[VIDEOS] Shahid Afridi's amazing charity work

Sirris

Too short but I still enjoyed it.

Let's not forget there are many innocent and helpless people from Waziristan who war effected the most by the war in tribal areas and the war against TTP. They deserve our support and love.

Respect to Afridi for driving to and supplying food for these poor people. Great majority of them are refugees suffering because of USA/Taliban.

Anyways, he is right, government must provide these area with facilities (schools, hospitals etc.).

You are a legend, Afridi! :afridi

More impression of what Afridi has been up to with the donation money.

Afridi has found purpose in life outside Cricket. Will make it a lot easier for him to handle post cricket retirement

Afridi in recent years has been quite vocal about the rights of people living in former tribal areas.

It is heartening to see him trying to make actual change on the ground using his position instead of hanging out with Safi types who have done more harm then good for the people of their region. Respect for Lala.:salute

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Ghar se masjid hai buhat door chalo youn ker lain<br>Kisi rote howe bache ko hansaya jaye <br><br>May Allah accept your good deeds <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAfridiOfficial</a> and keep you in His shade of love, Ameen. Aise hi neki k diye jalaate raho. <a href="https://t.co/bTKAFpYbhl">pic.twitter.com/bTKAFpYbhl</a></p>— Mushtaq Ahmed (@Mushy_online) <a href="https://twitter.com/Mushy_online/status/1252799005630889986?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 22, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Afridi’s doing some good work post-retirement. Shoaib Akhtar, see and learn!

ive been lucky to see and learn about a lot of his work and my respect for him has really gone up in the past year to 2 years.

especially opening up schools and encouraging girls from tribal areas to attend schools asides from madarsas may have huge long term impacts.

he talks about it quite a bit in his interview recently with wasim akram and it really raises the hair on the back of your neck

Well done afridi, very similar to his cousin javed and how much work he has done in Pakistan

Well done, Afridi.

He has a lot of fans worldwide and he can thus raise a lot of money.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">President <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/JK555squash?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@JK555squash</a> carried out <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> drive, in Banaras, (Karachi) & Country Head Rizwan Ahmed in Moro (Sindh) thanks to ZA Welfare. Supporting 400+ families. Ensuring <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> during <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Covid19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Covid19</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Quarantine?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Quarantine</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Stayhometosavelives?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Stayhometosavelives</a> <a href="https://t.co/KGY2Gs2zUr">https://t.co/KGY2Gs2zUr</a> <a href="https://t.co/GoRPyWob9L">pic.twitter.com/GoRPyWob9L</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1253399925397872642?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 23, 2020</a></blockquote>

I also like the fact that he is working in cooperation with other well respected charity organization in Pakistan and is not trying to be the one man army unlike his batting. :afridi

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">It has been a pleasure collaborating with Alkhidmat, as they were extremely vigilant to help organize the <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> campaign, supporting 770 struggling households. Ensuring <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> during <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Covid19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Covid19</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Quarantine?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Quarantine</a>. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Stayhometosavelives?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Stayhometosavelives</a> <a href="https://t.co/KGY2Gs2zUr">https://t.co/KGY2Gs2zUr</a> <a href="https://t.co/ubw6L50puE">pic.twitter.com/ubw6L50puE</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1252595436281573383?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 21, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

ive been lucky to see and learn about a lot of his work and my respect for him has really gone up in the past year to 2 years.

especially opening up schools and encouraging girls from tribal areas to attend schools asides from madarsas may have huge long term impacts.

he talks about it quite a bit in his interview recently with wasim akram and it really raises the hair on the back of your neck

That's great to hear. The main reason why I made the original post was due to his focus on people of Waziristan.

PTM might be a controversial movement with controversial figureheads, however we should always keep in mind that there are genuine concerns of tribal people that require an independent and unbiased investigation.

They have suffered the most at the hands of TTP and the army operation while being neglected in the past. PTM's controversial nature shouldn't give us the justification to vilify the people of tribal area as a whole community. Unfortunately, I see too many blind patriots on social media who in their attempt to shut up mischievous PTM supporters also end up condemning the tribal people altogether and downplay or justify their suffering.

Afridi in that regard is a good counter-balance and we need more people like him who are willing to support and speak up for the people of Waziristan without using them as tool to promote their personal bias.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">ہم پاکستان ہیں، پاکستان ہے تو ہم ہیں۔ہمارے بڑوں نے بھی پاکستان زندہ بادکانعرہ لگایاتھا ہم بھی یہی نعرہ لگائیں گےہماری آنے والی نسلیں بھی یہی نعرہ لگائیں گی: شاہدآفریدی کا لروبر بریگیڈ کو پیغام۔ پاکستانی پختونوں کے اصل سلجھے ہوئے نمائندہ یہ ہیں۔ اگلا وزیراعلیٰ<a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAfridiOfficial</a> <a href="https://t.co/sjx8GevUbz">pic.twitter.com/sjx8GevUbz</a></p>— Farzana Shah (@Jana_Shah) <a href="https://twitter.com/Jana_Shah/status/1252622039422296064?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 21, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

This sort of work requires a lot of passion, desire to give back selflessly and help others and some humility. A lot of the time you spent is often unrewarded in monetary terms, people who desire a life of comfort and luxury are not cut out for this.

It took Imran Khan 9 years to raise money for the first SK cancer hospital from 1985 to 1994 and he had to swallow his pride, ego, take a lot of setbacks on the chin, literally plead and beg people for donations after a lifetime of believing you are unsuccessful because you don't work hard, apply yourself in life, he had to travel all over Pakistan and outside Pakistan door to door for donations and he in many interviews insists it was this experience which convinced him that he should join politics and that the country of Pakistan can meet any challenge its people wanted too.

This sort of work full time is not meant for people like Wasim, Waqar, Shoaib, Inzamam, Miandad, Zaheer Abbass, Yousaf, Younis Khan e.t.c.

Some critics might argue Afridi is trying to do this for publicity and is setting the groundwork for joining politics in the future.

People would always find a way to criticize. Talk is cheap.

Afridi is literally going to people's homes to personally help them! Maybe critics should join him and help people in need around their areas.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">As <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Ramadan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Ramadan</a> begins, <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> Ration Drive continues going door to door to those living in remote areas and in need in Nawakaly Mingora & Faizabad, Swat.<br>Ensuring <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> during <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Covid19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Covid19</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Quarantine?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Quarantine</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Stayhometosavelives?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Stayhometosavelives</a><a href="https://t.co/KGY2Gs2zUr">https://t.co/KGY2Gs2zUr</a> <a href="https://t.co/6mfkHPfA77">pic.twitter.com/6mfkHPfA77</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1254017106317840384?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 25, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Afridi in recent years has been quite vocal about the rights of people living in former tribal areas.

It is heartening to see him trying to make actual change on the ground using his position instead of hanging out with Safi types who have done more harm then good for the people of their region. Respect for Lala.:salute

They both came together

Afridi discussed this controversial question recently. Afridi knows how to crack tough question!

I am surprised by Imran Khan critics, they never say anything boldly against the likes of Nawaz Sharif, Zardari, Billawal when they are in power but have zero fear in coming out criticizing IK. Does Afridi even know about the 18th amendment and the fact that PPP has been in charge of Sindh for the last ten years and Karachi comes under Sindh? Does he realize that MQM has been responsible for Karachi for the longest time? Why no criticism for these parties?

I have heard rumours that IK was the major reason for the split between Javed and Shahid Afridi?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">My all time favourite of the greatest players, who I myself would dread bowling to &#55357;&#56876;! <br>Thank you so much for your kind words of support, brother <a href="https://twitter.com/BrianLara?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@BrianLara</a>.<br>Please continue to support our efforts with your kind donations: <a href="https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT">https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> <a href="https://t.co/T22U75U2o4">pic.twitter.com/T22U75U2o4</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1254444256422432777?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 26, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I am surprised by Imran Khan critics, they never say anything boldly against the likes of Nawaz Sharif, Zardari, Billawal when they are in power but have zero fear in coming out criticizing IK. Does Afridi even know about the 18th amendment and the fact that PPP has been in charge of Sindh for the last ten years and Karachi comes under Sindh? Does he realize that MQM has been responsible for Karachi for the longest time? Why no criticism for these parties?

I have heard rumours that IK was the major reason for the split between Javed and Shahid Afridi?

I thought Afridi's criticism of Imran Khan was pretty balanced. It was like from a friend to a friend. Safi was leading the interview and asked Afridi specifically about Imran Khan's performance since both were from similar backgrounds. The other politicians are crooks and not worthy of debate and Saleem Safi didn't ask about Afridi's opinion on them.

Imran Khan isn't an angel and a healthy amount of criticism is sometimes necessary.

Afridi was no role model on the field and I've made my criticisms of Afridi the cricketer known.

However off the field, Afridi is proving to be a tremendous role model. This is admirable stuff and making a real difference to peoples' lives.

I thought Afridi's criticism of Imran Khan was pretty balanced. It was like from a friend to a friend. Safi was leading the interview and asked Afridi specifically about Imran Khan's performance since both were from similar backgrounds. The other politicians are crooks and not worthy of debate and Saleem Safi didn't ask about Afridi's opinion on them.

Imran Khan isn't an angel and a healthy amount of criticism is sometimes necessary.

Not denying it, i thought the criticism was balanced. What upsets and annoys me is why didn't he bother or should i say dare to label the same criticism against Nawaz Sharif, Asif Zardari, Billawal Bhutto in the public media when they were in power from 2008 to 2018? Is it because he feared that they would come to his home and beat the crap out of him but Imran Khan wont? This is the problem with our awaan in general, they will pick on easy, soft targets but go missing when a real goon is in power

Its a good sign for PK that people can criticise the PM and not fear their family will be kidnapped or killed. We all know what happened at Model Town and to the Journalist in Sindh that told us that Billo needed paid cheer leaders in Sindh.

Everyone knows what happened to that customs officer who was honestly doing his duty in the Ayyan Ali case which blatantly implicated Billawal House and Zardari, the poor guy lost his life and the Supreme Court of the Country directed Ayyan Ali's name be removed from the exit control list. Where was Shahid Afridi's opinions and criticisms against the PPP Sindh government and Zardari then?

I cannot take this individual seriously if he does not have the balls to single out Nawaz Sharif, Asif Zardari, Billawal Bhutto in public.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Personal protective equipment is in short supply. <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> and <a href="https://twitter.com/ChaudhryTkc?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ChaudhryTkc</a> have arranged packages of PPE suits to be distributed amongst front line responders across the UK. <br>Ensuring <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> for all during <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Covid19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Covid19</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Quarantine?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Quarantine</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Stayhometosavelives?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Stayhometosavelives</a> & <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> <a href="https://t.co/Bh362rXtOL">pic.twitter.com/Bh362rXtOL</a></p>— Shahid Afridi Foundation (@SAFoundationN) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN/status/1255209331290705923?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 28, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">“The neighbour that is the best to Allah (SWT) is the one that is best to his neighbour" Sunan At-Tirmidhi 1944 <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> drive reaches Ghulam Banda, Afghan Refugee camp, Kohat. Ensuring <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> <br>پاکستان بھر تک, آپ کے گھر تک <a href="https://t.co/KGY2Gs2zUr">https://t.co/KGY2Gs2zUr</a> <a href="https://t.co/OhkWnXQRLa">pic.twitter.com/OhkWnXQRLa</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1255512522456793088?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 29, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Devastated to see the extreme poverty and suffering in Khuzdar, Baluchistan. 1000 families were provided ration through <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a>, with support of D.C Khuzdar, Mr. Tufail Baloch & Pakistan Army, Frontier Corp and Police <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOutfor?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOutfor</a> all during <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Covid19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Covid19</a> <a href="https://t.co/GxUABQuInh">pic.twitter.com/GxUABQuInh</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1256256779693854727?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 1, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">"Give to those who have never given anything to you." Prophet Muhammad(S.A.W) <br>2nd <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> drive in Balochistan: 1000 ration bags distributed in Mustung. Thanks to Mahboob Achakzai, D.C Mastung, F.C, Pak Army & Police for their support, ensuring <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> <a href="https://t.co/0QHYZslpp9">pic.twitter.com/0QHYZslpp9</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1256579914582630400?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 2, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">"The best among you are those who bring greatest benefits to others" - Prophet Muhammad (S.A.W)<br>Extremely saddened to see poverty of Balochistan. <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> drive reached Pishīn with the assistance of Pak Army, F.C, Police & DC Qaim Khan Lashari <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> <a href="https://t.co/VM7XVUn24o">pic.twitter.com/VM7XVUn24o</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1256940083749564416?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 3, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">"Whoever does something good in this month, Allah (SWT) multiplies it by 70.” Al-Tirmidhi<br><br>Thanking I.G Balochistan, Mr. Mohsin Butt, for giving me the opportunity to provide for the families of martyr heroes of the Police at DIG House, Quetta<br>پاکستان بھر تک, آپ کے گھر تک <a href="https://t.co/7NtQCm9IHd">pic.twitter.com/7NtQCm9IHd</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1257287163890327553?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 4, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">“The best of you are those who feed others.”<br>Musnad Aḥmad 23408<br><br>Returning from <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> Ration Drive, Balochistan. Cash & food was given to the poor waiting roadside during <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Covid19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Covid19</a><br>پاکستان بھر تک, آپ کے گھر تک<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a><a href="https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT">https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT</a> <a href="https://t.co/TGmT8boARf">pic.twitter.com/TGmT8boARf</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1257680667195912192?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 5, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The legendary boxer Muhammad Ali "Service to others is the rent you pay for your room here on earth"<br><br>Video of Shahid Afridi continuing to do his bit for humanity<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/COVID19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#COVID19</a> <a href="https://t.co/zlwuhkA7F2">pic.twitter.com/zlwuhkA7F2</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1258733286668546049?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 8, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">“Whoever helps his brother in his time of need, Allah (SWT) will be there in his time of need.” [Muslim]<a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> Ration Drive with the support of Jahanzaib Shahwani AC(UT) District Khuzdar, distributed ration to another 300 households<a href="https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT">https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT</a> <a href="https://t.co/GKYnmmewgv">pic.twitter.com/GKYnmmewgv</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1258766401248133120?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 8, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Prophet Mohammed (SAW): “the acts most pleasing to Allah (SWT) are those which are done continuously, even if they are small.”<br> <a href="https://twitter.com/ZakariaMasjid?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ZakariaMasjid</a> joins <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> Ration Drive in Karachi during <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Covid19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Covid19</a><br><br>پاکستان بھر تک, آپ کے گھر تک<a href="https://t.co/KGY2Gs2zUr">https://t.co/KGY2Gs2zUr</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/MillionMeals?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#MillionMeals</a> <a href="https://t.co/EBaGCiUEZx">pic.twitter.com/EBaGCiUEZx</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1259147459365920768?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 9, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">We are in it together and we shall prevail together. Unity is our strength. Visited Sri Lakshmi Narain mandir along with <a href="https://twitter.com/JK555squash?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@JK555squash</a> President <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> to deliver essential food items.<br>Ensuring <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a><br>پاکستان بھر تک, آپ کے گھر تک<br> <a href="https://t.co/KGY2Gs2zUr">https://t.co/KGY2Gs2zUr</a> <a href="https://t.co/1VpOhSkc8L">pic.twitter.com/1VpOhSkc8L</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1259461825860702208?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 10, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Mashallah! Proud of the champion that is Afridi. He seems to have made it his life's mission to help the needy and the poor. We need more Afridis in this world!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Thank u Larkana.<a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> will reach as many families as it can. We owe our safety 2 brave members of SindhPolice. Special thanks 2 SSP Bangash for arranging the meeting with Shuhada families. Resilient spirit of Sindhis defines Pakistan. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> <a href="https://t.co/Kix7iGoTmr">pic.twitter.com/Kix7iGoTmr</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1260573189689745411?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 13, 2020</a></blockquote>

Afridi is 100 times the humanitarian than he was a cricketer. Not a bad thing at all.

I'd feel happier if he were always pictured wearing a mask. But hopefully he stays fit and healthy.

Doesn't seem too impressed with Imran Khan. Is it Afridi just being a straight-shooter, or does he have vested interests in this?

Something doesn't seem right, he has been very vocal against IK and the PTI in the last 3-4 years but has never said anything against Zardari and Nawaz Sharif. In fact in his book he praised NS for the development work he did in Lahore and he singled out Imran Khan in a few interviews for not doing much in Peshawar. IK then fired back at Afridi saying he lacks the understanding that these big mega projects are superficial in nature and are a huge source of kickbacks and corruption as we learnt in the Punjab Saaf Paani scandal where Rs 3 billion were unaccounted for and the project did not even commence.

I like critics to be consistent.

Something doesn't seem right, he has been very vocal against IK and the PTI in the last 3-4 years but has never said anything against Zardari and Nawaz Sharif. In fact in his book he praised NS for the development work he did in Lahore and he singled out Imran Khan in a few interviews for not doing much in Peshawar. IK then fired back at Afridi saying he lacks the understanding that these big mega projects are superficial in nature and are a huge source of kickbacks and corruption as we learnt in the Punjab Saaf Paani scandal where Rs 3 billion were unaccounted for and the project did not even commence.

I like critics to be consistent.

Oh ok. Thanks.

Doesn't seem too impressed with Imran Khan. Is it Afridi just being a straight-shooter, or does he have vested interests in this?

I think his criticism of Imran Khan makes sense and is valid. Maybe he is more vocal in criticism towards Imran Khan because he expected more and feels like he has the permission to criticize due to old friendship.

I would go with this, though Savak above has put out an alt version that also seems valid.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">الکاسب حبیب اللہ۔۔۔<br>شاہد آفریدی فاونڈیشن کی کئی ٹیمیں، پاکستان کے مختلف حصوں میں اپنا فرض نبھا رہی ہیں۔ گھارو کے مزدور گھرانوں تک پہنچنے میں مدد کرنے پہ میں آپ کا شکر گزار ہوں<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> <a href="https://t.co/occ1GGZr2e">pic.twitter.com/occ1GGZr2e</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1260881052849111047?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 14, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">شاہد آفریدی فاونڈیشن، <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> <br>راولاکوٹ کے لوگوں تک پہنچنے میں مدد کرنے پہ مقامی انتظامیہ کی مشکور ہے۔ آپ کی امیدیں ہمارا حوصلہ اور ہمارا فخر ہیں۔۔<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> <a href="https://t.co/fHomJHPKlE">pic.twitter.com/fHomJHPKlE</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1261960923633332224?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 17, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Prophet (S.A.W) -“If you want to soften your heart, feed the poor and pat the head of the orphan.”(Musnad Aḥmad 7522)<a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> Ration Drive for 200 households in Thaheem Goth Near Thatta, Sindh.<br>With <a href="https://twitter.com/IDRFcanada?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@IDRFcanada</a> ensuring <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a><a href="https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT">https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT</a> <a href="https://t.co/Y2TwaPeOpR">pic.twitter.com/Y2TwaPeOpR</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1263446821076193281?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 21, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">In the spirit of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Ramadan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Ramadan</a> our <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> Ration Drive volunteers have taken to the streets of Karachi distributing food supplies to all those who work hard to make ends meet, especially in these difficult times. <br>Ensuring <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> for all <a href="https://t.co/Qfp8WhFO3n">pic.twitter.com/Qfp8WhFO3n</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1264172063050412034?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 23, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">"We feed you for the sake of Allah alone: We seek neither recompense nor thanks from you." [Surat al-Insan: 9]<a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> Ration Drive distributed food supplies to the most needy on the streets of Karachi.<br>Ensuring <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> for all during <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Eid2020?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Eid2020</a> <a href="https://t.co/PU2EtDzGdT">pic.twitter.com/PU2EtDzGdT</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1264592627980214273?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 24, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Our <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SAF?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SAF</a> volunteers do not discriminate on the basis of gender, race or ethnicity while carrying out <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> Ration Drive in Islamabad.<br>Ensuring <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> for all during <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Covid19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Covid19</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Quarantine?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Quarantine</a> <a href="https://t.co/tnzBVSuqG1">pic.twitter.com/tnzBVSuqG1</a></p>— Shahid Afridi Foundation (@SAFoundationN) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN/status/1265629442854060032?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 27, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Our <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> Ration Drive was carried out at Gharo, with the support of <a href="https://twitter.com/Muslims_In_Need?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Muslims_In_Need</a>. Proud to see my daughter join our efforts, ensuring <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> for all during <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Covid19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Covid19</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Quarantine?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Quarantine</a><br>پاکستان بھر تک, آپ کے گھر تک<a href="https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT">https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT</a> <a href="https://t.co/68U2nVjkL0">pic.twitter.com/68U2nVjkL0</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1266359176323911681?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 29, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="und" dir="ltr">T- together <br>E- each<br>A- achieves<br>M- more<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> Ration Drive <br>پاکستان بھر تک, آپ کے گھر تک<a href="https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT">https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT</a> <a href="https://t.co/8axlPR3PtK">pic.twitter.com/8axlPR3PtK</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1266016920907759618?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 28, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Our <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> team reaches Allah Nawaz Goth Mirpurkhas, Sindh, for <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> Ration Drive to distribute 200 ration bags, with the assistance of <a href="https://twitter.com/IDRFcanada?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@IDRFcanada</a>. Ensuring <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> for all during <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Covid19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Covid19</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Quarantine?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Quarantine</a><br>پاکستان بھر تک, آپ کے گھر تک<a href="https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT">https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT</a> <a href="https://t.co/5R3thfGsx2">pic.twitter.com/5R3thfGsx2</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1267423514153418754?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 1, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">We again reached Balochistan to support struggling families. Our <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> Ration Drive, assisted by <a href="https://twitter.com/APPNA_Central?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@APPNA_Central</a> provided 500 food packages in Bela, Lasbela District. Thanks to DC Bela for assistance<br> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a><br>پاکستان بھر تک, آپ کے گھر تک
<a href="https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT">https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT</a> <a href="https://t.co/JIsWla5IrQ">pic.twitter.com/JIsWla5IrQ</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1267450141549768710?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 1, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Good stuff by Afridi.

He should prioritize reaching out to under-looked areas of the country and stay away from wild Bayan Bazi and too many photo sessions with the army.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Today was the 60th Ration Drive of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> campaign. Humbled by the ongoing support <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> is receiving. Distributed ration to 500families at Chaman(Pak Afghan border)Thanking DC Chaman for support. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a><br>پاکستان بھر تک, آپ کے گھر تک<a href="https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT">https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT</a> <a href="https://t.co/wp3USkPVw4">pic.twitter.com/wp3USkPVw4</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1267805678271369217?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 2, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Todays <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> Ration Drive is lending support to 500 vulnerable families of Nushki Balochistan,ensuring <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> during <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Covid19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Covid19</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Quarantine?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Quarantine</a><br>Thanking DC Nushki Capt Jameel, Police ,FC and Pak army<br>پاکستان بھر تک, آپ کے گھر تک<a href="https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT">https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT</a> <a href="https://t.co/KJ5g1Nkntp">pic.twitter.com/KJ5g1Nkntp</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1268176742482694147?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 3, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">“Love is the only way to rescue humanity from all ills.” Leo Tolstoy<br>500 families distributed ration in Qila Saifullah, Balochistan through <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> Ration Drive, assisted by DC Habib Kakar.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a><br>پاکستان بھر تک, آپ کے گھر تک<a href="https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT">https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT</a> <a href="https://t.co/16QNMMF4Ys">pic.twitter.com/16QNMMF4Ys</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1268516416988340224?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 4, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Our <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> Ration Drive is going deep into beautiful Balochistan. Today we reach Zhob to help another 500 families, making those with special needs our priority.<br>Thanks to AC Zhob Arif Kakkar & Police<br>پاکستان بھر تک, آپ کے گھر تک<a href="https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT">https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT</a> <a href="https://t.co/nUczU2mAHI">pic.twitter.com/nUczU2mAHI</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1268836800858140672?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 5, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Its an amazing sight to see how GoP has supported Afghan refugee settlements at Pishin Afghan Border. <br>Supported 1,000 Afghan families through our <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> Ration Drive for a <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> tomorrow. <br>Thanks to DC Pishin<br>پاکستان بھر تک, آپ کے گھر تک<a href="https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT">https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT</a> <a href="https://t.co/hJOwKnddp4">pic.twitter.com/hJOwKnddp4</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1269267169801646080?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 6, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Afridi at a press conference in Balochistan:

"Balochistan has a lot of cricketing talent, even footballing talent. I am always available for cricket here. I had asked for a cricket academy to be set up here. I will keep coming here from Karachi. There is good talent here. Why don't we see players in the Pakistan team from Balochistan? It's not that there isn't talent but the kids don't have the facilities. If an academy is set up here, I say that if there are good kids in it and I like them then I will take them to Karachi and they will live with me. Alongside cricket, I will also give them an education. It's not necessary that they only play cricket. Studies are also important. Education is the most important thing for a country.

"I was driving around and saw lots of huts on the way. Lots of kids were there, running around barefoot. I stopped the car on the side to give them ration etc. I was also giving them some shoes. The weather was hot and the ground had stones and dirt and they were running around barefoot. One child kept crying, I gave him shoes and told him to stop crying. I realized he was standing on one foot and hobbling. I lifted up his other foot and saw three thorns in his foot and made him wear the shoes. The smile on his face, I can't explain it in words. I did something so small, but the child was so extremely happy. Isn't this a responsibility for all of us? We give our kids shoes worth 10,000, can't we spend 600-700 on some shoes for these type of kids?

"I am traveling the whole of Pakistan alone, I can't help everyone. I just want to give a message with my videos and pictures. I don't want this to be given a political color. This country has given me a lot and I just want to help others. I thank Allah that he has put this in me, to help humanity. I implore NGOs to also go to such areas. If I can come to such places then why can't NGOs do this when they have been around for decades? Please don't take this negatively.

"I don't know if we will have a Kashmir team in PSL but I wish that during my last season of PSL, I either play for a Kashmir team, or Balochistan (Quetta).

"I have said this before and I will say it again, the day Shahid Afridi's intentions are wrong, the foundation will shut down. The respect that Allah has given me over the last 25 years is something that He gives to very few people. I don't have any great desire to take pictures or videos but I want to take pictures and videos for all those people who donate to us, so that they can see that their donations have been delivered to all these people. If we people can wear expensive shoes then can't these kids also wear shoes? I try to motivate people, I can't do everything myself, I want everyone to work together. The day that I do this for show or to become PM, that day this work will stop and Allah won't accept it from me.

"Isn't it easy for me to sit at home? Why should I bring my family here to Balochistan? Everyone sits at home and you'll see them on Twitter and Facebook Live. Who will work? Is our country so developed that we can just sit at home and everyone will have ration? You have to go out and reach those people.

"I have no intention to join politics. What happens in future, and where Allah takes me, He knows better. For me, today is the most important and beautiful day. What happens tomorrow, Allah knows best. Then don't say to me that you have taken a u-turn. Only Allah knows what will happen tomorrow."

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shahid Afridi "What happens in future, and where Allah takes me, only He knows better. For me, only today is the most important and beautiful day" <a href="https://t.co/FGcfg8XRqf">pic.twitter.com/FGcfg8XRqf</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1269600210306715648?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 7, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">In the blistering heat, on hot sands and across this rocky terrain many travel bare foot. Along with the food drive we’ve been distributing shoes to children of the poorest families; small gestures but delivering impact to provide ease to those in need <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> <a href="https://t.co/3nseUK0kzC">pic.twitter.com/3nseUK0kzC</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1269882130781417472?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 8, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I would like to thank all of our supporters throughout <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> Ration Drive. Our efforts continue in Balochistan where food supplies & shoes for children were distributed in remote areas across the province<br>Ensuring <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> <br>پاکستان بھر تک, آپ کے گھر تک <a href="https://t.co/XQbmNlStig">pic.twitter.com/XQbmNlStig</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1270640394934591488?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 10, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Our quest to help the needy continues; we catered to more struggling households assisted by <a href="https://twitter.com/IDRFcanada?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@IDRFcanada</a> at Kashmore, Sindh.<br>Ensuring <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> for all during <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Covid19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Covid19</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Quarantine?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Quarantine</a><br>پاکستان بھر تک, آپ کے گھر تک<a href="https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT">https://t.co/tw5QOQY9oT</a> <a href="https://t.co/fLVhyx2IlD">pic.twitter.com/fLVhyx2IlD</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1271085645377781760?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 11, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Inaugurated ground breaking ceremony of Labour Rooms & allied facilities at <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Patrak?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Patrak</a> Cat D Hosp in Upper Dir. After discussing various issues w/ local community, <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SAF?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SAF</a> vowed to provide water supply scheme as <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/WASH?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#WASH</a> initiatives.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SDG3?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SDG3</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SDG6?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SDG6</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/PakistanSDGs?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@PakistanSDGs</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/UNDP_Pakistan?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@UNDP_Pakistan</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/SDGaction?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SDGaction</a> <a href="https://t.co/zAi5AcOuoH">pic.twitter.com/zAi5AcOuoH</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1285931740243124224?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 22, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Yet another milestone has been achieved-a cause very dear to me; in collaboration with <a href="https://twitter.com/PAHCHAAN_2005?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@PAHCHAAN_2005</a> our <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SAFhealth?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SAFhealth</a> Mother Child Health Promotion Center in Malikpur Lahore, will provide free maternal & neonatal health care services<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> for all<a href="https://t.co/JypBfL0nL8">https://t.co/JypBfL0nL8</a> <a href="https://t.co/VhNg48909s">pic.twitter.com/VhNg48909s</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1287007440022773764?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 25, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">It’s heart wrenching to see the only library in District Tank, KP, closed for over 15 years now. Youth is our future & education is paramount to their development. I will ensure restoration of this library with help of my foundation <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/hopenotout?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#hopenotout</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/education?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#education</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/saf?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#saf</a> <a href="https://t.co/fbL7Z0Mnhh">https://t.co/fbL7Z0Mnhh</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1295721663263387648?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 18, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

PESHAWAR: Cricket star Shahid Afridi has pledged to rebuild the sole public library of Tank district, an institution which once was a bustling cultural center of the impoverished region in northwestern Pakistan.

The library was established in Tank city, the district’s main town, in the early 1970s. In severely dilapidated condition, it has been closed for the past 15 years as the local administration has no means to maintain it.

“I’ve already talked to the top district administrator to clean up the library’s premises. Though I live far away in Karachi, I often think about the youth of the restive region who have matchless talent and need to be educated,” Afridi, the superstar allrounder, told Arab News on Saturday, after images showing the demolished library made the rounds on social media.

Afridi said he will restore and furnish the building with the help of his Shahid Afridi Foundation, and will supply it with books.

“The people of Tank region and its peripheries had gone through severe hardships and ups and downs during the last few years,” the cricketer said, “The people of that region have great valor and profound love for Pakistan, and deserve quality education.”

Located in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province, Tank has a population of nearly 400,000 and is one of the poorest regions of Pakistan. It is part of Dera Ismail Khan division and a gateway to South Waziristan tribal district. The region’s development was affected by years of army operations against militants in South Waziristan in the past decade and an influx of internally displaced persons forced to flee the area.

Muhammad Faizan, municipal officer in Tank, told Arab News that the library’s closure was caused by acute financial problems, but the district administration had ignored it, despite repeated requests for support. The district’s commissioner was not available for comment when Arab News tried to reach him.

Dr. Tahir Javed, former district health officer of Tank, recalled his college years in the 1970s, when he would come with others to the library to study and for the best books and press. The most tragic thing, he said, is that the library’s collections have virtually all “disappeared.”

“The library would be packed with readers because students from the adjacent South Waziristan tribal district used to study there too. In the courtyard of the library, we used to play table tennis and badminton.”

In the morning, Javed said, pensioners would come to the library to read newspapers.
“When I used to study at the library, it was equipped with the latest books, novels, newspapers and magazines. I’m in tears when I see it’s deserted look today.”

https://www.arabnews.pk/node/1723451/pakistan

Afridi has been an inspirational figure, a positive light, and may Allah reward him for all the work he's doing.