[VIDEOS/PICTURES] Virat Kohli, Gautam Gambhir and Naveen-ul-Haq altercation in IPL 2023

Yup. So Gambhir was in the right defend a player after Kohli disrespected him.

Kohli looks like a bigger clown than I thought he was. His true face coming out.

Fake gentlemen. To think India gave this man the captaincy for his country. No surprise he could never lead them to an international title.

Gambhir, as the coach, has no business standing up for anyone or defending anyone - that is the job of the team captain.

Gambhir needs to act like a retired washed up cricketer that he is.

So Kohli is the wrong in all of this? No?

Where are all the defenders gone now? Gambhir appears to defended a player who Kohli disrespected by comparing to dirt in his shoe.

What a massive you know what.

I mean, did you just assumed that conclusion out of thin air? :)))

If there's a sniff of trouble, you will usually find Kohli in there.

Attempted rape? Where did you get that from? Do you think the Australians would have just let him leave the country without a trial?

In a conversation about human rights in Afghanistan, someone had touched on the subject of women and sex outside marriage, and sex between individuals of the same gender. Fazal had added that sex between individuals of the same gender was not normal, and it was okay if it were punished in Afghanistan.

Among those present taking part in the conversation was a lesbian Australian player who complained about Fazal to CA. Fazal didn't change his stance and got kicked out of the tournament.

As for the incident yesterday, I doubt you'll find any Pathan/Afghan taking **** from anyone. "Sir ji me here and sir me there" doesn't exist in their dictionary. Aggression is okay, but no such low-class acts as both Amir and now Kohli did.

https://twitter.com/Plant_Warrior/status/1653275797690658817?s=20

https://twitter.com/anubhav__tweets/status/1653290981570260992?s=20

https://fb.watch/kgLLDZonZy/?mibextid=2Rb1fB

do you have any relevent source about what you have said?

because there were allegations of harassment against him, no one can be kicked out of a league over a stance on sexual orientation

Gambhir, as the coach, has no business standing up for anyone or defending anyone - that is the job of the team captain.

Gambhir needs to act like a retired washed up cricketer that he is.

Gambhir is the team mentor not coach. And he has every right to defend his players.

Understandably Gambhir is not favourite for some Pakistanis for him being a BJP MP and past altercations with Afridi. But Gambhir actually is a straight forward guy, he may sound blunt but that's his personality..he is not like Kohli or Afridi, both of whom have buddies in media to help create an image as opposed to their actions in both off field and on field. GG is known for charity and leadership, it's just his luck that during his playing days inspite of being a very good player and being a fighter during testing conditions media celebrated Dhoni and Kohli more because they had better PR managers and able to say the politically right things in front of the camera.

I am glad for once how Kohli's mock aggression petered out in front of GG . Kohli was almost like " Bhai seriously mat le, chhod de, Ghar chalte hai" . Kohli has been doing these monkey acts for better part of a decade without being disciplined and it's high time that somebody humbles him.

Understandably Gambhir is not favourite for some Pakistanis for him being a BJP MP and past altercations with Afridi. But Gambhir actually is a straight forward guy, he may sound blunt but that's his personality..he is not like Kohli or Afridi, both of whom have buddies in media to help create an image as opposed to their actions in both off field and on field. GG is known for charity and leadership, it's just his luck that during his playing days inspite of being a very good player and being a fighter during testing conditions media celebrated Dhoni and Kohli more because they had better PR managers and able to say the politically right things in front of the camera.

I am glad for once how Kohli's mock aggression petered out in front of GG . Kohli was almost like " Bhai seriously mat le, chhod de, Ghar chalte hai" . Kohli has been doing these monkey acts for better part of a decade without being disciplined and it's high time that somebody humbles him.

In recent times, Afridi and GG have made reconciliatory noises so things have moved on.

'Unacceptable. May have been personal': Anil Kumble steamrolls Kohli, Gambhir in aftermath of on-field scuffle in IPL 2023

“A lot of emotion goes in but you don’t want to be displaying those emotions here. This is important, you need to have a conversation. But this is something that’s unacceptable,”

“No matter what, you have to respect the opposition and the game. Once a game is over, you have to shake hands and tip your hat off, not to the player but to the game because that’s something you need to respect… I don’t know what was spoken, some things may have been personal and you don’t want that on the cricket field. But with Gautam and Virat and the players involved, it wasn’t the nicest thing to see,”

Good to know.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The big-hearted Shahid Afridi and Gautam Gambhir meet at the Legends game <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/LegendsLeagueCricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#LegendsLeagueCricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/YzTZhaPJCU">pic.twitter.com/YzTZhaPJCU</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1634219510604464136?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 10, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Former Pakistani cricketer Shahid Afridi, while talking on a local news channel, offered his perspective on the Naveen and Virat altercation, stating that Naveen only reacts when provoked unnecessarily.

"Naveen only reacts when someone bugs him unnecessarily. I have seen him bowling often, he gets hammered as well, but he never tried to pick up fights with anyone. I can't recall if I have ever seen him this much aggressive"

"Every team has a certain ratio of aggressive players, we do too, and it's normal. It happens. Fast bowlers are innately like that"

in the amir vs Naveen incident, Amir was at fault, not Naveen

Kohli is an absolute disgrace.

This guy lost his captaincy after pulling a similar stunt in South Africa where he threw all his toys out of the pram and accused the host broadcasters of cheating. And still he has the arrogance to do this nautanki... :facepalm:

Props to Naveen for standing up for himself though. That whole shoe dust showing thing was absolutely cringeworthy and uncalled for.
This.

Kohli has this uncanny knack of finding himself in controversies so this incident is nothing new.

This guy should give it a rest of this fame macho image and all that. He is what, 35 now? He should settle down and be the senior statesman of cricket. I know, this is not going to happen though.

Btw, is this fake aggression from Kohli due to the fact that he scored some runs in this year's IPL?

Naveen kid should have ignored like how SKY did when Kohli sledged him in an IPL match few seasons back which was before SKY rising to international fame.

It was fine when Kohli was young and used to sledge senior players, his fans used to call him aggressive but Naveen can't do that because he is not worth Kohli's shoes? Kohli fans are hypocrites. :inti

This.

Kohli has this uncanny knack of finding himself in controversies so this incident is nothing new.

This guy should give it a rest of this fame macho image and all that. He is what, 35 now? He should settle down and be the senior statesman of cricket. I know, this is not going to happen though.

He tries so hard to come across as the Ricky Ponting of this generation but ends up making himself look like some of those no name rabid Bangladesh players. :91:

Feel bad for him. He's already way past his prime and will probably end up as the most overrated batsman in cricketing history. The reality may just be slowly hitting him in the past couple of years.

Kohli doesn't have the sort of adulation that Sachin used to have in the 90s or what MSD used to have in his prime captaincy years.

I don't know what more he would have done if he had the crowd support any where close to the above two

Kohli doesn't have the sort of adulation that Sachin used to have in the 90s or what MSD used to have in his prime captaincy years.

I don't know what more he would have done if he had the crowd support any where close to the above two
I especially cringe when he incites crowd to make noise.

Why do you need that? Who don't you let your batting/fielding make that effect on crowd?

Feel bad for him. He's already way past his prime and will probably end up as the most overrated batsman in cricketing history. The reality may just be slowly hitting him in the past couple of years.
I don't feel bad for him. He has brought up this shame all by himself.

Too bad for us that despite him being this bad during last 3-odd years he still has automatic place in Indian team in all formats.

I don't feel bad for him. He has brought up this shame all by himself.

Too bad for us that despite him being this bad during last 3-odd years he still has automatic place in Indian team in all formats.
Good thing is he has his humbling coming later this year.

Either he see's Rohit lift the WC for India or he bombs out in another WC and joins his idolo and becomes a WC 'you're not that guy' flop meme.

If he has a bad WC it wouldn't surprise me to see Indian selectors finally move on from him and start building for the next WC with the new generation.

The Aussies on and off the field are different. Kohli is one of the few who is hated on and off the field by the Aussies.

They'll sledge and talk trash on the field but after the match they'll share drinks with the opposition in the locker room.

Do you have empirical/quantifiable/quotable evidence of VK being hated off the field by the Aussies or for that matter whoever?
I happen to know a few dudes in the DDCA who can attest to VK being a totally different beast off the field, a fab sensitive, responsible individual.
I happen to know Blair W...son the cousin of Kane from your neck of the woods who would attest to kane being gr8 mates off the field with vk and this is mostly of their common off field pursuits, interests and their mutual respect, friendship and comradeship. The same with ABD, maxi, SS, root, faf and a host of others.
That does not mean i agree with VK's onfield behaviour, in fact i feel its cringeworthy, pathetic and has dragged the legacy of several others who played with dignity in defeat and victory and donned the indian cap with pride, into the dirt a few times, people like the pataudis, the amarnaths, the mankads, the gaekwads, umrigar, vishy, sunny, wadekar, sardesai, kapil and lastly of my gen - Sachin, rahul, vvs, anil, sri and of the current lot almost everybody except VK.
I hate that he is always spoiling for a fight and gets involved too deep with either the crowd or the opposition.
But for u to sit and type away without any basis, either provide facts or crawl away into the hole where you belong.
Lastly, this whole GG - VK fracas is pathetic. hopefully VK puts this away and shines in this year in which we really need him to perform with big events coming up, instead of the hit giggle and miss ipl which people have already forgotten after half an hour.
So much for taking pot shots - give some substance or get out of the kitchen.

Lucknow Super Giants and Royal Challengers Bangalore faced each other in the 43rd match of IPL 2023 on Monday. The Faf du Plessis-led side successfully defended a small total of 126 for 9 against KL Rahul and company at the Ekana Cricket Stadium, thanks to their disciplined bowling attack. Still, it could not become the highlight of the game as the Virat Kohli vs Gautam Gambhir spat hogged all the attention. The ugly scene ended in teammates of both the players coming in between to ease the matter down. For the unversed, this was not the first time the two cricket legends were involved in an altercation and history has the proof!

The start (IPL 2013)

Going a decade back, one would witness a similar war of words between Kohli and Gambhir. It was an RCB vs KKR game in 2013 IPL. Then RCB skipper Kohli was dismissed and his counterpart Gambhir said something to him. Not kind words, for sure! Kohli didn't take a back seat and the consequence saw the duo getting involved in a heated argument. It was also followed by the two physically pushing each other. Such intense was the clash that their teammates had to intervene to placate the duo.

Rivalry continues (IPL 2016)

Three years later, Kohli and Gambhir once again got involved in a clash. This time too it was an RCB-KKR game, but in 2016 IPL. Towards the end of RCB's chase, Gambhir, at one stage, collected the ball and threw it at the stumps at the non-striker's end, even though Kohli had comfortably completed the run. Gambhir did his part and Kohli accepted the invitation. What next? The duo got involved in a heated argument. And this time, the match officials also got involved.

Did it end there? No! (IPL 2023)

Fast forward to May 1, 2023, the duo of Kohli and Gambhir once again got involved in a verbal altercation. This time the BCCI fined both Kohli and Gambhir 100 percent of their match fees. Naveen-ul-Haq -- who too had a heated exchange with Kohli -- faced a 50 percent fine.

NDTV

Virat Kohli and Gautam Gambhir were fined their entire match fee after a post-match altercation in the IPL 2023. The incident happened after the game between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Lucknow Super Giants on Monday, which the former won by 18 runs. Afghan pacer Naveen-ul-Haq was also fined 50 per cent of his match fee for breaching the league's code of conduct. Kohli and Naveen were seen having sharp words on the field during a tense match in Lucknow.

Kohli and Gambhir shared a frosty handshake after the match, before both had a go at each other.

Kohli was seen having a conversation with LSG batter Kyle Mayers, only to be interrupted by Gambhir.

Former India captain Sunil Gavaskar, however, wasn't happy with Kohli and Gambhir for having a go at each other.

"Well, I saw the visuals only a while ago, I did not see the match live yesterday. These things never look good. What is a 100 percent match fee? What exactly is a 100 percent match fee? If it is Kohli, who is on maybe Rs 17 crore for RCB, which means Rs 17 crore for a possible 16 matches, including the semi-finals, and finals. So you are talking about a crore of rupees. Is he going to be fined Rs 1 crore and more? Well, that's a very, very stiff fine," India Today quoted Gavaskar as saying on Star Sports.

Gavaskar said that one can only hope that such incidents don't happen in future.

"I don't know what Gambhir's situation is. They should ensure that this is not repeated. You are hoping that this is not repeated because it's such a stiff fine, such a stiff punishment. You want to play it hard, play it competitively. During the time that we played, there was a bit of banter, but there was none of this aggression that we see now. A lot of it has got to do with the fact that everything is on TV too. Because of the fact that you are on TV, you tend to do maybe just that little bit extra," he added.

Notably, Kohli and Gambhir, who have played together for India and Delhi, were also involved in an ugly on-field exchange in a 2013 IPL match.

The Lucknow Super Giants vs Royal Challengers Bangalore match in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 20223 turned out to be a drama-filled affair despite being a low-scoring encounter. The Bengaluru franchise went on to defend a low total of 126 runs, beating Lucknow by 18 runs in the match on Monday. Despite the fact that most batters' bats were silent in the match, the crowd roar was at its full volume, all thanks to Virat Kohli and his aggressive avatar.

Kohli celebrated the dismissal of LSG batters with full display of passion and even locked horns with the likes of Naveen-ul-Haq, Amit Mishra and Gautam Gambhir over certain on-field matters. Though the flaring tempers earned Kohli a 100% fine on his match fee, the crowd enjoyed seeing the 34-year-old in full aggression.

After the game, even RCB skipper Faf du Plessis was asked about Kohli's aggressive avatar in the match. Fair to say that Faf loved it too.

"Aggression is the best version of Virat, isn't it? To see him pumped up like that, that's when he is at his very best. So it is really awesome to be a part of it and my job is to keep things calm on the field, which I thought that I did really well," Faf said in a video shared by RCB.

NDTV

For an experienced campaigner like Kohli, to say what he did to Naveen was pathetic, someone 13-14 years his junior. Once a bully badtameez person always a badtameez person.

Gambhir is the team mentor not coach. And he has every right to defend his players.

Mentor and not the coach?!? How could I not differentiate between the two?? IPL can have as many made up roles as it wants, point is that management should not be involved in on field altercations. Period.

The way GG hurled abuses towards RCB camp in their previous game was uncalled for and that initiated the whole incident.

However, knowing your mindset, you would jump into fire for anyone that has an ounce of affiliation with BJP - so, no point in trying to convince you with logic.

For an experienced campaigner like Kohli, to say what he did to Naveen was pathetic, someone 13-14 years his junior. Once a bully badtameez person always a badtameez person.

Kohli did go overboard with his sledging, however we cannot lose sight of what prompted bad blood between the sides.

The way GG celebrated their teams win against RCB, anyone in the RCB camp would feel upset. The gaaliyan and the gestures by GG, that too while being the team coach, was pathetic and desperate. The small man needs to come to terms that he’s retired and isn’t as important as he thinks he is.

Royal Challengers Bangalore star Virat Kohli has been dominating headlines following his on-field spat with Lucknow Super Giants mentor Gautam Gambhir in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023. It has given rise to a lot of discussion with many ex-cricketers weighing in on the situation. Kohli took to social media on Wednesday to share an old interview of West Indies legend Viv Richards along with the caption – “The Real Boss”. In the interview, Richards spoke about his desire to play in a T20 league like the IPL after he was done with Test cricket if such a concept existed during his career.

In the interview with Cricket District, he spoke about his fascination towards the shortest format of the game and said that he would have liked to play in the leagues. Richards was considered to be one of the most explosives batters of all time as he had a strike rate of 86.07 in Test matches.

"Oh, that's what I said. In terms of, after you are done with your chores (playing red-ball cricket) in IPL or CPL. Oh, man! I would have loved that," the legendary West Indian cricketer revealed.

Kohli and Gambhir have been handed hefty fines for breaching the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 Code of Conduct.

In its release, the IPL said: "Lucknow Super Giants' Mentor Gautam Gambhir has been fined 100 per cent of his match fee for breaching the IPL Code of Conduct during the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 match against Royal Challengers Bangalore at the Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow.

Mr Gambhir admitted to the Level 2 offence under Article 2.21 of the IPL Code of Conduct.

Royal Challengers Bangalore batter Virat Kohli has been fined 100 per cent of his match fee for breaching the IPL Code of Conduct during the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 match against Lucknow Super Giants at the Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow.

Mr Kohli admitted to the Level 2 offence under Article 2.21 of the IPL Code of Conduct.”

NDTV

Sehwag called Kohli, Gambhir icons while adding that anything they do or say is watched hawkishly and is likely to be imbibed by the millions of young fans.

Virender Sehwag has called for a much-improved behaviour from Virat Kohli and Gautam Gambhir after the two former India teammates engaged in an ultra-aggressive spat after the IPL 2023 match featuring Lucknow Super Giants and Royal Challengers Bangalore. Kohli and Gambhir, who have quite the history between the two launched a no-holds-barred verbal attack on each other, making for a rather unpleasant viewing on national television. Kohli and Gambhir's infamous brawl emerged as the talking point, and almost 48 hours later, it still is making the headlines.

Sehwag, who with Gambhir formed one of India's best opening pairs, and played five years of international cricket with Kohli, has reminded both about the stature they hold in Indian cricket, urging both to conduct themselves a lot better. Sehwag called Kohli, Gambhir icons while adding that anything they do or say is watched hawkishly and is likely to be imbibed by the millions of young fans in the country.

"I switched off the TV once the match got over. I had no idea about what happened after the match. The next day when I woke up, I saw a lot of chaos on social media. What happened wasn't right. The loser should quietly accept defeat and walk away and the winning team should celebrate. Why did they need to say anything to each other. I always say one thing, that these guys are icons of the country. If they do or say anything, millions of kids follow them and probably think 'If my icon has done this, I would too'. So if they keep these things in mind, they would limit such incidents," Sehwag said on Cricbuzz.

Although the BCCI has slapped both Gambhir and Kohli with 100 per cent fines, Sehwag isn't the first and certainly won't be the last to propose stricter actions. The former India batter feels that such incidents could become a lot less frequent if the board start and decide to suspend players for crossing the lines. The IPL in particular has a history of such heated altercations – the Kieron Pollard vs Mitchell Starc spat, MS Dhoni entering the field to protest and umpire's decision, Rishabh Pant doing the same last year and now Kohli-Gambhir reigniting their rivalry – and Sehwag suggests imposing a heavier action might put a leash on such incidents.

"If the BCCI decides to ban anyone, then maybe such incidents will happen rarely or not take place at all. Such incidents have happened several times in the past so it's better to do whatever you want to inside the controlled environment of the dressing room. When you're on the ground, these things don't look nice. My own kids can lip-read and they very well understand Ben Stokes. So that is when I feel bad. If you're saying such things, if my kids can read it, others can too and tomorrow they will think that if they (Kohli and Gambhir) can say it, so can I," he added.

The on-field spat between Virat Kohli and Gautam Gambhir has divided opinions when it comes to former cricketers. The incident took place during the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 encounter between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Lucknow Super Giants when the two legendary cricketers were engaged in a war of words after RCB's victory. Former Australia cricket team all-rounder and Delhi Capitals assistant coach Shane Watson had his say on the topic and he believes that cricketers should keep their differences away from the field and it is best for them to move on.

“Being competitive on the field is great, I'm all for that. That's where people are at their best… it hones their instincts and focusses their mind. But when that boils over off the field, that's when you got to leave it. On the field, you can have a crack because you're fighting for survival, trying to win and be at your best. Once the game's done, the game's done. Let's just move on,” Watson said on The Grade Cricketer podcast.

“What happened with Virat and Gautam Gambhir... no one wants to see that boil over. GG's not even playing!” he added.

Former England cricket team skipper Michael Vaughan was extremely critical of Gambhir. He said that on-field spat can happen in cricket but coaches should not get involved.

“I don't mind players having small confrontations. It's just the game. You don't wanna see it every day but I do not like seeing coaches get involved. I don't see why the coach or any part of the coaching department is involved in the game. What goes on the field stays on the field. If there is an argument between two players, they need to sort it out. Coaches should be in the dugout or the dressing room looking at strategies,” Vaughan said at the post-match show on Cricbuzz.

NDTV

After Virat Kohli's on-field brawl with Naveen-ul-Haq and Gautam Gambhir, the former RCB captain wrote to a few BCCI officials explaining the situation.

Virat Kohli, as he so often is, was the central character during the Lucknow Super Giants vs Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2023 match on May 1 but this time, not for his batting greatness or outstanding fielding effort but his aggressive celebrations, sledging and heated arguments with LSG players Naveen-ul-Haq, Amit Mishra and their mentor Gautam Gambhir. This is not to state that Kohli was the one at fault here but he definitely was a main character. A lot has been written, spoken and reported ever since that ugly fracas took place at the Ekana Stadium in Lucknow but the fresh details and new developments keep cropping up.

Nearly five days after Kohli's on-field brawl with Naveen-ul-Haq and Gambhir, it has now come to light that the former RCB captain wrote to a few BCCI officials explaining the situation. According to a Dainik Jagran report, Kohli also expressed his disappointment to the BCCI officials for being docked 100% match fee. Kohli reportedly said he did not say anything to Naveen-ul-Haq or Gambhir during the fight that will attract such a punishment from the BCCI.

Both Kohli and Gambhir attracted a fine of 100% of their respective match fees for the heated altercation they had, which the match referees and on-field umpires deemed as a Level 2 offence and in breach of IPL Code of Coduct's Article 2.21 which deals with “all types of conduct that bring the game into disrepute.”

Kohli, however, doesn't feel his behaviour warranted such a fine, which could go up to about ₹1.25 crore for him. Although, he won't pay the fine as RCB has a policy of not deducting match fees from their players' salaries for on-field offences.

According to players and officials who were witnesses to the verbal altercations, Kohli was hostile with his treatment towards Naveen-ul-Haq and Kyle Mayers. Amit Mishra, who was batting with Naveen towards the end of LSG's chase, also complained to the umpires about Kohli's behaviour.

The report claimed that RCB pacer Mohammed Siraj's bouncers and throws at Naveen-ul-Haq irked the Afghanistan pacer. Kohli in his message to BCCI officials said he did not direct Siraj to hit Naveen but instead only instructed him to bowl bouncers.

After the match, the aggressive manner in which Naveen-ul-Haq brushed aside Kohli's handshake and almost pushed him away did not go down well with the fans. Kohli reportedly also complained about Naveen for his aggressive behaviour after the match.

The Afghanistan and LSG pacer was fined 50% of his match fees.

As far as Kohli's run-in with Gambhir is concerned, it started because of the former's brief interaction with Mayers. The LSG opener apparently confronted Kohli for "abusing" him and giving a him send-off. Kohli argued that Mayers was "staring" at him. It was at this point, Gambhir stepped in and took Mayers away.

Gambhir and Kohli went in opposite directions but the RCB stalwart said, "Bloody f***... I want to give him a send-off." He was probably still referring to Mayers. But Gambhir did not like this. He turned around and charged towards Kohli.

Then, Kohli, in a comparatively calm demeanour told Gambhir that whatever he said or did was not for the LSG mentor and he should “stay away” from the matter. Gambhir then replied that his players are like “his family” and he won't tolerate it if someone "abuses" them.

Gambhir and Kohli were separated by the LSG players before matters escalated further.

After that incident, LSG played one match against CSK, which was washed out due to rain while RCB will take on Delhi Capitals on Saturday.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...d-not-say-anything-wrong-101683346899636.html

After Virat Kohli's on-field brawl with Naveen-ul-Haq and Gautam Gambhir, the former RCB captain wrote to a few BCCI officials explaining the situation.

Virat Kohli, as he so often is, was the central character during the Lucknow Super Giants vs Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2023 match on May 1 but this time, not for his batting greatness or outstanding fielding effort but his aggressive celebrations, sledging and heated arguments with LSG players Naveen-ul-Haq, Amit Mishra and their mentor Gautam Gambhir. This is not to state that Kohli was the one at fault here but he definitely was a main character. A lot has been written, spoken and reported ever since that ugly fracas took place at the Ekana Stadium in Lucknow but the fresh details and new developments keep cropping up.

Nearly five days after Kohli's on-field brawl with Naveen-ul-Haq and Gambhir, it has now come to light that the former RCB captain wrote to a few BCCI officials explaining the situation. According to a Dainik Jagran report, Kohli also expressed his disappointment to the BCCI officials for being docked 100% match fee. Kohli reportedly said he did not say anything to Naveen-ul-Haq or Gambhir during the fight that will attract such a punishment from the BCCI.

Both Kohli and Gambhir attracted a fine of 100% of their respective match fees for the heated altercation they had, which the match referees and on-field umpires deemed as a Level 2 offence and in breach of IPL Code of Coduct's Article 2.21 which deals with “all types of conduct that bring the game into disrepute.”

Kohli, however, doesn't feel his behaviour warranted such a fine, which could go up to about ₹1.25 crore for him. Although, he won't pay the fine as RCB has a policy of not deducting match fees from their players' salaries for on-field offences.

According to players and officials who were witnesses to the verbal altercations, Kohli was hostile with his treatment towards Naveen-ul-Haq and Kyle Mayers. Amit Mishra, who was batting with Naveen towards the end of LSG's chase, also complained to the umpires about Kohli's behaviour.

The report claimed that RCB pacer Mohammed Siraj's bouncers and throws at Naveen-ul-Haq irked the Afghanistan pacer. Kohli in his message to BCCI officials said he did not direct Siraj to hit Naveen but instead only instructed him to bowl bouncers.

After the match, the aggressive manner in which Naveen-ul-Haq brushed aside Kohli's handshake and almost pushed him away did not go down well with the fans. Kohli reportedly also complained about Naveen for his aggressive behaviour after the match.

The Afghanistan and LSG pacer was fined 50% of his match fees.

As far as Kohli's run-in with Gambhir is concerned, it started because of the former's brief interaction with Mayers. The LSG opener apparently confronted Kohli for "abusing" him and giving a him send-off. Kohli argued that Mayers was "staring" at him. It was at this point, Gambhir stepped in and took Mayers away.

Gambhir and Kohli went in opposite directions but the RCB stalwart said, "Bloody f***... I want to give him a send-off." He was probably still referring to Mayers. But Gambhir did not like this. He turned around and charged towards Kohli.

Then, Kohli, in a comparatively calm demeanour told Gambhir that whatever he said or did was not for the LSG mentor and he should “stay away” from the matter. Gambhir then replied that his players are like “his family” and he won't tolerate it if someone "abuses" them.

Gambhir and Kohli were separated by the LSG players before matters escalated further.

After that incident, LSG played one match against CSK, which was washed out due to rain while RCB will take on Delhi Capitals on Saturday.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...d-not-say-anything-wrong-101683346899636.html

So much for if you can give it, then you better receive it as well, if you can't take it then don't give it. Everyone who saw the game can see Kohli was riling up the opposition with his antics and therefore the fine is hundred percent justified. He has gotten away with worse in the past

Bollywood classic in the making....

==

<blockquote class="instagram-media" data-instgrm-captioned data-instgrm-permalink="https://www.instagram.com/p/Cr6HMAhoZZ9/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" data-instgrm-version="14" style=" background:#FFF; border:0; border-radius:3px; box-shadow:0 0 1px 0 rgba(0,0,0,0.5),0 1px 10px 0 rgba(0,0,0,0.15); margin: 1px; max-width:540px; min-width:326px; padding:0; width:99.375%; width:-webkit-calc(100% - 2px); width:calc(100% - 2px);"><div style="padding:16px;"> <a href="https://www.instagram.com/p/Cr6HMAhoZZ9/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" style=" background:#FFFFFF; line-height:0; padding:0 0; text-align:center; text-decoration:none; width:100%;" target="_blank"> <div style=" display: flex; flex-direction: row; align-items: center;"> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; flex-grow: 0; height: 40px; margin-right: 14px; width: 40px;"></div> <div style="display: flex; flex-direction: column; flex-grow: 1; justify-content: center;"> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; margin-bottom: 6px; width: 100px;"></div> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; width: 60px;"></div></div></div><div style="padding: 19% 0;"></div> <div style="display:block; height:50px; margin:0 auto 12px; width:50px;"><svg width="50px" height="50px" viewBox="0 0 60 60" version="1.1" xmlns="https://www.w3.org/2000/svg" xmlns:xlink="https://www.w3.org/1999/xlink"><g stroke="none" stroke-width="1" fill="none" fill-rule="evenodd"><g transform="translate(-511.000000, -20.000000)" fill="#000000"><g><path d="M556.869,30.41 C554.814,30.41 553.148,32.076 553.148,34.131 C553.148,36.186 554.814,37.852 556.869,37.852 C558.924,37.852 560.59,36.186 560.59,34.131 C560.59,32.076 558.924,30.41 556.869,30.41 M541,60.657 C535.114,60.657 530.342,55.887 530.342,50 C530.342,44.114 535.114,39.342 541,39.342 C546.887,39.342 551.658,44.114 551.658,50 C551.658,55.887 546.887,60.657 541,60.657 M541,33.886 C532.1,33.886 524.886,41.1 524.886,50 C524.886,58.899 532.1,66.113 541,66.113 C549.9,66.113 557.115,58.899 557.115,50 C557.115,41.1 549.9,33.886 541,33.886 M565.378,62.101 C565.244,65.022 564.756,66.606 564.346,67.663 C563.803,69.06 563.154,70.057 562.106,71.106 C561.058,72.155 560.06,72.803 558.662,73.347 C557.607,73.757 556.021,74.244 553.102,74.378 C549.944,74.521 548.997,74.552 541,74.552 C533.003,74.552 532.056,74.521 528.898,74.378 C525.979,74.244 524.393,73.757 523.338,73.347 C521.94,72.803 520.942,72.155 519.894,71.106 C518.846,70.057 518.197,69.06 517.654,67.663 C517.244,66.606 516.755,65.022 516.623,62.101 C516.479,58.943 516.448,57.996 516.448,50 C516.448,42.003 516.479,41.056 516.623,37.899 C516.755,34.978 517.244,33.391 517.654,32.338 C518.197,30.938 518.846,29.942 519.894,28.894 C520.942,27.846 521.94,27.196 523.338,26.654 C524.393,26.244 525.979,25.756 528.898,25.623 C532.057,25.479 533.004,25.448 541,25.448 C548.997,25.448 549.943,25.479 553.102,25.623 C556.021,25.756 557.607,26.244 558.662,26.654 C560.06,27.196 561.058,27.846 562.106,28.894 C563.154,29.942 563.803,30.938 564.346,32.338 C564.756,33.391 565.244,34.978 565.378,37.899 C565.522,41.056 565.552,42.003 565.552,50 C565.552,57.996 565.522,58.943 565.378,62.101 M570.82,37.631 C570.674,34.438 570.167,32.258 569.425,30.349 C568.659,28.377 567.633,26.702 565.965,25.035 C564.297,23.368 562.623,22.342 560.652,21.575 C558.743,20.834 556.562,20.326 553.369,20.18 C550.169,20.033 549.148,20 541,20 C532.853,20 531.831,20.033 528.631,20.18 C525.438,20.326 523.257,20.834 521.349,21.575 C519.376,22.342 517.703,23.368 516.035,25.035 C514.368,26.702 513.342,28.377 512.574,30.349 C511.834,32.258 511.326,34.438 511.181,37.631 C511.035,40.831 511,41.851 511,50 C511,58.147 511.035,59.17 511.181,62.369 C511.326,65.562 511.834,67.743 512.574,69.651 C513.342,71.625 514.368,73.296 516.035,74.965 C517.703,76.634 519.376,77.658 521.349,78.425 C523.257,79.167 525.438,79.673 528.631,79.82 C531.831,79.965 532.853,80.001 541,80.001 C549.148,80.001 550.169,79.965 553.369,79.82 C556.562,79.673 558.743,79.167 560.652,78.425 C562.623,77.658 564.297,76.634 565.965,74.965 C567.633,73.296 568.659,71.625 569.425,69.651 C570.167,67.743 570.674,65.562 570.82,62.369 C570.966,59.17 571,58.147 571,50 C571,41.851 570.966,40.831 570.82,37.631"></path></g></g></g></svg></div><div style="padding-top: 8px;"> <div style=" color:#3897f0; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; font-style:normal; font-weight:550; line-height:18px;">View this post on Instagram</div></div><div style="padding: 12.5% 0;"></div> <div style="display: flex; flex-direction: row; margin-bottom: 14px; align-items: center;"><div> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; height: 12.5px; width: 12.5px; transform: translateX(0px) translateY(7px);"></div> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; height: 12.5px; transform: rotate(-45deg) translateX(3px) translateY(1px); width: 12.5px; flex-grow: 0; margin-right: 14px; margin-left: 2px;"></div> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; height: 12.5px; width: 12.5px; transform: translateX(9px) translateY(-18px);"></div></div><div style="margin-left: 8px;"> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; flex-grow: 0; height: 20px; width: 20px;"></div> <div style=" width: 0; height: 0; border-top: 2px solid transparent; border-left: 6px solid #f4f4f4; border-bottom: 2px solid transparent; transform: translateX(16px) translateY(-4px) rotate(30deg)"></div></div><div style="margin-left: auto;"> <div style=" width: 0px; border-top: 8px solid #F4F4F4; border-right: 8px solid transparent; transform: translateY(16px);"></div> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; flex-grow: 0; height: 12px; width: 16px; transform: translateY(-4px);"></div> <div style=" width: 0; height: 0; border-top: 8px solid #F4F4F4; border-left: 8px solid transparent; transform: translateY(-4px) translateX(8px);"></div></div></div> <div style="display: flex; flex-direction: column; flex-grow: 1; justify-content: center; margin-bottom: 24px;"> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; margin-bottom: 6px; width: 224px;"></div> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; width: 144px;"></div></div></a><p style=" color:#c9c8cd; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; line-height:17px; margin-bottom:0; margin-top:8px; overflow:hidden; padding:8px 0 7px; text-align:center; text-overflow:ellipsis; white-space:nowrap;"><a href="https://www.instagram.com/p/Cr6HMAhoZZ9/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" style=" color:#c9c8cd; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; font-style:normal; font-weight:normal; line-height:17px; text-decoration:none;" target="_blank">A post shared by Naveen ul haq Murid (@naveen_ul_haq)</a></p></div></blockquote> <script async src="//www.instagram.com/embed.js"></script>

Just when it looked like the storm had passed, Naveen reignited the fire.

"Treat people the way you want to be treated. Talk to people the way you want to be talked to #With (Goat Emoji)," Naveen captioned the picture on Instagram.

Reacting to the post, Gambhir wrote: "Be who you are !! 'Never Change'."

NDTV

While Kohli put a quote on Instagram after the game without targeting anyone, Naveen wrote on his Instagram Story: "You get what you deserve that's how it should and that's how it goes."

Days after, Naveen shared a picture of his with Gautam Gambhir -- who too had a spat with Kohli in defence of the Afghanistan pacer on the match day -- and wrote: "Treat people the way you want to be treated. Talk to people the way you want to be talked to #With (Goat Emoji)."

On Tuesday, Naveen shared a story on Instagram from RCB's match against Mumbai Indians. It had social media buzzing with comments that he might be targeting Kohli again. However, he did not take any player's name in his story.

vAmVPvP.png

"Sweet mango's," wrote Naveen while sharing a picture of mangoes being put in front of a TV screen that had RCB vs MI match going on. It is worth noting that the visual the screen showed was right after Kohli (1) was dismissed.

NDTV

While Kohli put a quote on Instagram after the game without targeting anyone, Naveen wrote on his Instagram Story: "You get what you deserve that's how it should and that's how it goes."

Days after, Naveen shared a picture of his with Gautam Gambhir -- who too had a spat with Kohli in defence of the Afghanistan pacer on the match day -- and wrote: "Treat people the way you want to be treated. Talk to people the way you want to be talked to #With (Goat Emoji)."

On Tuesday, Naveen shared a story on Instagram from RCB's match against Mumbai Indians. It had social media buzzing with comments that he might be targeting Kohli again. However, he did not take any player's name in his story.

vAmVPvP.png

"Sweet mango's," wrote Naveen while sharing a picture of mangoes being put in front of a TV screen that had RCB vs MI match going on. It is worth noting that the visual the screen showed was right after Kohli (1) was dismissed.

NDTV

Oh those mangoes will taste sweeter now for Naveen

While Virat Kohli has been one of the top run-getters in the IPL 2023, his on-field exchanges too have been much talked about. The major heated exchange that he had with Lucknow Super Giants mentor Gautam Gambhir and pacer Naveen ul Haq during and after a match became a much publicised event. Though it has been over a week since the incident happened, cryptic posts by either side have kept the speculation going. Days after ugly scenes from the Lucknow Super Giants vs Royal Challengers Bangalore match in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023, LSG pacer Naveen a cryptic post on Instagram, seemingly taking a dig at Virat Kohli for the heated exchange the two recently had. Naveen, posting a picture with Gautam Gambhir, ignited another social media storm. The post also invited a comment from LSG mentor Gambhir.

"Treat people the way you want to be treated. Talk to people the way you want to be talked to #With (Goat Emoji)," Naveen captioned the picture on Instagram. Reacting to the post, Gambhir wrote: "Be who you are !! 'Never Change'."

Then during RCB's match against MI, Naveen again posted an Insta story with the caption: "Sweet Mangoes". He also posted an image which showed that he was watching the MI-RCB game.

Now, Kohli has posted an Instagram story, which has a video of American actor Kevin Hart, with the caption: "Words". The message in the video is pretty strong and social media users are connecting the post with his on-field exchanges.

"No matter how much emotion or how much hurt you may have, life has to go on. Life doesn't stop for anybody, so if you don't process that and understand that, you are stuck in whatever time period you got hurt forever. So, grudges and anger and negativity, I don't have time for," Kevin Hart can be heard saying in that video.

NDTV

During the match between Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) at Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Hyderabad on Saturday (May 13), LSG's dugout became the victim of crowd trouble, leading to another controversy. The trouble erupted in the 19th over of the SRH innings when a no-ball decision was overturned after a Decision Review System (DRS) check. The commentators were surprised as the delivery from Avesh appeared to be above Abdul Samad's waist, but the third umpire concluded that the batter was crouching and the ball was above the stumps.

This decision did not sit well with the home crowd and resulted in the crowd troubles in Hyderabad. The LSG dugout alleged that an object was thrown at them, leading to a five-minute stoppage of the game. The local police also got involved in the matter, which occurred in the stand behind where the LSG team was seated.

"Disappointed, that's not what you expect from the home crowd. Broke our momentum as well. Not so great umpiring either, hope they stay consistent," SRH batter Henrick Klaasen said criticising the home crowd and the umpires.

Such incidents of crowd trouble are unacceptable and can potentially cause harm to players and spectators. It is essential to maintain the spirit of the game and respect the decision of the officials. The incident highlights the need for better security measures and crowd control at sporting events.

Zee

Indian cricketer Gautam Gambhir has filed a defamation suit against Hindi newspaper Punjab Kesari for calling him "Bhasmasur." The term Bhasmasur is a reference to a demon in Hindu mythology who was granted a wish to turn anyone into ashes by touching their head.

Gambhir filed the suit in the Delhi High Court, seeking damages of Rs. 2 crore from the newspaper. He has also demanded an unconditional apology from the newspaper for the defamatory remarks.

Some of the reports mentioned in the suit are:
Sansad Gautam Gambhir Lapata Gali-Gali Me Lage Poster (MP Gautam Gambhir goes missing, posters come up in streets); Dilli ke lapata Sansad Lucknow Super Giants ke liye bane 'Bhasmasur' (Delhi's missing MP becomes Bhasmasur for Lucknow Super Giants); Adesh Gupta bolte reh gaye, Gautam Gambhir uth chale (Adesh Gupta kept talking, Gautam Gambhir left); Ye Naye Mijaz ke Sansad hai Jara Faaslo se Mila Karo (This is the MP of a new frame of mind, please keep distance while meeting him).

As per the lawsuit, the reports claim Gambhir to be a casteist person.

"It is the respectful case of the Plaintiff that the pattern of these defamatory publications is indicative of a willful campaign launched by the Defendants to lower the reputation and standing of the Plaintiff in the eyes of his constituents, supporters, and the public at large The Defendants undertook no effort to confirm or corroborate the veracity of their publication which further points out their collective malaise against the Plaintiff," the suit stated.

Apart from the high-octane action on the field in the IPL 2023, one major talking point in the cash-rich league has been the altercations between stars of various teams. Be it Royal Challengers Bangalore star Virat Kohli's on-field heated exchange with Lucknow Super Giants mentor Gautam Gambhir and pacer Naveen-ul-Haq. Or, KKR captain Nitish Rana's angry words with Mumbai Indians' Hrithik Shokeen. The on-field confrontations seem to be too many. Former India head coach Ravi Shastri feels that the IPL needs some on-field confrontations, which will spicen up things and pave the way for more rivalries.

"You need a little bit of confrontation there on the field. Where you draw a line, the match referee is there to see that. Once you're fined once or twice, you will be okay," Shastri said in a show.

Speaking further the on-field confrontations, Shastri explained the upside of the heated arguments that take place on Live TV.

"A lot of people told me, this is IPL. This is a live telecast. Why were they showing two players fighting? Ok, fair point. Because the world saw it. Now I will tell you the positive in that," Shastri continued.

"By seeing that, both the players will behave differently the next time. Because they will know there is a camera on them all the time. Then they will do the right thing for the massive audience that is watching. Kids, parents, friends. You then know what is the line.

"Have I used abusive language? Was my body language not right? Was that in the spirit of the game? Did I come across as a bad loser? All these things immediately come to the fore once you watch that footage. And then you learn. If you don't learn, then another fine will be around the corner or a suspension," said Shastri.

NDTV

Naveen-ul-Haq's Insta Story After RCB's Elimination Leaves Virat Kohli Fans Fuming
Naveen-ul-Haq shared a meme on social media right after Virat Kohli's RCB were eliminated from IPL 2023 following a defeat against GT.

There would be no Virat Kohli vs Naveen-ul-Haq Round 2 after Royal Challengers Bangalore were eliminated from the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 following a defeat against defending champions Gujarat Titans. Despite Kohli's record 7th IPL ton, RCB ended on the losing side as Shubman Gill also brought up a century. Gill's ton helped GT secure a 6-wicket win while the result meant curtains to the Bengaluru franchise's campaign. After RCB's elimination, Lucknow Super Giants pacer Naveen's Instagram story, however, left many Kohli fans fuming.

Naveen, who had an infamous spat with Kohli on May 1 during the RCB vs LSG match in the league stage of the campaign, posted a popular meme on his Instagram account.

Many fans felt the meme from Naveen is an attempt to mock Kohli as his team couldn't qualify for the playoffs while the Afghan pacer's team LSG did.

As for the match, Shubman Gill hit an unbeaten 104 to trump Virat Kohli's record century as holders Gujarat Titans knocked Royal Challengers Bangalore out of the IPL on Sunday.

The result allowed five-time winners Mumbai Indians to fill the fourth and final play-off spot after they hammered Sunrisers Hyderabad by eight wickets in the first match of the day.

Gill starred in the final group match with a 52-ball knock that steered Gujarat to victory with five balls to spare.

Gill hit the winning six to raise his second straight ton.

His hundred was the event's third of the day after Cameron Green's match-winning 100 for Mumbai and then Kohli's 101 not out.

Kohli hit his second successive hundred and seventh in the IPL to overtake Chris Gayle's six and steer Bangalore to 197-5 in a match that started an hour late due to rain in Bengaluru.

Listen to the latest songs, only on JioSaavn.com

The effort was in vain as Kohli's wait for an elusive IPL title goes on for another year.

NDTV

Has Naveen totally lost it?

What's to be gained from this?

Even GG is not saying anything.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 produced some avoidable scenes, particularly during a match between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Lucknow Super Giants on May 01. It was RCB stalwart Virat Kohli who clashed with LSG pacer Naveen-ul-Haq and later Gautam Gambhir on the field. The While the exact details of what transpired on the field still remain hidden, Gambhir has explained why he sided with Naveen and went head-to-head with Kohli, triggering one of the biggest on-field fights in the history of the T20 league.

Gambhir, in a chat with News18, explained that a lot was said about his and Kohli's argument on the field, particularly for TRPs. But what happened between them should stay between them as it doesn't need any 'clarification'.

"I have had fights on the cricket field before too but I have always kept that fight or argument limited to the cricket field only. There was an argument between two individuals and that should stay on the field and cross the boundary. A lot of people said a lot of things for TRP, and many called for interviews. Anything that happens between two people does not need to be clarified. It happened on the cricket field and not off the field. If it had happened somewhere else, off the field, then you can call it a fight. In the heat of the moment, two individuals who want to win for their team and have the right to win," Gambhir told News18 India.

Further during the chat, Gambhir explained his decision to side with Naveen as he felt that the Afghan pacer did nothing wrong to trigger the sort of response that he got from Kohli.

"I will say only this, that I will endorse what I did for the person who was right in that instance. If I feel that Naveen-ul-Haq did nothing wrong, then it is my duty to stand with him. And I will do that till my last breath, even it is for Naveen-ul-Haq or anyone. If I feel you are right, I will stand with you. This is what I have been taught and will continue to do. This is how I have been living my life. A lot of people said a lot of things, that I am supporting Naveen-ul-haq and not our own player. It was not that this player is ours and that player is not. If my team's player is wrong, I would not have sided with him," he explained.

NDTV

The mango fight between Kohli and Naveen seems to be over. This is an image from the today's game between India and Afghanistan.

naveen-kohli.jpeg

Naveen Ul Haq said, "Virat Kohli is a very nice guy. Delhi is his home ground and the crowd supported their hometown boy so they were chanting 'Kohli, Kohli'".

Showing a lot of maturity.
Good stuff

Let’s not take sports way too seriously.

Sorts must help us connect rather than create differences.

Sweet Mangoes Post Aimed At Virat Kohli? Naveen-ul-Haq Finally Reveals​

Virat Kohli and Naveen ul haq were at loggerheads during an Indian Premier League (IPL) game between Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Lucknow Super Giants earlier this year. Kohli and Naveen were involved in a war of words, until recently when both decided to bury the hatchet during the World Cup match between India and Afghanistan in Delhi. This turned out to be memorable moment for all the fans. While Virat and Naveen have put the infamous spat behind, the mystery behind the Afghan pacer's "sweet mangoes" story was yet to be solved. However, Naveen has now lifted the lid on the same.

"I had told Dhaval bhai (LSG team logistics) that I wanted to eat mangoes. And he got mangoes that night itself. When we went to Goa, he brought mangoes. So I was sitting in front of the screen and eating mangoes. There was no picture or anything (of Kohli), it was a Mumbai Indians player on the screen. So I wrote 'sweet mangoes' and everyone took it in a different way. So even I didn't say anything, I just left it. I thought it was mango season, so people's shops should also do well," Naveen said on LSG's YouTube channel.

Rohit got dismissed and we had a drinks break. After that I was going towards the long-on and when I saw Kohli, we had an eye contact. He said 'let's finish it', so, I said, ' Ya, let's finish it.' Neither he had nothing in his heart, nor did I," he added.

After Virat and Naveen hugged it out during the World Cup, the Afghan pacer was applauded throughout the tournament by the Indian fans

Source: NDTV

Naveen-ul-Haq Banned for 20 Months From Participation in ILT20 Due to Breach of Contract

"Unfortunately, Naveen-ul-Haq failed to honour his contractual obligations with the Sharjah Warriors and as such the league had no option but to impose this 20-month ban on him,” says CEO ILT20 David White

The International League T20 has banned fast bowler Naveen-ul-Haq for 20 months for breaching his Player Agreement with Sharjah Warriors who had signed him for Season 1 of the tournament. Naveen was offered another year’s extension by the Warriors but refused to sign the retention notice for Season 2.

Naveen played for Sharjah Warriors in Season 1 of the ILT20 (January-February 2023) who earlier this year sent him a retention notice on the same terms and conditions in accordance with the Player Agreement terms.

Sharjah Warriors approached the ILT20 to intervene in this dispute. The ILT20 first initiated a mediation process through an independent third-party mediator, however the mediation failed.

The ILT20’s three-member Disciplinary Committee which includes the league’s Chief Executive Officer David White, Head of Security and Anti-Corruption Col. Azam and Member Emirates Cricket Board Zayed Abbas separately heard both the parties i.e. Naveen and Sharjah Warriors and on examining the evidence before them conveyed its final verdict of a 20-month ban on Naveen.

News 18

'I texted Virat Kohli when he had a fight with Gautam Gambhir': Pakistan batter's DM that sparked viral Asia Cup moment

When Virat Kohli and Gautam Gambhir nearly came to blows during the last IPL, it made for one of the ugliest on-field spats in recent memory. Neither was going to back down; it was that intense and it required multiple individuals – from umpires to players – to pull them away from each other. As the most controversial moment of IPL 2023, Kohli and Gambhir were slammed for their behaviour, which many former cricketers felt was unbecoming of two of India's champion cricketers and more importantly, former teammates.

The news of Kohli and Gambhir's altercation spread across borders, prompting Pakistan batter Agha Salman to send an Instagram DM to Virat in the aftermath of the spat. Salman, in an interaction with Islamabad United touched upon the topic and although he did not reveal his exact message to Kohli, the 30-year-old did share some details.

"I have so much respect for Virat Kohli, I don't think there is any cricket fan in the world who doesn't respect him. I texted him, I am not going to tell you the complete details but will just tell you the start. It started with 'Virat Bhai', I texted him when he had a fight with Gautam Gambhir [during IPL 2023]," Salman said.

"I, Abdullah Shafique and Usama Mir were sitting together and watching a match, I think New Zealand were playing a series against Pakistan back then. There was nothing [negative] in that message that would make people think I said something bad."

How Virat Kohli reacted to the DM

Salman went on to reveal how his text to Kohli would go on to make one of the most viral moments of the 2023 Asia Cup in Sri Lanka. As India and Pakistan came together to play cricket for the first time since their epic clash at the T20 World Cup in Melbourne, a picture capturing Kohli, Salman and Shadab Khan sharing a laughter created social media buzz. Salman informed that when the picture was clicked, the three were discussing the DM episode and recalled Kohli's reaction to it.

"I mistakenly told Shadab Khan about texting Virat. You have watched the video of me, Shadab and Virat standing together [during Asia Cup 2023], actually, at that time, he [Shadab] had told him [Virat] that he texted him," he added.

"We had a bit of laughter after I told Virat that I texted you this, he then told me he may have missed the message as he receives thousands of messages every day. It was all Shadab's doing [telling Kohli]."

Agha clarifies Imam-ul-Haq's comments

In December, Pakistan batter Imam-ul-Haq shed light on Salman's text to Kohli, where he claimed that his teammates asked Kohli to 'calm down'. "Kohli bhai, easy ho jao. Kya ho gaya hai? [Kohli brother, take it easy. What happened?]," Imam said in a video. But Salman discarded Imam's statement urging folks not to believe.

"Don't take Imam seriously. He ends up saying something when in flow and then keeps trying to cover it. I never said anything of that sort. Even in that podcast, he was trying to do damage control towards the end for what he said," Salman said.

SOURCE: https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...ed-viral-asia-cup-moment-101709432189730.html

Gautam Gambhir Shakes Virat Kohli's Hand, Hugs Former Teammate During RCB-KKR Game Time Out in IPL 2024

Can you caption this: What is Virat Kohli telling Gautam Gambhir?

tEy4wt9.png

In a recent brand event, Virat Kohli left the audience in splits with his candid and humorous take on the reactions to his reconciliations with Naveen-ul-Haq and Gautam Gambhir:

“People have been disappointed with me as they didn’t like me hugging Naveen.”

“(Us din Gauti Bhai ne aake mereko Jhappi daaldi, toh matlab tumhara masala khatam ho gya toh (boo) kar rhe ho.) And then the other day Gautam bhai hugged me. The spice for you people has faded now and now you are booing me.”

View attachment YouCut_20240412_153904385.mp4

Gautam Gambhir emphasized that each player brings unique abilities to the team, highlighting the necessity for a balance between explosive hitters and anchor players. He expressed this viewpoint during an interview with digital sports media:

"Every player has a different game. What Maxwell can do, Kohli cannot, and what Kohli can do, Maxwell cannot. You need to have different types of batters in your XI. If from No.1 to No.8 you stack it up with explosive batters, you may score 300 but also get bowled out for 30. "When you win, even a strike rate of 100 is good. But when you lose despite having a strike rate of 180, no one talks about it. That is the reality."

"Didn't Like Gautam Gambhir's Gesture": Real Reason Behind Virat Kohli, Naveen-ul-Haq Clash Out

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 campaign produced some fiery clashes on the field, with Royal Challengers Bengaluru superstar Virat Kohli taking on Lucknow Super Giants' Naveen-ul-Haq. The clash between the two spiralled on beyond the match, with LSG coach Gautam Gambhir also throwing himself in the altercation. Gambhir and Kohli had a heated argument that prompted forced their teammates to intervene. Now, Lucknow spinner Amit Mishra has revealed what exactly was the reason behind such an explosive clash that season.

In a chat during a podcast on YouTube, LSG's veteran spinner Amit Mishra revealed that the story started a few matches before in Bengaluru when Lucknow mentor Gautam Gambhir had done the 'finger on mouth' gesture towards Bengaluru fans.

"It all started in Bengaluru where we (LSG) won the game and Gambhir expressed his aggression. The public was going mad so Gautam gestured them to keep quiet. Probably Virat Kohli didn't like that. We thought the matter ended with the game but not for Kohli," Mishra said.

Kohli, according to Mishra, was probably not happy with Gambhir's gesture and started to abuse LSG players when the two teams met again. Mishra said that Virat could've avoided certain things but he chose not to.

"He started abusing our players (in the LSG vs RCB rematch in Lucknow). He didn't have any grudges with Kyle Myers but he abused him as well. Naveen-ul-Haq was bowling, he would abuse him too. Bohot cheezein avoid ho sakti thi but Virat Kohli ne nahi ki (a lot of things would have been avoided but Kohli chose not to).

Kohli even had an altercation with Mishra when he was batting with Naven in the middle. As Mishra tried to calm things down, Virat told him to explain the same to Naveen, not him.

"When I was batting with Naveen, I asked Kohli, 'Who are you even talking to He's just a youngster and not even close to your stature. Whatever happened has happened.' He answered back, saying, "You make him understand that, not me."

As per Mishra, Virat didn't calm down even after the match concluded and continued to abuse Naveen, this is when Gambhir decided to intervene.

"But the problem began after the game. He (Kohli) started abusing him again during the customary handshakes. That's when Gambhir intervened, questing why are you starting it again when the game has ended and you guys have won. I moved Gambhir away but Naveen later came to the dressing and said that Kohli started abusing again," he added.

While Kohli and Naveen seemed to have buried to hatchet, having played against each other on multiple occasions since the incident, Mishra doesn't thing the Afghanistan pacer will ever respect the Team India batter again.

"For social media, it all seemed to be over between them. But do you think Naveen will respect Kohli ever again? What about the youngsters who saw the incident where a big star was abusing others," Mishra wondered.

NDTV

On Past Conflicts With Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli's Clear Message To BCCI​

As Gautam Gambhir begins his stint as the head coach of the Indian cricket team, many were left wondering what the situation would mean for Virat Kohli, a player who has had numerous on-field tussles with the former India opener. After Rahul Dravid's exit as India's head coach was confirmed, Gambhir emerged as the clear and favourite alternative, especially considering the work he has done in the Indian Premier League (IPL) over the last 2-3 years. With Virat Kohli also giving the nod to be a part of India's ODI assignment against Sri Lanka, it would be the first time that he would be working with Gambhir in the same team.

Amid this situation, a report in Cricbuzz has confirmed that Kohli has assured the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) that his differences with Gambhir in the past aren't going to impact their relationship within the Indian team. With the two working towards a common goal - the benefit of the Indian team - there isn't much that the board needs to be afraid of.

Both Gambhir and Kohli are known to wear their hearts on their sleeves while playing cricket. Be it as opponent teams' captains in the IPL or more recently, as a mentor and senior players of their respective franchises, the two have had some fiery clashes on the field. But, after Gambhir's switch to Kolkata Knight Riders as a mentor, it all seemed well between him and Kohli when they met during an IPL 2024 match.

A few months ago, Gambhir had spoken of his relationship with Kohli, saying the country doesn't even know what sort of a bond the two have.

"The perception is far away from the reality. My relationship with Virat Kohli is something this country doesn't need to know. He has as much right as I do to express himself and help our respective teams win. Our relation is not to give masala to the public," Gambhir had said.

Even Virat had admitted that people were disappointed in him after he hugged Naveen-ul-Haq and Gautam Gambhir.

"People are very disappointed with my behaviour. I hugged Naveen, and then the other day, Gauti bhai [Gautam Gambhir came and hugged me. Your masala is over, so you're booing. We're not kids anymore," Virat had said during a Puma event.

Both Kohli and skipper Rohit Sharma weren't expected to be available for the 3-match ODI series against Sri Lanka at first. But, considering it was Gambhir's first series in charge, the two made themselves available for selection.

On Past Conflicts With Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli's Clear Message To BCCI​

As Gautam Gambhir begins his stint as the head coach of the Indian cricket team, many were left wondering what the situation would mean for Virat Kohli, a player who has had numerous on-field tussles with the former India opener. After Rahul Dravid's exit as India's head coach was confirmed, Gambhir emerged as the clear and favourite alternative, especially considering the work he has done in the Indian Premier League (IPL) over the last 2-3 years. With Virat Kohli also giving the nod to be a part of India's ODI assignment against Sri Lanka, it would be the first time that he would be working with Gambhir in the same team.

Amid this situation, a report in Cricbuzz has confirmed that Kohli has assured the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) that his differences with Gambhir in the past aren't going to impact their relationship within the Indian team. With the two working towards a common goal - the benefit of the Indian team - there isn't much that the board needs to be afraid of.

Both Gambhir and Kohli are known to wear their hearts on their sleeves while playing cricket. Be it as opponent teams' captains in the IPL or more recently, as a mentor and senior players of their respective franchises, the two have had some fiery clashes on the field. But, after Gambhir's switch to Kolkata Knight Riders as a mentor, it all seemed well between him and Kohli when they met during an IPL 2024 match.

A few months ago, Gambhir had spoken of his relationship with Kohli, saying the country doesn't even know what sort of a bond the two have.

"The perception is far away from the reality. My relationship with Virat Kohli is something this country doesn't need to know. He has as much right as I do to express himself and help our respective teams win. Our relation is not to give masala to the public," Gambhir had said.

Even Virat had admitted that people were disappointed in him after he hugged Naveen-ul-Haq and Gautam Gambhir.

"People are very disappointed with my behaviour. I hugged Naveen, and then the other day, Gauti bhai [Gautam Gambhir came and hugged me. Your masala is over, so you're booing. We're not kids anymore," Virat had said during a Puma event.

Both Kohli and skipper Rohit Sharma weren't expected to be available for the 3-match ODI series against Sri Lanka at first. But, considering it was Gambhir's first series in charge, the two made themselves available for selection.

hahah a proper saas bahu show is going to launch soon when they both will share a same dressing room lol

In his first press conference as the newly appointed head coach of the Indian men's cricket team, Gautam Gambhir while addressing the media:

"What kind of a relationship with Virat Kohli is not for TRP. At the moment, we are representing India, we are representing 140 crore Indians. We have an excellent relationship with him off the field. But, it's not for the public. It's not important how many chats I've had with him during or after the game. He is a thorough professional, a world class athlete, and hopefully he will continue that way."

Rajat Bhatia, who faced off against Virat Kohli during his time with KKR in the IPL, recalled the famous 2013 on-field altercation between Gautam Gambhir, the then KKR captain, and Virat, the then Royal Challengers Bangalore RCB captain. Bhatia shared his thoughts on-air while commentating during Day 2 of the Delhi vs Railways match in the 2024-25 Ranji Trophy:

"People know me largely because I stopped a fight between two people. They remember that about me, more than my performances. Now, one has a stand, the other has a pavilion (laughs)."

"There are small confrontations in every team. Even in Delhi's Ranji team, there used to be. But you don't have to continue that. Today, one is the head coach and the other is a key part of the team."