[VIDEOS] Mohammad Amir for Essex in T20 Blast and County Championship 2019 - Performance Watch

The Club are pleased to announce that the Pakistan international left-arm fast bowler, Mohammad Amir, will return to the Club for part of the 2019 Vitality Blast campaign.

The 26-year-old was a fan favourite during his first stint with Essex in 2017, where he took 14 wickets in both the NatWest T20 Blast and Specsavers County Championship, which included a memorable match-winning performance with career-best figures of 10-72 against Yorkshire at Scarborough.

Head Coach Anthony McGrath is thrilled that Amir has signed and said: “Mo is one of the most exciting bowling talents in the world and I’m ecstatic he’s going to be back with us.

“He has the ability to bowl at a fast pace whilst swinging the ball both ways and showed a real desire to come back to Chelmsford and be an Eagle again.

“Everyone has seen how devastating he can be with the ball and the talent he has, so I think alongside our other Overseas player, Adam Zampa, we’re going to have one of the most dangerous bowling attacks in the Vitality Blast this year.”

Amir is delighted to be joining the Eagles after enjoying success during the 2017 season and said: “I’m very excited to return to Chelmsford and re-join my Essex team mates. I thoroughly enjoyed my time here in 2017 and I’m looking forward to playing my role in the Club’s success this season.”

Amir will be available for eight Vitality Blast games during his spell with the Club, including the opening match against Middlesex at Lord’s on Thursday 18 July.

Due to family commitments, he will miss the next two matches against Surrey and Kent Spitfires, before making his eagerly anticipated return to The Cloudfm County Ground when Essex Eagles host Gloucestershire on Saturday 27 July.

Amir’s final match for the Eagles will be against Glamorgan in Chelmsford on Friday 16 August before he departs for his pre-arranged commitments in this year’s Caribbean Premier League.

https://www.essexcricket.org.uk/2019/02/08/mohammad-amir-set-for-eagles-return

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Who's got that <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/FridayFeeling?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#FridayFeeling</a>? We know <a href="https://twitter.com/iamamirofficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@iamamirofficial</a> has... &#55357;&#56395;&#55358;&#56709; <a href="https://t.co/uYcsA4LsIj">pic.twitter.com/uYcsA4LsIj</a></p>— Essex Cricket (@EssexCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/EssexCricket/status/1093907185254436864?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 8, 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">We had a special visitor down at The Cloudfm County Ground earlier... <a href="https://twitter.com/iamamirofficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@iamamirofficial</a> &#55357;&#56384; <a href="https://t.co/cfEPTGJdOb">pic.twitter.com/cfEPTGJdOb</a></p>— Essex Cricket (@EssexCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/EssexCricket/status/1148988725269078018?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 10, 2019</a></blockquote>

And then Amir complains about too much Cricket

Will be nice for Amir to be around Rav Bopara again
I’m sure he’s convinced him about the place and team

Nice to see him working hard. Next world cup will be his time to shine and help Pakistan lift the trophy.

TBH this was his time. Ideal conditions and basically the team was set since the SA win. He needs to put all on the WT20 next year together with Wahab.

Its not the WC but still an ICC TROPHY.

These stints always help. We already have 2-3 months gap so might as well get some good county experience

with World T20 next year in Australia, I hope Amir rediscovers his T20 form which brought him in limelight back in 2009

TBH this was his time. Ideal conditions and basically the team was set since the SA win. He needs to put all on the WT20 next year together with Wahab.

Its not the WC but still an ICC TROPHY.
Amir can be lethal in Indian conditions.

But he NEEDS to hit the gym and increase his pace. This will also help the reverse swing.

If he gets his average pace up to 142+ with fastest to 148ish, then he will be a near perfect bowler.

Amir can be lethal in Indian conditions.

But he NEEDS to hit the gym and increase his pace. This will also help the reverse swing.

If he gets his average pace up to 142+ with fastest to 148ish, then he will be a near perfect bowler.

Yeah Amir looks skinny. He needs to get in shape asap.

Amir is getting his banana-swing back.

Brilliant when on song.

[Utube]avM0Xyt6lZQ[/utube]

Very good English! It seems he really enjoyed his time with Essex and is raring to go. Feels like he genuinely has a passion for Essex and isn't just there for the money.

Amir is slowly back to his best .The only problem left is speed hopefully he will regain his lost pace

He loves bowling in England, I look forward to his first game at Lord's on Thursday.

Amir is slowly back to his best .The only problem left is speed hopefully he will regain his lost pace

"Every fast-bowler strives to bowl at 90 miles per hour (mph). When you are getting wickets, you can focus on other things as well, so now I am focusing on increasing my speed,” said Amir.

MUBARAK AMIR ���������� You definitely deserve to play in the good ol’ England! Especially after all the amazing hard work you put into bringing our team back from the brink in the World Cup 2019 matches! Wishing you all the best Inshallah, and we are so proud of you! Fly like an EAGLE and soar above the skies! l��

Mohammad Amir's UK sporting visa has still not been received so he misses tonight's T20 Blast match for Essex against Surrey. It's expected that he will be available for next week's matches versus Kent and Gloucestershire.

Still no visa.

He hopes he will get it by Monday.

This is a bit ridiculous...for international team players they should get minimum 2 years or ideally 5 years visa for the other test playing countries. Imagine if we had to replace some players during world cup and it took them a week to get visa.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Back to work <a href="https://t.co/T63PT1AJSz">pic.twitter.com/T63PT1AJSz</a></p>— Mohammad Amir (@iamamirofficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/iamamirofficial/status/1156177620041654272?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 30, 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">SQUAD: Mohammad Amir goes straight into the squad for tomorrow's Vitality Blast match against Hampshire.<br><br>Sam Cook also returns to the matchday squad with Ravi Bopara and Varun Chopra missing out.<br><br>➡️ <a href="https://t.co/o5gx1UmH4L">https://t.co/o5gx1UmH4L</a> <a href="https://t.co/qV2FGeCS70">pic.twitter.com/qV2FGeCS70</a></p>— Essex Cricket (@EssexCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/EssexCricket/status/1156592803906031617?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 31, 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Mohammad Amir took a wicket in his first over of this edition of the T20 Blast, finishing with figures of 1/16 in 3 overs as Hampshire beat Essex by 7 wickets <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/iii4LD3IKp">pic.twitter.com/iii4LD3IKp</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1157033848787611648?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 1, 2019</a></blockquote>

Mohammad Amir: Pakistan paceman to quit red-ball cricket with Essex after T20 extension

Pakistan fast bowler Mohammad Amir has extended his short-term deal to cover Essex's last four T20 group games.

Amir, who has played in four of Essex's T20 Blast matches, has now been made available for the games with Sussex, Hampshire, Surrey and Kent.

He will also be Essex's overseas player for the County Championship Division One game starting with Kent on Sunday.

Having just retired from Test cricket with Pakistan, this will be the final red-ball game of Amir's career - at 27.

"Mohammad agreed to play in this County Championship fixture before announcing his retirement from Test cricket," said Essex head coach Anthony McGrath.

"We're really grateful that he has followed through on his promise given the circumstances. He'll give us the extra dimension as a left-armer and is a great replacement for Peter Siddle, who has now gone to play for Australia in the Ashes."

Following their third successive rain-off against Glamorgan on Friday, Essex are eighth in their T20 Blast group, probably needing to win all of their final four games to stand a chance of making the last eight.

Amir's truncated first-class career

Amir lost five years of his cricketing prime after being jailed for his part in a spot-fixing scam during the 2010 Test series in England.

He was banned from cricket for five years and ended up being out of Test cricket for six years.

Following his return to Tests in England in 2016, he has played 22 more times for his country, taking his haul of wickets to 119 in 36 matches, but he never once represented Pakistan in his own country.

Of those 36 games, 32 were on away trips and the four home games were all played in the United Arab Emirates.

Amir featured three times for Essex in their title-winning 2017 County Championship Division One campaign, as Ryan ten Doeschate's side went on to claim the title for the first time in 25 years.

The left-armer took 14 wickets at an average of 13.50, including best figures of 5-18 against Yorkshire at Scarborough.

https://www.bbc.com/sport/cricket/49382002

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">TEAM: Here's your Essex XI for the <a href="https://twitter.com/CountyChamp?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@CountyChamp</a> match against <a href="https://twitter.com/KentCricket?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@KentCricket</a> &#55357;&#56908;<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KENvESS?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KENvESS</a> <a href="https://t.co/XXS56RERWP">pic.twitter.com/XXS56RERWP</a></p>— Essex Cricket (@EssexCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/EssexCricket/status/1163023892753059841?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 18, 2019</a></blockquote>

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/MzYuWetqmIQ" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A wicket in his second over today for Mohammad Amir for Essex versus Kent in the County Championship <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/ubLQfHap6D">pic.twitter.com/ubLQfHap6D</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1163033059232485377?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 18, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Amir has hurt his fans.

This lad still has it in him for Test cricket.

The good ol’ banana swing was coming back and his speed was increasing...

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Impressive bowling today from Mohammad Amir for Essex versus Kent. 17-4-30-3<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/Iq7Kf2Lgw5">pic.twitter.com/Iq7Kf2Lgw5</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1163146863962480640?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 18, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

lol zabardast. Pakistan ke liye red-ball cricket nahi khelni, lekin Essex ke liye jaan haazir hai

You saw that banana swing?

Man, I’m hurt.

Why Amir why?

He may be good enough to trouble county sides with a Dukes ball but lets face it, deep down we all know he isn't good enough for test cricket. He runs in and bowls 130 now, at that pace you can only be successful in England.

True it was depressing to see him bowl 130 kph and grunting so hard after it.

But the signs were looking good, he was back in rhythm and was getting his speed back.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">WICKET: <a href="https://twitter.com/iamamirofficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@iamamirofficial</a> makes the early breakthrough!<br><br>He knocks Rayner's stumps out the ground and he departs for 5, Kent are 128-7 &#55357;&#56908;<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KENvESS?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KENvESS</a> <a href="https://t.co/4fZs4TN09F">pic.twitter.com/4fZs4TN09F</a></p>— Essex Cricket (@EssexCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/EssexCricket/status/1163393850779557888?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Four so far for Amir

You saw that banana swing?

Man, I’m hurt.

Why Amir why?

Unfortunately in the UAE where most of our games will be played he is less than ordinary, these conditions are a rarity for the average Pakistan seamer, and the grunting while bowling at 130 clicks, either an underlying injury or his bodies given up.

<iframe src="https://player.vimeo.com/video/354660806?byline=0&portrait=0" width="640" height="361" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; fullscreen" allowfullscreen></iframe>.

We appreciate you and all that you do for PP [MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION]. Thank you!

Personally, these County wickets don't really get me excited anymore. We've all seen how Amir struggles to take wickets at the international scene when he trundles in and with all his might touches the 135 kph mark.

He's a mediocre test bowler who didn't have the will or the commitment to improve.

Personally, these County wickets don't really get me excited anymore. We've all seen how Amir struggles to take wickets at the international scene when he trundles in and with all his might touches the 135 kph mark.

He's a mediocre test bowler who didn't have the will or the commitment to improve.

It's apparently his last red-ball game, so this is a moot point tbh. Though I watched his spells and he was looking pretty good... Too bad.

That's what I was trying to get at. We've seen several such impressive spells by him in the county circuit but it's a completely different ballgame at the international level.

So, I wouldn't read too much into this and think oh, what could've been? We've all seen him enough in test cricket to know what he's made of.

That's what I was trying to get at. We've seen several such impressive spells by him in the county circuit but it's a completely different ballgame at the international level.

So, I wouldn't read too much into this and think oh, what could've been? We've all seen him enough in test cricket to know what he's made of.

He's always been good in England, and he did well in SA recently where the pitches were decent for pacers.

He probably won't miss bowling in UAE!

Interestingly he bowled some pretty long spells in this game, so he seems to be fit enough.

I was watching Pakistan vs England 1st test highights from last year and he was getting wickets at 87-88 mph and consistently bowled pretty fast.

It's odd how much his velocity dropped in such a short time but IIRC, he had some sort of viral infection just before the start of WC so its possible that maybe he wasn't at full health during the WC.

since we haven't been able to play away from home, PCB really should have tried to have our "home" series in the UK. would have gotten great attendences and more importantly, the players would have learned a lot of new skills over the past decade. could have revoluntionized the game. games in UAE are pointless

Amir out for 28, Essex struggling at 110/8.

Interesting battle at the top of the table between Essex and Somerset.

pzQx2pr.png

Kent 9/5... Amir 2 wickets.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">3️⃣ Another one! <a href="https://twitter.com/iamamirofficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@iamamirofficial</a> with the damage &#55357;&#56490;<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KENvESS?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KENvESS</a> <a href="https://t.co/5YvPbsXe5W">pic.twitter.com/5YvPbsXe5W</a></p>— Essex Cricket (@EssexCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/EssexCricket/status/1163805678517051392?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 20, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">2️⃣ <a href="https://twitter.com/iamamirofficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@iamamirofficial</a> find the reliable hands of <a href="https://twitter.com/SimonHarmerRSA?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SimonHarmerRSA</a> and Bell-Drummond goes!<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KENvESS?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KENvESS</a> <a href="https://t.co/gYdhoIN99U">pic.twitter.com/gYdhoIN99U</a></p>— Essex Cricket (@EssexCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/EssexCricket/status/1163805440213491714?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 20, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<iframe src="https://player.vimeo.com/video/354891289?byline=0&portrait=0" width="640" height="360" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; fullscreen" allowfullscreen></iframe>

2 wickets for 16 runs in last innings.

That's it for his FC career I guess. 260 wickets @ 22.xx.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Mohammad Amir's bowling figures in what could be his last ever First-class match:<br><br>30 - 8 - 64 - 6<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1163868142260621314?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 20, 2019</a></blockquote>

Hits the winning run to take Essex to a 3 wicket win

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">What a way to sign off from red-ball cricket, <a href="https://twitter.com/iamamirofficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@iamamirofficial</a>!<br><br>☄️ 6-64 with the ball<br>&#55356;&#57295; Winning runs with the bat<br><br>&#55357;&#56908; <a href="https://t.co/H93u0gEbD9">pic.twitter.com/H93u0gEbD9</a></p>— Essex Cricket (@EssexCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/EssexCricket/status/1164174284144676866?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 21, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">What a way to sign off from red-ball cricket, <a href="https://twitter.com/iamamirofficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@iamamirofficial</a>!<br><br>☄️ 6-64 with the ball<br>�� Winning runs with the bat<br><br>�� <a href="https://t.co/H93u0gEbD9">pic.twitter.com/H93u0gEbD9</a></p>— Essex Cricket (@EssexCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/EssexCricket/status/1164174284144676866?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 21, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Real shame to see him retire from test cricket, especially after he puts in a red ball performance like this!