[VIDEOS] Bring back Imad Wasim!

gazza619

Please eat your ego, please for team’s sake bring back Imad Wasim.

He is 34 years old UK born, meaning he is aged 29 by Pakistani standards. He is class. He has presence. He is a tactician. He has attitude. He is your white ball captain. Enough of this Nawaz experiment who bats like a tail ender.

I urge the think tank to bring back our genuine allrounder Imad Wasim (Captain).
b47d886096053c2d54d15d025b4f0323.jpg
9d7869f7d6120be87255ef8ee02df79a.jpg

He doesn't want to play under the current regime.

We need batters!!!

Imad is a quality bowler as well.

You have a problem with haris fitness but fine with Imad. I see no hypocrisy. Haris with 45 batting average is a poor bat and Imad with part time like bowling stats is a quality bowler. No hypocrisy again.

We need batters!!!

Imad is a quality bowler as well.

I agree. If agha is able to bowl better like today then maybe we can go with Imad.
Thing with Imad is- he needs time as well to get into his innings too.

Imad Wasim was always right

“Agar woh hamari team combination main nahi aata, tou nahi aata”

He paid the price of being an honest captain

Allah is the best of planners. Rizwan being out greatest Pakistan wk and Imad crying when even he gets an opportunity. Truly Allah is the best of planners all in space of 2 years.

Why was Imad dropped in the first place? He is a handy LOI player. Proper modern day LOI player (can bat and bowl).

Imad, Shadab, and Nawaz should be the 3 spinners in World Cup next year.

The guy was an automatic pick in both limited overs formats, never understood why he was discarded just like that

Any questions for Imad?

As I might be speaking with him soon.

Any questions for Imad?

Do you regret not picking Mohammad Rizwan in the season you won the PSL as captain

Please ask him this question

Has Imad ever bowled in death overs in both T20s or ODIs like Nawaz?? Not sure if he can perform in death overs.

Any questions for Imad?

Why can't he improve his fielding? The team is forced to hide him in the field and in this day and age, it is a big disadvantage if you have a poor fielder in the team. That is probably one of the things that goes against him as Nawaz is significantly better than him in the field.

Of course you would have to word it in a politer manner!

There was a reason he was dropped in the first place! I just dont understand this mentality with recycling TTFs. Bring in new players!

Any questions for Imad?

Please ask him how does he feel of having a regime of his own in white ball as captain? He is our only choice really along with Rizwan who are the only natural leaders.

He's the best tactician they have in the country. Unfortunate he doesn't gel with the guys in the dressing room or with the management.

Any questions for Imad?

One of the knocks on him is that he’s exclusively become a power play bowler in t20s. Given that Pakistan now have a battery of quicks that bowl in the PP, why don’t we see Imad bowl more outside the PP to show that he can be effective there too?

He was a smart cricketer but seemed to zone out towards the end.

I rated him but he seemed underrated by many here because he didnt turn the ball.

A few years ago he seemed odds on to to be t20 captain imo.

I think with a combination of age and ability he probably wouldn't have been much use for the T20 wc in Aus but even then perhaps he should at least been in the squad over Qadir.

He could be useful in the upcoming Asia cup and world cup though.

He was a smart cricketer but seemed to zone out towards the end.

I rated him but he seemed underrated by many here because he didnt turn the ball.

A few years ago he seemed odds on to to be t20 captain imo.

I think with a combination of age and ability he probably wouldn't have been much use for the T20 wc in Aus but even then perhaps he should at least been in the squad over Qadir.

He could be useful in the upcoming Asia cup and world cup though.

I mean like i said he is still only 29 by Pakistan’s age fudging freaking standards. He still has 6 solid years left in him. He is useful in white ball in all conditions. Above all he is a highly intelligent and street smart cricketer.

Message to Najam Sethi: He can speak English as well.

Always maintained he should have been captain after Sarf. If he was we'd be double T20 WC and Asia cup champions just now.

Babar doesn't like anyone smarter than him in the team That's why the team is full of friends and yes sir boys

Any questions for Imad?

Question 1: Why doesn't he want to play under Babar Azam

Question 2: Why does he feel that he has fallen out of favour by the selectors

Imad , Nawaz and Shadab , all three should play at 6 . 7 . 8 followed by 3 fast bowlers.

After the resurgence of Salman Agha, Nawaz has no place I am afraid.

The 3 spots should go to Salman, Imad & Shadab respectively.

An interesting chat.

Watch this space for the interview folks.

There was a reason he was dropped in the first place! I just dont understand this mentality with recycling TTFs. Bring in new players!

He was not a TTF, he was a good performer. Good with the ball and handy with the bat. I think his role was useful to Pakistan. He performed better under pressure then Nawaz. His batting was much better.

Removing Babar as a captain shouldnt be done inmediately i think it wont make any good impact in the team. Same happened with india.who are stuck with rohit rahul after removing virat from all formats altogether.
Give t20i captaincy to shadab or shaheen and groom them.
And give odi caotaincy to them after the wc and give time to prepare a team for champions trophy 25 and wc 24.
On imad i think he deserves to be a part of the squad and if he himself is unwilling to play then idk what to say because at the end if he is playing he is playing for the countey and not babar or saqlain.
Nawaz batting is something i ll never trust and i wont even trust his bowling in crunch moments. This is one area where imad excels. Still rmr him playing that scoop/ramp to.ilyas to.tie the match with multan so he is a street smart character a bit like agha and sarfraz
I think agha and him both should be in the team with shadab
The biggest appointment that we meed to make is of a pitch reader. I swear we are so far behind in this department and our captain as well as coach have no idea how the pitvh is going to behave. If we can get that right our combination will get right automatically. Many times i ve seen us lacking spin options on.spinning pitch. And on top of that we need these street smart characters who have a knowledge kf rules of the game.who study the game so that we can get advantage at times. Like rizwan was wasting time in that world cup match where there was a chance of rain before comletion of 5 overs. We need to be smart about tactics because sometimes they can win u some krunch matches.

An interesting chat.

I saw a snippet of the interview on your Twitter

I completely agree with what he said. He is 100% correct

I agree with Akmal on one thing , most of the selection in Pakistan team is based upon personal liking or disliking by the captain or the selectors and not keeping in mind the best interest of the team. Recent selection of players like Faheem, Hasan Ali and Harris Sohail is a proof of that .

Imad , a world class performer in WBC and a very experienced one , who should have been the national captain at least in one format has been out solely due to the personal ego of Babar and Mohd Waseem.

Can the management , just for 10 months or so, till the world cup, select the players on merit and leave their ego and personal liking/disliking behind, for the sake of the team.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Imad Wasim "As a captain honesty is the best thing, you have to take harsh decisions and put friendships aside" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvNZ?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvNZ</a> <a href="https://t.co/aEF5XJ011a">pic.twitter.com/aEF5XJ011a</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1614229938487296000?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 14, 2023</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Imad Wasim "the mindset has to change or Pakistan will not be amongst the best teams" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/I67gX5Gv86">pic.twitter.com/I67gX5Gv86</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1614235453347205120?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 14, 2023</a></blockquote>

^he is a champion guy and needs to be convinced to comeback. I will willing to support the Sethi/Afridi regime if they bring Imad back in the fold.

Imad has no place in the ODIs but he can be a great asset in T20

How does he have no place? Care to explain?

Imad has a place as a captain alone, let alone Bowler or all-rounder

An interesting chat.

Saj's interview with Imad

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/G509FSNjDbo" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture; web-share" allowfullscreen></iframe>​

No doubt he will get a recall but in reality the boat has sailed.

Lol

The boat has sailed whilst he is still one of the best T20 franchise players in the world?

PSL will tell you who’s boat has sailed and who’s hasn’t

Lol

The boat has sailed whilst he is still one of the best T20 franchise players in the world?

PSL will tell you who’s boat has sailed and who’s hasn’t

Would he have a made difference to our current results- no. You have had 2 different selectors and selection committees and still no recall. He isnt any better or worse that Nawaz- both dont turn the ball and offer little in the middle overs on flat wickets.

How does he have no place? Care to explain?

Imad has a place as a captain alone, let alone Bowler or all-rounder

Nawaz is a better ODI bowler, and Shadab's batting has improved a lot for him to bat at 7. There is no spot for him. Nawaz and Shadab have done nothing wrong to be dropped.

Who asked for them to be dropped? Who asked for Agha to be dropped?

Nawaz has played 10 matches and taken 20 wickets with an average of 20.85. I don't see a spot for a defensive bowler like Imad in the ODI team. People need to accept the bitter reality.

Ok, let’s phrase the question like this:

(This is only for t20s) Do you prefer Shaheen/Naseem/Haris/Aamir to bowl in the PP overs or do you prefer Imad?

Because that’s where Imad bowls now mostly.

Ok, let’s phrase the question like this:

(This is only for t20s) Do you prefer Shaheen/Naseem/Haris/Aamir to bowl in the PP overs or do you prefer Imad?

Because that’s where Imad bowls now mostly.

Im not too sure.

What I am sure about is, I would prefer Imad to lead the side instead of Shadab, Rizwan, Shan or any other pretender that is being considered.

Where does he play? 7 bowlers in the playing 11?

Top 3 is sealed, WK will be Sarfraz or Rizwan in the WC. There is two spots in top 6, one will be occupied by batting AR like Salman Agha/Iftikhar/Khusdhil and other spot by a middle order batsman(Haris/Kamran/Tayyab/Shan).

There is no spot for him

Where does he play? 7 bowlers in the playing 11?

Top 3 is sealed, WK will be Sarfraz or Rizwan in the WC. There is two spots in top 6, one will be occupied by batting AR like Salman Agha/Iftikhar/Khusdhil and other spot by a middle order batsman(Haris/Kamran/Tayyab/Shan).

There is no spot for him

Firstly, I dont think top 3 is sealed considering what happened yesterday. Thats just my feeling, not my opinion on the matter.

Secondly, I think him and Agha should be 6/7, and Nawaz can play as a top order batsman (if it were up to me) but its not really up to me.

Also, Shadab needs to start playing cricket for Pakistan again because I have actually forgotten what he offers to the ODI side as a bowler/batter and where he fits in currently. There is a lot of confusion at the moment.

Only Babar and Shaheen look like they have 2/15 places confirmed. Anything can happen in the next few months

Im not too sure.

What I am sure about is, I would prefer Imad to lead the side instead of Shadab, Rizwan, Shan or any other pretender that is being considered.

He can’t lead the side if he can’t contribute in a playing sense.

It’s the same reason why Imran Khan isn’t captain of the current Pakistan white ball team.

Firstly, I dont think top 3 is sealed considering what happened yesterday. Thats just my feeling, not my opinion on the matter.

Secondly, I think him and Agha should be 6/7, and Nawaz can play as a top order batsman (if it were up to me) but its not really up to me.

Also, Shadab needs to start playing cricket for Pakistan again because I have actually forgotten what he offers to the ODI side as a bowler/batter and where he fits in currently. There is a lot of confusion at the moment.

Only Babar and Shaheen look like they have 2/15 places confirmed. Anything can happen in the next few months

Shadab has played two brilliant innings in last 3 innings he has batted in the ODIs. What are you on about?. We have no alternative quality wrist spinners in Pakistan. There is no confusion about Shadab

He can’t lead the side if he can’t contribute in a playing sense.

It’s the same reason why Imran Khan isn’t captain of the current Pakistan white ball team.

Oh so he cant play cricket anymore? is that what you are saying?

Shadab has played two brilliant innings in last 3 innings he has batted in the ODIs. What are you on about?. We have no alternative quality wrist spinners in Pakistan. There is no confusion about Shadab

when was that btw? When Khusdhil Shah was representing Pakistan and doing alright for them too?

He disappears in knockout games. Doesn't want to play Tests. Basically another greedy Tiktok cricketer.

Oh so he cant play cricket anymore? is that what you are saying?

I’m saying that he does not make it into your best playing 11.

Not in T20s, where he can’t bowl in the PP, because that’s the one thing Pakistan have been incredible at

And Not in ODIs, where he’s a defensive bowler who’ll restrict runs, but won’t take many wickets (Vs a Nawaz who can actually spin the ball).

I’m saying that he does not make it into your best playing 11.

Not in T20s, where he can’t bowl in the PP, because that’s the one thing Pakistan have been incredible at

And Not in ODIs, where he’s a defensive bowler who’ll restrict runs, but won’t take many wickets (Vs a Nawaz who can actually spin the ball).

Chal bhai PSL aa raha hai

Doodh ka doodh, paani ka paani ho jaye ga

when was that btw? When Khusdhil Shah was representing Pakistan and doing alright for them too?

you can always search on google.

Imad Wasim's stats since 2017, he has taken 25 wickets in 41 matches, with an average of 58.68 and SR 70.2. He simply can't take wickets in ODIs. Not good enough

Chal bhai PSL aa raha hai

Doodh ka doodh, paani ka paani ho jaye ga

You still haven’t answered the question though. In both World T20s, it was Pakistan’s new ball attack that was a bright spark for the team. Add a returning Aamir to that, what the heck’s the PSL going to prove to anybody? That Imad doesn’t like to bowl outside the PP?

He disappears in knockout games. Doesn't want to play Tests. Basically another greedy Tiktok cricketer.

Didn't he take 4 wickets in the 2021 semi final? It wasn't his fault that Haris, Shaheen and Hasan Ali messed it up at the end.

Whatever it is. There is no better option than him

You still haven’t answered the question though. In both World T20s, it was Pakistan’s new ball attack that was a bright spark for the team. Add a returning Aamir to that, what the heck’s the PSL going to prove to anybody? That Imad doesn’t like to bowl outside the PP?

We will see my friend. I dont have theories.

Imad has to improve his batting and bat in middle order for him to have a place in odi side. You cant have imad bowling ten overs because he ll probably give u half a wkt per match

Saj's interview with Imad

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/G509FSNjDbo" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture; web-share" allowfullscreen></iframe>​

For those who have missed it - Imad interview has happened and link is above.

Anyone who wants Imad Wasim back has no cricketing brain! Move on from this TTF.

He’s a ‘spinner’ who can’t turn the bowl and don’t get me started on his batting. He’s a glorified tailender at best.

We need to get out of the habit of picking bits and pieces cricketers (Imad, Faheem, Shadab to an extent, Nawaz) and picking specialist batsman/bowlers. Calling these guys allrounders is an insult to the word.

Would you really use the all rounder tag that’s used for Stokes/Kallis etc. with Imad Wasim?????

Thanks, but no thanks!

His bowling in odi has been poor but with the bat he averages
40 vs australia
55 vs england
71 vs india
113 vs south africa

Average of 46 home and 49 away

2019 average of 47 before he was dropped
2018 average of 50

He could be a good lower/middle order batsmen we need

Anyone who wants Imad Wasim back has no cricketing brain! Move on from this TTF.

He’s a ‘spinner’ who can’t turn the bowl and don’t get me started on his batting. He’s a glorified tailender at best.

We need to get out of the habit of picking bits and pieces cricketers (Imad, Faheem, Shadab to an extent, Nawaz) and picking specialist batsman/bowlers. Calling these guys allrounders is an insult to the word.

Would you really use the all rounder tag that’s used for Stokes/Kallis etc. with Imad Wasim?????

Thanks, but no thanks!

He can be played as a batsmen alone

Thanks, but no thanks!
Excellent post about the fake superstar Imad. Though I disagree about Shadab he gets into the team with bowling alone.

Imad wasim is what you call a reillu katta in cricketing terms

Nice guy and good look to him for the future

Averaged 34 with the ball
Averaged 15 with the bat for galle gladiators in this seasons lanka Premier league .

so far in Bangladesh premier league in 4 matches averaging 22 picked 4 wickets in 4 matches .

I think he has found his level playing in b league versions of t20 franchises .

Like bewal said the boat has sailed on his intl career .

He will bring nothing to the table in the national team and even if he was picked again he is only good enough for t20s so don't understand the clamour raised by the op to have him play 50 overs.

Thanks, but no thanks!

Excellent post about the fake superstar Imad. Though I disagree about Shadab he gets into the team with bowling alone.

Imad wasim is what you call a reillu katta in cricketing terms

Nice guy and good look to him for the future

Averaged 34 with the ball
Averaged 15 with the bat for galle gladiators in this seasons lanka Premier league .

so far in Bangladesh premier league in 4 matches averaging 22 picked 4 wickets in 4 matches .

I think he has found his level playing in b league versions of t20 franchises .

Like bewal said the boat has sailed on his intl career .

He will bring nothing to the table in the national team and even if he was picked again he is only good enough for t20s so don't understand the clamour raised by the op to have him play 50 overs.

ODIs:
Bowling economy 4.88
Batting average 43 (strike rate 111)

T20Is:
Bowling economy 6.33
Batting strike rate 144

Captaincy:
Won PSL

Care to explain why the above stats do not fit your agenda.

ODIs:
Bowling economy 4.88
Batting average 43 (strike rate 111)

T20Is:
Bowling economy 6.33
Batting strike rate 144

Captaincy:
Won PSL

Care to explain why the above stats do not fit your agenda.

[MENTION=154687]PakEngFan[/MENTION] is still sore at Imad winning the PSL after making an example of his favourite player

Imad’s decision will forever be written in gold in the annals of history.

Imad speaks well and I don't mind him as a squad player.

However his ODI bowling is simply not penetrative enough - he averages 60.61 against ENG, AUS, NZL and IND. I don't see the injustice supposedly done to him.

No he can’t there a million batsmens which are better than him. His average is massively inflated with not outs. Can’t remember him ever winning a match with his batting.

He saved Pakistan from a big embarrassment in WC19 against Afghanistan in a high voltage encounter. I am surprised you forgot that.

Though he should or shouldn’t be in final 11 NOW, is debatable. Nawaz is better bowler IMO and he doesn’t make in team for his batting alone.