[VIDEOS] "I will leave no stone unturned in making myself worthy of national selection" : Azam Khan

Pakistani Logic

51 off 40 for the crazy power hitter Azam Khan, what an innings, solves lower order hitting problem.

51 off 40 for the anchor Muhammad Rizwan, is selfish and has no place in the team.

Honestly, at this point it's just laughable.

Who said that?

Why are you so paranoid about Azam Khan?

Now that you bring it up…did he score 51 off 41 as an opener or a middle order batsman?

Pakistani Logic

51 off 40 for the crazy power hitter Azam Khan, what an innings, solves lower order hitting problem.

51 off 40 for the anchor Muhammad Rizwan, is selfish and has no place in the team.

Honestly, at this point it's just laughable.

Did you look at the strike rates of the other leading batter in the CPL

If this guy was fitter and a bit more consistent, he would be a dead cert for the T20 World Cup.

However, he's lacking in both areas and until he addresses those issues the selectors will be reluctant to pick him.

Ultimately his s/r is still the issue. You’re seeing 50 odd off 40 balls, but he started slowly again, and struggles to get pace bowlers away consistently.

And yes, his fitness remains a concern. He was in better shape two PSLs ago and was trending in the right direction, but seems to have regressed. Given that he’s removed himself from the domestics, he’s clearly not that invested in playing for Pakistan.

Strike rates should be looked at in context. These were slow low wickets where some teams struggled to even get a 120 on the board. And his team won those last few games thanks in part to his scores.

He wouldn't have done anything in Australia. His inability to run would have resulted in less strike rotation and would be giving opposition easy 2s, 3s, and maybe even 4s through his fielding.

The guy was in form, but they took the constant failure hadier ali and m. haris who has done nothing of note recently.

Absolute shambles.

Real problem is because of knee jerk reactions, Azam could end up ODIS as we go to the World Cup

Wrong format for him.

He would have played Sikander more confidently that's for sure but I am not convinced he is a match finisher

I will leave no stone unturned in making myself worthy of national selection" : Azam Khan

I hope he has to turn and twist and lift and move A LOT of stones and very heavy stones, including some small size boulders, in hopes to get the work out and lose some weight - at least 50 pounds.

Azam khan is not serious if he was serious he would have worked on his weight and fitness. He knows he can't be the wicketkeeper for paksitan so where he is going to field?

In the canteen.

Seriously, the boy needs to lose weight - if not for his career, his long term health.

Because hes overweight and hardly plays any of the longer format?

Does he have the game or fitness to run 2s and 3s and bat and field for 3-4 hours

If he's in the odi squad it will be as a finisher however he does need to improve his fitness alot.

Someone has convinced Azam that if he loses body fat, weight, it will affect his strength and ability to hit big sixes.

There was a live on air spat between Siqander Bakht and Moin Khan in the Geo Super program, where Siqander criticized the PCB for giving NOC to Azam Khan for the CPL in the middle of the National T-20 Cup and Moin got angry and responded in kind i.e. CPL standard and quality is way better than Pakistani domestic cricket, Azam is a deserving kid e.t.c.

Someone has convinced Azam that if he loses body fat, weight, it will affect his strength and ability to hit big sixes.

There was a live on air spat between Siqander Bakht and Moin Khan in the Geo Super program, where Siqander criticized the PCB for giving NOC to Azam Khan for the CPL in the middle of the National T-20 Cup and Moin got angry and responded in kind i.e. CPL standard and quality is way better than Pakistani domestic cricket, Azam is a deserving kid e.t.c.

I don't think so.

It's the EXTREME LACK of "self discipline" that is part of our general culture and our social set up.

Just do the bare minimum and thump your chest for having some little success in a single and limited part of the overall skill.

You can hit a few big hits? - OK so now - everything else goes out of the window. And you start comparing your loath of flab with Inzimam's weight at his retirement age, to come up with the argument that if Inzi and Rohit can reach such heights with extra weight, then what's wrong with me, TOTALLY forgetting to see to back and look at the physical shape and appearance of Inzi and Rohit when they debuted?

And this lack of "self discipline" is quite evident with any other players - look at the potbelly tummy bags of Haider Ali, Asif Ali and even Baber is starting to have it. Many of our guys need to be treated like a herd of sheep to stay on the track of fitness, otherwise, they will devour biryani and paratha in every mean and skip the drills everytime.

On the other the hand, take for example Kohli. Batting skill wise, Azam Khan is not even in his shoe dust. You may think Kohli would call his greatness as end of the road and just go on carefree mode.

But look at his fitness.

Do you think the coach or the trainer or the captain or the selectors or the fans or the BCCI chairman asks him to stay fit? No! No one needs to tell him anything. He simply doesn't give them a chance to open their mouths on his fitness. This is what you call "self discipline". Our players don't have a concept of this.

lagta hai bhai sahib rocky mountains pr baithay howay hain... pathar khatam hi nhin ho rahay...

Cracking start to T10 for Azam

FiQsJ8RXgAADdIa

Azam Khan has been fined 25 percent of his match fee for breaching Level 1 of the ADT10 Code of Conduct during Match 5 of the Abu Dhabi T10 against The Chennai Braves.

The incident occurred in the 2nd over of New York Strikers’ innings when Khan showed disappointment by slamming his bat into the ground upon missing an opportunity to score a run.

There used to be a time when Test cricket was the aim for young cricketers, the destiny that they wanted to achieve.

These days so many of them seem to be happy to play in a few T20 and T10 leagues around the world, make their money and call it a day.

There used to be a time when Test cricket was the aim for young cricketers, the destiny that they wanted to achieve.

These days so many of them seem to be happy to play in a few T20 and T10 leagues around the world, make their money and call it a day.

He was literally just playing in the FC season. It's ended now so what exactly do you want him to do?

Although not entirely true incase of Azam Khan but even if it was..what is the problem in it?

Many asked questions and shiwed dismay when Mohammad Amir retired from test cricket at an age of 27.
Shadab khan hasn't played a single FC match since england test match at manchester august 2020. He plays truckloads of t20is and almost every league barring IPL. Is it really his knee or is he just preferring t20 leagues over test cricket.

Azam Khan has been fined 25 percent of his match fee for breaching Level 1 of the ADT10 Code of Conduct during Match 5 of the Abu Dhabi T10 against The Chennai Braves.

The incident occurred in the 2nd over of New York Strikers’ innings when Khan showed disappointment by slamming his bat into the ground upon missing an opportunity to score a run.

Lol wth. That’s it? They’re fining for anything these days.

The umpire clown show in this recent t20 WC was a joke. So many blunders- wonder if they’ll have to face any consequences.

Get him into the t20 side and give him a run till the next worldcup in 24. Deserves it on merit.
He has immense power and will be a game changer in the middle order.

He needs to shed a log ov weight and get fit.He needs to go to the gym everyday and also have a proper diet plan.I don’t know how he became obese.Was it due to over eating junk food or is he genetically prone to storing fat.If he gets slimmer and fit then he could play for Pakistan

Needs to have good season with the PSL team

CPL and T10 shouldn't be any criteria. Though him hitting Nortje was very impressive to watch

has worse stats than khusdil and asif at domestic, is severely overweight (and not really interesting in doing anything about it). has already played for Pakistan and looked terrible with the ball and in the field. unless he scores a mountain of runs theres no way he should be near the t20 team.

He needs to shed a log ov weight and get fit.He needs to go to the gym everyday and also have a proper diet plan.I don’t know how he became obese.Was it due to over eating junk food or is he genetically prone to storing fat.If he gets slimmer and fit then he could play for Pakistan

everyone is genetically prone to storing fat, that's what the body is designed to do, you cannot magically create fat, it enteres via your mouth, if he wanted to he could lose 15, 20 kg in six months, but he's getting paid so i dont think he really cares.

Needs to work with a dietician, no excuses comes from a father who played professional cricket. There's no excuse to carry a physique like that at age 24 unless there's an undisclosed medical condition.

The thing is with Azam Khan is that even now he has time to change his outcomes. There is a gaping hole in our middle order which he could fill.

But it's going to take an unbelievable amount of hard work to undo the damage he has done to his body over 24 years. A lot of people would struggle. Azam Khan is sadly not one of the few who could succeed here - he simply doesn't have the required fight in him to become healthy now.

Not that t10 is much of a measure of anything but the kid clearly has talent. Real shame for Pakistan. And Azam Khan will look back on his career with regret for sure.

Although not entirely true incase of Azam Khan but even if it was..what is the problem in it?
The problem I guess is when Azam and his father go around the media and claim on how deserving Azam is to represent Pakistan. The desperation is too cringe considering how awful his batting and fitness is.

Effortless six

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 90.052%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/iqpmwn" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Watched a bit of him today in the T10.

Either I am blind or the foreign leagues that pick him are blind.

Easily one of the worst batter ever to be consistency picked by leagues worldwide.

He scored another 37* with a strike rate of 160+

I think this guy has gone about it the right way and honing his art as a middle order hitter in these franchise league. Much better than playing the Pakistan domestic season to no avail IMO.

He’s becoming a reputable T20 middle order hitter

Pakistan domestic cricket apparently has extremely high standards and the product is underwhelming unfortunately

Azam is better off learning modern batting in these leagues.

Speaking in a presser:

“I’m satisfied with my performance after playing in leagues around the world"

“I’m always eager to play for the national team and it is now up to the selectors to select me. I will try to perform well if I’m selected to play for Pakistan"

“You can’t afford dot balls in T10 cricket which is why I try to focus on every delivery and ensure that I can score as many runs as possible,"

“My father [Moin Khan] is my biggest mentor and I have learned a lot from him. He guides me whenever we watch matches together, which has helped me improve my batting"

Speaking in a presser:

“I’m satisfied with my performance after playing in leagues around the world"

“I’m always eager to play for the national team and it is now up to the selectors to select me. I will try to perform well if I’m selected to play for Pakistan"

“You can’t afford dot balls in T10 cricket which is why I try to focus on every delivery and ensure that I can score as many runs as possible,"

“My father [Moin Khan] is my biggest mentor and I have learned a lot from him. He guides me whenever we watch matches together, which has helped me improve my batting"

Rubbish cricketer who should never put on a Pakistan shirt.

zMX8lbs.png

Azam Khan injured during LPL:

Azam Khan was taken off the ground on stretcher. He underwent scans immediately at a local hospital. Franchise spokesperson has said that Azam’s scans were alright and he is doing fine now.

Nuwan Pradeep's slower ball hit Azam behind the stumps in the 16th over of the Falcons' innings.

Was he hit on the head? Wish him a speedy recovery.

The son of Pakistan legend and current coach Moin Khan has produced an all-time spectacular catch in the Lanka Premier league that left commentators stunned.

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 99.667%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/oqbe4c" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Azam Khan is a big man by wicketkeeper’s standards, but that didn’t stop him moving with the same nimble brilliance that his dad showed behind the stumps in his 69 Tests for Pakistan.

Khan junior has played three Twenty20 Internationals for Pakistan and the 24-year-old came up with a stunning catch for the Galle Gladiators in the LPL that had commentators in awe.

“What a catch that was, wow,” one commentator said.

“For a man of that girth to be able to move that swiftly, most incredible.”

“Son of a very famous wicketkeeper Moin Khan, who is the coach of Pakistan,” another commentator said.

“Acrobatic, not easy. Outstanding catch.”

Khan once weighed in at 140kg, but stripped back to 110kg, after dropping 30kg following criticism he was too unfit to play for Pakistan.

The right-hander has scored 739 runs in 16 first class matches at an average of 28.42 with four 50’s and one 100 and a top score of 103, to go with 34 catches and two stumpings.

https://www.foxsports.com.au/cricke...n/news-story/24089d061f58e20eb3570c50f1d72d5a

The son of Pakistan legend and current coach Moin Khan has produced an all-time spectacular catch in the Lanka Premier league that left commentators stunned.

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 99.667%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/oqbe4c" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Azam Khan is a big man by wicketkeeper’s standards, but that didn’t stop him moving with the same nimble brilliance that his dad showed behind the stumps in his 69 Tests for Pakistan.

Khan junior has played three Twenty20 Internationals for Pakistan and the 24-year-old came up with a stunning catch for the Galle Gladiators in the LPL that had commentators in awe.

“What a catch that was, wow,” one commentator said.

“For a man of that girth to be able to move that swiftly, most incredible.”

“Son of a very famous wicketkeeper Moin Khan, who is the coach of Pakistan,” another commentator said.

“Acrobatic, not easy. Outstanding catch.”

Khan once weighed in at 140kg, but stripped back to 110kg, after dropping 30kg following criticism he was too unfit to play for Pakistan.

The right-hander has scored 739 runs in 16 first class matches at an average of 28.42 with four 50’s and one 100 and a top score of 103, to go with 34 catches and two stumpings.

https://www.foxsports.com.au/cricke...n/news-story/24089d061f58e20eb3570c50f1d72d5a

That was a good, acrobatic catch! Difficult for fat people to move like that. Reminds me of the diving catch Dave Laverock took in the slip off Yuvraj Singh.

Although, is Moin considered a “legend” of Pakistan cricket? I though he was a good player but nothing close to being a legend.

Honestly it's an easy catch. He has made it look spectacular because he was late on it. He was ate on it because he is so fat

Azam Khan 18(12) for Dhaka Dominators vs Khulna Tigers in BPL 2023

Brings up a 33-ball 50 for Khulna Tigers in BPL

Some of the batting and it was very impressive. Hit plenty of clean sixes and gets a much deserved unbeaten century.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Azam Khan today in the Bangladesh Premier League:<br><br>109 Runs <br>58 Balls faced<br>8 Sixes<br>9 Fours<br>187.93 strike-rate<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/BPL?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#BPL</a> <a href="https://t.co/SFGbVmfbPv">pic.twitter.com/SFGbVmfbPv</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1612467067973783555?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 9, 2023</a></blockquote>

Needs to lose weight and get fitter then he can play for Pakistan.Heshould continue to improve his game.

"Technique doesn't matter in cricket; It does matter sometimes for the longer format but if you see some of the players playing these days, you will see they are playing unorthodox shots": Azam Khan after scoring 109* in BPL

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 84.698%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/lxsri2" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Azam Khan today in the Bangladesh Premier League:<br><br>109 Runs <br>58 Balls faced<br>8 Sixes<br>9 Fours<br>187.93 strike-rate<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/BPL?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#BPL</a> <a href="https://t.co/SFGbVmfbPv">pic.twitter.com/SFGbVmfbPv</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1612467067973783555?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 9, 2023</a></blockquote>

What a beautiful player. I would pay top dollar to watch him bat.

Is there a way he can be added to the playing XI for the ODI on Wednesday as a wicket-keeper?

"Technique doesn't matter in cricket; It does matter sometimes for the longer format but if you see some of the players playing these days, you will see they are playing unorthodox shots": Azam Khan after scoring 109* in BPL

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 84.698%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/lxsri2" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Technique doesn't matter in cricket. What an ugly statement. Keep playing your low quality leagues. Even Sharjeel Khan & Ahmed Shehzad score the odd hundred.

Technique doesn't matter in cricket. What an ugly statement by an ugly player. Keep playing your low quality leagues. Even Sharjeel Khan & Ahmed Shehzad score the odd hundred.

Nonsensical. These are the sort of players who think they are entitled. Lose some weight.. how can you be the son of a fit international former star and be obese. This is preposterous.

Why don’t this guy lose weight? His been on the horizon for a couple of years now and I don’t see that his lost any weight? Surely he knows he needs too and he must have aspirations to get in the T20 team atleast and he would be a great addition to hit out against the spinners or does he just want to continue with these leagues

Just saw the highlights. I swear my Sunday club leagues had better bowling attacks.

This guy is the one of the biggest scams out there.

What a beautiful player. I would pay top dollar to watch him bat.

Is there a way he can be added to the playing XI for the ODI on Wednesday as a wicket-keeper?

He can't make the xi as a wicket keeper batesman but he can play the role as a finisher if he looses more weight.

Highlights of his innings

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 50%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/7k4wzx" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Azm Khan 34(23) today for Khulna vs Rangpur in BPL

Azam Khan in an interview

Azam, who is the son of former Pakistan cricketer Moin Khan, wrote words like "aloo [potato], laddu [a sweet], haathi [Elephant], fatso and big boy" on scraps of paper and posted them to his wall.

"My dad was like, 'Are you mad, why are you doing this to yourself?'

"People will always judge me because my father has played for Pakistan but it's not my fault I was born at his house. But after I got my chance in the PSL, people criticised me because I was overweight and said my body is not suited for the elite game [level] of cricket," he said.

Azam, who is the son of former Pakistan cricketer Moin Khan, wrote words like "aloo [potato], laddu [a sweet], haathi [Elephant], fatso and big boy" on scraps of paper and posted them to his wall.

"People will always judge me because my father has played for Pakistan but it's not my fault I was born at his house. But after I got my chance in the PSL, people criticised me because I was overweight and said my body is not suited for the elite game [level] of cricket," he said.

Very powerful statement. In the midst of all the blunt armchair analysis we forget that cricketers are real people.

He is the one of the only mentally strong player in Pakistan team.

That is why I called for him to be made captain weeks ago.

More from Azam interview

"It's not about being overweight. It's about performance. If a guy is scoring 400 runs and he is super-fit and another guy is scoring 800 runs and he is not super-fit, I will keep the guy who scored 800 runs in my team. That's my point of view."

More from Azam interview

"It's not about being overweight. It's about performance. If a guy is scoring 400 runs and he is super-fit and another guy is scoring 800 runs and he is not super-fit, I will keep the guy who scored 800 runs in my team. That's my point of view."

Is he scoring double the amount of runs compared to his peers who are selected in his place?

Surely he can lose some weight can't he? I mean nobody is asking him to have a six-pack, but as a professional cricketer he could become fitter and a better athlete.

More from Azam interview

So he thinks he'll be there just to score runs and not field?
He isn't good enough to play a a WK. His keeping is atrocious.

Our players just don't have the professionalism and I've said this time and time again. Just focus in the game and job at hand.Simple.

Surely he can lose some weight can't he? I mean nobody is asking him to have a six-pack, but as a professional cricketer he could become fitter and a better athlete.

Exactly be a better athlete.. His keeping is atrocious , if he is taken for his power hitting only then where to hide him in the field, him chasing the ball going to boundary would make Pak cricket laughing stock..

If the attitude of the player who scores 800 is not good and he feels he should be in the side despite being obese and a liability in the field plus the fact that he don’t want to become fitter and healthier then I would rather have the one who has 400 runs.

So he thinks he'll be there just to score runs and not field?
He isn't good enough to play a a WK. His keeping is atrocious.

Our players just don't have the professionalism and I've said this time and time again. Just focus in the game and job at hand.Simple.

And it's not just the keeping, if you are fitter your running between the wickets will improve too.

In Pakistan we prefer the slim fit useless player with no real ceiling tbh

Rightly so.

There is no excuse for a sportsman to be 20% overweight.

Also then we shouldn’t complain when we have 500 useless cricketers in 20 domestic teams as well

If you have 200 in 6, might as well double up

Really poor mentality from some of our young players including azam

If youre fitter you can run quicker and recover quicker to go again, you are more agile in the field and have more energy for longer innings

Its not just about the runs you make Its about improving yourself and every aspect of your cricket

Can someone like azam play a 300 ball innings?
Can he chase consecutive balls to the boundary and back?

Pakistans young cricketers dont seem to have the hunger to improve their game, strengthen their weaknesses and to actually play in all forms of the game

Look at indian young players and Here you have azam only interested in a quick buck