Wasim Akram: ‘The match-fixing rumours were like a trauma … no one trusted each other’

Wasim Akram spent the best part of 20 years filleting batting lineups as the finest left-arm seamer of all time but it is only now, two decades on, that the former Pakistan captain feels comfortable discussing certain aspects of his life.

The 56-year-old is about to release Sultan, a memoir written with the Australian journalist Gideon Haigh that does not simply chart a master finessing over 900 international wickets, World Cup glory in 1992, entering Lancashire folklore and a glitzy celebrity lifestyle. Darker times are explored, including match-fixing allegations, ball-tampering headlines, a previously undisclosed cocaine addiction and the heartbreaking death of his first wife, Huma.

“It was tough to revisit those moments in my life – the betrayal, the tragedies – but the reason for doing the book wasn’t money,” says Akram, pleasantries out of the way, from his home in Karachi. It is the day of Pakistan’s shock defeat to Zimbabwe in the T20 World Cup group stages and a week before his former captain and mentor, Imran Khan, was shot on a protest march in Islamabad.

“I probably wanted to forget. I’ve been diabetic for 25 years and didn’t want the stress. But my sons are 25 and 21, my younger daughter is almost 18, and it’s my story for them. And my [second] wife, Shaniera. They all wanted to know what happened, my side of the story, because they have heard stuff about me.

“People may talk about Wasim Akram, one of the best left-armers, Pakistan and Lancashire etc, and that’s how I’m generally seen by you guys in the UK. But in Pakistan, the rumours persist – ‘he’s a match-fixer’ – and that hurts a lot.”

These rumours swirled around the Pakistan national team as a whole in the 1990s and were investigated at the end of the decade by Justice Malik Mohammad Qayyum. After a year-long inquiry, Saleem Malik, the former captain, and Ata-ur-Rehman, a seamer, were slapped with life bans. Akram was among those under the microscope and, though ultimately cleared to play on, Qayyum noted how frequently his name came up during the evidence, concluding he was “not above board”, issuing a fine and stating he should be observed closely.

The claims and counterclaims were myriad and against Akram was an allegation of trying to fix a one-day international against New Zealand in Christchurch in 1994, including offering Rehman “3-4 lakh rupees” (a lakh is 100,000) to bowl poorly; there was suspicion about his 11th-hour injury withdrawal from the 1996 World Cup quarter-final defeat to India in Bangalore; and more broadly it was said he would move himself up the batting order when captaining to manipulate play, regularly use a mobile phone in the dressing room and associated with bookmakers.

The Christchurch allegation fell apart when Rehman changed his stance, claiming he was pressured into incriminating Akram about the approach, thus perjuring himself in the process. The validity of the mystery World Cup injury was supported by the team’s physio, Dan Kiesel, while batting up the order was dismissed as a captain looking to take responsibility. Mobile phone use was met with a shrug and, as such, most of the mud did not stick.

The one “serious mistake” Akram admits to here is of being slow to realise one of his oldest school friends, Zafar Iqbal (aka Jojo), was a gambler and bookie. In this regard he was not alone on what was a naive world stage at the time. The Qayyum inquiry came in parallel with Hansie Cronje’s fall from grace and that of Mohammad Azharuddin in India, investigations that similarly lifted the rock on a sport beset by dubious hangers-on and scant anti-corruption provisions.

Akram, one of eight Pakistan players fined, says he blocked out much of this period – “It was like a trauma” – and did not read the Qayyum report until working on this book with Haigh. His conscience, he says, has always been clear. That being the case, the question is asked why players such as Rashid Latif and Aamir Sohail would drag his name into their wider claims of fixing (even if the latter, so bold in the press beforehand, clammed up during the hearing).

“I think I was the only cricketer who wasn’t friendly with these guys,” Akram replies. “After Imran Khan and Javed Miandad retired, there was no one left to control the dressing room. It was so self-destructive. Imagine me playing with people who did that to me? There was just so much distrust. The cricket board should have been stronger, with strong managers and coaches.”

Did he know or suspect games had been fixed when the allegations swirled? “You would hear things. I just used to ask: ‘How is this possible? I don’t believe it. Why would we do such a thing?’ Everyone was panicky and playing for themselves. It was a horrible time, no one trusted each other.”

While deconstructing the claims and painting the picture of a viper’s nest of a squad, Akram stops short of slinging any mud in the opposite direction. Khan’s nickname for Saleem Malik – “the Rat” – is said to fit because he was “sneaky, untrustworthy and often unpleasant to deal with”, while Rehman is “not the brightest crayon in the box”. But otherwise, there is no sense of revenge. Akram says he last saw Malik “five years ago” when invited to his daughter’s wedding but they were never close as players.

“He was a guy that you never trust. People change over time, though. I just don’t know him now,” he adds. “I have moved on in life, my father taught me to forgive and forget. I don’t burn bridges or seek revenge, life is very short.”

Another intriguing relationship is that with Waqar Younis. They were arguably fast bowling perfection as a duo, a remarkable left-right alliance that could transcend even the flattest pitches through reverse swing. Yet in the book, Akram revisits the first of his four spells as captain that ended in 1993 when nine players – including Waqar, then vice-captain – swore on the Quran never to play under him again, ushering in Malik’s subsequently sullied tenure.

It is an episode that sums up the fraught, political nature of a Pakistan squad forever bouncing from one series to the next in the kind of exhausting fashion that leads modern players to drop formats. “In all my terms of captaincy, virtually every deputy I had was concealing a dagger,” writes Akram, which raises the question of how he and Waqar fared off the field.

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2...-were-like-a-trauma-no-one-trusted-each-other

No smoke without fire, someone who is super clean, who has never ever dabbled in this stuff, his name will not even come up in the market in conversations. Akram's name is just far to sullied.

Agree with this and I learned this when nasir jamshed first got caught in bpl

Nasir Jamshed's Bank Account details were found on a bookie who was arrested by the police during the BPL in 2011 or 2012. Unbelievable that the PCB let it slide and took no action at all.

I still recall someone close to Nasir Jamshed making threats to sue people who linked him to fixing and saying that it was all lies.

That individual went very quiet when the truth was revealed.

Miandad accused Afridi of fixing multiple matches during their bitter dispute some years back on tv show. Yet no one else has ever brought any such claim about Afridi. In some cases, there can be smoke without fire. It's not a rule. Not saying that Wasim was never involved or anything.

But one thing that I've always found strange is the text of that Qayum report is written in such a casual language that it is hard to take it seriously. This guy didn't cooperate with the commission so ban him for a year.

He did untold damage to Pakistan cricket and was heavily implicated in the findings of the Qayyum report. This is all swept under the rug now but those of us who followed Pakistan cricket for decades will never forget those sordid times. There were some very strange results. I remember watching in Peshawar as one of our strongest batting line ups was bowled out for 100 by Zimbabwe and ended up losing a Test match. Just one of many incidents which stuck in my mind from those days.

This is what was written in the Justice Qayyum report regarding Wasim Akram:

The first allegation was prima facie the strongest against Wasim Akram. However, having considered the entire evidence, on record, this commission has come to the conclusion that Ata-ur-Rehman in view of his retraction from his earlier statement and various subsequent statements cannot be believed with any degree of certainty.

His statement cannot be made the basis of holding Wasim Akram guilty of the offence of match-fixing. Ata's first story was that compelling that if Ata-ur-Rehman had not retracted from his earlier statement and if his statement had stood the test of cross-examination, then perhaps this commission might have held Wasim Akram guilty of fixing the Christchurch one-day match. But in the present scenario, this is not possible.
The three possible sources of corroboration that seemed have offered themselves too are too weak to prove the charge or support one of Ata's stories. The sources are as follows:

What Ata told Imran Khan about Wasim making Ata an offer was not contemporaneous; it was not after the New Zealand tour. Ata told Imran Khan after the news broke in the papers. Ata could well have been lying to Imran Khan after the news broke in the papers to support his story, to save face, or for any number of reasons.

Rashid Latif's statement against Wasim Akram. It is just his personal opinion. While this Commission gives Rashid Latif's testimony a lot of weight generally, in this instance the facts do not really support his assertions. 6.3 overs for 17 runs may be magnificent bowling (even in the context of a low scoring match.) Moreover, the Commission has to take into consideration Rashid's state of mind during that match. Rashid had been just offered money by the Captain. He may well have been a tad paranoid. This possibility of paranoia must be taken account of.

The taped of the conversation between Ata-ur-Rehman and Rashid Latif cannot provide good, independent corroboration as Ata once more may well have been lying to Rashid Latif. Further, for the reasons earlier stated the tapes cannot be taken as anything other than weak corroboration.
Use of a cellular phone and a reprimand for it cannot result in guilt. A phone is not an incriminating object.

As regards the sub-allegation that Akram was feigning injury, it can be said that there is no proof either way. Rashid and Intikhab only give personal opinions. Akram could well have injured himself during the Pakistan inning. Even Wisden seemed to note that the injury was authentic.

Most crucially, as regards allegation one, the Aamir Sohail factor was introduced into the matters by Ata-ur-Rehman, the 'Aamir Sohail factor' being the allegation that Aamir Sohail induced Ata to make the statement against Wasim Akram. While this commission is minded to disbelieve anything Ata-ur-Rehman says in light of the number of times he has changed his statement, it must still consider whether Aamir Sohail could have influenced Ata's into making a false first affidavit. Even if it appears unlikely, there is a chance that Aamir Sohail did. This introduces some doubt in my mind about Ata's first affidavit.

Aamir Sohail by his subsequent actions ironically seems to clear Wasim Akram. When Sohail later became the captain of the Pakistan team, he played Wasim under him. Even recently Sohail agreed to play under the man he said is likely to be crooked. In all of this Aamir Sohail gives some credence to Ata's statements that Aamir Sohail put him up to making the first affidavit and that it was false. Moreover, it needs be noted that when Aamir Sohail appeared initially before this Commission he was the Captain of Pakistan and had nothing substantial to say. This was despite his making a lot of allegations in the press. Even Ata-ur-Rehman talks of this in his taped conversation with Rashid Latif. Thereafter, once he had left the Captaincy he came back on 19.12.98 to the court with several allegations. All of this damages Aamir Sohail's credibility and gives some credence to Ata's second statement.

As regards allegation one on its own, this commission is left with no option but to hold Wasim Akram not guilty of the charge of match-fixing. This the Commission does so only by giving Wasim Akram the benefit of the doubt. This is done on the ground of insufficient evidence. Wasim is barely saved through Ata-ur-Rehman's discrediting himself and Aamir Sohail's actions.

As regards allegation two on its own, in light of Dr. Dan Keisel and Intikhab Alam's statement, Wasim Akram cannot be said to have been feigning injury. Therefore he is cleared.

As regards allegation three on its own, of tampering with the batting order to fix the match, it has been said that Wasim was trying to take responsibility by going in himself, a risk that failed. This commission is willing to give the benefit of the doubt to Wasim Akram.

As regards general allegations, although Rashid Latif has made allegations against him but the same have not been substantiated with any evidence. Likewise the statement of Javed Miandad or that for matter Ms. Fareshteh Gati-Aslam or Majid Khan is not sufficient for arriving at a finding of guilt.

Although Aaqib Javed's statement too does not hold some weight as all Aqib said was that someone allegedly delivered Wasim's threat. As such this is strictly hearsay and inadmissible.

In favor of Akram, there is the evidence of police inquiries made into the kidnapping of his father. The two inquiries have revealed that the kidnapping did not concern match-fixing or gambling.

However, once this commission looks at the allegations in their totality, this commission feels that all is not well here and that Wasim Akram is not above board. He has not co-operated with this Commission. It is only by giving Wasim Akram the benefit of the doubt after Ata-ur-Rehman changed his testimony in suspicious circumstances that he has not been found guilty of match-fixing. He cannot be said to be above suspicion. It is, therefore, recommended that he be censured and be kept under strict vigilance and further probe be made either by the Government of Pakistan or by the Cricket Board into his assets acquired during his cricketing tenure and a comparison be made with his income. Furthermore, he should be fined Rs. 3 lac.

More importantly, it is further recommended that Wasim Akram be removed from captaincy of the national team. The captain of the national team should have a spot-less character and be above suspicion. Wasim Akram seems to be too sullied to hold that office.

Justice Qayyum himself said in 2005 or 2006 that he deliberately let Wasim Akram go because he was a big fan of his and didn't want his career to end in disgrace.

Wasim acts like he is a God and also people shouldn't be asking obvious things from him, decades later you think anyone cares about it ?
The consensus among majority is he's shady period

Wasn’t one of Akram closest associates a known bookie?

He's mentioned that in the article in post#1

The one “serious mistake” Akram admits to here is of being slow to realise one of his oldest school friends, Zafar Iqbal (aka Jojo), was a gambler and bookie. In this regard he was not alone on what was a naive world stage at the time. The Qayyum inquiry came in parallel with Hansie Cronje’s fall from grace and that of Mohammad Azharuddin in India, investigations that similarly lifted the rock on a sport beset by dubious hangers-on and scant anti-corruption provisions.

please, just cut the bull, everyone knows you are guilty, everyone knows he fixed games, should have met the same fate as salim malik.

its one thing to say no smoke without fire, but talk to anyone involved in lahore cricket at even semi pro level, and no one would say he was clean.

no one ever claimed rashid latif or amir sohail ever fixed games, no rumour, no whispers, nothing. the majority of the players in the late 90s were dirty to differing extents. best course of action for wasim would be to not even talk about it.

Did he say the word “rumor” with a straight face? :))

The Qayyum report left Akram off the hook after Atta ur Rehman retracted his statements against him which he did after Wasim met him in person and threatened him with dire consequences that he would have fixed with his connections and people he knew in Pakistan if he didn't retract his statement. Wasim paid for Atta's flight back to Pakistan from the UK with his credit card and the commission knew this. Both Wasim and Atta have acknowledged this episode but the commission chose to regard Atta as completely unreliable and let Wasim off the Hook.

Tauqir Zia confirmed that his original intention was to give a life ban to all the players mentioned in the Qayyum report in 2000 but Pervez Musharraf told him not to do so as it would damage Pakistan Cricket severely. Wasim is a very lucky person that Pakistan has one law for the rich and famous and another for the poor.

Players back then in the 90's were paid a pittance i.e. Rs 7500, 10, 15 k per ODI. County Cricket was like IPL money for the international players. I will not be surprised at all if bookies who offered the players Rs 1 million, $50-100k to fix games did not successfully influence international players especially from Pakistan.

All these old time fixers try to wash off their past sins. Azharuddin and Cronje (brother) made movies, Akram is writing books. What perhaps is more embarassing is that how in our countries, people forgive such things so easily. Last year i went to a club in Mumbai and both Sreesanth and Shreyas Iyer were there (seperately) with their friends. Baring me and a couple of other people, no one absolutely no one recognised Iyer while so many people were getting clicked themselves with Sreesanth. I doubt whether masses in our part of the world even understand what these people did with the game.

Players back then in the 90's were paid a pittance i.e. Rs 7500, 10, 15 k per ODI. County Cricket was like IPL money for the international players. I will not be surprised at all if bookies who offered the players Rs 1 million, $50-100k to fix games did not successfully influence international players especially from Pakistan.

You make it sound that cricketers in those days were living in abject poverty. Even then cricketers around the world and esp in Asia had fairly glamorous lifestyles, whatever money they were making had put them in the upper echelons of society so lack of money was never an issue in their lives. There's no end to greed, you could always offer someone more than what he makes. Point being dotnt make it sound like players were helpless or were justified, it was morally a sin, legally a crime and emotionally it was abuse of our respect and love.

All these old time fixers try to wash off their past sins. Azharuddin and Cronje (brother) made movies, Akram is writing books. What perhaps is more embarassing is that how in our countries, people forgive such things so easily. Last year i went to a club in Mumbai and both Sreesanth and Shreyas Iyer were there (seperately) with their friends. Baring me and a couple of other people, no one absolutely no one recognised Iyer while so many people were getting clicked themselves with Sreesanth. I doubt whether masses in our part of the world even understand what these people did with the game.

Azharuddin is now head of Hyderabad Cricket board, Ajay Jadeja regularly does cricket shows & Sreesanth is celebrity in Kerela. Nobody really cares. Corruption is deeply entrenched in desi culture !

The problem with these rumours is that no one knows what to believe. WA will take to his grave any (possible) wrong doing and those that accused him( if wrongly) will have committed a major sin, if they have made up lies to settle personal scores.

I remember the Malik run out of Saqi in Toronto and it was so blatant that i could tell at home that Malik was fixing games.
But on WA, We Just dont know and never will.

The Qayyum report left Akram off the hook after Atta ur Rehman retracted his statements against him which he did after Wasim met him in person and threatened him with dire consequences that he would have fixed with his connections and people he knew in Pakistan if he didn't retract his statement. Wasim paid for Atta's flight back to Pakistan from the UK with his credit card and the commission knew this. Both Wasim and Atta have acknowledged this episode but the commission chose to regard Atta as completely unreliable and let Wasim off the Hook.

Tauqir Zia confirmed that his original intention was to give a life ban to all the players mentioned in the Qayyum report in 2000 but Pervez Musharraf told him not to do so as it would damage Pakistan Cricket severely. Wasim is a very lucky person that Pakistan has one law for the rich and famous and another for the poor.

if Atta swears on the Koran that he was telling the truth, and WA also swears on the Koran that he is lying, we know 2 things- that one is lying but we dont know which one.

The problem with these rumours is that no one knows what to believe. WA will take to his grave any (possible) wrong doing and those that accused him( if wrongly) will have committed a major sin, if they have made up lies to settle personal scores.

I remember the Malik run out of Saqi in Toronto and it was so blatant that i could tell at home that Malik was fixing games.
But on WA, We Just dont know and never will.

This is true Wasim knows even if has been guilty of mstch fixing admitting to it is not lke the drug taking There will be no forgiveness or brushing it under the carpet It would ruin his reputation for good and all his future earnings He wont admit it and ll take it to the grave

We can only judge him on what we know We know of his feud with waqar and how detrimental that was to the team, we know he did drugs he was arrested in WI along with a few others We know he had many fallings out with the board and his players and we know he liked to smoke drink and party in his pomp

Putting all that together he isnt a saint and on balance with so many crazy results in that period, collapses and his fellow players and friends implicated Wasim cant be above suspicion just like justice qayyume said

if Atta swears on the Koran that he was telling the truth, and WA also swears on the Koran that he is lying, we know 2 things- that one is lying but we dont know which one.

i know its rumour and hear say, but as I've said, talk to anyone even close to lahore cricket in that era, you will be left with very little doubt.

Wasim Akram spent the best part of 20 years filleting batting lineups as the finest left-arm seamer of all time but it is only now, two decades on, that the former Pakistan captain feels comfortable discussing certain aspects of his life.

The 56-year-old is about to release Sultan, a memoir written with the Australian journalist Gideon Haigh that does not simply chart a master finessing over 900 international wickets, World Cup glory in 1992, entering Lancashire folklore and a glitzy celebrity lifestyle. Darker times are explored, including match-fixing allegations, ball-tampering headlines, a previously undisclosed cocaine addiction and the heartbreaking death of his first wife, Huma.

“It was tough to revisit those moments in my life – the betrayal, the tragedies – but the reason for doing the book wasn’t money,” says Akram, pleasantries out of the way, from his home in Karachi. It is the day of Pakistan’s shock defeat to Zimbabwe in the T20 World Cup group stages and a week before his former captain and mentor, Imran Khan, was shot on a protest march in Islamabad.

“I probably wanted to forget. I’ve been diabetic for 25 years and didn’t want the stress. But my sons are 25 and 21, my younger daughter is almost 18, and it’s my story for them. And my [second] wife, Shaniera. They all wanted to know what happened, my side of the story, because they have heard stuff about me.

“People may talk about Wasim Akram, one of the best left-armers, Pakistan and Lancashire etc, and that’s how I’m generally seen by you guys in the UK. But in Pakistan, the rumours persist – ‘he’s a match-fixer’ – and that hurts a lot.”

These rumours swirled around the Pakistan national team as a whole in the 1990s and were investigated at the end of the decade by Justice Malik Mohammad Qayyum. After a year-long inquiry, Saleem Malik, the former captain, and Ata-ur-Rehman, a seamer, were slapped with life bans. Akram was among those under the microscope and, though ultimately cleared to play on, Qayyum noted how frequently his name came up during the evidence, concluding he was “not above board”, issuing a fine and stating he should be observed closely.

The claims and counterclaims were myriad and against Akram was an allegation of trying to fix a one-day international against New Zealand in Christchurch in 1994, including offering Rehman “3-4 lakh rupees” (a lakh is 100,000) to bowl poorly; there was suspicion about his 11th-hour injury withdrawal from the 1996 World Cup quarter-final defeat to India in Bangalore; and more broadly it was said he would move himself up the batting order when captaining to manipulate play, regularly use a mobile phone in the dressing room and associated with bookmakers.

The Christchurch allegation fell apart when Rehman changed his stance, claiming he was pressured into incriminating Akram about the approach, thus perjuring himself in the process. The validity of the mystery World Cup injury was supported by the team’s physio, Dan Kiesel, while batting up the order was dismissed as a captain looking to take responsibility. Mobile phone use was met with a shrug and, as such, most of the mud did not stick.

Akram, one of eight Pakistan players fined, says he blocked out much of this period – “It was like a trauma” – and did not read the Qayyum report until working on this book with Haigh. His conscience, he says, has always been clear. That being the case, the question is asked why players such as Rashid Latif and Aamir Sohail would drag his name into their wider claims of fixing (even if the latter, so bold in the press beforehand, clammed up during the hearing).

“I think I was the only cricketer who wasn’t friendly with these guys,” Akram replies. “After Imran Khan and Javed Miandad retired, there was no one left to control the dressing room. It was so self-destructive. Imagine me playing with people who did that to me? There was just so much distrust. The cricket board should have been stronger, with strong managers and coaches.”

Did he know or suspect games had been fixed when the allegations swirled? “You would hear things. I just used to ask: ‘How is this possible? I don’t believe it. Why would we do such a thing?’ Everyone was panicky and playing for themselves. It was a horrible time, no one trusted each other.”

While deconstructing the claims and painting the picture of a viper’s nest of a squad, Akram stops short of slinging any mud in the opposite direction. Khan’s nickname for Saleem Malik – “the Rat” – is said to fit because he was “sneaky, untrustworthy and often unpleasant to deal with”, while Rehman is “not the brightest crayon in the box”. But otherwise, there is no sense of revenge. Akram says he last saw Malik “five years ago” when invited to his daughter’s wedding but they were never close as players.

“He was a guy that you never trust. People change over time, though. I just don’t know him now,” he adds. “I have moved on in life, my father taught me to forgive and forget. I don’t burn bridges or seek revenge, life is very short.”

Another intriguing relationship is that with Waqar Younis. They were arguably fast bowling perfection as a duo, a remarkable left-right alliance that could transcend even the flattest pitches through reverse swing. Yet in the book, Akram revisits the first of his four spells as captain that ended in 1993 when nine players – including Waqar, then vice-captain – swore on the Quran never to play under him again, ushering in Malik’s subsequently sullied tenure.

It is an episode that sums up the fraught, political nature of a Pakistan squad forever bouncing from one series to the next in the kind of exhausting fashion that leads modern players to drop formats. “In all my terms of captaincy, virtually every deputy I had was concealing a dagger,” writes Akram, which raises the question of how he and Waqar fared off the field.

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2...-were-like-a-trauma-no-one-trusted-each-other

Time to dust up managers tour report of 97 tour to sri lanks and 98 tour to South Africa. Wasim himsekf was dragging everyone in the mud. His cloest has many skeletons and his own view of events is quite generous of himself.

This is true Wasim knows even if has been guilty of mstch fixing admitting to it is not lke the drug taking There will be no forgiveness or brushing it under the carpet It would ruin his reputation for good and all his future earnings He wont admit it and ll take it to the grave

We can only judge him on what we know We know of his feud with waqar and how detrimental that was to the team, we know he did drugs he was arrested in WI along with a few others We know he had many fallings out with the board and his players and we know he liked to smoke drink and party in his pomp

Putting all that together he isnt a saint and on balance with so many crazy results in that period, collapses and his fellow players and friends implicated Wasim cant be above suspicion just like justice qayyume said

We had collapses but we have always had collapses and we won games because others also had collapses. No one knows bar him and i, for one will give him the benefit of the doubt.

Javed Miandad in an interview:

“Apne logon ko dekhein, apne logon ne jo cricket kheli hai. Mujhe aisa kuch nahi hai, mujhe badi offers aati hain par main nahi jaata. Ye jo players khel rahe hain, ab ye aaj khel rahe hain. Inka future kya hai? Unko pata hai ki aaj maine kuch nahi kiya, toh kal main kya karunga? Fixing iss vajah se hui thi. Sabko dar tha ki ye kaat naa de hamko. (Look at our crickets who have played cricket in the past. I'm not talking about myself, I've received a lot of offers in the past but I don't go. What will happen to players who are there right now? They know they don't have anywhere to go if they don't perform. Fixing happened because of this very reason. Everyone was scared that their career will be over),”

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...tan-s-t20-world-cup-loss-101668445489028.html

Gotta love that corrupt people can't sleep peacefully at night regardless of them getting away with the crimes at the time.

The issue continues to haunt Wasim over 2 decades later.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Exclusive: Wasim Akram opens up on his career, Pakistan cricket and dealing with the 'match-fixing' tag. &#55356;&#57295;&#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816;<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/9WWOS?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#9WWOS</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/jDUo0zhnwB">pic.twitter.com/jDUo0zhnwB</a></p>— Wide World of Sports (@wwos) <a href="https://twitter.com/wwos/status/1594141603693985794?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 20, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

"In Australia, England, West Indies and India my name is taken in World XI as one of the greatest bowlers ever. But in Pakistan, this social media generation refers to me as match-fixer,"

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Wasim Akram "In Australia, West Indies, England and India when they talk about one of the best bowlers in the world my name pops up. But in Pakistan this social media generation they call me a match-fixer" (courtesy Wide World of Sports) <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/0pNjQHK35W">pic.twitter.com/0pNjQHK35W</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1594378874645016576?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 20, 2022</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">First name on the team sheet <a href="https://t.co/VY838zQSjn">https://t.co/VY838zQSjn</a></p>— David 'Bumble' Lloyd (@BumbleCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/BumbleCricket/status/1594381982338666496?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 20, 2022</a></blockquote>

I think the rumours will always be there which must be frustrating for Wasim and that's why he's said what he has on WWOS.

It must be difficult having to explain to his kids what went on and why the allegations.

I don't remember missing a game in 90s unless WAPDA was doing load shedding or any other electricity issues. I was very young and did not fully understand the game, but things I did notice were their body language, face expressions and reading their energies before and after the game which were never positive. All these guys who were accused of match fixing were either smiling or had a poker face especially after losing all those game which we think were fixed, but we must move on now as this happened decades ago. We must think about their children who don't deserve to deal with this ugly and brutal online trolling of their parents.

I have heard this opinion on Wasim as a fixer as early as when I first started watching cricket (which was in 1996 for the WC). When he sat out the QF, media persons had already started the rumors he took money to sit out the game. The rumors only amplified further when we lost to Zim, later when we lost to Ban at '99 WC, and then after we lost the finals at '99 WC.

It's incredible to me that Pakistan fans, more than any other nation I might add, will look towards match-fixing as the reason their team lost a crucial game, or a game we were favorites to win. There has never been any evidence that Wasim was involved in match-fixing, and I have to say - the Justice Qayum report is an awfully written report, particularly when it comes to the conclusions.

The report itself concludes that there was no evidence that Wasim fixed, yet because there were so many allegations against him, there must be something going on and somehow his tenure is tarnished despite there being no proof! It is appalling to me that a judge would come to this conclusion - is the judge running a court that relies on evidence or plain hearsay? If there was proof Wasim fixed, he should have either been banned or the judge should lose his license and all credit for not acting on evidence!

The truth is that there was no evidence; the rest is conjucture. My take is that many of Wasim's teammates held great animosity towards Wasim in their hearts. Remember that his teammates tried to remove him from captaincy before too, which was completely unrelated to fixing! They would have been eager to find Wasim out of the team. A few of them (Aamer, Rashid, Aaqib, Salim come to mind) made many random, incomplete and often incoherent statements in the media, usually never stating that Wasim fixed, but leaving it up to the imagination of the viewer that something weird was going on. The truth is, when asked by the hearing into match-fixing, they nothing to say [because they had nothing on him]! Wasim's teammates were likely jealous of him and sick of how much power Wasim had. Wasim's power and influence was purely owed to how great of a cricketer he was and how he was a living legend in Pakistan (and ROW).

And so we come to Atta-ur-Rehman, whose testimony was the only real allegation against Wasim. He made statements and later retracted them. If you like conspiracy and wanted to find an excuse for why our team lost some games, you were likely to believe that he told the truth at first (AHA! That's why we lost those games!), and later retracted his statement after he was threatened. Justice Qayuum himself admits that the testimony of a liar cannot stand in court (and also since he retracted his statement) and even goes on to say that the recording between Rashid Latif and Atta can be explained by how Atta was simply lying some more to keep up his original lie. So to me, it's more rational to think he lied at first, given that there was no other proof linking Wasim to fixing, and may have been motivated to lying by all the others did not like Wasim. So given that this was the rational conclusion of the justices, it's worth reiterating again despite being no proof, it is appalling that Justice Qayyum recommended that Wasim's character was unbefitting of captaincy; Wasim should have sued Justice Qayyum for defamation!

Here many posters say the same thing about Wasim as many of my friends and uncles at gatherings. I always make it a point to stand up for Wasim because I hate seeing a man's image tarnished when no proof has ever been found. Jealousy can be ugly and I'm sad to see it affect my fellow Pakistanis in so many aspects of life. We love bringing down our own brothers and sisters, so bringing down our heroes is just as easy.

• The truth about the loss v Ind in '96 QF? Wasim was injured and Jadeja smashed a depleted attack setting us a target that was always too going to be too high.
  • The truth about losses v Ban/Zim? Pakistani batting has always been inconsistent, especially on difficult surfaces and/or when we lose a few wickets up front, and minnows often give us a tough time to this date due to unknown reasons (Ireland '07? Zim '22? There are many more examples...) Is it complacency?
  • The truth about the loss v Aus in '99 Final? Though Pakistan fans thought we had assembled the greatest ODI team ever, we were humbled by an even greater ODI side that would go on to dominate world cricket for the next 10 years - without an equal.

To me Wasim will always be a hero, a legend, the man who was most responsible for bringing a World cup home to Pakistan and for bringing joy to millions through his entertaining bowling!

Im afraid you reap what you sow He may or not be a fixer but wasim tarnished his own legacy with all those shenanigans post imran

He had the world at his feet post 1992 but him and his teammates instead got upto infighting and all sorts of shenanigans

Pakistan were one of the best in terms of talent but these players really let themselves down with their behaviour and suspicious results

Pakistan in no way shouldve been losing home test series to the likes of zimbabwe, sri lanka, losing to bangladesh in the world cup and being whitewashed regularly by south africa and the aussies

If people are questioning his behaviour theres a reason for it

Damn, Wasim Akram in his autobiography states Atta changed his testimony to the Qayyum Commission in exchange for a flight ticket to Pakistan and for a Shawarma meal at a place in London close to Wasim's lawyers office.

What a way to insult the man.