[VIDEOS] The life and times of Dr Abdus Salam

Buffet

Post of the Week winner
Pakistan’s only Nobel laureate Abdus Salam was born in Santok Das, District Sahiwal, on January 29, 1926 a little over 85 years ago. He shared the 1979 physics Nobel Prize with Steven Weinberg and Sheldon Glashow for the historic unification of the weak nuclear force with the electromagnetic force.
Salam had already become famous in British India as a very young record-breaking student from Jhang, where he grew up, when he arrived at Government College, Lahore in 1942 as a bachelor’s student. At Government College, too, he continued his record-breaking streak in every major exam and passed out with a Master’s in mathematics in 1946.

Salam arrived at Cambridge as a student of Tripos mathematics in September, 1946 with a three-year scholarship. He completed his mathematics Tripos in two years with a first class. His teacher, Fred Hoyle, one of the most renowned astrophysicists of the 20th century, advised him to do the two-year physics Tripos in one year “as a challenge”. A few others had achieved this feat, after having done a math Tripos in first class. The list included two Nobel laureates — Sir GP Thomson, the grandfather of the present British High commissioner to Pakistan, and Sir Nevil Mott. However, both had secured a second class in the physics Tripos. The challenge was to secure a double first class. Salam was, to the utter surprise of some of his teachers, able to secure a first class in the physics Tripos as well, while completing it in one year. This was a most unusual achievement.

As a student of mathematics Tripos, Salam was influenced by Dirac, a theoretical physicist who came to occupy Newton’s chair at the age of 30, and whom Salam ranked above Einstein. He therefore decided to go do a PhD in physics. He was assigned to Nicholas Kemmer, who already had eight PhD students and had his hands full. However, he was told that Salam was better than all of those whom Kemmer was already supervising. Since Kemmer did not want another research student, he suggested that Salam go to Birmingham to work with Professor Rudolf Peierls. Salam was reluctant to leave Cambridge and so an understanding was reached that Kemmer would supervise Salam “peripherally”. Kemmer told Salam that all problems in Quantum Field Theory, the area in which Salam wanted to work, had already been solved by his outstanding student PT Matthews. He asked Salam to go to Matthews in case he had any problems left.

When Salam asked Matthews if he had any “crumbs” left, the latter gave him a problem on the agreement that if Salam failed to solve it in six months he would take the problem back. Matthews was writing up his thesis and had already become famous on account of his outstanding work. Matthews gave Salam a very difficult problem that he had not been able to solve. It was technically known as the problem of overlapping infinities in meson theory, which dealt with strong nuclear force and pertained to an area within Quantum Field Theory known as Renormalisation Theory. In the electromagnetic theory (known as QED – Quantum Electrodynamics) a similar problem had been encountered and the very young Dyson at Birmingham had contended that the problem could be solved in QED. So Salam phoned Dyson for help in the matter. As Dyson was leaving for Einstein’s institute at Princeton the following day, Salam travelled to Birmingham that very day and travelled back to London with Dyson the next morning. On the train the two discussed the problem. Dyson told Salam that he had only conjectured that the problem of overlapping infinities could be solved but had no proof! However, he did tell Salam the basis of his conjecture on the train.

Salam later wrote: “At Cambridge, amid the summer roses at the backs of the Colleges, I went back to the overlapping infinity problem to keep tryst with Matthews’s deadline. Using a generalisation of Dyson’s remarks I was able to show that spin-zero meson theories were indeed renormalisable to all orders. At that time transatlantic phone calls had not been invented. So I had vigorous correspondence with Dyson, with the fullest participation of Kemmer, my supervisor.” Within three months Salam had solved a problem whose solution had eluded the great Matthews and the great Dyson. The area was so difficult that Professor Kemmer, himself a leader in the subject, was compelled to write: “… some of the details are to this day too complicated for me to follow, at least in the time I have hitherto been able to spare for it…Today I feel I am much more Salam’s pupil than his teacher.”

Matthews, too, was astonished at Salam’s success. Based on the problem he gave Salam, he had chalked out a program for his post-doctoral work for an entire year at Princeton, but, as he told Kemmer “this chap Salam” has already solved the problem! Professor Bambah, who arrived at Cambridge in 1948, knew Salam from Government College. When he was going to Princeton in 1950, Salam asked him to tell Dyson that he had solved the problem of overlapping infinities. Dyson said to Bambah: “I don’t believe it, but if he has done so he will be very famous.”

When Bambah told Dyson that Salam had picked up the problem on account of a suggestion in his own work, Dyson said: “I had said that it should be done and not that it could be done.” Dyson was right — Salam was immediately catapulted to fame among researchers in the world of physics and he was just 24 at that time. In 1950 the world of physics had six young leaders with ages ranging between 24 and 32 years. These were Feynman (1918-1988) and Schwinger (1918-1994) in the US, Matthews (1919-1987), Salam (1926-1996) and Ward (1924-2000) in Britain and Dyson (born 1923) who grew up in the UK and worked at both, Birmingham, UK and Princeton, US. Three of them won the Nobel Prize, Feynman and Schwinger being the other two. Salam never looked back and continued making contributions of the highest order throughout his career.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/112098/the-life-and-times-of-dr-abdus-salam/

teaching.jpg

Teaching a class

---------

salam nobel.jpg

Receiving Nobel prize

-----------------

abdus salam.jpg

Posing with Nobel prize in Pakistani traditional dress

The country’s first national space agency, SUPARCO, was the brainchild of Dr. Salam, he had also signed an agreement with NASA for whose fulfillment the organization trained and educated Pakistan’s scientists and engineers, that were to later work for SUPARCO.

A work of his, that ensured that those who work for the organization are given the best of schooling and instruction, that they could later channel for Pakistan’s benefit. It was under his guidance and influence that ‘research in physics reached its maximum point that prompted the worldwide recognition of Pakistani physicists. He expanded the web of physics research and development in Pakistan by sending more than 500 scientists abroad.

‘In 1964, Salam was made head of Pakistan’s IAEA delegation and represented Pakistan for a decade. With an agreement signed with IAEA, the International Centre for Theoretical Physics was set up with Salam as its first director. At IAEA, Salam had tirelessly advocated the importance of nuclear power plants in his country.

The year 1965 is witness to some prime examples of Dr. Salam’s mental, intellectual and physical exertions that resulted into considerable gains for Pakistan. As Science Advisor to President Ayub Khan, he traveled to USA where an accord came into being that was followed by the provision of Pakistan’s first nuclear power plant in Karachi. He also closed an agreement with the Government of the United States for a research reactor in Rawalpindi. The same year, the plutonium Pakistan Atomic Research Reactor went critical under him.

Along with the Canada-Pakistan nuclear energy cooperation deal, Edward Durrell Stone’s designing and leadership of the construction of a nuclear research institute in Nilore, the realization of Dr. Salam’s longing for the establishment of research centers around the country, were also the fruits of his labours in that year.

Dr. Salam moved Pakistan Atomic Energy Commission Headquarters for situating laboratories and research centers all over Pakistan. It was on his advice, that the dedicated Ishrat Hussain Usmani set up plutonium and uranium exploration committees in Pakistan.

In the average Pakistani swank and jingoistic bluster, the mention of Pakistan’s position as the first and only ‘Muslim Nuclear Power’ is invariably permanent and essential.

But, as much as it comes as a jolt to one’s sensibilities, Dr. Salam’s role and contributions in making this status a possibility for Pakistan, is as discounted as was his entire life, known solely as the recipient of the Nobel.

The esteemed nuclear engineer, late Munir Khan, who is also known as ‘the father of Pakistan’s atomic bomb project’, in a tribute [ That is compiled in a list of three wonderful articles on Dr. Abdus Salam ] that he penned for Dr. Salam wrote:

‘He became the mentor of the PAEC since its very inception. He helped select the site for PINSTECH and support the acquisition of KANUPP.

He encouraged the government to train scientists abroad and helped them obtain placement in key universities and laboratories through his personal contacts. He was responsible for the establishment of Suparco. He advised Ayub Khan to seek US help for water logging and salinity problems in Pakistan which led to the Revelle Mission.

It is reported that an office was set up for Salam in the Prime Minister’s Secretariat by order of Bhutto, under whose reign he visited the USA and brought back information relating to the Manhattan Project.

‘Salam immediately started to motivate and gravitate scientists to begin work with PAEC in the development of fission weapons.’

Many in Pakistan, then question that indeed, if he did love Pakistan then why did he ‘abandon’ it?

Abdus Salam left Pakistan for Europe as an act of protest against and after being completely disheartened and heartbroken by changes in the country’s constitution, that declared all Ahmedis, people of his sect, to be Non-Muslim and barred them from ‘behaving’ like Muslims or calling themselves one.

Another reason that may serve as elucidation for the background behind him residing abroad in the last years of his life may be, that his second wife, Dame Louise Johnson was a Professor in Oxford, who bore him a son and a daughter children there, and as his illness aggravated, he wished to stay with them.

Yet even after he dwelled in the West, he did not bid adieu to Pakistan. Despite the humiliating disregard he received from his own nation, Dr. Salam continued inviting Pakistan’s scientists to ICTP, and maintained a research programme for the Pakistani scientists.

He also carried on with patronising and supporting Pakistanis from his institute in Italy.

‘Many prominent scientists, including Ghulam Murtaza, Riazuddin, Kamaluddin Ahmed, Faheem Hussain, Raziuddin Siddiqui, Munir Ahmad Khan, Ishfaq Ahmad, and I. H. Usmani, considered him as their mentor and a teacher.’

In his must-read ‘Abdus Salam – Past and Present’, published in 1996, Pervez Hoodbhoy makes some ‘startling revelations’ for a nation that mistreated its best:

‘More importantly, for over a decade, Salam has quietly been supporting needy science students throughout Pakistan with his Nobel Prize money. The money has also been used to purchase scientific equipment for half a dozen Pakistani colleges, and to support an annually awarded prize for scientific research.

But apparently, all that he did and all the honour that he bestowed upon Pakistan with his success and abilities, weigh not much more than a mote, in comparison to his faith.

http://hafsakhawaja.wordpress.com/2012/01/29/salam-abdus-salam/

-----------------------------------------------

So he was a Nobel prize winner. He took initiative to set up a space research lab(SUPARCO). He supervised atomic research which helped Pakistan to secure a atomic bomb down the line. He even used his Nobel prize money to help Pakistani students despite getting a bad treatment in Pakistan and moving out of the country. Hats off to this person.

I was chatting with a Pakistani student today and he told me about Dr Salam. He gave me many links to read. I am going to post all of them after I read. I only heard about him as Nobel prize winner but it seems that he did plenty of critical things for his country.

A great scientist and a great mind who did alot for his country i will not go into the details of his religion or faith for me he was a great person a great mind.

A Pakistan Stamps from 1998

Ps9-252.JPG

• Ps9-253.JPG
    Ps9-253.JPG
    49.4 KB · Views: 1,038
November 21, marks the death anniversary of Dr Abdus Salam – Pakistan’s only Nobel laureate and one of the legendary physicists of the 20th century. The list of his achievements and awards is so long that one wonders how an ordinary man who grew up in the outskirts of Jhang, a relatively small and less developed city in Punjab, could accomplish so much.

Yet, Jhang, the land of the Sufi saint Sultan Bahu and the burial place of Heer and Ranjha, gave us another gem, Dr Abdus Salam. Salam truly knew what the way forward for the country was. He had a vision for the socio-economic development of third-world countries and saw development in the progress of science. He worked tirelessly all his life towards this cause.

Abdus Salam worked as the science advisor for the Government of Pakistan and laid the infrastructure of science in the country. He also served as a founding director of SUPARCO, worked for the establishment of PAEC and contributed in PINSTECH as well. He believed in the idea of ‘Atom for Peace’ and contributed in the atomic bomb project of Pakistan.

These are just a few selected contributions out of many. Salam’s biggest dream was to establish an international research centre in Pakistan. Unfortunately, the Government of Pakistan did not show any interest in his cause and eventually Salam had to set up the International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) in Trieste, Italy, the name of which was later changed to Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics.

Just last year, when the world of physics applauded the discovery of the ‘God-particle’, CNN’s report was enough to make us lower our heads in shame.

“Imagine a world where the merchant of death is rewarded, while a scientific visionary is disowned and forgotten. Abdus Salam, Pakistan’s only Nobel laureate, the first Muslim to win the Physics’ prize helped lay the groundwork that led to the Higgs Boson breakthrough. And yet in Pakistani schools, his name is erased from the text books…”

Although Salam worked all his life in order to serve his motherland, his countrymen failed him. How can we even attempt to excuse ourselves from this failure? While most countries worship their heroes, we chose to reject Abdus Salam.

Salam received the Nobel Prize in traditional Punjabi attire and quoted the verses of the Quran in his acceptance speech. However, he had already been disowned in Pakistan. On his return to Pakistan in December 1979, there was no one from the public to receive him at the airport. He was like a pariah in his own country.

He could not even give a lecture in the Quaid-i-Azam University, Islamabad, since there were threats of violence from students belonging to Islami Jamiat-i-Talaba. This was not an isolated event and other institutes also found it difficult to invite him for the same reason. His reputation was further tarnished when the right-wing journalist stalwarts came up with their fictional stories claiming him an agent and a traitor, who had sold the country’s nuclear secrets to India. Salam’s misery did not end here.

In 1988, he had to wait for two days in a hotel room to meet with the then Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto. However, the meeting was cancelled without any reason given.

Unfortunately, he was not even spared in death.

The epitaph on his tombstone was defaced and the word ‘Muslim’ was erased on the orders of the local magistrate. This final disgrace explains why this hero was abandoned in the first place. The theological amendment in the constitution of Pakistan does not allow members of the Ahmadiyya faith to call themselves Muslims.

Ironically for the rest of the world, Salam is still a Muslim and a hero. While he was shunned in his own country, the world held him in high regard. The then Prime Minister of India, Indira Gandhi, invited him to India and bestowed a great gesture of respect by not only serving him tea with her own hands, but also sitting by his feet.

In Geneva, Switzerland, a road was named after him. In Beijing, the prime minister and president of China attended a dinner hosted in his honour while the South Korean president requested Salam to advise Korean scientists on how to win the Nobel Prize. Salam was also presented with dozens of honorary degrees of doctorate and awards for his hard work.

Perhaps, if Salam had been accepted and embraced in his own country, science would have enjoyed a completely different status in Pakistan. Our people may have travelled far on the road of scientific progress. Alas, we did not.

However, it is never too late. If Pope John Paul II could apologise on behalf of the Catholic Church for the mistreatment of Galileo in the 17th century, why can’t we apologise to Salam? We are sorry, Salam.

We are sorry for defaming you and for not understanding your worth. We are sorry for all the hatred we showed you in life and in death. For only once a mistake is acknowledged, can one strive on the path of rectifying it.

http://blogs.tribune.com.pk/story/19695/we-are-sorry-dr-abdus-salam/

How about this as a barometer for change in Pakistan,

Recognize the rare gem you produced and honor him fully, till then I dont think Pakistan can grow.

God bless you. It is quite rare to have calibre like him for Pakistan. Unfortunately, he didn't get the respect he deserved. Ahmediya supported Jinnah (R.A) for Pakistan while Islamic party was against the creation of Pakistan and so was Afghanistan. Ahmediya played vital role for the development of Pakistan including him judging by his achievement for Pakistan.

I salute you. ;)

Oxford University to screen documentary on Dr Abdus Salam

Oxford University will screen a documentary on Pakistan’s first Nobel laureate, Dr Abdus Salam, on May 12.

This will be the first screening of Salam – The First ̶M̶u̶s̶l̶i̶m̶ Nobel Laureate in the UK. It is a feature-length documentary about the life of the Pakistani physicist. According to the synopsis, “it is the story of a man who traversed two worlds with ease: one of science and religion, modernity and tradition, war and peace and obscurity and celebrity.”

A question-and-answer session with the makers of the documentary will follow the screening. The Oxford University Ahmadiyya Muslim Students Association is hosting the event. Oxford Pakistan Policy Council and Bloomsbury Pakistan are supporting it.

Dr Salam was born in 1926 in a remote Punjab village. He grew up in a small brick house with a large family. In 1979, he became the first Pakistani to have won the Nobel Prize.

https://www.samaa.tv/culture/2018/0...y-on-pakistani-nobel-laureate-dr-abdus-salam/

At a time when this national icon is being treated appallingly in Pakistan by our own law makers, he is being honoured in other countries. I really hope that events like this encourage my fellow Pakistanis to re evaluate Dr Abdus Salam's legacy and think about why he is one of our most important sons.

For those who are in the UK and are interested in attending, there is an eventbrite link below

https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/film...rst-muslim-nobel-laureate-tickets-45680426385

Heartbreaking to see an intellectual who did so much work in science and portrayed a positive and progressive image of Pakistan being treated like an outcast in his very own country.

Lost for words!

Heartbreaking to see an intellectual who did so much work in science and portrayed a positive and progressive image of Pakistan being treated like an outcast in his very own country.

Lost for words!

Saeed bhai it is very sad and very ironic that this documentary is to be screened in UK but will most likely never be viewed in Pakistan.

We need to think carefully about what kind of nation we want and what kind of image we are projecting.
[MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=26195]DW44[/MENTION] [MENTION=5869]yasir[/MENTION]

However, it is never too late. If Pope John Paul II could apologise on behalf of the Catholic Church for the mistreatment of Galileo in the 17th century, why can’t we apologise to Salam? We are sorry, Salam.

We are sorry for defaming you and for not understanding your worth. We are sorry for all the hatred we showed you in life and in death. For only once a mistake is acknowledged, can one strive on the path of rectifying it.

http://blogs.tribune.com.pk/story/19695/we-are-sorry-dr-abdus-salam/

More than an apology, the anti-Ahmediya legislation should be rescinded. Without that, an apology is meaningless.

I agree with you but it is very difficult in Pakistan to even question this legislation openly. Things are not conducive at the moment for these kinds of discussions openly. People feel very strongly about this issue and any political party which even tries to bring this discussion to the table will instantly lose popularity.

Looks like they couldn't get the support of all their fellow Pakistanis. [MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=26195]DW44[/MENTION] [MENTION=5869]yasir[/MENTION]

–OUPakSoc bails out on first UK screening of ‘Salam – The First ****** Nobel Laureate’

–Organiser says some student societies on campus distanced themselves from Salam’s name due to his faith

–‘Supportive’ Malala Yousafzai to attend the screening despite others’ reluctance

The Oxford University Pakistan Society (OUPakSoc) and other student societies showed reluctance in supporting the first UK screening of a documentary on acclaimed theoretical physicist Dr Abdus Salam at the prestigious varsity, Pakistan Today has learned.

According to a British journalist Sunny Hundal, “Oxford Pakistan society is not supporting” the screening of documentary titled ‘Salam – The First ****** Nobel Laureate’ since Dr Salam “was an Ahmadi”.

When this scribe reached event’s organiser Noman Chaudhry, he said, “OUPakSoc was neither co-hosting this event nor involved in its organisation or support at any point.”

“They knew about its existence for at least two months but never replied to me formally and ignored my request to co-host,” Chaudhry told Pakistan Today.

The screening organiser, however, explained that certain members of OUPakSoc were very supportive in organising the event but only “in their personal capacity”.

Consequently, Nobel laureate Malala Yousafzai, who is also the spokesperson of OUPakSoc, will be among those attending the screening of Dr Salam’s documentary which is scheduled on May 12. Malala supported the cause throughout, Chaudhry said.

In a BBC radio interview, Chaudhry had disclosed with “huge disappointment” that he did not get the required support and recognition for the screening from certain student societies on the campus.

He said: “Even today in the year 2018, in the west, at the prestigious University of Oxford, there are still people who want to distance and dissociate themselves from the name of Abdus Salam.

“[Some people] expressed reluctance to actively celebrate Abdus Salam as their own because of his faith.”

Pakistan Today reached several members of OUPakSoc for comment but received no reply.

Omar Vandal and Zakir Thaver, producers of the documentary, had studied science in the same college of America. Their interest in Salam grew through discussions to an extent that they conceived the idea of making a movie on his life, achievements and forgotten legacy.

“The film draws attention to the state of affairs…where knowledge is sacrificed at the altar of ignorance and intolerance, depriving the coming generation of all that is precious,” reads the movie bio.

In 2016, the National Centre for Physics (NCP), an affiliate of Islamabad’s Quaid-i-Azam University (QAU), was named after Dr Salam, a Pakistani physicist who shared the 1979 Nobel Prize in Physics with Sheldon Glashow and Steven Weinberg for his contribution to the electroweak unification theory.

However, the executive order went ignored. Earlier this month, National Assembly passed a resolution to rename the Physics department of QAU after Muslim scientist Abu al Fatah Abdul Rehman Al-Khazini. Initially seen as a bid to drop the name of Pakistani physicist Dr Abdus Salam from NCP, the matter was later clarified by a QAU representative who said the two are separate entities.

Sad and shocking to see this intolerance and bigotry amongst Pakistani students at Oxford

https://www.pakistantoday.com.pk/20...reluctant-to-support-abdus-salam-documentary/

Looks like they couldn't get the support of all their fellow Pakistanis. [MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=26195]DW44[/MENTION] [MENTION=5869]yasir[/MENTION]

Sad and shocking to see this intolerance and bigotry amongst Pakistani students at Oxford

https://www.pakistantoday.com.pk/20...reluctant-to-support-abdus-salam-documentary/

Quite the confused and brainwashed bunch. So sad and such a waste of opportunity having grown up in such an open and liberal society yet following all these medieval practices.

Yes you're right. I'm totally shocked that this shameful behaviour is happening in 2018. It is close to unbelievable. If this is how the most educated members of our communities are behaving, what hope is there for the rest of us?!

It's not about education but what you have been taught and your capacity for honest critical thinking and changing your point of view if evidence and common sense suggest otherwise. I know many bright and highly educated people who just go blank and revert to their childhood conditioning in certain matters no matter how ludicrous rather than accept the empirical evidence in front of them.

To quote Mr Toffer

“The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn, and relearn. ”

That’s true.

Pakistani students at Oxford refused to partake in the screening.

What a waste of time and money when studying at Oxford cannot even make you get rid of your extremists views and prejudices.

These bunch of clowns should be studying at some two-bit university in Tando Allahyar instead of Oxford.

Pathetic that we have disowned this legend.

Honestly if you just even praise Dr. Salam people behave as if you have done a gross sin.

Why does it matter what were his beliefs?

It's not about education but what you have been taught and your capacity for honest critical thinking and changing your point of view if evidence and common sense suggest otherwise. I know many bright and highly educated people who just go blank and revert to their childhood conditioning in certain matters no matter how ludicrous rather than accept the empirical evidence in front of them.

To quote Mr Toffer

“The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn, and relearn. ”

I had (mistakenly, as the Oxford Pakistan Society's conduct has shown) believed that a good education was the key to challenging prejudiced mindsets in our communities. I guess I was wrong. You are right - upbringing probably plays a bigger role. It is all so sad to think we continue to disown one of our finest minds.

That’s true.

Pakistani students at Oxford refused to partake in the screening.

What a waste of time and money when studying at Oxford cannot even make you get rid of your extremists views and prejudices.

These bunch of clowns should be studying at some two-bit university in Tando Allahyar instead of Oxford.

Saeed bhai I agree with you, they have embarrassed each and every Pakistani by their actions. I do hope that they realise their mistake and resign from their positions or that some kind of action is taken against them by the University. Intolerance is toxic and we must do everything to keep it out of our communities.

Pathetic that we have disowned this legend.

Honestly if you just even praise Dr. Salam people behave as if you have done a gross sin.

Why does it matter what were his beliefs?
I agree with you bhai, situation must change and we must change our approach. Growing up there was not even a single mention of him in textbooks. This is why the events in Oxford are so depressing.

Dedicated to Dr. Salam:

Ay meray hamnasheen chal kahin aur chal
Iss chaman mai ab apna guzara nahin
Baat hoti golun ki to seh letay ham
Ab to kaanton pai bhi haq hamara nahi

Dedicated to Dr. Salam:

Ay meray hamnasheen chal kahin aur chal
Iss chaman mai ab apna guzara nahin
Baat hoti golun ki to seh letay ham
Ab to kaanton pai bhi haq hamara nahi

Is this Ustad Qamar Jalalvi?

It seems as if there has been real backlash against the Pakistan Society student committee. Good to see progressive voices pushing for justice!

ARTICLE
Uproar as Oxford Uni Pakistan Society is accused of discrimination and bigotry against Ahmadis
By: Barfi Culture Team
Published: 15th May 2018

They are supposed to be the country's best and brightest. But the leaders of Oxford University's Pakistan Society (OUPS) are now accused of discrimination and bigotry, with some calling for its President to resign.

Last week on May 12th, Oxford University hosted the first UK screening of a film on Dr Abdus Salam, who won the Nobel Prize for physics in 1979. He was the first Pakistani to do so. The film recounts his life and achievements.

This is where the controversy started.

Some members had wanted the OUPS to host the screening and asked them months ago. But they say OUPS leadership were reluctant to get involved because Dr Salam called himself an Ahmadi Muslim.

The Nobel Prize winner is virtually unknown in Pakistan because of its repressive laws against the Ahmadiyya community, a stance for which it has been repeatedly criticised.

Ahmadis were declared 'non-Muslims' under Pakistani law in 1974 and the community faces constant discrimination and ostracization in Pakistan.

The OUPS said nothing until the day of the screening, when it posted a message on Facebook urging members to attend. And that was only after it faced intense criticism for ignoring the film.

The OUPS was further embarrassed when the screening was attended by Oxford's most famous Pakistani student, Malala Yousafzai.

Why is this significant?

Critics worry the discrimination and bigotry against Ahmadis in Pakistan is taking root in Britain too.

In 2016, a shopkeeper from Glasgow, Asad Shah, was murdered by Tanveer Ahmed from Bradford for being Ahmadi. In Pakistan, Tanveer Ahmad is celebrated amongst some religious preachers.

A mosque in South London was also found to have leaflets urging Muslims to kill Ahmadis recently.

After the screening the OUPS apologised for not getting involved:

"We regret we couldn't co-host Dr Salam's documentary. We made the decision to co-host on May 8th 2018 but unfortunately this decision was not conveyed to the organizers in time. We realized our mistake and made sure the members of the Pakistan Society were aware of the event and we encouraged them to attend."

"We categorically want to state that we consider Dr. Abdus Salam a hero of Pakistan and the Ahmadiya community as an integral part of Pakistan. We want to issue an unconditional apology to anyone that we might have caused hurt to. We have also reached out to AMSA (Ahmadiyya Muslim Students Association) and have agreed to collaborate in the near future."Not enough

But one of the organisers of the screening, Mashal Iftkhr, herself a Sunni Muslim, disputes the OUPS version of events. In a letter posted online yesterday she said:

"The current President, Haroon Zaman, has been aware of our intention to hold this event since January 2018. Following inexplicably long silences in spite of repeated contact attempts, we had been informed that Oxford University Pakistan Society did not want to cohost the event and did not want to be affiliated with the event or promotional material in any way at all. When asking for a reason, we have either been ignored entirely or been informed that the event would risk “controversy” and no further details were elaborated."

She added:

"The deep intolerance and bigotry that Ahmadis face on a daily basis is unfathomable to those of us who are in a greater position of privilege. It is all the more disappointing that this miasma would be perpetuated here in UK by Pakistani Muslims who face bigotry and prejudice themselves."

Signatories to the letter, current and alumni members of OUPS, accuse OUPS of "discriminatory behaviour" and say unless it takes immediate remedial action, its president Haroon Zaman should resign.

They also pledge to escalate matters to University authorities otherwise.

Barfi Culture contacted Haroon Zaman and the OUPS for a response but have not heard back.

http://barficulture.tv/people/218

I have been following this on social media. Seen a few articles in the news too. Pretty interesting. The Pakistani students and alumni who helped put on the show are now calling for the resignation of the Oxford University Pakistan Society president who apparently didn't want to cohost this event.

There is a petition below if anyone is interested in signing it:

https://www.change.org/p/oxford-uni...-society-haroon-zaman-must-resign-immediately

Good to see that there are sane voices out there after all. I really think this is a good move and also helps to improve the general reputation of British Pakistani community.
[MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=48598]saeedhk[/MENTION] [MENTION=5869]yasir[/MENTION] [MENTION=143023]SarfiBabarHaris[/MENTION] [MENTION=146530]DeadBall[/MENTION]

What a beast!

Going to accept his Nobel Prize with koose and bhaag.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A documentary based on <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DrAbdusSalam?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DrAbdusSalam</a>–Pakistan’s first and only Noble Laureate in Science, has finally made its way to <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Netflix?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Netflix</a>.</p>— National Courier (@thenatcour) <a href="https://twitter.com/thenatcour/status/1174602422536290304?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 19, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Inspirational person. Very important figure in the history of Pakistan and the spread of Ahmadiyya in the world.

Respected Mirza Tahir Ahmed sahib migrated from Pakistan on Dr Abdus Salam’s suggestion to him. Since then Ahmadiyyat has flourished significantly since its administrative head has had the flexibility to express its directorial decisions in the safe environment of England.

Inspirational person. Very important figure in the history of Pakistan and the spread of Ahmadiyya in the world.

Respected Mirza Tahir Ahmed sahib migrated from Pakistan on Dr Abdus Salam’s suggestion to him. Since then Ahmadiyyat has flourished significantly since its administrative head has had the flexibility to express its directorial decisions in the safe environment of England.

I have seen interviews of former Ahmedis on YouTube a few months ago. They claim that the figures presented about Ahmedi growth are fabricated. Could you shed some light on this matter. Thanks.

Tbh the numbers in Africa cause a lot of issues. But the numbers in Europe, Asia and America are pretty much complete.

I wasn’t referring to growth in numbers rather the strength of Ahmadiyyat as an establishment.

Dr Abdus Salam was also proud of his great punjabi heritage and culture. Upon invitation to a Punjabi World Conference in 1986. Also mentioned fellow punjabi, Har Gobind Khorana, the noble laureate in Biology. Two punjabi nobel prize winners. Hats off

DR. ABDUS SALAM
World Punjabi Conference, 1986

I am delighted to hear organization of Punjabi Conference which you are planning for April. I would like to say is that your cultural initiative will be highly appreciated by the appreciative of our great land of Punjab. I only wish that besides, Punjabi culture, film and journalism, fine art and music are also promoted. You had also included the mention of science, high technology and medicine in Punjab. I speak of science particularly because Punjab has produced some of the finest scientists, engineers, medical men from Sub-continent. Among whom, one may mention a number of fellows of Royal Society as well as Professor Har Gobind Khorana, the noble laureate in Biology who is currently working at MIT in the USA. It is imperative that the celebration you are holding should be made cultural and not become political in any sense. It is imperative in view of suspicion both in Pakistan and India, mutually which could be aroused by an initiative like this. I feel ashamed that I cannot write this message in Punjabi. My thumb has been broken and I cannot write myself so I have to dictate this message of congratulation to my secretary. Kindly accept my warmest wishes for the success of conference.

With best regards.

Tbh the numbers in Africa cause a lot of issues. But the numbers in Europe, Asia and America are pretty much complete.

I wasn’t referring to growth in numbers rather the strength of Ahmadiyyat as an establishment.

The interviews stressed that the forms that the Ahmedi representatives have to fill out are fabricated with false information.

How do you think that the Ahmedi community was able to strengthen? Thanks for the information brother :)

The interviews stressed that the forms that the Ahmedi representatives have to fill out are fabricated with false information.

How do you think that the Ahmedi community was able to strengthen? Thanks for the information brother :)

That’s a misconception. They don’t lie about the numbers. As I said, in Africa things change on a daily-weekly basis. One day you could have 1000 people from a village accept Ahmadiyyat. You then have to work tirelessly to ensure that the 1000 stay committed to the cause. It requires a sincere amount of effort and dedication.

What are your thoughts on say an Ahmadi changing into a Sunni Muslim ? I liked someone who had done that but the family would never accept a Sunni guy, as for the girl's conversion after 3-4 year journey the fam sort of just ignore it as if it didn't happen, may still be shell shocked but I hope they come to accept it in the long run, I distanced myself from the situation as I cba with all the politics

Not being funny but missionaries sort of exploit people in those places where there is severe poverty, they do help them but the catch is they need to accept their religious views

What are your thoughts on say an Ahmadi changing into a Sunni Muslim ? I liked someone who had done that but the family would never accept a Sunni guy, as for the girl's conversion after 3-4 year journey the fam sort of just ignore it as if it didn't happen, may still be shell shocked but I hope they come to accept it in the long run, I distanced myself from the situation as I cba with all the politics

Well you can’t stop anyone changing their religious views. It’s the beauty of religion itself that you allow people to follow their intuition. My personal views are that I don’t really care. However it should be done in an amicable way in the sense that you move on and do not constantly spurt hate against the community you once belonged to.

Not being funny but missionaries sort of exploit people in those places where there is severe poverty, they do help them but the catch is they need to accept their religious views

Well from what I have seen first hand, there is no such thing as exploitation by Ahmadi missionaries and Humanitarian workers. They like to do their best to enable the locals to engage with their beliefs by helping the people with education and much needed infrastructure. This is why the governments of these African nations hold the Ahmadiyya Jamaat in very high esteem. I’m sure there is zero expectation of conversion upon this basis. The worldwide leader expects these Ahmadis to contribute to the cause of Ahmadiyya by donating even whatever little they have, maybe even a few eggs from their chicken farms. It is they who are taught to sacrifice in the way of God with time.

Spoken like a true apologist.

Of course they are not targeting the poor in Africa to swell their influence and numbers.

As you said that the numbers haven’t been fudged can you please provide us with the true numbers and I’ll verify them.

Also, other than your word, is there any other evidence to suggest their actions as missionaries isn’t nefarious?

Well, I heard stories about heavy taxation imposed on Ahmedis by the jamaat. If they fail to pay up then they are snubbed by the community and even their own families. Wasn't the Mirza families name in the Panama Leaks? And is there any issues if an Ahmedi wants to leave the jamaat? Thanks, I have been watching quite a few documentaries on the community.

Spoken like a true apologist.

Of course they are not targeting the poor in Africa to swell their influence and numbers.

As you said that the numbers haven’t been fudged can you please provide us with the true numbers and I’ll verify them.

Also, other than your word, is there any other evidence to suggest their actions as missionaries isn’t nefarious?

Targeting the poor in Africa isnt a pre set out agenda. In regards to setting up humanitarian efforts, vocational centres, schools and hospitals in Africa. I can assure you that the Jamaat would do the same in Europe and Africa if and when the funds are enough to carry out the work in such places. The other issue that they would face in Europe and America is that the rise of Islamophobia and the current strong hold of the catholic world may not enable the Jamaat to work with the same dedication that they have in Africa as the requirement for such facilities is far less in comparison as well. Pakistan is also a 3rd world country, Ahmadis cannot operate with humanitarian efforts as freely in this country but may I remind you that Tahir heart institute is recognised as the best, if not one of the best hospitals for heart surgery in South Asia. So you cannot fault the intention of serving humanity, its just the fact that Africa openly invites more to this cause than the rest of the world. My point again is that when the funds will be available, the Jamaat will not fault at providing the same effort elsewhere.

As for my word, what proof do you have that the activities of the missionaries is nefarious besides hearsay and rumours? So why am I compelled to provide you with clear evidence whereas your claim is based on nothing?

Well, I heard stories about heavy taxation imposed on Ahmedis by the jamaat. If they fail to pay up then they are snubbed by the community and even their own families. Wasn't the Mirza families name in the Panama Leaks? And is there any issues if an Ahmedi wants to leave the jamaat? Thanks, I have been watching quite a few documentaries on the community.

No such thing as heavy taxations. The members are expected to contribute a very small percentage of their earnings or income as long as they can afford to do so. No one is snubbed because of not contributing, however this is not something that is encouraged. Such people may not be allowed to hold any office at a local or national level but thats about it. No one loses the right to believe in Ahmadiyyat and its core teachings.

No issues whatsoever if an Ahmadi wants to leave the Jamaat. There are family and the Ahmadi community dynamics that are involved but they are the same everywhere. For instance a boy or a girl can become isolated by his family and friends if he joins Ahmadiyyat, the same goes for those who leave it. But there is no such thing as physical and mental persecution for such fellows.

No such thing as heavy taxations. The members are expected to contribute a very small percentage of their earnings or income as long as they can afford to do so. No one is snubbed because of not contributing, however this is not something that is encouraged. Such people may not be allowed to hold any office at a local or national level but thats about it. No one loses the right to believe in Ahmadiyyat and its core teachings.

No issues whatsoever if an Ahmadi wants to leave the Jamaat. There are family and the Ahmadi community dynamics that are involved but they are the same everywhere. For instance a boy or a girl can become isolated by his family and friends if he joins Ahmadiyyat, the same goes for those who leave it. But there is no such thing as physical and mental persecution for such fellows.

Could you commment on why the Mirza family were named in the Panama leaks? Did they justify their offshore companies? How did they get this level of money?

My research also revealed that there are more then a dozen taxes imposed :s I also heard about fathers being islolated from their children and not being allowed to visit Chenabnagar after they left the jamaat.

I also heard about Ahmedis influencing people by offering them German, UK nationalities for conversion purposes. Could you please shed light on this.

Could you commment on why the Mirza family were named in the Panama leaks? Did they justify their offshore companies? How did they get this level of money?

My research also revealed that there are more then a dozen taxes imposed :s I also heard about fathers being islolated from their children and not being allowed to visit Chenabnagar after they left the jamaat.

I also heard about Ahmedis influencing people by offering them German, UK nationalities for conversion purposes. Could you please shed light on this.

The Mirza family may have been named in the panama leaks documents however this is no indication that the funds are solely accumulated to make the Mirza family richer. The current head of the Ahmadiyya community is the head director in spending the funds collected on Jamaat growth and Jamaat activity. All other sub directors and patrons are also named, so this isn’t just about the Mirza family at all.

Why do they have off-shore accounts is the real question. And the reality is that the large amount of funds that are donated to this cause are simply for the Jamaat to continue to thrive and work harder. Such funds need to be fully in control by the Jamaat and this may not be possible if the accounts are totally registered in England and USA. The Jamaat cannot risk keeping its funds in countries such as Pakistan who are extremely hostile towards it and have a history of unfairly ceasing Jamaat property and assets.

12 funds imposed?! I know that all Ahmadis must pay Chanda aam and Jalsa Salana Chanda. These 2 are necessary. Those who have done wasiyat pay Wasiyat instead of Chanda aam. All other funds are voluntary I assure you, however you are encouraged to participate in Waqf Jadid, Tehrike Jadid and auxiliary organisation monthly subscription. Not paying these does not get you kicked out of the Jamaat.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/UbW4wawEwSw" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Abdus Salam’s Nobel Prize-winning work was instrumental for the discovery of the Higgs boson, but his story has largely been forgotten by the country in which he was born. (via <a href="https://twitter.com/BBC_Culture?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@BBC_Culture</a>) <a href="https://t.co/JYB8w0RQBL">https://t.co/JYB8w0RQBL</a></p>— BBC Future (@BBC_Future) <a href="https://twitter.com/BBC_Future/status/1184868283553464320?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 17, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I watched the documentary, pakistanis should be proud of him.

Everyone has freewill and you can pray to whoever you like.

That malvi in the documentary really got my blood boiling, when he said Abdus didnt do anything special..

His birthday today.

Born: January 29, 1926, Jhang, Pakistan
Died: November 21, 1996, Oxford, United Kingdom

A compelling documentary highlighting the Nobel laureate Dr. Abdus Salam's pivotal role in unifying forces theory. Dr. Abdus Salam's groundbreaking work was all about this incredible theory that unifies electromagnetic and weak nuclear forces. It's like this grand idea that ties together these fundamental forces, and his contributions were just mind-blowing.