"Virat Kohli is not as consistent as Babar Azam": Aaqib Javed

And Aaqib continues...

==

Aaqib on the India Pakistan clash at the World Cup and Pakistan's chances:

"Many a times you head into World Cup thinking this might the last for a couple of players. This time I feel it is happening to India. When stars become larger than life, it becomes difficult for team management to make decisions. That is why of look and compare all the departments, Pakistan have a very good chance this time"

"How long is Rohit Sharma going to play? About Kohli, if you compare him with Babar, then he has one outstanding season and then there is a decline. He is a brilliant player but in patches. He is not as consistent as Babar. That is why I'm saying this is Pakistan best chance to beat India again in a World Cup match"

It's seems like Aaqib only watching cricket after 2019 . Childish statement

Agree with Aaqib here.

Babar is a run machine and in a year or two will probably surpass Kohli as the gold standard for the best batsmen of this generation.

3 international T20I hundreds (NZ, Eng and SA) and countless ODI centuries at an average of 59 speaks for itself

Pakistan is blessed to have both their GOAT limited over batsmen and GOAT overall keeper playing for them simultaneously

Aqib is a two time PSL champion coach. He is the Pep Guardiola of PSL

He can say whatever he likes

This Babar and Kohli comparison is never-ending.

Even the Lara and Tendulkar comparison didn't reach this level.

And his opinion also carries a lot of weight.
If I’m honest, I like Aqib because I recon I share a lot of views about cricket similar to his. But this one is a bit absurd.

Kohli and Babar play different standards, leagues of cricket in general. Kohli isn’t as consistent as he used to be now, but he is still a much better batter than Babar and far more mentally equipped to deal with A list bowling attacks.

Babar looks lovely but sorry, he’s just not that guy.

This Babar and Kohli comparison is never-ending.

Even the Lara and Tendulkar comparison didn't reach this level.
The comparison is a coping mechanism for Pakistan fans to feel they also have an Elite batsman. Babar is about 60% of the player Kohli is.

Babar’s personality is 10% of what Kohli is.

The comparison is a coping mechanism for Pakistan fans to feel they also have an Elite batsman. Babar is about 60% of the player Kohli is.

Babar’s personality is 10% of what Kohli is.
I don’t give two hoots about personality- only interested in performance..

Babar Azam lbw b Mujeeb 0(3) - 7/2 in 1.6 ov.

This is being consistent in a bad way!

Babar is not a good player of spin

He was weak against Mark Wood too - so there’s extreme pace out of the way too.

All at sea In the World cup against bounce.

What exactly is his strength. Harmless Medium pacers - put one of them on and he’s very good

I've never seen Babar dominate a spinner. This is so worrisome for a world class batsman.
He has never truly dominated a fast bowler also. On the contrary, we have seen him being bullied by Wood last year in both white & red ball formats. He can handle basic medium pacers/ trundlers who bowl roughly at 125-135 really well. Anything over 140 he looks spooked & nervous. As for spin he has issues against wrist spin as well as left arm spin. Only against off spin he looks comfortable. These were the main reasons why he failed so miserably last year in back to back tournaments.If he doesn't sort out them he is going to have a tough outing this season also. Except Ned,all the teams have either genuine 145+ fast bowlers or wrist spinners. Teams like Eng,Ind,Aus & SA have all.
I can understand fans, but Pakistani ex cricketers should grow some sense & stop making such idiotic comparisons. Every time they try to downplay Virat in favor of Babar it comes off cheap & silly. In white ball cricket, Babar never was & will be equal to Virat. There is just too much gap of skill, ambition & will power. Sooner Pakistani people accept it the better they will feel every time Babar fails to rise on major occasions.

He has never truly dominated a fast bowler also. On the contrary, we have seen him being bullied by Wood last year in both white & red ball formats. He can handle basic medium pacers/ trundlers who bowl roughly at 125-135 really well. Anything over 140 he looks spooked & nervous. As for spin he has issues against wrist spin as well as left arm spin. Only against off spin he looks comfortable. These were the main reasons why he failed so miserably last year in back to back tournaments.If he doesn't sort out them he is going to have a tough outing this season also. Except Ned,all the teams have either genuine 145+ fast bowlers or wrist spinners. Teams like Eng,Ind,Aus & SA have all.
I can understand fans, but Pakistani ex cricketers should grow some sense & stop making such idiotic comparisons. Every time they try to downplay Virat in favor of Babar it comes off cheap & silly. In white ball cricket, Babar never was & will be equal to Virat. There is just too much gap of skill, ambition & will power. Sooner Pakistani people accept it the better they will feel every time Babar fails to rise on major occasions.
Babar and Rizwan love Willey

Have got stats to back up your claim.

What stats are you looking for? Are you denying his struggle against Wood or SA last year? Have you ever seen him really taking apart a Starc,Cummins,Bumrah, Rabada,Nortje or Ferguson? Virat in many many instances has made legends like Malinga,Steyn,Johnson, Starc, Gul look very ordinary. He literally owned them. Ofcourse what he did to Rauf & Pak pace unit last year doesn't even need to be reminded of. When did Babar ever do anything close to that against genuine pace? I would love to see such performances from him, but sadly he hasn't produced yet. I don't have much confidence on him on playing such outrageous knocks like Kohli has been playing for last 11/12 years.
I have no qualms against the guy,I think he is a really good batsman & blessing for a country like Pak who have only produced about half a dozen genuine all format batters over the years. But when you put him on a such high pedestal & compare him with one of the absolute best white ball batters of all time, then things tend to get under microscope. I genuinely believe this is causing more harm than benefit for Babar. It puts ridiculous pressure on him which he clearly isn't capable of handling. I want to be proven wrong regarding him but don't think he has what it takes to do it. Harsh truth that Pak fans should digest.

What stats are you looking for? Are you denying his struggle against Wood or SA last year? Have you ever seen him really taking apart a Starc,Cummins,Bumrah, Rabada,Nortje or Ferguson? Virat in many many instances has made legends like Malinga,Steyn,Johnson, Starc, Gul look very ordinary. He literally owned them. Ofcourse what he did to Rauf & Pak pace unit last year doesn't even need to be reminded of. When did Babar ever do anything close to that against genuine pace? I would love to see such performances from him, but sadly he hasn't produced yet. I don't have much confidence on him on playing such outrageous knocks like Kohli has been playing for last 11/12 years.
I have no qualms against the guy,I think he is a really good batsman & blessing for a country like Pak who have only produced about half a dozen genuine all format batters over the years. But when you put him on a such high pedestal & compare him with one of the absolute best white ball batters of all time, then things tend to get under microscope. I genuinely believe this is causing more harm than benefit for Babar. It puts ridiculous pressure on him which he clearly isn't capable of handling. I want to be proven wrong regarding him but don't think he has what it takes to do it. Harsh truth that Pak fans

That's because Babar game isn't based upon destroying attacks.how many times has Wood or any express bowler got him out please present them because at the moment you talking nonsense.

Batted under extreme pressure of being at 2/3 vs Aussies in a tense chase under lights

Virat has won a lot more matches for his country than Babar in pressure situations. Babar is also consistent and won matches for his country but not as many as Virat.

He is a chase master. INdia has chased 350 three times in their ODI history. Kohli scored a 100 in each one of them. He can do both small chase and big chase. There was one match where India was 8/3 against Pakistan chasing 85. Amir was rampaging. He made 49 and won it. This is right up in his alley. Nobody gets anywhere close to him in that. Then 183 chase, Then that famous Hobarat chase where India needed to get 321 in 36 overs. He brutalized Malinga. Most recently MCG chase under intence pressure.

Babar at this point does not even deserve to be mentioned alongside Rohit, Gill, KL Rahul

Kohli's got a lot of Miandad in him, the guy you want in your team in a chase, in your face, street fighter & capable of snatching victory from jaws of defeat.

Whilst Babar's got Dravid in him, solid churner of runs but too nice a guy, feel bad to even sledge and never gets your lips quivering and legs shaking as an opposition.

Give me a Miandad over Dravid any day of the week.

All in ODI context offcourse...

I have read somewhere that Aaqib said Lahore Qalandars Pace attack should be Pakistan pace attack as zaman Khan is better Bowler than Naseem Shah .

Lol our former players say alot of stupid things. Kohli has played 282 ODI matches and averages 57,50. Babar’s average is 57,59, almost same but Babar has only played 109 matches so how on earth can you say Kohli is not as consistent as Babar?

Kohli's got a lot of Miandad in him, the guy you want in your team in a chase, in your face, street fighter & capable of snatching victory from jaws of defeat.

Whilst Babar's got Dravid in him, solid churner of runs but too nice a guy, feel bad to even sledge and never gets your lips quivering and legs shaking as an opposition.

Is not kohli similar to both dhoni/miandad?

From the man who would quietly swing and seam alongside the shadows of the 2 W's

i remember how he was brought back in the 90s after being away from the game for more than three years. went up against sidhu and sachin in sharjah and got clobbered. India scored 302-303 if memory serves right, and this was back when anything about 250 was a significant achievement.

Babar at this point does not even deserve to be mentioned alongside Rohit, Gill, KL Rahul
That’s too much bro.

He’s a class act. Stay patient, he will come good very soon obviously going by his consistency. Can’t keep Big Bobby B silent for too long.

i remember how he was brought back in the 90s after being away from the game for more than three years. went up against sidhu and sachin in sharjah and got clobbered. India scored 302-303 if memory serves right, and this was back when anything about 250 was a significant achievement.

Remember that match.

Azhar bhai went berserk in the end.

miandad was not as much as a street fighter as someone who pushed the rules and etiquette of the game. a better example would be aamir sohail. he was not one to take one lying down and he would keep fighting.

Actually in terms of style & records, Babar is most similar to Hashim Amla - nice guy, prolific run accumulator , but no 5th gear & generally ineffective in back-to-the-wall type of situations

I was choosing a player from India and Pak and couldnt find something better than Dravid :)

miandad was not as much as a street fighter as someone who pushed the rules and etiquette of the game. a better example would be aamir sohail. he was not one to take one lying down and he would keep fighting.
Chose Miandad for his 6 and then the stranglehold he had on the Indian psyche for the next 10 odd years...

Nah Babar has no similarities with Dravid. The old man may have been a nice calm guy, but he was as clutch as one can be. Sure he didn't break as many numbers as kohli did but he was the ultimate crisis man for India back in those days. Sachin, Sourav & later Sehwag would always grab the limelights due to their glamorous destructive knocks but he is the one for the most part who would get the job done quietly along with Yuvraj /Kaif. He has been either the protagonist or one of the significant role players in many historical chases(including world records) in his era. The biggest difference between these two is Dravid was mentally tough, literally wall, Babar isn't. Dravid had his certain limitations & less talented than Babar but never lacked game awareness.
Like it's been already mentioned thousand times, Babar has most parallels with Amla. Both stylish, safe, easy on the eye, consistent, but with a lot of baggage to carry. As in lack of multiple gears, impact & intimidation. Yousuf is another guy he has been commonly compared with but he too has played many clutch knocks in his days (just couldn't do it in world cups).
Virat certainly has lot of old school traits. He undoubtedly was inspired more by outsiders than his own countrymen. I see a mixture of Viv, Miandad, S. Waugh & Ponting in him. Specially Ponting, he probably will never openly accept it, but he has modeled himself after Ponting, not Sachin. Having said that a lot of people (specially Indians) wouldn't admit one thing about him, the things he used to in the field (still occasionally does), the antics, the on your face attitude, the cringeworthy facial expressions, bullying the oppositions etc; he does all these things not just because he is a tough guy but also because he knows he can get away. Had he been a Pakistani or outside big 3 I don't think he would pull even 1/4 of the stunts that he has done over the years.

Mate I was choosing a player from Pakistan who did for Pakistan, what Kohli does for India and vice versa, especially in Ind-Pak context.

Miandad had the wood over the Indians from his 6 till early 90's, only in 96 was that aura broken... Similarly Virats got the wood over Pakistan.

Except for a few juvenile posters, most of Pakistanis know that Kohli's Raufed them a few times and they bear the scars of it ;-)

Mate I was choosing a player from Pakistan who did for Pakistan, what Kohli does for India and vice versa, especially in Ind-Pak context.

Miandad had the wood over the Indians from his 6 till early 90's, only in 96 was that aura broken... Similarly Virats got the wood over Pakistan.

Except for a few juvenile posters, most of Pakistanis know that Kohli's Raufed them a few times and they bear the scars of it ;-)
I don't & didn't disagree regarding Virat /Miandad comparisons. But I just don't see how you can say Dravid & Babar are similar. There's absolutely nothing common between these two. Dravid wasn't a mental midget & certainly didn't have the habit of bottling under pressure.

Rahul was the first nice Indian player who came to mind, who's scored 10k+ ODI runs, but never got your adernaline pumping.. consistent but boring, maybe you could suggest a better name, but none comes to mind... Azhar had the gift of timing, but his legacy's tainted and plus was a G captain. Lakshman was never an ODI great,though played clutch tests...

Not sure who from India reminds me of Babar..

Rahul was the first nice Indian player who came to mind, who's scored 10k+ ODI runs, but never got your adernaline pumping.. consistent but boring, maybe you could suggest a better name, but none comes to mind... Azhar had the gift of timing, but his legacy's tainted and plus was a G captain. Lakshman was never an ODI great,though played clutch tests...

Not sure who from India reminds me of Babar..
TBH, no one really, at least amongst the greats of Indian batsmen strike any similarity with Babar. Sachin, Dravid, Sourav, Shewag, Yuvraj, Dhoni, Rohit, Virat, Laxman none of them. Interestingly Azhar is the closest I see since you mention. No, they were not similar as captains or in general as human beings. But much like Babar, Azhar had this tendency to chock & bottle when his team required the most. At least the version I saw, I didn't witness the 80's version. But if you truly want to identify an Indian counterpart of Babar the batsman then Azhar is the only one I see eligible. Both aesthetically marvelous, terrific timers, both have that elegant lazyness. Some major differences being Azhar was vastly inconsistent but on his day could be brutal & play the most outrageous knock. But the main point stands, both despite being leaders /most experienced capped members of the side have more than often failed to rise in the big occasions. Azhar was a massive dud in almost all the icc tournaments in the 90's & his failure was definitely one of the biggest reasons why Ind underperformed on those tournaments. Azhar was lucky in the sense that he had Sachin so he could get away with those failures, Babar on the other hand has Imam🤣, who well.... you know what he can do can't do.

Babar is fantastic player and probably the best Pakistan has produced in this format but his average of 58 in ODIs actually oversells him. This is the day and age of teams not playing their best XI's in bilateral series and sending in their B sides. Even this year most of the teams were experimenting until the last couple of months. India until Asia Cup did no even play their first choice XI against any side. I feel that Babar's average should be close to 50 at a SR of 85-90 which is amazing in this era but again when he plays against first choice sides in any format he struggles to string in few consistent scores. We saw in the T20 WC's as well as other ICC events.

Another comparison is with Joe Root. We know he's a technically correct, conventional batsman with a lot of success behind him. Yet he's still growing his game.

He's developed this reverse scoop which he's deployed even in Tests.

But Babar after nearly a decade of international cricket still chooses to remain in his comfort zone of riskless accumulation. He hasn't developed many attacking shots against spin.

His batting is a microcosm of his stubborn, rigid captaincy.

And Aaqib continues...

==

Aaqib on the India Pakistan clash at the World Cup and Pakistan's chances:

"Many a times you head into World Cup thinking this might the last for a couple of players. This time I feel it is happening to India. When stars become larger than life, it becomes difficult for team management to make decisions. That is why of look and compare all the departments, Pakistan have a very good chance this time"

"How long is Rohit Sharma going to play? About Kohli, if you compare him with Babar, then he has one outstanding season and then there is a decline. He is a brilliant player but in patches. He is not as consistent as Babar. That is why I'm saying this is Pakistan best chance to beat India again in a World Cup match"
I think Aqib only said this to boost the morale of pakistan team but no success.:LOL:

These threads always age badly but in reality Kohli was suffering with form for a bit. He's looking great ATM and, in fact, Babar looks patchy now.

It eventually boosted Blood Pressure of my Indian Friends :ROFLMAO:
Its funny how Aqib changes colours faster than a chameleon. On one hand he says Babar is more consistent and on teh other hand says he tols LQ team to not get Babar out. Thappad bhi lagatha hain aur malham bhi.

Maybe that's why babar is so consistent in psl 😂

The constant desire to compare every single up and coming Pakistani batsman (these comparisons of Babar go as early as when he first burst onto the scene iirc) to established Indian batsmen hurts us more than it helps.

Indian ex cricketers gain nothing by comparing their batsmen to ours neither do their batsmen care.

Yet every random Pakistani ex cricketer like Aqib Javed or whoever else will mouth off with no off button on this topic.

Shehzad > SRT
Babar > Kohli.

Imagine how hard you’d laugh if every random Indian pacer was compared to Wasim, Imran or Waqar?

You put them on a pedestal and then the same Babar is going to Kohli to fetch some jerseys with an autograph on it.

And then you wonder why Kohli always destroys our team in play.

Pakistanis constantly treating him as royalty (the players and the awam) subconsciously means that those same players are almost always nervous when facing him. (Obviously not the entire reason for his dominance- but it matters)

Seriously, how can anyone say with a straight face that Babar is the best batsman of his generation? That's like us Indian fans claiming that Zaheer Khan was the best bowler of his generation.

I don't understand how some people so conveniently lie to themselves. Either that or they are truly delusional. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

It's an insult for the great Kohli to mention someone like Babar in the same sentence as him.

Seriously, how can anyone say with a straight face that Babar is the best batsman of his generation? That's like us Indian fans claiming that Zaheer Khan was the best bowler of his generation.

I don't understand how some people so conveniently lie to themselves. Either that or they are truly delusional. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

It's an insult for the great Kohli to mention someone like Babar in the same sentence as him.
Yes, how we can compare 16 years of career to 8 years of career? Deluded fans.

Kohli in 8 years achieved way more then Bobby did though?

In 2008 kohli was still in under 19. Even if you include that, 2008 to 2016 big big difference between what Bobby has achieved

Babar is 29. Kohli was 29 in 2017.

2017-18 Kohli was miles better than today’s Babar.

Babar can play for 40 years and he will still not come close to Kohli who belongs in the upper pantheons of batting greats right next to Sir Viv, Tendulkar, Lara and Ponting.

Babar is not remotely close to that level. Forget records and statistics. Make a list of the top 10 greatest knocks Kohli has played in his career and Babar is not good enough to replicate anyone of those innings.

For example, Babar cannot do what Kohli did against Pakistan in the T20 World Cup last year. Not in a million years would Babar ever win a match for Pakistan in such circumstances.

That innings alone is bigger than Babar’s entire career so far. Pakistani fans need to wake up and accept the reality. Babar vs Kohli is not a comparison to begin with.

It has nothing to do with who has played how many years, or who has played with whom and against whom. It has all to do with the fact that Kohli has way more ability, way more skill and way more mental fortitude.

Put Kohli and Babar in the same team and at the same age and no one would even look at Babar as the alpha batsman of the team. He has zero personality and presence at the crease compared to the great man.

Kohli in 8 years achieved way more then Bobby did though?

In 2008 kohli was still in under 19. Even if you include that, 2008 to 2016 big big difference between what Bobby has achieved

Babar is 29. Kohli was 29 in 2017.

2017-18 Kohli was miles better than today’s Babar.

Babar can play for 40 years and he will still not come close to Kohli who belongs in the upper pantheons of batting greats right next to Sir Viv, Tendulkar, Lara and Ponting.

Babar is not remotely close to that level. Forget records and statistics. Make a list of the top 10 greatest knocks Kohli has played in his career and Babar is not good enough to replicate anyone of those innings.

For example, Babar cannot do what Kohli did against Pakistan in the T20 World Cup last year. Not in a million years would Babar ever win a match for Pakistan in such circumstances.

That innings alone is bigger than Babar’s entire career so far. Pakistani fans need to wake up and accept the reality. Babar vs Kohli is not a comparison to begin with.

It has nothing to do with who has played how many years, or who has played with whom and against whom. It has all to do with the fact that Kohli has way more ability, way more skill and way more mental fortitude.

Put Kohli and Babar in the same team and at the same age and no one would even look at Babar as the alpha batsman of the team. He has zero personality and presence at the crease compared to the great man.
That's what i said, how we can compare both? No point to compare them.
No one knows future, if babar just focus on his batting career he can achieve more than kohli in next 8 years. Captaincy made him dull.

No he can’t because he doesn’t have the ability to be better than Kohli.

It is has nothing to do with knowing the future. You don’t need a crystal ball to know that Saud Shakeel will never be better than Lara and Babar will never be better than Kohli.

That's highly doubtful. Because kohli started put with a higher ceiling then babar.

Babar hasn't even surpassed 2012 and 2013 kohli who was clueless against inswing and outswing and at one point was being considered to move to no 4. That shows india's caliber and their selection standards.

Kohli from 2014 onwards is a completly different beast and Bobby doesn't even come close.

Bobby is comparable to under 19 2008 kohli who wasn't even fully developed yet and even that version of kohli who had footwork issues and was chubby and not fully fit still had much much better game awareness and run rate maintenance them babar.

Baabr needs a very very very long rope to climb to even reach 2012 kohli let alone current 2023 kohli.

Kohli is far, far, far ahead of Babar in terms of consistency and fitness.

Babar is just another inzi for Pakistan.
Babar isn't another inzi. Inzi wasn't a soft scorer.

Babar is a bootleg version of Mohammad yousaf.

Both are soft scorers but yousaf scored against top tier bowling and was a gun player of spin. Yousaf despite soft scoring also allowed batsmen around him to play with freedom so while he didn't take the game away, he made sure the rr never climbed up and he watched the RR like a hawk and played accordingly.

Babar increases the rr, especially when fakhar made an amazing half century and Abdullah scores a run a ball, Babar came in with a 9 of 16 Destroying the rr which we desperately needed cause in hindsight look what happened in the England game where we needed 300 on 6.4 overs lol.

Babar faces low quality bowlers most of the time and gets exposed against high quality, his spin play is bad and his game awareness and lack of intent clearly show.

He'd basically a bootleg yousaf. Inferior cover drive, inferior spin play, inferior game awareness, inferior backfoot play and another soft scorer.

Babar isn't another inzi. Inzi wasn't a soft scorer.

Babar is a bootleg version of Mohammad yousaf.

Both are soft scorers but yousaf scored against top tier bowling and was a gun player of spin. Yousaf despite soft scoring also allowed batsmen around him to play with freedom so while he didn't take the game away, he made sure the rr never climbed up and he watched the RR like a hawk and played accordingly.

Babar increases the rr, especially when fakhar made an amazing half century and Abdullah scores a run a ball, Babar came in with a 9 of 16 Destroying the rr which we desperately needed cause in hindsight look what happened in the England game where we needed 300 on 6.4 overs lol.

Babar faces low quality bowlers most of the time and gets exposed against high quality, his spin play is bad and his game awareness and lack of intent clearly show.

He'd basically a bootleg yousaf. Inferior cover drive, inferior spin play, inferior game awareness, inferior backfoot play and another soft scorer.
Mohammad Yousuf actually scored a terrific century against peak McGrath & Shane Warne on Day 1 at Melbourne. Smashed Warne for some huge 6s

Babar is yet to produce a SENA knock like that. His only hundred in SENA came on dead batting track !

Mohammad Yousuf actually scored a terrific century against peak McGrath & Shane Warne on Day 1 at Melbourne. Smashed Warne for some huge 6s

Babar is yet to produce a SENA knock like that. His only hundred in SENA came on dead batting track !
That's why I said bootleg Mohammad yousaf, they share similar shots in terms of pace like both played the cover drive and both play that flick of inswing and both are soft run scorers.

But yousaf faced deadly bowlers, tough pitches, played in the old one ball and old pp era and he had game awareness. He kept the rr in check and made sure to play according to the situation. And in terms of spin he was marvellous.

Babar is basically what would happen if yousaf lost all his brain cells and forgot how to play spin.