[VIDEOS/PICTURES] Pakistan's Comedy Fielding

SpiritOf1903

How many collisions at the Asia Cup?

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/acxz9i" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

It’s pathetic. The coaches have done nothing to address it. It’s a joke!!!!

3 collisions this tournament..and one would think calling for a catch would be pretty basic for an international cricketer.
Not once ,not twice, three times now in this cup alone.

If the noise in the stadium is distracting, why haven't any other teams done this.

This was tough to watch. Every time the thought comes that this team is different, this team wont do what happened in the past - such things happen.

After years of coaches and training camps nothing has changed for the better. And the fielding in domestic cricket is even worse.

Nothing short of embarrassing.

Even with the noise, surely you look at your team-mate to see what's going on.

Very poor calling between the fielders.

Gave away 30 runs extra along with dropped catches. Rajapaksa should have been out a couple of times. But he was there till the end and did all the damage.

The most ridiculous bit is that this is the 3rd time this has happened in this cup alone.
How can the coaching staff, captain and players get away with this?. From something as basic as calling for a catch.

That last incident alone cost us 20 runs in the end ( 6 on that ball and then 2,6,6 from Raja in the last over)

Even at schoolboy level you are taught to call clearly for a catch and watch for any team-mates who may also be going for the catch.

inatead of Pakistan it seems like Lagaan xi... when that ball went in air i swear i already was expecting 2 guys charging in... and... yup 🥴

Shadab’s overacting in the field was going to be prove costly one day.

Every time the ball goes up in the air, your heart is in your mouth as to whether a Pakistani fielder will catch the ball or will they totally mess it up.

More often than not, it's the latter.

I think we are being harsh here, this can happen to anyone. Shadab had already suffered a concussion and was probably not his agile self on the field. The guy has been our best fielder for a long time, despite what [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] says.

He just had a really bad day at the office and it cost us big time. Lets move on and focus on stuff that is inherently wrong with the team.

Our fielding and catching should be shown on the comedy channel:warner. From all major sides we are easily the worst lot. What is even more upsetting is that we never improve.

I'd love to have a cricketer like Shadab in India team. A handy bat, even handier fielder and very good LoI bowler.

Poor poor comments in this thread and shows the knee jerkness in our society. Pakistani fielding was top notch throughout the tournament except the final. It was simply a bad day at the office. Get over it!

I'd love to have a cricketer like Shadab in India team. A handy bat, even handier fielder and very good LoI bowler.

You already have Jadeja who is a million times better than him at everything.

Our fielding and catching should be shown on the comedy channel:warner. From all major sides we are easily the worst lot. What is even more upsetting is that we never improve.

Here's a Mughal era painting of a Pakistani fielder:

Dn7vTKfXoAA7BFj.jpg

Delhi Police is also at it

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Ae Bhai, Zara Dekh Ke Chalo<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/RoadSafety?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#RoadSafety</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AsiaCup2022Final?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#AsiaCup2022Final</a> <a href="https://t.co/gepAVvrO33">pic.twitter.com/gepAVvrO33</a></p>— Delhi Police (@DelhiPolice) <a href="https://twitter.com/DelhiPolice/status/1569140049157189632?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 12, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

It is bizzare really. A wicket became a SIX. That was a comfortable catch well inside the boundary, a good few inches inside and they threw it for a six, how big of a difference this makes in a T20 game.

Poor poor comments in this thread and shows the knee jerkness in our society. Pakistani fielding was top notch throughout the tournament except the final. It was simply a bad day at the office. Get over it!

Frustrations are understandable. If you drop a catch very close to boundary rope or if some part of your body touches boundary rope, that is understandable.

This is comical stuff here. You drop a catch and then the batsman runs two, that is still fine. This is SIX for no reasons.

Hilarious they deserve it

You already have Jadeja who is a million times better than him at everything.
I'd rather have Shadab than Jadeja in Indian LoI team. Only area Jadeja scores is in fielding, and there too Shadab is no slouch.

These were embarrassing lapses. But I thought Pakistani fielding and catching were pretty solid for most parts. Much better than what I have been used to over the last two decades.

Calling needed to be better.

But, grounds were noisy during Pakistani games. So, they might not have heard the callings.

Won't be surprised if Amit Shah asked Delhi Police to post it. :91: :inti

If you want to witness embarrasing fielding , then look no further than PAK team.. (worst of all)

I can recall some incidents from my faint memory:-

1) Ahmed Shehzad holding onto a catch he clearly dropped on the field and claiming it
2) Ajmal dropping a catch near Shoaib Malik
3) Afridi and Umar Gul dropping on the ground in sync to stop a four
4) Fakhar Zaman dropping Bishnoi catch and leading to a 4.
5) Shadab flying and colliding with Asif to not only drop the catch but let it fly over to the ropes for a SIX

I mean there is no trust or communication between each team member..We are so bad that there is a 50% chance if there a catch opportunity it will be dropped.. We as spectators have our heartbeat stop too during those moments..

Khushdil Shah

Firstly makes a mess of a ball that he should have stopped which goes for 4.

Then next ball drops an absolute sitter from Moeen Ali.

Khushdil Shah

Firstly makes a mess of a ball that he should have stopped which goes for 4.

Then next ball drops an absolute sitter from Moeen Ali.

Can't believe this

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 57.778%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/bdwt6p" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Hales just dropped one. Where is the England's comedy fielding thread?

Lol, that is just a one off although he made mess out of an easy catch. Our butterfingers keep dropping sitters in every game. Shan Masood the other day and Khushdil today and many in Asia cup.

This could hurt us big time in a crucial game.

This is most definitely a problem now. The number if times we've dropped sitters in recent matches. The ground fielding was pretty shabby too at times.

Lol, that is just a one off although he made mess out of an easy catch. Our butterfingers keep dropping sitters in every game. Shan Masood the other day and Khushdil today and many in Asia cup.

This could hurt us big time in a crucial game.

It did.. in Asia cup.

Another collision.. 3 in the Asia cup and now here.

Do they think it's a joke?..something as basic as calling out for a catch?

Another collision.. 3 in the Asia cup and now here.

Do they think it's a joke?..something as basic as calling out for a catch?

HNW2BeV.png

JdBdmf65cWn4p3M

Mohammad Hasnain to Philip Salt, out Caught by Mohammad Nawaz!! Hasnain draws first blood! A short and quick delivery on off and Salt goes hard at it, swings across the line and gets beaten due to the pace and bounce. A thick leading edge is induced as the ball lobs towards extra cover. Nawaz and Hasnain - both go for it, but it's the former who manages to take it eventually. Don't understand this habit of Pakistan, where there are always two fielders going for a catch at the same time. Happens quite too often. Philip Salt c Mohammad Nawaz b Mohammad Hasnain 8(6) [4s-1]

Who is the fielding coach these days for Pakistan? Surely he must be working with the boys on this glaring issue of not calling for catches?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">It's Pakistan comedy fielding time again <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakvEng?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakvEng</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/q1HIp8KJOx">pic.twitter.com/q1HIp8KJOx</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1574077445292056578?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 25, 2022</a></blockquote>

Run out chance in the 1st over - Asif Ali doesn't pick the ball up cleanly.

Simple stop at the boundary and Hasnain makes a mess of it.

Schoolboy stuff.

Simple stop at the boundary and Hasnain makes a mess of it.

Schoolboy stuff.

Embarrassing!

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/phjh0h" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Things always go to **** whenever we appoint Desi fielding coaches.

2 drop catches by Babar today, the later was an absolute sitter.

We're easily the worst fielding side in the world, no hyperbole. And it looks like it'll continue to be this way for a long while ahead. There have been good spells in between, a few matches or a brief tour where they come close to international standards but it's inevitably followed by the same old mediocrity.

If rough outfields/absence of fielding training in this part of the world is the reason, how are SL or BD so much better than us?

2 drop catches by Babar today, the later was an absolute sitter.

We're easily the worst fielding side in the world, no hyperbole. And it looks like it'll continue to be this way for a long while ahead. There have been good spells in between, a few matches or a brief tour where they come close to international standards but it's inevitably followed by the same old mediocrity.

If rough outfields/absence of fielding training in this part of the world is the reason, how are SL or BD so much better than us?

Pressure of a crunch game.

Captain leading from the front when it comes to comedy fielding.

Absolutely abysmal.

Solution to Pakistani fielding woes: Dock 20-30% of pay for every dropped catch

Hire a world class fielding coach, or begin docking pay.

I suggest 20-30% for dropped catch, compounded if you drop more than 1 catch per inning.

10-15% for misfields that result in boundaries.

Otherwise there’s no consequences and guys like Babar (our leader btw) will continue to set awful examples.

Pressure of a crunch game.

That would explain if it was just happening today. We saw this happen throughout the Asia cup and it's continuing.
Can anyone remember another international team having 3 collisions while catching in one tournament alone ?. I have never seen it nor heard of it even from the 70s or 80s era when fielding wasn't taken seriously generally.

With our fielding, the opposition is always in the game.

This is getting ridiculous now. 3 drops!

You can't expect the bowlers to create unlimited chances.

do we even have a fielding coach.. seems like these can easily be fixed with basic fielding drills on a regular basis

Mohammad Wasim lucky he didnt get hit on his head!

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/9bk0vm" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

I think they are trying to outdo each other when it comes to comedy fielding.

Several simple misfield n 3 dollies dropped

Embarassing stuff in field today Absolute clueless

Do they even practice

Fielding certainly hs gone to dogs since yousuf n saqi came in

Shockingly awful lately

Sometimes we can bring oppositions down to our level :ssa2

And it continues....

Dahani the culprit both times

Haris Rauf to Sabbir Rahman, 1 run, a top-edge and the ball bounced in front of Dahani at third man, could he have done better? On a good length and just outside off - Sabbir shuffled across on the paddle, got a big edge that flew towards third man

Mohammad Wasim Jr to Litton Das, FOUR, chance and dropped, half-a-chance at short fine, but it burst through Dahani's hands and raced away to the boundary - back of a length and angling into the right-hander, Litton was looking to help it on its way with the swivel pull

Apart from Dahani the fielding was good today especially Haider Ali

Overthrows get 5 for NZ!

Really cannot do these kind of basic mistakes

Pakistan team's fielding coach

Who is the teams fielding coach? The team has been habitually dropping simple catches, conceding twos when there should have been singles, fielding inside the circle is poor where they easily concede singles and no one in the team can score a direct hit even if offered a million dollars to do so

I am seriously frustrated by the lack of accountability in the team.

The team has been habitually dropping simple catches, conceding twos when there should have been singles, fielding inside the circle is poor where they easily concede singles and no one in the team can score a direct hit even if offered a million dollars to do so.

Nothing new though. Has been the case for generations.

Steve Rixon was an excellent fielding coach for Pakistan. Too bad the PCB lost him.

Previous PCB administrations would take action eventually when the team was doing poorly for a while.

Another day, another missed run out and another dropped catch. This time by Babar. You don't win finals like this. Happening way too regularly now

What exactly does the dedicated fielding coach do because Babar the captain is out here dropping simple catches and Haider Ali is out here missing run outs? These stooges have knocked the wind out of me.

Where do we even start?

I guess Gavaskar summed it up perfectly with " I have no idea what goes through the Pakistani mind"

Just comedy..pure and simple comedy.

India let Maxwell off twice once when he was 3 balls old and on 0. Pakistan seems to be continuing their "form" as well. Didn't get a chance to catch that match.