefs but Rizwan's OTT displays of public piety are beyond anything we saw even during the Inzamam era.

He's lucky that Pakistan have continued their long history of producing the worst wicket-keeper batsmen in the history of the sport otherwise on current form he would struggle to make most first teams in international cricket.

He dives around the ground in dirt & mud & he has the Prophet’s name on his back. What sort of respect is this? He will go to any lengths for his PR.

He is the same Rizwan who refused to look at a female TV presenter who was interviewing her but was happily chatting with the England women wicket-keeper behind cameras.

His form has gone downhill ever since he start overselling his religious persona. He deserves it.

Totally bizarre tbh

Once again another player I've been saying for years is a fraud. Get a new WK in all formats and we will be infinitely better off.

Sarfraz is a better keeper better Test batsman and more astute than this preacher but the lobby at PCB strikes again

Rizwan sat with the ball boys in Multan shortly after the defeat to England.

20221212_201054.jpg

Funny how Rizwan’s career has tanked after this statement while Sarfraz has risen from the dead.

The actual statement that I recon was the one where he invoked 'Zillat' on those criticising the captain for playing selfishly.

Indeed, Allah is the best of planners. Only He knows how He will operate, we humans have no say in this whatsoever!

The actual statement that I recon was the one where he invoked 'Zillat' on those criticising the captain for playing selfishly.

Indeed, Allah is the best of planners. Only He knows how He will operate, we humans have no say in this whatsoever!

Rizwan had the world at his feet. He had firmly established himself as the main WK in all formats & was loved & supported by everyone.

Instead of keeping his head down & staying grounded, he chose the path of destruction - he became arrogant & decided to sell his fake piety persona for PR.

A proper dramaybaaz through & through. Can’t wait to see him lose his ODI & T20I spot to Haris this year. InshAllah it will happen.

Rizwan had the world at his feet. He had firmly established himself as the main WK in all formats & was loved & supported by everyone.

Instead of keeping his head down & staying grounded, he chose the path of destruction - he became arrogant & decided to sell his fake piety persona for PR.

A proper dramaybaaz through & through. Can’t wait to see him lose his ODI & T20I spot to Haris this year. InshAllah it will happen.

The same ALLAH swt that gave him izzat once will give that Izzat again.

It looks like Sarfraz is getting back the old izzat.

Sad for Rizwan, that's what happens when you lose your focus and try to be something you are not.

Rizwan has problem batting at 4 and 5 not sure how he will go . Hope for best .

Well said. We can fully respect Sarfaraz’s incredible performance without needing to disrespect Rizwan. I actually think inshAllah they can both play in the test team, because they both have immense character.

For now He is giving him zillat which is what he deserves for his arrogance. He needed this reality-check & now it is up to him to perceive it how he wants.

Geez do u even know what zillat means.

He has actually been missed. As a matter of fact Pakistan would have won the test series against NZ if a safehouse Rizwan was keeping wickets.

Geez do u even know what zillat means.

He has actually been missed. As a matter of fact Pakistan would have won the test series against NZ if a safehouse Rizwan was keeping wickets.

Pakistan would likely have lost with his single digit or low double scores. He was booted out for a reason and that despite his strong backing.

Theres no harm or disgrace in being dropped Every player at some point has been

Its a reality check and i hope he comes back harder and better than before